I hope that one of the imperatives of the newly formed Barbados Tourism Product Authority (BTPA) in the new year will be to identify and register all currently unlicensed tourism accommodation offerings. Frankly I have never understood how you can ever successfully market any product, in this case the destination, without knowing what ‘our’ room inventory consists of. I will be quick to point out that I am in no way advocating imposing any overtly deterrent restrictions on persons wishing to mount the first rungs on a tourism ladder. It should also not be a big stick approach implying potential threats and intimidation. My initial thoughts would be to build an online enrollment site, which could be entirely self-funding through a small license fee. This surely should not be a challenge as the BTPA has yet to launch a functioning website.

Any portal should allow for registering critical quality assurance evidence like fire, health and swimming pool certificates and public liability insurance together with the capability of paying the annual fee online and revalidating participation each year. Accommodation providers initially would be given a grace period to submit their documentation and if they did not comply then clearly they would not be eligible for any marketing support and/or concessions. Like many other holiday destinations approved properties would be given a unique identity number and allowed to use approved signage guaranteeing some form of quality assurance standards.

With the advent of websites like Airbnb and Homeaway it has become a minefield for the potential visitor who presently has absolutely no idea if the thousands of lodging options comply with minimum standards and this obviously does not enhance our reputation.

If anyone is lured into thinking this ‘non-hotel’ element forms a miniscule part of our tourism sector, then understand at the time of writing this column, Airbnb had a choice of 556 alternative Barbadian accommodation possibilities on offer and Homeaway a mind boggling 1,277.

Many excellent examples of quality assurance framework websites are already in operation on which to model ours and I found the Failte Ireland one particularly impressive. Their words, to me, seem to exactly define the intended purpose ‘working with you, we will ensure that these standards meet consumer expectations, help your marketing efforts and support product development’.

I also believe that it would identify a new source of revenue especially VAT, that is not currently collected and paid into Government coffers, possibly helping to level a playing field where currently those complying with the rules are in many cases severely disadvantaged. This might even allow the administration to recover sufficient monies to repay small businesses like ours who have not received VAT refunds for up to nearly two years.

Government has to realise there is a consequence to this policy. Hotels largely upgrade, maintain and enhance their properties in the quieter summer months, when cash flow is acutely stretched. If the owners feel that do not stand a realistic chance of reclaiming the VAT element payable upfront will be repaid on-time, then they simply won’t embark on those improvements. Plus with our current reduced national credit rating, it is almost prohibitive to borrow money at commercially available interest rates.

While many accept we have a largely ‘tired’ hotel plant it is almost entirely fallacious, especially when the means to correct the problem is being at least partially withheld by the people making that observation.

103 responses to “Time to Professionalize the Tourism Industry”

1. @Wily

Here is the paragraph you quoted:

“These include but are not limited to the use of stranded natural gas resources where other source wells will be put into use in order to boost production; optimization of the current usage with the aim of replacing it with alternative energy and utilizing new technologies aimed at augmenting supply levels upwards by 40 per cent. This multi-pronged approach is expected to bear fruition as early as January 2015,” he said.

It appears on the surface there is pressure on the supply side. Should we assume ‘stranded wells’ mean wells abandoned and returned to production?

2. @ David December 30, 2014 at 4:23 PM #

“Your response suggest you do not live in Barbados. Decisions to issue work permits are based on certain considerations and you know it. It is disingenuous to single out the tourism industry. The central authority to the decision-making is the immigration department and the PM, and it affects all sectors..”

Firstly, I know my response would come over to you as being “disingenuous” because I choose to disagree with Loveridge’s view.

Secondly, I have singled out the tourism industry because tourism happens to be the topic and focus of this post.

Thirdly, I stand by my point that both BLP and DLP has allowed this sector to as they please, in terms of hiring practices and granting of work permits.

I know of a case in Barbados, where a hotel advertised for an Executive Chef/Trainer, who must possess a degree in culinary arts, BSc in Computer Science and qualifications in teaching. All this because they did not want to hire a local chef.
    However, an individual who was a teacher and had a degree in computer science before relocating to the Bahamas, where he worked in the hotel industry and gained the requisite qualifications as an executive chef, applied for the job, only to see in the papers a few weeks later that the hotel did not received suitable applications and was applying for a work permit to bring in a non-national.

He sent a written objection to the Immigration Department and took a copies of the vacancy notice and his qualifications to verify he possessed all the requisite qualifications and experience as outlined in the vacancy, to indicate he was more than qualified and suitable for the job. Obviously, he was ignored and a non national was given the job.

I also know for a fact, a few years ago, Sandy Lane Hotel advertised for a Engineer who must be fluent in Spanish, while they had a Puerto Rican already employed in the position [without a work permit] months before advertising the vacancy.
    As is usual, they received no suitable applications and successfully applied for a work permit.

