Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has weighed in with his opinion how the Michael Carrington matter must be resolved. He has suggested the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar Association apply its Code of Ethics to censure the Speaker of the House. Also he opined that the political stock of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government will be dented by the saga and the Prime Minister should also intervene. He does NOT agree with the position taken by the Opposition to boycott parliament, no surprise there. As far as he is concerned Carrington has broken no rules of the House therefore the Committee of Privileges will have no choice to return a ‘not guilty’ decision.

There is a lot to untangle from the Carrington matter which is moral, political and legal in makeup. What we know is that the Speaker of the House has been ordered by the High Court of Barbados to pay $200,000 plus to a wheelchair bound client; money he has withheld for years. All sane persons agree this is wrong morally, it is wrong legally based on the court order and the noise of public opinion ensures that it will have legal implications for a weak DLP government.

The Opposition has made a decision to boycott parliament because Carrington refuses to recuse himself from the Chair. His defence,  he has not broken any House rules. The Prime Minister, probably advised by constitutional lawyer Hal Gollop, head of the Employment Rights Tribunal and pal, agrees with Carrington’s position. It is obvious Carrington ‘hijacked’ the matter by anticipating the move by the Opposition and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson was quick to refer the matter to the Committee of Privileges. Many believe the Opposition should have called for a no confidence motion forgetting the Opposition had no control over the matter being referred to Committee. It is true however that by asking for Carrington to recuse himself the Opposition appears to be allowing the matter to play out in Committee. Do we anticipate the Opposition will bring a motion of no confidence if and when the matter is heard by the Committee? What happens in the period until the ruling is made?

BU supports the action of the Opposition. It has a duty to represent the interest of Barbadians and if boycotting and holding public meetings to highlight the wrong perpetrated by Carrington on an 80 year old man is what is required to galvanize Bajans,  so be it. Let Arthur and Stuart defend the sacred rules of the House in the face of an obvious wrong. The highest court in the land must stand for justice in the eyes of the people it serves.

Barbados practices a flavour of Westminster government largely constructed on a bed of conventions. Elsewhere members of parliament have resigned from parliament for a lot less to avoid bringing shame and disgrace to the highest court in the land. Because the Stuart led government defends a two seat majority in the house he is forced, ALWAYS, to distil and act on all issues with only political considerations. This is not about Carrington and whether is has broken any House rules, it is about making sure the DLP can still govern.

The government should have a vested interest in ensuring the Speaker is supported by the Opposition. Continue to make laws in a parliament where the Opposition is absent yet tell the world what a wonderful system of democracy we have.

The inadequacy of our system of government is being exposed by this matter!

264 responses to “The Michael Carrington Watch–Governance Crisis”

1. Miller and Prodigirl have been exposed.
    PM Freundel Stuart was right …..he did witness BLP candidates handling thousands of dollars on election day.
    One culprit have been caught……Gregory Nicholls.
    I guess by their silence, Miller and Prodigirl ain’t hear about Nicholls troubles yet!

2. and to you again bdsmike, if i were in your place i would refrain from being and intellectual prick as you are indeed very close to insulting the memories of the older generation of bajans who had limited or where not well schooled check your family history and you will discover how many of them are your relatives .dic head,
    so don.t bother coming up in the BU court clad with dictionary and encyclopedia to point out my wrong doings, think on these things next time jass

3. David @ 7.55p
    When I saw the big man reading that gibberish,I said the sad thing about it is that some bajans would believe him,although most of them would be DLP foot soldiers.We know why Sagicor is relocating,S & P made it abundantly clear in their release.It’s a total embarrassment to the Fumble led DLP including its economic adviser Dr Frank Alleyne and its chief banker Dr Deelisle Worrell.
    BushTea @ 9.08p
    You are so right.All that gobbledegook means nothing .It’s anybody’s guess what “longer than is absolutely necessary”means.No wonder carrington and the others hold on on people’s money.Necessary for whom?lawyer?client?third party service provider? And what is COULD doing in a ‘law’.What kind of law speaks like that.I know about SHALL and I know about specified times in a law,and any extension must have signed mutual agreement etc.and I know the law shall stipulate the penalties arising from failure to carry out the law and those penalties are spelt out.No crap about COULD.As Speaker John Boehner would say in anger “Hell No”!!

