Another Sweet Fiasco?
Submitted by Crusoe
According to our Nation daily, there has been some confusion on the start of the sugar cane reaping season, with farmers unaware of the schedule set by the authorities.
However, the Government has indicated its intent to invest taxpayer dollars heavily into a new sugar processing plant, costing hundreds of millions.
Does it seem logical, that a Government so intent on splurging taxpayer dollars, cannot even manage a sugar cane reaping schedule and that there is so much confusion between government and farmers?
Does the right hand know what the left hand is doing?
Do they even care?
Or is intent only to spend taxpayer dollars on a failing industry? To the benefit of, not the farmers, not the taxpayers, but those who are contracted to build the plant, take their profits and walk away?
Leaving taxpayers to repay a huge loan and farmers no better off?

The new ‘multi-purpose’ factory are Andrews will earn more money from the co-generation of electricity than from the sale of all of the sugar and its by-products. In essence all the new factory does is allow the GOB to create electricity, sell it to light and power at sufficient profit to run all of the factories operations and remove the Treasury from having to subsidise the BAMC to the turn of $80 MILIION DOLLARS each and every year.
LikeLike
The Minister of Agriculture is quoted at a recent constituency meeting, asking the question “Am I half -a -clown?”, in relation to exporting Barbados sugar to Europe.
Please sir, do not ,and never , sell yourself short……You are a full -fledged Clown, ask the whole of Barbados.
Imagine he is telling us of the construction of a Super Factory construction of which is scheduled to start in June 2015, and in today’s news we hear Patrick Bethel lamenting that the sugar cane farmers are owned millions of dollars from the last sugar harvest, and they have no money to reap the canes this year. We also read that the Government owed millions to the owners of two plantations in St John which were leased and are now being auctioned off.
But to add insult to injury, we also learn that four very productive plantations in the Andrews Sugar Factory catchment area, namely ,Fisherpond, Andrews Plantation, Blackmans and Easy Hall, have recently laid off some 20 plantation workers, and more may follow.
And this Clown has the affront to used the word “I,I,I” , as if he is the sole overlord and chief mechanic of the Sugar Industry.
Barbados has been systematically destroyed by a lot of Industrial, cultural and Community Terrorists,masquerading as political leaders.
LikeLike
Grace Fuller January 28, 2015 at 11:34 AM #
The new ‘multi-purpose’ factory are Andrews will earn more money from the co-generation of electricity than from the sale of all of the sugar and its by-products.
…………………………………………………………………………………………..
So is this super factory going to work all year round, or only the few weeks it will take to harvest all the cane on the island.
LikeLike
islandgal246 January 28, 2015 at 9:21 AM #
….Our flour will further constipate us with the cement dust in it.
………………………………………………………………………………………………
I understand that the local bakeries have no problem there.The flour will be ideal for making Rock Cakes.
LikeLike
@ Bush Tea,
I am amazed that Barbados does not see a future in the production and the manufacture of sea island cotton.
John Smedley, is a UK company that has been established for well over 200 years! It uses sea island cotton. Sea island is superior to all other cottons and is synonymous with luxury.
http://www.johnsmedley.com/uk/mens/view-all?material=55
http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/19feb310-ef00-11e2-bb27-00144feabdc0.html
LikeLike
What about coconut water. Its now been marketed as the next big thing!
Our Rihanna is promoting it.
http://www.mirror.co.uk/3am/celebrity-news/rihanna-rocks-red-hair-flashes-5045338
http://vitacoco.com/uk/our-story/
LikeLike
Do you think that Bushie will be interested in arguing with a doctor about the merits or otherwise of sugar – whether from sugar cane or corn?
Doctors have most of their business because people follow bad habits that compromise their bodies and then require medical interventions…. a BOOM for doctors.
