Good to hear the crescendo of calls for Speaker of the House Michael Carrington to step down. Leading the calls is outspoken and widely respected lawyer Andrew Pilgrim QC  a former President of the Barbados Bar Association (BBA). BU assumes he was not head of the BBA when the 78 year old wheel chair bound Griffiths  filed a complaint in the matter now occupying national attention. BU understands there is a concerted effort around town to raise monies demanded by the Court Order from ‘pals’ of Carrington, we have no doubt that he will be bailed out. The political class and buddy system always close ranks.

Cudhere!

Whether he is able to honour the court order or not the Prime Minister, Cabinet colleagues and Government are left with no choice but to ask Carrington to step down as Speaker of the House. It is a moral imperative by a government led by a man who was promoted as Mr. Integrity himself.  Until Carrington steps down no utterance  by any member of the House can be allocated moral weight.

218 responses to “Speaker of the House Michael Carrington MUST Go!”

1. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Togetherness January 16, 2015 at 7:32 AM #

John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. January 15, 2015 at 10:53 PM #

Crook ,liar and Scumbag of the House Speaker , Is the Speaker for the rest, Head Niggard of the House ,

This racist John Hanson is way out of line and BU should not allow him to post disgusting despicable stuff as above. The racist bastard frequently uses the N word to describe our people and BU allows him to get away with the bullcrap. BU is called upon to put a halt to Hanson’s postings which hark back to the days of slavery, white slave master and Adolph Hitler. Hanson strikes one as a supporter of slavery,of the white slave masters and Hitler.@

I and we know the words we use to the right person , I will save you a little , Google before you post,

Niggard , is not nigger .. Meaning of Niggard = n. a parsimonious person , a miser.

Nigger don’t behave like one, Google if you don’t know my wording,

Welcome to the Land of the Moors =

Moor =n. Native of North Africa of a dark complexion

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

We can see all 210,000 in the picture , He driving it lolooll , no road TAX nor VAT

3. Bushie
    We had suggested a certain antiquarian device to solve this problem. But there is little interest. LOL

4. Hi folks, Michael Carrington owns Karibu restaurant on the west coast .Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall and other BLPites like me patronise that place. Mia Mottley called last night and I pledged $10,000 to help pay Mr. Carrington legal bill.

I am a member of the Political Class.

I love it!

5. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

David January 16, 2015 at 6:05 AM #

@Pacha

Caswell made an interesting point earlier, would the electorate have voted for Carrington if they knew he was withholding funds from Griffiths?@

Point , Would anyone voted for any of them ,if they knew they All are crooks, Knowing what others have done and say nothing? Complicit on other crimes against the State and its People,

He is not the only one and Sir Fredrick need to shut his mouth after what he did to his Aunt Beatrice Henry , and then to Violet Beckles ,no to Barbados,

Did he not get his land for his home from NHC? Land that belong to Beatrice Henry to violet Beckles,

6. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

NAKED DEPARTURE – The Trilogy Series

https://www.facebook.com/pages/NAKED-DEPARTURE-The-Trilogy-Series/753741574657012

Learn what DBLP will not let other print or say.

7. @ John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. January 15, 2015 at 11:10 PM #

“We cannot see a word from the ac consortium today on this story. I wonder why!”

John Hanson, last night you asked the the above question, and my reply to you [in part] was as follows:

“Perhaps they are strategizing their line of defense for Carrington and to blame someone else for his actions. They will post the usual meaningless, generalized statements, which, in actuality lacks subject and intellectual content and do not make sense. Legion will also refer to “truth” and has never been able to reveal what exactly is this truth.”

Now, John, see wuh I tell yuh…..…. predictable and true to form:

“ac January 16, 2015 at 9:38 AM # :After a week of hell raising and political rabble rousing by the BLP yardfowls the can is still being “well”kick down the street but still unable to prove Theft. Based on the statement by Griffith it appears that a family squabble is the backbone behind the TRUTH of this story….”

8. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Artaxerxes January 16, 2015 at 10:05 AM # to be fair to AC she is not the only foul in the Yard,

many lawyers and other went against Violet Beckles and her claims , Many have now died , I will never and can never go against the most truth i ever seen with my own eyes,

We have to remove them , let them try a new Party of the came crooks by a different name ,

We hold the land of Clear titles , many think that is a joke,

We hope after next elections which need to be called soon , Many will have land for 500 a year and the owners of the land will pay the 17.5% Vat ,

where now people will have permission to build and home,, No need to TERRA any more , They all can go back to where ever they came from , COW can go eat grass, The lawyers and the BAR can go to hell not needed , no need for cover up and letting ACT 50 , of 166 pages to make their fraud legal ,

9. Nowhere in Griffiths statement, was there any reference to a family dispute. Any reasonable, intelligent person would conclude that the relatives became impatient as a result of the length of time Carrington seemed to be taking to probate the will and distribute the inheritance, so, the relatives were demanding what was legally due to them.

Now pray tell me, if there was indeed a family dispute, why would a lawyer who, as far as it is known, not being related to his client, would find himself at the center of a family dispute to the extent that he should see it necessary to with-hold the client’s funds, only to tarnish his reputation and creditability as a result.

Ironically, the DLP yard-fowls and defenders of dishonesty, have been unable to prove that Carrington DID NOT steal the $208,900 either.

10. THE ORIGIN OF SIN ACCORDING TO jAMES 1:14 & 15 But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed.

Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death.
    sIN MIGHT EXPRESS ITSELF AS Thought, Word and deed

11. This is a perfect quote for the defenders…. it’s amazing that things we often say about other people, often come back to haunt us.

“The truth does have a way of making people uncomfortable as it peels away at the scabs and exposes the infections that lay hidden beneath the surface.
    Yet beneath your surface lies a political animal wallowing in the cesspool of political dirt quick to defend those of similar affiliation while throwing political stink bombs in the path of those with whom u disagree”

12. @ Anon January 16, 2015 at 9:57 AM #

Hi folks, Michael Carrington owns Karibu restaurant on the west coast .Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall and other BLPites like me patronise that place. Mia Mottley called last night and I pledged $10,000 to help pay Mr. Carrington legal bill.

I am a member of the Political Class.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This is the work of a coward and a 5 year old to spread gossip.

If this is true for this to have any credibility you should be man/woman enough to disclose who you are by posting your full REAL name.

I or anyone could easily post on any blog the same info above under a false name or using anon as you have.

You alleged that you are part of the political class but you really have no class if indeed that is the case.

13. That those who would seek to ‘protect’ the Speaker would take more than 24 hours to raise 250K should tell us a few things. One, these people don’t have any real money in trute. Second, things real tite and people holding on tuh wuk little dey got.

How on earth could we try to explain to these people the debt bubble, the biggest ever, the world is facing. In circumstances when credit expansion is itself growing twice as fast as output.

Surely one can’t be counting pennies (250K) and watching the big picture at the same time.

14. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Anthony;

It is not only the work of a coward. It is the probably the work of one who imbibed fully of the lessons of one Cammie Tudor who is the acknowledged midwife of the big lie syndrome in Barbados’ politics.

It has to be a lie. I don’t doubt that there is an effort afoot by members of both the BLP and DLP political class to bail out the Speaker from his current troubles. But those troubles did not start with Mr. Griffiths. Such troubles involving money started long ago. Ask Frank Alleyne. This was an accident waiting to happen. The man has been outed and bailing him out at this time is unlikely to save his political career.

If Anon is true Mottley would have to be an idiot of the highest order or has absolutely given up her apparent quest to wrest power from the DLP at the next elections to be seeking monies for assisting the speaker in a public venue when she could easily have done so privately and confidentially. Associating herself in any way with that campaign could only harm her and the BLP politically.

So Anon is merely starting a rumour, I suspect on behalf of the 3rd party that is supposed to be in the works, as the rumour seeks to damage the Speaker, MAM and the BLP in one fell swoop.

I woder how much traction it will get?

15. In a previous related post David asked: “David January 15, 2015 at 4:14 PM # : Why would a 90 year old jurist feel the need to play the party card?”

Caswell Franklyn replied: “Caswell Franklyn January 15, 2015 at 4:17 PM #: SENILITY”

I recall the days when Sir Frederick Smith hosted a radio call-in-program on Fridays [I can’t remember the radio station], entitled “Lawyer on Call”, during which he offered legal advice to callers.

It’s rather strange Sir Sleepy is taking a completely different stance on this matter with Carrington with-holding Griffiths’ funds and documents, especially taking into consideration he used that program to harshly criticize lawyers who took advantage of their clients by embezzling or with-holding their money or property, often suggesting these dishonest individuals should be incarcerated for their nefarious deeds.