4. the problem with the likes of bush tea and others who find offense to certain legal laws stems from hardened and misconstrued perceptions infused with stereotypical attitudes aimed at the legal profession with a tendency to brand all lawyers as crooks,

5. @Bush Tea January 30, 2015 at 9:08 PM #…@ Miller /DeeWord
    All those who argued there are no laws or code of ethics or conduct governing the handling of clients’ monies by lawyers need to STFU…============

Bushie, I know you like to cuss me but how yah mix me up in these last remarks.

The blog posters are somewhat ‘bazodeed’ (is that what Allson said) on this point of lawyers and client fees.

The law under which lawyers and all other peoples operate when they keep somebody money is called THEFT.

I gave ARE-WE a scenario above and he tell me “The professional in your hypothetical is a crook. pure and simple”.

So why all this long talk.

Caswell has identified the rules and regulations that the legal profession recommend to their members as a best practice but as you rightly point out they ARE NOT laws of the land.

What is so difficult to understand wid this.

If you have money belong to me which you have received on my behalf then it IS MINE.

Unless we have some specific contractual agreement about how and when that money can be disbursed (trust fund, legal payout under guidelines or some such) then if you do not give me my money when I ask for it then you are a THIEF.

Plain and simple.

Tell me something: is this why we does got lawyers running the country. Every ‘bazodeed’ when the hear the word lawyer and think they smarter or more sensible or something.

They are professionals liek every body else who have to abide by the LAWS OF THE LAND not some special dispensation.

Wha going on here people? This discourse really strange.

6. correction: Every ONE ‘bazodeed’ when THEY hear the …

7. @ Dee Word
    Um is really Miller dat the whacker was aiming at….. LOL …you had just asked why Bushie said it was not ‘illegal’ for lawyers to use the funds.

As Caswell well knows, these scamps wrote the laws to facilitate this scam so that they can effectively operate like banks. They collect peoples’ money; invest it to their own benefit; give themselves (and their friends) mortgages; and generally have a ball.

EXACTLY AS THE NON-LEPER FELLA DID AT CLICO.

Obviously if all the funds are deposited in one account, only a full and complete audit could check if EACH CLIENT’s funds have been held intact. As long as they can keep some people waiting for years, they can get away with using some funds for ‘other’ purposes until new fodder comes along to provide new funds to pay the old clients.

When a fella CANNOT repay a single client, that either means that he got greedy and spent ALL the client funds, or that he only had a very few clients….

The simple solution is for temporary JOINT working bank-accounts to be established for any account over a certain amount or with more than a few expected transactions, where the client and the lawyer BOTH sign on the account….

Most lawyers/ law-firms would implode if such a system was instituted. The problem for the lawyers in parliament (BOTH Bees and Dees – and most are BEES,) is that this Carrington case can lead to a general tightening up and therefore to financial ruin for many of their ilk in Barbados…..apparently for some BU gurus too ha ha ha LOL …oh shirt!!

…unless of course they can convince Bajan sheeple that everything is fine and that the wolves have their best interest at heart….. LOL
    It may wuk too….. Brass bowls like shiite talk.

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ De word

That joint account concept won’t work especially when I am planing to fire his la la.

I can see Alair shepherd getting vex and running of In a huhuff and refusing to release Client monies

9. @Bush Tea January 30, 2015 at 11:55 PM #… As long as they can keep some people waiting for years, they can get away with using some funds for ‘other’ purposes until new fodder comes along to provide new funds to pay the old clients.===============

Bushie you know that they are basically three ways to spell-out what you describe above:

PONZI
    PYRAMID
    THEFT

Choose you pick.

After anyone the next thing should be summary judgement in court.

