Reverend Gerry Seale

There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female. An observation of online fora and on the ground the conclusion is the same, why must Barbadians always distil events through a prism of Black and White. There is a simple answer to those of us who wants to be honest.

Barbadians understand the divide separating Blacks and Whites. There is a tolerance level both sides slavishly respect. We come together to cavort at Crop Over and at a few social events on the calendar but for the most part we live separate lives, the Whites at Cattlewash, Kendal, Brighton etc. and the Blacks wherever. Of course we have some Whites and Blacks who socialize at the margin. The fact Whites and other minorities control a disproportionate control of the social and economic influence in Barbados adds to the dynamic. It explains the chain of events witnessed in the Karen Harris episode if compared to Kyla Weekes for example. Kyla who you asked?

A global audience witnessed the re-enactment of the walk 50 years ago across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma – read President Obama’s speech. The speech by Obama acknowledged that institutionalized racism does not exist any longer in the USA but there is also a recognition that the United States is perceived by many to be more polarized on the issue of race in 2015, coincidentally under the first Afro American president Barack Obama.

The release of the US Department of Justice report on Ferguson paints a picture of how Blacks in the small town – the scene of the Michael Brown shooting –accounted for  93% of arrests made in 2012 to 2014.  There are the emails shared by police and ancillary staff which portray the first family in a negative light. The point to note, the race conversation is ongoing and constructive dialogue is the important ingredient required to build an integrated and cohesive society for our offspring to experience a quality life.   It is not enough to say our young people have cultivated different attitudes making race relations palatable, we the older generation have a responsibility to earnestly strive for reconciliation because we are living in the moment and therefore should not disengage from any process to improve our way of life.

Last week the Reverend Gerry Seale, a White Bajan Caucasian, stoked public debate on race in Barbados by suggesting racism is alive and well in Barbados. He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented. BU tried unsuccessfully to locate the report online to share with the BU family. The journalists and others who boast they have a copy serve to expose the cesspool of ignorance we find ourselves.

Barbados is a 90% Black country and we understand the fears of Whites and minorities to talk about issues related to race. It makes them uncomfortable and it has the potential to affect the economy because of our reliance on foreign investment and international business. The USA and the town of Ferguson is a good example of what may result if we inform decisions solely on economic considerations.

Rest in Peace Lindsay Holder!

339 responses to “RACE Talk Surfaces, AGAIN”

1. Bush Tea there is a similar situation unfolding in ferguson, the police chief gone the mayor probably soon, the rest of the top brass of the city have and will follow the positions will be taken over by blacks to appease the electorate, the amount of revenue will drop because nobody will write tickets which the people wanted done away with, after a time they will get in line with other towns wanting govt aide it wont come and it will turn into a ghost town like areas of Detroit.
    Holder could not do what the people felt he promised so he threw them a bone so as not to look bad, and in the end ferguson will die as a result

2. @john.
    It is rather strange that you didn’t comment on Thomas Thistlewood.

Whites believe they are inherently superior to non -white people.

In 1748, the Scottish philosopher and historian David Hume wrote:
    ‘I am apt to suspect the Negroes, and in general all other species of men, to be naturally inferior to the whites…..”

Christoph Meiners , Thomas Thistlewood , Georges Cuvier & David Humes were all blatant racist.The list of Albino /Caucasian racist is too long exhaustive .

Over the centuries Caucasians have encouraged murder & other racist crimes against non -white people.
    Racist crimes included slavery, lynching of black people ,creation of human zoos & the list goes on.

Human Zoos:
    The primitiveness of putting the ‘primitive’ on display began during the modern period when explorers like Columbus and Vespucci lured natives back to Europe from their homelands. To prove the discovery of exotic lands, the natives were flaunted and paraded like trophies. But what began as curious awe deteriorated into an era of racial superiority and the invention of the savage.

