Adrian Loveridge

One thing the last few months has taught me, as if I really needed reminding, is that however much you change the structure of an organisation, if you cannot fundamentally improve the way things are done within it, then very little has been accomplished.

Implementation, or rather the lack of it in a timely manner stands out as one of the biggest single impediments to revitalising our tourism industry. If we are ever going to ever recover lost market share then we urgently need to practice proactive rather than reactive strategies and ensure any programmes and policies are implemented sufficiently early to make a positive difference.

It should not and frankly, cannot take weeks and sometimes months to ensure corrections to national websites are effected, if we stand any chance of playing catch-up with our competitors. All too frequently by the time the fundamental changes are made those, previously interested parties have turned off and probably chosen an alternative product or destination.

Delays in correcting information online also leads directly to reducing the booking window for securing flights at the best possible fares with the risk of making the destination more expensive than it needs to be.

Stale-dated websites also demonstrate that those entrusted to guide our tourism industry are perhaps not as dedicated as they should be in the national interest. While an entity may take on the trappings of a private sector driven entity, if the culture of how it operates does not significantly change, then have we really moved forward?

Of course budget or financial challenges may play a part in this, but that is why it is even more important to focus on what can be achieved at little or no cost and co-operative projects with the private sector.

I have touched on this subject so many times before, but failed dismally in convincing those entrusted with policy planning to take the desperately required steps to remedy a multitude of social media errors and omissions.

To repeat, there are enough talented, available tech-savvy people on our door step to ensure all aspects in the way we communicate and portray our product across every market is achieved in the most enticing way.

When the bulk of the marketing budget is spent on directing people to particular websites and Facebook pages, those mediums should be updated with the latest content and the potential visitor should not be met with links that simply do not work and/or out-dated information.

Graphic examples include the return of the Delta nonstop service from Atlanta from this Thursday and a new service from New York. Neither are highlighted on the national website or listed among the airlines servicing Barbados. Yet an incredulous 27 months after the service was terminated, a direct service with American from Dallas/Fort Worth is still shown.

What can be the real cost of making these adjustments when compared with the airlift options it presents to our North American market which could generate increased visitor numbers either for leisure or business.

It may appear an insignificant oversight, but this is just one of many.

78 responses to “BTMI, a Case of New Wine in Old Skins”

1. Stale-dated websites also cost people ‘extra’ money! The MFA’s big mcguffy advised a returning national, via email, to go on the website for info re road tax…this he did and purchased his vehicle (so that the road tax would have been $600); only to discover when the vehicle arrived here, the tax was $900. He’s now paid $4,500 over 5 yrs instead of $3,000(Also the website had stated the vehicle had to be ‘kept’ 3 years).

2. Graphic examples include the return of the Delta nonstop service from Atlanta from this Thursday and a new service from New York. Neither are highlighted on the national website or listed among the airlines servicing Barbados. Yet an incredulous 27 months after the service was terminated, a direct service with American from Dallas/Fort Worth is still shown.

Why doesn’t the Barbados government just supply every Bajan with a gun and a bullet and pass a law forcing everyone to use the supplied equipment to shoot him/herself in the foot? It would be cheaper, quicker and maybe even less painful and provide the same results in the long run.

3. BU strongly is of the view our inability to secure the domain barbados.org negatively impacts our Internet presence read inability to capture incoming hits about Barbados.

4. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

‘Massive- land.fraudBarbados@votebuying .com . or org.
    We feel this will better service the real Barbados right now.

5. @Deeds

Do you believe if you want anybody to take you seriously you need to invest some time to articulate credible responses? To call someone a crook repeatedly if true become boring in the absence of a logical argument.

6. First impressions are the most lasting.

I had to pick up some visitors from the UK yesterday. They landed 30mins early. Good I thought, not a long wait.
    Wrong!
    This is the peak season so we have multiple flights arriving from the USA/Canada and Europe between 12 noon and 6pm. Not a big problem as we have some 14 immigration desks that could process these passengers with a minimum of delay.
    Now we all know that tourism is our biggest industry, without it we are truly f*cked. We should do everything to smooth out the holiday experience for our visitors.
    So why, by all that is holy, do they have a shift change at GA at 3pm???
    What retard came up with that idea? Right in the middle of the busiest time for flight arrivals?
    Never mind that it can take longer at other airports,that should not concern us. Nearly 2 hours waiting in a queue is not the best impression to take away with you and one that you WILL remember come vacation next year!

