New York Caribbean Institute for Democracy (CGID) condemns Eric Garner Grand Jury decision, endorses federal probe and calls for immediate justice system reforms

Eric garner being choked to death by Officer Pantealeo
Eric Garner being choked to death by Officer Pantealeo

BROOKLYN: The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) condemns the decision by a Richmond County (Staten Island) grand jury, under the direction of republican District Attorney, Daniel Donovan, Jr., not to indict NYPD officer Daniel Pantaleo for using an illegal choke-hold to kill Eric Garner. This shocking and outrageous decision defies logic.

No one is oblivious of the fact that officer Pantaleo intentionally or recklessly killed Eric Garner . This horrific crime was witnessed by dozens of unbiased citizens and captured on video tape. The Medical Examiner of the City of New York ruled that Mr. Garner’s death was a homicide.

Yet, in the face of this incontrovertible evidence, D.A Donnovan refused to directly indict officer Pantaleo and allow the case to take its natural course with an ultimate jury or bench trial, as is done every day, in every other case. Instead, Mr. Donnovan engaged in a charade grand jury process – hiding his own congenital biases behind the majority white grand jury, while making a “wink and nod” submission to induce a predetermined non-indictment (“no true bill”).

Rickford Burke, CGID President

There is a proliferation of cases all across America where prosecutors, who do not genuinely wish to indict or prosecute Police officers who kill black men, supplant jury trails with secret grand jury proceedings. These “kangaroo” deliberations in fact serve as secret trials where prosecutors dump both incriminating and exculpatory evidence before the panel and prod jurors to use the standard of guilt or innocence to determine whether or not to indict. This was true in both the Eric Garner and Michael Brown cases. Ordinary citizens do not enjoy this privilege.

This abuse of the grand jury process renders our criminal justice system nugatory. A grand jury is not a trier of fact, or finder of fact. The singular, limited purpose of a grand jury is to investigate the potentiality of criminal conduct and determine if there is “probable cause” or a “sufficiency of evidence” to institute criminal charges.

This is a fraudulent and unjust practice that skews the process in favor of Police officers, and fundamentally changes the fairness and configuration of the American justice system. CGID believes that this practice violates the equal protection clause of the US Constitution, and is therefore unconstitutional.

Clearly, the republican law enforcement and prosecutorial complexes do not value black life. They see us as sub-humans who deserve to be gunned downed or treated like animals, with no accountability. We are disgusted with the phenomenon of white police officers who deliberately murder black men with impunity, being enabled by republican prosecutors who use grand juries, comprising individuals with potential prejudices, to decline indictments – Essentially manoeuvring to get them off. The black community can no longer sustain or tolerate this systematic killing.

There must be change now! Not tomorrow or sometime in the future, but now!  We have therefore written Governor Andrew Cuomo, the New York State Legislature and the New York City Council requesting that they enact the Eric Garner Law to ensure a fairer justice system and greater law enforcement accountability. We have proposed that the Garner Law mandates that:

Officer Daniel Pantaleo

(I)            Police officers must live within the five boroughs of the New York City.

(II)          Police officers who are found guilty of killing unarmed citizens must be personally liable for their own defense and civil penalties.

(III)         Police officers cannot use deadly force in situations where unarmed suspects pose no threat to themselves or others but must employ non-lethal methods to subdue unarmed, non-violent subjects, and must be thoroughly trained in these areas as well as in de-escalation tactics.

(IV)         The Governor shall appoints a special prosecutor to investigate and prosecute allegations of Police abuse or misconduct that result in death or serious injury, and that other cases involving the use of excessive force must either be indicted directed by the District Attorney or be subjected to a preliminary/probable cause hearing by a judge.

(v)        Police officer must be equipped with body cameras.

<

p align=”justify”>We will be engaging the Governor and our State and City representatives on this proposal.