One example of the sad human history of racism — of colonizers seeing themselves as superior to others — is the long history of human zoos that featured Africans and conquered indigenous peoples, putting them on display in much the same way as animals. People would be kidnapped and brought to be exhibited in human zoos.  It was not uncommon for these people to die quickly, even within a year of their captivity. This history is long and deep and continued into the 1950s.
    Through the 1950s, Africans and Native Americans Were Kept In Zoos As Exhibit

By M.B. David
    Political Blindspot, February 13, 2013

Throughout the early 20th century, Germany held what was termed a, “Peoples Show,” or Völkerschau. Africans were brought in as carnival or zoo exhibits for passers-by to gawk at.

Throughout the late 19th century, and well into the 1950′s, Africans and in some cases Native Americans, were kept as exhibits in zoos. Far from a relic from an unenlightened past, remnants of such exhibits have continued in Europe as late as the 2000′s.

Only decades before, in the late 1800′s, Europe had been filled with, “human zoos,” in cities like Paris, Hamburg, Antwerp, Barcelona, London, Milan, and Warsaw. New York too saw these popular exhibits continue into the 20th century. There was an average of 200,000 to 300,000 visitors who attended each exhibition in each city……

Sarah’s Story: A Colonial Showpiece

A 20 year-old girl from South Africa known as Sarah “Saartjie” Baartman would be emblematic of the dark era that gave rise to the popularity of human zoos. She was recruited by an exotic animal-dealer on location in Cape Town and traveled to London in 1810 to take part in an exhibition. The young woman went willingly under the pretense that she would find wealth and fame. Exhibitors were looking for certain qualities in their ‘exotic’ recruits that either coincided with the European beauty ideal or offered unexpected novelty. Sarah had a genetic characteristic known as steatopygia; a protuberant buttocks and elongated labia.

She found herself being exhibited in cages at sideshow attractions dressed in tight-fitting clothing that violated any cultural norms of decency at the time. A few years later she came to Paris where racial anthropologists poked and prodded and made their theories. Sarah eventually turned to prostitution to support herself and drank heavily. She had been in Europe for only four years.

When she died in poverty, Sarah’s skeleton, sexual organs and brain were put on display at the Museum of Mankind in Paris where they remained until 1974. In 2002, President Nelson Mandela formally requested the repatriation of her remains…….

Caucasian academics used psuedo-science to justify these racist crimes.
    Most Caucasian academics demonized black people / used derogatory terms to describe them.

3. Ferguson flaring…

4. Soon to be empty town of ferguson, Holder to save his own reputation has thrown the whole of ferguson administration under the bus, and now it will not be safe for anyone to live there.

5. If the “mother country” is prepared to discuss race then why is it not possible to do so in little England?

Here we have Trevor Phillips, a man of Afro-Guyanese stock, ex- leader of the student union in the seventies, a one time political activist and firebrand whose brother is a famous writer and academic; commissioned to interview a demagogue who is the leader of -some may say- a right-wing racist UK political party which is attracting swathes of sympathisers.

Poor little Barbados it is caught in a time trap. Meanwhile the world moves on.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/mar/12/nigel-farage-british-muslim-fifth-column-fuels-immigration-fear-ukip

6. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

7. Forget traffic stops you are missing the big picture, ferguson is going to die, anyone that owns their own home or business will lose their investment because no-one wants to buy them. It will end up the way of areas of Detroit where you can buy houses for 500 bucks.. All this tells white people is not that… blacks are pulled over more often than whites, not that blacks are more likely to be imprisoned than whites but that if blacks move into your neighborhood you better sell fast before you lose all your money. This is not how it should be but by holder trying to make up for empty promises and vilifying those in charge to save his reputation …two police have been shot .. and ferguson will soon be a truck stop.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

