Submitted by Douglas

Freundel StuartSaturday, 21st February, will mark two years that the Democratic Labour Party, under the leadership of Prime Minister, the Right Hon. Freundel Stuart, Q.C., M.P, was re-elected to serve the people of Barbados. Every day over those two years we have kept our commitment to the people of Barbados to deliver on our promise to develop a Barbados which is: socially balanced, economically viable, environmentally sound and characterized by good governance.

Our Prime Minister, his Cabinet and members of the parliamentary team have shown that they are capable of managing the affairs of Barbados in the most challenging period that this country has ever gone through. We wish to commend our Prime Minister and party leader for his mature leadership style. He has handled every challenge faced with a fearless resilience and integrity.

Over the two years we have had to make some tough decisions to stabilize the economy of Barbados. The people of Barbados, recognising that this action was indeed necessary, kept the faith with our Prime Minister and the members of the Democratic Labour Party.

Now as we enter our third year in office we can see the signs of recovery on the horizon and we know that our labour was not in vain. The Barbados economy is on a growth path and this Democratic Labour Party administration is assiduously working to deliver on our commitments from the 2013 manifesto.

Last week the Freundel Stuart administration delivered two master strokes. The first was the announcement of the approval of $3 Million in study grants for UWI students. The Second was the announcement by the LIAT shareholder governments that Barbados will become a primary hub for the airline.

When the government asked students to carry a small portion of the cost to finance their education at the University of the West Indies, this DLP administration promised that we would make the bursaries available to students who needed a helping hand. Finally, the support offered by this government to students in need of assistance is available.

This DLP administration has always kept its commitment. The process may have taken longer than originally anticipated. However, we need to do things by the book. Those students who will receive the bursaries, I am sure will be grateful for the assistance even though it was delayed.

After the meeting of the shareholder governments of LIAT on Friday it was announced that LIAT will be taking some strategic steps to reduce its expenses and return the airline to profitability. Among these strategic steps was the decision to make Barbados the primary hub allowing the airline to capitalize on the lucrative southern market. The Caricom market is the third largest market for Barbados’ tourism. As the largest shareholder government the success of LIAT is important to Barbados. The strategic move to bring the employment numbers in line with the size of the fleet being operated as well as streamlining the fleet with one type of aircraft will help to reduce the overheads of the airline and place it on a growth path.

These two initiatives show that the Barbados government is moving strategically to bring about crucial changes which will have a lasting impact locally and regionally. Team DLP is on the job and continues to deliver positive results 2 years after our 2013 election victory. Compare this to the idle members of the opposition Barbados Labour party, who are into their second year of consistently trying to retard the progress of development in this country. A callous and idle opposition into its 40th day of being paid for doing absolutely nothing.

Pop Quiz – Trip down memory lane

The 2007 Auditor General report provided a review of the construction of the Police Station at Crab Hill St. Lucy. The following conclusion was provided:

The construction cost of this project has been rising steadily as a result of the discovery of additional defects, and the current estimated cost is $3 million. When this is added to what has been paid to the previous contractor the total cost of the project will exceed $4 million and this is over $2.6 million more than the original contract.

The Project Manager in a report dated 28th February 2006 noted the following: “This contract suffered for two reasons: lack of competent construction personnel, and finance. In short, a company which is not a construction company is trying to operate in a field alien to its capabilities.”

The payment to the contractor for poor construction work constitutes a waste of Government’s funds, which could probably have been avoided had more care and attention been given to the company’s track record in this field of work, and a more pro-active approach adopted by the Ministry to monitor the work of the contractor. (Source: Auditor General’s Report, 2007, page 72.)

1. We ask the Barbados Labour Party to name the incompetent contractor who was awarded the contract?

2. Provide the name or names of the “sanctimonious hypocrites” who presided over this fiasco?

86 responses to “Well Done Freundel”

1. @Douglas “1. We ask the Barbados Labour Party to name the incompetent contractor who was awarded the contract?

Provide the name or names of the “sanctimonious hypocrites” who presided over this fiasco?”

Dear Douglas:

I am sure that you know the name of the incompetent contractor, so why don’t you tell us or are you a sanctimonious hypocrite also.

2. It seems as though once again Donville consumed too much alcohol or mind altering substances at Friday and Saturday night karaoke sessions, which puts him in the frame of mind to talk shiite at the DLP Sunday evening constituency branch meetings.