131 responses to “Eric Garner Choked to Death by Police Officers Galvanises Protests Nationwide–Call to Enact Eric Garner Law”

1. racist text messages

what does apples and black people have in common.
    they all hang from trees, text message from police officers to protect and serve

2. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

Problem is Africans are working for Europeans in America and are dependent on them to act right and fair just for a chance of survival

The system is spitting them out

http://youtu.be/tCncZJOOfIs

3. Reading the blog posts above is very interesting.

As AC said and which also has been bellowed from other sources over these many days: Racism is America never went away.

So when Pieces invokes Malcolm and Martin to ask what has changed it’s easy to point out a contradiction: a lot has changed and yet nothing has changed.

Currently the President, 43 members in the US House of Reps and 1 Senator are black. There are black CEOs of Fortune 500 publicly traded companies, several very successful black owned companies and thousands of black millionaires from the ranks of sports, entertainment and business. MAJOR, major change.

However, blacks still make up a disproportionate number of those on welfare or deep in the throes of near-poverty and we still disproportionately populate the jails. Blacks are still struggling educationally due to the issues of poverty. It is too long list …

So, Mr. Piece, last year marked 50 years that Dr. King, eloquently derided racial discrimination in “I Have a Dream” .

The marches have continued and will for another 50 years unless and until, in the words of Michael Jackson, WHITES AND BLACKS can:

“…make a change
    For once in my life..
    It’s gonna feel real good
    Gonna make a difference
    Gonna make it right…

I’m starting with the man in the mirror
    I’m asking him to change his ways
    And no message could have been any clearer
    If you want to make the world a better place
    Take a look at yourself, and then make a change

4. Have any of you had encounters with police in North America?

5. Hants

Let me put it this way: prior to the profiling laws in this America, it was the common practice for the racist white cops in this country to have a young black male pulled up on the side of the street. But not so much the black female; it was black male these racists white cops fear the most. I have been stopped numerous times by the white racist Gestapo in the country and for what most African Americans coned (DRIVING WHILE BLACK) It was quite easy for a white cop to stop a black guy during the 1980s because all he had was to do is, drive a nice car; date a white girl. Or have the unfortunate pleasure of driving through a white neighborhood at night.

6. And it makes you sick to your stomach to know that some of these racist F..kers, vacation in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

That take a look at yourself in the mirror and make a change speaks to a pacifist type strategy that MAY work among reasoned men.

I am afraid that when one looks into the eyes of this beast, what you are proposing sounds like disarmament in the face of the night of the long knives and I do recall that even Ester ‘s husband and king issued orders to provide arms to the Jews.

Piece too believes in Peace but unlike the enlightened sage who lays down in the forest so the hungry lion could eat, I am not so nirvana-esque in how I would suggest that such is achieved and err on the side of By Any Phrygian Means Necessary.

Even the Master Jesus while turning the other cheek, threw the money changers out of the temple

Like I have said before, whites understand losses to their pockets and in their homes only.

Anything else is a wasteful esoteric discourse

8. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

Thanks you (and David[BU] for the paste ( and instructions) de ole man only a customer to the Gestetner Duplicator

Yes. To your query yes.

And in fairness to them, over the course of the years, the nature of the encounters, and their frequency have decreased

For example, pulled over for driving too expensive a convertible ride, or the famous “black man in a Pathfinder must be a pimp/drug dealer” or this is just a random search, or what is the nature of your business in these here parts? I live here, you can’t be serious, where is your id? Any other proof of address? Or what is a Jamaican doing in these here parts (redneck in Virginia) , assume the position…

But what happens Hants is that it morps into a different animal for, as your tweeds get more GQ, and/or you move to more cosmopolitan cities, the Barney a Finch cops don’t mess with you but the silent corporate assassins start off where the Wilson Assassin Cops left off, exclusive clubs, (white) members only, restricted high schools, colleges, being overlooked for jobs yet being required to train the person they hired in what you were qualified for but was not a job for you Nigeria, membership has its privileges

Malcolm X speaks of the token nigga in 1963 and that is still what we are.