LIGHTEN UP A BIT FELLAS AND LAFF

Complete or Finished?
    This may be one of the many rumors circulating, but I like this one.
    No dictionary has ever been able to satisfactorily define the difference between “complete” and “finished.” However, during a recent linguistic conference, held in London, England, and attended by some of the best linguists in the world, Samsundar Balgobin, a Guyanese linguist, was the presenter when he was asked to make that very distinction.
    The question put to him by a colleague in the erudite audience was this: “Some say there is no difference between ‘complete’ and ‘finished.’ Please explain the difference in a way that is easy to understand.”
    Mr. Balgobin’s response: “When you marry the right person, you are ‘complete.’ If you marry the wrong person, you are ‘finished.’ And, if the right one catches you with the wrong one, you are ‘completely finished.’”

9. So wait, Lawson , you mekking sport or wha!

How the fart does a whitey town where almost a 1000% of the blacks does get tickets and ting and no-police does really bother the white folk got a frig to do wid Holder?

So you din hear that the big up peoples in the city office and police office uses to send a bunch of racist emails all ova de place.

I tink you need to reset your vibe, white bro.

The problem was caused by the racist white dumb-asses; if they cud just live and let live like dey all does do all ova these here United States of America then they would be abe to sell they houses and move because no body would eva find out how bad they was until they left.

You should thank Holder cause now you can get a house cheap and ting and have a nice investment property and do a ting on a rental site.

Wha yah say!

10. Exclaimer March 12, 2015 at 7:46 AM #

If the “mother country” is prepared to discuss race then why is it not possible to do so in little England?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    For the same reason that Barbadians would ignore a Zebra crossing and saunter across the road a few yards away.
    Stay clear of stepping on either the white or black strips in the false belief that you are otherwise playing it safe.

11. Mr. Realhistory; good brother I respect much your lessons and ting and I n’stand how racists these white folks is.

I mean tek tha fella Rudy Guiliani the former Mayor in NY. Jus today that backra johhny get an say that Obama is the reason for the up-tic in black crime. De wise jackass say da recent police tha get shoot at in Fergusson is caused by Obama’s tone and comments against police across the country.

Now that is a Bull Connor, Gov. Wallace type white resistance to anything black; cause that is just plain a dumb-ass ting to say.

But respecting all that I wud ask u this question though: do you think that we black people would treat these white folks any better if we did in the positions of power?

I mean none of the available evidence suggest that, cause in many locales where its only be black on black way away from the influence, confluence or any type of ‘ence’ of the white peoples we does still be fairly rambunctious and ‘tribal’ wid those who we conquer or feel superior to.

So this en about excuses or not speaking about racism but as long as we got different peoples living wid each other then we gin get the type of power situation seen today.

So drumming up the past is mighty useful but we really gotta forge some new type of ‘ence’ like ‘togetherness-ence’ or ‘brotherhood-ence’ or something to get over this constant continuous confabulations ’bout race.

Wha yah tink!

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2015 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

White niggers and black niggers full of greed and greedy mess up every thing for black and white on the island ,

Massive on going land fraud is why Banks are leaving the Caribbean , First Caribbean crooks ass bank run by Sir COWilliams and Sir Richard l Cheltham ,better get all you money out , them bitches taking their out now , looking to tell you the bank fail after having to turn over 100,000,000 of unclaimed funds ,

they held that money to live of the base and move as they please, If Leroy have so much land , which we have the plantation deed from , who sold it to him or he was laundering land under Clico for and with first caribbean with larry tatum

13. @ Lee
    “….do you think that we black people would treat these white folks any better if we did in the positions of power?”
    What do you mean the available evidence does not support that..?

Look at most Black majority countries and show us where the laws discriminate against the minority groups….
    LOL… in certain shiite places, the laws actually discriminate AGAINST the locals – and favour people Like Butch Stewart and other ‘high-net-worth’ types.

South Africa came DIRECTLY out of repressive apartheid and went to a regime that sought to have EQUALITY for blacks and whites.

