Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Credit where credit is due. I commend the Government for lowering the rate of VAT on ‘hotel accommodation’ and especially extending the same 7.5 per cent to the Direct Tourism Services. This should relate to meaningful savings for our visitors and even, to a lesser degree, help encourage domestic tourism.

From the various social media sites, it is already clear that regular repeat guests will be watching very carefully that all tourism partners benefitting from the reduced tax level, will pass it on. Restaurant dining, car rental, reduced attraction entrance fees, activities like catamaran cruises etc., will all be more affordable and hopefully the overall spend will not fall significantly across the board. The critical element now, is to get this improved value for money into the market places, by every means possible.

Linking particular months with events, especially in the longer leaner periods, at first, makes logical sense, but I think this concept has to be constantly analysed, to ensure any national ‘investment’ is proven to be cost effective. This year with Crop Over is a classic example. Despite all the predictions and post event accolades, July 2013 recorded the lowest number of long stay visitor arrivals across the last 11 years in any same month.

I touched on our tourism performance in September 2012, last week, so today I wanted to cover land based arrivals for the same year in October and November.
Both again, alarmingly recorded their lowest comparable monthly figures during the past decade. November, which was already down 9 per cent or 4,233 persons less when compared with 2011, is especially concerning, as substantial funding was ploughed into the Barbados Food Wine and Rum Festival. You have to ask the question, if projects like this do not substially increase numbers, average spend and stay, what are ‘we’ doing wrong? While all these ‘concepts’ need time to reach potential, considering the festival at that time was in it’s third year, ‘we’ appear to be light-years away from the prophecy that it could ‘be one of the biggest foreign exchange generators for Barbados’.

This year, in addition to this event, there is another Rihanna concert, which hopefully will make a positive difference. But if we are partially relying on regional visitors to guarantee it’s success, let us hope that LIAT has its huge challenges under control by then. Taking an almost brand new aircraft with a book price of US$19 million, out of service, for at least a week, to replace an engine, while at the same time chartering the other ATR to the President of a country that your largest shareholder (Barbados) does not recognise, has to raise questions. The consequence: leaving hundreds of taypaying passengers who guaranteed the loans for the new planes, abandoned across the Caribbean.

Again, in the budget, substantial further funds have been promised to the Barbados Tourism Authority over the next 18 months for debt repayment. marketing and promotion. But with the touted loan not even in place yet, it’s clearly going to take some time to effectively implement, meaningful and responsive programmes, which stand a chance of making a positive difference.

The result appears almost inevitable, that we are going to enter another winter with the prospect of declining arrivals and perhaps just as critically, reduced revenue, profitability and occupancy. This is not painting a doomsday scenario, but an attempt to send a wake-up call to our policymakers and that we can no longer keep on doing things the same way and expect

79 responses to “Barbados Government Reduces VAT On Hotel Accommodation”

1. On the question of the BES fronting for Central Bank views, this has always been the case. Even when The late Anthony Johnson was President his scripts were written for him by Central Bankers.

2. Hal said:

So, an outstanding economist like Ben Bernanke or Mervyn King (former mats at MIT)( do not necessarily have all the answer.

Even Bernanke knows when to haul ass, i believe he is resigning come September, he knows the gig is up.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Ireland decided to maintain its lower rate of VAT, even though it cost Government an estimated Euro 350 million a year,

‘It gained back jobs, visitor numbers and higher tax returns’.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/retention-of-reduced-vat-rate-vital-to-maintain-record-tourist-numbers-29394117.html

4. @ Adrian

It would be disingenuous to imply that the recovery of the irish economy was because of tinkering with VAT.
    Ireland’s recovered was based on taking the toughest measures sof awll the PIIGS countries (Portugal, Ireland, Italy, Greece and Spain}. In fact, ireland’s measure were tougher than Latvia’s.
    Even so Irish banks are still in serious trouble – which is why England’s Financial Conduct Authority is looking at the Bank of Ireland.

5. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hal,

At the risk of repeating myself – ‘It gained back jobs, visitor numbers and higher tax returns’ .

I am not talking about the Ireland’s fiscal state, but simply the impact of a reduced rate of VAT on tourism.

Using you criteria, you could easily apply all the other factors you mentioned to Barbados.

6. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Should read Using YOUR criteria.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Hal Austin | August 26, 2013 at 4:35 PM |
    “My point is brief is that in 2007/8 the global economy collapsed. No one saw that coming. Yet, in most of our higher educational institutions the same paradigms of economics is taught.”

Your statement of “no one saw that coming” (the meltdown of major North Atlantic financial systems and economies) although generally valid is not entirely true.
    People with vision saw what was around the corner and even used the phrase “Voodoo Economics” to describe the state of the same economies in 2007.
    Way back in 2006 there were many published articles and warnings about the pending holocaust to descend on financial circles. But the powers that be blatantly refused to take notice calling those people prophets of doom and gloom in similar manner to those who were warning the current DLP administration about the inappropriateness and stupidity of their policies that can only lead to what is being experienced today.

