Adrian Loveridge

While not seeing it reported in our local press up to the time this column was submitted, I noticed a recent media release announcing the sale of Fairmont Royal Pavilion by its owners Quebec based Ivanhoe Cambridge, the global real estate company with a quoted property portfolio value of Cdn$40 billion across 20 countries. Ivanhoe Cambridge is a subsidiary of one of Canada’s leading institutional pension fund managers.

What immediately stood out of this sale was the description ‘set on more than 17 acres of landscaped tropical gardens’. With only 72 hotel rooms and a three bedroom villa, even when fully occupied (150 persons) that would give a staggering almost 5,000 square feet of land space for each guest. If you are trying to visualise that, then just think before any additional land is purchased or room stock added, Sandals Casuarina currently offers around 778 square feet per guest.

The sales price was not publicly disclosed, but it appears absolutely apparent that the new owners will be seeking to increase the number of rooms either in a hotel model or villa accommodation to justify the acquisition. Only time will tell if we will lose another international brand with a worldwide reputation for excellence, what if any effects there will be on any planned closure and the ultimate long term benefit, as and when any enhanced plant re-opens sometime in the future. Of course, there is a lot of speculation currently and hopefully all will be revealed in the due course of time.

Timing can be everything sometimes.

I would think that it is highly unlikely there will be any major disruption at Royal Pavilion prior to the end of the upcoming winter season, and before the promised concessions are firmly in place. Then there is the prolonged process of obtaining planning permission. In my humble opinion, Fairmont is a truly iconic global brand and I have been privileged to stay several of their properties including Chateau Laurier, Copley Plaza, Chateau Lake Louise, The Queen Elizabeth and Vier Jahreszeiten etc., over the years, which have been among the best managed hotels anywhere in the world.

Another tremendous strength of the group, which include the Swissotel and Raffles hotels is its loyalty programme called Presidents Club, I have been a member since 2001. Sadly some of our tourism planners tend to forget the power and benefits that can be gleaned by retaining the allegiance of a guest or customer through these inducements.

Depending on the membership level a myriad of ‘perks’ are available and I can tell you as a former frequent traveller that even simple things like an express check-in or check-out can have enormous appeal. Room upgrades, increased miles, earned free room nights or a welcoming cold drink can make all the difference to which brand you stay loyal to.

Nor should we question that many who travel on business and collect their miles and accommodation points specifically to use on an annual holiday. That’s why the Barbados location is especially appealing and ‘we’ must do all that can be done to retain the brand.

65 responses to “Royal Pavilion Sale: The Benefits”

1. Thousands expected at job fair

SANDALS BARBADOS RESORT & Spa expects to attract as many as 3 000 Barbadians when it hosts its much anticipated job fair . . .

nationnews.com

2. I was made to understand that one of the stipulations of the sale was the original owners would manage the company for 25 years, before handing over the management portfolio to the new owners.

3. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

I’ve been told the Sandals model is based on a 400 room minimum. The new owners of Royal Pavilion better be prepared to pay a few bribes if they want to develop the property to anything near cost-effective.

4. Frustrated
    The word ‘bribe’ is not known in the Barbados business culture and I would hope that it remain that way

5. Like man old river you keep this beggar’s mentality rolling on. Why would increased density translate into anything but mediocrity? Why dress up this pig with a change of clothing when it’s going to market anyway?

6. […] David While not seeing it reported in our local press up to the time this column was submitted, I noticed […]

7. Thanks David. First time I have “listened” to her sing. Awesome.

Note that my forever favorite female singer is the late Whitney

8. @Hants

Your choice of Whitney cannot be seriously challenged.

9. David I think Rihanna has a voice that is going to allow her to transition to appealing to adult (over 40 ) audiences.

Her high energy stage performances will “slow down” as she gets older.

If all goes well, her value to Barbados Tourism Brand will be more valuable as she matures.

10. Well a staggering 5000 sq ft per guest comes at a staggering room price of about $1300US per night.

11. Fairmont has been sold to L&R Properties a London based privately owned property development company owned by brothers Richard and Ian Livingstone, whose combined wealth is estimated by Forbes at $3.4bilion.
    Sounds like the type of property owners Barbados would welcome.The company has real estate interests in Europe including the Ukraine and Russia,in Capetown and in Panama where they have the nod to develop the former Howard Air Force Base into a shopping,apartments,hotel and villas experience.
    Maybe they can be encouraged to come on board and develop the stalled-since-1992 Carlisle Bay Development Project which is what this Government should be pushing on the front burner.Maybe they will have to move the Quisling and his coterie of wheelers dealers from any say in the proposals.

