Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Gorg. 2014 Party Monarch winner singing Meh Rum - Click to listen
Gorg, 2014 Party Monarch winner singing Meh Rum , hugely popular but has attracted criticism in some quarters

โ€œThe same way no Jews will overlook the atrocities inflicted by the Nazis, Barbadians must never overlook the significance of Emancipation Day. Indeed, for us it must be seen as even more important than the observance of political independence.โ€ Daily Nation (Barbados) Friday August 1st. 2014

Sometimes words are just words. The editorial quoted above justifies this position. While the nation newspaper was lamenting the fact that Barbadians were generally ignoring the advent of Emancipation Day, the Barbados Today online journal, was wondering aloud, if the day really had any significance. Barbados Today predicted that unless the national conscience is lifted the celebration of the day will fade away. We concur.

It is time to call a spade a spade: Barbadians have never been pro-African and this has its historical roots in being almost ruled or enslaved exclusively by the British slave/colonial masters. To be crude, we are all Anglo Saxon, in one way or another. The powers that be, the black political managerial class, have done little to educate the citizens about slavery, emancipation and the Black struggle, to any significant degree.

The Jews will never allow themselves to forget the holocaust because they see it as an atrocity that cannot be forgotten or forgiven. Hence they will hunt down all those connected to the crime. They have been taught and educated to REMEMBER it. On the other hand we have been taught and educated to FORGET slavery. A few years ago a lawyer/columnist in the Advocate news referred to slavery as an โ€œintermissionโ€ (Guyston Mayers /A Guyโ€™s View). That one description demonstrates an unbelievable ignorance of what slavery really is or was.

Throughout the late 60โ€™s and 70โ€™s Barbados was the least receptive Caribbean island to the Black power movement. In more recent times both the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party , have been scared to move to Republic status because of the opposition of the powerful white corporate minority and Blacks who cannot mentally make the break from de queen.

To now lament events that geared toward the importance of Emancipation Day are not gathering any momentum, is nothing more than journalistic hypocrisy and crocodile tears. The Festival of the Flesh, otherwise known as Crop Over has taken precedence over reflection of our journey from Africa to the Caribbean because that is where we have collectively chosen to prioritize in our national consciousness.

Children live what they learn. All of the naked revelry and drunken teenagers fallen by the Streets 9 (Rev. Morris/Nation News) is a very real reflection of our current value system. Unfortunately when all the nudity and drunkenness is over, we realize that the Crop of denial and running from our history is not!

104 responses to “Barbadian is the Consummate Anglophile”

1. Actually, it beats me why any Caribbean person could possibly be “pro-African”. Sure none of us must forget our roots and in the depths of our being we haven’t. We honour them every time we stupse, ‘SSSSSSSS’, say “yes please’. But if you ask us to remember slavery and root ourselves there, sorry that particular lump on the back long since found its way into the Caribbean sea. ‘Freedom” – ah yes ‘freedom’. Well, that’s another story. It asserts itself every time we march, every time we become the dissenting voice on BU, every time we say ‘Sorry, that’s not for me’. And that means that if I want to run naked for Crop Over on Spring Garden I will, and say to those who would try to make me feel guilty that I’m not “pro-African” – ‘Bog off’.

And let me say – I’m tired of the “pursuit of excellence”, tired of role models, and yes, even tired of dear old Charles.

2. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Thinking like Robert Ross is just one of the reasons why we as a people will remain chained mentally to our colonial pass…! Thinking like Robert Ross will keep us exactly where the powers that be wants us to remain..!
    The Jews and the Moi Moi tribe of Kenya should be an example to us all…!
    To Robert I say… BOGGER OFF…!

3. @Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog GroupTo be crude, we are all Anglo Saxon, in one way or another…and Blacks who cannot mentally make the break from de queen.

Count me out. I was born long, long before political/legal independence. But the Queen has never meant anything to me. And no I am not Anglo Saxon, have never been, have never wanted to be.