How do we change it ?

“Constantly On”

Actively Spending money among the best of our own. No sire I have qualified that internal spend, not willy billy black support, but only supporting our best, demanding that we be principled and rewarding those qualities with our tangible and intangible support

That is this ole man’s cry till I die “Constantly On” whoever thar be something black of hope and excellence, I swear I will support it anything else and it will attract my ire.

It don’t take much for a black successful male to attract the scope of haters so we have to guard against the paedophilia suspicions, Michael J, the love children, Jesse Jackson, the drug abuse, the rape charges, Tyson now Cosby cause dem done bin hate you already and once you phvck up dem going carry you to the bone…you uppity nigga you..

9. Isnt it interesting how all of a sudden Cosby is being verbally attacked? Yeah, these women, years ago, in setting up their careers, went to a mans hotel room to talk and have coffee.

‘Hey, sweetie, lets go to my hotel room. Just you and me, and we can have tea and biscuits.’

A-huh. Give me a break.

10. Just to say it again, this is why when a fella tells wunna to pick up a machete, or gun, to go for another, tell him to xxss off.

Men killing men, to make the wealthy who own shares in arms companies, wealthier,

Bunch of morons. Same fuh dem ‘de Imam tell me is a Jihad’ morons.

Killing others because someone joker tell dem dey will get 72 virgins after.

Look, go find a sweet woman, gods greatest creation, enjoy wid she, an work hard an live peaceful.

When an idjut tell you dat we need strife because a someone, tell dem go do sumting bout it, you busy wid yuh sweetness woman.

Geddit??

11. What I do find interesting is this. At each of these scenes, there was recorded ‘evidence’.

Yes, with cell phones etc is possible. But, interesting that the footage is so readily available, no?

Sure its not deliberate….stir the pot? Someone stirring it up?

Just wondering.

12. hidden inside the belly of the beast is where all this evil lies, there was a time when abuse was legal and every man jack and child took advantage that open season on blacks was fair game……then some genius decided that new laws to protect were to be put in place to rectify and correct ,, now racist outlaws have embedded themselves armed with these new laws embolden and embedded .with certainty having proof which gives them a right and legal status….. requiring them no longer to sneak out in the dead of night cover in white sheets with burning crosses to do their dastardly act,

13. In Kenya, police kill suspects with near-impunity

http://news.yahoo.com/kenya-police-kill-suspects-near-impunity-095938882.html

14. A nation of Europeans, Asians, Africans, and Native-Americans co-existing peacefully and equally is like trying to create a new climatic season made up of a little bit of winter, a little bit of spring, a little bit of summer and a little bit of autumn. Just can’t happen; impossible.
    We have tried for over 400 years and failed. Legislation is not the answer; body cameras are not the answer; infact, there is no answer; that is why good old Marcus Garvey, many years ago, and ahead of his time, had encouraged the free Negro to return from where he was stolen: Africa. It was trure then; it is true today; and it will still be true tomorrow when another black man is killed, for no reason, by another white man.

The creator was so aware of this that he purposely placed white folks in Europe – in the north; Asians in Asia – in the east; Aficans in Africa – in the south; and Native-Americans in the Americas – in the west; and assigned to them different periods to be dominant. But when the European violated that convention, in the 15th century, and stole lands that weren’t his, all hell broke loose; and today we find overselves in this mess. But it still isn’t too late for the blackman to consider returning from where he came: Africa.

15. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

I lived in Teaneck NJ when 16 year old was shot by Police and heard the shots (1990). Turns out he was shot in back with hands up and coroner lied

Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson helped his parents and whites supported Police
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phillip_Pannell_shooting_incident

I have been stopped for driving home at 3am
    tailgating police
    speeding, at same speed as everyone else

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caribbean lover

Which Bible, Koran or History book you read that give you that version about the world apportioned out according to ….??

