Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Gorg. 2014 Party Monarch winner singing Meh Rum - Click to listen
Gorg, 2014 Party Monarch winner singing Meh Rum , hugely popular but has attracted criticism in some quarters

The same way no Jews will overlook the atrocities inflicted by the Nazis, Barbadians must never overlook the significance of Emancipation Day. Indeed, for us it must be seen as even more important than the observance of political independence.” Daily Nation (Barbados) Friday August 1st. 2014

Sometimes words are just words. The editorial quoted above justifies this position. While the nation newspaper was lamenting the fact that Barbadians were generally ignoring the advent of Emancipation Day, the Barbados Today online journal, was wondering aloud, if the day really had any significance. Barbados Today predicted that unless the national conscience is lifted the celebration of the day will fade away. We concur.

It is time to call a spade a spade: Barbadians have never been pro-African and this has its historical roots in being almost ruled or enslaved exclusively by the British slave/colonial masters. To be crude, we are all Anglo Saxon, in one way or another. The powers that be, the black political managerial class, have done little to educate the citizens about slavery, emancipation and the Black struggle, to any significant degree.

The Jews will never allow themselves to forget the holocaust because they see it as an atrocity that cannot be forgotten or forgiven. Hence they will hunt down all those connected to the crime. They have been taught and educated to REMEMBER it. On the other hand we have been taught and educated to FORGET slavery. A few years ago a lawyer/columnist in the Advocate news referred to slavery as an “intermission” (Guyston Mayers /A Guy’s View). That one description demonstrates an unbelievable ignorance of what slavery really is or was.

Throughout the late 60’s and 70’s Barbados was the least receptive Caribbean island to the Black power movement. In more recent times both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party , have been scared to move to Republic status because of the opposition of the powerful white corporate minority and Blacks who cannot mentally make the break from de queen.

To now lament events that geared toward the importance of Emancipation Day are not gathering any momentum, is nothing more than journalistic hypocrisy and crocodile tears. The Festival of the Flesh, otherwise known as Crop Over has taken precedence over reflection of our journey from Africa to the Caribbean because that is where we have collectively chosen to prioritize in our national consciousness.

Children live what they learn. All of the naked revelry and drunken teenagers fallen by the Streets 9 (Rev. Morris/Nation News) is a very real reflection of our current value system. Unfortunately when all the nudity and drunkenness is over, we realize that the Crop of denial and running from our history is not!

104 responses to “Barbadian is the Consummate Anglophile”

1. @Dompey

Don’t let this go to your head but many of your comments on this particular blog have been interesting.

2. Dompey……though those authors are giants in their own right, since their time more information has come to light about the real truth re black history and Africans who ruled the world thousands of years before the 14th century, why have the black historians in the Caribbean yet to write books on these truths, what are they waiting for, i hope they are not waiting for someone white to come along and do it for them, there is ample proof that their history (his story) put out by England and other European countries including the vatican and anglican churches about the history of black people are now known to be all LIES created to benefit and enrich the greedy with ulterior motives, so what is stopping the truth from being published by black historians today, this centrury, that is my question.

3. Well Well

Young Barbadians of the African descent should be encourage to read Black History that is written from the Black perspective. This is one of the way to help them fully understanding their history, before they’re indocrinated with that thing called West Indian History, written from the European perspective.

4. Not only read black history from the African perspective, but WRITE black history from the Caribbean and African perspective.

5. Long before Columbus, maybe 50,000 thousand years before or 100,000 years before, or more these African people crossed the Atlantic and settled in what is now Eastern Brazil. Of course 100,000 years ago there were only African people, and 100,000 years from now there will only be African people

http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/606

Serra da Capivara National Park

Many of the numerous rock shelters in the Serra da Capivara National Park are decorated with cave paintings, some more than 25,000 years old. They are an outstanding testimony to one of the oldest human communities of South America.

