The Fair Training Commission (FTC) is advising on its website that on the 24 November, 2014 an application was received from Cable & Wireless Communications Plc and Columbus International Inc seeking permission to merge the local subsidiaries (C&W and LIME) in Barbados in accordance with Section 20 (7) of the Fair Competition Act.

Pursuant to its remit the FTC has invited “all service providers, businesses, representatives of consumer groups, non-governmental organisations, residential consumers and all other parties with an interest in this matter, to submit their comments on the merits or demerits of the proposed merge”.

The FTC has attracted strong criticism from the general public because it is perceived as an entity that is pro utilities in its rulings. The public has an opportunity to participate in an online survey under the cloak of anonymity – see survey as well as to share concerns about the proposed merger of LIME and C&W in Barbados.

Barbados Underground is firmly of the view a merger of the two entities will bring monopoly into play, again. Further, it makes a mockery of the decision to deregulate the local market which has allowed Digicel and other players to introduce competition to the local market. We therefore vote NO to the proposed merger.

94 responses to “Vote NO to Cable & Wireless Columbus Merger”

1. Does the people working at FTC live on another island? What am I missing?

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

No one in Barbados has the balls to do the right thing. We will be treated to a spectacle and then the (un)Fair Trading Commission will make a ruling in favour of the merger. A few Bajans will cry out and then settle down until the next opportunity to complain without more. I hope that I am wrong but that is the Bajan way.

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

30 Pieces of Silver!!!

I just completed one of the surveys at the FTC site

It took 10 minutes and would have taken much longer if I had paused to fill in the remarks/comments.

Their survey, while it purports to seek to gather information fro the average Joe, was designed by a nitwit who is clueless about surfer design and, in presenting 50 questions, incurs client fatigue half way in the process.

De ole man completed it because of plain determination but, if I did not know better, I would be inclined to believe that this purposes design has been incorporated so that the FTCS, as part of its findings got the future accord of sale of FLOW to LIME, can truthfully say, “there was no evidence to suggest that the public was against the sale” or something similar

When members of FTC management and staff have been given free phones/discounted (deeply) by LIME and bundled packages for family and extended family members what more can Bajans expect but this foreclosure of Judas-like nature notably first commandeered by BLP Minister Ronald Toppin

“Once more into the breach dear friends… We will embark on this exercise and crafty body politic of inclusion that has a predetermined outcome

The plays the thing….

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Confounded IPad, predictive text and American spelling – survey design*, purposed design**, “the play’s the thing**

Still trying to get my pick at the Nation and doan want these grammatical/spelling mistakes to spoil me getting pick by Vivianne Gittens

5. Many of the leading lights in the media, private public sectors and CABINET receive ‘gifts’ from the telecommunications companies. Does it mean decisions are influenced? Hell yes!

6. I am very opposed to this merger.I am opposed to Lime.With so many satellites it should be a cinch to buy services from Rogers or the heavily regulated US service providers.We do not need Lime nor Cable and Wireless Communications to continue to shaft Bajans thanks to the Herods of the cabinet.

7. @ Gabriel
    We do not need Lime nor Cable and Wireless Communications
    Brilliant deduction.

…and THEY know that even better than we do, and will seek to juck out as many eyes as they can while the jucking is good.

No one really needs to have a land line if we all have cell phones anyway…
    No one should be paying for LIME TV when free internet TV abounds
    Cell calls can be made via skype, viber, facetime etc without the need to pay per minute

…all that is needed really is the internet service, and that can be shared MUCH more economically if we were minded to do so….

These people are only muguffees because we sit back and allow them to be…..
    …and of course because they bribe those who should be looking after our interests – to betray us….

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

If de ole man cud of made a presentation to the FTC as a concerned citizen I would have done so in very simplistic terms.

My first point to those Judases would be on Doubledipping.

No Baffy, not that sex thing that you think it to be but the pernicious practice that LIME meted out to us Bajans, prior to so called deregulation- the practice of making a cell phone caller pay for the outgoing call AND THE RECIPIENT OF THE CALL, PAY TOO!!!!

