Submitted by Wayne R. Pilgrim-Cadogan
Buy local!
Buy local!

Over the past few years the government has being preaching over and over at every opportunity for the country to turn to entrepreneurship as an alternative for those who have been displaced from their jobs and school leavers who were about to enter the work force. So much so that it has become a buzzword for some. There are other agencies such as the Barbados Manufacturers Association, The Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme, The Barbados Small Business Association and others who over the years have been advocating innovation, buy local, self employment, and creating new products from local materials and food crops as a means of creating their own employment as an answer to a dwindling job market..

Every two years there is the Prime Minister Award of $75,000.00 to the winner of the National Innovation Award. The purpose of this award by the government is to bring out the creativity and innovation among Barbadians. One would think that educational institutions would be teaching its students along the lines of innovation and creativity. There are plenty of indigenous materials and food crops that are available to Barbadians for experimentation in creating innovative products rather than using foreign products. I am at a lost as to why at one of the Secondary Schools Science & Nutrition class, that a teacher would tell the entire class to bring Strawberries, Kiwi Fruit and Grapes for a project when there are so many fruits here that is currently in season, that could have been used as a substitute.

I find it very difficult for a teacher to make such demands on a class, especially in these hard economic times for some families where there might not even be an income coming into that household. What about the child in that class that might have gone to school without even having breakfast or anything to eat or drink? Furthermore, it could be very detrimental to that child’s parent, or parents to fork out the minimum of $35.00 for a class project.

This is going against the grain of what the government is advocating, as well as all the other organizations especially the Barbados Manufacturing Association with its Buy Local campaign and is an insult to the Science, Technology and Innovation Department for all the hard work that it is doing in getting Barbadians to be innovative. It would appears that innovation is not being taught in the schools, does this means that what the government is advocating is not being adhered to by the schools and that the schools have their own curriculum? One would think that the schools would be singing from the same hymn sheet as that of the government? But evidently this is not the case in this circumstance.

183 responses to “Innovation NOT Being Taught in Schools”

1. America is graually moving away from the Public and private schools, settings and focusing more on the Magnet Schools. Which are generally located in many of the major community colleges here. These Magnet Schools instructs in a diverse curriculum with a focus effort on science. And what is more interesting about these Magnet Schools, a lot of the kids who attend these school can enroll in evening classes at the community colleges where the Magnet Schools are located, to accumulate future college credits. As you well know, with 66 credits you can earn your Associate Degree here in the U.S. So a lot of these kids who attends the Magnet Schools are ahead of the kids in the Public and Private School settings, as far as college is concern.

2. Anyone who has lived in America for any period time knows, that a valued education from k-12 depends very much on once locality. The School district within the town rather than the ministry of education in Barbados, exercise an unilateral oversight here. There are basic state and federal guidelines the school district must adhere to, but generally this is associated with some kind federally or state financed program.

3. @Piece
    That string regarding formative years was excellent and pure!

4. @ David Weekes, I believe people like yourself have ably shown that we do have the intellect to engage globally. I well remember your intellectual dynamism interfacing with some global players, and certainly you are not the only bajan lad who have done similarly.

As you well know regardless of the country, unless you can sell your idea well, show how the market for it will evolve, have an investment banker with a vested interest or have a rich god-father you will generally find the going tough.

The bread van etc. all have low barriers to entry so absolutely every Tom and Mary will chase the dollar after someone shows them the way. And to your point some people are blind to appreciate ideas of other opportunities that abound in areas not yet so known to the public.

But that is exactly the essence of innovation: it’s going where others have not gone before, so by its very nature it’s impossible to expect others to understand or indeed trust you if you are taking them to uncharted waters.

But let us not be too dismayed, the same school system that has now to be more innovative did produce you and others. I know young men who in the last 30+ years took different perspectives on life and charted some innovative, successful business opportunities.

One small other example, is the distinguished, innovative work on solar energy out of UWI going back 25 years or more.

Yes, we are far short of the goals we need to achieve and well behind the developed countries, and therefore must essentially speed up by revamping the education system; but in spite of our laggard system there are innovative minds out there and they will continue to develop.

Now, it is left to people like you Mr. Weekes to set up or to facilitate the incubators to foster more innovative idea development.

That has been the catalyst for the awesome growth in others parts of the world.