Wuh shiite fella, if Bushie was a doctor with an expensive Benz to maintain, then the bushman may even GIVE AWAY sugar to all and sundry…
In a recent lecture at the Frank Collymore Hall, a lady researcher who knows more about it than you do, explained that there is a DIRECT correlation between the consumption of sugar and obesity and diabetes.
In fact she gave the example of the situation during the war when sugar was restricted, where levels of diabetes and obesity fell dramatically ….only to resume when the war ended and sweetness returned.
As to HFCS, …cheap and ubiquitous, makes it more dangerous because it manages to get itself into almost every shiite in huge quantities, making overdose almost inevitable.
Poison is all about quantities as you well know GP. even water can be poisonous in high enough doses, and some persons highly recommend things like cyanide and and other known poisons in trace amounts for various benefits.
wuh boss …look how fluoride, a known, dangerous poison, is DELIBERATELY put into our water, toothpaste etc on the proven-FALSE claim that it somehow reduces cavities….!!
You could sing all the praises you like of sugar and HFCS. Bushie will be a minimal user …cause your doctor friends ain’t getting their hands on the little Bush-cash that easily…. wunna think wunna in de lawyer business or wuh…?
LikeLike
Exclaimer.
One agronomist who worked for the Government and was in charge of cotton production, became so frustrated, that he packed up and is now in New York teaching. The guy was no air-conditioned office worker, everyday he used to don overalls and was out in the fields. Cotton production has lost a stalwart.
But farmers have become so frustrated these days that many are planting what is referred to in some quarters as “Cash Crops”. Can you imaging many plantations now planting field of Pigeon Peas, which are hand picked for local consumption only. Pigeon peas are not something that can be used as a stand alone meal. And to compound the issue,all of the supermarkets in Barbados shelves are fully stocked with various brands of Pigeon Peas from the region and else where, and being retailed at a far lesser price that what is paid for ‘fresh’ pigeon peas.
As far as processing coconut water, do not think that the sole local bottling plant, BBC, has not got their eyes on it. But at present , we do not have any coconut plantations as such. The trees are spread all over the place, and in some remote places, making the harvesting of coconuts, as far as labour is concerned,an expensive venture.
LikeLike
Buggy
I understand that the co-gen plant will work and produce electricity year round. During the harvest season the co-gen plant will have the added bio-mass from the bagasse not used to fire the boilers.
LikeLike
@ Grace Fuller
The new ‘multi-purpose’ factory are Andrews will earn more money from the co-generation of electricity than from the sale of all of the sugar and its by-products.
Ha ha ha ha
Steupss
You probably believed that Four Seasons would have been opened in 2011 too …right?
…and that the VAT increase would have been temporary….?
…and that the Japanese was bringing money for us to recover energy from waves…?
LOOK Grace…. You think the people at EMERA are idiots?
you think that they will just sit by and facilitate such a coup for government?
If this was the plan for sugar why the hell did NIS sell their shares in BL&P rather than invest MORE….?
Are you aware that Portvale attempted to sell electricity to BL&P some years ago?…and that after BL&P robbed them blind for a while ..they got wise and cut their losses…?
Bunch of JAs can’t even keep a tourist belt clean…. and think they can cut in on the business BROUGHT AND PAID FOR by an international pirate like EMERA?
…a simple lawsuit in a Canadian court and all that money down the drain…
Fools and their money are SO easily separated…
LikeLike
Bush Tea
the GOB and Light and Power have already signed the power purchase agreement for the electricity. Emera will make a margin on the pass thru to the grid with having to put up cent one for the additional energy capacity. This is a very good deal for Emera and they know it.
LikeLike
WITHOUT having to put up cent one for the additional capacity.
LikeLike
I would like to know more about the 10,000 ft deep geothermal well and how it produces electricity, anyone know?
LikeLike
@ Exclaimer
The problem is NOT the viability of the project.
It is the BRASS BOWL IDIOTS at the steering wheel, as well as those jackasses and yard fowls sharing the fatted calf….
