Submitted by Anthony Davis on 25/12/2014

“NEARLY 200 PART-TIME members of the academic staff of the Barbados Community COLLEGE (BCC) are singing the blues this Christmas. With just 24 hours to go before Christmas day, the workers say they still have not been paid for services performed in November”Nation Newspaper 24/12/2014

First, let me ask a simple question. I only attended Brumley – and not for long – so please bear with me. Is it remotely possible that I will pick up a Nation, read BT or BU online or listen to CBC evening news, and not hear/read about something which is detrimental to some section of the tax payers of this country and attributable to this “people-centred” Government?

It was the BAPO yesterday who were not paid. Today it is the teachers at the BCC!

The irony of this all is that the Minister of Finance – the best one in the world – is being paid thousands of dollars monthly  from the taxes of the said people he neglects to pay. He and the other people who make up this Government do not have a care in the world, because their money is secure.

How do you expect people to work on hungry stomachs?

Or do you expect them to engage in extra curricular activities?

What kind of lessons will they impart to their charges if they are overworked and underpaid?

The permanent tutors are already being made to work twice as hard for the same money?

It is obvious that, if they work so hard, and don’t get enough rest that the tuition would lack the necessary fervour. Add to that now the non-payment of their money, and we have a stack of dynamite ready to blow! This is unconscionable – especially at Christmas time. Can you imagine parents/guardians who promised their charges something for Christmas now having to renege on their promises?

In the BARBADOS TODAY under the heading “Why the fuss?  SINCKLER: NO FORMAL OFFER HAS BEEN MADE” Minster of Finance, Chris sinckler, stated: “. . . All those people who believe they are doing the Government damage by lining up and saying the most negative and the worst things they can about Barbados and about the Government, and about the future, and then pretend they are surprised or affected by downgrades and other negative reports when some of them have contributed to them.” On page 3 of the abovementioned issue.

What audacity!

Pray tell me, Mr. Sinckler, can one paint a beautiful portrait if the subject is, to put it mildly, NOT beautiful? I would suggest that if you cannot take the heat you should desist from going into the kitchen. Every day there are negative reports about things which this Government has done to some section of our people – ESPECIALLY to the poor, the needy and the vulnerable. Don’t you think that those people would have liked to joined the throngs who went Christmas shopping yesterday (24 December, 2014), and could not do so because you did not pay them?

Instead of getting on your high horse what you need to do is to find some sympathy for those whom you have placed in a situation where they do not know if they are coming or going. Not only you have bills, mortgages, etc. to pay, but they do. Can they take a promise to any of those places and pick up some goods, or take it to one of the stores and collect uniforms for their scions?

All we are hearing about promises and plans which never seem to bear fruit.

This Government needs not only to take its head out of the sand, but its whole body. If the guy says that Barbados is the “Rolls-Royce” of the Caribbean, is it not possible that that is no more than flattery for you to agree to their terms? If “no formal offer has been made” why are you getting so hot under your collar about it? It seems that there is already more in the mortar than the pestle about this offer.

Tis better to hear a truth which brings a tear, than a lie which brings a smile.” J.D. Higgins.

107 responses to “Government and Building a Society–BCC Part-time Workers Not Paid”

1. @ ac, if you were a man I would tell you what a pathetic incorrigible jackssass you are but I don’t insult women or mentally diminished persons.

@ David. By the time they leave Donville bash they will be so drunk they won’t remember anything they discussed. lol

2. man or woman u could still say whatever yuh like ,,grow some balls, nuh,all the time hiding behind news articles .neva got a word to say from that frost bite tongue of yours, wuh yuh frighten fuh ole geezer,, talking bout wuh yuh wud tell ac , grows some balls and say wuh everyuh like, geezer

3. @Hants

Please stay on topic if you can, know it can be difficult.

4. @David December 28, 2014 at 6:02 PM #

“What is point today’s Nation editorial is trying to make regarding the MoF’s promise to communicate quarterly on the economy? Are we serious? ”
    …………………………………………….

