Submitted by Wayne R. Pilgrim-Cadogan
Buy local!
Buy local!

Over the past few years the government has being preaching over and over at every opportunity for the country to turn to entrepreneurship as an alternative for those who have been displaced from their jobs and school leavers who were about to enter the work force. So much so that it has become a buzzword for some. There are other agencies such as the Barbados Manufacturers Association, The Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme, The Barbados Small Business Association and others who over the years have been advocating innovation, buy local, self employment, and creating new products from local materials and food crops as a means of creating their own employment as an answer to a dwindling job market..

Every two years there is the Prime Minister Award of $75,000.00 to the winner of the National Innovation Award. The purpose of this award by the government is to bring out the creativity and innovation among Barbadians. One would think that educational institutions would be teaching its students along the lines of innovation and creativity. There are plenty of indigenous materials and food crops that are available to Barbadians for experimentation in creating innovative products rather than using foreign products. I am at a lost as to why at one of the Secondary Schools Science & Nutrition class, that a teacher would tell the entire class to bring Strawberries, Kiwi Fruit and Grapes for a project when there are so many fruits here that is currently in season, that could have been used as a substitute.

I find it very difficult for a teacher to make such demands on a class, especially in these hard economic times for some families where there might not even be an income coming into that household. What about the child in that class that might have gone to school without even having breakfast or anything to eat or drink? Furthermore, it could be very detrimental to that child’s parent, or parents to fork out the minimum of $35.00 for a class project.

This is going against the grain of what the government is advocating, as well as all the other organizations especially the Barbados Manufacturing Association with its Buy Local campaign and is an insult to the Science, Technology and Innovation Department for all the hard work that it is doing in getting Barbadians to be innovative. It would appears that innovation is not being taught in the schools, does this means that what the government is advocating is not being adhered to by the schools and that the schools have their own curriculum? One would think that the schools would be singing from the same hymn sheet as that of the government? But evidently this is not the case in this circumstance.

183 responses to “Innovation NOT Being Taught in Schools”

1. We have what is described as an enviable education system yet there seem to be consensus we lack a required level of innovation which is at the root of being competitive and shall we say demonstrating ingenuity of man.

2. Dompey on October 25, 2014 at 12:05 PM
    Damian

How does rearrenging a classroom and encouraging cell phone use, instill the critical thinking skills; needs for production of the innovative thinking weโ€™re seeking?

From your question I can draw some information, corret me if I am wrong but I betting you grow up with rotory phones and CRT TV probly black and white.

Reason I say this is because that is the generation that running things now, thing about wanna is you don’t really know change. You guys belive that everything can be controlled and “printed” like in a factory line.

The world does not work like that anymore. Newer generation don’t fare change as much we see different phones every year different TVs change happens around ud so often it really is a different mindset.

Now to answer your question.

UWI is a learning instutution you go to because you want to be there. Secondary school you go to because you get send there.

The difference is you want to learn at UWI therfore is set up to allow you to LEARN at your fastest pace. Secondary school is about controll and TEACHING.

I don’t think your generation can get over the whole students can take pictures of bad behaveour on cell phones. Thing is if they are tought to use these things and the acommponing network the students would have access to all the info in the world to do as they wish.

Think about if you had google from 11 how different your school life would.

Truth is this current education system was good for getting the info into peoples heads but that is not nessasery anymore the info is on the net. What we need to do is to start teaching how to search for and use that info.

3. @ David Weekes
    We are unconvinced that ‘innovation’ could be thought in schools. Seems to us that real innovators normally avoid the strictures of academia. Many years ago we did a master’s level course on innovation and entrepreneurship at a leading british school, and were not impressed.

Our point is that innovation could best be the result of a national culture which places value to this work as a national project. Changing systems to more benefit people like your brother or yourself than those who learn by rote.

But we’ll bet that all the forces around you would have discourage you in many ways. We are not sure we have teachers or a school system that could help real genius to emerge in material ways.

We dont know that 3 or 30 generations will make a difference but wish you well with your more achievable objectives.

4. @ Colonel B

Your point is taken Not every household can afford leggo blocks, irrespective of the time of year.

Benjamin Franklyn did not have the benefit of the church spire when he is reported to have conducted his famous electrical experiment with the kite and key (and his son).