Those cvnts could not organize a successful piss-off up at the new Banks factory without incurring unsustainable cost over-runs,legal fees, consultant fees and plain missing funds.
…and the Auditor General would simple cut and paste the same shiite comments that he has been making year after year after year…
All the while, Caswell playing the ass…..
Steupsss…
LikeLike
Round and round the mulberry bush we go……….is that you Bush Tea?
LikeLike
Vincent, are you still drinking so much these days and nites?
LikeLike
@ Grace Fuller
Listen Boss…
All EMERA is interested in is EXTRACTING profits.
By signing such an agreement, it means that they will now have a legitimate excuse NOT to invest in new generating plant in Barbados ….something that is LONG OVERDUE.
EMERA done know that this cane thing is bare shiite, so by not having to spend $200m on new plant to maintain the existing quality of service, they can continue to milk us until the shit INEVITABLY hits the fan (when the old generation plant finally dies)
…then they will simply say “well YOUR GOVERNMENT said they would have 60 MW available so we couldn’t very well go ahead with OUR generation…..could we???
..oh dear…. so sorry.. (while deading with laugh back in Canada…)
Now ..if you want US to solve your power problems, here is what it will cost you….
…or you can always wait for the Government plant to done…..ha ha ha
There MUST be shit where some people’s brains are supposed to be….
LikeLike
@ Bushie
You forgot to mention the hundreds of acres of the so called hard-as-rock Fuel Canes which many plantations had went ahead and planted on the advice of the politicians and so-called experts, only to have these canes standing in the fields a couple of years, taking up precious space, and eventually being bulldozed into the earth.
LikeLike
Ye of little faith.
LikeLike
Bush Tea January 28, 2015 at 12:37 PM #
@ Grace Fuller
Listen Boss…
All EMERA is interested in is EXTRACTING profits.
By signing such an agreement, it means that they will now have a legitimate excuse NOT to invest in new generating plant in Barbados ….something that is LONG OVERDUE.
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………
Or renew the engines at Spring Garden, something long overdue. When they reach this bend in the river, they will not cross over , but will sell out to another like type.The Barbados Government will have to pay the Ferryman.
LikeLike
Grace Fuller January 28, 2015 at 12:33 PM #
Vincent, are you still drinking so much these days and nites?
……………………………………………………..
My old drinking buddy,since you get higher up and better off,drinking black and blue these days,I hope you remember your liver problems and the diabetes……..good to hear you are still alive and have beaten the odds.
LikeLike
@ Grace
Ye of little faith
Actually of NO faith…
…in proven bribe-taking, inept, shiite-hounds, who have turned out to be nothing but DISGRACES to our hard-working, resourceful, long-suffering, visionary fore parents – who built a society that was the envy of the world, while wearing the yoke of apartheid and slavery….
…only to have it disgraced by the last 25 years of ass holes with degrees.
LikeLike
Vincent
thanks. Are still with the whiskey or its it rum these days (and nites)?
LikeLike
@ Grace Fuller
Like Bush Tea et al BU is cynical about this mess. This government has a poor record of implementing projects.
LikeLike
There are two type of ‘projects’ which politicians pursue
1. Genuine projects intended to benefit the Nation
2. Those which are about fees intended to benefit the Politicians
Examples: the Pierhead Marina and the New Cruise Pier fall into category 2. The new sugar factor at Andrews falls into category 1. You can tell the difference between the categories by how many consultants are engaged by the GOB, at the expense of the GOB and by the share size of the consulting fee engagement.
Would you be surprised to learn that the BWA has already paid $30+ millions on the West Coast Sewerage project, and all they have for that expense is some drawings and pokey ass office in Holetown with a few tables and chairs and outdated fax machine?
LikeLike
Grace Fuller January 28, 2015 at 1:55 PM #
Vincent
thanks. Are still with the whiskey or its it rum these days (and nites)?
…………………………………………
I can see age is catching up with you or is it those new fancy spirits destroying your brain cells……remember the Doctor warned both of us to stick to beer…..looks like you did not take his advice.