I understand that a lawyer can bamboozle the average person and explain away delays as slow process, some problem in getting documents from registrar and all sorts of things but beyond that what you describing is straight forward fraud.

10. @ Pieces, going back to your earlier remarks. I will stay out-ta any elective bubble.

If the body and mind hold up and so on by the time I am completely back on island then my time will be better spent in volunteer pursuits akin to what I did eons ago working with young folks. I believe that would be a better use of my time that engaging with the off-kilter political process.

David had a blog thread some months back re education (Innovation Wanted) and at the time I drew comparisons to what I saw state-side to our top schools like HC, QC and even your alma mater at Waterford.

That too is an area we need to get better developed. Our top schools have to up the ante tremendously in terms of a greater variety of options.

They are high school kids (secondary school age in Bdos) in US doing architecture, aero-space studies and other ‘esoteric’ stuff that is probably not even at Polytechic or Com. College.

Those are the things YOU guys should also be working to help improve/implement as best as possible.

11. ac have been reading and listening to comments alluring to allegations concerning moral /or lack of (morals) regarding mr, carrington. iam also intrigued as to how commentators were able to infused /or interject the moral compass as an apparatus against mr carrington character,
    question how and where does this moral application apply given that the claimant was a client of mr, carrington and no full knoweldge of what transpired between mr.carrington and his client over the years has never been exposed to public,

12. Returning national John Griffiths is a much happier man tonight after finally getting the money owed to him by his former attorney and Speaker of the House Michael Carrington.

He confirmed today that his lawyer Khamaal Collymore had received a cheque to cover what was owed from Carrington’s handling of his deceased aunt’s estate.

“I am very pleased that it is coming to an end and it is going to be settled shortly. I only have to wait on my lawyer to go through all of the details and if they are to our satisfaction, that is it,” he told Barbados TODAY. “However, I am disappointed that the matter took so long.”

http://cdn.barbadostoday.bb/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/page-3-john-griffiths-is-happy-he-and-the-other-beneficiaries-of-his-aunts-estate-will-finally-get-what-is-due-to-them-492×650.jpg

13. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bushie, re. your 9:08 pm post last night.

My sentiments exactly!
    Those “rules” were made to be broken and fool the public.

14. @ Piece
    That joint account concept won’t work especially when I am planing to fire his la la.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL …that is like not getting married because of the complexities of divorce…

The point of the joint account is to ensure that the funds are there and intact. Technically, once you commence a contractual arrangement those funds are not really all “yours”, ….pending their transfer to the seller.

The REAL problem now with repayment when you fire the lawyer is that the funds are not AVAILABLE due to having been otherwise diverted.
    …indeed, with such an approach you will probably never have to fire your lawyer – since he will then need to actually DO SOME WORK before you release funds to him (by signing on the account).

Shiite man….do you think Bajan lawyers could survive that!!!??

….not to worry, this will NEVER happen here…or at least it will be over Ross’ dead body…

LOL ha ha ha

15. Sir Harcourt Lewis a Man for all the Right REASON . Surely a LIFE TIME stamp of APPROVAL will be written next to his name, RIP comrade a job Well done thou good and FAITHFUL SERVANT,

16. This matter will not go away for Carrington, as long as he remains Speaker of the highest court in the land BU will thunder our opposition to the Internet audience.

17. David @ 7.25 p Jan 30
    That’s the story. Thanks.

18. @ Dee Word
    Wrong again!!!

You must be left handed that you keep avoiding being right…:)

Boss, now you are singing the same shiite song as Caswell. Barbados needs you and you talking shiite about volunteering to work with young people?

What is this now?
    Caswell wasting his time with Unity …and you planning to waste yours with young people?
    Skippa, in any case, the young people nowadays would eat you alive…If you think that politics nasty you should see what the young scene is like… Man you won’t last two wuk-ups after one of those young things hold on pun yuh….

Before we can make any headway with education we need to clean up the political environment. Think you could tell young people any igrunt shiite when they can see what REALLY going on…?

POLITICS Dee Word….. That is your calling, as it is Caswell’s.

steupssss!!!