17. This is more than black or white.

It is also happening in ‘black’ countries with black police being corrupt and beating/killing black civilians.

Man is a very corrupt animal and when given a gun and a little authority use their ignorance to destroy others.

America is often highlighted because of global media reach.

MOST Police officers worldwide at the lower ranks are what we would determine to be failures at high schools for example needing 3 ‘O’ levels.

They are not highly paid and largely are more criminal that the people they pursue.

Everywhere including locally Police takes bribes daily, beat civilians and in some cases fabricate charges and evidence.

They seem to get away with it at will.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

See Anthony’s post re black on black crime in Africa?

When I take a look in the mirror that is what I see, my Africa, and what fuels my so called self deprecating statements re why “we are a race not far removed from monkeys and chimps”

“Canon to the right of them canon to the left of them, volleyed and thundered…..”

19. The blackman has been resourceful and great contrbutors to building the wealth of the US A .so why should american blacks and all blacks run like defeated dogs leaving all that they have made to happen and what litle they achieved in these countries for thede racist bastards to enjoy..the time is fast approaching when a world wide ground swell of disenchanment would uproot and remove

20. @ AC

There will never be a sustainable ground swell by the black man.

The world as we know it evolves around greed and materialism.

Things will die down in America and there will be business as usual.

I have seen these events played out many times before.

I thought that it was because of slavery being the primary reason the FACT REMAIN THAT BLACKS DESTROYS EACH OTHER especially in Africa which did not have to deal with slavery on a large scale on its own continent.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright | December 6, 2014 at 2:44 AM

No sir, not pacifist at all.

You label yourself as being familiar with the ‘Gestetner Duplicator’ and thereby we know you are about 110 (LOL) but as old as u try to fool us that u be, you are astute enough to use this modern stuff.

Pieces, this fight requires both sides of the dynamic people like us (I remember it too) bring to the table: introspection of years of experience and that vibrant militancy of the youth brigade.

Those who ” start.. with the man in the mirror” and get him to “change his ways” have been the better leaders in this fight.

Nothing more than a first step. But an important first step.

Go back to Malcolm. He looked ‘into the mirror’ when he made his pilgrimage and after that self epiphany became perhaps the MOST important black voice in the 60’s struggle ..He spoke eloquently of self growth.

And he certainly was NOT all about peace. But he also no longer spewed the flawed rhetoric that all white people were devils. He became a better and more nuanced leader.

That sir is the mirror image of which I speak. Let Charles Barkely – a man who had such anger issues that he would spit in a fan’s face, throw an opposing African (during Olympics) player around like a rag doll – clean his mirror before he expounds on race issues.

Until more rabid racists on both sides of the divide look in and see that you are inherently labeling yourself as ‘scum’ when you call someone else a ‘scumbag’ — a word used by Easy here and Charles Barkely on TV –the marches themselves will be powerful but change little.

We marched on Washington in ’63, In Selma, in Birmingham, we marched in Soweto, in Brixton and marches will undoubtedly continue.

We have more millionaires, elected a President, heralded a black-female astronaut, but racism is becoming much more entrenched in our society NOT less so.

So unless we continue with self growth and cut the insane rhetoric even as do the other things, David will be hosting these SAME debates 10, 15 years from now.

22. Blacks discriminate against each other based on what skin tone they have, and positions in society.

Not saying that it makes it right for any race.

However until we stop practicing hypocrisy there will continue to be these types of killings world wide and police of ALL colours getting away with lies, bribes, beatings, setups and murder.

You have to ask yourself when all of these events takes place in America why don’t the black police officers don’t resign or speak out.

They don’t because they become part of a VERY CORRUPT system where they themselves do wrong and can’t afford to have their ‘skeletons’ exposed.

23. Well said. folks

People are animals regardless of race. And that is just the point.

A racist cop is a racist cop. Some come in white, some come in black, some also ‘yellow’,

We need to see it for what it is. Not all of any race are bad and the races are more alike than different.