We have spent US $236M on buildings and incidentals for EDUTECH but successive administrations have failed to address how we can nurture, furthermore sustain, a place where INNOVATION IS ALIVE

In the final analysis while one can twist this to be an indictment on our politician and/or education system is more serious when we step back and see it in light of the rate at which other countries are proceeding in leaps and bounds with Artificial Intelligence initiatives

Look at SIRI on your IPhone, the newest version, and see the advances that they are making in text to speech conversions and predictive text.

Mr Cadogan who wrote this article is just asking us to stop all the talking, like the politicians and let us suggest and implement real and workable solutions to advance the dearth of INNOVATION in our country

5. Well Mr. Weekes, tell Mr. Cadogan for me that apply practical solutions can also be realized through a productive dialectical discourse. Mr. Cadogan is in no positiion whatsoever to dictate terms upon which this discussion ought to unfold. And why is it that Mr. Cadogan believes that our contribution to the discussion here, merits no consideration?

6. Dompey | October 25, 2014 at 2:51 PM |
    Colonial Buggy

So in essence, youโ€™re saying that in the entire history of Skills Training Program: not one pupil from Harrison College, Queen College, St. Michael or Combermere, ever attended the Skills Training Program in Barbados?
    …………………………………………………………………………………………
    Not at all. I ‘ve known quite a few young men,not many, from some of these older secondary schools who have attended the Polytechnic, because they wanted to acquire a skill, which they can always rely upon, and even take abroad if the need arises, but most of all, put them on the road to becoming entrepreneurs.

7. David Weekes, one would have to possessed an ego bigger than Brigetown, to instruct citizens of a democratic country to curtail their constitutional right to free speech. I don’t get and it really affronts the common principle of intellectual autonomy for anyone to possessed the audacious impudicity, to articulate that kind of an instruction in the age of enlightenment.

8. “Fom the chair that you sit in, to the computer you surf on, to the car you drive or the mp3 player youโ€™re hooked into, industrial design begins with analyzing the connection between the product and the user. A cross between an engineer and an artist โ€“ the Industrial Designer thinks and designs in 3D.

In this program, you will learn how to identify and fulfill needs, generate innovative ideas with preliminary sketches and designs, and finally bring your ideas to life through the creation of three-dimensional models and prototypes ready for mass production”

9. Mr. Weekes, as a Naturalized American citizen, who has been residing in this country for a little over thirty years now, that comment has my blood boiling right about now. Its offends me greatly and I am piss!

10. “Industrial designers are responsible for the concept, the design and the details that are worked out before the manufacturing process of any product can begin. They work behind the scenes to determine the features, appearance, materials and ergonomics of the many productsโ€”from toasters to cell phonesโ€”that we use every day.”

11. You really got to answer the question where innovation comes from?

Innovation really in its basic form is wanting to help someone other than your self.

You can only help others if you can communicate with them, the time of our lives when we are in secondary school is the time we form our views of the world. Therefore if you want to build a culture of innovation you have to start be building a culture of communication in secondary school and it will extend throughout the lifetime. Our students currently don’t communicate with each other except at lunch time or the occasional group project, this will never produce innovation.

I am sorry but the older generation would have to die out first because they are so unwilling to change.

12. Poor Weekes,

He done gone started up a nest uh ants an gine get sting real bad.

Hants en de Annunaki I blame wunna doah, wunna cud uh warn he dat dat fellow doan shoot straight.

Dere is innovation fuh you

@ Damian

I can hear de pain in your voice young fellow. Doan worry nuff uh we ent gots too long left heah and de meek like unna so is going to inherit de earth.

By the way, contrary to your uninformed position secondary school years aren’t really the years when “you form your views of the world”

From de time unna born, and even before when you in you muddah womb, when you gots a fadder who is a drunkard and abuser and kick you muddah every time he tink a man look at she, or when you is got a mudder who smoking ganja and drinking Red Bull and Whisky pun you de foetus, your views of the world formulating.

When you is 3 years and you fadder and muddah watching sex pictures in front you scvnt, you views of de world being formed, when you hit 5 and you see Miss Headley who does go church every day uh de week hiding she face while she getting out uh de pastor big jeep in de back road, your views is being formed.

