New York Caribbean Institute for Democracy (CGID) condemns Eric Garner Grand Jury decision, endorses federal probe and calls for immediate justice system reforms

Eric garner being choked to death by Officer Pantealeo
Eric Garner being choked to death by Officer Pantealeo

BROOKLYN: The New York Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) condemns the decision by a Richmond County (Staten Island) grand jury, under the direction of republican District Attorney, Daniel Donovan, Jr., not to indict NYPD officer Daniel Pantaleo for using an illegal choke-hold to kill Eric Garner. This shocking and outrageous decision defies logic.

No one is oblivious of the fact that officer Pantaleo intentionally or recklessly killed Eric Garner . This horrific crime was witnessed by dozens of unbiased citizens and captured on video tape. The Medical Examiner of the City of New York ruled that Mr. Garner’s death was a homicide.

Yet, in the face of this incontrovertible evidence, D.A Donnovan refused to directly indict officer Pantaleo and allow the case to take its natural course with an ultimate jury or bench trial, as is done every day, in every other case. Instead, Mr. Donnovan engaged in a charade grand jury process – hiding his own congenital biases behind the majority white grand jury, while making a “wink and nod” submission to induce a predetermined non-indictment (“no true bill”).

Rickford Burke, CGID President

There is a proliferation of cases all across America where prosecutors, who do not genuinely wish to indict or prosecute Police officers who kill black men, supplant jury trails with secret grand jury proceedings. These “kangaroo” deliberations in fact serve as secret trials where prosecutors dump both incriminating and exculpatory evidence before the panel and prod jurors to use the standard of guilt or innocence to determine whether or not to indict. This was true in both the Eric Garner and Michael Brown cases. Ordinary citizens do not enjoy this privilege.

This abuse of the grand jury process renders our criminal justice system nugatory. A grand jury is not a trier of fact, or finder of fact. The singular, limited purpose of a grand jury is to investigate the potentiality of criminal conduct and determine if there is “probable cause” or a “sufficiency of evidence” to institute criminal charges.

This is a fraudulent and unjust practice that skews the process in favor of Police officers, and fundamentally changes the fairness and configuration of the American justice system. CGID believes that this practice violates the equal protection clause of the US Constitution, and is therefore unconstitutional.

Clearly, the republican law enforcement and prosecutorial complexes do not value black life. They see us as sub-humans who deserve to be gunned downed or treated like animals, with no accountability. We are disgusted with the phenomenon of white police officers who deliberately murder black men with impunity, being enabled by republican prosecutors who use grand juries, comprising individuals with potential prejudices, to decline indictments – Essentially manoeuvring to get them off. The black community can no longer sustain or tolerate this systematic killing.

There must be change now! Not tomorrow or sometime in the future, but now!  We have therefore written Governor Andrew Cuomo, the New York State Legislature and the New York City Council requesting that they enact the Eric Garner Law to ensure a fairer justice system and greater law enforcement accountability. We have proposed that the Garner Law mandates that:

Officer Daniel Pantaleo

(I)            Police officers must live within the five boroughs of the New York City.

(II)          Police officers who are found guilty of killing unarmed citizens must be personally liable for their own defense and civil penalties.

(III)         Police officers cannot use deadly force in situations where unarmed suspects pose no threat to themselves or others but must employ non-lethal methods to subdue unarmed, non-violent subjects, and must be thoroughly trained in these areas as well as in de-escalation tactics.

(IV)         The Governor shall appoints a special prosecutor to investigate and prosecute allegations of Police abuse or misconduct that result in death or serious injury, and that other cases involving the use of excessive force must either be indicted directed by the District Attorney or be subjected to a preliminary/probable cause hearing by a judge.

(v)        Police officer must be equipped with body cameras.

<

p align=”justify”>We will be engaging the Governor and our State and City representatives on this proposal.