LikeLike
@ Grace Fuller January 28, 2015 at 12:25 PM #
“I would like to know more about the 10,000 ft deep geothermal well and how it produces electricity, anyone know?”
I too would like to hear more about this “10,000 ft deep geothermal well”.
Is it geologically possible to extract that amount of heat from a well on a coral island? I know volcanic islands like St. Lucia and Nevis can supply geothermal energy in commercial quantities . But Barbados would surely be an interesting place to conduct such a study with large consultancy fees to follow the kickbacks to Quisling Boyce , Lowe and others.
BTW, G F, you seem to be quite involved in this co-generation plant as part of the imaginary new sugar cane industry. So tell us, outside the cane harvesting season, what would the factory be burning to generate electricity? Isn’t the river tamarind plant earmarked for the production of animal feed; and the garbage all over the island for Lowe’s WTE incinerator?
Would the co-generation facility be the new crematorium to put Coral Ridge and the Bajan grave diggers and undertakers out of business?
LikeLike
@Grace Fuller
What is the latest with Cahill?
LikeLike
Bush Tea January 28, 2015 at 12:05 PM #
Do you think that Bushie will be interested in arguing with a doctor about the merits or otherwise of sugar – whether from sugar cane or corn?
YOU DOIT ALL THE TIME
CERTAINLY SUGAR –ESPECIALY SIMPLE SUGARS- OUGHT TO BE USED MINIMALLY, AND FOLK SHOULD GO BACK TO USE OF COMPLEX SUGARS.
BUT IT CAN NOT BE DENIED THAT GLUCOSE –DERIVED FROM SUGAR OF ALL SORTS–IS THE MOLECULE UPON MICH THE METABOLISM OF ALL LIVING THINGS RUN.
RE . Wuh shiite fella, if Bushie was a doctor with an expensive Benz to maintain, then the bushman may even GIVE AWAY sugar to all and sundry… I DO NOT HAVE A BENZ OR EXPENSIVE CAR AND I DON’T CONDONE GIVING SUGAR TO ALL.
I BELIEVE THAT THE USE OF COMPLEX SUGARS AS FOUND IN TUBERS AND OTHER ROOT CROPS IS THE WAY TO GO.
EVEN SO WHERE THESE ARE THE PRIMARY FORMS OF FOOD FOR MANY ALL OVER THE WORLD, WE KNOW THAT OBESITY IS RELATED TO MANY OTHER FACTORS.
FOR EXAMPLE HIGH CONSUMPTION OF BOTH FATS ALCOHOL AND PROTEINS ALSO CONTRIBUTE TO OBESITY………AS ALL OF THESE FOODS ARE METABOLISED TO ACETYL CoENYME A WHICH IS THE PRECURSOR TO THE FORMATION OF FATY ACIDS AND TRI ACYLGLYCERIDES(FATS) AND CHOLESTEROL.
RE In a recent lecture at the Frank Collymore Hall, a lady researcher who knows more about it than you do, explained that there is a DIRECT correlation between the consumption of sugar and obesity and diabetes.
HOW DO YOU KNOW WHAT I KNOW, AND THAT SHE KNOWS MORE THAN I DO? IS IT BECAUSE SHE IS PAID TO SAY WHAT YOU BELIEVE?
RE You could sing all the praises you like of sugar and HFCS.
I HAVE NEVER SUNG THE PRAISES OF EITHER SUGAR OR HFFS
WHAT I CLEARLY SAID—AND IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED EVEN BY “The lady researcher who knows more about it than “I do— IS THAT THE METABOLISM OF ALL LIFE FORMS REVOLVES AROUND GLUCOSE AND GLYCOLYSIS.
WHAT I ALSO ACCURATELY SAID IS THAT SUGAR OF ALL FORMS WHETHER FROM BEETS, SUGAR CANE OR CORN IS METABOLIZED BY THE SAME METABOLIC PATHWAY.