But maybe, just maybe I am one of the few people who actually listened to and talked to their grandmothers…born in 1879 and 1886. Those ladies whose grandmothers were enslaved people were not far removed from the horrors of slavery… and even though they had to work as labourers all the days of their lives, they stopped living on the plantation tenantries as soon as they could that is before 1938, because after all who wants to live on their employer’s property where the employer feels they have the right to invade your privacy every single day, including invading the privacy or your virginal daughters.

So my grandmothers left. Their thoughts “you can buy my labour but you can never, never buy me…and you can never ever buy my virginal daughters.”

4. And I don’t consider it lucky/fortunate/a god thing when a young black woman marries an old, old white man.

5. It is difficult to sepatate yourself from your past. And whether you want to accept it as fact or not, the evil institution of slavery has shaped the psychological apparatus of the man of African descent within the America’s.

I do agree however, that as a human species, we ought not allow our culture defind us totally because there is a commonality, a universality which connected humanity, and it is our humanity. Our humanity ought to transcent race, culture, religion etc because I do believe that we were made apart from the other creatures.

6. 500 years of indoctrination,of psychological damage,of living in fear of being murdered,raped,beaten to death,tarred,feathered,burned alive
    starved on a diet of salted fish,pork,entrails of cows,sheep,goats,pigs,
    having to wear hand-me-down-clothing,in short denied one’s humanity,
    none of this treatment of a fellow human being whether enslaved or not is unjustified.Reparation is a huge receivable,and should not be taken off the table.

7. Yes, claim to be free, and yes, support ‘we African’…all the while the politicians rape the treasury and make themselves rich.

And you wonder why the young people have no regard for political claptrap?

They realize where their bread is buttered, it is in working for their living, in the yes, (cuh dear ac going get vex!) the West!!!

Them want to go to Amurca and Can’da, tuh WORK for a life. To get ahead out of the ‘I gine vote fuh wunna if yuh gi me a Chinese laptop) attitude and NIS giveout.

No, like it or not, the young people gone past that bull…. and deciding to WORK and LIVE for themselves, not fuh wunna philosophical rantings whilst wunna mek wunna rich on questionable contracts etc etc…

If I was a youngster I would have the same approach. I dont blame them I applaud them for wanting to make it for themselves.

Politicians words wont get them ahead, work and moving on will.

Put that in ya craw an smoke it.

8. Simple Simon

Even though we’re far removed from the evil institution of slavery, some in our present general and beyond, have had to contend with the issue of racial-apartheid, which was a direct result of our enslavement. Emancipation did not automatically granted an absolute autonomy to the man of colour, he had to continually fight, as he still does today, for his rightful place in our world today.

9. @Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group.

Yes, Bussa and comrades male and female ,died fighting, must always be remembered and respected.

10. @Crusoe

Are you suggesting if we identify with our roots we have to stop interacting with other cultures? We can’t do both maybe?

11. @Crusoe August 3, 2014 at 11:37 AM ” gi me a …NIS giveout.”

NIS funds are not give-outs.

I’ve paid more than $100,000 into the National Insurance Scheme and I’ve NEVER taken out a cent.

Whatever I can from NIS going forward is MY MONEY.

Not anything you or a politician has “given” me.

IT IS MY MONEY.

Understood?

12. Crusoe

Corruption, couple with the self- interest over the collective-interest, have always been part and parcel of the world of politics.

Listen! I was a 17 year old young lad back in 1985, and I felt much the same way a lot of the young people do today in Barbados.

I saw BLP government with a group of ministers who were focused More on the self-interest over the collective- interest. While their spew there encouraging words of hope and optimism, as their drove their top of the line Mercides, as I stood on the sidewalk, unemployed and hopeless, watching them passed without even acknowledging those persons who had put them in high office. So I do understand the disconnect and disengagement of today’s young, as far as their interest in politics goes.