12. Bajan born or American of Bajan parentage.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/bajan-to-captain-jetblue-flight/

13. I am hoping he is not serious when he said he was looking forward to flying a passenger plane into the home of his parents……

14. Major news.

The Government and the BHTA sign MOU.

15. @Gabriel October 6, 2014 at 10:49 AM “The word ‘bribe’ is not known in the Barbados business culture and I would hope that it remain that way”

Gabriel you know that it ain’t so. From the time I was knee high to a grassshopper I knew the word “PROUGE” which means the same as what the Nigerians call “dash” or what other people call “bribe”

16. @Hants

Good to see tow key stakeholders resolving issues and moving on. We need to see more of it.

17. Yes David. In these tough times we need focus on the big picture.

Barbados desperately needs all hands on the Tourism deck.

18. Adrian

Are you sure?

I went Googling for the “recent media release announcing the sale of Fairmont Royal Pavilion by its owners Quebec based Ivanhoe Cambridge, the global real estate company with a quoted property portfolio value of Cdn$40 billion across 20 countries”; but could not find it

I have visited Ivanhoe Cambridge and L&R websites and can find nothing in either website concerning sale of Fairmont Royal Pavilion.

19. DD,

Just GOOGLE ‘Ivanhoe Cambridge Barbados’ and its carried in several publications including the Financial Post.

20. L&R Properties has purchased the Royal Pavilion for US $43 million. While not confirmed, the speculation is that they will construct 1, possibly 2 “super” villas not unlike the one Hargreaves has built on the Glitter Bay side and the one built by Cutts in Queen’s Fort. That is why the per guest numbers @Sith and @Adrian are indeed staggering.

21. Should we read anything into the fact police had to be called to maintain order yesterday at the job selection called at Sherbourne yesterday? Several thousand unemployed Bajans turned up looking for a pick, that is thousand with a T.

Job drama

What started out as an exciting opportunity for thousands of jobseekers this morning quickly turned into a day of confusion and frustration for some and disappointment for others.From as early as 6 a.m., scores of people had gathered outside the Lloyd Erskine…

Barbados Today

Thousands rush to job fair

FROM AS EARLY as 5:30 a.m. job hunters descended on the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre (LESC) for the Sandals Barbados Resort & Spa job fair.

22. @ David
    Should we read anything into the fact police had to be called to maintain order yesterday at the job selection called at Sherbourne yesterday?
    YES!
    Despite all the money we have been spending on education for more than 60years, Bajans are still at the level of low class maids and field hands who continue to be dependent on foreigners – most of whom did not benefit from equivalent educational opportunities – to come here and offer “jobs”.
    What do you want to bet that most of those applicants were able to list impressive qualifications on the application form?

Even our highly touted political leaders, legal high flyers, religious leaders and businessmen are showing themselves to be nothing more than pathetic low class brass bowls who seem more suited for the cane fields than anywhere else…

What can we read…..?
    ….a set of jackasses with BILLIONS “saved” in foreign banks who cannot conceptualize and implement a single major project without some foreigner coming here to do it…..
    ….even when they seek out Bajans to appoint to high positions, we end up with incompetents like the CJ ….and now with a crook to run cricket…

What can we read….?

This place has been cursed.
    Too much nastiness
    Too much slime
    Too much wickedness
    Too much cockiness
    Too much materialism
    To many brass bowls

This is certainly no longer “God’s country”….

What can we read….?
    …..if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land.
    +++++++++++++++++++
    BUT OTHERWISE…..our ass is grass.

Read THAT.

23. @Bush Tea

Wow!

24. professor brass bowl talking shit again very qualified in the field of KIA and giving executive orders in the areas of “what should be”one can’ t help but to snicker at his humour as he pontificates while he wanders up and down the halls of BU.