5. Mr Weekes
    Damian briefly mentioned a conceptual framework (in one sentence) which Bushie then explored and analyzed from a macro perspective.
    “Children choosing their own schools” conceptually suggests a situation where a meritocracy, based on supply and demand, is established such that good performance drives demand.
    Obviously students (parents) will then be able to choose the highest top performing schools for which their children qualify.

Now you will note that, to a large extent, this is what currently happens. ..what is missing now is FULL disclosure on actual performance in the various schools. We have to take the Ministry of Excrement’s word on which school is most and least desirable. This information should be available within two weeks of each end-of-term.
    Information like:
    Academic performance
    Attendance of students AND teachers
    Disciplinary matters
    Incidents of bullying
    Infections and health issues
    Sports
    Extra curricular items – scouts, cadets etc

Parents could then have the right to transfer their children at the end of each school year.

The result of such a change would be pressure on principals and teachers to actually produce results…..and to expose those who are always absent, or who consistently get dismal results (should NOT be teaching)

…but then again Bushie feels that we should get results from each ministry annually too…. and have a national vote on each minister’s performance on which the PM should be forced to act….
    But brass bowls don’t really care about anything so….

@ Dompey
    Bushie is much worse than an itch up your behind skippa…. that is the whacker wukking…. and the added salt in yuh tail.
    Get used to it….. you and the other “blog slug” ac …

Bushmen are the salt of the earth, and Bush Tea carries a big 4-stroke whacker for vermin like wunna…. ๐Ÿ™‚

6. Wuhloss Dompey U just had to wek Bushie up?
    Heaven gin had to help U pun this Sunday!

7. One thing that this country has never engaged in,either in the public or private sector, with the possible exception of the Sugar Cane Breeding station at Groves,is Research and Development. We are satisfied to be consumers of products from overseas , even if they are not giving us worth. There are many establishment in Barbados ,where equipment fails prematurely, and its just a matter of replacing it. If the problem gets too big for us , in we call the consultants. It is not uncommon for many companies overseas, to do their own research and development, and design their own equipment where the manufacturer builds that piece of equipment to the end users specification.
    Research and Development encourages innovation,and is an avenue for devolopment itself , for up and coming young turks.
    Take the Land Rover for example, Most of us have heard about the Series 2 or Series 3 models designation , but how many are familiar with other designations such as Series 2 Mark 1, or Series 2 Mark 2, up to Series 2 Mark 11.
    These different “Marks” are not primarily, the works of the manufacturer, but denotes the various modifications,carried out by innovated operators in the field, and applied by the manufacturer during subsequent production.

8. @ Dompey, I had a relative that attended a magnet school in US and in reviewing some info at that time of their attendance I was of the view that the magnet school was a public school which catered to kids in its catchment area who achieved the requirements to get into the school.

In short, different but not unlike HC or Lodge or such. You get in by passing the test the school district sets assuming you meet certain residential requirements.

So not sure I understand what you mean by the US is gradually moving away from the Public and private schools. That’s NEWS, my brother.

If you know something that’s not public knowledge please share.

9. Dompey | October 26, 2014 at 3:04 PM |
    America is gradually moving away from the Public and private schools, settings and focusing more on the Magnet Schools
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Magnet schools emerged in the United States in the 1960s[1] as one means of remedying racial segregation in public schools, and they were written into law in Sec. 5301 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Authorization.[1] Demographic trends following the 1954 Brown v. Board of Education Supreme Court decision revealed a pattern later characterized as white flight, the hypersegregation of African Americans and European Americans, as the latter moved to the suburbs.[2][3] (Wikipedia)

10. A bit of-topic; but DD thinks that a recent article about how an explosion in advanced manufacturing and high-tech industries taken place in Costa Rica on the basis of a well trained, skills-based and motivated workforce, could fit in this discussion.

The following are copied from the article at:

http://business.financialpost.com/2014/10/23/the-costa-rican-miracle-latin-american-nation-a-great-place-to-visit-an-even-better-place-to-invest-in/

โ€œIn June of this year, IBM celebrated its 10th anniversary in Costa Rica with the opening of its latest Security Operations Center (SOC). With this new centre, the first in Costa Rica, IBM increases its existing services offered in the country including cloud, business analytics, project management, human resources, financial services and more.

