Submitted by Anthony Davis on 25/12/2014

“NEARLY 200 PART-TIME members of the academic staff of the Barbados Community COLLEGE (BCC) are singing the blues this Christmas. With just 24 hours to go before Christmas day, the workers say they still have not been paid for services performed in November”Nation Newspaper 24/12/2014

First, let me ask a simple question. I only attended Brumley – and not for long – so please bear with me. Is it remotely possible that I will pick up a Nation, read BT or BU online or listen to CBC evening news, and not hear/read about something which is detrimental to some section of the tax payers of this country and attributable to this “people-centred” Government?

It was the BAPO yesterday who were not paid. Today it is the teachers at the BCC!

The irony of this all is that the Minister of Finance – the best one in the world – is being paid thousands of dollars monthly  from the taxes of the said people he neglects to pay. He and the other people who make up this Government do not have a care in the world, because their money is secure.

How do you expect people to work on hungry stomachs?

Or do you expect them to engage in extra curricular activities?

What kind of lessons will they impart to their charges if they are overworked and underpaid?

The permanent tutors are already being made to work twice as hard for the same money?

It is obvious that, if they work so hard, and don’t get enough rest that the tuition would lack the necessary fervour. Add to that now the non-payment of their money, and we have a stack of dynamite ready to blow! This is unconscionable – especially at Christmas time. Can you imagine parents/guardians who promised their charges something for Christmas now having to renege on their promises?

In the BARBADOS TODAY under the heading “Why the fuss?  SINCKLER: NO FORMAL OFFER HAS BEEN MADE” Minster of Finance, Chris sinckler, stated: “. . . All those people who believe they are doing the Government damage by lining up and saying the most negative and the worst things they can about Barbados and about the Government, and about the future, and then pretend they are surprised or affected by downgrades and other negative reports when some of them have contributed to them.” On page 3 of the abovementioned issue.

What audacity!

Pray tell me, Mr. Sinckler, can one paint a beautiful portrait if the subject is, to put it mildly, NOT beautiful? I would suggest that if you cannot take the heat you should desist from going into the kitchen. Every day there are negative reports about things which this Government has done to some section of our people – ESPECIALLY to the poor, the needy and the vulnerable. Don’t you think that those people would have liked to joined the throngs who went Christmas shopping yesterday (24 December, 2014), and could not do so because you did not pay them?

Instead of getting on your high horse what you need to do is to find some sympathy for those whom you have placed in a situation where they do not know if they are coming or going. Not only you have bills, mortgages, etc. to pay, but they do. Can they take a promise to any of those places and pick up some goods, or take it to one of the stores and collect uniforms for their scions?

All we are hearing about promises and plans which never seem to bear fruit.

This Government needs not only to take its head out of the sand, but its whole body. If the guy says that Barbados is the “Rolls-Royce” of the Caribbean, is it not possible that that is no more than flattery for you to agree to their terms? If “no formal offer has been made” why are you getting so hot under your collar about it? It seems that there is already more in the mortar than the pestle about this offer.

Tis better to hear a truth which brings a tear, than a lie which brings a smile.” J.D. Higgins.

107 responses to “Government and Building a Society–BCC Part-time Workers Not Paid”

1. […] Government and Building a Society–BCC Part-time Workers Not Paid […]

2. Tis better to suffer the shock of a quick sever than to endure the agony of a slow amputation. Bajans what are you waiting for? ARISE YOU DOCILE LOT !
    LONG LIVE SOCIAL MEDIA !

3. “The irony of this all is that the Minister of Finance – the best one in the world – is being paid thousands of dollars monthly from the taxes of the said people he neglects to pay. He and the other people who make up this Government do not have a care in the world, because their money is secure.”

Could you imagine, that after a 2 hour long meeting at Government Headquarters with MoF Sinckler on the then planned retrenchment of over 3,000 public sector employees, CTUSAB president Cedric Murrell said Sinckler had given them a more in-depth explanation relative to government’s decision to send home these workers. Murrell was quoted by the press as saying:
    “All of this is for the good of Barbados and the good of the people of this country. We are faced with a very dire situation and as far as we are concerned in the congress, we have to do what is necessary to ensure that we have a country beyond now.”

None of these unions were concerned about the length of time it took government to pay those retrenched workers, and have also chosen to remain silent on the matter concerning the nonpayment of severance to the former Beautify Barbados and NCC employees, who are still awaiting severance almost 9 months after being retrenched.

