Since his assets were frozen by the court, the former CLICO boss has lamented that he had been experiencing hardship โ€“ Leroy Parris (BT)

The mouth of Mr. Hal Gollop, lead lawyer for Leroy Parris,ย  has been running like a sick nigga botsy of late. His protestations about client Leroy Parris are easily accessed on a weekly basis in the traditional media. How convenient when lawyers and traditional media hide behind the cloak of sub judice to keep the masses ignorant. Our mistake, this is only an interlocutory matter still to be heard!

The CLICO issue is complex and must be delineated within the boundaries of what is legal, moral and political to intelligently inform discussion. Parris and his legal Senior Counsel (SC) to be may yet win the battle to be staged very soon in a law court near you if Gollopโ€™s constitutional motion succeeds, however, the fallout caused by political and moral outrage continues to gain momentum. It appears certain the CLICO issue will bury the political ambition and stain the legacy of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) for eons to come. It rides the back of this government like the proverbial Albatross.

Leroy Parris has the right to exhaust his resources to defend himself against what he believes is an injustice being wrought against him. He has the right to sue the government โ€“ led by his pals โ€“ for damages. And if he is successful with his court case the taxpayers, voters and CLICO policyholders will have to pay. It appears the incestuous nature of relationships and networks in Barbados have conspired to craft what has to be described as potentially the Mother of all ironies.

It is interesting to note the argument that underpins Hal Gollopโ€™s constitutional motion on behalf of his client Leroy Parris โ€“ the delay in having the matter heard to unfreeze the assets of his clients is a violation of his [Parris] rights. IF this government sworn to serve Barbadians was to become similarly motivated a feeling would envelop the land that two Barbadoses do not exist. What about the policyholders? What about victims who are remanded to Dodds for unacceptably long periods? What about ordinary citizens who have cases pending in the court system for years? Are we to conclude the lifes ofย  affected persons cited are not worth a modicum of consideration by the government? Of course the buck stops with the government although there is the pretence the judiciary and the executive are independent – if there is agreement about the incestuous nature of how things are done in Barbados feel free to connect the dots.

The unravelling CLICO Leroy Parris drama has the potential to be a landscape shifter in Barbados. The BU family must stay focused on the prize; fanning the flame of a democratic society.ย  We posses a quality the traditional media has surrendered a long time ago on the altar of greed, INDEPENDENCE!

132 responses to “Former Chairman of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris Suing Cash Strapped Government for Damages”

1. FULL STORY:Legal fees for Parris

Tim Slinger,

Added 22 February 2012

extractspg4

Late Prime Minister David Thompsonโ€™s law firm received a whopping $3.3 million in legal and retainer fees from CLICO International Life Insurance Limited (CIL), but the fees were actually destined for former CLICO executive chairman Leroy Parris. This was among the explosive revelations of the Deloitte Canada-led forensic audit into the operations of the insurance company and its financial relationship to the parent company โ€“ CLICO Holdings Barbados Limited (CHBL) โ€“ and other members of the local CLICO empire. โ€œOn January 16, 2009, a payment for $3.333 [million] was made to the law firm Thompson & Associates by CIL. โ€œWe examined the invoice from Thompson & Associates dated December 2008, which described four different legal matters in detail and the fees or retainers for each. The invoice was approved by Mr Leroy Parris as chairman,โ€ a report from CILโ€™s judicial manager stated. But a copy of the forensic audit document obtained by the MIDWEEK NATION said the money, which was moved a year after Thompson became Prime Minister, was โ€œactually to the benefit of Mr Leroy Parris . . . and related to partial payment of a โ€˜gratuityโ€™โ€.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/9234/story-legal-fees-parris

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Do you really believe that Barbados is a democratic society? Everything that goes on in this country has come together for me to conclude that Barbados is a kleptocracy. In order to maintain that position the political class has corrupted everything that they have touched:
    both political parties have reduce the electoral process to who can buy the most votes. You recall that the Prime Minister and the Attorney General have stated publicly that they witnesses vote buying in 2013 and to date nothing has happened to punish that behaviour; and
    the politicians went to Parliament and amended the law to install their man as Chief Justice and I believe that they had an ulterior motive.

Systems are put in place to protect the wrongdoers if that person has connections, while the unconnected poor feel the full weight of the law.

