Submitted by Wayne R. Pilgrim-Cadogan
Buy local!
Buy local!

Over the past few years the government has being preaching over and over at every opportunity for the country to turn to entrepreneurship as an alternative for those who have been displaced from their jobs and school leavers who were about to enter the work force. So much so that it has become a buzzword for some. There are other agencies such as the Barbados Manufacturers Association, The Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme, The Barbados Small Business Association and others who over the years have been advocating innovation, buy local, self employment, and creating new products from local materials and food crops as a means of creating their own employment as an answer to a dwindling job market..

Every two years there is the Prime Minister Award of $75,000.00 to the winner of the National Innovation Award. The purpose of this award by the government is to bring out the creativity and innovation among Barbadians. One would think that educational institutions would be teaching its students along the lines of innovation and creativity. There are plenty of indigenous materials and food crops that are available to Barbadians for experimentation in creating innovative products rather than using foreign products. I am at a lost as to why at one of the Secondary Schools Science & Nutrition class, that a teacher would tell the entire class to bring Strawberries, Kiwi Fruit and Grapes for a project when there are so many fruits here that is currently in season, that could have been used as a substitute.

I find it very difficult for a teacher to make such demands on a class, especially in these hard economic times for some families where there might not even be an income coming into that household. What about the child in that class that might have gone to school without even having breakfast or anything to eat or drink? Furthermore, it could be very detrimental to that child’s parent, or parents to fork out the minimum of $35.00 for a class project.

This is going against the grain of what the government is advocating, as well as all the other organizations especially the Barbados Manufacturing Association with its Buy Local campaign and is an insult to the Science, Technology and Innovation Department for all the hard work that it is doing in getting Barbadians to be innovative. It would appears that innovation is not being taught in the schools, does this means that what the government is advocating is not being adhered to by the schools and that the schools have their own curriculum? One would think that the schools would be singing from the same hymn sheet as that of the government? But evidently this is not the case in this circumstance.

183 responses to “Innovation NOT Being Taught in Schools”

1. Agree with you Bushie, how can we demand toughness from our people if we surrender at the slightest challenge?

2. PODRYR

Why do you want DD banned?

DD is just trying to be helpful, by sharing an example of how an innovative Administration can be successful, even with a literacy rate of just 96%.

In Adrian’s post today he says

“According to recent media reports and documents contained on the website of the Inter-American Development Bank a loan of US$20 million (BA-L1033) is being negotiated with Government for the stated ‘objective to promote tourism, trade and investment between Barbados and Latin America’.”

Once the loan is finalized Government will be able to take a junket over to Costa Rica – to learn how those semi-literate Latins are managing their economic/financial affairs.

Perhaps even entice the successful innovative Costa Rican companies to make some FDI in Barbados.

I see it is now 4 hours since DOPEY last posted. I guess he has had to sign out for the day to go to his job in the USA.

Too bad, I will miss the grace and eloquence of his oratorical meanderings which are indicative of his greatly superior vocabulary.

DD, anxiously awaits the statement from the Minister of Finance, which will no doubt be delivered with the same grace and eloquence as DOPEY and the PM.

3. @Bushie
    U are a wicked man lollol

4. We speak of Innovation, Entrepreneurship and Buy Local in the same breath.
    Over the years, bus operators ‘down the islands’ were reluctant to purchase locally manufactured ACME Minibuses,because the Government of Barbados, where these buses were made were not buying any.of them. (The Heinos came much later)
    The CBC programme Q in the Community has now gone international, if New York may be described as such,and also accessible via the net. Is it not a shame to see a foreign manufactured beer being given prominence, on the state financed television all over the world, moreso than the locally manufactured brew ? which in itself, has to resort to “forners” advertising its brand “Bunks Beer’ on the airwaves.

5. @ Money B
    Bushie …U are a wicked man lollol
    True dat …. and um sweet as shiite too. 🙂

Just like you always wanted to be rich, …Bushie always wanted to be old.
    Old men can say whatever the hell they like…. do whatever the hell they like, and go where ever they like…
    what they going do fire Bushie? cuss him? beat him? kill him? LOL …when yuh got one foot in the grave already you fear no boy….

…plus with the whacker in hand, bushie could stir up a whole lotta shiite yuh…. LOL ha ha ha

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | October 27, 2014 at 7:39 PM |

Bushie I have to agree with MoneyBrain and say you are mellowing like a true fine wine. Or should that be aging like a good old 1703 Bajan rum?

7. @ Bushie
    How could there be innovation is our schools…..?

When you have people who would close down ALL schools for a day because the Met Office (who has NEVER given two consecutive accurate forecasts in recent memory) calls for rain on Monday?
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    This practice is needed for the day when these students graduate, and enter the world of work and the Civil Service.

8. Wunna betta teach de children to swim.
    Every time lill rain fall in Babadus it flood way.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/caution-on-flooded-roads

9. Hants | October 27, 2014 at 9:56 PM |
    Wunna betta teach de children to swim.
    Every time lill rain fall in Babadus it flood way.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    No need to worry, This is just seasonal ,especially in Lowe Lying areas.