I would get a former disgruntled employee from their financial department to provide evidence of the financial rape LIME perpetuated on Bulbados for years when the were the sole telecommunications provider and cast Doubledipping in the context of that organization’s inability to exercise any restraint when they have had our nation at a disadvantage in the past.

I would highlight how they, while having to adhere to strict fair trading practices in Englant and Europe, continued to rape the colonies.

With financials and emotive speeches, that would mean not having anyone related to the Minister of Edukatshon Ronald Jones of “the chilrun are is learning”, come close to that submission

The second thing that I would do is to get the waste foopism??? practitioners at the Faculty of Social Science, where Dr Justin Robinson and his pretenders originate, to get some student conduct a real survey of the number of Bajans who, after 7 fvcking years, are still waiting for a landline in Bulbados.

Then I would show the FTC how, in the space of one year, how flow has run fibre optic cables all over Bulbados versus the lies that Lime has advanced for years per their inability to do same

Very few of you might know this but I would ask you to confirm this for yourself by a phone call to the FTC. Call them and ask them what is the approved charge of a land line or any other service that lime is approved to offer.

They do not have any idea of what their charges are allowed to offer. Let me explain how that pans out.

Say that LIME is allowed to charge $ 22.35/month for your land line, if you get a bill for $22.37/month and want an independent verification of the authorized charges THE FTC DOES NOT KNOW AND ALL OF BULBADOS ARE PAYING ANOTHER CHARGE THAT THEY CANT MONITOR(and yes I am saying another purposely)

Man, there are a number of things that I wud love present to the FTC BUT unfortunately, de ole man does goes to church at *** and if I goes in front of the Unfair Trading Commission (thanks be to Mr Caswell for that correct nomenclature ) I will get read out of the church for sure, and worst still, exile to the dog house by the madam

9. Damian Hinkson December 30, 2014 at 7:02 AM #

Does the people working at FTC live on another island? What am I missing?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Yes they all do live in Barbados, but are very well aware of which side of their bread is buttered,and who butters it . Like the top executive who,resigned her position at FTC to take up a lucrative job with the Barbados Light and Power Company.
    Talk about running with the hares?

10. If LIME, Digicel or any telecommunications supplier in Barbados know they have had an outage, what is wrong with applying a wholesale credit to customers without said customers having to submit claims?

Is the Hazzard who sits on the FTC the person being sued in his capacity as a principal in the engineering company which supplied services to the Arch Hall, Brittons Hill tragedy?

On Tuesday, 30 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. Certainly something is missing from this debate because the logic doesn’t flow from point A : …a merger of the two entities will bring monopoly into play…”

to point B:” We do not need Lime nor Cable and Wireless Communications.. and “No one really needs to have a land line if we all have cell phones anyway”.

Both of these points can’t be true.

The merger would be the only player with the physical fibre-optics cable I presume but in a county the size of a pin how many viable options can they really be.

I am definitely missing something folks. So what’s really the point here?

12. @Pieces: “… the pernicious practice that LIME meted out to us Bajans, prior to so called deregulation- the practice of making a cell phone caller pay for the outgoing call AND THE RECIPIENT OF THE CALL, PAY TOO!!!!”

All true sir, but you feel that we bajans got screwed on a less jagged stick than folks all over the world by big telcom.

Not that it makes the bajan position any less painful but didn’t AT&T (Bell Corp) do the same in US for generations and well into the 1980s.

The markets all over are now very open and will never go back to those dark days.

13. @DeeWord

The merger creates a monopoly for data.

14. do you all believe anyone can stop this? really? I would love to hear how.

15. I went through the survey questionnaire and at the end, could not tell myself why the survey is being administer nor its objective if any. It does not explain why FTC is conducting it, what the merger entails not the possible outcomes of such merger.