I have not heard any of these union officials raise any concern about the reasons why Stuart has continued with the size of his cabinet, especially under the circumstances where more public sector employee are to be terminated in 2015, while others await payment of their salaries. Ten clerical officers and 2 maids are to be retrenched from the Statistical Service, and others will be sent home from UDC and RDC.

But this administration has chosen to their colleagues who lost or failed to gain a seat in the 2013 general elections employed, while the DLP faithful were given director, chairman or board member “picks” at statutory corporations.
    Payment is secured for Esther Byer-Suckoo, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Jeptar Ince, Harcourt Husbands, Haynesley Benn, and Patrick Todd to talk shiite in the senate.
    Payment is also secured for Dr. Delisle Worrell [CBoB], Cranston Browne [NCF] Derek Alleyne [UDC], Sandra Forde [Transport Board], Maureen Holder and John Lovell [CBC], Leroy McClean [BACT], Mitch Codrington, David Durant, Dr. Atlee Brathwaite, and the list goes on.

4. If is being reported that the NUPW Executive has voted to march on parliament this week. Some might suggest better late than never. Interesting the decision has been made post Dennis Clarke tenure.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/12/27/nupw-agrees-to-march-on-parliament/

5. All those people who believe they are doing the Government damage by lining up and saying the most negative and the worst things they can about Barbados and about the Government, and about the future, and then pretend they are surprised or affected by downgrades and other negative reports…
    …who is surprised?
    ANY organization run by such brass bowl jokers can’t but be downgraded…

As to negative reports…. it is called THE TRUTH.

Wuh….
    the only “positive reports” around are the set of lies and false promises that Sinckler is wont to make every time he speaks – about restarting Four Seasons, the Marina, or ’bout some white man or the other coming to give us money…..

6. Exactly what kind of society is the government building when the taxpayers cannot enjoy a bus ride without being subjected to rude, arrogant, ignorant and reckless transport board drivers endangering their lives and verbally abusing them, same taxpayers who pay their salaries.

Took a district d bus from baxters road last night, fish fry is still great by the way. While at a bus stop at black rock around 10 15pm, the bus developed brake problems, another bus pulled in right after and the driver asked the driver of b 115 to take on the passengers as transfer, that upset the b 115 driver greatly, he got nasty and verbally abusive allowing the passengers who pay his salary to know that it’s the only language they understand and get back in the bus before he carry them and throw them way.

Who hires these goddammit savages, he should be fired, of course that was not enough provocation for the passengers, although it was raining he decided to brake suddenly, actually causing someone to hurt themselves by aggravating an old injury, he did not even care that a small child was on the bus. He stopped the bus and left his seat to stand outside at least three times to announce that he would refuse to drive them to their destinations, and he would call the police, well that was what everyone wanted,so he could get his ass arrested for reckless driving. Unfortunately for this dumb ass, not only was I on the bus, but so were my relatives visiting from new york. Politicians give these little carrion slime jobs and they believe themselves untouchable……steupss.

7. I can clearly see that somewhere in the future human rights organizations will be doing a run through in barbados, it’s not like the dlpblp douche bags can stop them, they are allowed, don’t care how much legislation the politicians conjure up to cover dirty secrets.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Mr. Davis

I would like to suggest to you if you don’t want to hear or read foolishness, you have to stop listening to or reading anything coming from our local politicians, particularly Chris Sinckler.

It is clear to all, including the Government itself, that this present bunch of politicians is incompetent.

9. The BU household has never understood how head of CTUSAB Cedric Murell was a senior employee of the Air Traffic Controllers Unit recently retired, and never was able in his lofty capacity to avert the recent strike by air traffic controllers that was caused by a long running grievances. PLEASE explain in simple language.

10. @Well Well

Sorry to read of your bad experience. You need to write Lynda Holder or Sandra Forde at the Transport Board.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@well well

With smartphone cameras armed with 8 megapixel cameras you, having experienced this behaviour last night, should not be here using emotive empty words on BU per the behaviour of a Transport Board driver who sucked the Minister of Transport’s doggie to get this job (how else could he and others feel that they can conduct themselves in this manner unless they were stroking the minister’s belongings?)