6. For the record:

CARICOM Reparations Presentation to UK House of Commons

Published on August 3, 2014 in Africa, Caribbean, CARICOM, Education, England,General T&T, International, Law, Race and Identity and Racism Watch. 2CommentsTags: abuse, africa, african, genocide, reparations, slavery.

PROFESSOR SIR HILARY BECKLES

Professor Sir Hilary Beckles

ADDRESS DELIVERED BY PROFESSOR SIR HILARY BECKLES

CHAIRMAN OF THE CARICOM REPARATIONS COMMISSION

to the

HOUSE OF COMMONS,

PARLIAMENT OF GREAT BRITAIN

COMMITTEE ROOM 14

JULY 16, 2014

Madam Chair, the distinguished member of Parliament for Hackney North and Stoke Newington, Diane Abbott, other distinguished members of the House of Lords, and House of Commons, Excellencies of the Diplomatic Corp, colleagues at the head table, Ladies and Gentlemen.

I speak this evening, in this honourable chamber of the House of Commons, as Chairman of the CARICOM Commission on Reparations. My colleagues of the Commission are tasked with the preparation and presentation of the evidentiary basis for a contemporary truth: that the Government of Great Britain, and other European states that were the beneficiaries of enrichment from the enslavement of African peoples, the genocide of indigenous communities, and the deceptive breach of contract and trust in respect of Indians and other Asians brought to the plantations under indenture, have a case to answer in respect of reparatory justice.

http://www.trinidadandtobagonews.com/blog/?p=8337

7. Sir Hilary Beckles calls for reparations by the UK Government. Has he seen the irony of this?
    The UK Government draws its income from taxation of people working and living in Britain, they are the ones who would ultimately have to fund these reparations.
    This of course includes Caribbean nationals an those of Caribbean decent living and working in Britain.
    Sir Hilary is seeking reparations in part from the descendants of Caribbean slaves.
    Once again a talking head is using the slave card for their own self aggrandisement.Maybe he should stick to sorting out the mess called UWI Barbados?

8. Did Sir Hilary select himself Chair of the Caricom Reparations Committee?

9. Firbear

All of us have to pay taxes, it is just a reality in our present existence. So whether or not, the reparation money comes from the taxpayers of Caribbean nationals and their descendants, is of little or no significant. What matters most is the fact that our foreparents are receiving a return for their labor.

10. Firbear

The United States of America, collects its income from Japanese Americans, but has already paid them reparation for the injustices their had suffered in the Interment-Camps during the Second World War. So your point bears little or not merit and may I add: your critique takes from the true essence of the topic before deliberation.

11. @ David
    That question is a little disingenuous given the nature of the person. 🙂

12. @firbear

You obviously place little faith in the regions’s political directorate?

13. @Dompey
    If you see no irony in the descendants of slaves being asked to pay reparations for slavery I feel sorry for you.
    As for taking away from the essence of the topic, I was responding to the insertion of the Hilary Beckles speech into the discussion by David so I reject your point.

14. firbear August 3, 2014 at 9:42 PM “The UK Government draws its income from taxation of people working and living in Britain, they are the ones who would ultimately have to fund these reparations. This of course includes Caribbean nationals an those of Caribbean decent living and working in Britain. Sir Hilary is seeking reparations in part from the descendants of Caribbean slaves.”

Sir Hilary is right and you are wrong.

For many generations black Caribbean people could not put down a little of what they worked for for their children. and so multiple generations had to sstart life in extreme poverty.

Poverty so extreme that 40% to 50 % of Afro Caribbean children died before their 5th birthday and this continued until the 1940’s

Some of those dead children were my siblings, some were yous or your infant aunts and uncles.

Maybe you don’t care.

But I do.

Have you ever asked your grandmother how come she only raised 3 children to adulthood even though she may have given birth to 12?

Ask your grandmother what happened to her 8 or 10 dead children…and she may tell you…or maybe she is still too traumatized to speak about it.