Two years ago, two students turned up at my door in the Village conducting a survey for a course at UWI. I put a few questions to them and found out that what they had planned was to conduct a random sampling. However, the poor kids were doing a ‘stratified’ random sampling and did not know the difference. Maybe those two designed this survey.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Work

That is precisely the point “the markets all over are wide open and (we) will never go back to those dark days” is a concept which is lost on LIME rather Cable and Wireless in London as they continue to perpetrate crimes against the Caribbean and Asia which are considered the gems in their crown jewels insofar as being the poorest regions in the world that are responsible for 35% and 15% of their worldwide revenues.

However whereas there are functioning Regulatory Bodies and Securities Commissions in their mother cuntries that have teeth and function, we in Bulbados are besieged by our special breed of indolent Judases – parasites who just pull a salary in Green Hill.

Why do you think that men like Frank King resigned when he saw the filth that was being presented under Ronald Toppin et al

There is a place under the sun for Bubonic Plague and Ebola after all if only to wipe out those of us who suck the life out of “the renown fatted calf”.

There is something weirdly oxymoronic about that last incongruous concept

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pat

Enquiring minds that go to the site and take the surver ( a collosal waste of 10 to 15 minutes) would walk away as I have with the impression that the FTC, in conjunction withLIME, has concocted this tool to entrap the general public by (i) soliciting your “confidential” answers to what is a poorly designed LIME marketing Survey and (ii) use IP addresses of the respondents to see which of the general public, having clicked on a link to this FTC site, are in fact BU readers.

The grandson told me something about how general users on the LIME internet have (ADSL) modems that are leased IP addresses it is possible for LIME to know who one is.

But that is the ole man Robert Ludlum and Le Carre acting up and the insulin wearing off

@ David (not BU)

I would start an impotent campaign with one uh dem international agencies like de United Nations International Telecommunications Union in Geneva Switzerland speaking to the imminent breach of Fair Trading Prectices in Bulbados and have similarly impotent NGOs like BANGO (I would have suggested the CPDC Caribbean Policy Development Centre but that is where Chris Sinckliar used to work BEFO’ he get he pick at the Ministry of Fine Ants, and where he will be going back after 2018) I would get them to start highlighting this issue and while you and I know that the FTC done sell we down de stream to Cable and Wireless, at least we send up a puff of smoke, before the ambush.

De Grandson says that if the common man and woman in Bulbados dat got internet was to effect a “Free Wireless Revolution” and open their internet, we could create a “bubble” through which (AT LEAST FOR THE TIME BEING) everybody cud mek a phone call free to everybody else dat got a smartphone and Skype Viber etc.

I say fuh de time being causing he say dat de next ting that dem gine do, after blocking these applications’ ports, is that them gine decrease de monthly GBs dat people allowed tuh use pun dem home internet

You gots tuh forgive de ole man causing dese is tings spiritual en I kin hardly get de Ipad turn on boasie….

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

Just a minor correction; Ronald Toppin resigned before Frank King. Toppin could not take the crap and resigned in silence.

19. @Davit (not BU)

Here is what the FTC has posted to their homepage, second bullet on the right. BU did not write it!

http://www.ftc.gov.bb/

20. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Not no but Hell NO,, more , crime , more crooks, cant not be trusted , One World crime, One TV station, One radio,One newspaper ,One hospital , one Cow , One Ham both crooks.

21. David, so the FTC stops this merger which in Barbados. Flow + LIME can also say ok, we shutting down the Barbados operation. what then? and please don’t give me the BS answer about that would never happen.

The problem is not LIME or Flow or the even the FTC. the problem is that we as bajans are to f-ing stupid. We hold the power to make ALL they companies and even the government listen to us but again we to f-ing stupid.

Years ago in England a company added a $0.05 to their product. HOUSEWIVES spot buying the product and force the company to take off the addition. When have we as a people EVER taken a stand on anything?

but we know how we love to look for other people to do our dirty work. bunch of jokers we are.

my solution? Get a consumer rights body. Not the joke that is the one run by Gibbs-Taitt but one who will hold companies feet to the fire. I’m positive we can find who would gladly work for a body like that but again for that body to be effective, bajans would have to support that body…. and i would now be repeating myself to explain why that would never happen.