Is it safe to assume that Sir Frederick is a hypocrite?

16. Bushie wrote “There are no more than four lawyers in private practice bout here who do not fall into one of the above categories…

Name them Bushie.

17. In the words of Forrest Gump’s mother “Stupid is as stupid does” and it is stupid politics to allow this issue to “blow up”.Others can talk about morality but I will leave that to Bushie and GP.

My political solution.

Judge orders Speaker to pay money to client.

He should immediately pay the client as ordered by the Judge.

He should resign as speaker immediately.

He should issue a statement that within 30 days he will explain why he should remain an MP.

18. @ are-we-there-yet

So Anon is merely starting a rumour, I suspect on behalf of the 3rd party that is supposed to be in the works, as the rumour seeks to damage the Speaker, MAM and the BLP in one fell swoop.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

If the above is true this individual or whom they represent should play no role in local politics.

19. @ David (BU)

There seem to be a STRONG bias on this BU blog for this third political party and it is reaching a new low (I have noticed the same on NAKED DEPARTURE ON fACEBOOK).

The country is already in trouble because of questionable ethics and practices by the two main parties.

My belief is that this BU blog if it wants to be taken seriously as regards to local politics should remain neutral to ALL parties and call a spade a spade.

If not will be seen as a farce.

20. David

How interesting. You are asked to name names rather than publish shit. You don’t do it, and yet you know very well in your literate mode that he who avers must prove or, if you like, you don’t have to prove a negative.

Now the idea that you do comes straight from Pacha in the first post which is why I suggested to him that in 2009 he touched up an underage girl and perpetrated sado-masochistic practices on a boy. Of course he couldn’t do that, but that’s the effect of what he is still arguing.

So David, in the absence of anything of substance from you other than the standard insults, I conclude you are a lying prick. By all means prove me wrong. I really would be glad if you did.

Bush Tea

Is that really the best you can do? Pathetic.

21. Anon January 16, 2015 at 9:57 AM “Hi folks, Michael Carrington owns Karibu restaurant on the west coast .Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall and other BLPites like me patronise that place. Mia Mottley called last night and I pledged $10,000 to help pay Mr. Carrington legal bill. I am a member of the Political Class. I love it!”

This statement by Anon is very likely a lie.

Please note that the “political class” like in a game of Monopoly allowed Rodney Wilkinson to go to directly to jail…and if his elderly aunties had not bailed him out he would still be in jail.

Let us hope that Michael Carrington has a couple of elderly aunties who love li’l Mikey real, real bad.

There is no such thing as a political friend or lodge friend.

Politics and lodge membership is about what is convenient…or what is profitable…lest we forget we have had politicians (and nuff, nuff lodge men) die in Beckles Road almshouse and none of their political or lodge “friends” saved their sorry, pissy old @sses.

If Michael has a Mercedes and he owns it free and clear he should sell it, and use the money to obey the court order. He can always take the Transport Board…or walk. After all his constituency and his constituency office is only a 10 minute walk to the House of Assembly where he works.

I mean why buy a car at all if you are 15 minutes walk from your office?

Only to make certain millionaires/billionaires even richer?

Some of we Bajans real, real foolish fah trute.

22. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

Artaxerxes January 16, 2015 at 10:16 AM #

Nowhere in Griffiths statement, was there any reference to a family dispute. Any reasonable, intelligent person would conclude that the relatives became impatient as a result of the length of time Carrington seemed to be taking to probate the will and distribute the inheritance, so, the relatives were demanding what was legally due to them.

Now pray tell me, if there was indeed a family dispute, why would a lawyer who, as far as it is known, not being related to his client, would find himself at the center of a family dispute to the extent that he should see it necessary to with-hold the client’s funds, only to tarnish his reputation and creditability as a result.

Ironically, the DLP yard-fowls and defenders of dishonesty, have been unable to prove that Carrington DID NOT steal the $208,900 either.@

We would love a question and answer period on and how and why lawyers in Barbados behave so, Yes, they feel once you hire them , or they have your papers, that NOW they own you , your family and all thing dealing with you, Delay till dead with ALL Matters to tie up FUNDS as each lawyer plays this game , RING around the roses , A good lawyer need not pay BAR fees , Only some of the worse crook pay to be protected if you have a case against them ,
    Its all about taking , keeping what is not theirs, JUST PURE GREED AND GREEDY,

23. No body in their right mind would lend Carrington money given his current encumbrance.Further,Carrington has no power or authority to dispense favours,monetary or otherwise like some of his co-accused colleagues.It would be the height of folly and poor judgement by his friends so called, of like mind and action in unskillfully managing other peoples’ monies,to come to his aid without a certain knowledge that they would be repaid with interest,because that repayment is years down the road unless he is elevated to a ministry of Environment or Transport and Works or Caves or Tourism or Finance………….