19. David January 31, 2015 at 7:40 AM #

This matter will not go away for Carrington, as long as he remains Speaker of the highest court in the land BU will thunder our opposition to the Internet audience.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

and once the thunder start rolling and the lightning strikes have burnt the earth,, then what?
    are you expecting Mr carrington to tender his resignation,
    Are you expecting that an election would be called
    Pray tell ac what are your expectations! with qualified validations,
    let me point this out to you JUDGE, that the claimant has yet to issue a warrant for Mr, carrington in respect to this issue , Are you and the bU court in the planning stages of issuing one and on what grounds??
    The PM clearly explained that lawyers have had and will have issues with clients but unless there are grounds legal or legitimate to show that the client was robbed or abused by the lawyer the grounds for any form of dismissal are mute,
    BTW take a good look at mr. griffith demeanor in all the pictures do they show signs of a man overly concern , wish i had his smile

20. are-we-there-yet Avatar

The payment was made to Griffith’s lawyer about 10 days after the deadline given in the Judge’s order, if the reports on the parameters of that matter that were given in the Media are correct. There therefore did not appear to have been an urgency to stick to the terms of the order.

Is this par for such orders? Can anyone interpret such orders in a way that extends the period? Would there have to be a special dispensation sought from a Judge to extend the period given? Or was there some privilege accorded to Mr. Carrington?

21. @Are-we-there-yet

Carrington’s lawyer more than likely met/communicated with Madam Justice in Chambers.

22. Carryittons lawyer probably gave him the best advice. ‘You are a cxxx’, pay the man his money.

23. If there is anybody out there who can email us an image of Richard Byer or point to a link on the Internet it will be appreciated. He is the former DLP,NDP,Clerk of Parliament who charged $700,000 plus to vett an agreement.

24. What really pissed me off about Owen Arthur is his utter dismissal of public sentiment regarding Michael Carrington’s thievery, no big surprise since Arthur himself side stepped an FBI probe of money laundering in the 90’s with Selwyn Straughn former customs dude, now permanent secretary…..civil society who pays the salaries of government ministers and opposition have more than a right and vested interest in seeing that these thieving lawyers and politicians pay for their crimes. Owen Arthur needs to get over his arrogant dismissal and disdain for taxpayers.

Moneybrain…..by the way Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart said that the self-confessed bribers of government ministers Bizzy, Cow et al talk too much, they talk out the bribes and identify the bribees. He was speaking for himself only then and not the other government ministers and opposition when he said he does not extort money from business people. So, the bribers may want to start taping the bribery transactions to prove that the government ministers and opposition politicians are extortionists.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

and a better picture of David Bryan as opposed to one of the back of his slightly balding head

@ Dee Word

I guess I should have been more explicit regarding the mechanics of a joint account and why it would not work from a practical perspective.

The clause by which said account is set up at the bank would state something like “the two parties shall sign TOGETHER …at all times, or for funds in excess of , or for x dollars during a period of x days etc

In this case the objective of the joint account you are proposing would be moot because a teiffing lawyer, Carion could, if he knew to divide better than our Minister of Fine Ants Chris Sinckliar, know that, while he is not allowed to withdraw $20,000 at once, 10 transactions of $2,000 over x days does the same thing

The problem is also compounded when, in a fit of dementia, de ole man, cannot effect my part of the joint signatory process or, when I find out that while my lawyer did not tief my account money but hypothecated my title deeds left in his care and I want to still fire his donkey, because we are married at the bank, I still can’t get my funds out cause he refused to sign off forcing me to hire Khamal and get back my money

By the way wunna do know that Khamaal Collymore is now the enemy of all lawyers in Bulbados fuh doing this ting vis a vis, de facto, ISO facto, quis custodiat custodient? Wunna do know dat he hath offended the Brotherhood of the BloodSuckers?