Wunna does tink it does de cute when you 7 year ole cousin does string togedder 3 bad words when an adult tells her to shut she legs becausing women does doan sit down so, all like den “world view formulating”

You en dat nex fellow dun tink dat life does go on hold till a particular moment in time en den Whaplax like Pilly dennnn.

Every damn thing linked up and the more you try to integrate the whole, instead uh fixing piece hey and a piece dey we gine have dese problems

David[BU] says it well cause some uh wunna gots real problems walking and chewing a stick uh chewing gum

Sometimes when de ole man sit down heay and read some uh wunna I does den unnerstan why a donkey does got on them leather blinkers pun each side der he eyes, if Balaak euphemish for brassbowls euphemish fuh Bajans dem gets to see too much of a ting in panorama Whaplax it all ovah.

13. That willingness to hold tight to a set of values and ideals because grandfather and grandmother did that way for the last seventy years, has the makings of a backward and non-progressive society. Teaching the young people how to think critically, encourage them to question the conventional wisdom like philosophers of old, help them to overcome the contemporary challenges of life. And lastly, creating an environment of inclusiveness and acceptance should foster the kind of innovation we’re seeking. But how does one go about encourage young people to think critically? It all starts with education and that is why I stress the importance of encouraging every young Barbadian to study philosophy. Philosophy, more any other subject I have taken in college impact my moral, religious, social and political worldview in transformative ways. Philosphy taught me how to accept nothing at face value, and to question everythin and anything despite the evidence for or against.

14. @Damian I am sorry but the older generation would have to die out first because they are so unwilling to change.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps you can be innovative and invent something that would speed up this process. Why do you keep hitting at the older generation.
    Take a look at this new generation of politicians that we have in charge.Like you, they dissed the older generation of politicians and look what position we are in today. Life is a constant progression, where the older generation must should gradually cede to the younger generation, and not be pushed like the Niagara Falls over a cliff.

15. Piece

From de time unna born, and even before when you in you muddah womb

So how do you explain the philosophical concept of Tabula Rasa and John Locke’s Blanke Slate Piece? Damian spoke about the forming of the worldview in secondary school and not the forming of the personality and the congenital effects of a parents destructive behavior during pregnancy.

16. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Not a bit of it Damian. We have outlived our usefulness. Kill dem all and come back alone

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I don’t Dompey. Tabula, normative vocative tabular accusative, tabulae genitive tabula dative and ablative.

I utilized the generic concept of world view in my interpretation and did not disaggregate ithe concept by another heading because it was my will and since I was hopeful that Damain might have engaged further

Notwithstanding, as is in the Desiderata, I underst that there will always be greater and lesser persons than myself

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Tabulam accusative, this stupid tablet. Irony table and tablet ant enforced predictive text

19. Piece, yes we’re cognicant of the fact that certain neurological changes in brain during pregnancy, associate with conditions such as Autism, can predict certain personality traits. But that has little to do with the forming of one’s worldview.

20. Piece, there is school of thought out there which tell us that a child learn through process of imitate and emulation and that the knowlege of life is imprinted on the human memory via experience. And that the mind at birth is empty of experience, do you agree? With this hypothesis in hand, how then can a child acquire a sense of self in the womb?

21. I guess the reclusive fogy is ready to shed his earthly taberncle………. on that final walk where consciousness and the universe meets as a unified whole.

22. If we look around us we can still see the works of innovators who have died long ago, some well over a hundred years, yet our modern day bright sparks have yet to come up with systems to replace those aged principles which keep us going.
    Rudolph Diesel died in 1930
    Nickolas Otto dies in 1891
    Rudolph Ackerman died in 1834
    Michael Farady died in 1867.

23. Colonial Buggy

Who are these people? And what have their done to enhance our human way of life? I have never heard of any of them and I am an avid reader.

24. Colonial Buggy

Socretes was in his seventies when he was put to death for educating the youth of his day. And Damian, this was the exact antithesis of what you were advocated in your efforts advanced your concept of Innovation. So in this light, we see Socretes as the more advanced thinkers and the youth of his day still enveloped in a world of ignorance and darkness.

I do not know what Damian was driving at when he advocated for the eternal rest of those Barbadians who are of advanced age. Age is not an appropriate critera to employ in one’s effort to determine whether or not someone is still shackled to the principles, values, ideals and ideas, of the past. First of all Damian, we age: physiologically, psychologically, emotionally, chronologically and sociologically. What has one physical or chronological age to do with the ideas which revolves around in one’s gray matter? And can we really say that there is a collective mindset which gives force to thinking of Barbadians of advanced age?