24. @Anthony

What is your point? The BU household must be judged and the BU family must be judged then they are the others.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The DLP cannot allow Carrington to fall because it would have very serious repercussions for its ability to govern. As I see it, there must be three MPs on the backbench to fill the posts of Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees. If Carrington is removed from presiding over the House, it would be an insult to the country to appoint him to one of the other two offices since both of them are required to preside over the House at some time.

It would mean that the PM a would have to ask the Leader of the Opposition to allow one of her people to accept one of those offices or reduce the size of his Cabinet. The question for the PM a is: Which Cabinet member he would sacrifice for the greater party good.

That scenario shows why they must take the matter to the Committee of Privileges. And if their resent history is anything to go by, that committee would struggle to get a quorum. I the absence Carrington, the committee has six members, three from each side of the House. The acting Speaker will chair leaving only two members on the Government side to be out voted by the BLP. My understanding is that the chairman only votes to break a tie, but I would have to do a little more reading to make definitive statement.

Referring this matter to the Committee of Privileges is like shooting yourself in the foot unless there is no intention for the committee to meet.

26. @Caswell

We wait to see if the Opposition pursues this matter with the same vigour as it did the Estwick gun matter.

27. Slightly off topic but did anyone read the story in Barbados Today on the Rubis gas station?

According to the story, the developers had no permission from Town and Country Planning to build the gas station there. For permission to be granted for the gas station to open, three houses have to be moved at the developers’ expense. When contacted Mark Maloney claimed he knew nothing of the decision.

Does everyone now see what happened under this moron from St Philip? How could a gas station be built without permission?

One can only shake one’s head in wonder at the nonsense that is going on. Only ’bout here.

We used to be a country people looked up to and it took these morons these last six years to bring us down to low island status, Now everybody laughing at we!

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You commented: “We wait to see if the Opposition pursues this matter with the same vigour as it did the Estwick gun matter.”

Don’t hold your breath or before you do, write your will.

29. Caswell Franklyn January 16, 2015 at 4:55 PM #

The DLP cannot allow Carrington to fall because it would have very serious repercussions for its ability to govern. As I see it, there must be three MPs on the backbench to fill the posts of Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees. If Carrington is removed from presiding over the House, it would be an insult to the country to appoint him to one of the other two offices since both of them are required to preside over the House at some time.

It would mean that the PM a would have to ask the Leader of the Opposition to allow one of her people to accept one of those offices or reduce the size of his Cabinet. The question for the PM a is: Which Cabinet member he would sacrifice for the greater party good…………………………………………….

Caswell,

The idiot from St Lucy. After Monday’s performance on Brasstacks, wont you say that he has served his purpose? He is useless as a minister, you can never ask him what is happening in his ministry but he knows whatever is happening in every other ministry. Fumble needed his vote to become PM after the king died, he does not need it any longer so Kellman can go!

30. Prodigal Son
    Clearly he is a walking talking believer in ‘Its easier to beg for forgiveness than for permission’

31. The BLP should not worry about the DLP’s bench strength or decision making. It should focus on its role as Opposition.

32. I quite agree, David! Opposition needs to start showing some leadership. MAM needs to ignore the cries that she is power hungry and start defining her role now that she has reshuffled her shadow cabinet.

33. Prodigal wrote ” the developers had no permission from Town and Country Planning to build the gas station there.”

That is very unusual. There may be more to this story.

34. for one split second on wedenesday in parliament it seemed as though Santia Bradshaw star had started to shine but quickly faded , Speaking on behalf of her party (the BLP) her call for action for the speaker to address or acknowledge the principal of an issue which has been swept up in a sea of controversies met with defiant calls by the party faithful for his resignation was met with a calculated response of attorney client privilege by the speaker
    the one response which left her in the loop and her faithful followers in shock and awe with mouth wide open seeking retribution ,
    this indeed would have been a ‘Told you so moment” if the Speaker had caved into the pressure from the BLP yardfowls who had send their marching orders to their leadership who is “supposedly” a learned attorney but who was once again driven and misled by political poop than be guided by the directives that governs and dictates the legal arm of the law,

35. I dont know Hants. I just reported what I read on BT. They had quotes from the TCP in the article!

What we can draw from the story is that Michael Lashley was deep into the deal, giving away the taxpayers land in some crazy scheme and it is alleged that all kinds of deals were cut.