@John Hanson

you ever stop to think the fact that for you everybody is a crook, is the main reason along with the fact that we are dealing with bajans is a reason you get no support? your comments are now sickening and makes you look very stupid but then again you are a bajan and stupid is what we are. not to worry, i’m one to.

22. @David (not BU)

Think big, if the FTC stops the merger Columbus would have to sell because the two would not be able to compete against self.

23. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar
    Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger

I am a Barbadian and I support this merger.

24. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

We need legislation to require companies in excess of a specified size that operate in critical sectors to become publicly traded companies.

25. I am thinking David. We need to wake up as a people and stop looking for others to do our dirty work.

26. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

The ten largest shareholdings in LIME are below. Note the investments of your NIS, your mutual funds and your pension funds. I understand what you gain from LIME’s success. Tell me what you will gain from its failure.

BARBADOS SHAREHOLDINGS
    As at 31st March, 2014, the top 10 shareholders were as follows:
    Shareholder No. of Shares Percentage
    Cable & Wireless (West Indies) Limited 115,006,055 81%
    Sagicor (Equity) Fund 5,365,238 3.78%
    National Insurance N 1 Fund 1,618,047 1.14%
    National Insurance Board 1 ,500,000 1.06%
    First Caribbean International Bank A/C #C1191 1,438,211 1.01%
    B S & T (Pensions) Limited 942,802 0.66%
    Sagicor Global Balanced Fund 822,744 0.58%
    CBB Staff Pension (Employer Portfolio) 462,409 0.33%
    Royal Fidelity (B’dos) Investment Fund Limited 330,000 0.23%
    Pan-American International Insurance Corporation 316,400 0.22%

27. Your Nis is invested in lime
    Who or what owns the remaining 10%?

28. @ David December 30, 2014 at 2:00 PM …”The merger creates a monopoly for data.”————

David (or anyone ), so what significant disadvantages does this merger presage? Please set out the reasons.

Will the pricing structures to market not be regulated by the FTC?

I understand why you may see this as a concern but I cannot determine how the Bdos public will be harmed so drastically.

There will be an onus for greater vigilance and more recourse to this same FTC certainly. And that is what they are there to do.

29. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

As LIME is publicly traded on the Barbados Stock Exchange, the remaining 10% is widely held, in small amounts, by all types of investors, including individuals, companies, mutual funds, pension funds, etc.

30. @DeeWord

You need to appreciate there is little to no confidence at the ability of the FTC to manage C&W/Columbus. Read the letter by Digicel CEO to get started.

Columbus/LIME merger risks taking telecoms back to the dark ages

Barry O’BRIEN

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I felt moved to respond to Mark Wignall’s Sunday Observer column in The Agenda entitled ‘Embrace the healthy competition, Digicel’ based on the fact that the piece was littered with emotional invective whilst, at the same time, being totally devoid of actual facts.

Surely legitimate opinions held in good faith can only be based on facts, so I would like to take this opportunity to point out to Wignall and his readers salient facts that have led Digicel to ask regulators and governments to scrutinise the proposed deal closely and to make every effort to ensure that a level playing field is in place for all parties to use for the benefit of customers.

Fact #1

The proposed merger will lead to a very substantial lessening of competition in at least six geographic markets. This is because Columbus/Flow is essentially being taken out completely, as an existing direct competitor to Cable and Wireless in these markets. These markets are Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Grenada. These are the markets where the key impact of this proposed deal will most keenly be felt by consumers.

Fact #2

In these six markets, the proposed merger will lead to the creation of a complete monopoly, or a near monopoly, in the following retail or consumer product markets:

* Broadband Internet access (both commercial and residential)

* Fixed line services

* Cable television services

* Facilities-based ICT services

In Jamaica, the specific statistics we are looking at shows the combined entities having a 99 per cent market share in home Internet services, a 99 per cent market share in fixed telephony, and an 83 per cent market share in pay television.

Fact #3

Monopolies almost always lead to higher prices, poor services, lower levels of innovation and a reduction in investment. We will be right back to the 1980s or 1990s. No one can reasonably try to sell the proposition that monopolies are good for consumers or for the industry generally. Monopolies only serve the monopolist.

