Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has weighed in with his opinion how the Michael Carrington matter must be resolved. He has suggested the Disciplinary Committee of the Bar Association apply its Code of Ethics to censure the Speaker of the House. Also he opined that the political stock of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government will be dented by the saga and the Prime Minister should also intervene. He does NOT agree with the position taken by the Opposition to boycott parliament, no surprise there. As far as he is concerned Carrington has broken no rules of the House therefore the Committee of Privileges will have no choice to return a ‘not guilty’ decision.

There is a lot to untangle from the Carrington matter which is moral, political and legal in makeup. What we know is that the Speaker of the House has been ordered by the High Court of Barbados to pay $200,000 plus to a wheelchair bound client; money he has withheld for years. All sane persons agree this is wrong morally, it is wrong legally based on the court order and the noise of public opinion ensures that it will have legal implications for a weak DLP government.

The Opposition has made a decision to boycott parliament because Carrington refuses to recuse himself from the Chair. His defence,  he has not broken any House rules. The Prime Minister, probably advised by constitutional lawyer Hal Gollop, head of the Employment Rights Tribunal and pal, agrees with Carrington’s position. It is obvious Carrington ‘hijacked’ the matter by anticipating the move by the Opposition and Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson was quick to refer the matter to the Committee of Privileges. Many believe the Opposition should have called for a no confidence motion forgetting the Opposition had no control over the matter being referred to Committee. It is true however that by asking for Carrington to recuse himself the Opposition appears to be allowing the matter to play out in Committee. Do we anticipate the Opposition will bring a motion of no confidence if and when the matter is heard by the Committee? What happens in the period until the ruling is made?

BU supports the action of the Opposition. It has a duty to represent the interest of Barbadians and if boycotting and holding public meetings to highlight the wrong perpetrated by Carrington on an 80 year old man is what is required to galvanize Bajans,  so be it. Let Arthur and Stuart defend the sacred rules of the House in the face of an obvious wrong. The highest court in the land must stand for justice in the eyes of the people it serves.

Barbados practices a flavour of Westminster government largely constructed on a bed of conventions. Elsewhere members of parliament have resigned from parliament for a lot less to avoid bringing shame and disgrace to the highest court in the land. Because the Stuart led government defends a two seat majority in the house he is forced, ALWAYS, to distil and act on all issues with only political considerations. This is not about Carrington and whether is has broken any House rules, it is about making sure the DLP can still govern.

The government should have a vested interest in ensuring the Speaker is supported by the Opposition. Continue to make laws in a parliament where the Opposition is absent yet tell the world what a wonderful system of democracy we have.

The inadequacy of our system of government is being exposed by this matter!

264 responses to “The Michael Carrington Watch–Governance Crisis”

1. Let us agree for the record, again, the Speaker of the House is a member of parliament and a scalliwag read teef. Never in our lifetime did many of us believe educated men would sacrifice commonsense at the altar of political expediency – directed at Arthur, Stuart and cohorts.

2. @ Prodigal

Now all DEM stinkin liars who mekk up every excuse and turn eva sod to paint a different picture than what transpired…. should feel like the stinkin dogs dem is….we hear eva ting but the trute to save this 3 footed horse who days @ running Dun….and let 10 cents mekkin he look like a complete ass…..Looka, common sense ent so common ya

3. onions,

The Opposition can expect to feel the wrath of the Speaker from Tuesday. Every time they rise on a point of order, he is going to slap them down. Watch for his venom! Hope George Payne dont go in the House, he will be the target.

What whores these dems are. As a caller to Brasstacks said today, there was a time when politicians cared about Barbadians but these wild boys care only about themselves and their pensions.

Well, it is back to normal watch day until pensions. Mr Crook will pay back the money and the toothless pitbull has gotten his money for his factory and whatever, so he will no longer be threatening to resign.

What a mess!

