Adrian Loveridge

One thing the last few months has taught me, as if I really needed reminding, is that however much you change the structure of an organisation, if you cannot fundamentally improve the way things are done within it, then very little has been accomplished.

Implementation, or rather the lack of it in a timely manner stands out as one of the biggest single impediments to revitalising our tourism industry. If we are ever going to ever recover lost market share then we urgently need to practice proactive rather than reactive strategies and ensure any programmes and policies are implemented sufficiently early to make a positive difference.

It should not and frankly, cannot take weeks and sometimes months to ensure corrections to national websites are effected, if we stand any chance of playing catch-up with our competitors. All too frequently by the time the fundamental changes are made those, previously interested parties have turned off and probably chosen an alternative product or destination.

Delays in correcting information online also leads directly to reducing the booking window for securing flights at the best possible fares with the risk of making the destination more expensive than it needs to be.

Stale-dated websites also demonstrate that those entrusted to guide our tourism industry are perhaps not as dedicated as they should be in the national interest. While an entity may take on the trappings of a private sector driven entity, if the culture of how it operates does not significantly change, then have we really moved forward?

Of course budget or financial challenges may play a part in this, but that is why it is even more important to focus on what can be achieved at little or no cost and co-operative projects with the private sector.

I have touched on this subject so many times before, but failed dismally in convincing those entrusted with policy planning to take the desperately required steps to remedy a multitude of social media errors and omissions.

To repeat, there are enough talented, available tech-savvy people on our door step to ensure all aspects in the way we communicate and portray our product across every market is achieved in the most enticing way.

When the bulk of the marketing budget is spent on directing people to particular websites and Facebook pages, those mediums should be updated with the latest content and the potential visitor should not be met with links that simply do not work and/or out-dated information.

Graphic examples include the return of the Delta nonstop service from Atlanta from this Thursday and a new service from New York. Neither are highlighted on the national website or listed among the airlines servicing Barbados. Yet an incredulous 27 months after the service was terminated, a direct service with American from Dallas/Fort Worth is still shown.

What can be the real cost of making these adjustments when compared with the airlift options it presents to our North American market which could generate increased visitor numbers either for leisure or business.

It may appear an insignificant oversight, but this is just one of many.

78 responses to “BTMI, a Case of New Wine in Old Skins”

1. Bigger plane 3x week?

2. @Sargeant,

““What is also occurring as well is the fact that out of Montreal no longer will we have the one flight during the winter season on Saturdays, but we are going to have three flights out of Montreal

3. @ The People’s Democratic Congress | December 1, 2014 at 4:43 PM |

“Finally, the reader of this PDC contribution – in extrapolating from such hypothetical circumstances – must truly have a real idea why there are so many horrendous catastrophic political economic and financial problems currently facing this island.”

I like to read alternative views and I must comment your post. I have read it 6 times and cannot understand what you are trying to “extrapolate from such hypothetical circumstances”. I’m sorry, but it just does not make any sense to me. I fail to see the correlation between a teacher’s salary and the fiscal deficit.

As it relates to Dr. Clyde Mascoll, you have embarked on an agenda to ridicule a man who is respected in his field and who has done years of research, written and successfully defended his thesis to gain his Doctorate [PhD] in economics, even if, in your opinion, economics is not a true science.

On the other hand, PDC comes to BU with some very farfetched generalized statements concerning their beliefs and policies, without presenting any substantiating documentation, relative to the uses of money, the validity of economics and how the government system should be managed.

If PDC wants to be taken serious and gain some respect, you need to respect others as well.
    Based on the stance you have taken, I suggest you point us to research you have undertaken, any written documents authored or thesis defended by any member of PDC to substantiate the policies you articulate in this forum.

So far, PDC has failed miserably in this undertaking and have demonstrated the “disorganization” cannot defend its policies.

4. @Artaxerxes

The party that you are referring to is two people.

They normally begin their rant ” a certain future coalition…” And continue to hallucinate for the rest of their submission

They are the political antithesis of sensible governance policy sort of how Donkey is the self appointed nemesis of GP, this two man crew rises to espouse the epitome of political ingrunce and then settles for a few moons and rises again with some obtuse political concept.

You are trying to understand what the writer heself does not a veritable exercise in futility.

Asteroids that venture too close to the gravitational pull of a planet generally become meteors when they passage through the planet’s atmosphere

Do not venture too close to this Dark Hole of Drug Induced Ingrunce

5. Waiting for a cash strapped Barbados government to turn the tourism industry around by itself is like waiting for a heavy downpour to wash away the garbage that’s been accumulating around the house.
    In order to get this thing going, everyone must pitch in; after all, it’s not the government ministers that are littering the place; it’s the everyday bajan. It’s not the government ministers that are being rude to the tourists; it’s the waiters, the maids, the bartenders, the beach vendors, the tour operators, etc.
    So it must be a collected effort by all in order for this thing to succeed; but then again, it’s easier to blame the government than to pick up a piece of litter from the streets of Bridgetown.