7. Maybe it explains why an immigration officer was reported to have been beaten last week?

8. You believe that?

9. If we don’t care about the cleanliness of the environs of the airport why should an unnecessary wait by passengers be an issue?

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/11/09/keep-barbados-clean-for-godsakes/

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

bookworm,
    Successive administrations simply do not (or try to) understand what makes tourism work. Many of our visitors have been travelling or waiting in line for HOURS before they get here. They have probably got up earlier than they had to, built in extra time to get to the airport in case of traffic etc. They want to get to their booked accommodation and ideally paddle in the sea and have a cold drink in daylight. Many years ago Sir Harold St, John suggested a very simple solution. That retired Immigratiion officers were brought back part time to cover the busy periods and shift changes. It is not rocket science, but simple management. 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitors for 11 years. 2012 the second lowest and people wonder WHY?

11. @ Adrian
    I am with you.
    You have to suspect that it may be deliberate policy to destroy the tourist industry because so many people involved in promoting it and nurturing it cannot be so incompetent and stupid………..can they?
    The current Tourism Authority, whatever they are called this year, must be ready to act as the have had ample time to sort out their salaries, cars and offices by now.

12. @ David
    I have long been of the belief that the sanitation workers are among the hardest working among us.
    Thy are right royally sh*t upon by their truly dire management who constantly fail to provide them with the tools for the job.
    How many garbage trucks are now out of service?

13. @Bookwork

Don’t worry about it, the goodly minister Lowe has promised a schedule for pick up soon.

14. bookworm | December 1, 2014 at 12:35 PM |

@ Adrian
    I am with you.
    You have to suspect that it may be deliberate policy to destroy the tourist industry because so many people involved in promoting it and nurturing it cannot be so incompetent and stupid………..can they?
    ………………………………………………………………………………
    Not only the tourist industry, BW, but every other industry, starting with Agriculture, and eventually Barbados itself.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    But why are we surprised at the government’s inability to maintain a web site? , knowing the government record when it comes to maintenance of any kind.

15. @ David
    Here is the link
    http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/59822/immigration-officer-attacked

And I will go on record to say that if an immigration officer had been attacked there would have been an arrest and further action.
    As I have not seen any report of either, I have to conclude that the union official was at best using it as an illustration of things to come or at worse lying through his teeth.
    I know where my money is on.

16. Has there been any feedback about the a Tourism Master Plan or the 10 point plan for that matter? Accountability is what we need.

17. @ David
    Why is a MINISTER getting involved with garbage collection schedules? How indicative of how incompetent our leaders are.What on earth do they have managers for? Indeed, why do we need schedules? We need functioning garbage trucks, not schedules.

18. David | December 1, 2014 at 12:47 PM |
    Has there been and feedback about the a Tourism Master Plan or the 10 point plan for that matter? Accountability is what we need.

You mekkin sport?

19. Bookworm, is it not the same minister who approved the invoice at the Caves? All roads lead to the minister in our system of government.

20. David. The ministers get involved in the minutiae so that their incompetence and dodgy deals are not exposed.

21. @Bookworm

Carry your last statement to a conclusion. What does it say about the credibility of our Board members and public servants?

22. @David

The credibility of any and all Government,NGO, and minor public officials is non existent. Even the honest hard working ones are tarnished by the behavior of the others.

23. Just posted to Facebook, a place called Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar

Happy inde w$#t de f/$#k

24. Don,t look like Surfers Bay Beach Bar but it sure looks like a garbage dump. One of many springing up on the Rock.

25. David we need a separate post for images of garbage.

Then when the area has been cleaned up you can also show that.

The government should realise that complaints from citizens should be seen as opportunities to correct mistakes and inefficiencies.

26. @Adrian ,et al
    WHY??
    Do you so like to hash; rehash and then after that whatever its called, but still keep on with the same mess of stew.
    You must like the sound of your own voice.
    Do you read and reread and read again your GEMS of Touristic wisdom.
    Feel good inside at your SHEER Genius.??IN PRINT.
    Masturbate. Get it OFF. Revel sexually.
    WHAT THE FKUC do you get out of it.
    After how many years now of total DLP mismanagement.?
    NO
    .I am wrong.
    I mean Total NON management.
    In the name of reason, ask yourself.
    WHY am I pissing in the WIND.??