3. @Artax

And do you know for a fact of other questionable work permit applications approved? Why pigeon hole the issue of work permit issuance ? BU will not bite you if you veer from the topic to make a bigger point.

4. @Lawson. Cuba is a discipline society. Breaking the law results in stiff fines. I saw a man in shabby looking clothing picking up Garbage from the surrounding area of a hotel early one morning, about two hours later I saw the same man nicely dressed in a suit and wearing a name plate identifying him as the manager of the hotel. Now that’s showing leadership and an excellent display of discipline and responsibility. Is it too much for the owners and managers of hotels and businesses in Barbados to take a leadership role in maintaining the upkeep of the surrounding areas of their establishments? Just asking> He who knows and hold in high regard his or her prosperity will act. The others… Well, let them continue to suffer the loss of business.

5. . I am curious if he is dressed in a monkey suit how do you know he is black? Any of these things the tuk band or stiltman is for the kids please stop your trying to make it something racial. Do you really think that most white people are so pathetic that we need mother sally or shaggy to make us feel superior. I just have to look how your screwing up paradise since you have taken over if I want to look down at you about something. Let the kids have their fun like clowns at a circus, entertainers selling records or mascots at a sports event.

6. ac December 30, 2014 at 2:01 PM #

Topic of the day .one of barbados leading hotels hires a blackman dress in a monkey suit to entertain guest for the holiday.talking about “monkey business”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    My friend, that is exactly also what the people of Barbados done at the last general election,except that we have hired a bunch of them.

7. Many of the shore excursion tours offered by cruise ships visiting Barbados, includes Catamarans, Jolly Roger etc. Many of these vessels ferry visitors across Carlisle Bay and back into the outer careenage. What a pity that as they pass by the area where Bajans Helicopter used to be , that they are met with the Welcome To Barbados sign,seen below, which now appear to be the National Motto.
    http://imgur.com/X5J8zoo

8. @Colonel

Jesus!

9. glenroyvalantine December 30, 2014 at 5:17 PM #

@. Is it too much for the owners and managers of hotels and businesses in Barbados to take a leadership role in maintaining the upkeep of the surrounding areas of their establishments? Just asking> He who knows and hold in high regard his or her prosperity will act. The others… Well, let them continue to suffer the loss of business’.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    Try asking school children to clean up the mess they make on the school premises, or giving the general surrounding a spruce up,and you will see what you are now up against.
    Once upon a time it was only those rural schools, and not the brand name schools, the students of which were seen by the society and others as destined for the cane fields,who were tasked to clean the school’s premises.

10. Bushie would tell you that when a Weed Whacker or a lawn mower, begin to spit and splutter, it means that the fuel tank is running low,very low.

“Stranded Wells ” may not necessary means an abandoned well. In the course of oil exploration natural gas was found in many locations, but probably because these sources were not in close proximity to the Natural Gas supply grid , they were capped. I recall when the Gulf Oil Company was here , drilling in Springvale St Andrew, there was so much natural gas there that they had to burn it off at nights. There were no street lights anywhere in the country areas then,and the sky high flame from this well, illuminated the surrounded parishes.

11. Boy Blue December 30, 2014 at 5:41 PM #

Topic of the day .one of barbados leading hotels hires a blackman dress in a monkey suit to entertain guest for the holiday.talking about “monkey business”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    My friend, that is exactly also what the people of Barbados done at the last general election,except that we have hired a bunch of them.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,boy blue ac expect that kind of a response from u,,,,u political clown

12. yeap and not surpising would be David and Loveridge response .however ,,however if such an occurence happen in the USA all swords would be drawn without relief, but right here under the tamarind tree such as issue becomes irrelevant, Oh I forgot these big shots too busy chasing govt for tax refunds and other relevant issues that affect their pocket books,and home grown racial issues can always be viewed and accepted as roadshows for tourist entertainment,
    However FB could not resist the relevance and important of this homegrown issue,

13. @Canadian Posse

Is it true we have 23,000 Bajans in Toronto? Haynesley Benn made the comment this evening on a cricket show.

14. doesn.t it make some of yuh so called anti racist activist namely David BU feel ashamed when these kind of antisocioal and racial practices are thrown right in your faces and wunna can;t say a dam thing about it, however wunna know dam well how to pick wunna fights, lol such hypocrisy.
    And de loverridge guy count him out on this issue only when the cup is in the hand begging he becomes the whipper snapper for those in the hotel industry,,
    but yuh tell yuh some thing this issue stinks up the whole house and they not enough garbage pick to clean this mess up,
    Fb got this by the horns,

15. here is an issue that should be condemned out and out,,
    this country relies on tourist from all over the world,, leaving such impressions in the minds of visitors that this island is over run with insensitivity and its culture is rooted in racist attitudes is mindbogglingly, especially coming from a sector whose livelihood is dependent on tourist and good image,

16. just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse….now Barbados is going to accept dogs from all over the world. Its bad enough with bajan dogs who speak English how do they expect a german shepherd ,French poodle, or malteze to be able to read the don’t crap on the beach signs. And what are the people from st.john supposed to do with all those microchips?

