The following extracted from David Spieler’s Facebook page, he is an environmental activist.

Denis Lowe, Minister of the Environment

Here’s a letter that I sent to Barbados Today. I am publishing it myself, Without Prejudice

Dear Sirs/Mesdames

I write to add comment on the Barbados Today’s editorial of 31 July re Denis Lowe, Solid Waste, and the sending home of the SSA workers:

The management of ‘solid waste/garbage’ in Barbados has become a major embarrassment to the Government of Barbados and a millstone to us. We are now at a stage where we are able to reduce, reuse and recycle 70% of our garbage by sorting it; very happy to say, yet the Government of Barbados has entered into some major contractual agreements necessitating unsustainable finances. Let’s have a look:

1. We now ‘suddenly’ have to pay $120 to SBRC for every ton of anything entering Mangrove Pond, sorted or not; wet or dry, valuable for resale or non-recyclable…under a BOLT agreement, an agreement that is not available for our public scrutiny. Who signed this agreement – for the $120 per ton?
  2. Government have also signed another BOLT for a $300M USD sliding scale cost agreement for a Waste to Energy Plant, a 30 year secret contract. The financial implications are not available to us, it is a confidential document, and this info has been refused to be shared. Say what? Government does secret contract? Yes!
  3. Government have also agreed to build a $25M new SSA building at Vaucluse. We are not privy again. Is it a good thing? Who knows?
  4. After all these 3 things above were contracted and signed the public were then informed that, “Solid Waste has recently become an expensive business”, and we are hereby taxed via a new Solid Waste Tax, a near duplicate of Land Tax, to pay for these things.

Although management of solid waste in Barbados is now more environmentally sustainable (via SBRC) it appears plainly that the politicians have made an absolute garbage of our financial sustainability of solid waste by paying way too much… and they refused to tell us what they were doing! The possibly near break-even business of recycling, or the money generating model of B’s Recycling now costs the tax payer a payment of over $50 Million dollars per year, paid to SBRC.

What are the fiscal implications of the Waste to Energy, second contract? Another $50M subsidy?

The Government has made sustainable recycling into an unsustainable fiscal nightmare based on non-disclosed and ‘badly put together’ contracts. And that’s only the nicest way you can describe it. What a sad day in Barbados. Downgraded, taxed and laid off, spending our years trying to remain afloat, we are now told this area is “recently expensive, and by the way, we don’t have to tell you how this is, or came to be”.  $50M per year is the equivalent of 2,403.84 NCC workers, remunerated at $400 per week!

Suppose we divert solid waste from SBRC, make Greenland our organic composting facility for farming and save us millions while selling at a profit. We save money. Send other recyclables to B’s for export and generate foreign exchange. Refuse to send common easy recyclables to SBRC thus saving millions. We do not need to be paying $120 per ton of coconut shells, wood, branches… water….old cars and fridges, and more. It doesn’t work, this doesn’t make any sense. Agriculture is then buying the stuff back from SBRC. Why isn’t this OUR money? We’re better qualified to pay taxes?

The population voted in the DLP, and on their ticket was a promise that information flow about everything would be legislated. They didn’t keep that promise. And it makes me angry, because in the case of solid waste I have lived close to Mangrove Pond and I have seen this fiasco at Mangrove (and at Greenland) develop at close hand. Secret contracts? No disclosure when asked? I never thought Barbados would be like this- just beyond our imagination.

We should not in this day and age be blindfolded from information and then taxed to pay for we know not what, which is essentially what is happening. One does not pay for something unless one knows what it is! This is not acceptable! Do we live in a democratic state or not?

Bigger picture
The 3 contracts above under the DLP are similar to other ones engaged by the last BLP government, where we were not privy either to any of the contracts to build the ABC highway nor Her Majesty’s Prison at Dodds, and again and again… yet now we have to pay offshore companies for BOLTs. Is this acceptable?

Both governments seem to have engaged companies to provide materials, services and supplies funded by our taxes, but they never request permission scrutiny, nor do they divulge details…until we have to pay!

Now they return and return for more and are getting ready to tax us again and again and again, looking for more ways to raise taxes. The solid waste scenario is therefore only the most recent shining example of what we do not wish our Governments to do – ie unregulated spending with no reportage. By God that’s our money, we should know!!!.

On one hand we have made past pleadings for the DLP government to bring the legislation to free up information, but due to the fact that the Stuart administration has not allowed us to see these recent solid waste contracts it may be logical to deduce that they seem to have no intention of bring forth any information. A slap in Barbados’ face…

Mia Mottley, leader of the BLP Opposition, quietly awaits her coronation. Where do she and the BLP opposition stand on all past present and future contractual agreements for major works and supplies from past, including past BLP governments… and where and where and where are we are going with this if they get elected?

How about?
An open review of every BOLT contract, and all government contracts going back 20 years… and a review of every ongoing contractual agreement Government engages in. To tax us without engaging and INFORMING US what is being done is folly and oppression of Bajans. You cannot gather revenue and then spend it without giving a full accounting. The people see.

