Reverend Gerry Seale

There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female. An observation of online fora and on the ground the conclusion is the same, why must Barbadians always distil events through a prism of Black and White. There is a simple answer to those of us who wants to be honest.

Barbadians understand the divide separating Blacks and Whites. There is a tolerance level both sides slavishly respect. We come together to cavort at Crop Over and at a few social events on the calendar but for the most part we live separate lives, the Whites at Cattlewash, Kendal, Brighton etc. and the Blacks wherever. Of course we have some Whites and Blacks who socialize at the margin. The fact Whites and other minorities control a disproportionate control of the social and economic influence in Barbados adds to the dynamic. It explains the chain of events witnessed in the Karen Harris episode if compared to Kyla Weekes for example. Kyla who you asked?

A global audience witnessed the re-enactment of the walk 50 years ago across the Edmund Pettus Bridge in Selma – read President Obama’s speech. The speech by Obama acknowledged that institutionalized racism does not exist any longer in the USA but there is also a recognition that the United States is perceived by many to be more polarized on the issue of race in 2015, coincidentally under the first Afro American president Barack Obama.

The release of the US Department of Justice report on Ferguson paints a picture of how Blacks in the small town – the scene of the Michael Brown shooting –accounted for  93% of arrests made in 2012 to 2014.  There are the emails shared by police and ancillary staff which portray the first family in a negative light. The point to note, the race conversation is ongoing and constructive dialogue is the important ingredient required to build an integrated and cohesive society for our offspring to experience a quality life.   It is not enough to say our young people have cultivated different attitudes making race relations palatable, we the older generation have a responsibility to earnestly strive for reconciliation because we are living in the moment and therefore should not disengage from any process to improve our way of life.

Last week the Reverend Gerry Seale, a White Bajan Caucasian, stoked public debate on race in Barbados by suggesting racism is alive and well in Barbados. He indicated not one recommendation documented in the Truth and Reconciliation Commission report issued so many years ago have been implemented. BU tried unsuccessfully to locate the report online to share with the BU family. The journalists and others who boast they have a copy serve to expose the cesspool of ignorance we find ourselves.

Barbados is a 90% Black country and we understand the fears of Whites and minorities to talk about issues related to race. It makes them uncomfortable and it has the potential to affect the economy because of our reliance on foreign investment and international business. The USA and the town of Ferguson is a good example of what may result if we inform decisions solely on economic considerations.

Rest in Peace Lindsay Holder!

339 responses to “RACE Talk Surfaces, AGAIN”

1. […] By David […]

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

When you do not follow law and allow people with money to draw the line in who gets what and who gets charged and who goes to jail and who goes home,and who pays taxes and who do not .We will always have these problems,
    Along with the news , tv , and radio ,with what goes on to the public ears and eyes to see read or hear, to expose what the other see as the lower class based on money and status , All of this make the lines to be seen base on it being repeated over and over again,

Vote buying allow crooks and law breakers to support each other over the lawful that have no money to buy their way into office to support the crooks liars and scumbags all the way to the Central Bank , to Clico, to Sagicor all the way down for these same crooks to hire their own known crooks to infect the system of god governance with HIV,EBOLA,CANCER , into the System of a Nations , That give us what we have today in Barbados ,,, Let all thank the DLP and BLP for their Sell out and Sell of Nature of Crime,

All of these Ways and how these people are, is a CRIME to us all,

3. old onion bags Avatar

Include too brother……petty ignorance to assert indignation about lighter shades of pigmentation……black is black no need for the further recriminations.

4. Racism and racial prejudice! Are they the same thing? I don’t think so!

5. Cultural differences in different races and ethnic groups; are manifested throughout the world of nations!

6. The Syrian/Lebanese community, the East Indian and Chinese community, right here in B’dos, are very sectarian, they for the most part stick together! Why? Because of their inherent ‘Cultural’ differences!

7. Great article. Well wriiten but I did not get the last line of the Gerry Seales paragraph :In which”??? A++

8. I have been away from Barbados for over 20 years. What surprised me in the written discourse on the missing lady is the state of race relations seems to be the same as back then- (if not worse)

9. old onion bags Avatar

What cultural indifference what… bare stupidity that what…when people of darker complexions or beliefs can see it fit to delinate another people\or complexions, all in the interest of genocide\ or alienation.Downright hatred and selfish profiteering by man. Nuttin else..

10. @Zoe

Please explain what cultural difference has to do with how Bajan Whites behave in Barbafos? Then explain in a wider context I.e what is happening in the USA today given the great mistrust between Blacks and Whites.

Ignore or engage, rake your pick.

On Sunday, 8 March 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. You know – you ‘David’ are something else. Clermont is NOT about race. Nor must it be supposed that ‘race in Barbados’ is confined to the pejorative feelings and expressions of ‘race’ by whites against blacks. You don’t want to hear that and so this post is yet another race card – black against white – by BU to whip up the standard garbage. It’s YOU BU WHO ARE RACIST.

