Personally I think the Speaker should do the right and honourable thing (pending the decision of the committee of privileges) and vacate the chair of Speaker. Morality and dignity should not have to be forced, negotiated and the subject of legal gymnastics – Grace Fuller

The Michael Carrington saga has shifted a gear.

Last week when Speaker of the House recused himself from the Chair to allow Deputy Speaker Mara Thompson to refer his matter  – Speaker of the House Michael Carrington MUST Go! –  to the moribund Committee of Privileges, there was high expectation the sordid matter of Griffiths Vs. Carrington was being ‘processed’ in a dignified manner by the highest Court in the land.  To the surprise of many Carrington presented himself today to carryon business as usual in the House on the pretext that he is still the Speaker of the House. Carrington’s decision aroused the passion of the perennially taciturn Prime Minister who in a passionate defence of the Speaker, on the floor of what was once an august chamber, questioned how a personal matter was being used to bar the Speaker from doing his job.

Obviously the decision by the Prime Minister to support Speaker Carrington is politically motivated. He continues to lead a weak government with a 2-seat majority which leaves no wiggle room to flex the muscle of the office of Prime Minister, an office Barbadians have come to regard as primus inter pares, until now. Seven years in office and what we have is a deeply polarized country which has forced national priories to be forgotten.

Surely any 7 year old knows that individuals who hold an office of public trust must be sensitive to activities undertaken in a  private capacity which may injure the office and is therefore open to censure based on the breath of the breech.  Employees of most organizations are aware if codes of conduct are contravened there is a consequence one has to endure.

If we accept the House of Assemble is the highest court in the land responsible for enacting laws and shaping government policies. Further, if we accept a key responsibility of Speaker is to maintain the integrity of parliament then one is left to surmise the decision by Carrington to fight for his job supports the growing view that Barbados has become a banana republic or in Bajan vernacular, poorakey.

How on this earth and anywhere in the galaxy a Speaker of a House of Assembly in the Commonwealth – acting in a private capacity as lawyer has to be ordered by a High Court to pay $200,000.0 plus to a wheel chair bound client withheld for 2 years, and he has the effrontery to defend his right to preside over the highest court in the land. To compound the problem, the prime minister and other members of parliament see the matter through politically tinted lenses while ignoring what is obviously wrong by the loosest value set.

Then there is the wider issue of governance. The Opposition correctly ‘walked out’ of parliament to demonstrate opposition to the decision by the Speaker – which sides with public opinion –  but the government continued to crunch out laws in our system of democracy. What flavour of democracy can this be?

The BU household weeps for our once proud little country.

207 responses to “Speaker Michael Carrington Saga: Day When Morality Drained From the House of Assembly”

1. @Redman,

“funds received and withheld over two years ago “

2. @ Togetherness January 21, 2015 at 9:31 PM #

“BU is full of extremists its a shame more persons with moderate views don’t contribute to the discourse. Ninety seven percent push the BLP line .Prodigal, miller , artexass , old onion bags (didn’t he die?) etc with their clones see the world thru strictly BLP blinders.”

Togetherass, after making the moronic contribution that Barbadians are dumping indiscriminately to embarrass the government, I am forced to catggorized you within the 3% that sees the world strictly through DLP blinders, and one who has no moderate views.

3. well well well! anyone remembers these words… we will not like, we will not cheat or steal. we will bring intergrity legislation blah blah bullshit

4. @ Togetherness
    steupsss…

You never heard that one should either wax hot or cold?
    ..and that lukewarm shiite does get spit out….?

Bushie would never get a single vote ….because the bushman don’t want no stinking votes. You ever heard bout someone voting for one of BBE’s boys?
    Vote shiite!

Bushie is in the whacking business, whacking left, right and center….. whacking B, D and PDC…..where ever there is brass bowlery….like persons trying to justify why a big thief should chair parliament….

…and this after wunna had the gall to appoint the non-leper thief as chairman of CBC – while he got poor people’s money and living big….

Wunna REALLY feel that this could done just so….?
    Wunna so going have to pay….

