Donville Inniss’ Response to Vote Buying by Politicians

Posted by Artaxeres to the Well Done Freundel blog

It seems as though once again Donville consumed too much alcohol or mind altering substances at Friday and Saturday night karaoke sessions, which puts him in the frame of mind to talk shiite at the DLP Sunday evening constituency branch meetings.

The suggestion from three businessmen to implement laws forbidding politicians from bribing people to vote for them, seems to have brought condemnation from “The Don”. He is reported as having said, “You need to strongly, not subliminally, but boldly state that any businessman who provides money to a politician to buy votes should also be locked up and heavily punished.”

But we all know Donville is a man who loves the attention he receives from the press, as well as constantly contradicting Stuart, or implying that he’s a liar.

Recall, shortly after the February 2013 general elections, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite confirmed to the news media that is was distressing to him that “some” Barbadians sold their votes during the recent general election.
This was also confirmed by Freundel Stuart, who is on record as having voiced his concerns to CBC reporters, about the stories he heard throughout election day, relative to people exchanging money for votes, which he described as an “ugly practice which digs at the roots of democratic structures”.

Yesterday, while addressing a joint branch meeting of the St. Michael Central and St. Michael South Central constituencies, Inniss told the audience that the three businessmen has spent their time and energy writing a letter to him BASED ON A RUMOR AND ALLEGATION and expected him to believe they are serious.

So, if what Donville say indeed true, then I suggest he should tell Fruendel and Adriel at the next cabinet meeting, to apologize immediately for misleading Barbadians “BASED ON A RUMOR AND ALLEGATION.”

41 comments

• wunna BLP yardfowls ,so funny , it seems like you guys have no issues that affect the economy to talk about, one day its lashley the next it is Donville (maybe multiple times) the next chris sincklair and on and on seem the only thing the BLP misfits good at is name calling. Steupse go find some real hard issues to bring to table same ole repetitive crap not going help come next election.
    hear Mia begging for the report to be laid out in parliament

• John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

WE ON THIS END KNOWS FIRST HAND THAT VOTES WERE BOUGHT ST.MICHAEL SOUTH , WE HAVE NAMES AND THE AMOUNT OF MONEY GIVEN TO VOTE FOR THE Freundel Stuart .

BUT THE FUNNY THINGS IS THERE NO COURT NOR DPP NOR POLICE NOR SYSTEM TO GET THESE BITCHES,

• Pingback: Donville Inniss’ Response to Vote Buying by Politicians

• St George's Dragon

I thought it was already an offence to bribe a voter.
    The problem is surely not the absence of laws against this (although stiffer penalties would presumably not go amiss), it is getting someone to investigate and prosecute the offences.
    If the PM and AG are on record as having concerns about these illegal acts, the missing element is surely the police investigating.

• Donville could talk…..He got nuff money yah…..How else D ressa yard fowl politician gine get theirs….? Menlike Ronni,Carri Frundy,bare shed ruff come-outs.

• St George's Dragon

@ ac
    Do you actually think before you write?
    I am a floating voter. I make my mind up as it which party I am going to vote for on the basis of their manifesto and their past record. I will vote for the party I believe is going to do the best firstly for the country and secondly, for me. Integrity and honestly is important to me and is a big influence on how I vote.
    How my vote will be cast at the next election is going to be significantly affected by the fact that the DLP – as evidenced by you, the collective spokesperson on this forum – appears not to be interested in what I think are important issues.
    You seem to think that a lawyer withholding money from a client is of no importance to his position in one of the highest offices in the land.
    You seem to think that electoral fraud is a non-issue.
    I am an undecided voter and I think otherwise. Are you actually interested in persuading me to vote DLP, or do you just not care?

• donville said the right thing don’t just bring the bacon ,bring the pig as well,

• listen dragon. vote your conscience my job is not one of soliciting votes for anyone, i have a comment to make and i make it, dont look to me for any push in any direction. not my job sweetie

• Donville Inniss is a sanctimonious hypocrite of the highest order. He who only won because of the unlimited supply of money the dems had for 2013 can stand before a few faithful and appeared to have clean hands.

Lying buffoon! He should have a word with Froon and Brathwaite….they admitted to vote buying…….they would only know if their people were involved. Isn’t his campaign manager one of the actors in this CLICO scandal..representing the dead liar?

• The Don must still be smarting from those warm licks he received from Lynette a few weeks ago.

• @AC
    I agreed, you are so right, you don’t know anything, don’t give direction

• yea agree watchman ac knows nutting….yuh knw yuh right

• Donville forgot to mention that those politicians who accept money from Businessmen should be locked up as well! If that were the case the house will become empty real quickly.

• What is Donville saying that is wrong? All he is saying, come after me BUT do not forget the deep pockets. Remember Bizzy admitted to it didn’t he?

• Then election campaigns will become less glitzy and more substance if businesses stop contributing to them. Accepting contributions from Big business is a form of vote buying. All those cars and perks is a form of vote buying too. Let them take the damn bus!