That’s why people here make no sense to me when they label every white voice with disdain or every black voice with contempt.

All that says is that you are also as racist as the person you condemn.

Look how far that has got us!

24. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Dee
    Your petticoat is showing
    You remind me of that patronising white guy
    with your POV

25. @Dee Word

Surely you have simplified the issue by your last comment?

26. @pieceuhderockyeahright
    “Which Bible, Koran or History book you read that give you that version about the world apportioned out according to ….??”

Are you one of those negros who is so ashamed of being black that you cannot even entertain the thought of returning to Africa from where your forefathers were stolen?
    The Children of Israel didn’t choose to stay in Egypt after their 480 years of slavery ended. They went back to where they had come from; and later gave us the Bible which you are now referring to.
    Before the European decided to venture outside of Europe, in the late 15th century, did you ever hear of mix races trying to form societies? For the most part Asians stayed in Asia, Africans stayed in Africa, etc., etc.
    So don’t be gullible, use the brain that the Lord God Almighty gave you, and you would never have to ask me such a stupid question.

27. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Judas And Jesus
    http://youtu.be/ED_fIxPFcoM

28. NYC officer cleared in chokehold death was sued by other black men.

In June 2013, Darren Collins, 46, and Tommy Rice, 42, filed a federal lawsuit against Pantaleo and a group of other New York police officers.

Collins and Rice claimed the officers stopped them as they drove on a Staten Island road. The men were ordered out of the car and handcuffed, despite a lack of reason to believe they had committed a crime, the lawsuit claimed.

Pantaleo and the other officers (you know that there was also black officers among them) also strip searched the men in public while they were handcuffed, the lawsuit claimed.

It also claimed that Pantaleo provided false evidence against the men and that he and the other officers arrested the men to meet quotas and collect overtime, among other reasons.

Charges against Collins and Rice were later dismissed and sealed in Richmond County Criminal Court.

The city settled the lawsuit in January, according to court filings. The terms were not disclosed.

http://news.yahoo.com/nyc-officer-cleared-chokehold-death-sued-other-black-204814547.html

29. @ AC
    “The blackman has been resourceful and great contrbutors to building the wealth of the US A .so why should american blacks and all blacks run like defeated dogs leaving all….”

Lot’s wife made this same argument when they were asked to leave Sodom & Gormorrah shortly before it was destroyed in 1716BC. It was just to hard to leave the materialism behind. Now you know what happened to her right? So, be careful. God gives and he takes away.

30. @Caribbean Lover
    But it still isn’t too late for the blackman to consider returning from where he came: Africa
    ++++++++++++
    Leh me know which piece of turf you have staked out for us and I will give it some thought but I notice that you haven’t made a similar request of the Europeans who displaced the natives in North and South America or do you concede that all is lost to them?

Many people have this romantic notion that “Africa” has the welcome mat out for us because many of us share the same basic skin covering as the majority and the residents will greet us with smiles and hugs while shouting “welcome home brothers/sisters”. Nothing could be further from the truth as we lack the most basic of elements important to the majority of “Africans” i.e. culture and language.

If you want to visit go ahead but remember this quote attributed to Benjamin Franklin “Guests, like fish, begin to smell after three days”.

31. Easy, my friend, that’s all right if y petticoat is showing.

I have lived long enough and read enough to understand that Malcolm X is a real, more complete person about whom I can ask my kids to emulate, as I can teach them also about Dr. King and Abe Lincoln as role models.

All people with flaws but who spoke with balance and a desire to see a way forward for the races.

You sir would lead us all to destruction with your hateful speech. Hate speech is the same whether is from the KKK or if its from the Black Panthers.

If you can’t understand that how can you hold yourself as a leader of a discourse.

Being rude comes easy to you. Such a waste of your obvious skill and ability.

More power to you, however. In another life I’m sure you are a cool guy.

32. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dee Word

You are expounding on self introspection which many of us, having gone through, successfully or unsuccessfully, depending on the perspective of the viewer, may either be poor, peaceful and polite or veer on the side of “radical”.

There is a place and time for ANGRY BLACK MEN like Charles Barkley because, being a wuss, has no effect to engender meaningful dialogue with many of these peoples. Can you dig it?

Do you think that Lady Hog, Sir Charles’ wife, has any respect for the peaceable conformist and ass lickers? Has she changed her ways with regard to we nigras?

Are you married, Dee Word?

Someone like Sir Charles’ wife goes to your wife’s place of business , unilaterally accuses de madam of dumping her garbage at Hoggie’s property and then brings two goons to teach de madam a lesson in garbage collection by dumping the garbage on your wife’s business’ counter.

The police, the same one’s that arrested Omar for his online comments about Nuff Teets Lashley, see the video, yet, while relying on laws of illegal dumping, coupled with this newly established Evidence Act, per video and photographs, what do they do?

You understanding my drift? So much righteous indignation for fellow blacks in the United States of Amurica and none for our own issues here, “…poor little lambs who have lost our way, bye bye bye…”

As to my pseudonym and real identity, undoubtedly many who how the ole man is, I have grown not to care much about that for in the grand scheme of things, I am not important really, identities can be shared through blackbirds, robins, hummingbirds and wrens disclosing alter egos jes because someone wants to be in the know.

At the end of the day though, when we “look at ourselves in that mirror” we either see that all this commentary is either (i) because we do love Bulbados or (ii) that we have come here to show how astounding magnificent we are with our command of the phrygian English language and recall of other men’s/women’s biographies.

Or (iii) lost Haldol users like Equus africanus asinus

I may continue to fool myself that this media can be used to keep the fvckers honest, or that they are fearful that WHEN they foul up, concerned citizens will publish all of their business for all to see, for across the world in civilized cvntries, where an infelicity causes a representative to resign from office, it becomes a badge of honour here in Bulbados!!

Ya feel me?

33. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Charles Barclay, Al Sharpton, Black Racism are all examples of views touted in Right Wing White biased media, missing crux of this issue, police harassment violence and racism against Blacks and corrupted Courts. Acknowledging the problem is first step. When you establish Police are biased and racist next step is realise police are members of public and reflect public’s racism

http://youtu.be/OfRqJj2dMjU

34. @Dee Word
    I may be projecting here but as it relates to hate speech, I recall you not having the same restraint when it comes to do with Islam and Muslims.

35. “If I could save the Union without freeing any slave I would do it,…”

Abraham Lincoln a role model?

36. Thanks Pieces, I never knew or cared about Barkley’s wife. Just learned something.

You omitted a word in your description of Barkley “UNCOUTH” ANGRY BLACK MAN.

BTW this was a wonderful rejoinder to Barkley, if you missed it: http://ftw.usatoday.com/2014/12/kenny-smith-charles-barkley-ferguson-open-letter-exclusive

If being a WUSS means you don’t call people scum bags, or spit in their face, then I plead guilty as charged.

I come here to see and behold, because I love the BU discourse and occasionally to show my petticoat.

And yes to see who has been the latest one to f-up. Not sure how much mediums like this put the fear of God into the leaders really cause they still doing their nonsense.

Maybe a ring of hackers or a Snowden type info dump would put the cat among the pigeons in B’dos.

But then again such an action could break our country never to be repaired. The reputations that would be ripped apart would be too much.

37. @Carib..lover

except what u have failed to include in your narrative is the total destruction of cities which left nothing behind for man !woman ! or beast to unilaterally own meaning that the opposite effect of blacks returning to Africa would be counter productive and self defeating in part by giving up the struggle and gains made..and leaving everything of what the earned to their abusers clear and free

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ “Caribbean Lover”

Your pseudonym, given your proposal of “Back to Africa” the two when juxtaposed, seem like an oxymoron.