Cut the Nation a little slack…….LOL…….these morons have the Nation so fearful that it seems as if they are now afraid to print anything against this government. It seems as if these morons who are incompetent at their jobs have the time to go through the paper with a fine tooth comb daily and set the lions on them, the Nation is afraid!

5. prodigal u are one blantant pooch back yardfowl. talking shite bout the nation scared maybe scared of printing the shite u always sending them as news worthy about the govt,, similar to the goobly gook u said about osa becoming an adviser to the govt ,u are a real pissy ram goat fuh real ,the sleazy rag got more sense than to print the shite that u send them

6. One has to listen to the ministers of government carefully to get an insight to what Is top of mind for the Cabinet because you will not hear it from the PM. Minister Steve Blackett has sounded warning that social services funds controlled by his ministry should expect a run given the current state of things.

7. @ac
    If the morons had listened to us “small people” here on BU, they country would not be in the mess it is in today. We are told that your DLP ministers frequent BU so we know they can at least read.

Lots of ideas are shared and debated here………why even Bush Tea with his brass bowl talk is often on point, are-we-there-yet was a former government official who shares ideas, Arataxeres is an expert and shares valuable information, miller is a sage with unlimited knowledge plus all the others who share ideas, Caswell shares good information but all you do is try to belittle the man but you morons think you know it all.

You told the BLP with OSA there at the time……….”we dont want to hear nothing from wunnuh, any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnuh self, wunnuah had 14 years, now is we time, we gine do things we way”. And you are in talks with him? Unbelievable!

Well, you morons wont listen and now after all the damage……….you now claiming bad talking David’s blog but still wont keep off it? Unbelievable!

Admit it, the Stinkliar was never up to the job, he had no right near the Ministry of Finance……….a blind man on a trotting horse could see that but not the dead king or Fumble.

8. The Government’s almighty advertisement dollar has always been the ink that facilitated every last printing press located in Fontabelle . One wonders exactly who is the DLP’s version of MUSCLE MARY. In Barbados there is a special tie that binds Trade Unionism and Journalism intricately together. GREED ! It could mek ya sell ya mudda ! It could also cause some to write shite here on BU cause the meal ticket is parked on the Opposition benches.

9. The M of F could not get a job at CARICOM in 95, read his CV and cry ,he ended up with NGO, today he is M of F for the DLP Government after buying an election with money that was stolen from clico policyholders , what a man, but just wait the DEVIL has him very good , he is blowing out like the dead king, his reward is coming .

10. @watchman

Hope your last comment is not a threat directed at the MoF to stoke the murder threat he publicized in the House a few months ago?

11. OH NO, HIS SINS WILL TAKE HIM, THE ROAD THE DEAD KING GONE, NOBODY KILL HIM ,HIS BODY TURN ON HIM

12. David December 28, 2014 at 11:50 AM #

@Colonel

If you talk to the guys on the highway you will be told their eggs are imported which explains the difference in size/look.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    You mean after all of the long talk by Paul and company that we are importing eggs? Next we will be told that the crabs sold at Newton Roundabout, like the ones some of the fellas catch at Bush Hill, are all imported.

13. PLEASE NOTICE, THE LIES THE M of F TELL IS TAKING HIS MIND, LOOK AT THE MISTAKES.

14. watchman /the yard dog ,exactly what would like to see happen to SIncklair,, your comment in reference to sincklair reeks with evil. poor soul u have sold your soul to the devil and iwould get absolutely nothing in return

15. a star shines brightly
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR: Saffrey a pillar for homeless –

16. @ACs
    last to you all ACs for the year , I would not reply again, but I will leave you all this,
    what suffering shall behold a man that causes the suffering of many people

17. and lastly i say unto u watchman the yarddog, how much of a suffering does it cause a man who shall suffer for his fellowman, put dat in your pipe” windbag” and smoke it, good nite turkey.

18. Prodigal Son December 28, 2014 at 5:43 PM #

“By speaking about these things, we have influenced the rating agencies to downgrade Barbados, right.
    Printing millions of dollars and putting pressure on the foreign reserves is also our fault, too, Mr Stinkliar? We did all of this and not you, is this not so?”