• St George's Dragon

“Remember Bizzy admitted to it didn’t he?”
    Hold on. Bizzy, if I remember rightly said he had supported both parties.
    In the absence of State funding for the political parties, I don’t believe you can criticise people for giving money to a party. Clearly it would be far better if there there was some transparency about donations and I support the Nation editorial today which said that there ought to be some rules about political donations. The public should be able to see how much was given by who to which party.
    Your broad comment about Bizzy “admitting to it” could be read as meaning he funded vote buying.
    There is a big difference between funding a party and giving money to buy votes. What are you saying?

• To repeat, Bizzy admitted dishing out significant campaign donations. He did it out of a need to be philanthropic.

On Monday, 23 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• Well Mia ran out the House and cannot get back in!
    Maria Agard ready to run from Mia!
    Owen Arthur run from Mia and her Mottley crew.

So tell us Prodigirl…..if this Mia is so brilliant, why her close party members…..abandoning her?

Mia seems to have more in the mortar…..than her PISSTLE…..!

• St George's Dragon

You didn’t answer my question. Of course there is always a suspicion that political funding buys influence (thus the need for rules and regulations about funding) but there there is a difference between political funding and vote buying. Are you saying he gave money to buy people’s votes on the street?

• Mia scares the bejinks outta me, never heard someone be so aggressive all the time whew.

• St. George Dragon

I intended to let this post go by without comment but from your post I can see that you have either seriously misled yourself or have allowed others to mislead you.

Every person who gives money to politicians at election time is required by law to declare on oath the amount of his contribution in a return to the Supervisor of Elections. I have actually gone into the Registration Department to check and obtain copies of election returns. They being public documents are available to anyone on demand. Neither Bizzy nor any other person has complied with the law and make the necessary declaration. It is a crime in Barbados to make or receive the donation without making the declaration.
    Our election laws are designed in such a way that anybody, rich or poor, could seek to contest elections and have a fair chance. That is why the law caps the spending at a maximum of $10 per elector. In effect that means if a constituency has 6,000 voters, a candidate could only legally spend $60,000. That is why the election return is required but the Supervisor of Elections consistently refuses to investigate the accuracy of the returns. For example, if you go by the return filed by Sinckler, he did not have a single poster and he did not have a campaign office just east of St. Stephen’s Church. He should have been prosecuted for those omissions. Mind you, he was not the only one none of his other colleagues, including the Prime Minister had a single poster if you were to go by the works of fiction that were filed as election returns.
    Even if the money is donated to the parties, the secretaries or other responsible officer must in turn declare on oath how much was spent on each candidate. No party has done so in the last elections to my certain knowledge.

We have more than adequate election laws. The problem comes when there is no enforcement. I make bold to say that the political parties run criminal empires in their bid to get elected. By criminal empires, I refer to politicians accepting money illegally from businessmen and then take that money to bribe voters. When they are successful the businessmen who paid the piper end up calling the tune to the extent that they benefit from Government contracts that were awarded illegally.

Barbados is well and truly our little Sicily in the Caribbean.

Liked by 1 person

• @Fractured DLP
    SICK THING YOU

• St George's Dragon

@ Caswell
    I was not aware of the $10 rule. That puts things in a very different perspective. It’s stupid but the law is the law, for most people.

• …and in addition to the businessmen receiving the lucrative contracts, the party lawyers receive the legal contracts for services.

This leads to fees of $700K to review and advise on loan agreements and other similarly complex matters.

And surely no one can unequivocally say that the circle is then completed when these individuals make sizeable donations to the party.

• Shiite man Caswell…did you have to be so brutally honest and direct in detailing our current situation>
    …suppose someone from that funny rating agency that thinks that Barbados has a top rating for governance was to read your comment …?

@ Donville
    Boss, this lotta shiite you talking all the time…. Bushie hope that your election return is as prim and proper as Ross’s client account hear…?
    …cause lemma tellya, if Caswell get he hands pun that …and um ain’t solid, um going to be cat piss and peppa bout here – ya hear?

Liked by 1 person

• DeeWord

You are on to something here: you can steal $750,000 from your clients’ account and then get a million dollar Government contract to review documents. You can then repay the client and the case before the Disciplinary Committee is then withdrawn, and you live to steal another day with impunity.

• Next election campaign will be very intriguing.

It may be the “cleanest” ever.

Cell phone cameras and wicked leaks will “keep em honest” or duh gine get lock up.

• AC has just given proof that she is a woman. She called a man “sweetie.”

• Heather

AC is a Dem so calling a man sweetie does not really provide proof that AC is a woman.

• @ Caswell Franklyn February 23, 2015 at 10:40 PM

One thing going for you, Caswell, is that you really do have a way with words.
    It is said a picture paints a 1,000 words but you have just shown the reverse to be quite as true. With those few words (and without incriminating yourself or exposing yourself to libelous action) we now have a clear picture of the face of another bold-faced crook who believes himself to be above the Law he has sworn to uphold.

That crook from St. George might not have been a former B(U)YER of votes but he is certainly bilker of taxpayers’ money. No wonder the leaky Cave is in such a deep financial hole, right Richard?
    Richard the Prince of Fraud has learned well how to siphon money through law-firm launderettes from the likes of King and Queen Thompson of CLICO infamy and in the Speaker’s corner High Lord Carrington & Partners in Crime.