De old man too ole to go back to anywhere other than back to the earth that we all were created from.

If we think that choke holds by US State Police, Baygon in plastic bags by the Royal Barbados Police Force and other infelicities (by our spartan, local political representatives, abetted by government servants, and paid off by private sector companies) are bad, then we would have a conniption in your “Back to Africa’ construct exacerbated by famine, inequity, civil war and real political thievery.

No boasie why you ent want de ole man to stan’ heah?

39. Caribbean Lover Avatar

@ Sargeant
    “…but I notice that you haven’t made a similar request of the Europeans who displaced the natives in North and South America or do you concede that all is lost to them?”

Sargeant, the European stranglehold on North, Central, and South America is temporary. And as soon as the Native-American rise again (don’t forget everything is cyclical), it’s all over for the European that is now dominant.
    For instance, with the Italian invasion of Ethiopia in 1935, every, and I mean every square inch of the African continent had come under European rule. Now, fast forward to 2014; can you name any African country still under Europeans rule, politically? The answer is NONE; and the same will happen in the Americas.

Now you are asking me which piece of turf I have staked out in Africa for returning negros and all kinds of other silly questions. Sargeant, if you and AC and others think it’s a crime to return to our forefather’s land, let us stop complaining about our treatment at the hands of white folks in this part of the world and take it like men.

This is my last blog on the subject.

40. @ MistaBlack | December 6, 2014 at 1:31 PM ..

Think you got the wrong brother there re “…restraint when it comes to do with Islam and Muslims”

Don’t recall making any remarks about religion in that regard. But if you mean what went down with Malcolm and Nation of Islam, then still perplexed.

Awesome quote: “If I could save the Union without freeing any slave I would do it,…”

If you don’t appreciate the context of the statement and want to hold it as a standalone to make a point, then please go right ahead. That makes for a un-fulfilling and meaningless discourse.

I never said Abe Lincoln was perfect as neither was Dr.King, Nelson Mandela, Errol Barrow, Tom Adams etc.

They have all done bad things and said things that taken out of context would make them very despicable people. Like US all.

So yes, role models indeed. Live the good, understand and push aside the bad.

41. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Africa should be the spiritual home in identity and aspirations of Black people around the world and there should be same unity with own people as Europeans have

http://youtu.be/YID9z13ypuE

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Worth of A Negro.

A Slave in the 1800’s could have fetched US $800 to $1200 depending on their age, physical condition and stature. And when massa killed them they were property and there were no rights afforded chattel.

My apologies to all negroes and to the family of Michael Brown regarding the following statement which will deem insensitive

Michael Brown, thug that he might have been, potential jail statistic that he might have been (pre)destined to become, might, if his execution is not allowed to become a “9 day wonder”,a statement that a recent BU submitter coined, may be worth more to the US Nation, and the western world, dead, post this summary execution, than he was potentially worth in life.

Let us be dispassionate for a few seconds. A cop tells your (black) ass to move from where you are, you move, especially if he is white.

Rely on a camcorder, your android Frisk and Search app or something to carry to court, witnesses etc, but if you talk back, and you is alone, you is looking to be beaten, raped with a broomstick, or kilt. That is Simple Maths 101

How does this become a watershed moment for US, Canadian, English non whites in the western hemisphere, “a Time for Change” then?

How does it trickle into the economic, social, political hallways where, instead of body cameras to ensure civil rights for non whites (and others), body cameras which a smart cop can contrive to immobilize prior to/during an “altercation” and/or prior to a deadly force incident (remember how all eight dash cameras on PO vehicles that responded to the incident where a white news crew was filming an undercover cop who was suspected of abusing public resources)?

We all know how many laws are on the statute books in the USA (and Bulbados) that purportedly afford due process and other (civil) rights, but even at 2014, are blatantly being ignored/circumvented.

What happens now?

