The following was circulated to the Barbados Media by Peter Boos, Chairman of Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation

On the afternoon of Friday 18 November the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation is hosting its first Innovation Think Tank at the conclusion of the National Entrepreneurship Summit. A paper will be presented by Dr.Ronnie Yearwood entitled “Barbados-A New Governance Model” before a select group of about 60 people chosen from across all sectors of Barbados. The discussion will be moderated by Dr.Jeannine Comma and and we will have a panel of distinguished Barbadians. After the debate we plan to publish a summary.

In the lead up to this discussion Dr.Yearwood has written the attached very compelling and passionate article which I believe you will find very powerful. Although about 3,000 words, Dr.Yearwood is inviting you to publish it in its entirety.

Barbados badly needs this type of debate at this time and I hope you will see it fit for publication, coming as it does from a new generation of Barbadians at a time of national uncertainty.

We are also writing to other print and electronic media to ask them to do the same.

Link to Doctor Ronnie Yearwood’sAn Open Letter to Barbados on Forty Five Years of Independence: We Are the Change

1. @Chris

Why not write in clear text?

Why did you advise a negative on going live 11.11.11?

What have been the blockers to achieving the goal?

2. @BU.David: “Why not write in clear text?

That was clear text. W011d u 11k3 n0n c1e44 73×7?

@BU.David: “Why did you advise a negative on going live 11.11.11?

I did. Repeatedly.

@BU.David: “What have been the blockers to achieving the goal?

The fact that it is a *really* stupid idea to offer free Internet via WiFi.

Imagine, the BEF advised residential customers to leave their WiFi Access Points (APs) open to use by anyone who happens to be near by.

Can anyone say “Stupid”?

3. I’m sure members of the BU Family will correct me if I have made any glaring omissions from the summary below of Dr. Ronnie Yearwood’s Open Letter.

I’m sure members of the BU Family will be able to make explicit to me at which point Dr. Yearwood makes specific, concrete, practical proposals regarding how he would effect the “change” to which he refers so monotonously.

Here’s the summary …

I was born poor in a poor place, so we all worked hard in an effort to be less poor. My father was absent. My mother worked hard. The same applies to a lot of Bajans.

Barbados was built on hard work and a determination to succeed.

The economic situation is a bit grim at the moment.

Barbados claims to have a 100 percent literacy rate but that’s a lie because some schoolchildren are illiterate. Some youths are jobless and have few prospects.

Barbados claims to be top-notch at tourism but that’s also a lie because standards are slipping.

Barbados claims that public-sector reforms are working but that’s a lie because the government is inefficient.

The social situation is a bit grim. We’re having a hard time deciding what to do about things and we’ve got no vision of the future. But even though things are grim at the moment, there is a future. We’re all a bit fed up about things now, but stuff will get better if we believe it can.

If you’re looking for redeemers, you won’t find them in (i) Bajan politicians; (ii) the United States; (iii) the United Kingdom; (iv) the European Union; (v) China; or (vi) money.

The redeemers are: (i) “everyone working together”; and (ii) help from other countries in the Caribbean. Now’s the time for that.

Barbados has been independent for forty-five years. We knew it would be hard. We’ve done okay so far, but now it’s all a bit rubbish. So now it’s time to change.

I made a speech earlier this year. I asked what kind of society Barbados wanted. I was criticized for that. I’m asking again because Barbados belongs to Bajans. People have political views and are fed up, so I’m talking.

All kinds of people have ideas. Those ideas have to be understood. We’ll get change when enough of us make more demands on ourselves (and on our country and on , er, “our history”). We used systems left by the British. They’re outdated.

I think we’re brave but we don’t change even though we talk about change. We’re all a bit fed up about Barbados at the moment. We’ve done okay but things could be better.

Now I’d like to ask a lot of questions, and whine a little bit, without providing any answers [here, insert all the questions to which I provide zero answers].

Leaders should talk to us directly and clearly. Plus, we need unity. We have to work hard and change our culture and our way of thinking. If not, we’re doomed. These days, complacency is a no-no. We were only okay in the first place because of hard work.

Could Barbados be doing better? I think so. You probably think the same.

