Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

2014 will mark the hosting of the fifth annual Barbados Food Wine and Rum Festival and I firmly believe that this event has enormous further potential, especially as it takes place during November which is traditionally one of our quietest months. While I understand the challenging logistics of spreading the invited celebrity events over a longer period, there are many additional initiatives that the private sector tourism partners can put into place, which could prolong the benefits.

First I think the entire 30 days could be promoted as a ‘gastronomic’ month with our restaurants, at all levels, offering more affordable eating options. Perhaps the more innovative car rental companies could smart partner with a selection of the eateries to provide an island-wide lunch ‘passport’, even including our attractions at a reduced entrance fee. November provides every component to ensure the concept has the highest possibility of success. From the UK, excess seat capacity on the legacy carriers with Virgin and British Airways, plus scheduled charter seats from Manchester with Thomas Cook offering lead-in return fares from GBP 322.

Climate is also on our side from certain areas of the US and Canada.

Our myriad of available accommodation choices also provides an option to appeal at almost every level of traveller, before high season winter lodging prices kick-in. And to spread the event over a prolonged period, presents us, as a destination with an even greater opportunity for extensive media coverage.

So what are the limits? Latin America’s biggest gastronomy festival, Mistura, which takes place next month in Lima, Peru, is expected to attract between 25,000 and 40,000 foreign visitors and that event is only two years older than ‘ours’. Clearly, we have to do something. November 2013 recorded the lowest long stay visitor arrivals for that month during the last 12 consecutive years, with 2012 coming a close second. In fact the worse figures since the tragic events of 911. We need to drive an additional average of 170 visitors per day over the month to get back to the highs of the previous decade.

During the last few weeks I have been trying to better explain the principal of revenue control, which was introduced to me during my association with the Canadian airline, Wardair, nearly 40 years ago. Nowadays when you board a plane, or check into a hotel, you instinctively are aware that even people occupying what look like identical seats or rooms are paying varying rates.

In reality, it is no different in most businesses whether tourism or otherwise. We talk about the merits of discounting prices, but are we really looking at it in a holistic way? Just as supermarkets use loss-leaders to entice you into their premises, or perhaps more commonly in these days, website. Clearly the hospitality sector is not isolated from this common practice. If managed or controlled, then it can play a critical role in ensuring fiscal viability and growing the enterprise.  Of course it is not desirable to have all your customers pay a low price and that’s where effective management is essential. Those first ten customers, as an example, can pay a large chunk of the standing costs.

Just as an aircraft or hotel, the profit is not generated by the initial 50 per cent occupancy.

57 responses to “Let Us Make November a ‘Gastronomic’ Month”

1. Let us continue on the need to improve our tourism product. Can we begin with Oistins Minister Denis ‘taciturn driving a BMW’ Lowe?

2. again adrien you are trying to mislead the audience in comparing the Mistura event in logistics to the smaller numbers received annually at barbados food and wine festival.. your analysis is a bit skewed when one looks at the diversity of the Peru Population and its rich history which would make the event more appealing and attractive to a world wide audience.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac, ‘mislead the audience’. In 2013 Peru attracted 3.16 million tourists and Barbados attracted 1.079 million tourists. As I understand the numbers quoted for the Barbados Food Wine and Rum Festival are about 2,000 people, but that includes locals. So you do not think there is room for growth?

4. Feedback is a wonderful thing if we see it as that, feedback. How can any venture improve unless ALL feedback is encouraged.

5. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados shall ABOLISH ALL TAXATION in this country and shall replace it with the appropriate fiscal financial strategies and programs for the government making more fairly properly far better uses of money than now in the commercial environments of this country and for the government making far greater uses than now of the assets of the people of this country, of the lands of Barbados falling properly correctly under its aegis, of the relevant professional skills and services of persons falling under its aegis, etc in the commercial environments of this country.

6. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be part shall make sure that all those persons operating within the productive and commercial sectors of this country are freed from the wicked evil bondage of TAXATION in this country.

For, it is pellucidly clear the catastrophic damage and destruction TAXATION continues to wreck on these very important sectors of this country.