Good post Prodigal…. your comments are spot on target.

Yes, Prodigal……. what the MoF and the DLP yard-ducks such as the AC consortium, Clone and NationBLPnewspaper would have Barbadians believe Standard & Poors do not consult with Sinckler or Governor Worrell nor do they read the Central Bank reports to make an assessment of Barbados’ economic performance.

Instead, representatives from this rating agency logged onto Barbados Underground to read the all day whining and preaching of doom and gloom by the handful of BU contributors.

And since all the columnists of the Nation newspaper are said to be BLP operatives, perhaps they also bought the Weekend Nation to read “THE LOWDOWN” by Richard Hoad, so as to determine this island’s long-term sovereign credit ratings should be LOWERED from “BB-“ to “B”.

19. @ HAMILTON A HILL December 28, 2014 at 12:03 PM #

“Hamilton is also asking to have the proverbial apple cart overturned before the Pension Eligibility Date. 2015 will usher in an exercise of musical chairs that the mainstream media moguls will refer to as a Cabinet Reshuffle.”

This will be indeed an interesting development. Perhaps in the same manner Owen Arthur was able to woo Clyde Mascoll, who knows, Stuart maybe able to convince Arthur to join the DLP by appointing him a senator and minister of finance.

The tables will be turned now…. after cussing Arthur left, right and centre [just like the BEEs did to Clyde] for the past 20 years, [particularly Sinckler, whose tongue has been venomous against Arthur and Estwick who led the charge in criticizing Arthur’s economic policies], Sinckler, Estwick, Jeptar, Sealy, Ronald, Kelly and the other boys and them, will be forced to work alongside Arthur.

However, in this scenario, rather than seeing Arthur as being hasty and a traitor, [in the same manner in which Clyde was characterized], this same DLP will try to make Arthur out as a man who has been treated unfairly by the BLP, who has so much to offer and whose love of Barbados goes beyond the boundaries of party political rhetoric…….. befitting of the title the DLP gave him, i.e. the “economic savior”.

20. but you know what! DLP stalwarts are patriots who prefer to send out purposeful and meaningful signals to outsiders looking” in” rather than fly the flag of doom and gloom ,stalwarts have no vested interest in seeing the country fail, the DLP stalwarts understand the systematic challenges that the country is enduring and live by a philosophy of helping to guide rather than to tear down with unkind words and blackened smoke signals,

21. @ Artaxerxes….As per your above scenario all that does is expose what is already known. That this administration without the late David Thompson bit off much more than it was able chew, and adopted the semblance of a ship without a rudder is a fact that no one missed. Should Owen Arthur come riding in like a Knight on a white stallion looking to save the day only reinforces the fact that he dislikes Mia Mottley more than he does the DLP. That too is well known. If such were to happen all it would do is rip further the chasm of despair that now blankets Barbados where the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party are concerned. Like a person battling a drug addiction Barbados needs to hit rock bottom, then come to the realization that there needs to be a change. As presently constructed neither the Barbados Labour Party and certainly none from this crop of DLP misfits can be a part of any meaningful change. Under Owen Arthur the BLP and the term malfeasance = Hand and glove. Today’s group of circus clowns = ineptitude and almost every other label that equates to hazardous to poor people.

22. Okay, point taken, “the DLP stalwarts understand the systematic challenges that the country is enduring”. So, they developed the much touted Medium Term Fiscal and Medium Tern Development Strategies, as well as other economic policies.

The GoCBB, Dr. Delisle Worrell, admitted these strategies have failed to achieve their intended objectives. Additionally, Dr. David Estwick is also on record as saying this government has chosen to pursue the wrong path, as indicated by the failure of its economic policies, towards economic growth, and offered alternative suggestions. Coupled with Sinckler admitting he did not know where the $300M in foreign exchange went and his evident failure as MoF, as well as a prime minister who has demonstrated time and time again, he does not have the capacity to properly lead this country, has provided us with a few examples of the chaotic conditions under which the Barbadian economy is being managed by the DLP stalwarts.