13. @MAHOGANY ,
    WHEN YOU TALK ABOUT COMING FROM “AFRICA” What do you mean?
    Do you realize how huge AFRICA is? Juxtapose it against the rest of the world and you will see. It is larger than China,Russia, the USA,Canada,The English and European countries combined.
    If you say we are Black together
    er I will understand, and ALL blacks wewe not slaves or descended from slaves.
    Alvin Cummins

14. @Pompey,
    Are you still “hopeless”, or have you moved on? Time passes and heals all wounds. Almost every 17 year feels that way.
    Alvin Cummins.
    Barbadus is successful. Repeat to yourself daily as you look in the mirror:I AM SUCCESSFUL!!!

15. Alvin Cummins

Question: are you related to Sergeant Ronald Cummins in the Royal Barbados Police Band?

I am not hopeless because I do believe in the principle of forgiveness. Listen! I not quite sure if your aware of this historical fact because you do not often hear it mention these day, but in the War of 1812, The British burn the White House down. But despite this unfortunate incident, America and Great Britian are the greatest of friends today. And I must surmized that it all came about through the power of forgiveness!

16. @Watty P
    Thinking like Robert Ross will keep us exactly where the powers that be wants us to remain..!

The powers that are Black in the D/BLP????? Correct!

Black people should try to adopt the Jewish methods of EDUCATION and UNITY! (although there are divisions Orthodox, Zionists etc)

17. Moneybrain

The Jewish concepts of Unity and Education didn’t just happened after the Germany Concentration Camps, it took some four- thousand years to materialized. Now, have you read the book called: The Protocol of the Elders of Zion? But you have, then you ought to know what I am talking about, but If you haven’t, you ought to.

18. Moneybrain, after suffering four- hundred years of slavery in Egypt, the Nation of Israel was very much divided against itself, on the way to the Promise Land and after settling there.

19. The Bible tells us explicitely, that it took the Nation of Israel, 40 years to find the Promise Land because of its disobedience to God.

20. Dompey
    Bottomline is to learn from them! In investing I am always watching the TOP RICH BRAINS! Should a black man take 4000 yrs to become successful? NO! The critical concepts could be learnt in a few hours of reading and thinking—the key barrier in the US is pisspoor Education and a bad attitude from some. How come in the US and Bim poor black people rise to the TOP in Law, Business, Science etc—simple they are DETERMINED to get ahead.

In some respects the Black Muslims were on the right track in the 60-70s. They were becoming organised for success. Some of the top fellas might have been HYPOCRITES, ask Mal X when U see him but—-

21. Moneybrain

The Jews have had strong religious leaders who were quite capable of unify the collective conscience of the Jewish masses. As far as Black people are concern: we have only had this during and a little after our enslavement. There isn’t a single Black leader who is capable of rally the collective -conscience of the Black masses, in an effort to acheive the above mentioned objectives. Now, Moneybrain, have your read Sir Arthur Lewis book as of yet? Well, he gave a comprehensive view of what we’re talking about now! And in his book he said a very fundamental thing which made a lasting impression my thinking to this day. He said that, “The Europrean, Indian and Chinese etc, have had 400 years ahead of the Black man to perfect they business skills”. Bearing in mind of course, that the Black man was schackled to the evil institution of slavery for some 400 years.

22. @Mr Watson Parkinson

There is no, never has been and never will be a “Moi Moi tribe”
    You refer I think to the foul movement in Kenya called “Mau Mau”. Hardly a shining advertisement for black Africa.They were not a tribe but a secret society of mainly the Kikuyu tribe.
    I suggest you read up on the subject before exhibiting your profound ignorance.

23. @Moneybrain

Curious to your view why Jews have been able to accumulate wealth in the US more than other countries.