7. November is usually cold and dreary in Canada and most of the USA.

Targeted advertising should get results.

http://www.accuweather.com/en/ca/toronto/m5g/november-weather/55488

8. Lets not be negative. This is a great idea from Adrian and every little can help. Support it and stop criticising.

9. Again adrien this all goes backto your unrelentless attacks.comparing a country like Peru with a larger population and a diversification in people and its worldwide appeal in culture to a little 166sq mile island that does not have the richness of culture and population diversity is blantantly false and to deliberatly reshash the ole comparisons while leaving out relevant facts in your effort to prove govt is not giving enough support to the tourism industry which is totally unfair …noting that in that the time govt has held office there has been ongoing attention given by govt

10. Adrian this is a great idea! This should include the local population as well. Those who have lovely homes and gardens could arrange to have dinners or lunches chez eux. There was a similar program launched by the BTA many years ago.

Just recently Guadeloupe celebrated their fête des Cuisinières. Where cooks from all over the french Antilles gather in Pointe a Pitre in traditional costumes for a parade then culminating with dancing and dinner cooked by these cooks in the traditional way. La morue and crabe farcis are some of the delicacies served.

11. When will we learn that the tourist market in Barbados is like the sad old sixty-five year old street walker; face caked in make-up, desperate to accept a transaction irrespective of the cost and price to both her health and her bank balance.

12. So Exclaimer what do you propose for Barbados? Yes I agree that the product is old and dingy and we need to clean our houses and revamp them. We also need so newer types of attractions to maintain our existing customer base. Until we can honestly examine our level of service, our price vs value of product then we will always be short changing our customers.

13. If we want to assess criticism of the tourism industry one only had to listen to outgoing Chairman Adrian Elcock. He was very harsh about how the BTA has been functioning for many years.

14. Latin America’s biggest gastronomy festival, Mistura, which takes place next month in Lima, Peru, is expected to attract between 25,000 and 40,000 foreign visitors and that event is only two years older than ‘ours’
    Why is there always reference to what others are doing instead of what we can do to improve our offering? Speaking of Peru, does Machu Picchu have anything to do with its influx of visitors?

15. “Why is there always reference to what others are doing instead of what we can do to improve our offering?’

Can you expand on this Sarge? I am a bit puzzled by your statement.

16. Hants said

“Targeted advertising should get results.”

When is the last time you saw Barbados advertised as a tourist destination in Canadian newspapers or television?

I recognize that in the digital age that hard copy newspapers are considered old school, but there are still old folks (like you and me) who still buy and read them.

You cannot open a newspaper Travel section without seeing a full or half page ad for Sandals and/or Beaches. Can Butch be wrong?

Are the Barbados government tourism promotion agencies depending on Butch’s advertising to lift the air-lift from Canada?

DD suggests that if, as Adrian Elcock has said a change of attitude is vital to taking forward tourism, it may be time, after 12 years, to replace the Sr Business Dev. Manager at Toronto with some fresh thinking.. See: http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/cheryl-carter.pdf

17. @IG246
    Adrian is always referring to what others are doing with regard to tourism and some of these bear no relevance to Barbados. Peru is a popular tourist destination and people will go there simply for Machu Picchu, the food festival is icing on the cake.

@DD

Word is that the BTA cut staff in some offices including NYC and Toronto, budgetary allowances for increase advertising may not be on the horizon. Personally I am not in favour of advertising that just say “Come to Barbados” as we are not price competitive, if we want to entice people there must be a hook. Having said that there are people who come every year come what may, I talk to complete strangers on the phone who recognise my accent and tell me that they have been going annually for 20-25 years etc.

18. Due Diligence there is no reason to replace someone because they have been doing the same job for 12 years.

From all I have heard the BTA in Toronto has been doing a good job.

The Canadian market is difficult because the major cities like Toronto,Montreal are now culturally diverse.

I still believe that Barbados must advertise in the Mainstream Canadian Media just to compete with the other Caribbean destinations.

19. Sargeant wrote “we are not price competitive, if we want to entice people there must be a hook”

There are enough people in Toronto (GTA) who can afford a vacation in Barbados to justify spending $100,000 a year in Mainstream Newspaper advertising.