By these revelations, obviously DLP yard-fowls will believe “DLP stalwarts are patriots who prefer to send out purposeful and meaningful signals to outsiders looking “in”…” However, the international rating agencies and financial institutions and investors [outsiders looking “in”] interpret these “purposeful and meaningful signals” as reasons to continually downgrade Barbados’ credit ratings. Hence, these downgrades do not inspire the international financial institutions to extend loan financing or inspire investor confidence in Barbados.
    And after taking all these developments into consideration, Barbadians will obviously have no confidence in these DLP stalwarts.

As such, because of continued failed economic policies and the inability to adequately manage the Barbadian economy, by these actions, the DLP stalwarts are in actuality “flying the flag of doom and gloom”.

23. @ HAMILTON A HILL December 29, 2014 at 9:27 AM #

Very good points….. I endorse your contribution.

24. @Hamilton! nothing of what u say is surprising.Your comments are the reflectors of a “woman” scorned
    If indeed the speculation hoovering around OSA coming from the BLP camp about his intentions. The scope and manipulation however farfetched as it might appear would be beneficial to OSAhowever resurfacing what most have belived to be that of a man whose self interst is tantamount and all that matters now willing to accept offers that would sealed his legacy as a stateman

25. Interesting to read in todays Nation newspaper minister of housing Kellman blaming minister of the environment Lowe for holding up the occupation of 120 houses in Parish Land.

On Monday, 29 December 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

26. @Artaxerxes December 29, 2014 at 2:49 AM #

“However, in this scenario, rather than seeing Arthur as being hasty and a traitor, [in the same manner in which Clyde was characterized], this same DLP will try to make Arthur out as a man who has been treated unfairly by the BLP, who has so much to offer and whose love of Barbados goes beyond the boundaries of party political rhetoric…….. befitting of the title the DLP gave him, i.e. the “economic savior”…………

Arta,

This would be “good” as we would never hear the ac consortium throw the $75000.00 cheque issue in his face again!

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son December 29, 2014 at 4:56 PM
    “This would be “good” as we would never hear the ac consortium throw the $75000.00 cheque issue in his face again!”

Neither would we be subject to the ac consortium’s ranting and ravings about OSA’s 14 years of economic and fiscal mismanagement while selling out Barbados to the foreigners in practicing his special brand of economics called ‘Arthurnomics’ aka paro economics.

Now who would be selling out Barbados to foreigners should that dangerous liar Stinkler tell the IMF to take a hike and go for the $2 billion dollar bond lollipop offer laced with financial heroin and crack.

Sugar brought slavery to Barbados but it appears its demise is about to bring financial bondage to a people who were supposed to be liberated through ‘free’ tertiary education. Fumble words tend to ring true when he said if those educated public sector workers cannot solve simple problems they could as well go back to the cane fields or, more relevant today, cleaning the houses and maintaining the grounds of rich white people from “over and away”

28. @ Miller
    Perhaps Owen has matured….like Pieceuhderock….

Few have cussed him more than Bushie, but the bushman cussed him because, after evolving as THE leader that could take Barrow’s baton to the glorious finish that was eminently possible for Barbados, he allowed himself to be distracted with shiite issues which eventually derailed his mission.

…CSME was one such issue.
    …His focus on developing the PLACE called Barbados rather than the PEOPLE called Barbadian was another, as was…
    …His misuse of the innovative “politics of inclusion” to further POLITICAL rather than EFFICIENCY and PRODUCTIVITY issues….
    …most critically, the fatal error of allowing the MONEY of powerful people to compromise his actions.

He was intoxicated with a false confidence in economic theory and the mistaken belief that a unified Caribbean was a practical reality.

What has changed….?

Three key things in Bushie’s humble opinion….

1) He got older and gained the humility and wisdom that comes with frailty
    2) It is now clear that “Economic Theory” was only applicable from the period of global growth from after the second world war until the turn of the century.
    3) His daughters…and (most critically) wunna see that sweet, cute, adoring grand daughter….?

Perhaps Owen is only NOW ready to take up Barrow’s baton which he dropped a decade ago and to burn that track…..