5. Another Barrack?

Not a cent

TIM SLINGER,

Added 22 January 2015

griffiths-32015

John Griffiths, at his Waterhall Terrace, St James home yesterday, says he’s upset about the outcome of his aunt’s estate. (Lennox Devonish.)

THE MAN WHO Queen’s Counsel and Speaker of the House Michael Carrington owes almost a quarter-million dollars from an estate settlement, says that to date he has not received any money or documents as ordered by the High Court last month.

“Tomorrow [today], I will discuss with my lawyer what will be the next step, since I will have to await their advice about what next we will do,” John Griffiths told the DAILY NATION yesterday from his home at Waterhall Terrace, St James.

The 78-year-old returning national has also taken issue with some of the comments of Prime Minister Freundel Stuart who defended Carrington in the House of Assembly Tuesday and referred to the matter as one of a private nature.

Please read the full story in today’s Daily Nation, or in the eNATION edition.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62454/cent#sthash.WrlO86E6.dpuf

6. Why would the PM have to instruct Carrington to seek legal counsel?

Seek counsel, PM tells Carrington

LISA KING,

Added 22 January 2015

carrington00

Speaker of the House of Assembly Michael Carrington. (FP)

Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has advised embattled Speaker of the House of Assembly Michael Carrington to seek legal representation in light of the recent development that caused him and the Opposition Barbados Labour Party to clash in Parliament.

Related articles

Speaking on the sidelines of the unveiling of the Yarico monument at Kendal Plantation, St John, yesterday, Stuart said that, based on all the information that had been available to him, the outstanding issues were going to be properly resolved.

In the meanwhile, he said, he had advised Carrington not to try to deal with the matter himself but to retain a lawyer to assist him. That advice, he added, had been taken and the matter was being handled accordingly.

“I don’t know that there is a controversy surrounding the speaker outside of issues raised in Parliament by the Opposition hunting around for an issue on which to try to excite Barbadians,” Stuart added.

However, the Prime Minister noted, he did not have all the details, nor did he need them since the matter was before the law courts and he had full confidence he knew how to dispose of such issues appropriately.

He also said the reputation of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was not likely to be negatively affected in any way by the issue since there was a process to be completed and once it was, the matter would die.

Stuart suggested the only real controversy surrounded how the Opposition had treated the matter in the House of Assembly. If any rights of members of Parliament had been breached, then the matter had to be resolved by Parliament’s Committee of Privileges, he explained, but first it had to be determined what those rights were.

“To date I am not aware that anybody had said that any particular right or privilege of Parliament had been breached by the speaker.

“I understand the politics of it, I understand all of the excitement around it, but I happen to know a little about these things. I know the course of these things and I am not agitated or worried or concerned or excited because I know the course that matters of this kind have to take,” Stuart said.

The speaker of the House of Assembly happened to be an attorney at law, the Prime Minister said, and had been given more prominence than if the matter had surrounded a member of another profession.

Drawing on his 25 years’ experience as a lawyer, Stuart said an attorney could run into disputes with clients and there were particular procedures laid down for the resolution of those disputes.

The speaker is supposed to render an account in respect of an estate on which he was working, he added, and when that has been done and there are monies to be paid over, if the speaker is holding money then that would be done

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62455/seek-counsel-pm-tells-carrington#sthash.morr2vtR.dpuf

7. An Attorney could run into disputes with client……………….. for 14 years?

8. Togetherness wrote ”They see only doom and gloom and Barbados’ imminent collapse mind you they have held this view since 2008 almost 7 years ago. The island is still here the sky hasn’t fallen and most people enjoyed today’s balmy relaxing EWB holiday .”

Ridiculous. A logical assessment clearly comes to the conclusion that the management or lack thereof of the country is completely incompetent. And just because many are ‘enjoyed today’s balmy’, does not serve to conclude anything useful. To conclude that all is well, from that, is silly and merely slapping a conclusion onto one thing, which is equally as you say, ‘extremist’.
    Many of those posting, that you mentioned, BLP supports or not, realize how serious a predicament that we are in. A cash strapped Government, unable to pay:

• severed NCC workers
    • tax refunds
    • for the upcoming sugar cane harvest

And this is despite strongly increased tax measures over the past two years.