20. Nothing wrong with criticism .but however relevancy and facts which are omitted does not tell the true picture..outside that of wanting to appeal to an misinformed audience..even though mr.elcock criticism maybe harsh ..it serves it purpose to adress with facts and relevancy. to our market avoiding the. political rhetoric of comparing other larger and more diversified markets to our small tourism market.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

When the CEO of Cave Shepherd, Barbados Shipping and Trading or Goddards do not bring a Return on Investment for shareholder profits, he/she is fired.

Sr. Business Development Officer, Ambassador, BDO anyone, irrespective of where you are in the promotion of marketing of industry, tourism, commerce and investment for Bulbados, each officer should be evaluated regarding what their outputs have been, cross-matched against the salaries that they have received over the term of their engagement and, based on that “performance”, rehired or brought home to be retrenched, (or, if they are already here in BIM, sent home.)

These jobs by their very nature are tied to performance and, contrary to the existing practice of rewarding the indolent and those who consistently, do not perform with these foreign job placements, these are the tentacles of our country which, like the whiskers of a cat, allow the felines to determine if they can navigate a narrow space.

But then again what fairy tale model of competency am i promoting for Bulbados, a country that is stepped in incompetence and rewarding the incompetent with the crown jewels, reminiscent of the fact that we cannot make a silk purse out of a swine’s ear

22. islandgal246 | August 11, 2014 at 11:00 AM |
    “So Exclaimer what do you propose for Barbados? ………..”
    @ islandgal246,
    I would argue that the tourist model as exercised by our Minister of Tourism and our tourist industry is simply a slow form of suicide. It is completely unsustainable, misguided and plain dumb.

Our government is using taxpayers’ money to prop up a failing tourist model by subsidising private companies to “invest” in the Barbados tourist industry. Private enterprises by definition are supposed to be risk takers. Where is the incentive to make a profit or to become a market leader if an enterprise is been spoon-fed by the government? Is this a good way to spend hard earned tax payers’ money?

Our reliance on the tourist industry has made us dull, complacent and soft. We sit back and wait for the tourists to come to Barbados armed with cash and credit. We express alarm when the number of tourists arrivals decline and then we ask ourselves what can we do?

Our answers are always the same we should spend more on marketing; we should up the levels of subsidies to the industry; et al. Never do we ask ourselves “hang on this approach is failing” or “perhaps we would do better looking at alternative industries in order to generate a living.”

It is my belief that our current tourist model is a complete failure. We as a country have attempted to capture the high end of the market. This is not the appropriate model for a small island such as Barbados. The wealthy are not interested in the island of Barbados, their interests’ lies in the wealthy enclaves in Barbados such as Sandy Lane where they can mingle with those of a similar background to themselves. The wealth remains trapped within those enclaves. Those who work in these areas are happy for the employment. However the rest of the population will not benefit from the expenditure of those wealthy tourists.

The shops that are located in St James and Sandy Lane will generally not be stocking made in Barbados products or produce. At some point the penny will drop. We should develop a tourist industry which focuses on Mr and Mrs Average and the young (students) where everyone can benefit. We require or tourists to be mobile exploring the whole of Barbados not staying in some exclusive resort.

What of the swathes of land that has been lost to the masses due to the insatiable appetite of the tourist industry? We are chumps! I would suggest that we repossess and start to dismantle brick-by-brick all those hotels and properties in St. James.

23. Sergeant said

……..if we want to entice people there must be a hook. Having said that there are people who come every year come what may, I talk to complete strangers on the phone who recognise my accent and tell me that they have been going annually for 20-25 years etc………..

If Barbados wants to entice people to come, they have to tell them about Barbados – i.e. advertise.

I first visited in the early 2000s, when I went to Barbados on a short-term work assignment.

I have returned almost every year after being introduced to Barbados.

I am one of those referred to as being in the middle income group, and up until that first visit a Caribbean vacation meant Cuba, Mexico and DR. Barbados was never on the radar.

I think it is fair to say that probably 80-90% of the 67,000 Canadian tourists who visited in 2013 were repeat visitors, myself included. Probably greater than 70% of those are in 50+ age group, and in the upper middle income group.