24. @Dompey
    While Black peeps in the New World had the disadvantage of Slavery, the Africans did not, so are you suggesting that Africans are much better at Business that Bajans?
    The real problem is permitting even legitimate “excuses” to dominate attitude. I was always in the village playing sports and today some of those fellas OWN ice boats that go fishing for 10-14 days, those fellas are NOT poor! However, some of our playmates are DRUNKS! Some were from better off families and totally failed to progress with that advantage of solid parents. WHY? Wuhtlessnes! BAD ATTITUDE! All people, including my own family have bad actors!

Dompey U may not have been born with a gold spoon in your mout BUT U have improved yourself, U are determined to do so! That is what works for everybody who takes that position. DETERMINATION is the ANSWER!
    I know fellas poor as shite that went to HC with me—one is a tip top Lawyer, one is the Pres of the Supercentre Mkts etc. WHY?

They did not sit pun their ass waiting for Govt handouts! They did benefit from being clever and passing for HC! But I know plenty fellas that went to St L, Alleyne et al and have done well. WHY?

25. @Pompey,
    History that you have read is wrong. Rea about the great leaders of Africa. Remember that the first library was established at Timbuctu hundreds of years ago. Go gack. We also had great militate leaders like those who fought against the Dutch in South Africa. Read your history, Read about the Amazons.

@Money Brain,
    Concentrate less on money that the Jews and more on their true history from Biblical times. There was no Israel in Biblical times. The HEBREWS were bond servants (Indentured labourers), that is one of the myths perpetuated and givev credence to justify the establishment of modern Israel,to the disadvantage of the original inhabitants, the Palestinians; the people of Palestine. Go back and read the Bible with understanding;especially Genesis and Exodus. No land was ever “Promised” by God to Israel. If anything was promised it was all in Abraham,’s head

Alvin Cummins

26. @David
    Simple, it was easier for anyone to accumulate wealth in the US than any other country over the past 100+yrs! The next few years and recent past is different.
    The Jews knew/ know they were hated and discriminated against by the Christians of all races therefore “how do we Jews progress”—-EDUCATION!
    Business–$$$$$$$$$$$. Money is POWER! It is true that Jews were always keen on money, that is part of the reason Hitler targeted them—–Remember in Europe hundreds of years ago Christians were like Muslims prevented from lending $$ ie Usery. The word BANK comes from Italian for the Bench that Jews used to sit on to LEND$$$.

Once the Jews gained loads of cash then power was inevitable, especially by controlling the media to some degree. Most Jews are Democrats and certainly voted for BO!

What would we expect of a clever people, supposedly God’s chosen???

27. Alvin, Cummins

I think I have a pretty good grap of African History, taken from the African perspective. Alvin, I know of no Black leader in our present era, who is capable of arousing the collective-conscience of the black masses and inspiring them to accomplish the above mentioned objectives, Moneybrain suggested. The only great African leader that was capable of rallying a great number of people, and inspiring them to acheived a common abjective was the Zulu leader Shakazulu.

28. @Alvin C
    Yes! Hannibal nearly defeated Rome!
    The Zulus were fierce and clever Warriors only undone by far superior weapons as in the machine gun! Technology is a bitch! The Zulus did kick ass before that though!

On Israel, the bottomline is that the powers of 1921, UK, France and Russia decided to encourage Zionism and the return to Palestine! It was the height of stupidity IF preventing War was important BUT that area had been ruled by many foreigners over thousands of years more recently the Ottomans, British and French, so they obviously did not care OR worse yet wanted the Abrahamic people to self destruct!

29. @Moneybrain

Yes they educated themselves but they possess a trait which gave them an advantage.

30. Alvin Cummins

Do you know if the first library in Timbuctu was established under the invading Moroccan Army? Are you aware of the fact the many countries in Northern Africa,( Mauritana, Egypt, Libya, Tunisia etc) do not consider themselves Africans?

31. @David
    True but our mission here should be to influence Black peeps to overcome anything! SUCCESS and only success—-HOW?