Despite the talk about Mugabe, it was only after 30 years of bullshitting by the whites AFTER apartheid ended, that Zimbabwe got tough with the white racists…

Post-slavery in the Caribbean…..what was the trend WRT treatment of minority whites by the newly freed slaves….?
    What did Barrow do to whites? ….many of them ran away to Australia and Canada because they knew what THEY would have done to blacks had the roles been reversed…. but if anything whites have enjoyed a special and privileged status among the majority blacks here.

Name any one white leader who, had their roles been reversed with Mandela, would NOT have had a major, revenge, blood-letting in south africa instead of a “Truth” commission…

Lawson’s heart is good, but like many Bajan whites, he can’t get easily over years of indoctrination that whites are somehow ‘superior’ and that blacks are lucky to be ‘out of the plantation yard’.
    shiite man … when it becomes clear to everyone that the REAL people of this world are not white, not rich and not famous….but are simple whacker welding bushmen and women…Lawson and Money B going to piss their pants….. LOL …and John will come up with shiite story ’bout how the Quakers were the people behind the whole thing…. LOL ha ha ha ….muh belly!!

14. Time for Frederick Forsyth to write a sequel to “The Dogs of War”, Nigeria the most populous country in Africa is employing mercenaries from South Africa and other European countries to fight Boko Haram. I can only assume that their own soldiers were not up to the task.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/03/13/world/africa/nigerias-fight-against-boko-haram-gets-help-from-south-african-mercenaries.html?_r=0

15. piss my pants or not …time will prove me out sorry bt look what is going on now ..you movin there

16. look I respect a man no matter what color religion or race he is I may not agree with their point of view but I will try and see if he can at least see my rational on what we are talking about , and if we differ so be it

17. @ Sargeant
    Fighting hot wars is not the same as confidence trickery boss. If you want people to talk sweet and pull off scams…..OK.
    But shooting and bombing and killing… Nah .. South Africans skippa…

@ Lawson
    What are you saying?
    Unless white people run things in Ferguson, there will be no Ferguson? …see, you have this instinctive, irrational bias that defies logic….
    Who says that houses must be worth $1/2 million?
    So what if the house values fall to where blacks can afford a nice one?

There is more to life than MONEY, Lawson….
    Suppose poor neighbors begin to care about each other?
    Suppose the police stop murdering young men because they (police) are scared and heavily armed?
    Suppose the new sheriff is fair, honest and (God forbid) black?

…man take it easy. Institutions that are clearly racist and discriminatory SHOULD be dismantled….even at some costs….

We got some bout here that want mashing up too…..

18. Sargeant March 12, 2015 at 10:16 PM #
    ……………………………………………………………….
    This has always been the MO when ever there is a conflict in Africa. It appears that leaders in Africa, including rebel leaders, feel more confident, forking out millions of dollars to buy modern arms to equip foreign mercenaires, and pay them large sums of money, rather than , in the case of Governments, invest this same money in obtaining proper training and modern arms for their own troops. But to be blunt and honest, African troops, just do not cut it as real fighting soldiers,in these modern times, like the Brits or especially the Ghurkas. But the Nigerian Government has tried over the years to upgrade the standards of soldiering withing its ranks, aided by the British Army with training cadres and joint military exercises.

19. saintgeorgesdragon Avatar
    saintgeorgesdragon

I was beginning to think that Bajans were racist until I read explanations on BU which made me realise that is not the case, it is everyone else in the world who is at fault (sarcasm here guys):
    We love everyone in the world except:
    The British – the colonial occupiers who sold us into slavery. They may have changed since the abolition of slavery but we don’t care, we still hate them.
    The Guyanese – they take our jobs and our women. They are just rat-catchers. We hate them.
    The Trinidadians – they buy our businesses and rape our country. We hate them.
    The Jamaicans – drug dealers and prostitutes. Every since Myrie, we hate them even more.
    The Americans – thugs who try to rule the world. We hate them.
    The Small Islanders – unsophisticated people who try to trick their way into our country and take our jobs. We hate them.
    The Europeans – more colonial occupiers – see the British above. We hate them all.
    The Canadians – they may invest money and have businesses here but we don’t much like them, so we apply our anti-British and anti-American views to them. We hate them.
    The Nigerians – scam artists. We hate them.
    The Muslims – potential terrorists and worse still builders of a gated community near QC (horror of horrors). We hate them.
    We don’t hate everyone, of course. I will get back to you with a country / nationality we are ok with. It might take a while.