6. Caribbean Lover | December 2, 2014 at 11:17 AM |
    Waiting for a cash strapped Barbados government to turn the tourism industry around by itself is like waiting for a heavy downpour to wash away the garbage that’s been accumulating around the house.
    In order to get this thing going, everyone must pitch in; after all, it’s not the government ministers that are littering the place; it’s the everyday bajan. It’s not the government ministers that are being rude to the tourists; it’s the waiters, the maids, the bartenders, the beach vendors, the tour operators, etc.

DD just returned from a two-week visit, staying at two separate properties.

We were not once treated rudely by waiters, maids, bartenders or anyone else at those properties or elsewhere. Indeed all were friendly, courteous, and welcoming. I even got a smile from the immigration officer.

While recognizing that Government is “cash strapped”, it has to do some promotion in the source markets to turn around the tourism industry. I cannot speak to the US and UK markets; but promotion of Barbados as a destination by BTMI or any other government entity in the Canadian media is virtually non-existant. On the other hand St, Lucia has full page and half page ads featuring the pitons in Toronto newspapers on a weekly basis.

Government cannot sit idly by and leave promotion to the few well-run properties that have the resources to occasionally promote/advertise, or for Butch to fill those Air Canada seats.

7. Agree with Adrian…our Barbados Tourism Authority website is a joke.
    Want to see an excellent Tourism website, which is not only informative, but has active links to Hotels, yachts, restaurants, etc..check this out…
    http://www.bvitourism.com/
    The BVI website is superior to most in the Caribbean.This does NOT cost a lot of money.(Probably less than it cost for a bunch of Ministers to go to a climate change meeting)

8. Barbados
    The island is very safe and very kid friendly
    Eat and drink anywhere – Barbados is the first and only Caribbean island to be Zagat-rated (that goes for its street food too).
    Water throughout the island is safe to drink and considered some of the purest in the world
    Take advantage of daily non-stop flights from Toronto and 3 flights a week from Montreal this winter

9. Steel bands, mudder sallies , wuking up and pretty Banks girls are little comfort to weary travelers who have just spent the last 4 to 8 hours cooped up in an aircraft. But a swift and efficient service and a fast turnaround between exiting the aircraft and arriving at their hotels may go a long way .

10. @ A Drain,
    I AX MUHSEF ,DIS HEAH A D RAIN.
    WID DE MOUT.
    HE PLACE ENT OPEN!
    EN HE SUH HEXPERT , EN RUNNIN DE WHOLE SHOW???

11. Good news Sandals is on track to open next month. We eagerly anticipate to experience the weight of the Sandals brand.

12. @David.
    Its TOO early for jokes/sarcasm. 🙂

13. Colonel Buggy | December 2, 2014 at 10:23 PM |
    Steel bands, mudder sallies , wuking up and pretty Banks girls are little comfort to weary travelers who have just spent the last 4 to 8 hours cooped up in an aircraft. But a swift and efficient service and a fast turnaround between exiting the aircraft and arriving at their hotels may go a long way .

No reason both cannot happen, a speedy efficient immigration and a warm welcome will leave a lasting impression.

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

http://www.visitbarbados.org has been parially updated and now highlights the new Delta flights. Dallas/Fort Worth has been deleted and they just have to show the Delta flights on the airline non-stop options.

15. David | December 1, 2014 at 1:49 PM |

Just posted to Facebook, a place called Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    And a few days after the skip and area were presumably cleared.
    (4/12/2014). The Bajan Brand. The Bajan Way. Just Seasonal
    http://i.imgur.com/X9ZK382l.jpg?1

16. @Colonel

Sometimes it seems hopeless.

17. Hants | December 4, 2014 at 10:39 PM |
    There is always hope.
    ……………………………………………………………………………..
    Oistins, the show piece of the South Coast. “Miami Beach” the favourite beach of many locals and visitors alike. The Bajan Way

http://i.imgur.com/w7OdS6Pl.jpg

18. The Bajan Way (another try)
    http://imgur.com/w7OdS6P

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | December 5, 2014 at 5:42 PM |

That has become the norm on all beaches maintained by the NCC.
    Just pay a visit to the other popular beach Rockley opposite Chefette and see the amount of garbage piling up and the unsightly state of the watercourse right in full view of the visitors the BTMI are claiming will soon be here in droves.

It seems that the cutbacks at the NCC have resulted in its inability to pay for the removal of the garbage from the beaches.
    What a shame when a government in an attempt to save a few dollars from an easy NCC target under the weak Minister “Yes man” Lowe cuts of its hygienic nose to spite its financial face bringing the country to such a sorry state of public sanitation.

I would not be surprised if there might soon be an outbreak of some disease which visitors could contract leading to a massive class action suit against the government.

20. @ Colonel and Miller. There is hope.

Wait till Butch summon de minister to he yard wen sandals guesses complain.

Yahdies doan mek sport.lol

21. More hope.

“Delta Air Lines has re-established its service to Barbados from Atlanta, also adding New York to its schedule.”

22. Hope springs eternal

More goodies from Canada

“These new programmes, he said, are being made possible by funding they have received from the Canadian Government by way of a grant from the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development to the tune of $21 million Canadian dollars.”

23. I hope the BTMI in TORONTO is following the racing at Woodbine.

24. Hint to the BTMI in Toronto.

Patrick Husbands BSS is the champion jockey at Woodbine.