One uh me grand got me phone set up so dat even if it lock, once you look at me too hard all I gots to do is shake me phone and point and you is a Hollywood movie…

Let the social media do your talking for you Well Well

12. Cedric Murrell like so many others in Barbados wears multiple hats. Surprise, surprise. .CTUSAB’s is just not his favorite one, nor is it his best fitting one.

13. In simple language: running with the hares and hunting with the hounds.

14. Hamilton

To paraphrase a very wise man: I am not saying that a man can’t wear many hats, however, when he wears them all at the same time he looks foolish.

That is the position in which Cedric finds himself.

15. I must admit that the new look for BU is really impressive. I wonder if David came into some old money to achieve this.

16. @Lemuel

Your comment is facetious we know but we will play along and say BU does a face lift at Christmas time.

17. I do not know why Roslind Smith’s picture is in this caption. As far as the media has said the great Dennis Clarke has been kept on at the NUPW to sort out this affair; maybe he is not functioning at full speed.

18. David:
    I was trying to pay a well deserved compliment as I have been away for a little while. The new look is really impressive. Any how best wishes for the New Year!!

19. Lemuel

At least, David did not take it to Miami in a suitcase and forfeit it to the US Government.

20. It appears Roslyn Smith is the point person with Clarke fading in the background, she needs to step up and fill the void with the oldsters retiring. Caswell is trying but Unity does not have the base, yet and Toni is feeling her way, still.

21. @lemuel

Thanks, we get a little touchy when reference is made to BU earning money from BU because we don’t. Welcome back!

BU welcome suggestions about blogs we should feature on the BU Slider

22. Forget about the members of parliament salaries for now . I will bet that these bastards are still drawing overinflated allowances and perks, which if slashed, could go towards paying some or part of the salaries of people like those at the Community College. These s.o.b’s could not care less about the suffering that they are causing to people who can ill afford it.
    Would these callous buggers have the gall to come around next election begging the same people for votes?
    But as Hamilton pointed out, us docile Bajans, will vote some of them back in.

23. @Colonel

If you talk to the guys on the highway you will be told their eggs are imported which explains the difference in size/look.

24. Hamilton is also asking to have the proverbial apple cart overturned before the Pension Eligibility Date. 2015 will usher in an exercise of musical chairs that the mainstream media moguls will refer to as a Cabinet Reshuffle. A crate of addled eggs moved from the pantry to the refrigerator serves what purpose? Shifting the chairs of this lot is similar to the proposed nonsense about body cameras for members of the NYPD. Everybody knows that it will make no difference until we change the culture from within. Change this Circus Clown group immediately. Do so by refusing to work with them. Gather in your numbers and demonstrate peacefully come 2015. You have worked faithfully in the past and some have not been timely paid. You have held your part of the civic responsibility and paid your taxes. While you wait patiently for you tax refund the Frequent Flyers Club continues on its mission of ” Around The Globe In Five Years”. Come out in your numbers and meet your Parliamentarians where they meet. Again I stress……IT CAN BE DONE PEACEFULLY.

25. Parliament has become a WIN FOR LIFE scratch off ticket. This bunch needs to be deprived of this wind fall that they have obviously budgeted for.

26. Caswell Franklyn December 28, 2014 at 8:56 AM #

Mr. Davis

I would like to suggest to you if you don’t want to hear or read foolishness, you have to stop listening to or reading anything coming from our local politicians, particularly Chris Sinckler.

It is clear to all, including the Government itself, that this present bunch of politicians is incompetent.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

but caswelll\.
    Frankly speaking it seems as if the Nation news took the said advice and applied it to your commentary,

27. Come on now ! In basketball parlance we must all agree. AC from downtown ! Come Come Caswell you need to pelt back something rough at ac. Sunday levity…shall we say?

28. “Government’s view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.

The most terrifying words in the English language are: I’m from the government and I’m here to help”………. Ronald Reagan

“This country, with its institutions, belongs to the people who inhabit it. Whenever they shall grow weary of the existing government, they can exercise their constitutional right of amending it, or exercise their revolutionary right to overthrow it”………..Abraham Lincoln

29. Who would have thought that it would have come to this! The question we need to ask ourselves is, are these persons the best & brightest that this fair land has to offer? It is obvious for all to see that this cabal of incompetents are great at winning elections but are totally incapable of running a Govt. They have money for all their entitlements but no money for the basics;(salaries/garbage collection etc. ) They have created a culture of casual indifference which in itself will be the legacy of these so-called “eminent persons”.