According to Jorge Sequeira, director general of the Costa Rican Investment Promotion Agency, which goes by the acronym CINDE, โ€œexports have increased tenfold to US$11.5-billion between 1985 and 2013, with electronics, life sciences, financial outsourcing and software development replacing traditional bananas and coffee as the dominant export industries.โ€
    …………….
    The explosion in advanced manufacturing and high-tech industries has had a dramatic impact on living standards. Per capita GDP topped US$10,500 last year, making Costa Ricans among the most affluent in Latin America on average.

Investors say they were first attracted to Costa Rica because of the competitive cost structure that included inducements offered in the free-trade zones. But they stay and expand because the country offers what few others in the region, or Latin America as a whole, can match.

Costa Rica’s educational system is ranked 20th in the world, the highest in Latin America

Michael Tucci, whose company MicroTechnolgies Inc. exports precision medical, aerospace and automotive components, says labour costs were the main reason he settled on Costa Rica 15 years ago. But thatโ€™s not why heโ€™s in the process of investing in a US$15-million expansion that will result in a doubling of his current workforce of 400.

โ€œLike most manufacturers, we were looking for a more competitive labour rate but what you learn is that [labour costs] are no magic bullet to solving the competiveness problem,โ€ he explains.

โ€œCosta Rica is giving us more. It is giving high-value labour because it has a highly educated work force that has an ability to adapt. Also, the country is stable. I donโ€™t know how you value stability, but the fact is the government is stable, monetary policy is predictable and the workforce is motivated โ€” my people show up to work every day.โ€

Foreign firms uniformly praise the education system, which they say has acted as a partner to business in training and skills development. In an email response to questions, IBM Costa Rica noted that it has been able to โ€œdevelop several educational initiativesโ€ and provide scholarships to give students the training they will need in the countryโ€™s fast-growing technology sectors.โ€

NOTE See http://www.mic-tec.com/about which talks of 50 years of innovation in manufacturing.

While Costa Rica has a much larger population – Ronald Jones might be well advised to pay a visit to its MOE to see what CR is doing.

A well trained, skills-based and motivated workforce will do more to move the country forward, and lead to innovation, than the critical thinking philosophers that Dompey wants to see UWI churning out.

11. BlueBoy

I am acutely aware of Brown vs. Board of Education; I have read it numerous times before. However, what I was trying to convey earily is the fact that in the of Connecticut and elsewhere up North, there were not such thing as a Magnet School here during the 1980’s.

However, 2014, with the closured of the many of the Catholic Private Schools and the failing public school system here, there have a significant increase in the establishment of Magnet Schools throughout the State.

Now,I am not fully aware if you’re cognizant of the fact the Brown vs. the Board of Education was fought by the NAACP and the ACLU to desegregated the schools within the 15 Southern States?

Nevertheless, many of the states upon North were already in the process of desegregatioin. Now, I do not doubt your argument regarding the establishment of the Magnet Schools within the 15 Southern States, after the dismantlement of the Separated but Equal Racial Policy. Because many of the state up North such MA and CT and NY had already abolished slavery in the 1700s.

12. This information should be available within two weeks of each end-of-term.
    Information like:
    Academic performance
    Attendance of students AND teachers
    Disciplinary matters
    Incidents of bullying
    Infections and health issues
    Sports
    Extra curricular items โ€“ scouts, cadets etc

Parents could then have the right to transfer their children at the end of each school year.

The result of such a change would be pressure on principals and teachers to actually produce resultsโ€ฆ..and to expose those who are always absent, or who consistently get dismal results (should NOT be teaching)

I couldn’t say it any better.
    we all know the schools hide up everything, this is the real reason we don’t want cell phones in schools because to truth will come out.

however

That one simple move will change the whole school system for the better as bushie pointed out. the older mind set that in control will never allow this because it puts all their old school on the same level as all the rest.

13. I am not sure whether it is termed a Magnet school but 25yrs+ back my nephew went to the Gifted state School in North Carolina.

In NY there are excellent schools in poor areas of NYC where the kids are mainly black and hispanic, and those schools are funded by the Robin Hood Society, basically very rich mainly white fellas who have developed a science to superior education. The school must set certain goals for improving the students over a fixed period of time and failure over a 2yr period will lead to funding being withdrawn. The results have been excellent over all with many placements in Ivy League Unis, few of those entrants would likely have finished HS farless reach Ivy League status.

Bim should learn from these excellent lessons.

14. Damian, what difference would it make to transfer a child from one school to the next, when the system of academic there in Barbados operates on an unilateral-Curriculum? For example: here in America,a good education depend on which school district one resides in. And usually the school districts with the most money obviously have the better school systems, so it would be within the best interest of parensts to move to those school districts if their want their children to get a good education.