The suggestion from three businessmen to implement laws forbidding politicians from bribing people to vote for them, seems to have brought condemnation from “The Don”. He is reported as having said, “You need to strongly, not subliminally, but boldly state that any businessman who provides money to a politician to buy votes should also be locked up and heavily punished.”

But we all know Donville is a man who loves the attention he receives from the press, as well as constantly contradicting Stuart, or implying that he’s a liar.

Recall, shortly after the February 2013 general elections, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite confirmed to the news media that is was distressing to him that “some” Barbadians sold their votes during the recent general election.
    This was also confirmed by Freundel Stuart, who is on record as having voiced his concerns to CBC reporters, about the stories he heard throughout election day, relative to people exchanging money for votes, which he described as an “ugly practice which digs at the roots of democratic structures”.

Yesterday, while addressing a joint branch meeting of the St. Michael Central and St. Michael South Central constituencies, Inniss told the audience that the three businessmen has spent their time and energy writing a letter to him BASED ON A RUMOR AND ALLEGATION and expected him to believe they are serious.

So, if what Donville say indeed true, then I suggest he should tell Fruendel and Adriel at the next cabinet meeting, to apologize immediately for misleading Barbadians “BASED ON A RUMOR AND ALLEGATION.”

3. Douglas & ac are the sanctimonious hypocrites because who will use a cricket ground for other uses than cricket, especially when so much money as they are proclaiming, for other purposes than cricket. If one look at other cricket fields in the world , they are sacred, especially the pitch and surrounding areas, if other functions are done, they are outside of the cricket area. We have enough other areas in Barbados for other functions. Leave Kensington Oval for cricket !!!!!!!!

4. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63915/punish

Now if only Inniss had the balls to call the names of those businessmen and women who bribe politicians in Barbados…..lol

5. “You need to strongly, not subliminally, but boldly state that any businessman who provides money to a politician to buy votes should also be locked up and heavily punished,”

lol, lol rotflmrao,lol, lol,rotflmrao,lol

In the land of brassbowls, politicians are kings.

6. Stuart brings upbeat message

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/63849/seen-north-stuart-brings-upbeat-message

….more than 200 Bajans braved the biting cold winds of a February evening to hear what Prime Minister Freundel Stuart had to say about the state of the island’s economy, problems at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, reported prospects of a currency devaluation, the frequent shootings, some of them fatal; and the Government’s inability to pay some of its debts.

But when he spoke at the annual “cocktail sip”, a fundraising event sponsored by the Friends of Barbados (DLP) Association, he didn’t focus much attention on many of those issues. Indeed, he hit upbeat notes, concluding that “Barbados was alive and well”. Some said afterwards they would have preferred to hear more about what the Government planned to do than devoting so much time to the past.

“Contrary to what you may read or all that you may hear, Barbados is still 166 square miles. It is still the most easterly country in the Caribbean. Children are still going to school. Buses are still running. Families are still going to church. Supermarkets are still open and all of the dynamics of everyday life are still intact,” Stuart told the gathering.

“This is in spite of the fact that like every other country in the western world, Barbados has been experiencing some challenges as a result of the global financial downturn which began in this country in the last quarter of 2007.”

The poor economic conditions in the United States and Britain had triggered Barbados’ economic decline and persisted for seven years. That is until recently, he asserted.

Stuart mentioned the rich countries to illustrate their economic importance to Barbados, pointing out that they were the leading sources of tourists and foreign direct investment.

Hence, his question: if it had taken the world’s most powerful country, the United States to wrestle with the financial crisis, “what would it take for small countries” like Barbados and its Eastern Caribbean neighbours to come to grips with it?

The answer, according to Stuart was: much longer. –

Well done Freundel???????

7. @ Artaxerxes February 23, 2015 at 11:29 AM #

I posted a response to that hypocrite Donville Innis on another thread before I saw your post. Good as always! I will post it here to follow yours!

8. I am beginning to believe that Donville Inniss is aiming to become the Clown Prince of this Parliament, a title I gave to Dennis Kellman.

Donville seems to believe that he is a maguffy and all I can think is……look what David Thompson unleashed on the people of Barbados.

Donville seems to believe that he is an authority on every and any thing in Barbados. No one is exempt from this man’s tongue. You open your mouth and say anything he does not like and he thinks he alone has the right to speak. No other person has a right to say a word he does not agree with otherwise you will feel the sting of his tongue.