@ Bush Tea

I do believe that Mr. Franklyn and Dee Word going see the error of their ways and throw themselves on the altar of political service in spite of the “facts” yet to be circulated that dere mudders used both to work at Bush Hill, plus dem faders was both pimps who owned Castro’s and Harry’s and Caswell is a Drug Lord who selling crack cocaine out of his Union HQ, and dat he related to all the Commissioners of Police and who he ent related to both he and Dee Work got disturbing pictures of them with dem muddas or worse dem faddahs

You know, the usual Bajan friendly after church conversations

26. VOB brasstax should invite John Public to vote on whether Carrington should now be debarred from holding public office with immediate effect.An example has to be made of these politicians and lawyers who would seek to deny the peoples’ rights.

27. @pieceuhderockyeahright January 31, 2015 at 10:32 AM #…I guess I should have been more explicit regarding the mechanics of a joint account and why it would not work from a practical perspective…The clause by which said account is set up at the bank would state something …”

Sir, to what pray tell are you referring? I did not make any link to joint a/c.

Nonetheless, I know you realize that is not a process that would be used between a professional and a client.

Not practical, not necessary and basically not legal really either.

I anticipate that the true concept of a ‘joint a/c’ is used when the two parties both have responsibility (or own) the funds.

In a client/lawyer situation of the type being discussed the money is either on the way in to client or out from client.

Why the complicated process you describe re joint ac?

You know well enough this is a simple basic process that is conducted every day at many businesses: eg. making a down payment for some mechanical work on the car, contracting with an architect to start that design work and so forth.

The business person simply deposits the funds to his business a/c and makes the appropriate accounting ledger entry to reflect an a/c payable or whatever term and process his type business uses to reflect funds from/to clients.

Money in. Hold. Fees taken. Money Out. Is the basic process.

Lawyer holding on to someone’s money after the time it should be dispersed is and will always be crookery! Nothing deep, mystical or joint ac necessary about this.

When others do that…who do you call…the theft busters, the police…and then sometimes, oh gawd…a lawyer.

What irony, right!

28. So Gabriel a vote to debarred!very hilarious.!and on what grounds .u guys are sounding more and more desperate everyday. Better yet suggest to the BU judge that on behalf of himself and the BU jury he should lodge a complaint forthwith to the Barbados Bar Association asking for. Carringtons dissmal.
    Maybe!just maybe your chances of winning might happen LOL

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

Apologies my man, that first comment was for Brother Bush Tea post his remark regarding the “joint working account”.

It is my humble opinion that in its current practice ” a joint working account” amounts to being a euphemism, a mechanism for the commingling of funds, further it is the (necessary/) precursor to the existing legal practice of “debits without refunding” COMMONLY CALLED TEIFING here in Bulbados.

I think and I may be wrong that when the concept of the Joint working account was introduced that, unlike your downpayment to a provider of services Party C, by a party A seeking C’s services with balance x paid to provider C, on completion as it relates to this Carrion scenario, we have all of the monies being paid to an intermediary B, by Party A for benefit of party C.

Ipso Facto (how you like me De Word. I going pun de internet and teifing all de Latin words dem and pasting dem heah to mek meself look learned, any word I come cross, I interjecting)

Ipso facto, the complicated process I spoke about earlier because the lawyer becomes an additional layer who used the tricks of “I have not heard from the lawyers of the buyer, or the conveyance had a problem” all of the tricks of legal “coitus interruptus” (a nex Latin malapropos?) to extend the process to 14 years.

Having said that time has shown that none of the existing “simple” systems have worked for the “Clan of the BloodSuckers”, notwithstanding your boy Eddy Hinkson, and since it would appear that they, en masse, cannot keep their hands out of peoples’ wallets and inheritances, a better system has to be set up to administer these vultures

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

You must be careful what you wish for, it might just happen.

You said and I quote “Better yet, suggest to the BU judge that, on behalf of himself and the BU jury, he should lodge a complaint forthwith to the Barbados Bar Association asking for Carrington ‘s dismissal.”