Will it be just another talk session and will new soldiers become frustrated like James L Farmer activist of renown who became Assistant Secretary in the Department of Health, Education and Welfare under Nixon in 1969 and, having been frustrated by the Nixon word song, resigned in 1970 when he complained that Nixon had virtually no contact with blacks and instead relied on Leonard Garment, a white aide, to explain black problems to him.

You must understand the white mind which is one that say “Racism has been around for four hunred years Bubba en no uppity nigra, with sit-ins and die ins going change these here United States of Amurica cause one of our boys don made a mistake when he kilt him this trash…”

43. @Caribbean Lover
    if you and AC and others think it’s a crime to return to our forefather’s land

Who said it is a crime? I said it was a romantic notion lacking in any context or originality which some dream up as the salve to apply to the wounds we suffer in North America. People have been on the move for centuries, we didn’t come here of our own free will but now we are here this is where we intend to stay (speaking for myself and countless others), the fight isn’t over by any means but you are free to spread your wings and travel back to the land of your forefathers as you wish

44. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

“A Slave in the 1800’s could have fetched US $800 to $1200 ”

=

That was a lot in those days maybe $25,000 to $50,000 todays worth

Blacks don’t realise their true strength & power if they united world over, which is why they are divided and ruled

http://www.measuringworth.com/slavery.php

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The way I propose to “travel back to Africa” is by contributing to black “power”, which de ole man defines as a sense of self worth, unity, national contribution, cohesion for persons in the castle of my skin.

In “touching” the lives and minds of niggers like me with this ethos so that men like Kenyatta, Mugabe and others in the castle of my skin stop raping my brothers and sisters in the dark continent and use the resources that abound in Africa to empower us “wherever WE may go”

So when Caribbean Lover intones that lie about “fast forward to 2104 to a time where no European power is politically in charge of one African State, I say that they are a Phrygian liar because, Whitey is now embodied, yea even 10 times concentrated, in those who are “in the castle of my skin”

The veritable “Enemy Within”

46. Local police have framed and killed a lot of their own blacks.

I have never seen any real outrage and protests.

Instead of pointing fingers we need to clean our own backyard.

47. Let’s also not forget the beatings, plastic bags with baygon spray and the kicking in the testicles of black men

48. http://www.democracynow.org/2014/12/5/did_the_nypd_let_eric_garner?autostart=true

The very nature of racism, crypto-racism, depends on those who rejects obvious truths as they support their people, White people.

In the above clip a former NYC detective adumbrates the ongoing Apartheid system in the USA and NY in particular. For racism always means that White people are prepared to use their power to maintain elements of a system as first constructed about 500 years ago.

This officer is rightly arguing, as a witness, that all the policing systems occur within an environment of structural racism. In short, it is no more than the perpetuation of a slave system which the US Constitution, viz a viz the Dredd Scott Decision of 1857, legitimated and continue to this date – 2014 and beyond.

Is it any wonder that White people were the last to stop supporting the South African Apartheid regime. Or Rhodesia, Or Palestine…………….

49. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Piece, you may never “return” to Africa, but it should be part of your make up as the African is in you. It’s worth going on a luxury safari trip, just to check it
    http://youtu.be/1_welAMSa2w

50. Pachamama | December 6, 2014 at 4:25 PM |

http://www.democracynow.org/2014/12/5/did_the_nypd_let_eric_garner?autostart=true

Thanks for the video.

As you can see there are BLACK police officers there and they did nothing.

None has resigned in protest.

Ferguson, has 53 officers with 3 being black.

None resigned or spoke out.

BLACKS POLICE ON ACTIVE DUTY are COWARDS and COMPLICIT all over the US watch and assist daily with their own black civilians murdered & setup daily.

This ‘former’ cop in this clip is only talking because he is no longer on active duty.

He is part of the problem.

I am sure that he never spoke out during his time on active duty when other murders and setups took place when he was there in uniform.