Who knows?
    BBE works in mysterious ways to achieve the required ends….

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You going senile or what? Pick up Barrow’s baton what? Arthur has one laudable and crucial mission left in his political career, and that is to ensure that Mia does not lead this country. He knows why, but revealing his reasons might expose himself to a charge of negligence.

30. OSA has not changed one bit.Still the bogeyman of the stinking dems.Stuart the Pastor of the Marchfield Church of God can do us all a favour and emulate the Master in showing compassion,humility and love of neighbour and stop pretending he is a Primate inter Pares in matters theological and political.The honourable member is still to make his mark as a positive influence on the youth of Barbados.Actually he has’nt even made his mark as an officer of the court.
    Those of you who do not know the man OSA are entitled to take your pot shots at one of the more astute and incisive political thinkers of Barbados.
    The BLP would do well to shake off the image of the stupidity of those MP’s who are currently destroying the party.In hindsight names speak volumes.Character speak volumes.OSA can regenerate the confidence the private sector needs to attract the FDI the country needs right now.Think of it,if we had 4 Seasons up and running.If Doyle was given the nod to fix and fit Almond.If Branson could be encouraged to become involved in making sense at LIAT.If Mary Redman was chair of CTUSAB.If the lying Democratic Labour Party MP’s were made liable for the losses of the ministries under their purview.If a law can be enacted to preclude Pensions to MP’s who have not served a minimum of 25 years and whose slate is clean of corruption and poor policy prescriptions.If the vote is restricted to an electorate on the basis of ownership of personal or real property only.Never again must Barbados be exposed to the likes of Stinkliar buying votes of the lumpen proletariat in Deacons and wherever else Stuart and Brathwaite saw proof of vote buying or vote selling.

31. Dirty People like Politicians Avatar
    Dirty People like Politicians

32. Dirty People like Politicians Avatar

33. Dirty People like Politicians Avatar

34. @ ac… you put something in your eggnog so early on a Monday morning? I have vivid memories of the tag team of ac, CCC and Hamilton Hill holding our own against the viciousness of Truthman, miller and them. Now you cussing me. Ya is too cruel doa!……to ya own self.

35. Barbados has fallen victim to the governance of what is certainly the worst administration we have known in our existence. The Prime Minister’s silence is now being rivaled by that of a previously loquacious Opposition leader. Oh boy is our country ever in deep doo doo! Where the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party is concerned Mia Mottley knows not if to sit, stand or go for if anything is as clear as day, it is the fact that in the eyes of her colleagues her orientation is better known than her accreditation and that is sad. Then again she must have known that ” If you lay down with dogs you get up with flees”. Were it not for social media the nastiness that ended up as a law suit one sitting member against another, would have been a well kept secret and this site would have been bombarded with the posts of The Yardfowl Brigade of the other persuasion. They too have fallen victim to the malady that now seem to plague Barbados. No no not chikungunya, laryngitis. From the look of things its bound to be a peaceful 2015. That’s my wish for all Barbadians…….especially ac!

36. @ Caswell
    Senile?….. Bushie?…. LOL ha ha ha
    …..not yet.

We can only hope that Arthur will take up the baton cause you certainly won’t….. All we cuss him …yuh have to give him credit for having the conviction to do the things he believed in…. He just happened to be wrong in some areas…
    JUST LIKE YOU!

Imagine…
    50 years invested in sending you to the best school money can buy, exposing you to the Life-School of Hard Knocks; to Co-operative principles; to street sense; and even to Lowdown’s goat milk…..
    ….and you bout the place playing the ass with some half-dead union….when the damn place NEED someone to come and shake the dirty stuffings out of it’s brass…

BTW…. you BIGGEST problem is your wont to ascribe motives to others.
    IT IS TIME TO STOP THAT…some people may surprise you…

You don’t know what Arthur’s motives are…. perhaps even HE is unsure of his motives… why not just speculate like Bushie ( 🙂 )and give him the benefit of the doubt?

Do you have ANY idea of the impact that a granddaughter can have on an old soldier…..? …ask Pieceuhderock….