I do not fault “what’s his name” for vigorously representing his client. Justice demands no less but who is vigorously representing Clico’s victims. My honest belief is that our kleptocratic system will come together to protect those suspected of wrongdoing who have connections, and we know that Parris has more connections that anyone has a right to.

I also firmly believe that Parris will prevail because I absolutely no confidence that our court system has not been compromised. Let me be clear, I am not saying for one moment that the Chief Justice would do anything wrong to protect the friends of the persons who moved the earth to appoint him, but the method of his recruitment does not give me any confidence that justice would be done.

3. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

If it can happen to Beatrice Henry and it did,and think it was a joke and unreal ,now it is and going to happen to the rest,
    well sit back and see what we have been waring Barbados about,
    DLP and BLP deep in this,,, keep the focus on them , Lets see what will come out in the laundering wash,

4. @ Caswell

You are generally right. However, you forgot to mention the regular corporate elites who pay civil servants for government contracts, permissions etc. But kleptocracy it is, at the official levels!

5. One day coming soon!

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn April 3, 2015 at 12:22 PM
    โ€œI also firmly believe that Parris will prevail because I absolutely no confidence that our court system has not been compromised. Let me be clear, I am not saying for one moment that the Chief Justice would do anything wrong to protect the friends of the persons who moved the earth to appoint him, but the method of his recruitment does not give me any confidence that justice would be done.โ€

Well said, Caswell!
    Why then are the people worried about what is happening to Barbados?
    If a pig breeds with a pig don’t expect to get a litter of monkeys (maybe politicians).

Do you understand why Barbados is continuing to be downgraded not only financially and economically but also morally and socially?

When the judicial system (the last bastion of democracy and protector of the peopleโ€™s rights) is failing the ordinary man and woman then you know the country is on the slide to a banana republic.
    Well done King Dictator Fumble, the former prince of Integrity, like your predecessor you have cut the country’s umbilical cord of decency and high expectations with the dirty knife of moral turpitude coated in political arsenic of corruption.

Can we imagine what Barbados is going to be like if it is ever forcefully ripened into a full-fledge republic with the law enforcement agencies and judicial system sullied, corrupted and controlled by partisan political forces as they are fast becoming the play toys of the fraudsters and conmen aided and abetted by the political class of lawyers for a few pieces of ill-gotten dirty silver?

Caswell, I am predicting a flight of capital in the coming months given what is taking place with the institutions that once functioned in the interests of justice and development. May the God Bajans believe in help them in their hour of need.

7. Anyone can sue, sometimes it is a reflection of more money than sense as the courts are full of unsuccessful suitors. Wouldnโ€™t it be poetic justice for the suit to be denied and HG appeals to the CCJ.

8. @Sarge

Anyone can sue, sometimes it is a reflection of more money than sense as the courts are full of unsuccessful suitors. Wouldnโ€™t it be poetic justice for the suit to be denied and HG appeals to the CCJ.

If this were to happen, and it would be poetic justice, Leslie Haynes would likely take the baton from HG.

9. If he sues the state and wins, does anyone think that he would get his money before:

Al Barrack?
    The tax payers income tax refunds?
    The companies due their VAT refunds and corporation tax refunds?
    The numerous companies that the QEH owes?
    The many overseas advertising companies that the BTMI owes?
    The government buys new buses for the Transport Board or pay insurance to put them on the road?
    The government buys some trucks for the SSA?

Just curious! How much is he suing for? This man is undoubtedly without shame!

10. Tell me something I don't know Avatar
    Tell me something I don’t know

@Prodigal

While it is possible that some of the outstanding obligations will be discharged first, given LP’s love of the judicial system, no doubt if he is not paid quickly he would no doubt be back in court filing some other motion or the other.

Us taxpayers don’t have the money to sue Government, for the cruel and inhumane treatment we get because there are limited buses, because our garbage isn’t collected as before or for withholding our tax and VAT returns, thus causing us undue hardship.

So in the end, Government will most likely fix the squeaky wheel (pay Parris) and ignore the rest of us because we aren’t squeaking.

That’s how it works in the Democratic Banana Republic of Barbados (DBRB).