It therefore did not surprise me at the outburst from the front page story yesterday. Donville knows that that story mashed the DLP’s corns so he had to get out front to lead the attack.

I would like Donville to deny reports that at sometime after two pm on election day, it was clear that his voters were not coming out and that he called the Stinkliar in a panic (Stinkliar apparently had most of the money allocated to buying votes……and allegedly said to him ….Chris, Chris, I am in trouble, I cannot lose my seat, I need re-enforcement. Chris allegedly replied……hold on, hold on, re-enforcement is on the way. The rest is history, Donville won his seat handsomely.

Donville knows that the last election was won by massive vote buying in his constituency, Stinkliar’s, Adriel Brathwaite’s, the ugly PM, Blackett, Mr Crook, Richard Sealy, John Boyce, Dennis Lowe, the education minister and James Paul. These are some of the areas where most of the vote buying was concentrated.

Donville, you are supposed to be highly educated, why would you touch that topic or do you think that if you attack, these people would shut to hell up and dont annoy you?

9. @ Well Well February 23, 2015 at 11:46 AM #

“Now if only Inniss had the balls to call the names of those businessmen and women who bribe politicians in Barbados…..lol”……………………………

Yea right, Well well………………..I dare him to do so! That would be put an end to the power ride he is on!

10. Due Diligence,

Dont forget, Fumble was speaking to Dems, party faithful, who would swallow his every lie!

11. Well Well February 23, 2015 at 11:46 AM #

“Now if only Inniss had the balls to call the names of those businessmen and women who bribe politicians in Barbados…..lol….”

Prodigal Son February 23, 2015 at 1:49 PM #

“Yea right, Well well………………..I dare him to do so! That would be put an end to the power ride he is on!”

Remember Donville was reported in the press as having said, “You need to strongly, not subliminally, but boldly state that any businessman who provides money to a politician to buy votes should also be locked up and heavily punished.”

On Wednesday, March 16, 2011, while making his contribution to the 2011-2012 Estimates debate, Freundel Stuart, with his precise diction and pellucid style, described Leroy Parris as an estimable gentleman, long-time friend and one-time client who he was not prepared to shun or disown, because “he’s not a leper.”

But we all aware that, Leroy Parris of CLICO fame, has made financial contributions to the election campaigns of both BLP and DLP. Surely Donville won’t expect Leroy to “get locked up”.

12. Moderator Dennis appeared to be at pain to argue against pointing a finger at Parris and big salary earned. Not sure his point though.

13. @ David February 21, 2015 at 3:22 PM #

“The Prime Minister assured the sugar farmers on the 28 February 2015 at the BCCI luncheon the monies to mobilize the sugar harvest was forthcoming. Today is the 21 February, almost one month later, still waiting?”………………………………

The problem is that the dems cannot help lying. Fumble boxed himself in by saying that the loan was available and that the farmers would get monies. Apparently the PM nor his advisers knew that the loan funds cannot be used for that purpose, to use it for that purpose would violate the terms and condition of the loan…..hence their predicament.

This is where you end up when you lie and cheat. But there again the dems do not care how many times they are showed up for their bold faced lies, they just do not care.

How will they find monies to mobilise the sugar cane harvest is anyone’s guess…..maybe the Central Bank Governor can print some bills….that should help!

14. Prodigal Son February 23, 2015 at 1:49 PM #

“Yea right, Well well………………..I dare him to do so! That would be put an end to the power ride he is on!”

Strange enough, we did not get a similar reaction or response from Donville when Ralph “Bizzy” Williams made a similar suggestion.

On Thursday, June 19, 2014, while addressing the annual First Citizens Investment Services Market Outlook Panel Discussion at Frank Collymore Hall, Williams recommended that “reforms to change the governance system in Barbados, especially in light of allegations of vote buying that dogged the last general election.”
    He also suggested that “Vote buying should be punishable by imprisonment and disqualification from holding public office in Barbados for life..”

But interestingly enough, Bizzy’s suggestions came against the background of previous comments he made during his speech relative to:

“Even Barbadians looking around and they are not believing what they are hearing simply because of the track record of those who are speaking. When you go and tell people you are going to do this and then you do something different, people lose credibility and confidence in what you are saying.”

“And when your leadership is not believable and they don’t operate with the kind of integrity that you expect, you have problems and that is the thing I believe we are facing here . . . .”