10. A fellow on the block told be that , soon from now we do not have to worry one bit about flooding, as this Government is in the process of pulling the plug from underneath Barbados.

11. i wonder what is the cost to send home all students for one day. Do teachers still get paid? do school meals get pay? did they cook food already? is it stored for latter or do they dump that?

12. IF INNOVATION COULD BE/WAS TAUGHT IN SCHOOLS, DARCY BOYCE WHO GOT STRAIGHT”A’S RIGHT THROUGH HC SHOULD BE PERFORMING LIKE EINSTEIN.

HE IS A GREAT DISSAPOINTMENT

13. wait wuh going on at Parkinson, school closed ,Broomes under not so friendly fire, the teachers telling Broomes ‘my way or no way at all” f can;t take another round of broomes ,

14. @Damian
    Added to the above costs, include unsupervised school children let loose on the streets, hours before the schedule school start their rounds.The Minister of Education, before the beginning of this term ,chided headteachers for sending home children.
    Also add the cost of non-productivity for those working parents who had to collect their children.
    wait wuh going on at Parkinson, school closed ,Broomes under not so friendly fire, the teachers telling Broomes ‘my way or no way at all” f can;t take another round of broomes ,
    ………………………………………………………………………………….
    If only the people of Barbados had half the balls and guts as those Parkinson teachers.

15. That last submission should read…………..”before the schedule school buses start their rounds”

16. colonel but this time around it seems like the parents backing broomes, broomes say he was out on sick leave and when he returned all hell had broken loose

17. 900 Students scheduled to graduate from the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.
    ‘Technicians’ from India,the UK and other Caribbean countries are being brought into Barbados to carry out work which our Ministry of Education via the Polytechnic and other skill programs should have prepared ,not only our young people, but older persons being retrenched, to do.
    If we are unable to teach our people skills, how are we going to teach them to be innovative?
    The Transport Board in 1960 began to invest heavily in the use of Diesel Engines. Part of the first package of new buses, included a new Diesel Engine as a gift to the Technical Institute,to allow students the opportunity to train on them.
    Why are we unable there days, to put the horse before the cart?

18. @ Colonel Buggy on your comment of | October 27, 2014 at 2:43 PM |

With respect to your ACME comment history has a way of repeating itself

I give you L&N Workshop Canewood St Thomas, the ACME of 2014.

The most competent fabricators of vehicles in Bulbados.

Builders of buses for the Japanese – the Condor

Yet, their current plight their challenge to secure a % of the buses that the Transport Board is seeking to purchase.

What is our Mirror Image?

Before you even can arrive at Innovation we have to deal with Ethos and Vision and I am afraid to say that de dog dun dead on that one

19. Today I saw some pics from a public high school in NY and it reminded me of this discourse re innovation. The school, Brooklyn Technical, is really unlike anything in B’dos with a roll of some 5K students and over 250 teachers/administrators.

In terms of standards from a Bajan perspective, schools like HC and QC would be the best comparison based on the merit testing which is also used at Tech that allows only those with outstanding scores to gain entry.

However, that’s where the comparison ends.

With respect to innovation this is one of the schools that would be a model (in a very restricted and selective way, of course) to emulate. Our education system would be be unable to match what is done here in all instances

These high school kids get to learn legal matters, aerospace engineering, as well as architectural, civil, biomedical, software and chemical engineering. Industrial design,environmental science and ‘gateway to medicine’ are options for majors and all this coupled with the ‘regular’ things like physics, applied maths, languages, social studies and so on.

But what led me to this were the pictures I saw. One of a complete court room: a modern court room with all the equipment. This the high school students have as their practice turf.

The other picture was of an actual house the kids doing architectural engineering. were building.

Now, this is school is somewhat unique in terms of size and its system of allowing students to major in a particular field. But other high schools catering to the best and brightest have similar types of offerings particularity in the sciences

So in the context of innovation in our schools, this unfortunately reinforces only too well the point by David Weekes and others of how far behind we are and will continue to fall.

+++Image of courtroom: (Found this link for those keen to see the room)
    http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/brooklyn/brooklyn-tech-transforms-storage-area-lifelike-courtoom-classroom-budding-law-students-article-1.964242

20. A small country like Bdos just cant compete with that kind of expenditure not even at Uni level. However, Bim and schools like HC/QC can and do compete in pure heavy duty subjects where current tech is not critical. Certainly in Pure Maths, Chem etc we have and do compete with the best.

We have alumni who are Profs at MIT, Cambridge et al. that prove it. Other classmates of mine at HC have their own Software Cos and are PhDs from the best Unis. The talent was, is and will be there at HC/QC and other Bajan schools it is upto the “leaders” to keep the teaching standards and organisation to a high level. This is in jeopardy as a result of the slumping economy.

21. Flying car approaches liftoff as most advanced prototype yet is unveiled
    Now this is what you call innovation. I can remember from years back 007 drove/flew a car like this one.