How can I say it so that it will go into your THICK heads and HARD ears.

NO ONE who is ANYONE.
    GIVES A SHIT..

HOW you expect a PM who was a LAWYER/POLITICIAN to be ANYTHING other than what he IS.
    A Total, GREEDY careless RASSHOOL.!!

PLEASE “Gimmee a BREK”

27. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Isn’t this almost opposite the GEMS (taxpayer) Sapphire Beach Condominiums in St. Lawrence Gap. Is this part of the planned Gap revitalisation programme in time for the peak winter season?

28. @ Adrian

The owner posted it a short while ago. Like be stated, happy independence indeed!

29. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

As a business we do not get any ‘free’ collection of garbage. We recycle with B’s, all glass, cans, plastics and the rest we pay a private company to collect and empty a skip frequently which includes a dumping fee.
    We are currently paying $21,000 annually in land taxes (no rebate as hotel is closed) plus another $8,000 this year for Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

On a very regular basis, neighbours and others dump rubbish of all descriptions on our land.

30. We know intra regional travel is important to Barbados and LIAT is the way we have to do it. The following link is important for this reason.

http://www.stlucianewsonline.com/lialpa-accuses-liat-of-failing-to-implement-tribunal-awards/

31. @Adrian

The dump may not be caused by a single business. All businesses cannot afford to pay for waste disposal.

32. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, we will disagree on that one. Why should other businesses have a choice. Do you think that Sandals will have SSA collections and if one tiny business like ours has to pay for a regular skip collection (with no current income) then why can’t a group of businesses collectively pay for the skip collection of the one shown in the picture. Can the businesses you mention afford to pay for electricity, water, land taxes, municipal solid waste tax, hotel and restaurant licences, VAT, corporate tax and all the other ones I have forgotten.

33. We note in today’s Daily Nation (1 December, 2014) the reported comments of the NUPW president Walter Maloney about how trimming the public sector fat made very good sense.

Is this the same Maloney that suggested some time ago, at one of the Nation newspaper Talk Back series of discussions held at the St. George Secondary School, that public servants would not be the sacrificial lambs in any national austerity program undertaken by the government of this country (at the time then there were clear signs that the country was worsening politically economically financially), like how he felt they were in the 1991/2 structural adjustment and stabilization program??

We have said it quite frequently on here and elsewhere that Trade Unions MUST PERNANENTLY GO in the shortest possible time in this country, and be replaced by political organizations that would fundamentally be about the securing of the evolution of persons from the status of being workers of business enterprises in this country, to the status of being partners in these said and other business enterprises to come.

34. Looks like the south -east corner of Dover Playing field. From what I’ve seen previously this skip is maintained by a private company. Wasn’t there a road tennis tournament there yesterday? . That could have added to the build up of garbage, plus its a handy place for those who cannot get their garbage picked up by the entity that they are supporting by way of exorbitant taxes, to dump their household garbage.
    What a mess we find ourselves in. But you must admit that the Bridgetown Port this morning was hospital clean. And what a pity that t first impression of Barbados would be later relegated when they see things like this all over the island.
    We are true flag waving, anthem standing,pledge pledging , folk singing, blue-yellow-black, God bless Bim patriots, for a few hours annually.

35. The garbage pile up is in the heart of our tourist district.

36. We were recently told by a senior male citizen of this country, that his daughter – a secondary school teacher in the government teaching service – gets 4 100$ in pure nominal gross figures a month from the government of Barbados.

Anyhow, imagine that this teacher does NOT receive any money, goods or non-money commodities from the students she teaches or from their parents or guardians, on a commercial basis, whilst teaching them.

Imagine this teacher hardly, if ever at all, puts any money into the core financial system, either as savings into it, or as debit transfers to it.

Also, imagine that she is able still to actually draw from any local financial institution/s, being part of the core financial system of this country, let us say, a total of 3 000$ a month, which represents her nominal transfers from the said financial institution/s.