4. are-we-there-yet Avatar

It is very clear that the DLP apologists on this blog are either explicitly condemning Carrington’s action of withholding Mr Griffith’s monies or are steering clear of it. Indeed, even several of ac’s posts on the matter suggests that she accepts that Carrington was morally wrong.

Anyone wonder why? Have they themselves been bitten?

Perhaps the cocktail circuit rumour from “Prodigal son” might have some bearing on why they are not defending him to the hilt but are instead following the obfuscatory lawerly misdirection by the PM, OSA and a few others. Even Donville is not defending the private action by the Speaker.

Could it be that the rumour has some validity?

Even AWTY was told by a normally unimpeachable source, soon after the information on the judgement broke, that the monies had been collected and Mr Griffiths would be paid soon. What is stopping that payment 10 days after the Judge ordered it to be repaid?

Is the story about to go into another stage?

5. Prodi

Ah I like David(Bu) doa….LOL…ee din easing up fa shite…..evaday WAX….annuda article…a jawbone victory for social media !

6. …bet wanna din know HATS….did Griffiths lawyer….Hats ent EZ ya….I dun tell wanna so..LOL…(whey D fractured Senator, she nxt)…D wrath of George…(LOL)

7. are-we-there-yet Avatar

PUDRYR and others;

Just saw the news that the monies are now available.

So everything is now back to “Square One”. The Opposition can un-boycott; Carrington will retain his honourableness as Speaker; Freundel can regard it all as a dream; OSA can look for another matter to attack MAM on; etc. etc.

It was all a dream.

I wonder how many of us will remember the matter and take any action based on it when an election is called?

I wonder how many will continue to think that the Honourable Speaker is actually someone who was unable to pay a debt owed to a client and only did so on the order of a Judge and only when monies became available in whatever manner it came, 10 clear days after the Judge’s order took effect?

Much of what I said in my post above is now irrelevant. The story is at a different stage.

8. Onions
    Griffith replaced George with attorney Khamaal Collymore

9. Chaucer you mean George assigned Khamal to the case..lol.
    Old Onions bandit chaser aint want a ting with George.

10. naturaliste@hotmail.com Avatar
    naturaliste@hotmail.com

Sent from my BlackBerry® device from Digicel

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ All

I dun tell all uh wunna dat dis here BU is de most powerful social media tool dat Bulbados have right now.

Barbados Today, de nation, de Advocate, Brass Tacks all uh dem fears dis heah platform.

I again doff my hat to you man, you is one badddd niggah (said in a tone of reverence and respect)

I dun tell wunna dat the DLP & the BLP dun fear BU real bad.

I dun tell wunna dat de CIA and MI5 representatives plussing de World Bank and all de udder international development agencies does come pun heah and check whu de temperature uh tings is

Wunna feel dat AC does be mekking sport when DEM say dat BU and wunna doom and gloomers mekking bad fuh de cuntry?

Mek dem constantly shame.

Up in dem face.

You know dat it working when you walk into a bank and young people in the bank lines talking loud bout 14 years to settle an estate.

Keep up the good work David and mek sure dat you got eveyting in de cloud so dat when Adriel Batshit, sorry NitWit, sorry Brafwit sen de men in de boots, dem ent gine find nuffin at you place

And remember doan drink or eat nuffin from nobody.

I wud get de madam prepare something fuh you, when dem doing de Feed my Sheep programme but you wud have to come down to de top of Broad Street next to Nelson Statue tomorrow and collect you food.

Doan worry bout de madam poisining you like dem supposed to had do Tom Adams, de only ting dem will kill you wid is de brotherly and sisterly hugs dat sister Headley does like giving ole mens.

You is a young man? You married, you bettah doan come causing sistah headley she looking fuh a help meet (or in she case a help meat)

Move de bedroom to de back uh de house and doan answer no late night knocks you hear???

12. @enuff

What is the point you are making?

13. @ David,

As I have already told you before keep up the good work.

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/jan/23/ethiopias-media-crackdown-is-bad-news-for-africa

14. @Caswell

Was this $15,000 declared by Nicholls in his returns?