The downgrade of the country’s investment and credit rating, is so serious it is not funny, all the while those in positions posturing that it means nothing.

Sagicor leaving is but the first of many.

The firing of many senior managers from the Central Bank should be cause of concern.

Not least because significant expertise is walking out when we need it most.

Who is going to run a bankrupt Central Bank? Magoo by himself?

NO new capital projects have started, largely because of the huge existing debt burden that WAS NOT LEFT solely by the BLP but built SIGNIFICANTLY since, with little evidence of improvements to the country’s capital stock nor relevant injections into the economy.

All of these FACTS are relevant in determining the state of the nation and yes indeed, anyone with an iota of sense sees doom and gloom because it cannot get better doing the same thing over and over.

And yet, given this evidence, you pompously strut into the BU blog and proclaim most here ‘extremist’ and biased.

Oh, how disingenuous. ‘Oh what a web weave when we….’

Have a lovely day, enjoy the ‘balm’.

9. Stuart’s responses and advice to Carrington will not go down well with clients seeking redress from lawyers crooked or straight.Stuart is encouraging lawlessness like the Byer invoice to Caves.Who in their right mind will want to invest in a banana republic Barbados has become under these nasty,crooked dems and why rely upon a court like the CCJ to adjudicate fairly upon matters before it.The Privy Council was not about a colonial court as much as the appearance of a tainted court from a small pool of lawyers and lawyer/politicians giving possibly politically tainted decisions.

10. Crusoe

I take off my hat to you Boss……now that was top draw…Are you a product of the Major by chance?….I call that a ‘sequester ensong’… Miller or Artaxex could not have adjudicated better…” a second Daniel indeed”…

11. One wonders if Froon is not AC.

12. @David
    Why would the PM have to instruct Carrington to seek legal counsel?
    Presumably Freundel is familiar with the maxim that “a lawyer who represents himself has a fool or a client”, can’t say the same for Carrington who declined to contest the civil action.

On another topic your “lawyers in the News” segment is chock full of accusations but there are no resolutions, are all these items still before the Courts?

13. @Sargeant

The objective of the effort is to portray lawyers in the news. Many of the matters posted the individuals are on bail, awaiting hearing, incarcerated etc.

14. @ Sargeant,

I am sure you on de Marvilous mailing list.

“Toronto to Barbados from $337.00 plus taxes of $94.96. Book by January 27th and travel from now to May 02.”

15. @ Crusoe January 22, 2015 at 6:22 AM #

“Togetherness wrote”They see only doom and gloom and Barbados’ imminent collapse mind you they have held this view since 2008 almost 7 years ago. The island is still here the sky hasn’t fallen and most people enjoyed today’s balmy relaxing EWB holiday…..”

Kudos to you, Crusoe. Togetherass should take example from CLICO and juxtapose its operations and eventual collapse to how this government is managing Barbados’ economy.

The DEMS are telling Barbadians not to fear because “company Barbados” is sound…. don’t worry about the downgrades, Barbados is financially viable. All the while, just like Leroy Parris, Terrence Thornhill and Lawrence Duprey, these DLP politicians are growing fat off the taxpayers of this island. DLP affiliated lawyers being allowed to over-charge government departments, ministers receiving draw-backs, driving luxury SUVs and motor cars, approving contracts for associates and “related companies”.
    Similar to how CLICO policy holders can’t receive their benefits and pensioners their pensions, the DEMS are sure to receive theirs. The former NCC and Beautify Barbados employees are yet to receive their severance and the some pensioners not receiving NIS pension is being blamed on the system being updated.

This DLP administration has proven time and time again they cannot manage Barbados social and economic affairs; they have made some very poor decisions which has led to over 10 credit down-grades; engaged in corruption; retrenched civil servants to trip a bloated public sector, yet this cabinet is the largest in the history of Barbados; and there are a myriad of other problems.