You yourself must have expressed alarm and foreboding about the computer-generated stock-market trading multi-million pound (£) bonuses that were paid out every Xmas in the City and the astronomically unsubstantiated increases in house prices from the late 1990’s to 2006.

Your position on the holding of “excess to requirements” foreign reserves does have some validity. However, you need to establish if the reported foreign reserves situation in Barbados is a reliable statistic to go by. What is “officially’ reported in Bim is not always a true reflection of events or confirms a genuine analysis of the country’s financial status.

The position you are taking certainly goes against this administration’s recent decision to increase its “official” foreign reserves situation by another US $250 million to just lie there idle doing nothing while the economy goes down the drain and the young elements of the society go to “pot”.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Hal Austin | August 26, 2013 at 3:43 PM |

@ Well Well@
    As we said before . If we have to wait on plane loads of white people to land in BARBADOS to live we are in deep She-it. Yes again David We saying watch MONEY MASTERS ON YOUTUBE.
    THEN to know most of the foods we import will shorten our Life on this Island , white flour, white sugar, white iodized salt ,fructose and other junk foods.We need to band all foods that will make the cost of health care go up at the QEH,,,Diabetics are no longer taking pills they are loosing limbs, toes ,legs , foot, eyes sight. When they die there is nothing to put in the grave. But the family spend a lot on fake legs , wheel chairs and so on, Put more taxes on the Sin foods and let the fools who eat and smoke pay the bills.Cars will black smoke off the roads and so on.
    Breadfruit and flying fish will still be there no matter what the crook Banks say, Mental slavery they doing to the people.
    As We maybe wrong , but we to have Gold 24k to back the Bajan Dollar from i was a boy it always been 1.98$ to the USD$.
    Those who study the lies coming from the Central Bank will see the truth , Distractions and fools games , Blame they looking to shift as they pass us the bills , , Barbados DLP is 100% to blame now, Not crook Owen nor MIA, They bought the vote with the people money and now they empty the bank they looking for ways to get the money back ,
    As you can see they not cut their own pay , but took a pay hike right before they tell us the so called lied bad NEWS…
    They got us all Blogging this Big lie and what are they really doing NOW? MMMM,, watch this put 20years on any one dealing in any drugs in Jail and watch the hotels is Barbados drop off when they can come here and smoke pot in the hotel rooms any more
    You Will then know if they come here for the Sun and tan or pot and pipe to get high.

9. David, you should know by now, that so called economists did not plunge the world into recession, seeing that you don’t know this fact its time that you removed the blinkers. You see, economist don’t control the purse strings of the world. If you really want to get to the bottom of the crisis all you have to do is follow the money, (lol) or the lack thereof, but no seriously follow the money.

@ PDC hearing you loud and clear, its about time that we reject BOTH of the lying parties. Mind you I voted DLP in ’08 and in February gone, had to choose the lesser of two evils, but you dont know how it burned my heart not to have a third choice. Don’t mind the naysayers you guys need to come together and offer a SOLID alternative.

10. @ deeds go and sleep, you sounding confused now

11. what u are unable to understand that unless a substantial growth, increase in tourist happens the reduction of the vat is not going to help ,what is missing is volume in order to get a profitable return. if decline continues.plese tell me miller how that would increase revenue for govt. the only ones to gain would be the hoteliers with less vat to pay,this is not a good strategy and not the right time to do it. in theory sounds good on paper but in practicality it is not going to work, this must be a win win for all, few tourist reduction in vat means less govt revenue and no guarantee that tourist would spend more.,

12. @ac

Does the hotel have to advertise a competitive room rate? If the inputs into the room rate is reduced doesn’t that help to make the hotel competitive when advertising for business? Why don’t you listen to people who are in the business for a change.

13. the point is that with high unemployment world wide would have impacte have limited tourist coming from our source markkets .which means even though the tourism market has not entirely dried upit is stagnant and the tourist who are travelling are as limited to how much they are willing to .spend,therefore it would have been incumbent on gov to hold tight and not give out what they cannot afford because getting it back would be awful hard .in my opinion the govt made a gamble hoping that the markets would recover and the many other incentives which they put out would help to bolster increase in tourism which would increase spend. however i belive that a wait and see approach hinging on how those prior incentives would have performed in generating forex would have been perferable instead on jeopordising what little forex we have by reducing vat,

14. O.k.so what are we saying that because the vat have been reduced that more tourist will fill the room. .unless we have people to fiil the occupancy the rooms would stay empty no matter the cost., in the boom years people came and filled the rooms and vat was high.

15. just wait until when this new incentive does not work out then u and others would still be complaining cause the revenue generated was not enough and it is govt fault,i do not have to listen to a thing finance is not all that hard tomunderstand, if there is plenty volume when things are cheap most likely business would break even, if there is no volume when things are cheap business would close and as far as ac is concerned there are many hotels where if the govt gave them everything they still wouldn’t not makke it and some of them need to close their doors instead of asking the taxpayer to bendover backwards to accomodate them.

16. bk,

Thanks for the reference. It is very true.

IT IS TIME THEY GO OR BE FORCED TO GO.

Our PDC needs to become better organized and supported – and we will in due course.