15. are-we-there-yet January 29, 2015 at 5:33 PM #

Much of what I said in my post above is now irrelevant. The story is at a different stage.

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

much of what everybody say was irrelevant, except the court.
    Hey BLP yardfowls don,t beat wunna breast so fast,,how about them allegations of theft,,,
    Are they still in the BU Docket awaiting a decision in the BU court of LAW . HA! HA! HA!

16. Prodigal Son January 29, 2015 at 2:40 PM #

One might surmise, rightly or wrongly, that OSA has come to an agreement with FS to support him on various issues, if only to work against MIA.

I would be very keen to see a vote in the House, for one reason or another, and see how the wind blows for independents.

One could expect that justification for the vote would be given, but the real reason?

VOB

3 hrs

TOP STORIES IN THE EVENING EDITION FROM STARCOM NETWORK NEWS

Sources indicate there could soon be a resolution of a high court matter involving the Speaker of the House of Assembly Michael Carrington as the money in question should soon be paid.

18. Dah man musse feel SHAME SHAME tonight…..affa all dat hullibalu, 30 men had to put up $5,000 each (or sumting so), some more and some none…cahblima…..and to think at the 12th hour, he get advised to find a lawyer….ya tink dat right? Wanna ting ee gine resign and fly? Cuz it gine some gigantic BALLS to look in these people faces and holla HUSH..cahblima..LOL

19. David

It said rogue cops.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I did not check his return.

21. don’t worry onions, just might be just might be ..mia the one looking like the shameful dog,. believe me , carrington is not going to let these scurrilous allegations/remarks which were designed to tarnish his name stay floating in the social media and public domain, just watch you will see whose name would be plastered in the book of shame when all this is put to rest,

22. onions,

Why was it so hard to find $200,000 in the DLP? Crumbs………….the dead king allegedly left millions, millions more from the sale of the money laundering unit,

Greenverbs, who bank rolled the DLP for years had millions FCIB gave him back,

lowe man allegedly had 5million stashed away

the ape allegedly has a barter system going

fractured is always saying that the pittbull cannot leave the dlp, so we wonder what he means

Pornville allegedly is very wealthy

lazy sealy is “to the manor born”….

and dont let us go there with the liar.

And we have a fumbler and a sleeper for a PM who says he does not know anyone around him he accepts envelopes!

23. This is not a country of deal yet BU has been receiving some stories about request for millions to approve projects. BU is still waiting for an explanation wht Jepter Ince and Trevor Carmichael find themselves as directors on a company setup to supply services to the government.

Chris Sinckler and David Estwick Saga Continues – Money is Sweeter than Sugar

24. @ac January 29, 2015 at 7:53 PM # …are-we-there-yet January 29, 2015 at 5:33 PM #…Much of what I said in my post above is now irrelevant. The story is at a different stage….much of what everybody say was irrelevant, except the court.—–

Your posts are amusing, Mr. AC.

How were the comments related to the dishonest, fraudulent conduct of the Speaker of the House of Parliament who also happens to be an officer of the law courts and took oaths to uphold the traditions, values and rules of both these institutions be IRRELEVANT to his having tarnished his professional responsibilities and Parliamentary integrity?

Returning money that was due his client eons previously goes directly to the absent ethical core of this man and if you believe that the entire debate was irrelevant then clearly it goes also to your missing ethical center.

Or is it that you know your fellow Bajans well enough that as was suggested by the rather amusing post “… we know well dat if that cuckolded buddy had gone there de night befo’, dem wudda catch we instead uh he, in de sauce”

So everyone is an adulterer, crook or wannabee so they have no problem with a representative who just like them.

How unfortunate!

25. Wunna hear the PM talking bout Necromatic occurrences in regards to the Devaluation of the BDS dollar while addressing the BCC!
    Wait them tink dis is Haiti ! Voodoo economics & Obeah gine save we from devaluation.. Lordy Lordy…
    Carrington is a big disappointment, he only paying because he was exposed.