Now, juxtapose Bizzy’s above comments with Froon. Recall, for example, Froon said, tertiary level education will remain free and no civil servant will be retrenched, but the opposite occurred.

So, Douglas, according to Bizzy, “when your leadership is not believable and they don’t operate with the kind of integrity that you expect………”

Well done, Fruendel!!!!

15. @Prodigal

Are you for real?

16. David,

I too did not understand Johnson’s point. Did you miss it when he said that there are some advertising execs who make more than the PM? Was that personal? Just shows you that having loads of money does not equal happiness.

How can any one justify being paid $80,000 plus perks per month in this small economy? CLICO’s monies was just like my godchildren’s play doh…….a plaything for Parris and Thompson. Well the money run out, didn’t it and now 35,000 poor policyholders are screwed, one of the perpetrators is dead, the wife is not talking, part of the other criminal’s assets was frozen, he still has millions more but saying he is facing hardship.

Only if I had the power to lock the bastard up and let him see what real hardship i
    looks like!

17. Meaning what David?

18. @David:

So let me explain. If I have a contract with SNI that says I shall receive 25% of gross revenues – whether SNI makes a profit or not – that is what I expect to receive. If, however, the person who prepares my cheque for the 25% states [on the payment voucher] “for repairs done to studio 3” and there were no repairs done to studio 3, [nor was I involved in any matter involving studio 3] and the figure happens to be the same as the 25% I said was due to me, we are dealing with a matter that is not about “my big salary”, but HOW I went about getting it.

19. @Prodigal:

Nothing personal in that comment either. For me, the issue with CLICO was the perks and salaries that were seemingly not connected to the realities of the countries in which it operated. Rather, it seemed to be whatever the executives thought they were worth. And whatever that was, was seemingly approved. Either by Directors or Mr Duprey himself.

20. A brilliant article and predictably the BLP yardfowls are all out cackling.

21. We have a prime minister that anyone can criticize without fear of intimidation and victimization.
    However, if anyone says anything about Mottley you can rest assured that her motley crew will come after you. It seems Mottley only wants the public to speak out if they are not critical of her. Kerry Symmonds said he is not a Mottley clone and he gets ostracized. Mottley will bring nothing new or refreshing to the table. If you think so, you are fooling yourself. Ask Owen.

22. Anyone can do better than this current crop…even the PDC!!

23. The People’s Democratic Congress February 23, 2015 at 5:29 PM #
    The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) wishes to publicly morally and politically support – to a fair extent – the efforts of Mr. Andrew Bynoe, Mr. Andy Armstrong and Mr. Patrick Frost, in campaigning against vote bribing and treating in Barbados.

According to the Sunday Sun, February 22, 2015, these three “elders” had prepared a document which sets out their position, and which includes calls for stiffer “legislative penalties for those who sell or purchase votes, or attempt to induce their sale or purchase, in any election”.

Also, it is true that in the last General Election and in its immediate aftermath in this country, there were “many allegations in public of persons having been persuaded to cast their vote in a particular manner” and of they having been given and having been in receipt of money and other things, on the understanding that they vote in that particular way. And too it is true that after the conduct of that General Election – notwithstanding those countless allegations – not one prosecution by police came about.

It is pellucidly clear that as much of the politics of this country must be devoted to almost totally elmininating these unfair and corrupt practices which have had the effects of subverting the election process in this island and destroying the will of the people of this country.

While we in the PDC entirely morally and politically support the efforts of these Barbadian “elders” to write and speak out against such illegal and immoral election practices, we do not support their reported approach (in the same Sunday Sun news story) “of delivering the document outlining their desires to the Prime Minister and to the Opposition Leader, because they feel that those office holders can make a difference and can cause a difference to happen”.

We disagree entirely with such an approach given that they and their parties have been the primary beneficiaries of such alleged vote corruption of elections in this country, over the years, and they and their parties, especially when at the helm of government in this country, have as yet to do any thing substabtially legally politically for a very long time about such voting improprieties and transgressions.

What the copied document in the Sunday Sun failed to do is to point out that the three “elders”, with their tremendous access to the public of Barbados and to money and resources, are going to commit themselves to getting many of the relevant publics of Barbados more aware and educated about the dangers of such illegal voting and vote bribing activities in this country, by their initiating a serious and concerted mobilization, aggregation and articulation of public feelings and sensitivities on these very important issues, with a view to their creation of another new party to fight illegal voting and vote bribing and wider corruption in Barbados.