131 responses to “Eric Garner Choked to Death by Police Officers Galvanises Protests Nationwide–Call to Enact Eric Garner Law”

1. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (make no riot)

2104 Hicksville USA
    120-mile Ferguson march met with display of a melon, fried chicken, a 40oz beer and racist counter-protesters in rural Missouri by in bred white trash

1989 Flashback
    Similar to Yusef Hawkins protests in Brooklyn organised by the Righteous Advocate for Black Victims (Ally Al). Yusef Hawkins was chased by 30 white youths with baseball bats and then shot 4 times

http://www.people.com/people/archive/article/0,,20117855,00.html

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

sounds like Barbados , shut up and let me do what i want ‘ Ministers,
    Say nothing to nothing i say or do , Ministers
    You all dont know nothing about law and government , I do as i please Ministers,
    Who dont agree with the laws use to our own bottom line to bad fa -wana , Ministers ,
    We will send the Police for wana speaking out against the crime we doing , As long as we Ministers doing it ,,, It not a crime ,
    You fools voted for us , you took out money, we bought your votes so now you all part of the fraud , So wana shut up now and go along with what ever we do ,
    We got wana drunk , we play music , had a good time , Now its out turn and time for 5 years ,
    So suffa , we know by next election half will die at the QEH and the new voters we can buy them with TOP up from LIME and DIGI Cell
    We have the Barbados Police in our pocket , we not going to appoint no one as COP only acting so he can be another DOTTIN COP EX ,
    If you dont behave we will never make you COP ,
    We are in charge of our own crimes,
    Slave fight for freedom and what do free people fight for? to be slaves?

Vote Better Next time , Vote the CUP

3. Hell, even former President George Bush get it. The struggle continues.

4. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Delroy Wilson Cool Operator
    Call On Me
    Better Must Come
    I Shall Not Remove

http://youtu.be/VboW3jYIyCc

5. Have a very Merry Christmas
    Happy Kwanzaa
    Great Hannukah

6. Kangaroo Court ! corrupt justice systems all shades of the days of KKK a blackman choked to death in the street .A victim cry goes unheard and still crying out for justice,

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“Constantly On”

There is no doubt that the spate of state sanctioned illegal executions of non Caucasian persons will galvanize the commencement of reform of these pernicious long standing practices across Amurica and hopefully Englant and Canada.

I say commence because while they can’t sit back in the face of this groundswell and do nothing what I expect is that they will pretend to begin something and it will end up as a waste foop full of hot air…

Forgive my cynicism but what we are fighting against is micro cellular and not taking down a dis functional Xmas tree light

Interestingly enough I just saw that the American Civil Liberties Union has developed a free application called Stop and Frisk which allows citizens to not only record instances where they are accosted by cops and potential executors but immediately allows you to upload it to the ACLU website on the Internet which negates cops taking your phone and deleting your video

We need that type of app for Bulbados which will allow people to record the hog type manners of Bajan public servants and post the public/private servant/citizen behavior actions here on BU (potentially a lot more work for BU but we would know that NISE with their Percy the Pig ads and role would never rise up to the sole defense we are left with of Shame and Blame

8. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Everything I Do
    Full Time Cameras on Police will keep ’em in check

The Upsetters-Everything I Do Dub
    http://youtu.be/3iE1r5aMjis

9. ” I expect is that they will pretend to begin something and it will end up as a waste foop full of hot air”

Remind you of a government near you?…

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I do not understand wunna people. Where in that pic you see a white man choking a black man? The man has his hands around the choke of an animal with black skin. He was preventing the black animal from biting and injuring himself. He decided to kill the black animal because it has been decreed to use excessive force by any means necessary to kill-out these destructive black animals. The man was just following orders. Can’t you see the system spoke loud to that effect. EXTERMINATION OF THE BLACK ANIMALS AT ALL COST because they deserve it. These black animals are the scum of the earth and are good for nothing. The man did his job. He kill a black animal. End of story.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ bookworm

…and a Bulbados police force…

Remember the young man from Nelson Street who “exsanguinated ” on Mrs Ram’s store property on Bay Street during a breaking and entry (according to the investigating police) with a series of impossible wounds (as stated by the coroners ‘ office)?

But you already know that don’t you?

12. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Hey scavengers, hey scavengers
    Hey vampires out there

Rats invade the corn field
    Eating up the sufferers’ meals

Everyday is not the same song
    Everyday they cut another version

East west north, east west south
    The world is roundabout
    East west north, east west south
    People keep speaking out

Every man have his own opinion
    Everyone want to reign dominion
    But Jah Jah set a super trap
    To catch all you bionic rats

“Bionic Rats” – Lee Perry

http://youtu.be/GlT_EecEU3g

13. Oh dear….the post and comments are so predictable. There is much more to discuss than the standard wailing trivia…..”an animal in black skin” – Lord give it a break.

14. “State sanctioned illegal executions”

Pieceuh….I thought you at least had a brain.

15. @Sunshine Sunny Shine, very putrid post!

16. Does the black female officer who seemed in charge have any responsibility

17. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You people are so frigging dumb. Read the subliminal message in the write up and stop with the literal and emotional interpretation. You think the SSS, black too the bone, would insult my own, though we does do a lot of shite…Stuuupse look read from a different point of view.cud Gawd man..

18. Still trying to cover up this insanity .mayor guillanna comments are startling !frightening ! engaging in hate speech giving right to police thugs to kill first and then ask questions while ignoring the basic human rights of the victims and placing the blame

19. RIP Eric Garner …this death will be a catalyst for change certainly in NY and very likely throughout the US with the Grand Jury process.

Let’s also be clear that grand juries have returned indictments against cops but for all practical purposes most of those cases where ones which the evidence unequivocally showed excessive force or other basis to return the indictment (true bill) verdict.

These recommendations by the CGID are solid and some less so.

— “Police officers must live within the five boroughs of the New York City.

This call goes back many, many years. Currently they have to live in city or one of few surrounding counties. Useful, but no big impact one way or other.

— “Police officers… must be personally liable for their own defense…

Understand the push back to make the PO feel personally liable and curb supposed hasty actions but this is impractical.

—-“Police cannot use deadly force … thoroughly trained.. in de-escalation tactics.

Make sense. Retraining already started in NYC.

— “The Governor shall appoint a special prosecutor …

This has legs and apparently the Gov is already calling for same thing. We’ll see how it goes. The US generally has a love affair with the Spec. Pro. process as a political hammer. The PBA union will push back hard on this no doubt.

—- “Police officer must be equipped with body cameras.

This obviously makes sense and is already in place in other jurisdictions and should be fully implemented in NY by mid or end of next year.

This will not solve all problems however. The straight-on POV camera view will show a lot but will also not show a lot.

In some cases seeing only what the PO is seeing (particularity very close up) may prove they were justified in their action when a broader view may prove otherwise.

But changes are afoot. That’s a great thing.

This forced change in mind-set alone will save lives.

20. Easy Squeeze (make no riot) Avatar

Reverend Al Sharpton would flush out White Spies and Haters
    http://youtu.be/N3UbSzkErWU

21. @lawson December 5, 2014 at 10:15 AM …Does the black female officer who seemed in charge have any responsibility

As the leader of the crew on site she obviously will have to answer to her superiors.

But what are to trying to Ob-Fuk-cate with this.

The officer who locked off the man’s neck is responsible for this debacle and all others there that day will feel the heat on their careers.

But whether they were all black or purple that’s doesn’t change this situation one little iota.

May have changed the rhetoric of course but the fundamentals remain the same: The POs need to rethink how they engage just as citizens need to be practical and responsible with them.

22. Let us give thanks Americans in dozens of cities across the USA see merit in protesting against an obvious distrust between minorities and the police. The last big name to recognize the problem is Hillary Clinton.

23. These are Dompey’s wonderful US cops who are so intelligent all over the country.

24. First of all it is about getting to the root.flushing out the infiltrators who now have a right to killed black men and in so doing is protected by the law.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

“The law does not protect wrong doing or wrong doers in the face of overwhelming evidence”. The white jury’s discrimination in this matter herald a verdict of white supremacist, which was to say…we are racist.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Ross

It is impossible for you as a white man to understand what a black man (anywhere in the world) goes through Robert.

Do you suffer from asthma? Imagine the belt from your pants being put around your chest and being pulled tight,

irrespective of all the books that you read, YOU CANNOT understand certain experiences by proxy RR.