You have so asked and I believe that BU has so granted

Behold the “Lawyers in the News” link in the top of the page

Examining your (uncharacteristically) reasonable request beyond the normal cursory glance I give your submissions (lol) I would draw your attention to the following enhancement to the “static” Lawyers in the News” corner that BU has already gone on record and advertised

Let me explain my word “static” in the context of your suggestion of lodging a complaint with the impotent Barbados Bar Association or BA(AL) as opposed to what BU supports here, in the court of Social Ridicule.

Can I assume that your inference per lodging a complaint might be saying that that the majority of current entries are associated with past, printed infelicities.

Can I further assume that, given that there are some “infelicities” in the making or “grey zone” issues that the Bar Association and the legal fraternity, barring Khamaal Collymore, are not the best place to expect disclosure of these issues.

Am I interpreting correctly that you may possibly be pointing out the general unwillingness of the members of the brotherhood to commence legal action against other august members of the Bar (not to be confused with members of the Rumshop Bar)

AC, can I assume that you are in fact supporting and unconditionally recommend BU’s offer to the public, including your DLP demons, sorry denizens, (my IPad has a problem with predictive text and up to now I cant find the delete key like on the cuntputer at home. Usually I does post my comments but up to now, i dont understand why when i get home and press my “delete” button on my cuntputer when them is remain there!! I have to speak to the blogmaster when he come for his food)

So I take it then that, because you see BA, in general, and this fellow Tariq Khan, in particular, as blowing cold air up you pooch, that you recommend that BU ‘s standing offer for posters to submit those confirmable matters, is a good thing?

And of course, given your legal knowledge and inside access to the DLP demons thoughts (there it dun gone again) you would probably suggest that BU can publish those which cannot be interpreted as libel

Did I understand everything that you were saying AC?

31. PDYR your comprehending skills are remarkable. case closed..Bu court is now the official court of the Land.

32. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I see in today’s Nation that the BLP is maintaining its boycott as long as Carrington remains speaker.

Way to go! MAM.

33. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Since the Judicial Manager has now lodged a case seeking refunds of $3.33 million to CLICO, from Leroy Parris and David Thompson’s firm, could we expect to see the late David Thompson’s face and the background of the case listed on your blog “Lawyers in the News”?

If not, why not?

34. @are-we-there-yet

Thinking about it. Check bait and switch blog in a minute.

On Sunday, 1 February 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

Thanks for quick response.

Have the Bu posters recognized that the juxtaposition of these two matters in time could signal a perfect storm that could trigger a quick election?

Here we have both a speaker and deputy speaker under the microscope of public opinion; a PM who takes his good time to act on anything; a cabinet, some members of which, have been rumoured to be looking to distance themselves from certain aspects of their’ parties dealings with the public; an opposition that now appears not to be backing down in the matter of parliamentary ethics; etc.

A stirring of that type of brew has led to serious repercussions elsewhere. Could it happen in Barbados?

36. @ AWTY
    Why do you think that the opposition deciding to boycott parliament is a progressive step in the current circumstances?
    Does this not just give government a free pass in circumstances where, with just two of their members out, they could lose a vote in the house?

Why would Mia not attend the house and on every possible occasion interrupt proceedings with direct questions to the speaker’s standing, his public image, and his professional ethics?
    Why not disrupt proceedings with points of order, privilege, clarification etc?

Let the damn speaker put them out…..
    But this boycotting shiite just sounds like a lazy way out to Bushie….

steupsss
    ..bare shiite bout here…

37. A HIGH COURT ACTION has been started by Clico International Life (Clico) through its judicial manager Deloitte Consulting Limited, to recover $3.333 million from Leroy Parris, Branlee Consulting Services and the estate of late Prime Minister David Thompson.

THE TIP OF AN ICEBERG……….Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson?….A-W-T-Y cud we really be in for fireworks?

38. It is difficult to believe that the real problem can be corrected when every issue becomes a political football. It was surprising to see such a ruling against an established politician whose party was in power, but it was also an indication of what can be achieved when the rule of law truly prevails. Now the political pundits are squaring off and what was clearly the remedy of a great wrong has become the food of political yard fowls.