20. Dee Ingrunt Squared Avatar
    Dee Ingrunt Squared

Sargeant, this is my take on your comment: “Nigeria the most populous country in Africa is employing mercenaries… I can only assume that their own soldiers were not up to the task.”==================

Imaginary Office of Min of Defense:

Ok gentlemen the Sargeant is a solid soldier. But his secondment here at the Ministry is over. I will have him assigned to the forward squad on the mission sent to flush out the Boko Harem killers.

Remember we must maintain our troops as an excellent force of solid defense to the industrial apparatus but the bulk of military pending will be directed to technical surveillance and these European soldiers to get rid of these killers.

I plan to be PM one day and I agree completely with the PM that we must never allow our army to stage a coup. We must not misdirect our overflowing revenue to these miscreants and ever find ourselves on the other side of that gun.

As Min of Defense that will not happen under my watch and no time after that either.

The British have offered to run another 6 months of commando training and there are four slots at Sandhurst for next year.

So General Duffus I need you to coordinate with General Dickhead and organize the right soldiers to fill those billets.

Ok gentlemen that’s it for now. Oh, Lt. Sweatpea please ensure you get that report to my office this evening as planned. Dismissed.

====

Just another slant of the ‘seen it all perspective/\’ you mentioned. It’s sweet to judge from our armchairs. Reality is all together another thing.

21. BT everything is about money, people… white black whatever work all there lives to have the dream of owning a home not imagining that because of a kid robbing a store miles away it will become worthless it is a terrible thing. You have all black people in charge how is that working out for you.lol You need a tax base (money again) to pay salaries fix roads etc when property is worthless there is nothing coming in, the infrastructure falls apart everybody who can, leaves and the place .

22. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

saintgeorgesdragon

Yes bajans do have views against

British
    Guyanese
    Trinidadians
    Jamaicans
    Americans
    Small Islanders
    Europeans
    Canadians
    Nigerians
    Muslims

but to be honest it’s early days and BBD don’t get much foreigners to mix with and sort out issues to progress forwards. They need more foreigners to hate and then give up hating on eventually

23. The mistress of the so-called Road Builder weighs in on the search for Karen Harris in today’s Barbados Today: “Idle talk”

“Business duo wants Bajans to stop quarrelling and get to work”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2015/03/13/idle-talk/

24. saintgeorgesdragon Avatar
    saintgeorgesdragon

That’s a scandalous accusation. Are you really saying that Sir Charles Williams is having an affair with his brother’s wife. I don’t believe it.
    http://barpublish.bits.baseview.com/story/289516750903303.php

25. saintgeorgesdragon March 13, 2015 at 4:02 PM #
    ……………………………………………………………………….
    But Bizzy is also a Road builder . He is building up millions by ROAD (Renting Office Accommodation to Dickheads) in government.

26. @ saintgeorgesdragon March 13, 2015 at 4:02 PM

Thank you for the correction! I extend my apology to the concerned parties. In the UK, whites have problems distinguishing between black people. They use to say “We all look the same!” I guess that problem applies to blacks who from time to time have problems distinguishing between white people.

27. This bare joke.

About 90 percent of Barbadians, given the chance, would emigrate to Amurca tummorruh mawning, if you gave them Green Card.

Bajs got nuff fambly in AMurca, love Amurca, love to visit an spen money, love the place.

Stacaytion my xxxxxxx! Amurca baby.