Imagine how Garner felt with those weights over his body, his inability to breathe, life and breath being slowly expunged, “I am dying, please, I am dying, I CANT BREATHE’ (as the young man from Ferniehurst, Black Rock also screamed to the officers when they put the plastic bag over his head and sprayed in the Baygon

People of your ilk have systemically endorsed legal killing when such actions are directed against “us” Mr. Ross

If this were Gay and Lesbian Rights issue talking about the right of a man to bull a next man, or for a same sex couple to get some legal entitlement some of us would rise to the occassion, like moths to a candle flame.

But it is black chattel being exterminated as one kills roaches, no sweat Mr. Ross cause we ent worth shit

This sanction of murder by the boys in blue is not really different from Joseph Goebbels’ Brown Shirts.

Unfortunately for us Mr. Ross we dont Blacks make the laws but you, the White establishment, have and do, and you have invested and conspired in a system of laws Jim Crow, pretend Civil Rights Bills and other flim flam that permits you to execute us, in the clear light of day (as opposed to how how are accustomed doing us in like Emmett Till and Biko).

A tax on Tea in Boston brought your Second Amendment (retroactively) to the fore of your people’s grand revolution from their oppressors GB another place where racism is alive and well..

The said same “Right to Bear Arms Second Amendment ” when relied on by us niggas, Black Panthers in May of 1967, caused you whites to amend the Constitution of the United States with the Mulford Bill cause “we uppity niggas were exercising the same rights afforded you Whites under your sacred Constitution”.

Yes Mr. Ross, Piece ent really got a brain at all because I am one of the few that see you clearly “in dawn’s early light” and through these state sponsored, illegal executions

27. Anthony

I really hope you’re following your doctor’s order/pharmacy on the proper administration of Haldol? Because you have certainly not heard me glorifying any cop in America. Barbados perhaps, because I have a firsthand knowledge of the many sacrifices the men and women of the Royal Barbados Police Force have made to keep our little rock a place of decency, in a time gone by.

28. Ross

I hadn’t the slightest idea you were white? You gave not such indication to my recollection that you were white. Doesn’t it seem as though since this incident in Ferguson Missouri, a lot of the white guys on the BU blog have consolidated their position in support of the White establishment here in America. And it ought be that way because it is understandable that one would want to support his or her race.

29. CGID
    The use of the chokehold is NOT illegal in New York state ; its use is prohibited by the NYPD according to internal procedures and the NY criminal code

30. CGID
    correction: not the NY criminal code instead of the NY criminal code

31. Easy squeeze (make no riot) Avatar
    Easy squeeze (make no riot)

Federal Niggy Hunting Licenses

ATF Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms in southern Tennessee from 1980-1996

http://www.darkvomit.com/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=706

32. Dee Word what I am saying is if she was in charge she must have given the okay simple chain of command. I watch the UFC quite often people are choke out lots, you know damn well the shape this fella was in and him pinned to the ground played a large part in his death but it sounds so much better that he was choked to death. Did he have to die no but it is like the army we train men to control a situation and how to kill then seemed dumbfounded if it happens.

33. Lawson

As the late Eric Garner’s wife said on CNN yesterday: “She knows a lot of cases where people resisted arrest, but their weren’t killed”. And that’s the bottom-line Lawson, the man said that he was unable to breath numerous times on the footage, and yet, the police officer continued to apply pressure.

34. Lawson

Lawson was Garner resisting arrest at that point, or was he fighting to catch a breath?

35. hind sight is 20/20 would you let him back up before you put the cuffs on him?

36. We’re the cuffs removed when he was on the gurney about to be lifted into the ambulance? You apologists are jokes. Even GWB put some of you in the shade.

37. Lawson
    The latter part of your comment regarding the army makes no good sense at all. What has the army to do with a man who said that he was unable to breath and the person holding his neck heard his instruction and continued anyway? And by the way Lawson, every soldier in a war theater is given the Rules of Engagement: in other words, the rules to engage the enemy. Now, if the enemy is shooting at a soldier from amongst civilians, the soldier has cause to shoot back. But what a soldier cannot do is to shooting an unarmed civilian.

38. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

99 turn out to a 66 that kills,
    the DLP /BLP is doing the same thing to Barbados, let not get side track , We in Barbados have much bigger problems,
    At this time classes need to be given to People looking for VISA to go to America, Classes of law and status need to be given ,
    Bajans need to have the Embassy number and a 24 hours hot line to call when our people are ID as black under US Constitution and laws for the state where they may go to visit,
    We are Nouns and not adj. If you can ID you self as a Noun you will be grouped with the blacks who have no country nor State in American law,

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I wonder what has changed from 1962 in Malcolm X’s/Martin Luther King’s time and today

Look at

and this article Malcolm X Race Relations in Crisis and tell me what has changed.

@ David [BU]

How can one copy and embed a video? (like Hants and the rest do.) I am using Chrome

40. Unless Black People respond to this with determined resolved to dismantle institutional racism, this is never end. There will be NO CHANGE without SACRIFICE. What will have the most impact? America is a nation that prioritizes the voices of those who have the most money.

Economic boycotts and SHUT DOWN WALL STREET DURING DAY LIGHT HOURS! If the families of Eric Garner, Tamir Rice and Mike Brown have opt-out of holiday spending then we must also withhold our dollar.

Spend on your NEEDS and abstain from spending on WANTS.

If the last economic quarter is detrimentally impacted by your sacrifices then the “money changers” will be your loudest influential voices for change.

41. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ MistaBlack

You are so damn right, a move like that orchestrated like Minister Farrakhan’s Million Man March of 1995 would touch whitey in one of the two places where he is willing to engage with non whites – in his pocket and in his castle

If you affect his Wall Street he will entertain your discourse

And if you breach his castle as with Avian Flu, Ebola, HIV, Cocaine, Alcohol and as of recent times Homegrown Islamic Extremism, Whitey sits up and dialogues, at least.

Of course he gets your names and then he sets loose the IRS and other mechanism on your uppity ass sorry donkey

42. From a hail of gun fire unarmed black men are now legally killed.when one check the roots and the source of this madness mainly from within the deep south a connection similar to those with a racist past is observed.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 5, 2014 at 6:20 PM |

Black men in America today have it “easy” when compared black men of years ago.
    Black men were hanged or shot for just ‘looking at’ a white woman or even talking back to a white man.
    Why do you think there are so many ‘black people’ of “colour or mixed race”? Do you think they are mainly the products of willing unions between black men and white women or white men raping black women?
    The white man despite what you may think knows the black man.
    That’s why I am surprised the white man has to resort to the gun to keep blacks in check.
    The white man knows that black people like lots of food, pretty clothes and some good ‘ole’ Christian religion to drug them into accepting their lot and god-ordained station in life. Today just throw in a few giveaways like I-phones and tablets to amuse themselves (not to conduct business) and you have the black lot eating out of the palm of the white man and even the Chinese, Korean and Indian.

44. miller stop talking nonesense.

the face of racism did not go away,, however it has become a wolves in sheep clothing,,flourishing among society eating and devouring with laws to inhibit and destroyed black men.

45. As it relates to Al Hajj Malik Shabazz(Malcolm X), his secretary Bro. Abdullah Abdur Razzaq(James 67X) passed away Friday November 21, 2014. He happened to be my friend and mentor.

I learned this from him, Black People habitually depend on white folk to validate their fight for Freedom, Justice and Equality. The fact is that those of privilege rarely relinquish such benefits for the moral good.

If we are not willing to make the ultimate sacrifice to insure that our innocent Brown and Black children are no longer burdened with the unenviable and seemingly impossible task of proving their God-Given human worth, this will not end.

It is universally understood that men are protectors of this children. When the state doesn’t afford them justice for their sons, it is their responsibility to do what has to be done despite the possible state consequence.

This may eviscerate the incentive of those who may have a propensity for killing us. I pray that this never happens to my sons because I won’t be marching!

46. Georgie porgie

PG, Malcolm X and several of the black leaders gathered around that table have said: Social- Protest is part and parcel of the American tradition and a way to get the federal or local government to listen to the concerns of the people, even if it takes violence or peaceful protest to get that message across. And PG, until you ascertain a comprehensive understanding of the issue of Race-Relations in America, I suggest you keep your mouth closed.

47. @PUDRYR

Paste the youtube link on a new line.

48. getting real