What the said copied document in the Sunday Sun also failed to do is to point out that there is an urgent need for the modernization and simplification of the existing Election Offences and Controversies laws of the government of Barbados.

For instance, CAP 3, Section 41 (1) of the Election Offences and Controversies laws, reads: “At the time of presenting an election petition or within three days thereafter, the petitioner shall give SECURITY for ALL costs which may become payable BY HIM to any witness summoned on his behalf or to any respondent”.

Section 41 (2), reads: “The security shall be an amount of ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS and shall be given in the prescribed manner by recognizance entered into by any number of sureties not exceeding four or by a deposit of money, or partly in one way and partly in the other”.

Section 41 (3), reads: “Within seven clear days after the presentation of the petition, the petitioner shall serve on the respondent in the prescribed manner the prescribed notice of the presentation of the petition and of the nature of the proposed security and a copy of the petition”.

Section 41 (4), is read as: “Within five days after service of the notice referred to in subsection (3), the respondent may object in writing to any recignizance on the ground that any surety is insufficient or is dead or cannot be found or ascertained for want if sufficient description in the recignizance or that a person named in the recignizance has not duly acknowledged the recognizance”.

Section 41 (5), is read as: “An objection to a recognizance (earlier dealt with in another subsection) shall be decided in the prescribed manner”.

Section 41 (6), reads: “Where the objection is allowed, the petitioner may, within five days of the allowance thereof, remove it by a deposit (ANOTHER ONE) in the prescribed manner if such sum as will, in the opinion of the Registrar, make the security sufficient”.

Section 41 (7), reads: “Where no security is given as required by this section or any objection is allowed and not removed as aforesaid, NO FURTHER PROCEEDINGS shall be had on the petition”.

Now, clearly from any serious analysis of those particular provisions any national effort to educate the various relevant publics of Barbados on the need for positive modern changes in voter attitudes and values towards vote bribing, treating and corrupting, must also take into consideration that there is an urgent need for serious reform in the laws speaking to the governing of the conduct of any persons petitioning against candidates that have been unfairly and wrongly elected into any electable public office in this country on account of such gross improprieties and transgressions.

24. OK DJ understood, was listening with half an ear.

The matter brings into play the role of the Directors through the years and how they discharged their responsibilities read having the interest of the company at the center of decision making.

25. 4) The Abolition of Motor Vehicle Insurance;

How will accident victims be compensated for their injuries, injuries to third parties and car repairs?

Artaxerxes,

There will be set up a joint private public sector program to deal with such cases.

Once they are genuine vehicular accidents and losses on any public roads, highways and on any other delineated accesses in this country, and too on property that is controlled by the government, this program will be activated to make sure that these persons who have suffered injuries or fatalities to themselves, or damages or losses respectively to or of whatever types of properties – any vehicles or conveyances, houses, shops, and any other permanent or temporary structures adjacent to such public accesses or government controlled properties, resulting from such accidents and losses, that in the case of fatalities, the spouses and dependents will be given agreed to amounts of money over specified amounts of time to help them recover financially, upon their priorly and properly submitting claims for financial recovery to the program, and with these claims being successful to whatever extents; and in the cases of personal injuries or damages to or losses of the types referred to above and of the nature spoken to by the would be enabling legislation then, that they are given money over specified times or lumps sums to help them recover financially, upon their priorly and properly submitting claims for financial recovery to the program, and with these claims being successful to whatever extents, from out of the national money stock – which would be managed and held in stock by all core financial institutions in this country.

Such a program will eliminate the dreaded onerous circumstances whereby the relevant owners of motor vehicles will continue to be burdened financially with wicked, disgusting and totally unnecessary motor vehicle insurance premiums, and will definitely free up money for actual uses by thousands upon thousands of vehicle owners in far, far more important commercial business provinces in this country.

26. 5) The establishment of a National Currency Board to manage currency flows within the country, and into and out of it;

“A Currency Board is a monetary authority that is established to remove the central bank from its discretionary role of adjusting money supply and interest rates, as well as making decisions about the valuation of a nation’s currency, specifically whether to peg the exchange rate of the local currency to a foreign currency, an equal amount of which is held in reserves. The currency board then allows for the unlimited exchange of the local, pegged currency for the foreign currency. A currency board can only earn the interest that is gained on the foreign reserves themselves, so those rates tend to mimic the prevailing rates in the foreign currency. By using a currency board a country is no longer in control of its monetary policy.”