15. Dompey if a school does not perform well people will not go to it.
    if it performs well people will want to go there.

16. @ Due Diligence

I am going to ask the webmaster to ban you

Imagine your gumtion to come on this here site and to provide a report of a Export Development agency of Costa Rica a country with a literacy rate of 96% one that has been able to attract millions of dollars in FDI in direct contrast to Bulbados’ BIDC and this cvntry’s literacy rate of 99%

People like you should be banned for life and then exiled to the furtherest reaches of the said Costa Rica you Central-American-Latin-loving-ingrate-you.

This is why we have patriotic citizen who love Bulbados like AC who will some come on here and chastise you rightfully for bringing this obviously contrived report of people who can hardly speak english and plumping it right before our eyes.

Is there no patriotism in this cvntry? You present a clear case for the 2nd AC to give you a few kicks to the noggin as she once threatened with here some seasons back.

Or worse still, instead of being banned you should be put in a room with someone reading you Brown versus The Board of Education in Latin for your rambunctious comments.

Next thing you are going to be saying is that this 30 year old Costa Rican institution which has a report available for what it has been doing with the billion $$ it has received from government during its 46 years of existence from successive administrations, is being funded by drug money or something like that.

People like wunna wants banning fuh life

17. @ Dompey

I am lost…

In your opening sentence you chide the young man Damain who, in a previous email, you encouraged to come to the site, having told the blogmaster that he is not catering to young people.

You ask/tell him “what difference would it make to transfer from one school to a next then, in the same breath say it is in the best interest of those parents to move to districts in Amurica if “their want (the same) their children to get a better education…

No I am trying to reason what you are positing, barring your confusion of the possessive case with nominative plural but I would ask you as we confabulate on this subject (i note that this is a word that you have taken to using of late) is it that you are telling Damian that moving around from one Bajan school to another in this hypothetical Innovation improvement for Barbadian schools is not allowed however, as long as it is an Ameican school, it would be?

Forgive the ole fogey (not fogy) I have not had the insulin for 2 hours and 15 minutes and my reasoning skills are much diminished, so help out a poor man nuh?

18. Damian, how would one determine if school has met the grade in Barbados? Now I am asking this question out of wilful ignorance because I really do not know. When I attended primary school there in Barbados, their gave us the Common Entry and then pushed us through the doors with a quick dispatched.

19. And a matter of fact my primary school English teacher ( how ironic) Mr. John Sealy, is’ow a big editor at the Nation Newspaper. I am sure David has heard of him? I think he also an editor for the Nation Newspaper blog on Facebook. Mr. Sealy took the art of brutalizing people children to unprecedented levels.

20. Damian, I hope the pedagogic culture of violence married with education in Barbados has cease to exist? Man we were beaten as though we were Cindarella ugly stepbrothers.

21. @ David[BU]

and there we have it… straight from the proverbial horse’s mouth… the genesis of this torment and dislike of things/schools/institutions Bajan

“…..Mr. Sealy took the art of brutalizing people children to unprecedented levels…”

Young Dompey, the ole man will hazard to say that you are in your late forties to fifties, I will apologize for the unkindnesses that these overzealous disciplinarians meted out on many a student.

Some students have hard heads but I do not think that it merits the perverse cruelty that certain teachers used and still use now.

Telling a fellow his head hard like a rock, and he going to go to Glendairy (close up there from where you used to live) and beating him ruthlessly until his hands cant hold the marbles that one unfair the other fellows for, because your hands got a bigger spawn that them, sorry sorry de ole man get carried away and telling out he own stories from all dem years ago… but this is not about me and my hard head…but i sympathize nonetheless…

22. I am near to death man Dompey “Man we were beaten as though we were Cindarella ugly stepbrothers…..

Tell me how you does do do that?

As far as I knew Cinderella only had step sisters but if you were a stepbrother that would evince a new type of punishment assuredly….!

23. @PODRYR

Sorry, in the interest of valuing time members of the BU household are quick to delete certain comments/

24. LOL
    …listen Piece, ANY teacher worth his salt and who had the interest of Barbados at heart would have done the same as Mr Sealy to Dompey…
    it is unfortunate that he made so little headway and Bushie puts that down to the fact that tasers had not then been available for use on retards such as the “Domps”…
    …well at least we only have to tolerate him on BU where he can be easily scrolled past….
    ..can you imagine if his donkey lived in Barbados…?
    shiite man! … he would probably be in the DLP and likely a minister as we blog….
    ….then again – would it make any difference if he was Minister of Health….?