Problem is that in 2013, there were 6% fewer Canadian visitors than in 2012; so you cannot count on the repeaters to keep coming, or on word-of-mouth testimonials to grow the numbers.

Barbados has to reach the Canadians who have not discovered what Barbados has to offer, and for whom price is not the only factor in their vacation decision.

To hook them, you have to tell them about the Gem of the Caribbean, and those in the 50+ and mid and upper-middle income demographic groups still read old fashioned newspapers and watch TV.

24. @Exclaimer

Interesting last comment that needs to be given full ventilation in Barbados. Tourism is currently responsible for 60% of GDP direct and indirectly, to dismantle to what??? which politician has the balls to contemplate such a move.

25. David what does this figure tell you about the governments of Barbados throughout the ages? I could think of a few choice words: irresponsible, idiotic, clueless, lazy, corrupt, lemmings, et al. Name me one intelligent country which would allow such a situation to arrive? Perhaps we should lay the blame on our superior education system.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Exclaimer

Please put your real name on your article when next you blog so that there can be a record of who you really are

This is critical because the info that you wrote AND the common sense you are promoting, have earned your a position on the We Jonesing list of “those who are to have their heads cracked and to get killed”

Imagine the gumption that you have to suggest that the current tourism model is failing and additionally we need to promote a “volume strategy” that, while the Sandy Lane visitors would continue to rub shoulders with others of the rich and famous, the other hotels would be full and more tourists dem would be in Bulbados!

What is your IPaddress and your real real address?

People like you should be drawn and quartered!!

Richard Sealy going soon visit you in de night like he does visit dat young ting in de Pine to gi she de money to pay de credit card dat he get fuh she.

It is people like wunna dat does try to show up de minister and Elcocky and mek suggestions bout tings dat is not in wunna pay grade.

Who is get more money when de mumf come? You or de Minister? Den which uh wunna is more qualify tuh mek suggestions? You or de minister?

From dis moment you is banned from de rum shop, wunna blogsters is trying to embarASS de party in power and jes’ fuh dat I gine mek Sinkliar put a next shite tax pun wunna botsies. Sinckliar gine pass de botsie tax and We Jonesing gine collect um, see if you like dat, uppity blogster dat you is

27. Exclaimer

what a doo ..doo,,,bird,,,,,if your comment is the answer to revitalization ….of the tourist industry,,,,,,then the other solution..maybe NO ENTRY ALLOWED on the Island,,,,,,,,,yuh need to go back to jenkins,,,,,,nitwit,,,,,

28. The old people have a saying not to place all your eggs in one basket. Agree we need to diversify our forex generating capacity.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

All the moreso now with the Ebola Virus on the loose internationally.

Lord forbid that any instance of that scourge enters our region as we see to expand our tourist arrivals.

From a practical standpoint David [BU] beyond to obvious non capacity of our QEH which can scarce afford regular medicines far less the exigencies of Ebola Care and Quarantine, could you find out if our incompetent Immigration Office has ever improved its computer systems to know if the last place you were was not Miami as you lied about in the Entry and Departure form but in fact Sierra Leone?

30. there is a difference between mash up and break up and putting all the eggs in one basket,,,,,,

31. @PODRYR

There is still a lot of work to be done on systems at the Immigration Department.

32. Robin Williams has died in an "apparent suicide", according to US police.

Robin Williams Dead In ‘Apparent Suicide’

33. David | August 11, 2014 at 5:32 PM |
    The old people have a saying not to place all your eggs in one basket. Agree we need to diversify our forex generating capacity.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    The great Errol Barrow is still being cussed for making a similar, if more direct ,statement.

34. islandgal246 | August 11, 2014 at 11:00 AM |
    So Exclaimer what do you propose for Barbados? Yes I agree that the product is old and dingy and we need to clean our houses and revamp them……………
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    That plus a general clean up of Bridgetown and islandwide,may go a long way in encouraging cruise ship passengers to return as long stay visitors.

