Senator Darcy Boyce, Minister of Energy

The Fair Trading Commission (FTC) recently ruled on the motion for review of the billing arrangement and metering option of the Renewable Energy Rider  (RER) – see FTC Order and Decision . The RER is a mechanism established by government to facilitate the sale of surplus electricity to the grid supplied by customers with Renewable Energy (RE)  systems.

The government of Barbados has committed to facilitate the RE sector as part of sustaining a new economy not overly dependent on traditional economic drivers. The growing energy bill of Barbados and dependence on fossil fuel is a concern. An important strategy therefore is to ensure the legislative and regulatory framework is expertly (sensibly) designed to encourage enthusiastic adoption of RE solutions. Key to a successful RE penetration is aggressive participation by RE providers and confidence by end consumers to embrace RE as a top of mind solution to satisfy energy needs.

For those who have been following the emergence of the local RE sector still at a nascent stage of development, several concerns have been raised by the early adopters.  The most recent FTC hearing attracted submissions from CARITEL, Sir Allan Fields, Dick Stoute, Williams Industries, Solar Watt Systems and John Haywards. Visibly absent from the process was a consumer organization.  Unfortunately the iterations embedded in the RER ‘decisioning’ process is bound up in technical language which the average Barbadian is inclined to leave to the experts to unravel. There is however a basic level of interest and participation all Barbadians should show as it pertains to the development of a national RE program.  We are after all described as an educated and literate group of people.

Of the several issues associated with Barbados’ RE program at the top of the heap as far as BU is concerned, is the role of the Barbados Light & Power (BL&P) in the process. It appears to many BL&P has been able to influence the regulatory process, we can debate if deliberately or otherwise. If one listens to those who should know, the FTC has been guided in its ruling by the capacity of BL&P to ‘safely’ absorb intermittent renewable energy into the grid. BU assumes intermittent because there is an element of unpredictability associated with wind and solar as energy sources and because RE generation currently falls outside BL&P’s menu of options to generate electricity.

To quote feedback from an FTC  Commissioner,  “”the limit [intermittent energy] is currently 16MW of which 7MW have currently been reserved for the renewable energy rider – the remainder is available for BL&P and Independent Power Producers (IPP’s) but this is subject to change. There is a study currently underway to determine if the 16MW may be safely increased. The regime for IPP’s has not yet been finalized by government”. The additional point was stated that the new Electricity Light & Power Act (still to be proclaimed like other pieces of legislation) gives the minister of energy the authority to set limits for the sale of electricity to the grid AFTER consultation with an Advisory Committee, BL&P and the FTC. 

If government spokesperson, in this case Senator Darcy Boyce,  would accept the responsibility to actively engage the public who he is being paid to serve, a lot of the uncertainty and concerns dogging the industry could be allayed. In fairness to Senator Boyce he is on public record declaring that government’s policy is guided by a concern to maintain a stable grid. The question we need the minister of energy to answer is to what extent has the government been aggressive in delineating the issues – in the interest of Barbados – when consulting with the BL&P/EMERA as part of the decision making process.

BU is not apprised of all the RE issues on the table to be definitive in making conclusion but there is a heavy suspicion that a case can be made of the tail wagging the dog. The RE sector is important to a future economy of Barbados and it should be managed as a priority issue and indigenous concerns aggressively encouraged to become heavily vested in the sector.

68 responses to “Barbados Renewable Energy Program–A Case of the Tail Wagging the Dog”

1. @Bushh Tea

What makes the change interesting is that only a couple days ago Minister Donville stated in the media the government will N or change their decision. How is the government able to influence the FTC? And with the New Electronic Bill not passed the minister of energy does not have the authority to increase the cap.

On Friday, 5 September 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet | September 5, 2014 at 10:01 PM |

If only there could be similar ‘timely’ reaction by other agencies to the serious challenges facing Barbados.

Why not start with the justice system? Why should a person wait over 4 years on remand to receive justice for an alleged criminal act?

What about the CLICO policyholders?

What about the decision to privatize, merge or close down or some of the state-owned entities the current administration has agreed to do? The future of the Transport Board could do with such timely decision-making.

But we all know the strategy is to make the IMF the bogey man for such inevitable decisions.

3. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bush Tea; you said:-

“What are you suggesting?
    ..that in the three days since David posted that blog, OUR FTC was able to review the situation, get instructions from politicians,…and make a decision to move the limit too…?”

No. I wasn’t suggesting that. What I was trying to do was compliment David on bringing the discussion up and having a number of views ventilated that suggested that the current low MW ceiling was doing a disservice to Government’s avowed RE programme.

I was also wondering if that discussion (note the compliments to David and the wondering were separate points) might not have had some small influence on the final decision of the FTC to go beyond what the Installers body had expected and the BL&P had indicated that they could support. It is quite possible that it might not have had any influence but all sorts of people read this blog and the clear position coming from here was that Government seemed to be going outside its avowed programme by acceeding to the low limits.

I don’t know what went into the decision but the balance of the information in the public domain suggests that the FTC acted in the best interests of the policy framework of the Government and less so in BL&P’s interests. That, to my mind, was a good thing in this case.

Re. the seeming alacrity of the meeting and the decision. In my experience Government bodies usually act very quickly only when some Government minister cracks the whip. I suspect that minister might have been influenced by perhaps the only Minister with a clear vision for proper development in Barbados at this time. And note that the PM is away. That might well be the key to the prompt decision making in this case.