Let Bushie know when you ready to BUP…..

37. @ millertheanunnaki December 29, 2014 at 5:28 PM #

“Neither would we be subject to the ac consortium’s ranting and ravings about OSA’s 14 years of economic and fiscal mismanagement while selling out Barbados to the foreigners in practicing his special brand of economics called ‘Arthurnomics’ aka paro economics.

Now who would be selling out Barbados to foreigners should that dangerous liar Stinkler tell the IMF to take a hike and go for the $2 billion dollar bond lollipop offer laced with financial heroin and crack……………………………….

miller,

Where were these two investors when the Stinkliar and the Governor of the Central Bank went on the road, according to them looking for FDI earlier this year and last year? They came back empty handed from London, Boston and LA. (Or did they go joy riding on our dime?)

One would think that since they are in Barbados every year, they would know what is going on. So how comes the MOF and the governor go on a begging for finance trip and they have never come forward until now?

To think that this DLP won the 2008 election by telling Barbadians that OSA was selling out Barbados to foreigners and that very soon there would not be a piece of the rock for “our children and grandchildren”.

How soon Barbadians forget the lies these morons have told them! I still want to know what’s in this for these two. Why, if Butch Stewart only planned to build a hotel and got 40 years of deals, it stands to reason that these two must be demanding the equivalent of the deals they put together. Now that would only be fair.

Who would believe that Fumble, a man who appeared so black conscious would be in bed with white people at the expense of his black brothers! Wonders never cease.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have two granddaughters.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Prodigal Son

Greed, incompetence and desperation have no colour.

40. But Caswell, Bush Tea cannot be your friend, neither could he have your best interest at heart when every time he refers to your union in such terms………. “and you bout the place playing the ass with some half-dead union”…………………..

Wait, Bush Tea did not hear you on Brasstacks today……..letting us know of your success with the NIS Commissioner? How he could then call your union half dead? At least you are having some success, the same cannot be said of the BWU or NUPW now, can they!

LOL!!!!!!!!

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Thanks Prodigal

42. @ Prodigal
    Having Caswell committed to dealing with these petty problems is like using a Mercedes CLK to sell bread in Orange Hill.
    This man has YEARS of special preparation for our needs…. EXACTLY what we now need….

@ Caswell
    TWO granddaughters…?
    LOL….so THAT is what got you so mellow nowadays…. 🙂

Once upon a time you would have cussed Bushie longtime…. haha LOL

43. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Two grandsons as well.

44. Shiite man Caswell …..Bushie is beginning to see your problem yuh!! You and your whole family like wunna taking this Hoad goat-milk thing too far doh!! 🙂

What happen now is that you so happy playing grandpa that you ain’t really got no time dealing with brass bowls… BUT LETMUHTELLYA boss, it is BECAUSE of those grands that you need to step up to the plate and get BUP going….
    ….else by the time they pushing you around in a wheelchair the jackasses we got in Parliament will have them sold back into slavery just like their great great grand parents were….
    You can’t see that Sinckler now negotiating the terms under which he plans to sell your grand children to those two white Steward fellows …while the black Stuart sleeps…
    You cant see that, with the shiite tax he just implemented, by the time your grands grow up you will have handed your house over to Bizzy – instead of leaving it to them?
    …and don’t even let us talk bout the plan to buy an abandoned hotel…..

Who the hell do you expect to address these and other challenges to your little angels?…. Bushie?

45. Give it up Bushie! You know now that it’s too late to “save” B’dos (in fact you knew that for quite some time).

46. Father in heaven,deliver us from the Democratic Labour Party of Barbados early in your year 2015.

47. AMEN

48. Damn
    …Bushie was hoping that Ping Pong was not reading this thread…. 🙂

You are right of course.
    However it would have been so good to see Caswell give it a shot….

ahhh well….in Stuart we trust.

Amen.

49. The government floats some heavy duty Treasury Notes and Debentures. Do we have buyers?

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/12/29/govt-offers-debenture-and-treasury-note/

50. When will this promised NUPW strike occur. Are we so tired of the talk.