Essentially, this National Currency Board clearly contradicts:

2) The Abolition of Interest Rates;
    3) The Abolition of ALL so-called Exchange Rates Parities ‘with’ the Barbados Dollar;
    6) The making sure that the Real Actual Cost of Use of Money in Barbados is substantially reduced in the medium to long term;
    7) The making sure that the money turn over rate is substantially increased in this country;

Artaxerxes,

The National Currency Board that shall be set up by such a coalitional governmental regime shall be fundamentally different in the nature of its composition and structure, and in its overall mission and mandate, from the nature of the compositions and structures and missions and mandates of the various national currency boards in some other parts of this world.

As is implied by us in the 21 objectives highlighted earlier up, but as is so contrary to what you are suggesting should be the role of the National Currency Board that we will inaugurate, this proposed Board will play a substantial role in the regime’s setting and managing of our monetary and currency policies for the country – most of which (policies) will be premised and crafted on the Board understanding and accepting the role that it will have to play in helping to secure – by means of properly assisting in the carrying out of the ideological and philosophical and practical purposes behind the establishment of those particular kinds of monetary and currency policies – the deeper and wider revolutionary spiritual, social and political objectives of those policies themselves.

27. @PDC

What if an accident victim wishes to seek remedy form the Court?

28. David,

The appropriate legislation will speak to the Supreme Courts jurisdiction only on appeals by claimants or by representatives of the program on disputed points of law or facts, as they relate to issues of fairness or unfairness, adequacy or inadequacy in the amount of financial recovery granted by the scheme, issues of interpretation and application of any aspects of the appropriate legislation by the program or prospective claimants, issues related to the administration of the program, etc., from the program to them, wherein leave to appeal to the Supreme Courts will have to granted by the Supreme Courts.

29. dennis johnson February 23, 2015 at 4:33 PM #
    @David:

“So let me explain. If I have a contract with SNI that says I shall receive 25% of gross revenues – whether SNI makes a profit or not – that is what I expect to receive.”

Dennis,
    In a “normal” business, calculating 25% of gross revenue is relatively straightforward. Unfortunately, up to this very day, Lawrence Duprey still doesn’t know that insurance is not a “normal” business. As for Leroy Parris, if I were to misspell the word “insurance”, he wouldn’t even know.
    Let me give you a simple example to illustrate my point.

A policyholder, age 30 years, purchases a whole life insurance policy (face amount = $100,000) from CLICO in 2008. The policyholder pays a mythical monthly premium of $150 and the policy is fully paid up at age 55.

Out of the $1800 in premiums paid by the policyholder in 2008, how much of it should go towards reserves? How much of it should go toward the cost of providing insurance protection to the policyholder? How much of it should go towards company expenses? How much of it can be viewed as “gross revenue”?
    A properly run insurance company seeks out professionals who can competently perform the calculations which are needed to answer these questions.

CLICO was not a properly run insurance company. In insurance companies that are not properly run, here is what would possibly happen to any policyholder’s $1800 premium:
    A corrupt, ignorant, uneducated, “thiefing” person would decide that “25% of that premium is mine”, so a contract would be quickly rigged up merely to hold on to $450. To get that $450, without regulatory oversight or annoyance, a cheque would have to go to Seymour for $100. Howard would discover what is going on, and, one day before elections, would tell the people that Seymour has received $10 of the policyholder’s money.
    “Pick me instead of Seymour, and I will make things right”, he would promise.

He would be picked, and Seymour would be sidelined. But instead of setting things right, he would now join the corrupt, ignorant, uneducated, “thiefing” person and proceed to plot and plan how to steal the full $1800 of the policyholder’s premium. The ill-begotten gains would be used to live a jet set lifestyle, and, one day before elections, Seymour would tell the people that “Howard has received almost 45 times as much of the policyholder’s money as I did.”
    “Pick me instead of Howard, and I will make things right”, he would promise. The people would keep Seymour sidelined, and every cent of the policyholder premium would be eventually stolen.
    Eventually, Bush Tea’s BBE would put a whacking upon Howard, and a semi-literate jackass would get up in front of the people and boast about how ‘large’ Howard lived on the stolen policyholder’s money.