11. Let me get this right. A pm colludes with the CEO of an insurance company to shaft policyholders of millions. The pm dies and his replacement then “threatens” to”expose” the unsuspecting policyholders and investors while giving the crooked Ceo a free pass. The crooked xeo then sues the government to recover the funds that he stole from the said same policyholders? Well, well,well…This clico farce is becoming more surreal and absurd by the day. Totally unbelievable that so called intelligent people can just allow this disgrace to meander along like this.

The government has let down clico policyholders badly…Bim has truly lost whatever little innocence it had left with this clico skullduggery. We have gone to a place where it is very difficult to come back from…brazen, open, state sanctioned theft and callous disregard for the weakest amongst us- pensioners and the poor. I expect Barbados of the next 5 years to look dramatically different from Barbados of even 5 years ago. Sow the wind reap the whirlwind…expect crime levels to sky rocket and the moneyed elites to become prisoners in their own homes…doubt me? See (Republic) of TnT for details.

12. @David

Sometime with the last month I wrote that it would take someone suing the Govโ€™t for a right to a speedy trial in order for the system to be improved but this wasnโ€™t the test case I was hoping for, does HG peruse the blog? Is it possible to produce a snippet of that post?

HG suing the Govโ€™t , interesting, interesting, isnโ€™t this a case of biting the hands that feeds you? For FJ Stuart: it is one thing to be bitten but it doubly sad when your own dog bites you.

13. @Sargeant

They all peruse BU, and comment the do. BU unlike them will deliver on our promise i.e to protect their identities.

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Barnabas April 3, 2015 at 3:11 PM #
    the thing it seems is TO BE WRONG ……….AND THEN STRONG!

15. I got the shock of my life to see the bastard Leroy Parris in church this morning. The man has no shame. Only in Barbados he could pull this bold faced “thiefery” and be able to walk the streets free and without someone taking out their vengeance on him!

16. @David
    Found it! This is what I wrote on Feb 22 on the topic โ€œBarbados and CCJ in a Tiffโ€

++++++++++++++++
    The issue of tardy justice used to be an issue in Ontario until some lawyer decided to take his clientโ€™s case to the SC on the grounds that the client was entitled to a trial within a certain period of time as per Charter of Rights. After the SC ruled in his client favour you should see how quickly the Province cleaned up its act as it had to dismiss cases against a number of defendants. What is wrong with some enterprising lawyer making that argument ?
    ++++++++++++
    Yuh think I should ask HG for part of his retainer?

17. @Prodigal
    “Only in Barbados”

Absolutely correct.

18. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Prodigal Son April 3, 2015 at 3:54 PM #

I got the shock of my life to see the bastard Leroy Parris in church this morning.
    …………………………………………………………………
    But why should you be shocked? Good Friday could also be dedicated as the Day of the Thieves . On the very first Good Friday, Christ had a thief on either side of him, and the crowd asked for a thief, Barbabas to be freed. We have our own Bastardwhorobbedus, walking free.

19. How does Highrise and the land that came about as a result of the Clico and Rayside transaction get accounted for? How did it end up under its present ownership? Did DT not write off a large amount of money owed by Rayside to the Government for VAT and Income Tax. ? That land if sold could have paid off a large amount of the money owed.

20. Fractured BLP Avatar

Leroy Parris is a good and honourable man.

He has a right like every Barbadian under our Constitution to seek justice under our Court system.
    Why does the corrupt PRODI….GIRL have a problem with that?

21. so where is the error here ! Certainly not with the lawyers BUT with the justice system which needs to get its act together or BE REMINDED with a 2×4 kudos for those attorneys who will pursue justice for their clients within the appropriate and legal rights of the law.

22. @ Prodigal
    “I got the shock of my life to see the bastard Leroy Parris in church this morning…”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Yuh gotta give Jack he Jacket.
    De man has a nose for easy money…
    ..tax free too.

It would not surprise Bushie now if we hear he is to become a pastor or priest…

Hal was not there nuh…??
    …can’t recall any lightning and thunder this morning….

23. No, Bushie!

24. Let the record show the court order to freeze Parris’ assets was made on the 27 January 2015, William Chandler recused himself on the 17 Frebuary 2015 quickly followed by Randall Worrell, the saga continued when Justice Jacqueline Cornelious was rejected by Parris’ legal team. All this has occurred in a two month period.