And imagine that the money that she actually draws is really put in there primarily by persons, businesses and other entities that – in using our local currency – are saving portions of their remunerations or are debit transferring various amounts of monies to the core financial system on a monthly basis, after having given so many goods and commodities, and/or having rendered so many services to so many other people, businesses and other entities on many commercial bases.

Finally, the reader of this PDC contribution – in extrapolating from such hypothetical circumstances – must truly have a real idea why there are so many horrendous catastrophic political economic and financial problems currently facing this island.

Yet Dr Clyde Mascoll continues to so childishly babble on and on about a fiscal crisis of the government of Barbados.

37. Based on this link Surfer’s Bay is in Silver Sands. It seems that Surfer’s BAy distributed the pic.

http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Restaurant_Review-g147266-d1630479-Reviews-Surfer_s_Bay-Christ_Church_Parish_Barbados.html

38. Looks like the garbage has been blowing about the street as well . Must have been a feast day for vermin and stray dogs.
    Last week I wrote complimenting the SSA lady who is responsible for cleaning up a section of St Lawrence Gap. I believe that her patch ends at the junction at the south-west corner of Dover Playing Field. I cannot recall seeing any such other person assigned to look after that section from Time Out and along Dover road . More than likely ,such persons, like the toilets facilities at Hastings Rock, are Off- Duty at weekends.

39. bookworm | December 1, 2014 at 12:38 PM |
    ” I have long been of the belief that the sanitation workers are among the hardest working among us.”

You are absolutely correct.

40. If you are a commercial entity and you have a skip you have to lock it down to mitigate what you see in the photo. People see a skip, householders, coconut vendors, businesses, they will bring their garbage and even if the skip is full they will pile their stuff on and even dump it around the skip.

41. Urgent message. Urgent alert, please read and circulate.

No free gifts to accept or pay a price!

Information reaching Police formation indicates that: There is a syndicate of criminals selling beautiful key holders at Public Places, Airports, Petrol Stations. They sometimes parade themselves as sales promoters giving out free key holders. Please do not buy or accept these key holders no matter how beautiful they look.
    The key holders have inbuilt tracking device chip which allows them to track you to your home or wherever your car is parked. The key holders are very beautiful to resist. Accepting same may endanger your life. All are therefore requested to pass this message to colleagues, family members and loved ones. Be on guard.
    Alert everyone.

Thanks & Regards

Please share this info with all your family members and friend

42. LLOYD AND HIS MOM SANG IN THE CH CH PARISH CH CHOIR IN THE MID SIXTIES
    A GREAT EXPERIENCE A UNDER WINSTON HACKETT WE MIMICKED KINGS COLLEGE

43. This is good news.

Air Canada boost

MARIA BRADSHAW,

Added 02 December 2014

air-canada

Some of the 320 passengers who came in on the Boeing 777 yesterday. (Xtra Vision Photography.)

And Air Canada is increasing its flight capacity to Barbados to accommodate the increase in passenger load.

At 2:40 p.m. yesterday, its new Boeing 777 made its inaugural flight to Barbados with 320 passengers, replacing the much smaller aircraft.

Air Canada, which has been coming to Barbados for 65 years, will also be replacing its three days a week flights with daily landings.

Please read the full story in today’s Daily Nation, or in the eNATION edition.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/60153/air-canada-boost#sthash.575qJPxL.dpuf

44. bookworm | December 1, 2014 at 12:10 PM | & Adrian Loveridge

Common Sense and simple management are not so common.

Whereas in Hawaii etc were renowned for pretty girls greeting one with flowers etc.

We need to hire all ex Banks Calendar girls as Immigration Officers, train them, work on the process and make the greeting place a friendly and welcoming place.

Not push the old bureaucratic line that ‘we are sooo hard and tough’ blah blah.

You think that impresses people?

Put some sweetness in dey!!

45. @Crusoe
    A steel band playing would not cost the earth. If that was too expensive for the current tourism mafia, a DVD playing over the tannoy would be a start.

Banks girls would be awesome!

46. And Air Canada is increasing its flight capacity to Barbados to accommodate the increase in passenger load.
    wunna sure these are tourists? could be our government / sports officials causing this demand yuh…. 🙂

47. Is that reporting accurate? I thought that AC had daily flights to Barbados so where did the three flights a week come from?