I imagine a Barbados (i) that doesn’t depend on foreign aid; (ii) in which people work hard; (iii) that has food security; (iv) in which the government is, er, “supportive and open”, whatever that means; (v) where the government provides an, er, “framework for enterprise”, whatever that means; (vi) where kids behave in schools and the streets are safe; (vii) where, er “a unified country” (whatever that means) is, er, “charting its way in this troubled world”; (viii) where people work hard and everything is open and fair, and the weather is always fine; (ix) where we have clean and efficient transport and energy systems; (x) where the health service is first class, the environment is excellent, and nobody throws Coke bottles out of the windows of ZR vans; (xi) where we all look after each other because times are strange.

At the risk of being so boring that this text is bordering on the pointless, let me tell you some more things that I imagine.

I imagine a Barbados in which (i) leaders tell us the truth about how messed up Barbados is; (ii) leaders tell us that we have to slash spending, cut wages and raise taxes; (iii) all Bajans are involved in discussions about slashing spending, cutting wages and raising taxes, as well as in discussions about reforming Bajan education and healthcare. This is the Barbados I imagine. You can, too. We can all imagine.

But we can only imagine if we change absolutely everything about Bajan society. We’re scared of change, so we don’t try anything new. When did that happen? We have to change our outlook completely [here, insert mandatory quotation from national anthem].

How do we change? Well, we do things in a different way. That’s how. Following me?

Perhaps Bajans don’t want to change. Who does? Nothing to fear. We’re going to change anyway. That’s how stuff happens. We can let stuff happen or we can make stuff happen. But we’ve got to believe that we all agree on change.

It’s time to wake up and look in the mirror. Some people think we won’t. That’s not right. We’ll make change work. Really, we will, even if it’s hard to change. We can do one thing or we can do another: change or not change.

Allow me to leave you with the most hallowed and hollow and lazy and tiresomely reiterated rhetorical device in the history of independent Barbados: a quotation from the national anthem.

Thank you.

4. @Man Bojack: “I’m sure members of the BU Family will correct me if I have made any glaring omissions from the summary below of Dr. Ronnie Yearwood’s Open Letter.

I’m probably stupid (or unobservant), but I don’t have readily at hand the URL for Dr. Ronnie Yearwood’s Open Letter.

Might you provide it for peer review?

5. @All… “Ask a simple question…

The answer results in a vacuum.

Hmmmmm….

6. @Chris

The link is at the bottom of the blog, read hyperlink.

7. @BU.David: “@Chris: “The link is at the bottom of the blog, read hyperlink.

Could you please be a little more explicit BU.David?

Please tell us what you mean when you say “The link is at the bottom of the blog, read hyperlink”.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Man Bojack | November 14, 2011 at 3:15 PM | :

What a critique!
    You have torn the poor doctor’s recipe for “utopia” Barbados to threads?
    A lot of hot air fouled with clichés and academic crap!
    But the man’s hypocrisy amazes me! He knows very well that the biggest problem preventing change is the kind of leaders that the country is currently saddled with. Yet he sidesteps and dipsy-doodles around the real issue while imbibing a long drink of jingoistic mind numbing fermented cane juice.
    Doctor, please direct your clarion calls for change to the leaders of this country! If we were to get a clear vision of the path we should be following from our leader(s) we might be able to see some light and make the necessary sacrifices to reach the end of the tunnel!
    But what do we get? Only this week-end conflicting views about “free” tertiary education?
    The man in charge is publicly taking a position he knows fully well is unsustainable. The reality is the government owes the UWI millions of dollars for tuition fees and economic costs for Barbadian students that cannot be paid with the current fiscal situation. Yet the government refuses to accept the reality and do something about it. Typical ostrich approach as with other pressing issues involving structural adjustments (e.g. Transport Board and other inefficient and ineffective statutory corporations).
    But Man, Bojack, expect some missiles with the DLP brand name “NATO” –no action, talk only- to come our way! We will be described by the likes of ac and CCC as arm chair critics just like the grumpy old men in the balcony of the Muppet Show. Put on your helmet and your flack jacket, mate!

9. Sometimes it is easy to make fun, perhaps forgetting the same devil lives right in their own backyard. We are reputedly 3-4 years away, maybe less, from 120% debt levels. Get ready Barbados, it is going to happen to us too, same as it will for the USA.

See, Barbados; prepare your houses for what lies ahead. You can’t eat your TV, and you can’t drink the car’s oil.

I hope that your the conference can effect some newfound productivity, enough to delay/prevent a terrible austerity where people have so much less. Delay it somehow, in such a way that we can grow out of this mess.