But tell me something…is anyone under 30 the slightest bit bothered about race here any more? BU is a country of old men with old ideas who love it just the way it’s presented. It provides an excuse for its littleness. If you want to live like that fine.

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

its seem more about money than race, but when we put the faces to the money then we see night and day,,

no rule of law , just rule of money when we dont get charged equal , go home equal, pay fines equal,when we dont get the same coverage equal, when we dont pay taxes equal ,,, money and dirty money in the hands of dirty greedy people,
    money Money MONEY MONEY

13. The writer’s use of ‘WHITE CAUCASIAN’ is surprisingly redundant; so is the writer’s statements that a people and a country of 90% blacks is a minority in their own country. 90% minority. I hope they are reading this. I am tempted to laugh if not for the seriousness of the entire matter.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

its all about money for the so called blacks rule and then sell out the laws rules to cheat to get ahead,

15. Oh and David…the LAST thing you are striving to do is effect reconciliation – other than reconciliation by accepting every little bit of nonsense you utter. If that were NOT the case you would explore racism in sections of the black community against whites. But then you don’t need to do that. Every post you publish on this issue exemplifies it.

Zoe

Of course the ‘separateness’ you pinpoint arise from cultural differences as you say just as Clermont is about stark religious differences.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Wait who is this bulling boy called Hoss that calling readers of BU ole men….Man Fkcu Ross.

17. I think we are missing the mark here with the label racism. Prof. Beckles once described what is emerging in Barbados as “warring classes”. When you look at the anatomy of “our so called” whites, you see appearing Indians, Chinese (yes), the usual brown skin ones and the others who have some portion of white ancestry left (Money Brain).

And I agree with another post here which identified the common factor as “money”. This group knows it has “land, property and status” to defend and it is doing so with all its might. Notice when young whites in Barbados marry the bride is from some European stock!!

The laughable part is that when some here who now froth at their mouths are invited into this group, they change a social and cultural page and see nothing wrong with the existing social and cultural structures that are currently in place.

18. robert ross March 8, 2015 at 9:02 AM #
    Oh and David…the LAST thing you are striving to do is effect reconciliation – other than reconciliation by accepting every little bit of nonsense you utter. If that were NOT the case you would explore racism in sections of the black community against whites. But then you don’t need to do that. Every post you publish on this issue exemplifies it.

Zoe

Of course the ‘separateness’ you pinpoint arise from cultural differences as you say just as Clermont is about stark religious differences.

@David, You just don’t get it, do you! Its a waste of time attempting to discuss this inverted ‘racism’ that comes through BU!

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbadians bury their heads in the sand on almost all controversial topics, except politics. In the Karen Harris case, we pulled out our heads from the sand long enough to make a few observations but the comfort of the sand awaits, until the next time. At that point, we will do the righteous indignation thing for the prescribed nine days and return to our comfort zones, that is the Bajan way.

If you really want to enrage Bajans, you just need to stop a fete or change the route for Kadooment. Imagine, this present administration is decimating the poor while the politicians and a few of their cohorts live lavishly and the poor suffer in silence. People like David Commissiong live frustrating lives trying to raise the level of consciousness of the masses but it appears that the black Bajans at least have been bred to be docile slaves and we continue to be docile slaves even with the shackles being physically removed from our hands and feet. The keys to the shackles from our minds seem to be lost. If not they are in the custody of the political class who do nothing to emancipate the minds of the ‘poor black man’, who is only there to be used at election time.

It is a real racket, the whites buy off the politicians and in turn the politicians continue to keep us in subjection offering a few crumbs at a time to pacify the poor black man.

I said all that while believing that the problem in Barbados is not race. It was but now it is class. More than a few black people that have achieved remove themselves from among the people who look like themselves and become BLACK MASSAS. Everyday in my line of work I encounter black managers and supervisors who behave as though they are employed as drivers on slave plantations. The most notable modern day slave plantation are the Transport Board, Airport, Psychiatric Hospital, BWU and hotels. So far in the hotels I have encountered only Mango Bay as an exception whose human resources manager appear to be human.

20. There is no subject that will ignite a discussion like race, it doesn’t matter which part of the world. If you want to make minorities in Barbados uncomfortable discuss race, whether it is about the Moslem enclave in the making spawning the Clermont and Prior Park area or the unprecedented events of a search and rescue operation triggered by the disappearance of Karen Harris a White Caucasian female.

What is the difference between a white, a Caucasian and a white Caucasian?

How exactly does being a Moslem make you a member of another race?

Exactly how many races are there?

This sentence clearly demonstrates its author’s desperate attempts to incite commotion to incite division.