Fact #4

The proposed deal will lead to an almost complete stranglehold on submarine fibre/international connectivity right across the Caribbean region. In Jamaica alone, this merger entity will own the four submarine fibre cables which go into the country. This is less easily understood by consumers given that it is a wholesale service; but it is actually hugely significant for consumers as well. International connectivity is one the key input costs in the provision of telecommunications services. This deal will see Columbus and Cable and Wireless end their competition in the provision of international capacity right across the region. The impact of this will likely be highly significant in terms of the cost of providing telecommunications services.

Divestiture

There really is only one question that should be of concern to regulators across the region, and that is what do we do in the face of this merger to protect competition? The answer is the big D: Divestiture. Cable and Wireless and Columbus will have duplicate fixed line, cable TV and submarine fibre infrastructure in a number of markets if this deal is approved. If this merger is to be approved, regulators in the region will have to insist on the conditions precedent that these duplicate assets are sold. This is what will preserve competition.

Digicel is not saying that this merger cannot happen. We are not saying that the merger necessarily means Armageddon for the Caribbean telecoms industry. But the risks are huge. It is only with a comprehensive and thorough economics-driven merger impact analysis and the imposition of proper approval conditions and safeguards that we can prevent our industry sliding back to the dark days of a monopoly services. Divestiture is your answer.

Barry O’Brien is CEO of Digicel Jamaica.

31. Looking at the shareholding its now a little clearer why OSA overruled the minister and the chairman.Its also clear why CWC will survive to rule the realm another day.Is sirallan still on board?

32. @Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger

Let us understand you clearly. Because institutional investors and others are heavily vested in C&W/LIME stock we need to manipulate the market to maintain the status quo?

33. The NIS owns 2%…..
    steupsss

34. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

I am not sure what you mean by manipulate the market. I am saying that Barbadians are heavily invested in LIME (individually and via their NIS fund, mutual funds and pension funds) and they should support their own wellbeing and work with LIME for improvements where necessary. Why should Barbadians support LIME’s competition at their own expense?

35. Ok David, that letter from O’Brien is informative.

Seems to me that the FTC must go with the divestiture requirement if they approve the merger.

There is more than enough precedent (from my layman recollection) to support that and more importantly to protect the integrity of the market and public.

But O’Brien speaks of a region wide issue for many aspects and indeed local concerns.

There is a lot of legal grist here. A lot to study actually.

36. @Your NIS is invested in LIME …

You may be absolutely correct that generally bajans should support a company where some of their pension funds are invested but that alone will not resonate if that company is shafting them with higher than acceptable prices.

Not saying LIME is doing that but that’s the general concern/sentiment here.

One can ‘argue’ facetiously that the bajans are paying their own pensions if LIME is shafting them with exorbitant profits from high prices.

37. Why should Barbadians support Lime’s competition at their own expense?
    Because Lime is taking Barbadians for a ride with poor customer service and conning the unwary into buying unnecessary services if your ultimate product is not otherwise available.I am bitterly opposed to Lime in our country resorting to monopoly status with this merger.Lime is currently selling fibre optic services but not installing them and in order to have lime tv ,you have to buy an expensive cell phone……what they euphemistically refer to as an upgrade and lock you into that upgrade for 2 years even though there is no fibre optic in your area.When you complain they deny access to their website,you lose access although you are paying for Internet services and an increased mobile cost package which you do not need.To hear the watermouthed Stetson Babb and his nammy palmy questions and the lime crappy outdated responses,you want to puke!To hell with lime.

38. @Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this

The average Bajan will react to how they believe they are being carried for a ride by LIME. The fact that several entities including the NIS in invested in LIME stock will not feature.

39. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

Gentlemen, every decision comes back to the present value of a diverse set of probable future events. I fail to see any sequence of probable future events where, given the current circumstances, support for LIME’s competition will present the greatest present value for Barbadians. Barbadians should support their own wellbeing rather than allow themselves to be manipulated for the benefit of a few people. Because of LIME’s history in Barbados, LIME’s shortcomings are publicized more than those of its competitors, but the competitors are no better.