As time goes by, all of the damage done to the policyholder’s premium would be disregarded and forgotten as ‘intelligent’ persons start discussing whether an uneducated thief should get what a rigged contract says he should get.

30. dennis johnson February 23, 2015 at 4:37 PM #
    @Prodigal:

“For me, the issue with CLICO was the perks and salaries that were seemingly not connected to the realities of the countries in which it operated.”

Dennis,
    When it comes to the operations of an insurance company, the process of setting perks and salaries (i.e expense levels) in a responsible manner technically has nothing to do with the realities of the country in which the insurance company operates. Almost everything in insurance is based on science – actuarial science.
    Regardless of which country you operate in, if your level of premiums and demographic risk profile constrain you to expenses of X, and you ignorantly continue to spend or steal X + Y, the insurance company will eventually collapse.
    That is true as John 3:16.

31. @Walter:

And after following the tangles web in T&T with company execs giving themselves million dollar loans, and awarding million dollar bonuses, I am convinced that policyholders wont see much [if any] of their hard-earned bucks as long as we continue to pursue this matter from the “he paid himself too much” angle.

http://money.cnn.com/2015/02/23/investing/hsbc-ceo-swiss-account/index.html

Check the link. see the angle that was pursued?

32. look the blp not interested in pursuing justice for the clico holders their only focus is using clico political spoils to gain an advantage towards winning the next election. but far from having the perceived advantage that they are awaiting, the opposite would be swift and forthcoming as the revelations of the many revolving doors which were opened by clico and that were advantageous to the blp . that too would be sufficient cause for mia to have another committee of privilege to investigate yuh think so

33. ” the spouses and dependents will be given agreed to amounts of money over specified amounts of time to help them recover financially”

And where would this money come from since your No 1 objective is to abolish taxes?

34. dennis johnson February 23, 2015 at 8:26 PM #
    @Walter:

“I am convinced that policyholders wont see much [if any] of their hard-earned bucks as long as we continue to pursue this matter from the “he paid himself too much” angle.”

Dennis,
    I am just as convinced as you are that the chances of CLICO policyholders seeing much of their hard-earned bucks are rather slim.

However, I don’t agree with you that the slimness of the policyholders’ chances has been caused by someone continuing to pursue the CLICO matter from the angle that Mr. Parris “paid himself too much”.

By now, it should have become clear to most Barbadians that CLICO was deliberately raided and stripped of its assets. The assets were stripped by using “techniques” such as outrageous salaries, gratuities, allowances, perks, legal fees, consulting fees, payments to companies set up by Parris and others, money to politicians, money to political parties, bogus and illicit transactions involving at least one PM of Barbados………..

Let us now look at the efforts made by the Government of Barbados so far to safeguard the policyholders’ interests.

Barbados and T&T shared similar CLICO raiding experiences. In an effort to determine the extent of the damage done and to accomplish the eventual creation of a “new “company, the Government of T&T utilized the services of an actuary. The Government of T&T announced that the damage done amounted to $TT 22 billion.
    The Government of Barbados decided to use propaganda. After no more excuses could be found, and after all the touted potential buyers evaporated, the sextant was then summoned to the church to start ringing the funeral bell. The Judicial Management process had now begun. Funeral rites were being held fror the last remaining batch of consulting fees.
    Whereas the Government of T&T put in the money needed to get the “new” company up and running, the Government of Barbados shifted into higher gear by “promising ” the JM that they would contribute some money in the not-too-distant future. In actuality, they gave the JM not one red cent. When the JM ran out of money and decided to auction off the assets (the CLICO corpse was to be taken to the gravesite), the Government of Barbados found a higher gear still and provided the name of a company, and the name of its directors. In essence, the government told the JM: “There is no need to auction the company, pay your bills with these names.”

That approach to date, my friend, is what suggests to me that the CLICO Policyholders will not “see much of their hard earned bucks”.

35. Codename Octopussy Avatar
    Codename Octopussy

Well done Freundel (FM)

You have succeeded

in taking Barbados back to the good old days
    When free tertiary education was hard for poor people to attain.
    Back pass the days when you grew up and saw class distinction and class discrimination.
    You have successfully championed the cause of the Political class at a time when we should be looking to get rid of “class” distinction and class discrimination.
    True to form , you have supported those who you consider to be in your class even though they have committed “sins” AGAINST Society’s moral code . Leroy Parris and Michael Carrington

Congratulations
    You are an FM