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Works permits are a two edge sword. If we are ever going to get the general level of service up on Barbados it is absolutely critical that more of our tourism workers (including management) are exposed to the levels of service many of our source markets take for granted in their own countries. This can be achieved in two main ways, either have more branded big named hotels or let Barbadians work overseas at chains like Fairmont, Omni etc. I stayed at the Omni Mount Washington Resort recently and they had staff from nearly 20 countries with the largest contingent from Moldova. If Moldova is ever going to seriously enter the tourism market they will need professionally trained personnel. Its a win-win for both the hotel and their homeland. The Barbadian General Manager of Sandy Lane did not gain all his experience here, so why limit others?

18. Judge rejects Bob Verdun’s second request to travel to Barbados before sentencing.

http://www.guelphmercury.com/news-story/5236827-judge-rejects-verdun-s-second-attempt-to-winter-in-barbados/

19. David wrote “Is it true we have 23,000 Bajans in Toronto?

Couldn’t find any verifiable info on this. However that number would be for the GTA.

http://www.ureachtoronto.com/content/barbadian

20. Thanks Hants, interesting.

21. In as much as there might be an innocence to those festivities and artistic perspectives deemed as socially acceptable to natives barbadians in general must also be reminded that as a part of a global community everthing seen and done be it word or action becomes relevant and wrong messages sent can revibrate with long term repercussions

22. SImple, make ac head of Tourism.

Oh, oopps, I thought you noted ‘prostitutionalise’ not Professionalise.

Suggestion cancelled.

Apologies.

23. so your saying you could stand her always with her mouth open if it was your first read lol

24. We have discussed before but globetrotters observe how popular cities have developed their wharf fronts e,g. Fresno and even in those artificially made in Dubai. Yet in Barbados ours is some of the most unattractive real estate.

25. Best wishes for the New Year David and to the BU blogging community.

The wharf front in Barbados should be developed. Great place to have attractive seafood restaurants.

26. Best to you and family Hants.

A lot we can do to keep the product interesting.

On Thursday, 1 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. Bajans ( including DLP &BLP politicians) have talked about developing Speightstown into a Tourist attraction.

Imagine an upgraded Oistins, Bridgetown Wharf and Speightstown as major “attractions”.

Guess we have to wait for the next economic boom.

28. Hants January 1, 2015 at 11:49 AM #

Best wishes for the New Year David and to the BU blogging community.

The wharf front in Barbados should be developed. Great place to have attractive seafood restaurants.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    I do not want to appear, negative, but any development of the wharf front must include regular maintenance . A few months ago, I was in the nicely developed Independence Square ,and saw people who came there just to relax in the cool of the evening, scampering from some determined rats.

29. @ Colonel Buggy,

there is nothing negative in your comments.

I still have hope that Government will do what is easy and clean up Barbados.

There are no rocket scientist required to clean up Barbados.

30. In keeping with the theme of this post “Time to Professionalize the Tourism Industry”, I want to share an experience I had with LIAT.

On Tuesday December 30, 2014, I called LIAT to book a flight to St. Vincent. After giving the agent the relevant information, I was told I have until the next day to pay $338.40 for the ticket.

I did not know the airline closed its office in the city, but was told this when I later called to enquire about office’s location, and that I would have to travel to the airport to pay for my ticket. I gave the agent my flight code and after she checked, I was told my reservation had been cancelled. I had to rebook my flight, this time having to pay $408.92, an extra $70.52.

The agent told me I was previously given the web-saver fare, which meant I had to pay for my ticket within 30 minutes of making the booking. I had to laugh because unless, I was at the airport while perusing LIAT’s web-site or I lived at Pugg’s or the old concorde, it would have been impossible for me to travel to the airport within half an hour. Let’s say for argument’s sake I was able to get there, but encountered a number of people in the line and had to wait, so by the time I got to the counter, half an hour would have already expired [and so was my booking.

31. Arterexes

so! what was the final outcome Now if this was a politician with a similar experience i bet you would have had all viable alternatives and answers .

32. @ ac January 1, 2015 at 5:11 PM #

“so! what was the final outcome Now if this was a politician with a similar experience i bet you would have had all viable alternatives and answers…..”

Yes, I have two viable answers.

(1) Go to the airport to book my flights and pay the same time.

(2) Perhaps you should take my example and do a bit of travelling. Spending time in another island will give you something to focus on other than spending so much time on BU.