I would guess the author belongs to an era when the politicians were doing their best to brainwash and reprogram back in the 60’s and 70’s.

The effects of the brainwashing are evident in the incorrect use of the English language and reliance on the expectation that others also suffer from the effects of the brainwashing and reprogramming.

I am not ashamed to admit that I belong to a minority here on BU, I actually read read!!

I enjoy being part of the discussion and don’t feel in the least uncomfortable being in this minority.

21. Understand something, BU will use redundant language if we believe it serves a purpose. One of the problems Bajans battle every day is to genuflect to the status quo. All are welcome to critique and label the blog the conclusion will be the same, we have a problem whether it is about race, class, cultural differences etc.

Todays VoB radio program is slated to discuss race relations in Barbados by the way.

22. @ZOE

We are taking the Reverend Gerry Seal’s advice, we may have to froth and shout before we talk with instead of at. Reads familiar doesn’t it? And yes, many don’t get it all around the globe not only BU.

23. David

There is nothing called ‘reversed racism.’ There is this person who brings this up all the time. Racism has a particular, historic, specific and scientific meaning. That miscreant has before even sought to convince our friend, Baf, of this notion. These attempts to try to convince Black people that their perceived dislike for White people is tantamount to ‘racism’ is the kind of lie only a stinking BULLER could tell.

In short, Black people can be perceived to hate White people as much as this BULLER would like to pretend but unless Black people have the power, political, economic, religious, etc to enforce such an unknown social paradigm, this false conception is no more than a cultural fiction.

That that writer continues to rehash this long discredited notion should confirm that he is indeed the ‘UNREPENTANT RACIST’ he has previously laid claims to.

24. @John

You and the usual suspects will trivialize the race debate hopefully not to your detriment but then there is Australia to run to. Moslem, Muslim, Islam whatever is perceived as a non White preserve in many parts of the world including Barbados. The reaction to a Moslem conclave in the built up terrace of Clermont and Prior Park you will never grasp.

25. I still want to know how 90% is a minority???

26. @Pacha

Have always wondered how Blacks could be labeled racist. Maybe prejudice, bigoted but not racist. The reaction here so far confirmed we will be in the same place 50 years from now. We will bold WHITE CAUCASIAN for emphasis.

27. John

“Belongs to an era”

Yes, I’m sure that’s right. Meanwhile they learn nothing and forget nothing.

OLD onion………the other unrepentant old men, BT and Pieceuh, are busily on their knees at this moment intoning ‘I am not like other men….’

Caswell

Borrowing from a Nigerian market experience…

‘There’s black men , white men and black men like white men’……the last pay the most.

28. David/Pacha/ Mr Hate…for it’s clear who wrote this post

You continue to spout total bollocks. You have no interest in truth. You won’t be alive in 50 years. Indeed, the world has already left you behind Dodo-head.

29. David

The accepted wisdom in Barbados. The narrative the White would like to normalize is that their history is to be forgotten. A schizophrenia where they get to keep their ill-gotten gains and privilege, while Black people are to pretend that our society has not been informed by the criminal nature of White oppression, as it continues today under different guises.

Only a BULLER like ROBERT ROSS would make these kinds on arguments. But again that’s the nature of BULLERS.

30. Pacha

You don’t think this ‘buller’ thing is a little childish do you? It establishes nothing but only proves you’re an ass-hole.

31. David March 8, 2015 at 9:30 AM #

@ZOE

We are taking the Reverend Gerry Seal’s advice, we may have to froth and shout before we talk with instead of at. Reads familiar doesn’t it? And yes, many don’t get it all around the globe not only BU.

Are you taking the Right Reverend’s advice because he is white, Caucasian or white Caucasian?

Even he doesn’t seem to realize there is only one race as pointed out on BU already …. just shows how well the politicians brainwashed people!!

32. David March 8, 2015 at 9:41 AM #

@Pacha

Have always wondered how Blacks could be labeled racist. Maybe prejudice, bigoted but not racist. The reaction here so far confirmed we will be in the same place 50 years from now. We will bold WHITE CAUCASIAN for emphasis.
    +++++++++++++++++++

I don’t understand how anyone could be labeled as racist if as we accept, there is only one race!!

33. Bulling Robert Ross

You are a self-defined ‘UNREPENTANT RACIST”. That is your proud declaration, not our.

You are also a self-defined BULLER buy your own words. These admission could be found, either overtly or covertly in your writings here. You therefore cannot come to this discussion with clean hands.

We have previously cited the connections between bulling and racism. That you are both makes you possibly the worst human excrement still breathing.

34. old onion bags Avatar

Ross

I dare you to bend ova….rotate and tell us if U still see balls! ……and please don’t feel tickled and do a hen’s cackle, (that can wait)….you on a serious mission now ….for once just forget Bush Hill friends

35. @John

You may trivialize all you want but the problem exist so deal with it on BU or down Cattlewash.