BT. Go back to the drawing board, yuh

4. Here is an update: let us hope the study is useful to move the RE sector in the right direction.

The Commission expects to receive the Intermittent Renewable Energy Penetration Study from the BL&P by December 2014. At that time an in-depth consultation to determine a viable long term RER capacity limit will be undertaken. This study seeks to determine the level of solar and wind energy that can be safely accommodated on the grid”

5. http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2014/09/06/power-up/
  6. POWER UP

http://www.barbadostoday.bb

The Barbados Light & Power Company (BLPC) can now buy more electricity from … See More

7. Can Solar power be used to supply cheap electricity to impoverished neighborhoods?

8. “…Can Solar power be used to supply cheap electricity to impoverished neighborhoods?”

Good question, questionable choice of words. There is no such thing anymore as “cheap electricity,” whether produced by PV Solar, wind, Bunker C oil, whatever!

I realize that I may be stating the obvious but Electricity generation requires investment of capital in equipment, whether that is in the BL&P grid, or in private PV Solar arrays, or wind turbines. There is no free lunch anymore, so everyone should forever disregard the idea that electricity produced by PV Solar, or any form of renewable energy, is “cheap.” It isn’t as expensive as it used to be as economies-of-scale kick in, but it still has to be bought, installed and financed.

That said, however, PV Solar is a great investment and perfect for Barbados.

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Iain Edghill; Good post above! PV Solar is a great investment and perfect for Barbados.

I’d made a post earlier that in essence was agreeing with Bush Tea that the Solar Installers need to look beyond pure dependence on the FTC, Government and BL&P if they were to have a future.

I was suggesting that they should start immediately investigating ways where they could find mechanisms to bring down the cost of off-grid systems.

At some stage in the near future BL&P will produce research that will show that the cap that will ensure no disruption to the grid will be a finite figure which the Installers will soon exceed. At that time, on the current trajectory, most of them will have to look for a new business.

What will they do then?

I suggested that they must utilize UWI to do the necessary research, do the necessary lobbying and promotion to sell the idea of off-grid small systems for Barbados as being the future of RE in Barbados (all allied with the other initiatives that Govt has indicated that it will be taking, WTE, etc.)

The effect of outages on the grid during daytime came home clearly to me yesterday when we had a power outage for nearly 2 hours. During that time my relatively new Grid tied system (2KW) could not budge (everything shut down) while I could still use a small 415 watt Off grid system that I have had for some time for powering the computer, lights, chargers, TV’s and fan and small power tools.

Of course there are very expensive options for grid tied systems that incorporate shunting some of the output to batteries and those could be used in emergencies etc. But I think that the Installers should look at other systems to optimise their products and make them more mass based.

10. St George's Dragon Avatar

@are-we-there-yet
    It used to be the case that a grid-tied system closed down when the grid went off so you could not get any power. Annoying, as that’s just when you need the alternative source of power. They have just started bringing out a newer type of inverter which allows you to get power from a dedicated socket outlet when the grid is down. Solar Watt in Barbados do a Sunny Boy one.

11. are-we-there-yet Avatar

St George’s Dragon;

Thanks for the info. I have a system that was commissioned just 3 months ago which closed down yesterday when there was a daytime BL&P power outage. It isn’t an examplar of “it used to be the case ……” Most extant grid tied systems in Barbados do not have the newer technology of which you speak and will shut down in a power outage.

It is good to know that Solar Watt is installing such systems. So too is the outfit that operates in Cane Garden next to Busy Williams. I found out about that one after I had had my system installed but in any case the option came at a significantly higher cost than their standard grid-tied system.

Solar Watt seems to be very progressive as they were apparently involved in putting the case for an increased MW ceiling to the FTC. They should be congratulated for their progressive thinking and actions, not to say that others should not be similarly congratulated.

The Grid-tied system that can provide some power when the grid is down is a very good thing but I wonder if such systems would be classified as off-grid and so not be included in the tally that makes up the 9 MW limit. I suspect not, but perhaps they could be and if so, increasing the penetration of such technology into the market will expand the time before the installers bump up on the FTC limit.

12. St George's Dragon Avatar

If they are connected to the grid, they would be classified as grid-tied and fall within the limit.

13. St George’s Dragon;

That’s seems to be the logical thing. I thought so.

14. Any word on offshore drilling program

15. @Hants

Refer to are-we-there-yet position on is matter. The RE sector needs to innovate by creating solutions attractive to customers by bypassing the Grid.

16. Isn’t it ironic Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is reported to have visited New Zealand to witness first hand how renewable energy is being used to drive sustainable growth of its economy.

http://www.cbc.bb/cbcbarbados/index.php/news/barbados/item/4958-pm-spends-two-days-in-nz

17. As sometimes the solitary or among the few private sector/consumer-based participant in consultations on Telecommunications and Renewable Energy CARITEL tries its best with no funding to follow, analyse and take part in matters related to these two sectors. We have learned that discussions are underway between EMERA and the Fair Trading Commission on something called frequency ride through standards which will affect the consumer and investment. This matter does not appear on the FTC’s website, I am unaware of any public communication on the matter ad its a technical issue which someone needs to explain to the consumer as it could have financial and even information access implications. What will really be the role of the next committee chaired by lawyer Tricia Watson with regard to the new Electricity Act, when will we know formally about new taxes on the industry that have apparently been approved in a legislative form but with no discussion and what about the land tax rebate that was placed on hold for persons who were to received a 50 per cent rebate. I am definitely not repeat not suggesting any ulterior motives by Government but arguing there is a lack of information and discussion on matters which affect all of us as consumers. Hallam Hope (CARITEL). (246) 822-1414.

18. […] by Hallam Hope as a on Barbados Renewable Energy Program–A Case of the Tail Wagging the Dog […]