25. Dompey | October 25, 2014 at 8:46 PM |
    Colonial Buggy

Who are these people? And what have their done to enhance our human way of life? I have never heard of any of them and I am an avid reader.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Every motor vehicle, car,bus , train, truck, motorcycle, generator , light aircraft ,lawn mower, weed whacker, marine engine, farm tractor, army battle tank, all utilise one or more of these gentlemen’s innovations.

26. I wouldn’t want to argue about who old in age or who old in thinking. I believe that the older type of thinking that is currently in control needs to go. Here is why. For the longest time we have been talking about the need to change the education system to encourage innovation. This change in it self would need innovative thinking.

So what would a innovator do if asked to produce this change?

So far the older generation has talked. If talk was going to work it would of worked long time. It is safe to say that talk had enough time so see if it could work and it hasent and never will.

What would an innovator do? Try something. A innovator would try different things at different schools and use the best results at all the other schools.

The process goes like this
    Define the problem.
    Try a solution.
    If it does not work use what you learn and try a better approach.
    Repeat till you get the desired results.

What I would do is simple. I would let the students chose the school they want to go to. And pay each school per student.

27. Wunna see how ‘serious’ Bajans take their politics, love their politricians?

We always give too much of a muchness to things.

How can we talk about innovation and the Older Secondary Schools in the same breath?

Why can’t all of us be members of both political parties at the same time? What is wrong with Weekes or anybody else having a past, present of future relationship with the D’s, the B’s or the U’s? How can we be an innovative country when we don’t know how to form a coalition government?

In Buhbadus, only the elites could can dare purport to be attached to both these proscribed organizations, at the same time. In short, instead of seeing these parties, as seriously as we do, we should be poking fun at them, because they were never serious. People like Weekes should be able to speak to both parties as he sees fit.

28. Colonel Buddy

There is saying here: “If it works why fix it.” And this it is probably an antiquated way of look at the issue but I quite if there was a pressing need for improvement, it might have had happened.

Damian

Now, do really think that it is necesssary to overhaul the entire system academics in Barbados to implement the kind of Innovation you’re seeking? Why not meticulously examine the present curriculum and take from it what does not seem to producing results, then gradually implement the innovative teaching strategies over a plan period of time and if their produce the kind of results you’re looking for then implement them and if their do not produce results eliminate them.

But the concept of play with future of Barbados is a dangerous one because before you can implement any system of innovation, you first have to have proven and tested ideas for anyone with a measure of intelligence to buying to such ideas. And this is probably where the reluctancy on part of older and wiser generation of Barbaddians comes into the mix?

29. Damian, I welcome your contribution to the blog because for the longest time I have been advocating for a young voice here on BU. Now, that David and the entire BU family finally get to see how one young Barbadian views the social issues of the day. Your contribution makes a meaningful difference here because it gives balance and force to what I have considered a middle age discussion still enveloped in the way it used to be.

30. “You first have to have proven and tested ideas for anyone with a measure of intelligence to buying to such ideas. And this is probably where the reluctancy on part of older and wiser generation of Barbaddians comes into the mix?”

So these ideas have to be proven and tested where exactly. Before the “older and wiser” generation can acept. Should we be still waiting on outside influences to try something first then copy and paste or are our leaders going to be innovators themselfs.

31. Damian

I don’t very much know if what I am about to disclose is going to help in your efforts and desire to see this innovation become a reality.
    But, just last year our trusted friend and supporative presence here on the BU blog Mr. Bush Tea, proposed an eleven point plan specifically targeted at revamping the entire system of governance there in Barbados.

And perhaps, at your own choosing of course, you can call upon his wisdom in your efforts and desire to see the innovation that is obviously needed take on a new spirit of emergency.

Now, what I can tell you and have gathered about the man some here considered a storehouse of knowledge, is that he has workable solutions for anything and everything, but I haven’t yet been able to ascertain from him any academic credentials that would qualified him to give a professional opinion. Which by the way is my main concern with him among many other minor issues which will obviously address themselves in due course But confabulate with him because his has the reputation of being the sharpest nail in the box around these parts.