What really bothers me is the fact that, if I observe these “transgressions” and remain silent, I’m a patriotic Barbadian. On the other hand, if I express my disapproval, I’m deemed a member of the BLP and a preacher of “doom and gloom”.

16. Bush shite i got to “hand it to you” in your misrepresentation !callous !and uncouthed intrepretation /assertions/of all things legal.
    Any how the outstanding Order which was uncontestedly voted with approval for YOU to become the one and only spokeperson/dictator/PM istill awaiting your acceptance.
    Do not wait too long as the fate of Barbados is awating good leadership .A well know position which You have espoused for many years.

signed

PM froon

17. @ Crusoe January 22, 2015 at 6:22 AM

@ Artaxerxes January 22, 2015 at 9:56 AM #

Excellent posts!

I would like to also question the sanity of Chris Stinkliar. The man declares that Barbados is on a growth path and all the gibberish he said this morning. Yet to date so the government owes so many people………..cook the books and pretend that the economy is out of recession and is growing. They really think we are fools.

I am yet to receive my last two tax refunds, Al Barrack is yet to receive his money after hearing umpteen times that the documents have been signed off, COW is owed, small business men are complaining of not being paid and these morons are still lying to us!

18. Bush Tea January 22, 2015 at 9:13 AM #
    One wonders if Froon is not AC.

That’s why i called AC a corrupt sliver of slime, won’t be surprised, have a nasty feeling about that heifer.

Fruendel Stuart is corrupt, just from the fact that Leroy Parris is his esteemed friend and stole millions from the clico policyholders, dishonest Mara Thompson is a minister in the government sitting on millions of clico policy holders money, stolen money, stolen by David Thompson, deceased, a real pit of vipers…..Fruendel Stuart is dirty corrupt, a nasty piece of work, just like most of the other lawyers in Barbados, don’t know if Tariq Khan is trying to convince the people of Barbados who know the congoline of lawyers are dirty, dishonest, lying thieves…and not just a few, i believe he is trying to convince himself, but he cannot sway anyone from the truth about the disgusting lying, thieving swines calling themselves lawyers. It’s a bar association of crooks.

A client just caught the attorney who was supposed to look out for the client’s best interest, trying to sell out to the insurance company, but this little bitch lawyer does not realize he has a tigress by it’s tail and will be dealt with accordingly……..scum.

The best thing than can happen to the lawyers/ministers in Barbados would be the Russians. Bajans will be glad to get rid of these demons, the Russians would do it for free…lol

This is what happens in a civilized society, but in Barbados where you have beasts and wild animals posing as ministers of the government and lawyers, something else has to give.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/assembly-speaker-silver-arrested-report-article-1.2087758

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“In the meanwhile, he said, he had advised Carrington not to try to deal with the matter himself but to retain a lawyer to assist him. That advice, he added, had been taken and the matter was being handled accordingly.”

That man Fumble like he is some sort of J A.
    The matter has already been dealt with an uncontested decision made by the Court. What can a lawyer do at this stage for Mr. Crook? To carry out the order of the High Court to save his sorry ass from incarceration if he unable to settle his debts to Mr. Griffiths?

What he should advising the moral criminal to do is to seek the help of bankers or moneylenders. Why not be a true friend of Mr. Crooked Carrington and hook him up with Leroy Greenverbs whose millions stolen from the CLICO policyholders and looking for a laundry machine can be made clean through a private loan with Crooked Carrington backside as collateral?

Bajans area bunch of real foolish people. What kind of jackass you got for a PM? The people from other countries really laughing at wunna!

20. Wonder how Madame Justice Jacqueline Cornelius feels in light of the prime minister’s recent statement.

21. Well, according to the moderator of today’s edition of “Brass Tacks”, Patricia Watson, those who are making comments on this case between Carrington and Griffiths [and casting aspirations], are wrong to do so in the absence of the facts relative to the circumstances surrounding the case and information contained in the judgment by Justice Cornelius. She also accused the opposition of playing politics with and trying to score “cheap political points” from the issue.