Creators say AeroMobil’s Flying Roadster 3.0 could become regular mode of transport for commuters

http://www.theguardian.com/technology/2014/oct/29/flying-car-liftoff-advanced-prototype-unveiled-aeromobil

22. @ MoneyBrain, we agree that Bdos can’t compete to the level seen at this school.

The issue is one of diversifying and using different models and pathways to introduce kids at the top Bdos school to the cutting edge technologies in all areas.

There is no question that top scientist and other skilled practitioners from HC, QC, Lodge etc. abound and have for many years.

But a view of this over-the-top public school there in NY says that we do need to get off our laurels and find ways and resources to further excite our kids so that our little island is 166 sq. miles of exciting growth.

We have to change many of our models to reach that goal.

I am sure your buddies at MIT et al and those leading software companies are looking back only so much as its helps them to better understand how different and innovative their students and staff have to be to reach future success.

23. There is no question that top scientist and other skilled practitioners from HC, QC, Lodge etc. abound and have for many years.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    And so are many from the Modern High School, Lynch, Rudder, etc etc.

24. Absolutely, Boy Blue. No attempt to be ‘elitist’ in my list; it was in context of the post.

My post related to efforts in bringing out the talents of those considered the best and brightest, and for all practical purposes those students so described in Barbados attend the schools of the type I mentioned.

That’s certainly not to say that the Modern, St. Anthony’s, Lynch and so on did not have talented and smart students who became important and successful in their chosen careers. Nor that we would only focus innovation in those schools.

To highlight that HC, QC and the others educate our ‘best and brightest’ is simply a factual assessment of the common-entrance results done at that age point.

The key value in life of course is not where you start but where you finish and students from all schools show daily that they truly have the talents and intelligence to match and surpass many of their HC, QC etc. brethren.

25. The school itself should fade in importance because what is necessary is education by the very best teachers via computers. Canada/ US and many other countries have very POOR Math teachers and this is causing many good minds that should be in technical courses to opt for non Math studies instead. This at a time when they are countless jobs going a begging in these countries. There are about 1 million jobs in the US that can not be filled by Americans who are just not qualified, WHY?

26. @Boy Blue
    The exam system that streams Bajans into the HC/ QC is by no means perfect BUT it is very good! The main problem is that kids develop at a different ages and some make a quantum leap later, there are many other variables like domestic situation, Primary school attended etc.

Utilising computer teaching by the very best teachers will flatten the playing field a little. the concept is learn from the computer as best you can and then the classroom teacher is there to provide individual help where needed as the computer Test report will illustrate who is still not getting the concept. This is the wave of the future and Nth Am is way behind in Maths education relative to ASIA! We need to solve this quickly and at low cost!

27. Do we ever do Aptitude Tests here in Barbados to ascertain, especially in the technical field, if people have the aptitude for specific disciplines?

28. Oliver Jackman was before Darcey Boyce … No innovation there either … The star of my era is a Rhodes Scholar, Richard Drayton, a historian ….

Well there is still this guy who invented the internet search engine and got nothing for his efforts

29. Thanks Baffy for pointing out the paradox of Alan Emtage’s innovative success. What we must all understand is that Innovation seldom leads to commercial application, which is the way to really cash in.

The best example of this is the comparison of IBM with Xerox. IBM historically has not been very innovative BUT are excellent at using others innovations for commercialisation. Xerox holds thousands of patents, many times more than IBM but only commercialised a few themselves and frequently sold patents to other organisations which successfully utilised the eventual product.

30. @ Baffy
    shiite boss man
    much respect to your boy…!!!!
    your friend the “Anti-American” running things on Brass Tacks nowadays…
    Warn him that his ass will soon be banned again – he talking to much sense, sounds too assertive and makes David Ellis look too pedestrian to last much longer….

….and tell him if he wants more time on line like “Arthur” he should spend more time talking trite – with which Ellis is MUCH more comfortable….

Frig you Baffy.
    Bushie want the Anti-American with Caswell on BUP… 🙂

31. BUSH TEA

HA HA HA .. Yah Killing ma, man … HA HA HA HA

32. David

It’s like beating a death horse when we sit idly by and anticipate government alone to initiate this process of Innovation. It has also to come from the ranks of the common people as well. Most if not all, of the Innovative ideas which fuels the engine that gives the vivacity to the American way of life, comes from the common ranks of the American people. (It is a mindset; it is a way of life)Barbadians in my judgment, have to abandon this codependent and love hate partnership with government. David, day in and day out, you all incessantly beat down the institution of government, as though it has all the solutions to address the all of common ills of the people. Now, doesn’t the private -sector play any role in this so called Innovation? Now if people are naturally evil as my good friend Moneybrain informed me yesterday. (God bless his little soul) Why it is that we somehow believe that the folks who occupies our high-offices will do that which right and shun that which works again the Better- Good? David, what is it then, that makes our leaders anymore different from than common ranks of the masses with respect to their moral conduct? Could it be that we are advancing an unrealistic standard of expectations for our political leaders. When we already cognizant of the fact that they’re incapable of living up to such expectations? And that within every human being lives this ancient philosophical concept of the psychological- egoism?