15. @ David
    You have got that right!
    The problem (as I see it and I freely admit that I could be wrong) is that we have a single level of government.
    Proud as we are of the nation, the fact remains that we are the size of a small/medium town in global terms. Our NATIONAL government is the equivalent of a TOWN COUNCIL in, say, the UK where they have the benefit of a second, national level of government leaving them free to deal with local issues while the national level deals with national and international issues.
    It is my contention that our present elected MPs are no better than Town Councillors and that it is beyond their capabilities to deal with both local and national/international issues. Indeed, it would tax the abilities of more able politicians than we are currently blessed with.

16. @firbear

Wr have agreement.

17. @ Simple Simon

My issue is with the irony of Hilary Beckles stance, not the wrongs of slavery.
    Slavery and racism are abominations whatever the colour of the slaves and enslavers and whatever the direction of the racism.I will brook no argument on this
    How ever, I ask that you think through the whole reparations thing. It makes a great soundbite for a “talking head” but is it realistic?
    Who will pay it? Not the UK taxpayer I suggest. They will not stand for being asked to pay, today, for wrongs committed more than a century ago.
    Who will it be paid to? The unspoken expectation is that everyone of slave decent, which is 100% of the Caribbean population, will get a share…………….Really?
    Who will administer it? I expect that certain familiar names would be high on the list for THAT job!
    How far up the slavery chain will reparations be demanded? Will they be demanded from the heirs of African tribal chiefs who sold is,their fellow black countrymen to Arab slavers? Would they be demanded from the heirs of these slavers?
    So you see, a simple soundbite becomes more complicated and involved as you delve deeper.

18. There was a very good counter to the reparations lobby by Hilbourne Watson but for the life of me I cannot find it! 🙁

19. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Case against UK and EU for reparations is being filed and will be heard.
    The arguments you raise will be matters for the Defendants to raise and a Judge and Jury to discern. Prosecuting team must lay out and prove the facts for their case to be looked at to claim damages for past crimes

20. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

“Barbadians have never been pro-African and this has its historical roots in being almost ruled or enslaved exclusively by the British slave/colonial masters….”

Being the most British among the Caribbean slaves gave Bajans a false sense of superiority; and boy are they proud of it. And it’s one of the reasons tourists don’t find Barbados exotic; it’s too much like the place they’re coming from.

21. @Squeeze (Make No Riot)
    It will be heard and I predict that it will be dismissed for several reasons.
    Let us wait and see.

22. @Caribbean Lover

Good point, except that most tourists do not come from countries blighted by atrocious roads, poor street lights, abandoned and rotting hotels on the beach front,derelict historical buildings, rubbish strewn streets,stinking diesel spewing bus and route taxis, surly service where the words please and thank you are unknown, all of which, and more , do not an exotic place make!

23. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

For sake of argument we can assume the Atlantic Slave Trade was biggest crime to men woman and children in history of man woman and child kind

24. @Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)
    I can accept “one of” but not “the biggest” as that would diminish other examples of mans inhumanity to his fellows such as the holocaust and two word wars to name a few.

25. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

All of History could be considered same game of inhumanity from Colonialism and Slavery, where UK established USA, Mussolini invaded Ethiopia, Hitler invaded Poland as there was nowhere in Africa left, WWI, WWII, White Supremacy, Global Racism, leading to and setting up power structures alliances today

26. @Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)
    Your point has just got diluted by the introduction of the white/black race card.

27. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

There is no such thing as a race card (white/black race card?)
    It is just a white cop out phrase

28. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Peace And Rhythm

Brother You Know You’re Doing Wrong

http://youtu.be/-TL35vgepkM

29. Next U will be saying that the European Tribes did not fight against each other eternally? Its all a White Supremacy Conspiracy! Humans of ALL COLOURS will take advantage of the WEAK! Why did Hitler attack the weaker surrounding countries? Exploitation of weakness anywhere. Germs and Japs would have gladly ENSLAVED ALL of us! Do U really think Hitler loved the French? Japs loved the Chinese?