Tell me that I am wrong, dear Caswell. Say the piece of the facial puzzle does not fit the cap for a baldhead.

• The People’s Democratic Congress February 23, 2015 at 6:48 PM #

“4) The Abolition of Motor Vehicle Insurance; How will accident victims be compensated for their injuries, injuries to third parties and car repairs? Artaxerxes, There will be set up a joint private public sector program to deal with such cases.”

Private sector operations are based on making money. If the PDC abolishes motor vehicle insurance, why would the private sector enter into an agreement to settle insurance claims when there is no guarantee of them realising a profit? Is PDc suggesting the private sector will donate money to settle claims?

This suggestion is nonsense and unrealistic.

• @ Heather February 23, 2015 at 11:15…AC has just given proof that she is a woman. She called a man “sweetie.”

…Or, another DLP ‘sweet’ boy, who loves calling men ‘sweetie’!

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

We have an open show of confession concerning wrongdoing. Blatant wrongdoing. Politicians doing what they know they should not do in order to win elections at any cost. Businessmen doing what they need to do to ensure they remain in the money by giving a lot of it to those they know cannot refuse it. A nanny- plume-like Donville Innis asking for both sides to be locked up. Why is there no investigation by the DPP into these claims?

• did the blp noisemakers read the hinckson vs george payne court document if so then you guys not read the voter fraud allegations as documented , this too is public record but never hear nothing said about those fraudulent allegations ,maybe another reason for Mia to take these profound voter fraud allegations against one of her sitting members to the committee of privilege

• Sunshine Sunny Shine

Lord I trying hard. All two crooked parties were involved in buying votes, taking large sums of money from business persons and in return award their donors with massive contracts for which the returns are two-fold. This, in their eyes, constitute legitimate business deals that will not end because the system is tailored made for it continue. Defending one party’s worthless useless
    endeavours whilst castigating another worthless useless party for partisan reasons or party loyalties just reinforces the notion that these loyalties are not without benefits. How, therefore, can anyone defend any of these parties in the face of all the wrong that they have done and still find them to be the best thing since choice bread. This just mind boggles me and leads me to believe that the situation is one of give and take.

• If Donville wants something to huff and puff about what about the hospital he promised us at Kingsland.

• Donville is the second minister to be fired for touting a new hospital. Loud mouth hot head.

• Britain’s former Foreign Secretary Sir Malcolm Rifkind stood down as an MP and as chairman of Parliament’s Intelligence and Security Committee after being caught up in the “cash for access” scandal. The veteran Conservative admits he made “errors of judgement” after being filmed seemingly offering a fake company access to his diplomatic contacts. But he insists he has done nothing wrong.

Why are we unable in Barbados, through our various news agencies, to have a similar operation launched? Or is it that all the stories we hear about government officials succumbing to bribe enticements just figments of the imagination?

• @Fearplay

Our system of governance does not work because the people are unable to define what is accountability and political support. We can support a political party or individual which has nothing to do with holding said parties accountable.The tail is wagging the dog.

• Caswell Franklyn

You should note that Sir Malcolm stepped down even though he did not break any rules of the House. The matter did not make its way through any committee of privileges; he did the honourable thing. Mind you, he was not accused of stealing his clients money or anything serious like that and he is gone. Why is Barbados so different.

• @FearPlay March 1, 2015 at 10:20 …

Deep down I am sure you know the answer to the question of “Why are we unable in Barbados, through our various news agencies, to have a similar operation launched?”

The average ‘sting’ is done when there is a big case situation; generally in a large city; under the auspices of an organization which is willing to risk all for the expose or a journo who feels safe in the cocoon of law (on their side).

Just three very broad aspects. And of course these morph into other concerns.

Let’s assume our small size makes 1 and 2 irrelevant because everything re the gov’t is big here. How do we deal with #3?

As Are-We identified above officials who raised valid concerns of things being a bit wrong were victimized and careers pushed off track.

Can you really perceive any of the established local media putting their necks on the line to do a real ‘got-cha sting’ of a real time big fish.

What’s going to happen to the journalist’s life and family down the line?

It’s nice to make the comparison but our country is too small and too ‘incestuous’ for the real big stories to take off and truly explode.

The most blatant example of that is this Parris story.

Tim Slinger seems to be the most prominent blood-hound on this but can we really accept that other journalists should not be hounding Mara for answers, looking into every nook and cranny of her investments and following the money trail; asking her to explain the business directorships she shared with Parris’ wife, asking was that during the time on the debacle, before or after; demanding answers re the invoice; doing full blown exposes on an ineffective DPP; exposes on how an insurance company was allowed to operate without fulfilling their statutory filing requirements year after year when a future and now dead PM was their attorney.

The list is long.

So FearPLay, on the one hand the risks may be too high but on the other hand our environment seems to even preclude our journos from getting at the low hanging fruit.

What incentive do they have to take the real risks?

More power to BU…this moderator takes risks…and as he should sensibly so!!

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s