25. Some people and companies love to see others grovel and fight for their low level jobs. With all this technology available couldn’t Sandals ask applicants to complete an online application or have some online test to see who they are interested in hiring? They could then pick from that to interview? This could have saved them lots of money and saved these people from embarrassment. You do not do these job fairs in countries that are not used to this type of activity. Job fairs normally consist of several companies coming together under one roof over several days looking for the best and brightest to come in and meet them and send in applications and resumes.

I have been for interviews in the past where I had to attend a second interview. I got called back to come in for a third interview and I told them on the phone that if they couldn’t make up their minds after two interviews then maybe I am not what they are looking for. I later got a call that I got the job. You can be hungry but still keep your dignity.

26. islandgal246 | October 8, 2014 at 9:20 AM |

“Some people and companies love to see others grovel and fight for their low level jobs. With all this technology available couldn’t Sandals ask applicants to complete an online application or have some online test to see who they are interested in hiring? They could then pick from that to interview? This could have saved them lots of money and saved these people from embarrassment.”

I agree with you 200%, islandgal246.

Fairmont Royal Pavilion has a system, where they advertise vacancies in the papers and interested prospective employees can apply on-line, undergo an on-line interview, and those individuals who were successful in this process, would be called to the hotel for an interview.

This system would have eliminated the debacle that occurred yesterday.

27. islandgal246 | October 8, 2014 at 9:20 AM |

“I have been for interviews in the past where I had to attend a second interview. I got called back to come in for a third interview and I told them on the phone that if they couldn’t make up their minds after two interviews then maybe I am not what they are looking for. I later got a call that I got the job. You can be hungry but still keep your dignity.”

Your experience reminded me of one I had a few years ago. I applied for a job at an organisation and was called for an interview. I was interviewed by the manager and the financial controller. During my time there, the financial controller kept looking at my cv and asking irrelevant questions. He later told me based on my qualifications and line of study, I may want his job. I got up, thanked them for their time and left. How can I work comfortably in an environment where my boss feels threatened by me?

28. Did Senator Sandford-Garner suggest the response is an indication of a high interest in working in tourism?

29. 5000 people turned up for 600 jobs,and Mrs Irene Sandiford-Garner has reported as saying that this is the trend to come.
    I do hope that at the next General Election that we will see some 255 people running, or wrestling for parliament.
    But why are we surprised that people behaved the way they did yesterday. Last week I saw a bus, virtually empty ,pulled up at a bus stop to pick up no more that twelve children, boys and girls. The way these children got on was reminiscent of show time at the Olympic or Plaza in the ’60’s. That is our culture .

30. 600 Jobs available in the Hospitality Industry, 5000 people turned up, and behaved less that hospitable. Perhaps this was a elimination phase. Now we know why prospective employers ask applicants to produce two Referees, but they forgot to include gloves as well.

31. 5000 people showed up because most of them need to work. Plain and simple.

I bet quite a few of them work for other hotels but are enticed by the “Brand”

32. David | October 8, 2014 at 11:20 AM |

“Did Senator Sandford-Garner suggest the response is an indication of a high interest in working in tourism?”

David, Sandiford-Garner’s comments were politically motivated, and you know this. Reports suggest that many of the people who turned to at the job fair were former workers in the hotel industry. Obviously, since many hotels closed operations during the past 7 years, the high number of applicants would be reflective of those individuals who were displaced by the closures. Then we have to consider those persons whose only priority is to gain employment, irrespective of the industry.

I have noticed the Sandals job fair were mainly for those seeking “entry level jobs”, and noticeably absent were positions in management, accounting, food and beverage (F&B managers, executive chefs, chefs, sommeliers, etc), front office, or marketing.

What Sandiford-Garner should also tell us is if Sandals will be allowed to apply for work permits to bring in expatriates for positions not advertised. If she really thinks there is “a high interest in working in tourism”, I hope she was at the forefront, when the Sandals concessions were being negotiated, in calling for stipulations which would make it mandatory for Butch to hire Bajans in all positions.

However, I am happy that the hotel has provided the opportunity for Barbadians to get work.

33. Artaxerxes wrote “if Sandals will be allowed to apply for work permits to bring in expatriates for positions not advertised.”

Given the small pool of talent in Barbados it is inevitable that they will apply for work permits and they must be made to follow the requirements of the laws of Barbados as they relate to work permits.