26. o.k. dee word no need to go around the mulberry bush

the memo says the case is at a different stage ,, just a reminder in case u did not get one

anyhow the allegations of theft charges are pending somewhere in the docket of the BU court awaiting final decision.check with David BU he is the official judge handling the case ,he know more about it than anyone else,,

MIA poor Mia she will be in for a rude awakening,

27. You see why Lammie Craig was so enraged with the Dems that he was moved to say ‘ef you name douglas leopold phillips,you will have to starve’.
    This rotten,lowlife.scumbag of a government is so corrupt that a sane person might lose his soul abusing or taking some other action ‘gainst these ghetto dwellers called the democratic labour party.They are nothing but dog puke.

28. can somebody explain why after reading and reaching the bottom of the page the necessity to turn the page must be done by scrolling all the way back to the top.

29. @ David January 29, 2015 at 8:59 PM #

This is not a country of deal yet BU has been receiving some stories about request for millions to approve projects. BU is still waiting for an explanation wht Jepter Ince and Trevor Carmichael find themselves as directors on a company setup to supply services to the government.
    …………………………………………………..

Fumble said yesterday that no one around him is receiving envelopes. Is there any way we can find out if this shell company is doing business? Can we file a freedom of information enquiry any where to get information?

30. Crusoe January 29, 2015 at 8:02 PM #

One might surmise, rightly or wrongly, that OSA has come to an agreement with FS to support him on various issues, if only to work against MIA.
    ……………………………………………………………
    I heard that OSA is to be given an official car
    http://imgur.com/FasQoSK

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Prodigal;

You said above “…..And we have a fumbler and a sleeper for a PM who says he does not know anyone around him (who) accepts envelopes!”.

Very easy to explain. He is like the simian who tied himself up in knots to show that “He sees no evil, hears no evil and speaks no evil”. He must have absolute, prior, cast iron, legal, proof to even suspect a comrade of evil even if his own eyes lead him to think that some evil has been done. Treachery wasn’t taught at his School.

32. The AG of Trinidad is facing a criminal probe ordered by the police there,into allegations that he sought to pervert the course of justice by offering a public post to an individual in exchange of the withdrawal of a witness statement in a matter before the court between the said AG Anand Ramlogan and the Leader of the Opposition Dr Keith Rowley.
    They are those in Barbados who are of the opinion that the police here should act similarly and order a criminal probe into the failure to hand over clients’ funds and failing to account for those and other matters in a timely manner.

33. Nobody gives envelopes anymore. Please deposit the money directly to my bank account or my relatives’ bank accounts, or to the bank account of a shell company iwhich I control in Switzerland, or London, or Jersy or Miami or New York.

No plain brown envelopes for me.

34. Well Prodigirl and Miller have received the answer they wanted.

On the night of 21 February 2013, PM Stuart told all and sundry that he witnessed voter buying earlier that day as persons cast their votes.

Well the scamps…knew what PM Stuart was talking about and started a relentless attack on

PM Stuart telling him to identify the culprits and involve the police.
    Well lo and behold nearly 2 years later……yes a BLPite…..,Gregory Nicholls ‘borrowed

$15,000 on election day …..right in the heart of the constituency ehe

35. @My Two cents January 29, 2015 at 3:35 PM “The question stands what was BLP candidate Gregory Nicholls or his agents receiving by borrow $15,000 on Deacons Road on election day for? Artexass, miller, onion, bush, casweel, pdc ,anyone?”

I have another question. What motivated the lender to lend the $15,000? Love, charity, kind-heartedness, friendship?

36. This issue is reported as being ‘ended’ due to payment of funds…..

But not really. What is the average man now to think.

Big shot ‘ as ‘n’sual’ gets his way, money owed and the ‘impression’ is that his buddies got together to pay it for him. Correct or incorrect. That is the impression.

But, a small man, selling a ‘lil weed’ gets prosecuted.

A small man, driving without road tax, a ‘lil $400’, gets prosecuted.