32. Dompey | October 26, 2014 at 6:51 AM |
    Colonel Buddy

There is saying here: โ€œIf it works why fix it.โ€ And this it is probably an antiquated way of look at the issue but I quite if there was a pressing need for improvement, it might have had happened.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    There is also another old saying, “Experience is not doing something the same old way day in, day out, when they are more efficient alternative ways.”
    ie, The military the world over , from the days of the Cannons, like those in Bush Hill, the ones with the bunged -up holes, were for the past 500 years plus, cleaning and lubricating the bores of these heavy guns and artillery pieces by using a long rods with grease smeared pads on one end to deposit grease/oil on the inner bore. Some time in the 1970’s a young technical soldier in one of the British Army’s technical Corps, on his first ever posting, to a Tank unit , after observing the 500 year procedure, proclaimed to everyone’s astonishment ,that he had an easier way to lubricate the bore of these modern-day tank cannons.
    Using readily available and inexpensive equipment, he ‘invented ‘ a tool, now known as the Smedley’s Smearer, which like the Kalashnikov, has been adopted by the military the world over, and with some civilians applications.

33. @Dompey …………….., but I havenโ€™t yet been able to ascertain from him any academic credentials that would qualified him to give a professional opinion.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And here lies a big problem in Barbados, only those with “academic credentials” are able to offer an acceptable opinion.
    A friend of mine , who finished school at the end of junior school, went on to ‘learn a trade’. He purchased many books on his line of discipline , and had the rare gift of reading, and quickly understanding the subject matter,without explanation from an ‘academic credential holder ‘. At his work place were many colleagues with impressive Academic credentials, but none of them , could have walked in his shoes,if ever one was deserving of being called an Engineer, it was him. He was self taught, and was often asked by visiting consultants from ” over and away ” which university he attended.

34. @ Damien

Do not confuse Vision and the inability of group of people to judge your idea with the fact that in our island that this set of people are from the “older generation” and in many cases are unable to see anything beyond their limited experience

Let me explain that Damien.

There is a “older” man herein Barbados that before MagicJack even came on scope he had developed a VOIP solution. I forgot his name. He would have approached several local development agencies and approached the “old boy network” and as Mr. Pachamama stated earlier the issue of tried and tested would have come into play and well, you know of Magic Jack you do not know of that Bajan pioneer.

“Tried and Tested” is the antipode of Innovation and Invention and are as far as East is from West.

You ever have seen cockroach and chicken living in the same coop?

Unfortunately the reality of what you are going to experience on this rock will orient you to that stark understanding which while sad is just the way it is.

Two short stories, bullet points for brevity (because the long version would drive you to tears)

1. 2 years waiting on a board decision. Board meets to decide on 11 of my patents. Board member gets up to make a point about one – the first local Electoral Campaign Mapping System. “Mr Chairman, I dont see the usefulness of this BECAUSE we in Barbados only have a general election every five years and they will only get one sale!!.

Chairman points out that there are 178 countries world wide with elections for things as insidious as the PTA, councils, boroughs, municipalities, provinces you get my drift BUT this is the type of intellect that is appointed to a board dealing with decisions on and advancing Innovation and Invention in my dear country.

The qualification process to bypass these visionaries who are tasked to evaluate your innovation is a very tedious one, it is much like being in a competition where you are required to pull stingers out of centipedes while lying in a box, WITH YOUR HANDS TIED BEHIND YOUR BACK

Fast forward second patent.

Accenture lands Homeland Security deal – CNET News news.cnet.com/Accenture…Homeland-Security-deal/2100-1029_3…CNET Jun 1, 2004 – The Department of Homeland Security said Tuesday that it had awarded Accenture a contract worth up to $10 BILLION for help in upgrading the … ”

When you go to the airport and swipe the device in the aisle of ** you use my patent and the same “business process” that drives ***. Say anything else and I will be fighting a lawsuit

Story #2 Short version. Encounter in 2004 with CEO of another Innovation agency. Comments after showing her said technology before it existed anywhere in the world “What part of the United states this has come from?”

I do not lie Damian, upon the blood of Jesus Christ my Saviour, this is the reality of “tried and tested” in a country that Innovation is the buzzword of every minister irrespective Mr. Pachamama of which ever party is in power, BLP or DLP.