The one thing I hope is that Sandals does not attract the cream of the crop from existing hotels in Barbados.

34. Six hundred jobs are a available based on reports.

35. @ Artaxerxes
    …..How can I work comfortably in an environment where my boss feels threatened by me?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    Wuh skippa….you could never be a bushman then….
    That would be the story of your life….. 🙂

Um is the boss’ tail that would be uncomfortable…til he get vex and crucify yuh tail …..LOL Ha Ha Ha

36. Bush Tea | October 8, 2014 at 3:20 PM |

“Wuh skippa….you could never be a bushman then….That would be the story of your life….. 🙂 Um is the boss’ tail that would be uncomfortable…til he get vex and crucify yuh tail …..LOL Ha Ha Ha”

Bushie, nuh tail ain’t giving nor receiving……. hahahahaha

37. Unbelievably, I have to agree completely with a lot of what islandgal says. I don’t agree with her about the online stuff, because many good candidates might not have easy or regular internet access. But I completely agree with the rest.

This looks a bit shabby. I prefer to give people the benefit of the doubt, so I’ll assume this jobs fair seemed like a good idea at the time to some dull suit in an a/c office. And the PR opportunity must have sounded good to other dull suits (“Look! We’ll SHOW that we make jobs! Don’t hate us!”).

But in practice it just looks shabby. It looks exploitative. It looks like some spoiled little brat of a child trying to decide which kitten he wants from the litter.

The photo made me a bit sad. I can imagine all those men and women arriving, trying to present themselves as best they can, and then being herded into halls to fill out forms.

Shabby, it looks. Disrespectful. A PR disaster.

38. @IG246
    Some people and companies love to see others grovel and fight for their low level jobs. With all this technology available couldn’t Sandals ask applicants to complete an online application or have some online test to see who they are interested in hiring

Many companies in my neck of the woods use “job fairs” as a means of hiring personnel; a well run job fair is an effective way of weeding out unqualified workers or those who are not a good fit. Who wants to download and print (as in this case) thousands of resumes? If they do an “online test” how does one know who completed the test?

I know that Sandals rub many the wrong way but criticising “job fairs” is clutching at straws.

39. Hants | October 8, 2014 at 1:13 PM |

“Given the small pool of talent in Barbados it is inevitable that they will apply for work permits and they must be made to follow the requirements of the laws of Barbados as they relate to work permits.”

In the absence of the necessary data relative to the amount of Barbadians who graduated from regional or international tertiary level institutions with the requisite qualifications in the posts I mentioned, it will be rather premature to suggest Barbados has a small pool of talent.

What I know for a fact is that hotel owners do not want Barbadians in certain positions and to prevent them from applying for these jobs, the included irrelevant qualifications in the vacancy advertisements.

For example, some years ago a hotel advertised for a “Chef/Trainer” who must have a degree in computer science and a teaching qualification. This chef/trainer was actually the executive chef, but as usual, hotel owners believe white chefs are better.
    However, there was a Barbadian who used to live in Bermuda that had all the qualifications the hotel required, but he did not get the job. He story was published in the Advocate Newspaper.

40. @ Artax
    When you say one thing you may need to say the other…..

If you went to some place where the people seemed incapable of managing their own affairs, and they invited you to take ownership of their home and gave you carte Blanche to manage their business….
    As Man!!
    …would you turn around and hire one of these same brass bowls – who were incapable of running THEIR own affairs…..to manage YOUR business? ….honestly!?

WELL NOT BUSHIE!!!

Wuh shiite!! If they can’t succeed with their own – Bushie would have to be an ac to trust them with his….

Beggars cannot be choosers….
    It is ONLY OBVIOUS that these outsiders will reserve the best jobs for their own kind…THEIR own children.

First thing they will do when they take over is rid themselves of anyone who looks like a potential Bajan challenger and then promote and highlight the usual lackies…

Think the people are brass bowls like us…?

This situation was NOT CREATED by the white and TRICKIDADIAN owners, but by the Bajan jackasses who sold their children’s inheritances out for a few dollars to buy big screen TVs and posh cars….and trips…
    …..then again many who sold out were white Bajans who would prefer to see green men from Mars take over ownership of their assets than black Bajans…..
    Then we had the “economists” (whatever the hell those are…) who promoted the “benefits” of selling out our children’s future….people like Arthur and Mascot…and our own Miller…..
    BBs!!!!!