Hope you and many others can form your own serious people-centered parties. This is the right time.

We are aware of some political tremors taking place in this country. Just stay tuned.

And we hope to read more from you on BU.

17. @ ac
    HUSH nuh!

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

There appears to be a lot of misunderstanding about the proposed VAT rate reduction. VAT is collected and passed on to Government (in most cases). The actual ‘saving’ on ‘hotel accommodation’ represents just 1.25 per cent on current rate payable. Where the savings (to our visitors) will mostly occur, will be with restaurants, car rentals, activities, attractions etc.
    17.5 to 7.5 per cent.
    If properly implemented and the BTA gets the message out to the markets, it will represent REAL savings for our visitors and locals using those services. High prices and poor value-for-money has long been mentioned as a deterrent to growing arrival numbers. Let us give this a chance and maybe like Ireland, it will prove to be cost-effective.

19. here is another cases scenArio .let,s say the arrivals increaseed tremenduously are the Hoteliers preparedto handle the additional workload and increased cost related to such things/as labourer in part which would be dueto additional hiring .or are they planning to use the old method of overworking the few employees and expecting stellar results.

20. Well Well

Read and weep!
    Safety and security

Trinidad

There is a high level of gang related violent crime in Trinidad, particularly in the inner city neighbourhoods east of Port of Spain’s city centre, Laventille, Morvant and Barataria. This crime tends to occur within local communities but can sometimes affect visitors.

You should maintain at least the same level of security awareness as you would in the UK and make sure your living accommodation is secure. Don’t carry large amounts of cash or wear eye-catching jewellery. Use a hotel safe to store valuables, money and passports. Don’t walk alone in deserted areas even in daylight. Take care when withdrawing money from ATMs.

Theft from vehicles and property occurs in parts of downtown Port of Spain and other towns/cities. Take particular care around the port area or downtown, especially at night, and avoid straying into areas affected by gang violence. There have been robberies, some involving firearms, at tourist sites, including Fort George, the Pitch Lake, Las Cuevas beach and at supermarket car parks, shopping malls, nightclubs, restaurants and business premises.

https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/trinidad-and-tobago/safety-and-security

The British Government has issued a travel advisory against Trinidad and Tobago. Remember how you were boasting that Trinidad is a better place to visit than Barbados and that you will be taking you holiday there? The British Government does not agree with you!!!

You promoting Trinidad as a better place than Barbados and ADRIAN LOVERIDGE promoting St. Lucia with its gross human rights violations as better than Barbados. With like you all who need enemies.

21. The Department of Tourism is to be abolished and all its staff offered jobs elsewhere in Government, it has been revealed.

But Minister Shawn Crockwell has issued reassurances that no jobs will be shed as a result of the changeover.

A newly created independent Tourism Authority will take on the functions of the Department and Tourism staff will get the chance to apply for jobs there, though they won’t be guaranteed a position. It is understood they will also have the option of voluntary redundancy.

The Department has a $27 million budget and employs 47 people, according to the last Government budget book, with at least 27 of them based in Bermuda at Tourism’s Global House headquarters.

http://www.royalgazette.com/article/20130829/NEWS04/130829701

22. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Adrian Loveridge | August 27, 2013 at 6:09 AM | @
    looking past. We are seeing you as a person , base on some comments that might be at the table with others and none shared your views. Now you not at the table ,we see where they lead to the bottom of things not to bare your warnings , Such the case they all in she-it now? So now no one can blame you for the mess that they are in? It may seem they had their own greedy motives and We maybe seeing it now. If We are wrong please correct us for We want to be right with the right information.
    We could not see you , but we see you better base on some other comments.

23. Caribbean Lover Avatar

“Battle of the Soufriere Bridge in St Lucia”
    —————————————————–
    What on earth, or in heaven, does the opening of a bridge in Soufriere, St.Lucia has to do with a reduction of VAT on hotel accommodation in Barbados?
    The subject doesn’t even have to mention St.Lucia for this blogger to spew his venom. Yes, you are truly obsess with St.Lucia.

24. Geeze even DOMINICA is getting in on the act. Did anyone view the Dominica ads on Sportsmax channel today which appeared during the 20/20 cricket game between Australia and England.

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

David, but you forgot ….

‘We (Barbados) don’t advertise on television because our market intelligence tells us that our customers do not watch much television’

26. Article in the Ottawa newspaper today saying the Caribbean is in for a world of hurt with water problems. The one to feel it the most is Barbados , it said you are already rationing water to certain areas. Overbuilding ,greenhouse effect etc . It seems everyone is worried about a lot of things that don’t mean much if you have no water. Is this article correct?

27. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

I am proven right again.
    I repeatedly said that to get a column in the Nation Newspaper , you must be critical of this government and a BLP operative singing for his Nation supper:
    First , BLP yardfowl , Caswell Franklyn.

The latest addition, prospective BLP candidate for St. Peter – Colin Jordan.

Who next?
    The Nation BLP newspaper – the most biased media house in Barbados.

28. Very! This has been a very wonderful article. Many thanks for supplying this data.