Offa dem Green Card, dem would be gone!

THAT is the acid test of alla di lotta long talk.

Bajans care bout themselves, themselves and themselves, Get REAL!!!

28. Talking about racism and acceptance. It would be a cold day in hell before a statue of a foreigner would be placed in our Parliament forecourt.

I wonder what that says…..

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-31862446

29. A GROUP OF BEACH USERS is challenging the Boatyard Beach Club to show its title deed to the actual beach after they were barred from mingling because one of them was not wearing the bar’s wristbands

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/64780/boatyard-row#sthash.B5M5ggx5.dpuf

30. here we go again , it costs money to keep the beach clean, the pier safe the towels the equipment the washrooms the staff most people know this, You pay a fee to enter and you get it all back in food and drink but that is not good enough for some they feel the rules don’t apply to them and when challenged they resort to any means possible to show they aren’t just a cheap freeloader I love the boatyard area free from sellers, lots to do staff courteous and friendly. How can someone in business not see this, is she to have us believe she would piss or crap on the ground and not use there washrooms, what is this respect for them I didn’t use their chair…huh…you didn’t pay . Having dealt with many low life real estate agents the common thing about them is the mantra free. They charge 6% to sell your home and once you list with them instead of working for you they try and get you to drop your price actually working for the prospective buyer and themselves Hopefully she will be seen for what she is

31. lawson March 14, 2015 at 4:56 AM #

We like um FREEness. Evabody want tings free. But businessmen need to pay up man. We does like um so.

The joke is, Boatyard likely does pay VAT and taxes, how many of the others working on that beach do???

Interesting last paragraph…….point taken.

32. Boatyard should put up a big sign ” For those using outside sports operators, we suggest ensuring that you see their insurance certificates and VAT registration. Without those you will be significantly exposed in the event of an accident’.

That should be interesting.

33. @Crusoe

Why should Madame Cornelius excuse herself? Is it because she has demonstrated she has ‘balls’?

The same consideration to support the Justice recusing herself does it extend to Mara the wife of a thief and her current role as deputy speaker and MP?

Yes we have to delineate the legal and moral arguments.

34. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

By the same type of lopsided reasoning being used to require Madam Justice Cornelius to recuse herself from Parris’ case, Hal Gollop should recuse himself from presiding over any matter that involving the Stuart administration at the Employment Rights Tribunal. He questions the closeness of Ralph Thorne, who commented on the Parris affair, to the judge. Likewise, I question the closeness of Hal Gollop to the Prime Minister who has commented and has given instructions on matters that are before Hal’s tribunal.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn March 14, 2015 at 8:57 AM

One thing about you Caswell, is that you are able to sniff out that rat of hypocrisy from as far up as Marchfield down to Ilaro Court. Putting his buddy Hal in charge of the ERT is like appointing his pal Leroy Parris as chairman of the Financial Services Commission.

What was shallow lying Hal trying to prove when he appeared on DLPTV to publicly plead a case of Leroy’s entitlement and innocence to any fraudulent activity when other related matters involving his client were before the courts?
    A preemptive strike against the criminally ‘implicitus’ contents of the Forensic report
    to build a tarnished case for an unfair trial since his client has already been found guilty in the public’s eyes?

36. @Caswell

You posted your comment to the wrong blog.

On 14 March 2015 at 13:38, Barbados Underground wrote:

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Please transfer.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David March 14, 2015 at 9:40 AM

Should I do the same with my response to Caswell’s comments?

39. @Miller

Go ahead and copy paste to the other blog.

On 14 March 2015 at 14:03, Barbados Underground wrote:

40. @lawson March 14, 2015 at 4:56 AM “here we go again , it costs money to keep the beach clean, the pier safe the towels the equipment the washrooms the staff”

Regardless it is a public beach.