25. Piece, where is your sense of humour? Don’t take it literally. If could articulate Einstein Quantum Mechanics and the relation of the proton, Neutron and Electron to the Nucleus. Don’t you think that i am aware that Cinderalla had a stepsister? Brother I have four kids.

26. I have been thanking God recentlyTHAT BY REMOVING ME FROM ST LEONARD:S BOYS WHERE I HAD STARTED TO TEACH CHEMISTRY THAT I ESCAPED HAVING TO DEAL WITH MARK FENTY BETWEEN 74-80
    Fenty must have been a more stupid moron then!
    GOD IS REALLY GOOD

27. Dompey,

I cannot tell you a lie… I just laughed till my next door neighbours who downstairs with de Madam cam upstairs to see de ole man flat pun he back deading with laughter.

Whu is worse is dat i had was to get up and put de cuntputer in safemode cause while de madam know bout me alter ego, dem neighbours tink dat i is a strange ole man who does doan sleep en always peeping behind dem childrun when dem smoking marijuana

So there are 4 little Dompeys, congrats man….

28. David, what we have before us a education system that hasn’t really taught the principle of critical thinking. Let me inform you all thinking againt: any piece of information can be interpreted, Literally, figuratively, Symbolically, allagorically and metaphorically etc. Yall took a piece of my written and misconstrued like a child who has been able to grasp abstract concept. Do you remember in English literature when the professor gave yall a poem and told yall to: interpret, and analysize?

29. Piece, I have now understand that the ability to construct a few words in sentence isn’t a true indicator of intelligence. Intelligence is the faculty of knowing and reasoning.

30. But comedy and tasers aside, back to more serious issues, I would ask readers to revisit Due Diligences remarks on CINDE in closer detail.

I want each of you to do a cut and paste of each the Board of Directors of their agency tasked with the development of industry for their nation.

Every man jack is an expert in his or her field, they have chosen the absolute best to man/woman their FDI initiatives at a national level

We on the other hand have chosen the Dumbest Lead Pipes, DLP pooch suckers as the directors of BIDC and 99% of the other boards and statutory corporations.

Every man is a QC (qualified cvnt) and unless they possess these attributes in plentitude, then they are not appointed.

But what else can you expect when de ministers dem is ingrunt men’s and wummens, dem nah want nuh body round dem wid mo’ sense dan dem whu dat wud show dem up as ignoramii superlativii donkeyum (pig latin for ignorant asses of the superlative order)

We are in a sad state when the worst possible cadre of skills are enlisted to decide on progressing Innovation.

31. Piece, never take any piece of information literally, always read between the lines. I am aware of the fact the you yourself, Bush Tea, GP attended school back in the day when, cooking oil was the name given for body lotion, but that no excuse for the lack of critical analysis. Now, I’ll leave yall with this quote from Justice of the U.S Supreme Court Sir Oliver Wendell Holmes he said : ” The fundamental purpose of intellectual education isn’t the acquistion of fact, but learning how to make fact live.” What Mr. Holmes is trying to convey to yall old fogies is this: the purpose of education isn’t to accumulate and recapitulate what you have learned but to use what you have learned in a critical sense to make value judgments. Now, yall fogies have made a critical mistake above because yall have taken what I have written and misconstrued in a complete opposite way in which I had intended it to be. And then yall had the audacity to point fingers at me because of yall lack of interpretative extrapolation. Do yall know that they are literalists and originalists who interpretes United States Constitution?

32. Piece, I have four kids whom I have taken to the theater on more than one occasion to see Cinderalla. And by the way Piece, it is typical American joke to say: don’t treat me like Cinderalla ugly stepsister, google if you think I am be untrue.

33. No letting the students chose the school and haveing the schools set up like UWI

Mr. Sealy would have to figure out a way to make has class enjoyable or look for another job because people would simply avoid his class. That would make way for a better teacher.

Its time to narrow the discution on education system reform in Barbados.

Changes to the current system will be limited to some extent. The goverement will always resist change to the underlying control mecanisums so changes must work within those confines.

My old school LLSS would have been a good testing ground for something like that. Small enough at 4 classes per year. Hey! What about the school fa hard ears children. That would be better testing grounds in this situation.