A small man, carry way a couple T shirts from some store, gets prosecuted.

But a man, did not pay over funds of over 200,000 until ordered to do so by a judge, eventually pays and keeps one of the biggest jobs in Buhbayduss.

The small is going to think it is unfair, ent?

Ent?

The issue is NOT over by a longshot, because the idea of unfairness is further solidified.

37. @Crusoe

Remember BU advised early on individuals from across the political aisle helped Carrington to raised the money. While some of us swear unswerving allegiance to a political party the politicians themselves cross the divide at will. Some of the contributors read like the who is who of Barbados.

JAs.

38. David January 30, 2015 at 6:18 AM #

Oh, I agree. That is disgraceful. And, IF they are good buddies and don’t want to see him fall, then raise the money, I am not in favour of killing someone for the sport either.

BUT, they should have demanded, in return, his resignation from the position.

Cake and eat it too, that is how the average citizen is going to see things.

And they wonder why people have no respect for politicians??

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Paying the money does not mean that somehow we were transported back 14 years and Carrington did everything correctly. The foul deed has been done and exposed to the publicly. It speaks to the character of the man who sits on the speaker’s chair and we must ask ourselves is this the type of person who should occupy that chair. I say no way Jose.

40. David January 30, 2015 at 6:18 AM #

@Crusoe

Remember BU advised early on individuals from across the political aisle helped Carrington to raised the money. While some of us swear unswerving allegiance to a political party the politicians themselves cross the divide at will. Some of the contributors read like the who is who of Barbados.

///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    David in the interest of being transparent why don’t you publish the names,

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

I am spirited to ask you these questions like Brother Bush Tea asked Mr. Franklyn recently because of a sense of fairness that comes through the cyberspace halls to my cuntputer.

You are consistently fair to all across this media, you are articulate, knowledgeable, unflustered 97% of the time (I have seen you lose your cool once which makes you human and not sanctimonious)

For de ole man, those are qualities to be admired and promoted

Question (i) What would be the basis upon which you would pick a man or a woman to represent you in the House of parliament?

Question (ii) Do you think that we have such men and women in Bulbados?

Question (iii) Would you run for politics? If so why? If not why not?

I dont know you nor Mr. Caswell but, from what I see, fallible as all human frames are, and, with all the inveterate faults we all are cursed with as men, wunna is two mens de ole man wud vote for in a heartbeat.

As long as wunna give me the power of recall, through incorporated law, AS WELL AS change the oversight mechanism across several sectors within my BIM to incorporate men and women with integrity.

That will mean that you have to ignore the David Durants’ and the spiritual charlatans that pompasetting bout here as lieges to My Lord, I would even prefer an atheist who lives by rules and principles rather than them Holy Hands Crew.

GIve me men with Balls and women with (intact) female parts to govern as opposed to the androgynous, neither hot nor cold, scabbies that abound across the political landscape and, for that matter, the country

42. when the political mischief is exposed behind all this mess the BLP yardfowls might choke on a fowl(foul)

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC

I will borrow from Kahlil Gibran to comment on your disingenuous comment “when the political mischief is exposed behind all this mess the BLP yardfowls might choke on a fowl(foul)”

“Critics

One nightfall a man travelling on horseback towards the sea reached an inn by the roadside. He dismounted and, confident in man and night like all riders towards the sea, he tied his horse to a tree beside the door and entered into the inn.

At midnight, when all were asleep, a thief came and stole the traveller’s horse. In the morning the man awoke, and discovered that his horse was stolen. And he grieved for his horse, and that a man had found it in his heart to steal.

Then his fellow lodgers came and stood around him and began to talk.

And the first man said, “How foolish of you to tie your horse outside the stable.”
    And the second said, “Still more foolish, without even hobbling the horse!”
    And the third man said, “It is stupid at best to travel to the sea on horseback.”
    And the fourth said, “Only the indolent and the slow of foot own horses.”