Be very, very , very afraid.

Do not, if you are Bajan, glorify in a Bajan demise. We’ve all got to get to some form of productive economic work, which is where Mr Yearwood and a few others will always be found. Make this place work, make it special.

Come, Barbados, come to some place of being special; and bring this island with you. Come soon, before it’s too late.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Achebe | November 14, 2011 at 6:04 PM |
    Mr. or Ms Ugandan, Bajans have been told and warned of what’s ahead and the leaders have denied the coming tsunami saying every thing is fine and tourist numbers are up but spending down.
    You don’t realise that God is a Bajan! And once we go to church and prayer manna will fall from the European & American heavens and all will be well in the garden of Eden called Barbados. Just don’t question things or upset the sugar applecart with no touching of the sacrosanct idol called free tertiary education. This approach to education is like an unemployed man living in leaking house with a limousine parked outside but unable to pay the road tax or insurance.

11. The real shite is that there is a plan by the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation will have a discussion of a paper that is to be presented by this buffoon as part of their expensive two day symposium … The Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation, the free WiFi people … … … Somet’ng w’ong …!

12. No Action Talk Only … Now that’s funny, if it weren’t as truthful as it gets

13. With a USD $4 billion economy, 280, 000 people, 166sq miles, and a population that seems inimical to the idea of foreigners owning anything and participating meaningfully in the ‘real’ politics someone please tell me where/how this ‘new’ Barbados will emerge?
    We want to build a ‘new’ economy while we cant even pay to educate or finance the players…SMFH.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

The way things are going for “educated” Barbados it seems Terrence Blackett’s worst case scenario is being played out right before our very eyes. How else can one explain the infertile poo droppings from academic pigeons that are littering the local intellectual square?

15. David
    Are you saying that because Peter Boos say it is poppycock that the statements made by the Minister of Finance are not true. Were the statements made in Parliament or outside? The Minister does not have to respond because a lot of that stuff will surface in the near future.

These people have never shown any great skills in creating productive enterprises for Barbados but are always critical of all things especially if they are not benefitting from the government in power.

How could the BEF expect me to pay Lime so much money for my internet service and then open up my service to all persons; craziness.

16. @Clone

Both Chairman Marshall and Minister Sinckler have made it there business to mention Boos by name. It goes without saying that if Boos responded in the way he did the ball is in the court of government to prove him wrong.

17. A few ground rules to move forward and these ARE suggestionsfor positive action.

1) Do not raise taxes anymore, that will cripple the economy further and completely unnecessary. The ONLY taxes that can take a raise are two.

– VAT, which is spread wide over capturing a wide net with less incidence, thus is a more suitable tax IF one needs to raise. Direct taxes hit the middle class spenders and shut the economy down.

– environmental levies on luxury goods and pre-packaged processed foods. Foreign goods have much packaging that needs disposal and hence impact the environment. There is a side benefit that raising an environmental levy on imported luxury items reduces spending on foreign goods, thus saving foreign exchange, when one needs to.

– improve business assistance for local farmers and manufacturers, artistes, service providers etc. BUSINESS and production locally is what drives the economy, not importation of foreign products.

Thus, local manufacturing of any good is preferable to importation.

Local production of food saves huge import bill, improves what people eat i.e. sweet potato, yams vs imported rubbish and thus improves health.

– return to LICENSED and supervised small butchering etc, to enable community butchers to practise, we need to get the process back to realistic living. Centralisation of butchering etc was not a good idea, it created additonal costs for the small producers and puts too much unnecessary control in one place.

– Build the alternate industries such as health, sport, concert and education tourism, these are viable due to our safe environment and good climate.

– Increase focus on culture and arts, any great civilisation learns that education, culture and arts are key to civilised and understanding society. Without this, there is no harmony.

Most of all, every bajan must take it upon themselves to REDUCE CONSUMPTION OF FOREIGN GOODS AND USE BAJAN GOODS.

18. Think before you act Avatar
    Think before you act

BAFBFP | November 14, 2011 at 6:50 PM | The real shite is that there is a plan by the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation will have a discussion of a paper that is to be presented by this buffoon as part of their expensive two day symposium … The Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation, the free WiFi people … … … Somet’ng w’ong …!