30. This incompetent, inept, lying government announced that it was slowly rolling out income tax refunds…………well guess what…………. a caller on Brasstacks today said that after sending the list of accounts to be credited to the banks last week, the lists were recalled…………..Unbelievable! What next?

31. Piece…..sorry, but it all happened so suddeny that people were getting off the bus quickly to avoid the abusive tirade of this dirty little transport board driver, myself and companys cellphones were buried very deep in our bags, the bus was packed and most of us were feeling no pain on vodca, brandy and the likes…..lol.

Want to make it very clear that the bus tag was bm 115, a transport board bus and driver, not to be confused with the yellow buses. The person whose injury was aggravated suffered all night, there will be a followup. It’s kinda annoying that bajans take this crap regardless of which grown man is sucking a politicians doggie for a job, I tend to go ballistic every time I witness this crap. Banana republic is becoming a very apt description for the island. To continue to be docile to this behavior will make sure it never changes, hence the slave masters are now black, vicous and brutal. Something has to give.

32. Caswell,

Can you tell us why employers always cut from the bottom? Invariably, the goal is always to cut expenditure but these people are the lowest paid employees. how much is saved by cutting the small man?

I just do not understand why employers are so heartless………these people work for the lowest wages, have bills to pay and children to support just like the high salaried employees but they never get a break.

Can anyone therefore understand why we continue to have such a big cabinet who are just taking taxpayers’ monies on false pretenses as they are not performing. Everything is wrong in this country!

33. Just to be very clear, it’s never a good thing when people like myself start using words like human rights violations and invoking human rights organizations, these are never empty threats, the right time always comes.

If the politicians who are calling themselves leaders are unable to cope or are reluctant to affect change because they are too goddamn corrupt, there are people in the international arena who are more than capable.

34. Prodigal…….in the real world, the largest salaries are always cut first, it influences the bottom line, but of course since everything is done ass backward in barbados, the lowest salaries are cut, rendering the poor, much poorer, where will the poor get money to fight a case for six years in an already compromised judiciary.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

In this particular downsizing exercise by Government, they were mandated to reduce the number of persons employed in the public service. This is to fit into some IMF formula which requires that the Government should only employ a certain percentage of a country’s population. In our case, the formula showed that the Government needed to reduce its workforce by 6,000.

In turn, this dishonest government sent home 3,000 workers between June and December last year saying that they were employees who were on contact and that those contracts had expired so they were not counted as lay-offs. Then they terminated a further 3,000 and an equally dishonest media continue to quote the Government’s propaganda of sending laying of only 3,000.

Prodigal, I did not forget your question, I went through all that to show you that they were not 6,000 people at the top to send home. Primarily, the retrenchments were not about saving money; it was about reducing numbers.

36. @ Prodigal
    Skippa, why you asking Caswell that question? You looking to embarrass Bushie’s future BUP leader?

You know very well that Unions allow cuts from the bottom because their favors and back hand deals come from the top. You feel a NCC worker could give a union leader anything (well THAT, but…) not cars, tax eases and board appointments…

From the time that layoffs were hinted, Bushie called for a FORMULA like where, for every 20 workers from the bottom sent home, two supervisors and one management employee went home too….
    ….and for every 100 persons sent off, one senior government position should be amalgamated…and a post (Minister) terminated.

There is NO EXCUSE AT ALL why the unions could not have insisted on such a formula….. instead of walking about talking shiite about “alternative ways of saving money”

Bottom line, most of the same damn union leaders wanted sending home themselves at the time so it may have not been in their interest to argue that line…

37. BTW Caswell, there is nothing inherently wrong with a set of guidelines as to the maximum number of employees by Government in a given size economy.
    BUT…
    The FAIR way to CORRECT any imbalance would have been to apply a formula that is across the board.
    Those NCC workers DID NOT over-inflate the payroll. The Ministers and the spineless public sector lackies in upper and mid management did….and THEY should bare some of the pain.

38. The Judges of the Court get paid too. They also get six weeks vacation per year, the whole of August for Court vacation whatever that is, and two weeks in December; a free top of the line Mercedes, a police officer to drive them and any amount of time to give decisions. Ask anyone how many decisions are outstanding by the Judges and for how long. This this is so even though the Caribbean Court of Justice said that decisions should be given within six months.
    Did a Judge of the High Court wrote the President of the Bar Ass. and informed him that the she had 16 decisions outstanding? When will those decisions ever be given?