Bim used to have an excellent Education system BUT today maybe different at the mid to lower levels. Lodge School is a shadow of its former standard –SAD. Why? Smitty was like Archie and brek it up! I have no idea why?

HC, QC, St Michael’s still doing an acceptable job BUT some could be better—heard stories from reliable sources about certain teachers (one of which went to school with me and knows better, he was very clever at school)

32. @Moneybrain

This is the 64k question, the advantage is that the Jews have had the weight of a race always hunting for opportunities to compare with a disparate Black race. Maybe it is the doctrine of the Bible which motivates them to rally? Who knows, God knows.

33. Moneybrain

I am surely not qualified and probably never will be, to gave a definite answer as to the reason or reason why: the Black race has failed to follow the Jewish example of success, being that we have had a similar history oppression. Now, looking at the skin of the Jew, it is pretty difficult to see any fundamental difference, when compared to the European White. And this is probably one of the reason the Jew has been able to find success so easily, and of course, addition facts and factors contributed to this success.

34. @ Pompey,
    No relation to Your cummins.
    @ Money Brain,
    Alexander the Great was Born in Egypt, certainly not White. His exploits are legendary.
    @Pompey,
    Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Barack Obama {The Audacity of Hope man)?
    and more coming on stream
    Be more optimistic. Impatience is for the youth.

Alvin Cummins.
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL. LOOK WHAERE IT WAS 25 YEARS AGO. IS IT THE SAME? I REMEMBER WHEN THE FIRST SET OF INTERNS CAME TO THE QEH. NOW WE HAVE NOT ONE BUT TWO MEDICAL SCHOOLS.
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL!!!!
    ALVIN CUMMINS

35. @Alvin

Barbados was built on debt financing do you get it? With debt:gdp >100% our time is up. It is why the government has been scaling back on publc expenditure and rolling out fiscal policy to dampen spend because we are not earning our way and consequently a drain n forex. The time is now to deal with the problems of now. Reflecting on the past is simply an exercise in sentimental behaviour.

36. @POMPEY,
    SO WHAT DOES IT MATTER WHETHER OR NOT THEY CONSIDER THEMSELVES BLACK? BLACK IS A COLOUR RELEVANT TO ONLY THOSE WHO CAN SEE. CAN YOU DESCRIBE BLACK ASOPPOSED TO WHITE? STOP FOCUSSING ON COLOUR.
    Focus on success. Failure is only success seeking another path.
    ALVIN CUMMINS.

37. @David,
    What is the U.S National Debt. When last did they raise their debt ceiling?
    The only reason we have to worry is because we are in the wrong markets.with the wrong system. Monuy brain should concur. We should be borrowing money on the sovereign markets, but of course the usurers on wall street would never allow that. /?THey have us in their grip.
    Alvin cummins

38. @ Dompey

The Protocol of the Elders of Zion has long been acknowledged as being anti-Semitic propaganda with not an iota of truth in it.
    The ignorance and blinker vision on this blog has to be read to be believed!

@Alvin Cummins

Alexander the Great was a Macedonian Greek as far as I am aware
    Born in Pella, Greece which unless it has been moved is nowhere near Egypt.
    Unless you know otherwise?

39. @Alvin

Do not post about things you do now know anything about. The USD is a reserve currency which mean printing money or what it euphemistically referred to as quantitative easing is not relevant to Barbados. Already Barbados has a big problem with interest on debt, you can check the central bank reports to confirm.

40. @Alvin
    It may also be that our “leaders” know where to get the BEST PERSONAL COMMISSION!
    Even here in Toronto it is interesting that the Province borrowed $$$ for Power Plants in the US at 14%!!!!! WHY? Prevailing rates should be 5-7% MAX!
    CROOKS EVERYWHERE!

41. @David

“Do not post about things you do not know anything about”

Happens quite a lot on here!!.

42. @Firbear
    Let’s assume Alvin was confusing ATG with Alexandria in Egypt?????