The traveller was much astonished. At last he cried, “My friends, because my horse was stolen, you have hastened one and all to tell me my faults and my shortcomings. But strange, not one word of reproach have you uttered about the man who stole my horse.”

Michael Carrington in 14 years had no intention of paying Griffith, pure and simple.

The issue of this egregious practice by Carrington, after it amazingly came all the way through our lax court system, cannot now be swept away by your vacuous statement.

The fault of the tiefing lies with Carrington and not with the spectacular exposure and resolution that Mr. Griffith has experienced, BEFORE HE DEAD

Please take the advise of another one of the Legion, AND SAY NOTHING MORE ON THIS TOPIC with the hope that the short memories of bajans will kick in and Michael Carrington’s 205K “almost theft” is forgotten

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

sorry advice not advise

45. PDYR thanks for the early words of wisdom and advice ! but as a favor( in return) ac advice you to take the same advice given.

You have no right to sit in high moral judgement concerning any form of dispensation uttered by me, firstly i have never been accusatory or demeaning of an person/persons character be it the claimant or the defendant associated with this case . My primary objective was to drive home the law and Facts
    What u need to do is check self first before placing judgement on what i have said in regards to this case none of which were condemnation or vilification being unaware of all factual evedience pertaining

In conclusion let me say, the court of public opinion had their say and as a member i am also by right and privilege to express freely whether one agrees or disagree during this process of fact finding

Have a nice day ole man. and remember facts are relevant, and the story which you told highlights the necessity for All to be aware of facts before opening mouths to speak,

46. Barbados is unfortunately not well served by honest to goodness politicians and it is the fault of the electorate.At this time in Trinidad and in Guyana we see evidence of two Attorneys General of Indian descent being castigated in public for this same type of ‘close shop’,cabal-ish behaviour that is playing out in Barbados with the low life swine Carrington whom I would not recommend to anybody as an example of law and order in private and public life.The bastard would be marched to the wall at dawn in China!!Ask Chelston Brathwaite!

47. I guess the Speaker didn’t follow his leader’s advice. Or maybe the advice went something like this – ” I’m afraid there is nothing I can do for you. You owe Mr. Griffiths the money. That’s why you did not contest the case. The case is over. The Court has made a ruling. Now here’s my bill for the advice!”

48. @ My Two cents January 29, 2015 at 3:35 PM #

“The question stands what was BLP candidate Gregory Nicholls or his agents receiving by borrow $15,000 on Deacons Road on election day for? Artexass, miller, onion, bush, casweel, pdc ,anyone?”

Two Ass cents is a very interesting name, especially since Barbados has abolished the use of cents…. common sense has also been abolished in your case.

I’ll attempt to answer your question. On the morning of last general elections [February 21, 2013], at about 6:45 am, Chris Sinckler was seen in Free Hill, Black Rock, St. Michael, in the gap by the Pentecostal church, surrounded by a large group of people. Upon questioning these individuals, it was revealed that they were being enticed to vote and with offerings of cash as a reward.

Perhaps Nicholls borrowed the $15,000 to entice people to vote for him as well.

You DLP yard-fowls are just a bunch of shiites, and are reflective of this inept DLP administration. You feel as though you caught a big fish with this Gregory Nicholls story. Shiite bucket, let’s be reasonable, Nicholls is NOT an elected member of parliament as is Michael Carrington, therefore the implications as a result of his actions will not as serious as Carrington’s.

What would most likely be the outcome is that, as an elected member of parliament, Carrington’s deed will ALWAYS be a subject for discussion, especially since he is the speaker. As for Nicholls, it’s just another story for a losing candidate.

49. Can anyone here remind me which constituency Gregory Nichols ran for? Again I ask the question what was Cynthia Ford handing out from that brown bag slung over her left shoulder, right at Deacon’s corner on the eve of the biggest election? They are some here who would have us believe that vote buying existed on one side of the fence only. All back then this shit was par for the course. Both of these parties need to be removed from the political equation of Barbados.