I AM SORRY THAT YOUR OBVIOUS BIAS DOES NOT PERMIT YOU TO ACCEPT THE ACCURACY OF THE VERY VERY BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY THAT I HAVE STATED.
LikeLike
Bush Tea is enamored by an imported consultant researcher? Wow, stranger things have been known to happen…lol.
LikeLike
You just got to love the PM. He spoke today at the BCCI Luncheon and promised the sugar farmers will get paid…soon. If only he did not make it sound like the farmers begging for something.
LikeLike
put up the audio clip of pm address to the BCCI
LikeLike
LOL @ GP and David
What can Bushie say? the woman knows more than anyone else… it is her specialty. Apparently she came up with the drug that allows diabetics to come off the insulin injection and at the same time, improve their blood sugar /insulin balance.
BTW Bushie never said that you were wrong GP….just that simple sugar and particularly the ubiquitous HFCS has been the REASON that obesity and diabetes is now almost epidemic.
if everyone did everything in moderation we would not recognize this world. Do you have ANY idea how many sweet drinks modern children drink EACH DAY?
…back in our day we could only afford one each week – and had to share it with 4 others… 🙂
we were no smarter…just poorer.
LikeLike
RE David January 28, 2015 at 4:20 PM #
Bush Tea is enamored by an imported consultant researcher? Wow, stranger things have been known to happen…lol.
BAJANS ALWAYS SEEM TO THINK THAT SOME ONE FROM OVERSEAS IS IN SOME WAY SUPERIOR TO LOCAL EXPERTISE
WE ALL KNOW FOLK WHO USE LITTLE SUGAR, AND INDEED EAT VERY LITTLE, BUT YET GAINED WEIGHT.
IN CONTRAST WE ALSO KNOW OF FOLK WHO EAT LOTS OF FOOD AND DRINK NUFF RUM—BUT YET THEY ARE AS THIN AS A BONE. SO CLEARLY THERE IS MORE TO OBESITY THAN JUST THE USE OF SUGAR OR HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP.
WHEREAS THESE MOLECULES ARE INVOLVED WE KNOW THAT CERTAIN FATS IN THE DIET AND OVER CONSUMPTION OF MEAT IS ALSO INVOLVED
IN ADDITION CERTAIN HORMONES AND ENZYMES HAVE RECENTLY BEEN DISCOVERED BY REAL TRUE TRUE RESEARCHERS THAT INDICATE THAT THERE IS MORE IN THE MORTAR THAN THE PESTLE
WHAT IS ALSO KNOWN IS THAT SOME CONSULTANT RESEARCHERS ARE PAID TO REPORT WHATEVER THEIR EMPLOYERS WANT REPORTED.
THE RESULT IS A LOT OF TROUBLE IN THE PHARM INDUSTRY, INTER ALIA
LikeLike
RE Apparently she came up with the drug that allows diabetics to come off the insulin injection and at the same time, improve their blood sugar /insulin balance.
YOU DO OF COURSE KNOW THAT THERE HAVE BEEN LOTS OF TROUBLE WITH THESE PREPARATIONS……….OR IT SEEMS YOU DONT KNOW
LikeLike
dAVID
I GOT A NEW DRUG TOO
CAN YOU ARRANGE A TALK FOR ME AT FRANK COLLYMORE HALL
ITS CALLED PUSS-A
ITS FOR MEN WHO CANT STOP TROUBLING WOMEN
WICKERS CAN USE IT TO
WHEN YOU TAKE IT, YOU FORGET ALL ABOUT PUSS…….E OR C
LikeLike
Wow, a lot here today.
1) Bushie / Dr.GP – I do not doubt the accuracy your (DR.GP’s) comments, however, on this I think all Bushie is saying, as I inferred in the original comment, is that in the circumstances, sugar is effectively a poison.