But it is time somebody try something.

What the privet schools doing? I got more questions than answers…

34. Good night fogies. It is sad state of affairs for yall old fogies to walk the stairway to Heaven/ Hell after death have arrenge yall personal affairs, not being able to employ the skill of critical thinking.

David, Bush Tea, Georgie Porgie, Miller, Hants and Artax etc havenโ€™t as yet given merit to the range of my intellect Piece.

35. @ Dompey
    David, Bush Tea, Georgie Porgie, Miller, Hants and Artax etc havenโ€™t as yet given merit to the range of my intellect.
    ++++++++++++
    …actually we have been trying to tell you Dompey.
    The problem is that your “intellect” has so far failed to absorb the message to you that it “ain’t worth what Paddy shot at”…
    Skippa…
    ..your best bet is to seek to restrict your intercourse with ac – who displays an intellect of similar range.
    Just ensure that there are no offspring, cause the possible results of such a union portends igrunt consequences of biblical proportions.
    LOL ha ha ha

36. Bush Tea, man I gine see yaa tamorrow becausing with an enlarge prostae with restrict you flow, you should be bed old man. You know that the prostate starts to grow at forty right? How old are you now Bushie? I will recommend Procar at your advancred age. Or had you the Turp or the Protectomy Bush?

Bush tea there isn’t anything you GP Artax, piece, Pach, etc can teach me that I have heard of read already stupid.

Bush Tea, I have one question for you: where have attended school in Barbados? Can you give us an honest answer and stop beating around the bush bushie.

David, Georgie Porgie, Bush Tea and Piece etc, let me let yall in on a little secret: despite my linguistic shortcomings ,I have been on the Deanโ€™s list throughout my college career and to the eny of my White, Black, and Hispanic classmates. And even at times were accused of being disrespect to the class because I have had to correct several professors on numerous occasions. I was also placed organizations in college with people with high IQ etc.

37. @ Piece
    You are exactly right.
    All our Board members should be highlighted on BU when the entity is found to be doing shiite… These people are mostly just a bunch of lackies who could not “botch a peg” if their lives depended on it.
    Even those with big names are just that….
    How about the NIS Board?
    Remember CLICO?
    Lotta big names ….and retarded Greenverbs and his crooked political gang were able to wrap them around their little fingers like Dompies… and not a board fella knew what was going on…

Look how lil’- Hitler just up and make-up a big job for his old pal…. what qualifies him to make a success of the Gym or NSC? …is there a ‘Board’ in place there too that made that choice?

…of course you know that those ministers have arrangements where they appoint each others’ bosom friends to various boards as rewards for various favours ( I appoint your girl if you appoint mine)…..
    wuh shiite, anyone going after the little stipend provided for attending Board meetings could have anything worthwhile to contribute?

…but then again, the poor-raky ministers are only in place because the sleepy boss man playing with a deck of all jokers…
    The VERY LAST thing our political leaders want would be competent knowledgeable Boards in position……who would resist their warped directives…

How the hell could we EVER expect to get results like Costa Rica? or even like Peru?
    a country ALWAYS get exactly what it deserves……

38. Bush Tea man yaa really luck that I am writtin on de phone becausing when I get back on de cuntputer I gine landbased yaa ass yaa hair.

39. @Dompey
    Bush tea there isnโ€™t anything you GP Artax, piece, Pach, etc can teach me that I have heard of read already stupid
    Yes there is….
    ‘their’ is the possessive …..use it when referring to ownership
    ‘There’ is a place
    ‘They’ refer to subjects

No doubt you were on the Dean’s list…
    the list of students he most wanted to flush ……. ๐Ÿ™‚
    LOL ha ha ha

40. Bush Tea, I am actually tired of confabulating with you because the more I discourse with you, the more Ignorant I am become by the minute. Go and read the (Bell Curve) if doubt what I am saying.

41. Bush Tea, you”re an intelligence killer. You have anything whatsoever to add to the conversation here but your usual parroting and spewing of regurgitated bullshite. Man why don’t find sometime more productive to do with your time. Are your efforts here helping anyone? Read read man so you could instruct some misguided Bajan child to a more productive way of looking at reality brother.