25. old onion bags Avatar

JUST LOOKING AT THE PHOTO GALLERY ABOVE IS ENUFF TO MAKE ONE PUKE…..CROOKS UNITED.

Laughing all the way to the banks…THE UNTOUCHABLES…..while poor people smelling hell daily……just look at DEM….. welcome to Hell’s Gate. A true Nightmare called BIM. where robbers flourish at the poor peoples’ expense….CURSE upon DEM….yhree umate seyu dende…..

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You know the old saying: a fool and his money are soon parted. Ever time a lawyer files a case it comes with a cost win, lose or draw. I could be wrong but I don’t think that Parris is getting legal services gratis.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP April 3, 2015 at 4:51 PM #
    โ€œLeroy Parris is a good and honourable man.
    He has a right like every Barbadian under our Constitution to seek justice under our Court system.โ€

Sounds just like the words emanating from the morally stinking mouth of your own
    P M. A man known more so for the advancement of the evil interests of Fraudster pal Leroy Parris and his crooked colleague Speaker Carrington rather than fulfilling the role of looking after the interests of the country and promoting justice and fair play, values and principles he swore to uphold.

It’s a pity you cannot extend the same sympathetic air to the fired NCC workers. Arenโ€™t these aggrieved workers good and honourable citizens too?

Leroy Parris will turn out to be the biggest thief Barbados ever produced but Fumble Stuart will certainly go down in history as the biggest lying dangerous c*nt in which the average Bajan would like to discharge their venomous hate and putrid vomit of disappointment and shame.

Itโ€™s a crying shame that such a drone-like matter like LIAT would be his undoing.
    When LIAT fails Fumble Stuart stumbles into the darkness of political oblivion.

28. old onion bags Avatar

…piss bags and frauds…..he who laughs last laughs best…..Judgement Day wanna ear….all the millions wanna conspire and thief can’t help wanna den, I wish wanna ASK ALIBABA…

29. I cannot understand what is Hal Gollop’s problem.

Look how many matters of regular people are tied up in court for ages with no one to push for a resolution as even the lawyers the regular folk hire dont push to see that regular folk get justice.

And he is making noise for justice for a corporate robber?

What is Leroy worried about? He is just a greedy SOB, he has $5 million in the Central Bank, I have not heard that that is frozen, he could use that or ask the other co-robber ‘s wife who is sitting on millions pilfered from CLICO’s policyholders while he was walking about Barbados fooling people……….I will not lie, cheat or steal. What a liar…..he cannot rot fast enough for me!

30. @Caswell Franklyn April 3, 2015 at 6:24 PM #

You know the old saying: a fool and his money are soon parted. Ever time a lawyer files a case it comes with a cost win, lose or draw. I could be wrong but I donโ€™t think that Parris is getting legal services gratis………………

Prior to 2008, when the fatted calf trough was opened up, what kind of lawyer was Hal Gollop? I had heard his name but was not aware that he was up in the top tier of lawyers?

Oh my goodness, look what Barbados has become?

31. The civility of Barbadians and docility is being challenged

32. @Bushtea :It would not surprise Bushie now if we hear he is to become a pastor or priest

Not only that, his “church” would probably be full to the rafters and the offering plate overflowing…gotta love bajans

33. @ old onion bags,

Are you responsible for the shortage of fish in Barbados ?

Spending too much time on BU or in de tentacles of a member of the cephalopods? lol

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son April 3, 2015 at 7:00 PM
    “Prior to 2008, when the fatted calf trough was opened up, what kind of lawyer was Hal Gollop? I had heard his name but was not aware that he was up in the top tier of lawyers?”

The man is a very close friend and advisor to the P M.
    Connect the dots: Freundel, Leroy, Hal. A triumvirate of odd fellows bent on pulling Barbados down to its lowest common denominator.

But what can we expect when shit floats to the top of the political waters in the form of Lord Fumble from Magoo land? What else can follow other than a flotilla of human faeces parading as legal manure?

35. In an unrelated question, who owns Cost-U-Less?

Just wondering, a facility as that must have cost a lot of funds to set up.

36. Leroy Parris should be in jail; he really needs to shut up and find a solution to ensure that Barbadians are paid back every penny that CLICO stole from them. Including the money he got from the government to keep said company afloat.