Yes, sugar is used as energy, in all its forms, via the processes and pathways. However, thrown on top of a ‘regular meal’, and consumed in excess, it ‘becomes’, for practical purposes, effectively a poison.
And for us to put emphasies of sugar production over say, okras, yam and carrots, even brussel sprouts (via modern techniques), is madness.
And yes, the emphasis being on producing fibrous, complex-carbs and legumes in preference to sugar, is the intent.
2) Grace Fuller / David – Promises, promises….. that a project will result in significant energy gains. So, is that the main intent? If so, then why not put those funds directly into solar energy for most households and businesses, where the returns in saving on imported oil etc will be direct and more sustainable???? Also, using solar energy, rather than farmland, thus saving farmland for other productive uses i.e. maximization of resources, including using an ‘within mankind’s lifetime’ infinite resource (the Sun), for energy production?
But noooooooooo……
3) David – farmers will get paid ‘soon’? Like Barack? Like the tax refunds? Like the NCC wokers?
It is obvious, except to the most foolhardy, that Government does not have the funds to pay anyone.
That said, seemingly good tourist season, monies coming in from the margins on gas prices, WHERE IS the money going??????????????????????????
LikeLike
Georgie Porgie January 28, 2015 at 6:35 PM #
I though that was chile saltpeter???? 😉
LikeLike
Give John Boyce a call.
LikeLike
Dr.GP.. mind sharing a few thoughts on this one?
http://www.msn.com/en-us/news/offbeat/sugary-drinks-are-causing-early-puberty-in-girls-study-says/ar-AA8H0xV?ocid=iehp
Thank you.
LikeLike
RE David January 28, 2015 at 7:01 PM #
Give John Boyce a call.
YOU MEAN BOUT PUSS -A? LOL
LikeLike
The Andrews bio-mass electricity generating plant is planned to run on bagasse in cane harvest and on river tamarind the rest of the year. Apparently the initial study said they needed (from memory) 5,000 hectares of land in tamarind. The story goes that the study which established the farm area was based on tamarind yields from the U.S.; it was an old potash mine (fertilizer, in other words) and the hot money is that we will get nothing like the tamarind yields they predicted.
Also, you have to ask why the plant has been given the go-ahead when no tamarind trial has to my knowledge been carried out here. Who is going to grow it; how much will they get paid? So many questions.
LikeLike
Crusoe January 28, 2015 at 6:39 PM #
THIS IS NOT THE DEFINITION OF A POISON SIR
MAN HAS CONSUMED SUGAR IN ALL ITS FORMS FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL
SO DID WE WHEN I CAME ALONG– WE JUST DIDNT ABUSE IT OR WE WERE BURNING IT OFF IN INTENSIVE ACTIVITY/EXERCISE
WE WERE WASTING THE XYLITOL IN THE BAGASSE FOR THREE CENTURIES
LikeLike
Dragon
Have you not noticed the river tamarind trials being undertaken by the GOB and BAMC in the Belle…………..all visible from the ABC highway??????
LikeLike
@ Crusoe January 28, 2015 at 6:22 AM #
David January 28, 2015 at 6:15 AM #
All I have heard is a ‘multi-purpose’ facility, what that means I have no idea. But the with an inability to harvest in the first place, how can the project be viable?
……………………………………………………………
Why are these idiots borrowing all of this money to most to Jada and Preconco? We can bet these two will get this contract. we have been told for years that producing sugar is not viable any longer, why are we going this way instead of looking to turn the sugar lands into growing vegetables and employ agriculture “police” to guard the fields?
Lord, these morons have gone mad. Who is going to account for this money? The politician?
LikeLike
Prodigal Son
the government aint borrowing a cent for the new multipurpose factory, it is a foreign direct investment by private company made up of investors from UK, Brazil, South Africa and Germany.
LikeLike
@ Colonel Buggy January 28, 2015 at 11:39 AM #
and
@Grace Fuller January 28, 2015 at 11:34 AM #
“The new ‘multi-purpose’ factory are Andrews will earn more money from the co-generation of electricity than from the sale of all of the sugar and its by-products.”……………………………………………………..