A most real and sensible comment Sir, this nonsense like Mia’s style is a lot of rambling writing with NOTHING that you can put a finger on and say yes this is what we can do in real terms, much like the style of Boos himself a lot of mumble , jumble but nothing that anyone can put a finger on and say lets cost this and make this happen.

Some believe that this is purely a source of political funding extracted fromwell meaning and well intentioned business places with no political motivation whatsoever bar one.

19. Off topic question. Just heard about the increase in LPG approx $16 large, $5.00 medium etc. Has anyone heard the justification/reasons for such large increases? Thanks

20. Let’s look at it this way; Boos had a contract for Cricket World cup under the BLP and it failed miserably.
    He is accused by DLP people as being a consultant for the project and he said that it was a job which did not fetch the full market price.
    He would therefore have a grouse with the DLP
    What was the salary and what would have been the full market salary for such a position?
    Let Boos come clean on this one and not just say it was all poppycock.

21. @ Terrence Blackett

You, my friend are supposed to be an academic, a consultant and a published writer. I thought this thread interesting until I read your post.
    Please tell me what is ‘deniability’, especially opposing ‘moral panic’. If that was not bad, you follow up with “more worst”. You have lost all credibility with me. When my head stops reeling I will return and read the thread. Did I hear that you went to University? Somewhere in Sussex? Seems to me the students in form 3C at West St. Joseph Comprehensive in the late sixties wrote better English. For your information the “C” stream was consided, to put it nicely, well….. slow.

22. Think before you act Avatar
    Think before you act

Clone come clean on what Legacy Barbados and the $ 324,000.00 for a football camp that never happened and that the board sought paperwork and documentation that were never prepared or presented to the board, or you want more or for him to come clean on the $ 100,000.00 to a foreigner Mann and a monthly contracted payment figure to the same person Mann for what the board has never learnt what the mission was about, or the giveaway salary of a small $ 30,000.00 per month to a consultant from his former company or the fiasco of the $ 47,000.00 and no reporting at Invest Barbados

23. Think before you act Avatar
    Think before you act

Stop and think for a minute about the linkages here with this Legacy Barbados project, Peter Boos, Legacy money, Mia Mottley Minister wanting a football program and her instructions to make money available to her thru Legacy and with a willing partner in Boos he manipulated the management of the board of Legacy almost like a dictator to intstruct them on what he had decided as we are now seeing.

Very sad indeed, now she no longer has the bank account of Legacy to draw on she has reverted to Alex Mcdonald at LIME and Boos thru his new venture to extract some party money.

24. no enuff, barbados is the only country that wants to build a society without n economy; what a load bof spin and rubbish perpertated by partisan political professionals like justin who should know better.you realize now why appropriate change would never come ..

25. Attack Boos all you want it does not preempt the possible good work of the Entrepreneurship Foundation.

How do we know if it will work unless we support it?

Are we so stupid that we can’t assess the development of it to determine the motives if any as we go along?

26. David
    I am not attacking Boos. I am just responding to your request for the Minister of Finance to respond to Boos about the poppycock statement.
    Is it that we must take everything said by these Big up professionals as true but pull down our Ministers because they are politicians? Or is it because the Minister did not go to HC, QC or Cawmere?

Was Stanford not doing a good job? How about Madoff?

27. @Clone

What can be said here is Boos is not a boy in the yard. He is and has been a leading voice from the private sector. Do you remember when Arthur slapped him down at Sherbourne in that PP consultation? Oh no, Sinckler and Marshall called him name in the exchanges, they need to finish it!

28. I like BABBFP real Bad … I like wah he saying …

29. AAAAAAAAAAgggggghhhhhh

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | November 15, 2011 at 8:33 AM |
    I wish to support on your assessment of the credentials, integrity and intentions of the boo boo parasite.
    Stay clear of this corporate vampire. Don’t ever take his advice and invite him to sit on any adhoc advisory committee unless it is for free and you wish to be subject to a lot of incoherent hot air. What you see publish is not of his intellectual creativity just a front for a much sharper but private mind.

But please come off the “which school you attend” chip on the shoulder lark. Once a person gets to university the field becomes level and there is where brilliance and competence have the chance to shine.

31. Here is the Feature Address  delivered by  Mr. Winston Cox Former Governor, Central Bank of Barbados at the 26th Adlith Brown Memorial Lecture on November 16, 2011 at the Frank Collymore Hall
    The International Financial Architecture and its Application in the Caribbean
    Thanks to Airbourne for the speech.