HUMANS in some cases are PURE EVIL! Just so happens Whitey was more advanced in the West BUT I have NO DOUBT that Africans would have conducted the same type of exploitation had they been more advanced technologically! Why did Hannibal attack Italy? Clever bro TOO!

30. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

Idris Muhammad – Peace

31. Walter Blackman Avatar

WARNING DELIVERED BY WALTER BLACKMAN

A DESCENDANT OF BARBADIAN SLAVES

to the

HOUSE OF COMMONS,

PARLIAMENT OF GREAT BRITAIN

Dear Madam Chair,
    Let us assume that there are 8 million descendants of slaves in the Caribbean who qualify for reparations from Britain. Let us assume also that Britain decides to pay each descendant 3 million pounds to ‘forget about slavery’.
    When the time comes for payment of the 24 trillion pounds to be made, I want my share to be paid directly into my bank account in the USA. If you pay my money to any 3rd party who claims to be representing me, I will sue you.
    You have been warned.

32. Those who were enslaved and died in the Middle passage or served as slaves obviously deserve compensation. The Black peeps of today deserve an Excellent EDUCATION / Training System and not to suffer discrimination. It might well be that $20 TR would be fair compensation ie 40MN Dead at $500k each. BUT the UK/ USA et al DONT have that kind of $$$$$ so dont fire de wuk!

The payment is fraught with complications. I have family that are 90%White and some approx 50% Black please tell me how we going payout? My cousin and chaps like Commissiong in the middle of the spectrum going had to pay wid he right hand and receive wid the left?????????? lol

33. Instead of attempting to place an insulting money value on the 400years of suffering by our ancestors, and to act like the ultimate mendicants in seeking to extort blood money from the unfortunate descendants of those animals…..
    …should we not honour our brave forefathers by building the best possible society? One that is just, lawful, productive, clean, ….perhaps even righteous…?

How does going begging at the feet of these people bring honour to the memories of those who suffered for four centuries?

This man Beckles ALREADY has the mandate to address this travesty of slavery – BY PRODUCING HIGH QUALITY, COMMITTED, HONEST GRADUATES who can build the kind of society that would make those who suffered PROUD…..
    …..Instead he has been begging SAGICOR, COW, Bizzy, Republic Bank…anyone who can hand him cash…..while our education system FAILS THE COUNTRY…..and becomes a laughing stock…
    …now he has been tasked to raise the level of national embarrassment to international levels…..

Shiite man….!

34. SHITE BUSH TEA
    WHY DONT YOU GO AND REPLACE THE MAN AND DO BETTA?
    SHOW HIM DAT YOU NOSE EVATING BOUT EVATING AND DAT YOU HAVE A HIGHER RANK THAN HE.
    AFTER ALL YOU IS ONE OF BBE’S CHOSEN ONES — WHO EVER BBE IS

SOME CONSIDER THE MAN A GIANT? WHAT ARE YOU?

35. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

GP GONE MAD ((MADDER THAN MAD) WAS ALREADY MAD))

36. no man GP cool GP MOCKING and CHALLENGING and ENGAGING IN ROBUST DEBATE

37. bush tea
    SIR HILARY HAS GREATER RANK THAN YOU LOL
    JUST LIKE HOW YOU SUGGESTED THAT SARGEANT IS OF “LOWER RANK” LOL

38. GP……..i would be more impressed if they got rid of all the damn corrupt politicians, that would be a start, then they can take it from there and deal with the reparations of which i have my own views and it does not include putting any cash reparations in the hands of the same corrupt politicians, or Hilary or anyone else, i don’t believe it should be cash but if it must be cash, put it in individual descendant’s bank accounts OR i am with Walter Blackman, sue their asses, why give the money to corrupt politicians only to have it end up in their bank accounts or those of bizzy/cow/all the other parasites.

The Bushman…….you are indeed correct, there is a better way, but i would really like to see the parasites of buckingham palace who benefited from slavery down to their last pound or euro, they deserve nothing less for their lies, deceit, pretense of superiority, whoring, pimping and pedophilia ways while educating blacks that they are inferior and should still be slaves after insulting their ancestors for centuries.