40. Dirty People like Politicians Avatar
    Dirty People like Politicians

@ John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. December 30, 2014 at 4:47 PM #
    Not no but Hell NO,, more , crime , more crooks, cant not be trusted , One World crime, One TV station, One radio,One newspaper ,One hospital , one Cow , One Ham both crooks.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Alex Mitchell calls everyone a crook takes one to know one.

http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2011/03/21/police-man-barricades-self-son-in-l-i-home/

WESTBURY, N.Y. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Police have arrested a man they said broke into his girlfriend’s Long Island home and barricaded himself inside with their 13-year-old son for nearly seven hours before surrendering.
    Police charged Alex Mitchell, of Barbados, with burglary, unlawful imprisonment and endangering the welfare of a child. He’s to be arraigned on Monday.

41. David that Letter from Digicel’s CEO is a joke right?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/business/Why-the-Digicel-Claro-deal-is-bad-for-Jamaicans_10938673

Digicel has been running around the Caribbean buying up all kinds of TV stations. They are just bitter that they miss the bus on the Flow deal.

42. Whether they miss the bus is not the point. What is the point is that the FTC carries out its mandate under the law to protect consumers from unfair competition.So far they have achieved a big fail.

43. Our NIS appears to be invested in Four Seasons, Almond, GEMS, loans to statutory organizations and to cover government current liabilities.

The NIS having just 2% invested in C&W is a national disgrace.

How the hell does an educated set of people allow all of their national assets to be owned by foreigners while using their OWN savings to do shiite?

Imagine Government selling shares in BL&P to white people and then using the funds to play shiite games…..
    Imagine individual Bajans holding massive cash savings in foreign-owned Banks ( including funds in Credit Unions) while outsiders have been coming here and buying up their home…..

What brass bowls…

Cable and Wireless and Flow should indeed get together and squeeze what little balls we have left…
    It is no wonder that Sandy Lane brings in outsiders to do serious jobs…. would you hire a brass bowl jackass (who can’t even maintain ownership his inherited home) to do serious work in your company?

steupsss …. and then to have the gall to be expecting the new owners and rulers to exercise special consideration??!!..

… Beggars CANNOT be choosers.

Our forefathers, who DID NOT have degrees and who had access to little money, did a FAR better job of being guardians of the Bajan heritage…..shiite man, THEY owned Bartel, BNB, 65% of BL&P, Hilton, etc…

…then we spend BILLIONS of dollars educating these set of jackasses, and they have managed to sell off every shiite… and given away and eaten out the damn money…

Where Barrow and Crawford TOLD white people “what was what”, we now have Stuart and Sinckler on their knees looking for charity…. and Lawson up in Canada laughing at we ass…

Work permits shiite!!
    …wunna lucky that the damn people don’t make US apply for work permits to get employment in THEIR damn companies….

…bunch of brass bowls…..We are getting exactly what we deserve.

44. @Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger

take your comments at December 30, 2014 at 9:26pm future. Free Motion/TeleBarbados/Karibcable/Flow in how many years? LIME has rebranded over the years but still the same company.

I’m not going to go out on a limb for LIME because lord knows they could do some shit when they ready but I believe the key is to hold them accountable because guess what? LIME/FLOW deal does not happen because the FTC says no. what are we doing to stop BL&P and BWA?

45. @David (not Bu)

What are you smoking? It must be the low grade stuff. Hold LIME (C&W) accountable? You got to be joking.

46. “So far they have achieved a big fail.” so you believe the FTC will start now?

47. We can only do what as citizens we have a right to do and that is to advocate and agitate.

48. Your NIS is invested in LIME and I support this merger Avatar

I suspect that much of the opposition to LI ME is emotional, fuelled by C&W’s history in Barbados. LIME’s best option, to realize shareholder value, may be to find an international communications company to acquire LIME in Barbados, allowing Barbadians and the new entrant a fresh start.