Jackasses made our bed and now we must lie on it….

41. lot of political bull sh,..t sandals might have been overwhelmed and unprepared for the massive turnout, but job fairs give the interviewer and the applicant one on one communication that the internet cannot provide.
    Candidates who apply online are often ignored. One-quarter of survey respondents indicated that they never received employer acknowledgement of their last online application..
    Online applications take too long to fill out. Nearly one-third (30 percent) of all candidates won’t spend more than 15 minutes filling out an online application, although tolerance for lengthy applications varied by age. Candidates ages 25 to 34 appeared to be the most impatient age group, as 36 percent of them were willing to spend 15 minutes or less, while 35 percent of millennials (under age 25) were willing to spend 45 minutes or more on a single application
    Employers don’t stay in touch.
    Candidates get an automated response, not a real person. More than 40 percent of all survey respondents said they seek out a direct human resources contact on the employer’s website, even after filling out an online application and that they would rather apply directly through a hiring manager than through an online form.

42. ac | October 8, 2014 at 6:19 PM |

And you are one of the head people that does cuss Peter Wickham and his polls.

43. Job fair numbers no negative reflection

Acting Minister of Tourism Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner has dismissed suggestions that having approximately 4,000 job seekers show up for the

44. ac | October 8, 2014 at 6:19 PM |

“lot of political bull sh,..t sandals might have been overwhelmed and unprepared for the massive turnout, but job fairs give the interviewer and the applicant one on one communication that the internet cannot provide.”

So, genius… 5,000 people turn up for 600 jobs, and the interviewer should have a “one on one communication” with each person? Hmmmmmmm…….I wonder when they would finish these interviews, perhaps in time before the hotel reopens.

The difference with your “poll” information is that it refers specifically to those individuals who have applied for jobs that were not advertised. Obviously, the human resources department would more so accept applications for vacancies that were advertised, rather than from the one off applicant who would be ignored. Gone are the when companies reply to applicants by telling them they received the application, there are no vacancies and the letter placed on file for future reference.

As it relates to advertised vacancies, perhaps you do not see the fine print at the bottom ads re: “Only applicants chosen for interviewing will be acknowledged.” Or “Only short-listed candidates will be contacted for an interview” or “Only suitable applicants will be acknowledged.”

So, think about it carefully…….. Company A advertises for a clerk, 300 people apply and 25 are chosen for an interview, with 275 or approximately 91.67%, not being informed they were not suitable. Perhaps they represent some of the 30% in your poll.

But then again, how old is your data and is it relevant to now? Do you think that those individuals who were terminated from the Transport Board, NCC, Drainage Unit or Beautify Barbados would say an on-line interview is too long?

45. This is laughable. That a blogmaster who encouraged discussion about a job fair should, very late in the day, be offering a link to Wiki about what a job fair is.

Sad.

46. I wonder how many of those 5000 were qualified for any of the 600 jobs.

47. @ Artaxerxes | October 8, 2014 at 4:40 PM |

“What I know for a fact is that hotel owners do not want Barbadians in certain positions and to prevent them from applying for these jobs, the included irrelevant qualifications in the vacancy advertisements.

For example, some years ago a hotel advertised for a “Chef/Trainer” who must have a degree in computer science and a teaching qualification. This chef/trainer was actually the executive chef, but as usual, hotel owners believe white chefs are better”……………………………….

I could not agree with you more. Let me share an experience I had many years ago while I was in a management position in the hospitality industry.

The owners decided that to increase their profit margin, they needed to bring in a foreign chef as the local ones all of a sudden were not good enough.

Well they went to great expense and brought in this “expert” chef and paying top dollars. Weeks after the man arrived, I notice strange things going on and waited until they sheepishly asked me if I noticed or heard any strange happenings.

Do you know that the man was a “recovering” hard core drug addict whom the recruiting agency later admitted that they hid the facts hoping that the guy would do better in a new environment. As soon the man got here, he found the drug pushers and got hooked again.

Needless to say, the owners had to apologise to the local staff because they knew what the guy was up to from day one! As you said……these owners believe that white chefs are better!