43. @Money Brain

LOL!

44. David…..I am surprised you have not created a thread for this subject. If Burns had known the people he got involved with, when he met Bizzy and the politicians, he should have run in the other direction, for real, just saying.

And before someone tells me that bizzy says he lost millions in redjet too, that happens when you fail to plan, you plan to fail……..no use trying to get your hands on the taxpayer’s dollars after that fiasco.

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.caribbean360.com%2Ftravel%2Ffounder-of-now-defunct-caribbean-discount-airline-redjet-dead-at-58&h=RAQEFwVC_

45. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

if Bajans were constantly bombarded with their history and how they got where they are maybe they would truly appreciate Emancipation Day. look at how the Americans are bombarded with the history of the US, if you check the TV, almost every week, there is some story of the Framers, or the wars etc, and in that the blacks, whites and coloures could find their own history so they will never forget. however, in the caribbean, especially Barbados, it seems that the history of how the white man created some business, how some poor white fought against the odds, how the quakers etc planted the churches etc is professed but the only time the history of Barbados, slavery and the ancestors are talked about is around emancipation day, or heroes day. yes someday the younger generation will not celebrate it at all because those who have the power seem to prefer to forget the past where they originated and want to embrace a white man’s story. History is one of the most important subjects that should be on the curriculum of every primary and secondary school.

46. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

correction, replace with ‘Quakers’ for Methodists’

47. Moneybrain……re jews and money and wealth in the US, good old thievery and scams don’t hurt either, plus they are the slum lords for New York, everyone rents from them, they buy old decrepit buildings from federal programs for as little as one US dollars, turn them into slum dwellings, make quadrillions, also factor in that they do put education first, most of them made sure their children and grand children are lawyers, why? better to circumvent the system and manipulate US laws all the way to congress and the house of representatives, in addition, they (israel) have had a secret pact with the US for decades, very secret, very unbreakable.

48. Smooth……it is bothersome that black African identity is only gushed about on emancipation day in Barbados, seems like lip service only when you think of it, now if they were really serious, they would be printing some books on black history, the real African history so that the majority 95% blacks would become more in touch with their African identity from the womb to the tomb instead of still filling up the heads of the young students with shit making them believe that life as blacks in the Caribbean started in the 14th century with Christopher Columbus and was given to them by the lowlifes in buckingham palace.

There are 80 year olds in Barbados will tell you that their ancestors were not slaves but cannot tell you were they came from, i bet there are also 8 year olds can tell you the same thing because they do not get the information in the schools through education, what is really sickening is that the 80 year olds believe that without England they would not exist, now that is some sick shit.

All the local historians who are talking may mean well, but where are the books teaching the black youth and adults in the Caribbean that their African history is greater than any scam, sham, charade or fraud that was ever or that can ever be dreamed up by the frauds in buckingham palace back in the 14th century or even today. Knowledge is power, those books should be available for reading.

49. Well Well, you’re quite right because this is the same message Errol Barrow tried to instilled in the minds of young Barbadians during the day. He tried to caution us about the invading American culture and its influenced on the minds of the youthat the time, as well as the White man’s interpretation of Black history. Moreover, I have endeavored throughout my life time to study and understand Black History, written from the Black perspective. I have read Sir Arthur Lewis’ as well as Dr. Eric Williams’ book, Capitalism and Slavery and Claudelle Williams’ book Charcoal and Cinnamon; to ascertain a better understanding of Black History, presented from the Black perspective.

50. @Firbear,
    You are right in that Alexander was Macedonia,but went to Egypt when he started his campaigns he established the State of Alexandrta. Apologies…Lapsus lingua.
    @David,
    The US dollar is the reserve currency “Npw” but Golg used tbe the reserve currency,More people are turning away from the dollar. Check changing attitudes even in the OECS, who are suggesting we should trade in our own currency. Heard it last week on regional news.
    Alvin CUMMINS