This coming from a lawyer, who, by her comments and handling of the program, we can easily determine the side of the fence on which she sits, and one who is often seen in the company of DLP politicians.

22. The PM gave best piece of advice to the Speaker. in other words with so many BLP sharks circling the water looking for blood it is better to cast a wide net

23. Barbados has one Governor General,one Prime Minister,and one Speaker.Why on earth would any of them allow a private matter,normally subject to client/attorney privilege,get into the public domain where they will be subject to censure by a court public which can be brutally frank and candid to people who hold high office and have wronged a member of the public.
    The subject of the public rage and censure,a QC even,one sworn to represent Her Brittanic Majesty’s interest and can therefore be said to be of a chosen few such advisers,now is the beneficiary of seer advice from another QC,with the instruction to go get a lawyer.That’s so elementary.You mean he didn’t know that and is a big QC? And he allow a case to be heard and did not file a defence nor contested the proceedings?Why he got to have thought he was above the law or untouchable.That’s ignorance mixed with arrogance which equal judgement against the defendant..There is something novelists refer to as the law of the jungle.I hope we don’t ever go there. Trinidad,Jamaica,Guyana,Venezuela,Chile,Brazil,Argentina,Bahamas,USA all are members .

24. Excellent post, Gabriel.

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Casting aspersions me brother.

Dealing with “Alternative Candidates” (apparently that was the name that the collective Legion derived the AC moniker from) will after a while cause one to stagger and fall from the normal standards of your writing

It is the results of inhaling the fumes of idiocy most like a moth to the pyrrhic flames…lol or Daedalus and the Sun

Take care me brother and do like de res of us and scroll past DEM….

26. Say what nah like…..Griffiths says he going after his ‘pound of flesh’….so poor Antonio(in this scene)….better come good. What betwixs me is the amount $208,000…..ya mean Leroy wun\cun come to the rescue……relations must be real bad….cheeson. Dat is small fries man for the risk that is associated. Haven’t dey even the slightest micron of greyy matter to consider damage control before it gets worse?….. Who really running tis show doa?….and who want who to look like a shoite?

27. Logic. Nothing Else. Avatar
    Logic. Nothing Else.

Well, according to the moderator of today’s edition of “Brass Tacks”, Patricia Watson, those who are making comments on this case between Carrington and Griffiths [and casting aspirations], are wrong to do so in the absence of the facts relative to the circumstances surrounding the case and information contained in the judgment by Justice Cornelius. She also accused the opposition of playing politics with and trying to score “cheap political points” from the issue.

This coming from a lawyer, who, by her comments and handling of the program, we can easily determine the side of the fence on which she sits, and one who is often seen in the company of DLP politicians.

Why can’t it be that she sits on the side of simple logic?

Up till now no one can tell me definitively the circumstances surrounding the case. Where the land is? How much it sell for? What proof do you have? Yuh telling the truth? You really expect me to believe a QC, and Speaker no doubt, tief money from you? Wuh we don’t know. Yet, BU, The Nation, The Oppostion and every stone casting Bajan has chastised, vilified and cursed the Speaker, for he is obviously a crook! The leaked document said so!

I have a hunch as to why these so called outstanding moderators and esteemed editors continue to allow this kind of discussion which is so rich [and so full of shite] Look at the facts: MORE PAPERS SELLING and WEBSITE TRAFFIC UP. MORE PEOPLE VISITING MY BLOG. So all we get is one sensationalist headline after the other to fuel more politicos and generate more revenue as the Nation and BU await another document to leak since there hasn’t been an update to the original story slapped on Sunday’s paper almost two weeks ago…

I have always been a patient lad, and it has reaped me numerous benefits so I will continue to monitor the situation and await the conclusion before I cast my stone. Until such time can someone define the word libel for me ?

28. Logic. Nothing Else. January 22, 2015 at 4:46 PM #

You full of bs.

Logic what?

Why did Mr Crook not defend himself before the Judge?