Which brings me back to my begin premise Vision and Capacity

The things that you are encountering with your initiatives WILL expose you to alot of these visionless decision makers who in their attempts to hide their shortcomings and competencies will use these modalities available to them not because they proactively hate you but because they simply DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO.

Remember Damian, the sun does not rise and set in Barbados so when local doors close to you you have to be resilient and find other avenues.

35. @ Dompey
    Boss …. why dont you leave Bushie nuh? you never heard about letting sleeping dogs lie?
    Damian is doing quite well on his own…. he even seems to have realized the value of ignoring your distracting rants LOL ha ha

36. There is the danger when discussing issues like this one to become polarized. The bottomline as Colonel Buggy has pointed out is that there must be collaboration between the old and the young to derive an optimal outcome.

37. @ Damian
    What I would do is simple. I would let the students chose the school they want to go to. And pay each school per student.
    Brilliant.
    ..you would have solved 60% of the problems in the local education system by that single stroke.
    Presumably you would FORCE each school to publish ALL results every term – including the performance of each teacher and even of ancillary staff.
    …and presumably as students migrate away from the pissy schools those staff will be “thanked” for their services and sent packing…

…and so presumably you will find some way to get rid of the idiot politicians and the Ministry of mashing up Education first…..

38. @David Weekes
    Remember Damian, the sun does not rise and set in Barbados so when local doors close to you you have to be resilient and find other avenues.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    or as the good book put it, Matthew Chapter 13 Verse 57
    “………………………………….A prophet is not without honour,save in his own country,and in his own home.”

39. Barbados has always been a very conservative society that tows the line—little radical typically. As Sarge says can you really teach innovation?
    Little in Bim supports innovation whether we are talking school, teachers, society, Govt etc.

However, innovation is very important and every parent is responsible for raising their children properly via encouraging innovation with “toys” like Lego, Meccano et al. The education system MUST use computers and cell phones to communicate and teach. All parents/ students should be aware of The Khan Academy et al available on the internet—this is a critical component of the future in education—-I advocate teaching this way where one can move at speed and once you are performing quickly you get rewarded by playing a video game for a few minutes. Slow methods wont work these days because kids are accustomed to tech speed and the best and some brightest will be BORED! This way will help improve males performance versus females which has slipped in recent years partially due to boredom.

All keen on Innovation should read The Innovators by Walter Isaacson.

40. @Colonel Buggy

David Weekes seems to be suggesting we must see opportunity in a global market. Hopefully he will clarify.

@Moneybrain

A society is built on many pillars. If one pillar is risk averse and conservative this is not a problem once we build out a climate that supports those actors who want to take on entrepreneurial risk.

41. Colonial Buggy

The truth of the matter is, a lot of people here in Civil Engineering and the relative fields of endeavor, try their hands at developing these equipments all of the time.

But the problems their generally face are financing and promoting their products, coupled with the fact that sometimes the public show no real interest in these products.

A good Church brother of mine, who is Civil a Engineerer by professional and a graduate of the Ivy League school Cornell University. Embarking on an endeavor in the 1990s to manufacture equipments for the Social Service area which dealt with individuals with intellectual and physical disabilities. He made the first piece of equipment and took it to the department, which showed some interest initially, but gave him the run away for several months. The morale of the story is, you must have the necessary cash on hand to promote your product, or some celebrity name behind it in order to make it sometimes.

42. @David
    Precisely what we must do.
    We must appreciate that our very best innovative brains are likely to migrate as they know it will increase the probability of their having access to finance, organisational assistantce, competitive environment etc

A small country like Bim is at a disadvantage and we must stake out certain niches and focus in order to reach critical mass by producing several top brains that can attract the big orgs to Bim. Specialisation!

43. @ Dompey
    Sometimes good products just dont catch on. One thing that successful people understand is that learning to live with market failure is part of the mix.

Most people think rich people did it overnight but as Marcus of Home Depot says, at 60yrs old, he was packing shelves at 11pm on a Sunday night when the vast majority were comfy in bed. He eventually did well. Dave of Wendy’s is another guy that made his fortune late in life

—-Secret, NEVER GIVE UP!

44. @Moneybrain

Niche is an often used cliche but what can we produce to world class standard and a price point that supports a viable economic model and satisfy demand? Not saying it is not possible but in what volumes.