On 8 March 2015 at 13:58, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. David March 8, 2015 at 9:27 AM #

Understand something, BU will use redundant language if we believe it serves a purpose. One of the problems Bajans battle every day is to genuflect to the status quo. All are welcome to critique and label the blog the conclusion will be the same, we have a problem whether it is about race, class, cultural differences etc.

Todays VoB radio program is slated to discuss race relations in Barbados by the way.

As an unrepentant member of the minority who reads I will observe that it doesn’t matter who discusses race … it won’t change my beliefs ….. I cling to what I have discovered in my readings, observations and thinkings that there is only one race, the human race.

It is therefore not possible for a member of the human race to be racist!!

The folks at VoB are clearly not reading or thinking folks!!

37. @ John

This thing about ‘one race’ is merely aspirational. It has no practical application in today’s world. You have to be able to separate theory from praxis. Even amongst races their are other divides; classism, colourism, sexism, religion, clanism and many more. All could be just as virilent.

That simplistic notion can’t properly explain the real world!

38. White people in Barbados should not be scared to discuss race. In fact by discussing it it will validate the discussion and deflate the myths.

39. “race relations in Barbados” should be discussed in the context of “redistribution of wealth.

Whites Bajans became rich and privileged from the time of slavery till today because they had a captive workforce of cheap Black labour.

We should be focused on creating opportunities for Black people in Barbados. The whites bread done buttered.

A peaceful apartheid co existence is fine but the wealth needs to be redistributed.

40. @ Sheri Veronica

”’The writer’s use of ‘WHITE CAUCASIAN’ is surprisingly redundant; so is the writer’s statements that a people and a country of 90% blacks is a minority in their own country. 90% minority. I hope they are reading this. I am tempted to laugh if not for the seriousness of the entire matter.”’

You have to properly locate the typology of crypto-racism of Barbados. That kind of racism turns a majority into a minority. The things that White people in Barbados could do and get away with transforms the majority into an minority. The acceptance of this UN declared notion of racism in Barbados by Black people supports this inversion of reality as a normalcy.

Barbados has a particular history as the world centre for slavery. That history allows local Whites to perfect a kind of Apartheid not even the South Africans, pre-1994, could better. Remember, it was Barbados who gave the world, the master slaver, Willie Lynch.

41. Imagine, this present administration is decimating the poor while the politicians and a few of their cohorts live lavishly and the poor suffer in silence. People like David Commissiong live frustrating lives trying to raise the level of consciousness of the masses but it appears that the black Bajans at least have been bred to be docile slaves and we continue to be docile slaves even with the shackles being physically removed from our hands and feet. The keys to the shackles from our minds seem to be lost. If not they are in the custody of the political class who do nothing to emancipate the minds of the ‘poor black man’, who is only there to be used at election time.

It is a real racket, the whites buy off the politicians and in turn the politicians continue to keep us in subjection offering a few crumbs at a time to pacify the poor black man.

+++++

Agree.

42. David March 8, 2015 at 10:02 AM #

You may trivialize all you want but the problem exist so deal with it on BU or down Cattlewash

The funny thing about this statement is that your imagined meetings did actually take place in the 17th and 18th centuries but I know you are too young to know about them and I only know about them because I read …. and think!!

You completely misunderstand what you speak about. You would be quite amazed to find out what actually went into the building of our country and the foundations on which it was laid!!

Perhaps if those meetings had actually continued to today this country would not have been in the mess it is.

43. @ David

Why would White people in Barbados want to discuss racism? Racism, crypto-racism works best in the shadows.

These people, like Bullen Robert Ross, have spent their whole lives, careers, telling lies about the Bajan typology of racism. People like Hoyos and their Black satrapies like Shorey should be made to pay the ultimate price. Even if it means digging them up.

Although we now know the truth, once a lie gets a head start it’s nearly impossible to catch it, with the truth.

44. David March 8, 2015 at 10:09 AM #

White people in Barbados should not be scared to discuss race. In fact by discussing it it will validate the discussion and deflate the myths

The only myth that exists is that there is racisim!!

We have a societal problem … the Country sick.

45. Pachamama March 8, 2015 at 10:26 AM #

Why would White people in Barbados want to discuss racism? Racism, crypto-racism works best in the shadows.

Why would anybody want to discuss racism?!!

Perhaps “white people” are ahead of the curve and have already figured this out for themselves.

46. John March 8, 2015 at 9:27 AM #

How exactly does being a Moslem make you a member of another race?

++++

Yup…exactly. It isn’t. There black, brown, white……that follow Islam.

I see the same type of thing where I am. On radio in print. Everyone is a race now…jews, french, Muslims!!!! It’s ridiculous.