Kudos to Justice Jacqueline Cornelius for having the integrity and courage to render a just decision. Let us hope that this decision becomes the first step in separating lawyers from the funds of their clients; and that it infuses a spine into the Bar Association so that they can find integrity and courage within its house.

Sadly, I know of at least one Barbadian who has reached out to the Bar Association and found it lacking. But the judge’s decision has also signaled that the courts may be a place to seek justice and sending a letter to the Bar Association becomes a frustrated client last resort.

Your Honor (Justice Jacqueline Cornelius, I salute you.

39. I hope some day all those pensioners who were duped out of their hard earned monies invested in CLICO… are REPAID as they are the ones suffering at the hands of these greedy souls who believed that by finding ways to hide and sponge off peoples’ monies are immune..

Such lamprey, are no better than common class criminals in white colars and dresses and should feel some empathy towards their victims….repatriate even on moral grounds….By the way there is the well known principle in Law of ‘lifting the veil’ which went inferred can be used to pursue illgotten gains…..God speed that day.

40. @ Bush Tea February 1, 2015 at 10:26 AM #…Why do you think that the opposition deciding to boycott parliament is a progressive step in the current circumstances?…Why would Mia not attend the house and on EVERY POSSIBLE OCCASION interrupt proceedings with direct questions to the speaker’s standing, his public image, and his professional ethics?—————–

Oh Lawd, I was waiting for someone to make this point as definitively as this. I had suggested same to Are-We before and didn’t want to harp on the same thing over and over.

So my only real problem with your post is: why tek you so long to say this?

Oh, one other small thing. They don’t even need to DISRUPT per se. Just normal, continuous points of order, privilege, clarification etc. That is all within the rules so that if they get put out then that too is about bias and lack of transparency.

I said before, the leader is adopting a strategy that in my view does not show her as a great chess player.

In my view, she may perceive that to return to the chamber is a defeat because quite frankly the moment they walked out any return unless the Speaker was not in the chair was a slap in the face.

The issue was not fulfilling the judgement and paying the money, rather it was that a many with the morality and ethics of snake was Speaker of the House of Assembly.

That they couldn’t change because of numerical disadvantage so the strategy should have been to make every moment that he sat in that chair an embarrassment to him and the DLP on the matter on integrity.

Strategy, strategy! Or as you say so eloquently…” steupsss, ..bare .shiite bout here”

41. The DLP MP and yard ducks , shall fall from the bought position that was paid for with the money stolen from clico policyholders, the CURSE is on, fire sale.

42. @ Bush Tea February 1, 2015 at 10:26 AM #

“Why do you think that the opposition deciding to boycott parliament is a progressive step in the current circumstances? Does this not just give government a free pass in circumstances where, with just two of their members out, they could lose a vote in the house?”

I agree with you Bushy, and I think the opposition is really wasting time with this boycott nonsense instead of going into parliament and conducting the business on behalf of those who voted for them.

What do they think they’re going to achieve by staying away from parliament, especially under the present circumstances whereby it is evident Carrington is not in breach of any parliamentary rules and he has the backing of his 16 colleagues [including Owen Arthur]?

Against the background of the Carrington affair and a civil suit being filed against Leroy Parris, which has also implicated two other DLP parliamentarians [i.e. the late David Thompson and his wife Mara Thompson (who coincidentally is the deputy speaker)], the opposition should use this opportunity to focus on the DLP’s promise of “Good Governance”, which was articulated in their 2008 election manifesto.

So, what will happen next……. both speaker and deputy speaker has had civil suits filed against them, will both of them be asked to recuse themselves from the chair?

43. Does Leroy Parris still enjoy a “not a leper, but my friend” relationship our Prime Minister Freundel Stuart.

Will our Prime Minister now advise his friend Leroy to “get a lawyer”

And if he does not so advise Leroy would that be a monstrous perversion of common sense?