35. how big is Peru? they make wine there ! how can one compare in any way this.
    and can anyone tell me why we are building more hotels when we can not fill the ones we already have.–it is clearly money laundering.
    also can anyone tell me how Mr Adrian love ridge benefits from this constant wanting to over flow our shores with tourist.what ?
    does he get a percentage off each person or what is this all about?
    wow really weird.

36. Piece

Ebola, in gun hit we little rock, i don’t think. Menber when AIDS was bout here in the 80’s and a lot of we daa think that we done gun get it?

37. Caribbean Lover Avatar

With some 80% of the island blanketed by rain-forest, St.Lucians, on earth day, still found it necessary to plant thousands of new trees.
    Now, I’m not saying that Barbados should follow St.Lucia; but cleaning up Barbados and planting at least 100,000 trees in the next few years

38. @pieceuhderockyeahright,
    Thank God for the power of the internet and BU. We should not be too concerned about causing any discomfit to are over pampered politicians. Put simply we are doing the work which we would expect from any respectable newspaper.

Barbados is in a strange place. It is been led by a poor quality government hopelessly out of its depth; an opposition party deeply divided made weaker by the desertion of its most influential personality – Owen. This malaise is reflected in the face of Owen who looks a broken man.

@ Caribbean Lover, I agree with you 100%, I mentioned this sometime ago. Refer to the post: Emancipation Message – Posted on August 1, 2014 by David: @ Exclaimer | August 6, 2014 at 7:54 AM |

39. Caribbean Lover Avatar

What are the fastest-growing economies in the Caribbean in 2014?

The United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean recently unveiled its updated projections for growth in 2014.

At the top of the pack?

It was the Dominican Republic, with a projected GDP growth of 5 percent in 2014, according to ECLAC.

Guyana was second in the Caribbean region with a projected GDP growth of 4.5 percent, followed by Suriname at 4.4 percent and Haiti at 3.5 percent. (Guyana led the region in GDP growth last year at 5.3 percent, according to ECLAC).

The next-fastest-growing Caribbean country was St Kitts and Nevis, whose economy is projected to grow by 3.1 percent this year.

The slowest-growing economy? It was Barbados, with a projected growth of just 0.5 percent this year.

The report said it cut its regional growth forecast for Latin America and the Caribbean to 2.2 percent, down from its April estimate of 2.7 percent.

See below for the full list of projections for the Caribbean this year.

40. @exclaimer
    You talk far too much sense.

@ ac
    At least try to get the name right before spouting off. It is Adrian, not adrien.

41. Caribbean Lover | August 12, 2014 at 6:52 AM |
    With some 80% of the island blanketed by rain-forest, St.Lucians, on earth day, still found it necessary to plant thousands of new trees.
    Now, I’m not saying that Barbados should follow St.Lucia; but cleaning up Barbados and planting at least 100,000 trees in the next few years
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    If Barbados do not see it fit to plant, Yams ,Potatoes, other staples and vegetables, what make you think that they/we will be interested in planting 100,000 trees unless they are of the marijauna type?

42. Remember all those trees destroyed to prepare for the coming of the Paradise project?

In other news it seems retreached employees of the BTA are up in arms about the way Chairman Elcock rubbished their level of competence and are contemplating court action. Interestiing time ahead which is not unusual when change is a must.

43. Paragraph two is the subject of the next Tourism MATTERS column, David.

44. See below for the full list of projections for the Caribbean this year.

45. David wrote “Chairman Elcock rubbished their level of competence and are contemplating court action.”

It is difficult to deal with being publicly humiliated and then get retrenched.

Was this “incompetence” not under his watch for 3 years?

46. @Hants

He explained his was a general comment. It was an unwise statement to make.

47. @David

If you took at the list of GDP growth and add a column to show currency value compared to the US$ and another column showing whether the country has a pegged currency or free trading currency, we might be able to see where some of our problem arise in attracting tourists. In the last 2 years Barbados has become 25% more expensive for Canadians to visit just on currency exchange value compared to the top gdp growth counties.

It is a bit of catch 22. Our hotels are mostly 3 star and many in need of refurbishment. It is like the GM /Honda story. If you don’t stay competitive and on your game, customers will leave. That is what is happening to Barbados.