Mark my words on this 28th day of January, 2015. This so called multi purpose factory is a pipe dream and will end up just like Greenland under the Bees!
Waste of borrowed funds……why dont these morons stop borrowing expensive money? Why are these morons putting these heavy burdens on our children to repay!
LikeLike
all the government will be doing is operating the factory
LikeLike
@ GP,
I SEE THAT YOU HAVE RETURNED.
LikeLike
Chuckle…….still spinning top in mud……..when will the sheeple awake???/…..
LikeLike
We are a sick nation indeed,or a dying one. Only this morning the main players in the sugar industry have informed the nation that they have no money to start this year’s sugar harvest. A few hours later, we heard from the Minister of Culture ,Stephen Lashley, that today is the Official Start of this year’s Crop Over Festival.
Tell me that this is just a sick, sick ,sick joke!
The country mash up!!
LikeLike
@ Norst
1. What is the tamarind yield in the trials and how does it compare with the assumptions in the original study?
2. What is the anticipated annual payment to the new private company?
3. What is the anticipated rate of return on capital invested by the company?
LikeLike
Prodigal Son January 28, 2015 at 7:52 PM #
Waste of borrowed funds……why dont these morons stop borrowing expensive money? Why are these morons putting these heavy burdens on our children to repay!
………………………………………………………………………………………….
We are not into erecting statues. Lets face, it who wants to see more ugly , monstrous stupid statues ,like Bussa . But we are into the erection of “I -built-that” Monuments, like Greenland, the white elephant crossover by CBC, “Simpson’s’ Roundabout. Water Authority Head Quarters. Coverley Concentration Camp, etc etc.
LikeLike
@ Norst
Missed a few questions:
4. Will the private sector debt be classed as Government borrowings under accounting rules and if it is, by what percentage will Government debt rise?
5. What will the effect be of any additional Government debt on the ratings agencies’ assessment of Barbados?
6. How is Government intending to finance the “field-side” work?
7. What is the anticipated annual repayment for this?
8. If interest is expected to be paid on this, what rate is it payable at?
9. Repeat Q4 and 5 for the field-side finance.
LikeLike
raw mout prodigal why don’t u shtfup where were you all the years when the the big elephant KO wa being built, the piece of sh,t was and is unsustainable, the [by products from the multi purpose plant (although i belive that a profit margin would be modest by any economical standard )have a good measure of potential if well managed and properly developed, indeed the multi purpose factory might be a long shot given the overall worldwide negative report on the future of the sugar industry .however it still is an adventure worth pursuing. ,.
now get rid of yuh talking points and stop sending them ignorant messages to mia, between you and affta mia might end up in jenkins, ,
LikeLike
Two items caught my attention in Estwick’s last public pronouncements at Inniss’ constituency meeting. First he told us what clear thinking people knew long ago that is under no circumstances will Trinidad be laying any gas line between TnT and Barbados. Why would Trinidad supply Barbados with the energy to compete against their monopoly dominance of Caribbean trade like manufacture etc. Ninety percent of CARICOM trade involves TnT and benefits TnT only. Barbados has nothing TnT wants except maybe a low crime regime.
The second item is Estwick’s claim that he is certain in the knowledge that there is lots of gas and oil in Barbados. He didn’t specify onshore or offshore. If as a cabinet Minister he knows this why are we so slothful in exploiting this resource that could set us free from the oil and gas exporting vultures including our own neighbors who rape us economically.
If Mister Estwick or any of his boys reading this can we sir have more information on this matter of national significance.
LikeLike
Norst the Invader January 28, 2015 at 7:51 PM # Prodigal Son
the government aint borrowing a cent for the new multipurpose factory, it is a foreign direct investment by private company made up of investors from UK, Brazil, South Africa and Germany
So, you are saying that the Government will not have to pay back that money to those investors? That the Government will not have to pay a penny of the capital costs, now or in the future?