33. Re Liat. Sad, really sad. When I read such reports about Liat, It drives another nail deep into the administrative roots of this troubled airline. I’ve been working in travel since 1992 and through the years have sent hundreds if not thousands of clients from Montreal to various islands using Barbados, Port of Spain and Antigua as connecting points of transfers with Liat as the Island hopper. In all these years the service offered has almost remain stagnated. It is sad to say that in twenty two years, Liat have never paid a cent in commission to us as travel agents for services rendered even though it is stipulated in their agreement (regulations). My colleagues and I were told several times that someone would have to travel to Antigua with documented proof of travel in order to be paid. Other issues includes compensation for lost luggage and cancel flights. [LIAT] Limited Inability Assisting Travelers. I am not surprise at all

34. If we want to encourage intra country travel for business, leisure and promote regional integration we need to fix LIAT or facilitate alternative. Bear in mind Barbados is the major shareholder.

35. But David , over the past few years we have been making sport and promises to give LIAT some competition by way of inter-island ferries. First it was the BEDDY people out of Grenada, who at one time told a friend of mine when she made enquiries about traveling to one of the other islands , that she was lucky, as there was “only one ticket left.” That was some five years ago, and we are still waiting for that ferry to cast off.
    Then our Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago & Barbados , Kamla , had promised a Ferry , like the proposed gas pipe line, to run between the islands. We are still waiting for that ferry to cast off.

36. Artexeres u seem to have an answer for everything even when u are wrong.now what does my personnal escapades have to do with your story.

37. @ ac January 1, 2015 at 9:16 PM #

“Artexeres u seem to have an answer for everything even when u are wrong.now what does my personnal escapades have to do with your story.”

Yes AC consortium, I have an answer for everything. Perhaps you could have an answer for everything as well, that’s if your reading was not confined to the DLP web-site.

38. @ artexeres HUH!

39. @ David et al,

Our Carlisle Bay, Bay Street, Wharf area is downright ugly.

One bulldozer over two months with some loading trucks should do the trick.

Compulsorily acquire the land, PAY the folks, and then resell to hotel chains.

Also, move Government headquarters form Bay Street.

Prime location for a hotel and it is occupied by government???

40. @Crusoe

Say what you want about the BLP, and BU had a lot to say, Billie and the gang had a plan for Bridgetown (Bridgetown Redevelopment Plan). We can debate how projects were executed but there was a plan.

41. Yes, this is true.

42. Hopefully minister Inniss will inform the public how the natural gas problem emerged:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2893825/Simon-Cowell-Lauren-Silverman-chipper-mood-kick-New-Year-sunny-Barbados.html

Interesting, BUT

Meanwhile Cowell is reported to be disappointed after a shortage of natural gas on the island has resulted in a number of local restaurants being closed for business -among them his eatery of choice, The Lone Star.

Natural Gas shortage closes West Coast restaurants?

Not a good thing to have the Brits reading when considering their vacation destinations plans.

DD

43. David there is still something called luck. Barbados is “lucky” that the rich and famous still visit.

Simon Cowell and his family and friends certainly are a good advertisement for “Christmas in Barbados.”

BTMI ?????

44. Where is Adrian with the December statistics?

45. The gas shortage does not just apply to the West Coast, South Coast restaurants are affected also.

And while this is no excuse or out for the operations team, I am a bit surprised that restaurants do not have an emergency stove or two with bottle gas supply.

This issue is not across the system , my home supply is still very good.

So, what has caused this? Has someone tried to illegally tap into the system and caused a leak or airlock?

46. @ Crusoe,

You missed a business opportunity. You could have made your kitchen available to one of the expensive restaurants for $10,000 a day.lol

47. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hants,

both I and the CTO rely on the Barbados Statisical Service for the latest arrival figures. As I pointed our many, many times they are a tardy or politically influenced entity who seem not to see any reason why they should report what they are paid to do in a timely matter. Again, as pointed out, the accurate figures should be collected weekly so that overall numbers are never more than 7 days behind.
    If you check their website you will see the last figures posted were for September 2014. No October, no November, let alone December.

Another graphic example of an admininstration meltdown

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Adrian Loveridge

You have been in Barbados for several years and should know the old BAJAN saying ” you can hide and buy land, but you cyan hide an’ wuk it”

The statistical data about tourist arrivals I not as you suggest an administrative meltdown but it is the active strategy of the government NOT TO make available the data through which international ratings agencies will definitively be able to determine what our revenues from that sector are and if we will experience the fairy tale growth that the Minister of Tourism Richard “I see spirits” Sealy aided and abetted by Minister Stinkliar have been projecting, bless their souls.

49. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Artaxerxes

I will ask this question know the answer.

Is there any consumer body that you can go to that has the remit tor address the seemingly pernicious 30 minute, unilateral transaction ?

Barring tekking dem to court for what, to the old man, seems like some sort of false advertising and then waiting nuff years for your case to be heard, is there another authority or agency that you can go to for your matter?