Have you ever stopped to wonder how comes out of the blue one Mark Maloney is a king builder in Barbados? Unbelievable?

By the way I noticed that Martin DaSilva is now a director of NIS! For an anti white party called the DLP, they sure do suck up to whity!

36. ac’s,

Why dont you do like the rest of dlp yard fowls and stay off this topic? You just do not care how ignorant you sound in each post? Let it go, stop defending the indefensible.

Carrington had the man’s money and the second house for 14 years. Dont you think that is UNREASONABLE? If the poor man had passed away, would he ever had turned the property back to the man’s other siblings?

Carrington, a big up dem is accused of being a thief. Deal with that!

37. prodigal are you the administrator i assumed that you might have stolen the ‘Rights” and now have the power of attorney to say who have the right to “free speech ” and don;t if my post bothers you maybe it is a truth that you prefer not to know about , . so far you have talk spouted enough garbage that can be useful at a WTE plant, and have ac told you not to ……,nincompoop, now deal wid that jerk,

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

You called Kellman useless minister, and that might be true but can you point me to one that is not useless.

39. @ Bush Tea, can you please use your expertise on whacking bush to deal wid ac, seems to need a jumpstart of the neurons.

40. @Prodigal Son ”Carrington had the man’s money and the second house for 14 years.”

Prodigal, you are being unfair, the man just carried a schoolboy ting, yuh know, ‘I cud borrow yuh cricket ball’, or ‘I cud borrow a 50 cents’, whereupon, one don’t ever see the ball or 50 cents again, to adult ways.

Just a quaint custom…. he woulda give back when asked, or ordered to do so by the Court.

😉

41. @Anthony

What third party what. A party of CUP, PDC et al? Stupse

42. It seems Griffiths is serious about asking the Court to enforce the order if Carrington does NOT pay by confiscating his assets. Look what we have come to when a Speaker who Chairs the highest Court in the land would have purebred yardfowls defending his position. Credibility and integrity cannot be bought, it must be earned.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David January 16, 2015 at 8:03 PM
    “It seems Griffiths is serious about asking the Court to enforce the order if Carrington does NOT pay by confiscating his assets.”

Unless Mr. Crook settles the debt within the court determined 28 days timeframe how else would Mr. Griffiths get the money to settle the dictates of the testator?

If Mr. Crook fails to meet the deadline set by the High Court he would be automatically deemed to be in breach of the law and therefore cannot continue to sit in the Speaker’s chair.

44. @Miller

Wasn’t a court order issued in the Al Barrack matter?

tick tock.

45. @ Enuff January 16, 2015 at 7:44 PM #

@Anthony

What third party what. A party of CUP, PDC et al? Stupse
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I endorse your assessment 100% from what I have seen so far.

46. There is some talk in Barbados about the emergence of a major third party NOT the CUP but another.

47. look if i were a member of the BLP i would not get here an accused ANYBODY of theft,, people in glass houses SHOULD NOT THROW STONES yuh here,, wunna sound foolish ,,

48. AC
    You are a dyed in the wool Dem

You even have the platform talk!

Has the DLP ever done anything wrong? Is it possible that it may do so at anytime in the future, in your eyes?

49. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar

David January 16, 2015 at 8:28 PM #

There is some talk in Barbados about the emergence of a major third party NOT the CUP but another@

YES, We heard the same , but it seem to be made up of others, who sit and stand by ,do nothing to the or about the crooks in their mist, This DBLP fraud stand in need to come out NOW,So we can see their mind set,

If they done deal with the land Issue nothing will change,
    Only the CUP can deal with the land in the law before fraud to look right in the eyes of the IMF , S&P Moodys, or the World Bank , All Land must be clear title back to the plantations to borrow any fund that might be needed to get Barbados back on track and pay all outstanding Bills,
    No other government can pay the Bills to this Estate and for them to think other that what is recorded in the Inland Revenue . Only the CUP can ease or remove the Bills to please the World of Law,

They can be a 3rd party the CUP is the NEXT Party,