24 responses to “Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary Sluice Gate Update”

1. When the country was poor and before Independence, an elderly man from Fairways Gardens called Donald Elcock used to care for this sluice gate- not sure if this was par of his duties at the nearby gun club in the Graeme Hall swamp

2. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

3. There was an engineer name Thorpeee…who used to live in Wildey just behind Carters and D gas station….He used to build highly sophisticated tings like ploughs for MOA ..maybe one of his understudies at the shop could help… this gate is more technical than it looks. One mistake and it won’t work….

4. @ GP, thanks for identifying the person who used to look after the gate. I can remember seeing him doing just that – he used to come down
    and open the gate at peak times not only to discharge water when levels in the swamp were high but just as importantly to let seawater into the swamp.
    This is critical to maintain salinity levels in the swamp crucial to the survival of the mangroves as well as to allow young tarpon who hatch in the sea but use the swamp as a nursery before heading back out to the ocean.

What we have now is a disgraceful eyesore on a very popular beach affecting both locals & visitors alike. It is difficult to know that an offer by the GHNS to buy a new sluice gate for Govt was never taken up in spite of GHNS paying for MCW personnel to go a trip to Florida to investigate methods used by the South Florida Water Management.

5. Off topic but there is a Town Hall Meeting today Wednesday December 03 , 2014 at 6:30 pm at Dumanis Outreach Ministries, Staple Grove, Ch. Ch. Notice in press a few weeks ago says it is to “facilitate discussion on the Environmental Impact Assessment of the proposed subdivision of land and erection of residences at Ridge Ch. Ch.

I have it on good authority from someone who viewed the EIA at one of the public libraries that the development is for 75 acres of agricultural land for residential use at Ridge Plantation. Total of 704 lots catering to low income earners”.

EIA says application to Town Planning has been made by Ridge Properties Limited.

One wonders where they will get the cane from to supply the much mooted new factory and as they like to say, “cane industry” if they allow the development of 75 acres of prime sugar land.

6. @ New Old Onion Bags who wrote, ” this gate is more technical than it looks. One mistake and it won’t work”

The “one mistake” is a lack of repairs and maintenance. Now the best solution appears to be to build a new one.

7. I can only come one conclusion that Black people like to give the White man reasons to laugh and describe us as nasty IDIOTS!

8. No wonder that Peter Allard of The Graeme Hall Sanctuary closed the place down. What a pity that the Government has no interest in preserving the Swamp, and all the wildlife in this RAMSAR site.
    http://www.graemehall.com/articles/article.php?id=122&title=Thoughts-from-Peter-Allard

9. @ yatinkiteasy,

A lot of people do not know much about “ecology”.

All swamps in Barbados should be protected and maintained if necessary.

However we have become a Nation that has no regard for the environment and a swamp is just an engineering challenge for “resort construction”.

Discovery Bay hotel was built on Holetown swamp.

10. Tudor wrote “allow young tarpon who hatch in the sea but use the swamp”

It is “beyond their imagination” but Barbados could develop a sports fishing industry that includes a Tarpon fishing tournament.

We could have a fishing show about Sports fishing in Barbados.

http://www.worldfishingnetwork.com/watch-fishing-shows-online/

11. There used to be a lot of very large tarpon in the swamp, but I believe they have died off or were eaten by the Chinese who fish there a lot.

12. Hants
    Sporting Deep sea fishing vessels and all feeling the pinch …with no tourism flourishing….Bertrams and Boston Whalers going for a pound n a crown bout hay bredds….. but as it is you I can take you out if you buying the diesel.

13. Tobago hooked up with WFN. Why can’t we? Good ad for tourism.

14. Day 2.

15. old onion bags | December 3, 2014 at 6:47 AM |

There was an engineer name Thorpeee…who used to live in Wildey
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Sadly old Thorpee has passed on, and from the looks of his place, no one has taken over. A common occurrence in Barbados, but there are others around like Andrew Stuart who are more than capable of making such a gate to the highest of standards.

16. A sluice gate is not some complex engineering marvel.

“Hurry up an fix it”

17. Hants

If Govt can’t find money to buy alcohol and bandages for the living…..think they are going to find money to oxygenise a swamp for half dead tarpoons?….Am, am I take that back…cuz wid des jokers, anything cudd play

18. Nature will take its course next time it rains in ch. ch. for a few days.

The swamp will self regulate.

19. Another issue which falls under minister Lowe. The picture on page 2 of the Nation newspaper says it all, students of Charles F Broome stepping over piles of garbage to enter the school.

20. Hants | December 3, 2014 at 5:17 PM |
    A sluice gate is not some complex engineering marvel.
    “Hurry up an fix it”
    …………………………………………………………………………
    In Barbados everything is. We cannot even maintain 6 low tech ambulances. And Corblimey, I had to look after 30 of the feckers almost single -handed.

21. And you telling me that this administration’s aim is not to wreck Barbados completely ? We are led by a bunch of dumb Elected Terrorists, who do not require bombs and AK47’S to achieve their aim. Just close down most of the services at the main hospital,including the unavailability of ambulances, not paying the pharmacist who supply medication on government prescriptions, not repairing the sanitation trucks, thereby causing and the streets of this country to be littered with garbage exposing the populace to Leptospirosis, Chikungonya, and any other disease that is knocking around.
    Give priority to the prisons and not to the health services.

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The government are about building buildings not maintaining swamps. There is no money to be made in a stupid sluice gate. How the France you expect my boys to conceal their dough in a stupid sluice gate or swamp. My boys are focus on getting Sugar Point project and the QEH up and roaring. Now in those are big returns. What sluice gate what; swamp bah hum bug.

23. are-we-there-yet Avatar

SSS; YUh noh yuh rite den!