42. Bush Tea, go and give of your time at the hospital instead of wasting precious time on a senesless blog inflating your ego. Let me counsel you here for a moment: friend looking inward and there you will find the inner peace and tranquillity you’re seeking after in others. It is easy, focus on self first and your need for the approval of others should resolve itself. William James, the American psychologist and philosophere once said: “That the deepest craving in our human nature is our need for approval.”

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Cinderella NOT Cindarella
    More ignorant I am becoming NOT I am become
    Blambaste NOT landbasted
    Fogeys NOT fogies
    Senseless NOT senesless

I hope you don’t tell any of those Mexicans who eny you that you came from Barbados.

You have to be related to Ronald WeJonesing Barbados’ Minister of Edukatshon!

@ Bush Tea

The other possible reason he might have been on the dean’s list is that given the average American ‘s predilection to go on a rampage whenever someone looks at them too hard in a school ground, the dean would have rightly felt that a student who was “brutalized to unprecedented levels” was a possible threat in a Magnet school

Certainly he was right as this champion of Eubonics show with his casual assassination of the English language!!

Did he say earlier that he was a naturalized citizen for 20 years or that it had taken him 20 years to pass the TOEFL tests and Other exams to become a citizen?

Whiles de man does kill me dead with he submissions dennnnn

But Bush Tea man you gi’ he a real low blow man rather you really gi’ my girlfriend AC a low blow wid dat insult bout cohabitation and offspring begotten between them….oh lawsie

Man I is in tears man, I have laughed so much I peed myself!!

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dear Blogmaster forgive me, I have to stop but I have not laughed this much in years.

All round the back of my head is hurting me man.

I going stop and let dis serious article get itself righted

45. PIECE

Piece, I have made a reiterated endeavor to inform you that there is a polar distinction the ability to construct a Sentence, and capacity to think critically brother.

Why don’t you keep your trap shut Piece? You couldn’t even distinguish between the philosophical concepts of Tabula Rasa and the Blank Slate. Mr. English teacher. A man with your so call intelligence try to feed Damian the bull that the worldview in formed in the womb. When Damian try to tell you that the worldview is formed during in Seconadry School years.

46. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Here’s a critical thinking exercise for you

In 30 seconds without cheating be copying from the Internet as you may be inclined, give me one intelligent remark about hoe we can nurture and keep innovation alive in a bajan school and not somewhere in an American Uzi toting institution

No response right?

Thought so

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Eubonicized for your rapid assimilation

48. LOL @ Piece
    in all seriousness Bushie would be at a loss as to what we would do without Dompey in the BU family…..
    David is a boss then….

Just when Old Onions disappeared, – first Fenty, then a range of new handles … and finally ‘Dompey’ shows up on the blog…. LOL …talking a lotta shiite on every possible topic..

His purpose is clearly to indicate to all bloggers that EVERYONE is welcome on BU. … even Donkeys by name, nature and braying..
    you dont have to be bright like GP
    you dont have to be smart like David
    you dont have to be rich like Money B
    you dont need a whacker like bushie
    you dont need to be wise like Piece..
    and you dont need rank like Sargeant or Colonel B

If Dompey can share on BU, then Sam Poochie and the duppy must know that they are welcome….

as Bushie has always said…
    BU David is a BOSS!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

49. How could there be innovation is our schools…..?

• When you have people who would close down ALL schools for a day because the Met Office (who has NEVER given two consecutive accurate forecasts in recent memory) calls for rain on Monday?
      Message to our children – at the slightest threat, stay home under mommy’s skirt.
      Of course (as Bushie had predicted) the sun shining bright as shiite… ๐Ÿ™‚
    • When a whole school could be closed down for a whole day because the water authority turned off the water for two hours to fix a leak.
      Keep in mind that these schools are hurricane shelters to be used in emergency by persons who may lose their homes…
      keep in mind that they all have backup water tanks…presumably no one knows how to turn on the backup water, or perhaps the children can’t be asked to use old water to wash their hands or flush the toilets…

• Here is the REAL joke
      the Minister of education, Chief Education Officer, officers and other waste-of-time staff at the MOE and all the Principals who do this shiite will continue happily in place to continue this nonsense next time a few clouds pass overhead….while we borrow NIS money to pay them.
      Of course Bushie would have fired a few fellows for this….

Those Met Office people should be monitored for accuracy and their pay indexed to the result achieved every month…especially when any jackass can look at Wunderground and see the same damn clouds as they can…
    shiite man…. Ossie moore (or his cousin Carl) would do a better job by spinning a coin.