That is something for sure, IF TRUE.
But, then my understanding of what was reported, re Government approving USD250million for this project was incorrect, I will have to revisit that aspect.
That USD250million would be better invested in solar power, that is where the facilitation should be, although, with solar, the main people to get ‘payback’ are Barbadians and Barbados, through savings foreign exchange form expenditures on oil and on continued operating savings.
LikeLike
Wait, allegedly, the Chamber of Commerce was told that the ‘struggling sugar industry’ will get the money for harvest, papers have been signed with Ansa Merchant Bank….
Another loan? Did we have to do this every year for the past fifteen, or is Government suddenly unable to do make the appropriate payments?
Secondly, now we are hearing that the Bridgetown Port is in financial trouble and needing an injection from Government.
Sorry, but why all of a sudden is money unavailable? Has it gone walkies?????
LikeLike
I think money getting teef left right and centre.
LikeLike
Based on the accusatory position taken by the PM at the BCCI luncheon yesterday towards the private sector what is the government’s position then on the future of the sugar sector?
LikeLike
The PM was right to take a turn in Edward Clarke and Patrick Bethel, they would never have so stupid if they were dealing with Arthur.
You think the PM was going to be foolish enough to put the ‘new’ sugar cane industry into the hands of Sagicor? Look at Sagicor, the moment Barbados had a little problem that affected them, they up and run to another jurisdiction.
Patrick Bethel knew full well what he was doing when he put that paid advertisement in yesterdays newspaper. Edward Clarke and Patrick Bethel, two cohorts, playing politics and the PM clearly knew…………..thats why he could afford to slap both of them publicly.
LikeLike
Can someone succintly state what is wrong with Sagicor taking over the Sugar Industry.
LikeLike
@Norst
What does promoting a fractured relationship between private and public sector achieve? In the final analysis Barbados Farms owns half of Barbados. Operationally what would you have Sagicor do, sink with Barbados as our sovereign credit rating dives to unclassified status?
LikeLike
Barbados not need those type of friends. You and I both know that the TnT investors in Sagicor was only looking for any reason to move the H/Q to Trinidad so that they could collect the tax revenues.
What the Cane Industry Restructuring Project is complete, the new multi-purpose factory and co-generation plant is working and making money, then Sagicor with all their billions and vertex interesting sugar, can approach the GOB and trump up some money to buy it as a income producing, cash flow positive asset. How about that?
LikeLike
vested interest, sorry
LikeLike
@Norst
If the public had sight of the businesscase and project plan we might have confidence.
LikeLike
If the public had sight of the businesscase and project plan we might have confidence.
..if we had sight if the businesscase and project plan it is far more likely that we would realize that the whole thing is just a roll of shiite, designed to kill time until pension time is fulfilled and generating some funds on the side.
….at the expense of brass bowl bajans and their children and grandchildren.
LikeLike
I hope the EIA for the new sugar factory has been done and that it covers the noise impact on local residents from the air-cooler chillers which are part of the new generating plant. Water cooling is much cheaper but apparently there is no available water in the area. The residents are sure to find it pretty noisy.
LikeLike
Have we as a nation really considered the implication of running down our agricultural industry?
Taking land out of circulation to build hotels, properties and all the rest is plain dumb.
Read the article below.
Have we reached ‘peak food’? Shortages loom as global production rates slow
http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/have-we-reached-peak-food-shortages-loom-as-global-production-rates-slow-10009185.html?origin=internalSearch
LikeLike
Crusoe January 29, 2015 at 5:28 AM #
I think money getting teef left right and centre.
…………………………………………………………………..
Cor bli me ,and we have the gall, me included , to point fingers at Ms St Hill and the Nigerians in general.
Perhaps the Nigerians are here to learn a thing or two from the pastmasters of crookery.
LikeLike