37. Hal Gollop reminds me of Captain Ahab with Moby Dick.I hope he knows how the story ends.No whale, no ship , no sight of Ahab.

38. Fractured BLP Avatar

Peodi…..girl you ought to ashame
    You gone to church to praise the Lord or demonise Leroy Parris?

Since you and others are so convinced that Leroy want locking up …..bring an action in Court against him then.

Or save the bilgy air wunna fumigating the place with!

39. old onion bags Avatar

What fish shortage what……poor fishermen and women seeing tings so hard bout here…..create an artifical short…to get a higher price thats all….dolphin enuff jumpin on Spindles bar….yesterday alone I hold bout 38 heads…LOL

I gine up XXXXXX for some sea-eggs just now…..cuz these criminals eatin all and puttin the fishermen in jail.

Hants what kinda fish U eat today bredds, trout or yellow fin tuna?

40. Eye of the south Avatar
    Eye of the south

Leroy Parris an uneducated man has the whole island in disarray. He managed to owned politicians and PMs.
    Now he looking to control the law courts as well. Nobody has sympathy for him, he destroyed the lives of many small persons who dared to opposed him.
    He sought to stop clerks he had terminated from CLICO from gaining employment else where. Retribution is being wrought upon him and he will suffer more.
    Fortunately he lives in a peaceful law abiding country so he shops at Price Smart and attends church without fear.
    Another jurisdiction Leroy would not show his arrogant mug in public.I feel sorry for his wife, children they will feel the scorn he deserves.
    A rat on the run turns to the law courts, many are suffering because of his inept management.
    Hopefully he suffers long and feels the pain he has inflicted on many in the past and now.
    The cycle of life always catches you in its’ balance. Leroy you now know how it feels to have $$ but can’t touch it.
    Hal Gollop line your pockets off the arrogant asinine fellow. Remember to make a generous donation to a worthy cause.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Eye of the South

Two things: Parris didn’t just sit around on his backside and made money; he used his assets,
    Hal Gollop does not know a more worthy cause than Hal Gollop.

42. Eye of the south April 3, 2015 at 9:16 PM #
    Fortunately he lives in a peaceful law abiding country so he shops at Price Smart and attends church without fear
    …………………………………………………………………….
    But for how long? Time is rapidly running out on the good-natured-ness and the taken- for- granted docility of Bajans.
    Even the tamest of dogs, when being constantly backed into a corner, will one day come out snarling and biting.

43. One thing for sure, If I ever enter a church and see the likes of Leroy Parris and his associates in attendance , I ‘ll make a very rapid exit. God may not let the opportunity pass to bring the roof down on the lot of them.

44. Eye on the south, if an uneducated man like Leroy Parris has that much influence in the 99% literate Barbados, does it not speak very negatively regarding the educational system in Barbados.

45. @Old Onion bags,

Chunk light Tuna with Macaroni and cheese.

46. Dompey April 3, 2015 at 10:25 PM #

Eye on the south, if an uneducated man like Leroy Parris has that much influence in the 99% literate Barbados, does it not speak very negatively regarding the educational system in Barbados.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    Welcome back , Bro. But education is not common sense. And we all know that many of those who made it big in the ultimate land of opportunity, the USA, never went near a college. Lets string up Leroy Paris, not for his lack of heavy brains, but for his light fingers.

47. These guys have elevated tiefing to a science. Thievery is the the new status symbol..boasting & bragging bout how much dem tief.. Dem trying to out tief one another …wuhloss.

48. Let him get in the cue, behind all the other cases, and claims. He’s no better than anyone else.

49. @Caswell Franklyn April 3, 2015 at 12:22 PM…”I also firmly believe that Parris will prevail because I absolutely no confidence that our court system has not been compromised. Let me be clear, I am not saying for one moment that the Chief Justice would do anything wrong to protect the friends of the persons who moved the earth to appoint him, but the method of his recruitment does not give me any confidence that justice would be done.”

We knew that Leroy Parris is not a leper, but the Prime Minister’s friend…but oh ishoot I had forgotten that Chief Justice Marston Gibson is the Prime MInister’s Foundation School school mate and likely also Prime Minister Freundel Stuart’s friend.

This gets interesting.