44. Baroness Brenda Browne Avatar
    Baroness Brenda Browne

F.STUART: DOUBLE TRIPLE QUADRUPLE FAILED with distinction
    A,BRATHWAITE-DOUBLE FAILED
    R.SEALY -FAILED
    C.SINCKLER- TRIPLE FAILED
    R.JONES-DOUBLE FAILED
    S.LASHLEY- PASS
    D.KELLMAN – nondescript
    M.MCCLEAN: nondescript
    E.BYER- nondescript
    J.BOYCE-DOUBLE FAILED
    S.BLACKETT-nondescript -not on the radar at all
    D.LOWE- DOUBLE FAILED
    D.ESTWICK- NOT REGISTERED
    M.LASHLEY- DOUBLE FAILED
    D.INNISS- FAILED-(excels in hot air eruptions)
    D.Boyce; I.Sandiford; P.Todd; H.Husbands -missing

45. ……………..what is this\\ Von Baroness?….an illrefute Card?

46. We have our eyes on the DLP and BLP trolls.

47. Baroness Brenda Browne Avatar
    Baroness Brenda Browne

FREUNDOOM
    DUMBVILLE
    ABOMINABLE
    PITBULL -(neutered version)
    CARRIONTON
    SUCKOUT
    SHORTY BALDY
    SICKLIAR
    LOWDOWNDIRTYSCAMP
    MISSUS JO
    PHYSICAL DEFICIT
    DECREPIT

People in Hell also known as Hell Dwellers are naming their children after the above. These are the popular names in the year –40987564–(Hell Year)
    One (1) hell year is equal to 1 day under the FSA- (F.Stuart Administration)

48. @ Simple Simon February 1, 2015 at 12:48 PM #

“Does Leroy Parris still enjoy a “not a leper, but my friend” relationship our Prime Minister Freundel Stuart. Will our Prime Minister now advise his friend Leroy to “get a lawyer”……”

I don’t think Froon would recommend Richard Byer, because his fees are a bit too high, so he may recommend his buddy, Hal Gollop.

49. “Carrington is not going to let these scurrilous allegations/remarks which were designed to tarnish his name stay floating in the social media and public domain, just watch you will see whose name would be plastered in the book of shame when all this is put to rest….”

Wuh de shiite? After what Douglas, the consortium and the DLP did to Lisa Marshall by posting files from her personal file “in the social media and public domain” for allegedly stealing $403, the consortium is right by stating “just watch you will see whose name would be plastered in the book of shame when all this is put to rest”:

David and Mara Thompson and the $3.33M.

I have always said the consortium is prophetic.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes February 1, 2015 at 12:19 PM
    “I agree with you Bushy, and I think the opposition is really wasting time with this boycott nonsense instead of going into parliament and conducting the business on behalf of those who voted for them.”

True that!
    It only makes one feel as if the Opposition are in cahoots with that lying DLP administration to pull wool over the eyes of fair-minded citizens.
    There are more than one way to skin a cat; especially if that cat is a thieving dog named Carrion.

What the Opposition should be doing is exposing the farcical hypocrisy going on in that so-called august honourable chamber
    by making the Speaker look like a real monkey handling gun when it comes to honesty, fairness and sound judgment.
    Why not ‘abuse’ their parliamentary privileges- as he has done with his professional responsibilities to his client(s)-, employ their wits and use of language to poke fun at the Speaker every time he seeks to exercise his echoless and meaningless judgment of fair play?

Why not, sotto voce, make constant jibes to the man’s entitlement to sit in the chair as Judge Supreme? Why not make ‘laughing sport’ at the crook and make a total jackass of the stupid idiot as if he is sitting on high judgment in a court of clowns and charlatans?

Why not get him so riled up in such a way that he either feels so embarrassed at the constant ridicule and ‘refined’ opprobrium and moral censure that he either stops public broadcasting of the many striking of comments from the record or he, the Speaker, out of desperation, ejects Opposition members from that ‘dishonoured’ chamber at every sitting or he resigns out of pure psychological defeat and forced moral condescension.

“Every job is a self-portrait of the person who does it. Autograph your work with excellence.”

“Dignity consists not in possessing honors, but in the consciousness that we deserve them.” ~Aristotle