29. Yea, a bunch of morons!

30. My point…Bad Blood,

31. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

TIM SLINGER, You are a dam crook your self , You need to bring back the $2500bds you took from Violet Beckles after you cash a $6000 check for her, If you dont want to give it to Me, You can give it to Station Sgt Mark White of the Fraud Squad, and make sure you get your proof of payment .

32. Bullshit!

In essence you are stating that Madame Justice made a ruling from an uninformed position?

33. Logic. Nothing Else. Avatar
    Logic. Nothing Else.

Prodical.

And this is my problem with you bastards. THAT IS A QUESTION FOR THE NATION.

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ logic.Nothing.Else

De ole man in he perpetual state of retirement so I get tuh feel dat when questions get raise of a ecclesiastical nature, given one’s proximity to the departure lounge, this qualifies one to respond.

I shall answer your question about what is libel with this tangential question.

.?What is the purpose of a blog?

Is it not as you in your logical submission said – more papers selling, more advertising revenue, more hits on my website AND my personal favourite that you missed, so ole men’s like can pontificate on subjects that we know nuffin about.

Now it would seem to me that having assumed the moniker of “logic Nothing Else” for you to have come here and stated that “a blog, which is doing what a blog is supposed to do, is in being a blog not a blog but would be best advised not to blog…”

Confusing and downright illogical to be sure..

28 minutes to the insulin shot……

(Why wunna ole people doan lay down and dead doah…came the refrain from ***??

35. Logic. Nothing Else. Avatar
    Logic. Nothing Else.

David January 22, 2015 at 5:24 PM #

Bullshit!

In essence you are stating that Madame Justice made a ruling from an uninformed position?

Well if the Speaker didn’t defend himself in court or produce any documents…wuh else ya want the Judge to do?? Twiddle she thumbs and look like an idiot? Obviously she had to make a ruling to get some response from Carrington as Griffiths was probably nagging her as well.

Look, it is neither here nor there. It would be foolish to deny that there is much we don’t know about this case and all we can do is wait. But carry on David. Still waiting on my definition of libel…

36. Logic
    Griffiths says the lawyer/defendant failed to hand over the amount claimed in spite of the many attempts he made to get the over $200,000.00
    The learned Judge found merit in the the applicant’s pleadings and made an order to be carried out to the satisfaction of the court within a given time frame.The lawyer/defendant was ordered to hand over the money and certain other items.
    The erstwhile Prime Minister whom some refer to as Rip van Winkle,was awake
    long enough to give the impression that it will all be sorted out and forgotten soon.
    We can conclude therefore that there is a misuse or abuse of privilege by one of the two parties and we know who the abuser is,’which in’who the misappropriatior is of someone else’s personal property.In our system of governance,no one is above the law,neither speaker,prime minister nor a minister’s wife.Depriving another of his or her personal property is unlawful in our system of governance.
    A rose by any other name will smell as sweet.A crock by any other name will smell as stink.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Logic. Nothing Else. January 22, 2015 at 4:46 PM
    “Up till now no one can tell me definitively the circumstances surrounding the case. Where the land is? How much it sell for? What proof do you have? Yuh telling the truth? You really expect me to believe a QC, and Speaker no doubt, tief money from you? Wuh we don’t know. Yet, BU, The Nation, The Oppostion and every stone casting Bajan has chastised, vilified and cursed the Speaker, for he is obviously a crook! The leaked document said so!”

Here are the answers to your concerns succinctly provided by David BU @ David January 22, 2015 at 5:24 PM
    “In essence you are stating that Madame Justice made a ruling from an uninformed position?”

Now are you the logical ‘jackass-hole’ calling the judge an idiot and stone-casting Jamaican?

38. are-we-there-yet Avatar

There are usually antecedents to certain behaviours. Seek and you should find.

39. @Prodigal Son January 22, 2015 at 10:59 AM “I am yet to receive my last two tax refunds, Al Barrack is yet to receive his money after hearing umpteen times that the documents have been signed off, COW is owed, small business men are complaining of not being paid and these morons are still lying to us!”

It is only a lie if we believe what they are saying. Nobody believes the DLP Ministers anymore.