39. @ Bush Tea December 28, 2014 at 3:31 PM #

There is NO EXCUSE AT ALL why the unions could not have insisted on such a formula….. instead of walking about talking shiite about “alternative ways of saving money”…………………………………..

Agreed with your post.

But wait, Caswell do you know whatever became of the union’s proposals made to the government? Or was this another stunt pulled to fool the workers that they were trying to save jobs?

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal

And he got his national honour for misleading the workers on top of it all.

41. Prodigal Son December 28, 2014 at 2:56 PM #

Caswell,

Can you tell us why employers always cut from the bottom? Invariably, the goal is always to cut expenditure but these people are the lowest paid employees. how much is saved by cutting the small man?
    …………………………………………………………………………………
    Emera, has recently shown other Barbadians employers how its done.

42. @pieceuhderockyeahright December 28, 2014 at 10:05 AM ” per the behaviour of a Transport Board driver who sucked the Minister of Transport’s doggie to get this job”

And exactly who is the Minister who is enjoying the happy?

43. Unbelievable topsy brass bowls taking advice from Caswell a person infamous for not keeping a job and cant but muster fifty members for his Union.

44. “In the BARBADOS TODAY under the heading “Why the fuss? SINCKLER: NO FORMAL OFFER HAS BEEN MADE” Minster of Finance, Chris sinckler, stated: “. . . All those people who believe they are doing the Government damage by lining up and saying the most negative and the worst things they can about Barbados and about the Government, and about the future, and then pretend they are surprised or affected by downgrades and other negative reports when some of them have contributed to them.”…………………………………………………

And his incompetence has nothing to do with the position this economy is in?

Running huge current account deficits : 2008/9 = 189 million, 2009/10 = 486 million, 2010/11 = 641 million, 2011/12 = 266 million, 2012/13 = 553 million, Apr-Dec 2013 = 505 million dollars.

Giving away NHC houses leaving the NHC cash strapped is not your fault, Mr Stinkliar, either?

Allowing children to joy ride free on buses leaving the Transport Board in further debt and hiring DLP yard fowls is not your fault, Mr Stinkliar, right?

Funding football tournaments to honour the dead king when we could not afford it is our fault, right?

Funding constituency councils to support the DLP electioneering purposes is our fault, right?

Bank rolling the biggest cabinet and having the most consultants is our fault too, right, Mr Stinkliar?

By speaking about these things, we have influenced the rating agencies to downgrade Barbados, right.

Printing millions of dollars and putting pressure on the foreign reserves is also our fault, too, Mr Stinkliar? We did all of this and not you, is this not so?

Boy, you are delusional!

45. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal

Don’t use words like “delusional”, he wouldn’t understand.

46. What is point today’s Nation editorial is trying to make regarding the MoF’s promise to communicate quarterly on the economy? Are we serious? Those of us who are plugged in to what is happening in Barbados know that Sinckler needs to resign fast!

47. David we don’t need no quarterly reports.

We need action on things that are critical to the improvement of the economy.

We want to hear that more canes are being planted so that we can produce Bajan molasses for the New specially branded “Rums of Barbados”, New branded pure Barbados cane sugars and bagasse for the increased production of Broilers.

This increased planting of canes should help with the increased production of Barbados sweet potatoes to add to the supermarket shelves in Toronto alongside the ones from Belize.

Now wunna realise that I just writing shiite off the top of my bald head but I believe that in a small economy like Barbados’ You have to look at all the things that are linked to growing cane.

48. a lot of empty eggheads,, wuh yuh think rebuilding a country is like redesigning a website ,wuh shite bossman it took u nuff trial and error and plenty time to get this lilltle bity website up and running a couple weeks ago and still it ain up to par yet, can.t imagine if uh had sincklair job wuh the end result would look like and dat would not even include the bean counters sitting on the side lines giving advice,

49. now listen to dat lilliputian sitting up day in the snow in canada telling barbados govt wuh to do it was only a year ago when all lights were out from a snow storm and all he could do was to sit and wait till govt fix the problem meanwhile his backside was growing frost bite,, bro you need to stick to fly fishing good time of the year fuh dat ole man

50. @Hants

What we need is leadership. Perhaps when they gather at Donville’s nest for his annual bash on New Years Day something constructive will come out of the exercise.