IT IS A PUBLIC BEACH

And we the tax payers of Barbados who pay nuff, nuff taxes (tens of thousands per year, every year for decades at a time less you forget) have a GREATER RIGHT to use the beach than any foreigner spending a couple of hundred dollars.

Understand we ain’t asking permission to use OUR BEACH.

THAT BEACH BELONGS TO US.

Da beach is mine, I gine bathe anytime.

41. @Exclaimer March 13, 2015 at 2:50 PM “The mistress of the so-called Road Builder weighs in on the search for Karen Harris in today’s Barbados Today: “Idle talk”

Stupse!!!

So what is Shelly Williams’ claim to fame besides being married to an old man?

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

42. @Exclaimer March 13, 2015 at 2:50 PM ““Business duo wants Bajans to stop quarrelling and get to work”

Just like other people can walk and chew gum, so can Bajans quarrell AND work at the same time.

Somebody needs to tell Shelly and Bizzy to chill…

43. bajans in u s a is good . the draft coming soon….
    racism in barbados? no way!!!!i dont believe it….disappointing!!

44. @Simple Simon who asks ? “So what is Shelly Williams’ claim to fame besides being married to an old man?”

A black Bajan businesswoman who has the same rights as we do. Too bad she doesn’t comment on BU.

45. @ Hants
    …as man…… Bushie feel that you is a Canadian who does visit bout here a lot and is only a wannabe Bajan….
    You ain’t no damn real real Bajan….. You too “middle-of-the-road’ish”…
    …always looking to mek peace… to mediate …. to soft peddle…

Man go long an fish or something nuh…!!!?

If Simple Simon wants to cuss Shelly, she could cuss she…
    who send and call Shelly to come with she “cry cry” husband talking shiite bout wuh black bajans should or should not do….?
    wuh dem is the ‘first family’ bout here now…? …or dem going pay back the Family first money that Thompy thief…..?

That woman rich as shiite….what ‘same rights as we do’ what??!!

Steupssss…

…..as you were saying Simple… 🙂

46. Simple Simon March 14, 2015 at 11:24 AM #

@lawson March 14, 2015 at 4:56 AM “here we go again , it costs money to keep the beach clean, the pier safe the towels the equipment the washrooms the staff”

Regardless it is a public beach.

IT IS A PUBLIC BEACH
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    IT IS A PUBLIC ROAD
    IT IS A DAMN PUBLIC ROAD

But lets be fair Boat Yard is only doing what we Bajans have allowed and have supported with gusto over the years. Same thing-only different.

PUBLIC NOTICE

The Following Roads will be closed for Motor Sports
    Sunday March 15,2015 : MALVERN TO WILSON HILL
    The Motoring Club of Barbados Inc have given careful consideration to the free flow of both vehicular and pedestrian traffic.
    ………..The above mentioned roads ,for the purpose of these directions ,SHALL BE DEEMED NOT TO BE PUBLIC ROADS ,within the meaning of the Road Traffic Act,and the Highways Act of the laws of Barbados, whether traveling on foot ,by vehicle or otherwiseshall be prohibited from having any right of access to said roads during the times specified.
    ANY PERSON WHO CONTRAVENES THESE DIRECTIONS IS LIABLE ON SUMMARY CONVICTION TO A FINE OF $500 OF IMPRISONMENT FOR 6 MONTHS

47. ss yes of course it is a public beach, but the equipment isn’t the facilities aren’t..its not your insurance if she tripped over a chair fell off a trampoline ..who is she coming to sue you? not a chance . So now we must figure out where beach ends and property starts who owns the pier. if it is rented from govt what goes with it. But I am tired of a lot of you pin heads sucking at the govt teat and and lecturing me about how you pay taxes and you are real bajans whatever that means …if it wasn’t for me and my ilk paying your inflated prices buying your over priced million dollar concrete boxes ,investing in your offshore banking you would be another over populated island filled with grass huts from sugar cane stalks hoping for a hurricane to come and adjust cull the herd