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Logic …… ; You said at 5:56 pm:

“Well if the Speaker didn’t defend himself in court or produce any documents…wuh else ya want the Judge to do??”

Why would the speaker, a learned QC, not defend himself? Can you give us just one logical reason? … and please don’t say that he and Mr Griffiths were good friends.

41. @Hants
    Toronto to Barbados from $337.00 plus taxes of $94.96. Book by January 27th and travel from now to May 02.”
    ++++++++
    Ticket was purchased some time ago, will be travelling soon.

42. Logice. Nothing Else. Avatar
    Logice. Nothing Else.

are-we-there-yet,

To be fair, I am just as clueless as you lot and as been stated time and time

again, this is a private matter so we are not going to be privy to trivial

details until such a time that they become public knowledge. Luckily for us, the

Nation is a reliable and trusted source of information so more than likely one

of their fine journalists will update their story (almost 2 weeks stale – don’t

forget!) and provide you with the answers to these questions as I am unable to

do so myself. In the true manor of fine Barbadian reporting we can expect

another document to leak in 3….2….(Wait! Don’t hold your breathe because the

Speaker isn’t a fool and he is holding his ground well)

Logic.

43. Greetings to all, I hope that all of you will have a great and safe weekend. I am amazed at the double standard that Barbados’ elites employ. Take for example Speaker of the Barbados House of Assembly Mr, Carrington, a man who is an Officer of the court and the chief legislator of the most venerable and oldest House of Assembly in this hemisphere. Mr. Carrington has lacked in the integrity to do what’s right, honorable and dutiful. When Barbados and Barbadians needed Mr Carrington most, his personal political aspirations, stood in the way of him understanding Duty, Honor and Country. He lacked the duty he swore to uphold to Barbados, he lacked the Honor and Integrity of the position he holds, and he has disappointed the country of Barbados. It is not enough to pay political lip service to the people of Barbados, when nothing is on the line. Mr. Carrington, act now expeditiously and in a judicious manner to salvage your honor and integrity. Your political legacy is the last thing you should worry about. What is at stake in larger than politics and your position as speaker. What is at stake is your last vestige of spiritual discernment. In the 1970s in your party the DLP, Mr Neville Maxwell who occupied the Speaker’s role in the DLP government, found himself in a similar situation to yours, from which he never recovered. Your walk with fate Mr. Carrington, has offered you a chance to salvage what’s left of your integrity, please take it.

44. Logic. Nothing Else. Avatar
    Logic. Nothing Else.

Edit: Maybe the Speaker is foolish for not squashing this matter

sooner. I leave that up to your interpretation and opinion. Remember folks,

keep buying the Nation and visiting the blogs (keeps the Revenue ↑) because

as day turns to night, the full details of this case will become known.

45. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Logic re. your 9:01 response to my earlier post!

I found it most Illogical!

I was trying to see if you, who writes like an educated person and calls yourself “Logic. Nothing else” could provide a rationale for the speaker’s seemingly strange behaviour in not defending himself when he presumably had time and the facts to do so. I was not asking you to divulge actual facts in a private matter, just giving you an opportunity to educate those clueless posters like myself as to how the speaker’s action in not defending himself made perfect sense to clueless as well as reasonable people.

Your response however suggests to me, in my clueless and somewhat dotish state, that in your heart of hearts you consider the Speaker did not have the wherewithal to defend himself.

If that is so, and today’s nation has an article which indicates that Mr. Griffiths has not yet been paid, 4 days after the deadline for such payment, then the whole affair is getting curiouser and curiouser.

46. Former Speaker Roett comments today that Carrington issue looks bad.

47. every cat dog and pussie have an opinion on this matter all borne outside of relevence and facts. Facts of which many are unknown to the general public.
    so far all that is being witnessed is a bunch of blp gloating selfopinionated talking heads falling allover themselves clutching at low hanging fruit

48. ac is Freundel? Does he speak that kind of language? At least he’s better than that!

49. @ Donna
    don’t mind the language, check the logic…