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

WELL WELL
    I AGREE WITH YOU WHEN YOU SAY .i would be more impressed if they got rid of all the damn corrupt politicians, that would be a start, then they can take it from there and deal with the reparations of which i have my own views and it does not include putting any cash reparations in the hands of the same corrupt politicians, or Hilary or anyone else, i don’t believe it should be cash but if it must be cash, put it in individual descendant’s bank accounts OR i am with Walter Blackman, sue their asses, why give the money to corrupt politicians only to have it end up in their bank accounts or those of bizzy/cow/all the other parasites.

WE ARE ON THE SAME PAGE

I AM HERE ABOUT FIVE YEARS OF REPARATIONS FOR KEEPING PEACE HERE ON BU WHEN CONFRONTED WITH A JACKASS THAT KNOWS NO BIBLE OR BIOCHEMISTRY THAT SOUGHT TO CHALLENGE.

HAVING NOT EVER MET ANYONE SO STUPID I WOULD GO WATCH TV
    BUT FROM YESTERDAY …………….IT WILL BE ROBUST DEBATE lol ROFLMAO

40. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar

AND WHEN YOU SPEAK OUT THEY SHOOT YOU DOWN
    WHERE ARE ALL THE GOOD MEN THEY’RE NOT AROUND

http://youtu.be/u8RjAHtKCHY

41. And another interesting debate degenerates into indecipherable ramblings.
    BU is becoming a bad joke by giving these idiots a forum for their ravings.

42. @firbear

Do you agree that freedom of expression should permit the bright and the dullard to have a say?

On Monday, 4 August 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. Stevenjules... Avatar

Until slavery ends in Africa and the Middle East…I can’t understand how any British government will pay reparations….the atlantic slave trade was much more complex than Europeans getting slaves from Africa….the slave trade in Africa was going on a long time before any Europeans set foot in Africa….Europeans have outlawed the practice….but slavery is alive and well in Africa….

44. Jews claiming compensation for atrocities of WW2 is only relevant to living victims….descendants have no valid claim…hence reparations….I think we should be doing more to trade…than holding out the begging cap yet again….every cent we could get in reparations will cost us $$$$$$$$$$$$$….

45. “How does going begging at the feet of these people bring honour to the memories of those who suffered for four centuries?”

It doesn’t.Its astute laziness.It says we cannot build anything of value with our intrinsic abilities.History, pre to post slavery proves otherwise.It is shameful a Professor of History were to even suggest this.It doesn’t change the wealth dynamic in the Caribbean but preserves the status quo as they stand to benefit the most from the spendthrift by reparations.

Emancipation, the slaves were freed but who were the recipients of the heavy payouts? The planter class.This reparations nonsense is emancipation part 2.The descendants of slaves with a fist full of dollars is useless if the status quo, the laws , the education system,the political system and the protocol for transacting business remains the same.

46. @David
    Indeed I agree whole heartedly. Not just the erudite should be heard A dullard is not necessarily a fool and maybe just takes a little longer to make his point.
    However the bickering and name calling,, usually using upper case,by the same foolish usual suspects is becoming predictable and boring.
    Factually inaccurate posts can be challenge and corrected but having to wade through the nonsense spouted by these people is mind numbing.

47. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

LIKE IT OR LUMP IT
    NUMB YOUR MIND LOL

48. Caribbean Lover Avatar
    Caribbean Lover

Put a million US dollars in the hands of every black family or household (not individuals) in the Caribbean, and within 7 years most of us would be broke again.
    Instead of investing wisely, most black folks would go on a shopping spree. We would purchase the most expensive cars, homes, sneakers, and party till we drop. Oh! don’t forget the minutes we would add to our cellphones; man, the money mightn’t even last a year.

49. @firbear

Agree with you, the point has been made by BU as well. Besides censoring what options do you think are available to BU?