45. @ David

The subject matter is innovation yet what it is, how it can be nurtured can just as easily go off on a tangent of “the age of spirit not being the age of form” and young people being more spiritually seasoned or old people being more accommodating of the ideas of the newer generation as is consistent with a natural changing of the guard.

I humbly suggest that that ethos IS NOT AN EASY THING HERE IN BARBADOS because of a rampant gene that pervades the institutions that are tasked with nourishing INNOVATION and my words of encouragement to Damian, the young man who seems to be in the middle of that challenge is to take heart and to be resolved irrespective of what he IS GOING TO encounter

@ Bush Tea

I am surprised at your agreement with this idea about youth choosing the school they want to go to.

How is it going to be possible if say 5 thousand of the 10,000 students who take the “screaming” (not screening) test to be taught (not thought as another contributor suggests) at a school which only has intake capacity for 100 students in their first forms?

Notwithstanding the begin premise, the outcome of the suggestion may reap its results as long as (a) there was a system which tied student performances to teacher inputs (b) it was accessible to the public (c) SBAs which form part of that performance evaluation were not marked by the same teachers “guarding the coops”.

It is easy to accept theory things, but in practice like the others above have said they don’t work, at least not here in Barbados

You yourself know that as long as you speak out in our country you will be made an example of.

@ Damian

Reading between the lines of your writings about “tried and tested” coupled with your remarks on inexperience rather non exposure of the youth it would seem to suggest that you have had encounters with your own innovations.

While you dont have to say what specifically they have been (BECAUSE IF YOU DO IT MAY PROVE TO BE YOUR UNDOING HERE IN BARBADOS) it would be interesting to hear if you are theorizing on this subject matter or have experienced with “the tried and tested” issues

@ Colonel Buggy

You are a learned man. All theory aside regarding the ebb and flow of youth and the elderly, how does effective practice proceed?

46. @ David,

Conceptualise, develop, prototype, test and manufacture in China.

47. Bush Tea

No impertinence intented on my part; just feel the need to respond to my ardent critic Mr. Echolalia, the former Bush Tea. I find your presence here sir, worse than the itch, and am I quite sure your significant other has beaten you about the head with frying pan incessantly in the past. (but with a head as hard as yours, I am quite sure you haven’t gotten the message as of yet) Nonetheless, you have shown me how the power of one imbecile, has the ability to befoul as well as, disrupt the solemn Serenity of a blog. And impair the personal equanimity of its users.

48. David Weekes

Bush Tea, is the anti-intellectual type of guy who is skilled in the art of parrot and spewing regurgitated data, so do not allow yourself to become inflected. Now Two address Bush Tea’s point, allowing the kids the latitude to choose the schools of their desires, does little in the way of address the problems of curriculum as well as the antiquated teaching stratagies, Damian has already pointed to.

49. @ David the Blogmaster

Money Brain says it best…niche

One man sells coconuts, Everyone selling coconuts, one man sells snowcones, everyone selling snowcones, one man opens a bread outlet from a suzuki van every bajan is a suzuki van bread vendor, one man selling food from a moving canteen, everyone is now selling from a canteen.

By the way, with the food vendors on the highway, do any of you see disposable toilets next to any f those vendors stands, the same hands that serve you the food are used to hold and shake their private parts after relieving themselves

Niche to GLOBAL Markets not to your small population on island!!

Let me give you an example of niche.

There is a GIGI zapper which uses electromagnetic pulses to kill the EBOLA virus. It costs US$140K per unit. Suppose, just suppose I knew of a more economical way to sterilize a room for the millions of health institutions that COULD NOT AFFORD US$140K per pop!! Suppose my government were in a serious mode for foreign exchange generation would it not make sense to pursue such an option?

But here is the thing David the infantile minds that are tasked with such evaluation CAN SEE THE SNOWCONE CART/COCONUT VENDOR REPLICATION but the CANNOT SEE the niche industry for EBOLA management

We are seriously not even in contention as regards INNOVATION gentlemen and ladies

THe late head of an agency I used to work for said “we have the slave gene in our DNA” and we are wasting our time in these deep Philosophical discourses

Maybe like Mr. Dompey has been saying we should waste away our time reading Descartes (not Discertes) and Plato because seeking to enter the big boy global world is something that we dont have the intellect to engage in