The BU family ALWAYS gets the inside track on what is happening in Barbados. It is a pity the traditional media whether by accident or design allows itself to be anchored to a moribund state by being shackled to agendas not aligned to being a purveyor of truth. The CBC and the BarbadosAdvocate have been manipulated by successive governments this we know. The Nation Publishing Group which includes the popular VOB92.9FM radio and Nation newspaper in recent times has been feeling the pressure from Port of Spain, Barbados Today is controlled by the moneyed class Harris and Bizzy. Not to forget the advertisers.
There is a strong view in the United States of America which states for any Republican candidate to be successful as a politician he or she must get the blessing of the Fox News Network. Such a position gives credence to how closely correlated an active media and the ability to shape public opinion. In Barbados the government shapes the news delivered by the CBC and the BarbadosAdvocate. The moneyed class does clean up with the Nation Publishing and Barbados Today.
Out of the blue Barbadians have been informed the plug was yanked on the controversial Nigerian Delta State Student Program. In the United States of America or United Kingdom where a different brand of democracy is pursued local media and government authorities would have seen it as an obligation to the public to communicate to the public about what informed the decision to bring the program to an abrupt end.
There is a side to the Nigerian student story still to be told and the traditional media it its present configuration means BU or other social media outlets will have to fill the void.
BU understands over six millions dollars was released to organiser of the Delta State Youth Empowerment Programme Donna St. Hill. The challenge for Donna St. Hill from our investigation is that satisfactory accounting how the money was spent remains a challenge. BU reached out unsuccessfully to Donna St. Hill at the beginning of the Nigerian St. Hill Scam for a comment.
There is the view the Delta State Youth Empowerment Programme was an elaborate operation to use a legitimate student project to funnel money out of Nigeria. The idea that the operation was to be completed by May 2015 to coincide with the deputy governor leaving office is a question BU would pose to Donna St. Hill if we get the opportunity. Whether she has a non professional relationship with the governor is not BU’s concern unless she wishes to volunteer information.
Obviously Donna St. Hill International must have made contact with prominent officials and agencies in Barbados to have facilitated the operation. Is it true Deputy Prime Minister Richard Sealy approved the transaction which was subsequently overruled by Prime Minister Stuart? The news that the Nigerian St. Hill Scam Operation was cancelled it means several players will pocket monies without having to deliver a full service. Minister Sealy operates under the radar but BU understands he has become very adept at funnelling government contracts to close associates. Enough said!
Donna St. Hill why would you sign a nine month contract with the owner of Casa Grande if the accommodation was meant to be temporary? Do agree your training in public relations has given you the leg up to mamaguy local media? Who remembers your seductive smile directed at beat reporter Emanuel Joseph when you told your side of the story? Was the plan from the start of the operation to find a way to end the program under a cloud? When you planted stories about opportunities which abound in Africa in 2013 in the traditional and social media was this part of a deliberate plan – Opportunity Africa: Leveraging Barbados’ First Cousin Advantages to Maximise Trade and Investment in Africa’s Economic Rising?
Donna St. Hill please join us on Barbados Underground (BU) to clarify issues too many to list in a blog. It is alleged you coerced the five breakaway Nigerian students to come out last week. The Nation newspaper carried a story a couple days after the students checked in at Casa Grande showing Barbados Water Authority (BWA) officials trying to fix a low water pressure problem. As far as BU is aware the BWA has not issued a public statement to support the claim by the breakaway group. Donna St. Hill how do you respond to those suggesting you want the program to end and with it the expectation all the allegations and problems associated with the program to date will disappear?
Why has the deputy governor been given immunity until May from money laundering charges? Will the program in T&T have to be terminated as well Donna St. Hill? The Barbados project effectively means your ambition and reputation have taken a big hit. What next?