Leaders, and potential leaders, are called to provide these answers as of today
If the opposition can lay out to Barbados how government expenditure will be brought in line with taxation (ie take a close examination of expenditure and share with us!) only then will they enjoy my vote, and only then will I happily be able to shoulder my share of this tax burden. Until then I resent it exceedingly.

Why does Prime Minister Stuart refuse to allow or caused sharing of the information regarding his Government’s contracts, after their pledge on his own reported initiative to bring the appropriate legislation? Does he not enjoy leadership of his government, including the Ministry of the Environment?

Why support a change of government to a new leader, ie Mia Mottley, when they quietly just wait, may well just do the same things? Will they not do the same as the last 2?

Demand attention today, Barbados. Make them bring the contracts for us to see, dammit, that’s our money!!!

Happy Emancipation Day, I hope this information does reach as many Bajans as possible.

David Spieler

164 responses to “Solid Waste Management Gives Government a Black Eye”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Prime Minister Stuart, crook, MIA Bigger Crook, Owen Master Crook, Lowe done dirty crook, COW, BIZZY Crooks,

It maybe be hard for some to know and understand , Is this the Best and the brightest we have ? Did they come from UWI? Shit man shut it down,

Waste TAX? nothing more waste-full than the bunch of Over weight nasty Bitches in this government that is there right now.
    This tax is to cover up for land taxes that are not being collected, The balance in a normal tax country is off, With the PONZI , Madoff , Standford Massive fraud going on RIGHT NOW , Out of control that Owen looking to maybe open his own PARTY to fool the people , Well who ever join his will also be seen as crooks.,
    Next election will be the most expense Election in Barbados History with the crooks dumping back in the Money they took over the years to stay out of jail , Name it they did it and will keep doing it until they are removed by any means, They bought votes to hide their crimes against the state and now must pay the pimps who gave them more money than the law allowed .

2. this is what bajans are paying for
    It was the BLP’s choice to waste millions of tax payer dollars in a slew of poorly conceptualized and badly implemented projects such as nearly 300 million dollars in GEMS, 40 million on a dump that never opened, 400 million on a prison, more than 100 million on the infamous Barack building (with 70 million more still owing), 165 million on the ABC highway without even a contract in place, 125 million on the Judicial Centre, etc etc. etc. It was even their choice Sir, to knock down the old Kensington Oval and build a new one at a cost of nearly 150 million dollars and enter into a 99 year lease with the Barbados Cricket Association that would cost the tax payers of Barbados 813 million dollars.
    any suggestions on how these bills must be tackled included is the 40 million dump which never became a reality and sure would have been of some help in decreasing the land tax for the collection of garbage,,,,,,then yuh wonder why barbados in debt,,,guh long do,

3. Life Changer

Your PHD is as good as the educational institution you have attended. Question: why is it that in the modern day classroom, the professor with a PHD much like yours are threatened by the student who knows more than he does? And the student who usually thinks outside box, is always accused by the same professor, of being disrespectful because he corrects the PHD in front of the class often. The obviously speaks to the quality of the educator in the modern day classroom environment.

4. I recall reading that Japan used the end product of incineration to build huge bollards and which are used to reclaim ocean front acreage which is then built on.

5. Life changer + Avatar

@ Dompey.
    Oxford was my institution.
    And as you being a wise man should know about one up man ship- my black cat is blacker than yours with youths.
    If someone in a class has an opinion on a general subject, it’s purely a burden of proof.
    It would seem to me that I have never met a Bajan that couldn’t do a job or know’s someone who can or has.
    Where I come from the arrogant never admit they just don’t know, and ask.
    I suppose you are right about a lot of your comments, but life’s about choices we make or the effect of the choices we don’t. I am very lucky to have had the choices made for me. As a senior search engine analyst for Google for 15 years and working in a few countries, lets just say some people are a bit more qualified in algorithm use than troll blogger….

6. Life changer + Avatar

@ Dopey sorry Dompey.
    So as you don’t have to ask Google –
    Defiinition of a Bajan Blog Troll-A depraved individual who sits in front of a computer all day and posts flames of an idiotic or pseudo-intellectual nature on public forums and private websites. Many of these Bajan people actually become emotional about what is said on the afore-said mediums and feel it is their duty to punish those who disagree with them. They too may pursue this object in an obsessive-compulsive manner.
    Goddamnit! – Blog Trolls are such fucktards! Don’t they have anything better to do other than posting stupid bullshit on the forums. Find a rum shop and chill…

7. Life changer

If what you’re saying is true, then I am humble to be in presences of a man who has attended a school of national reputation. There are those folks in Barbados, who have attended Harrison College and the likes ( Georgie Porgie comes to mind) and think that they’re a cut above the rest of us.

8. over the past twelve years or so Barbadians have witnessed an almost doubling of the volumes of solid waste which the society has produced for treatment and disposal by the Sanitation Services Authority. To be sure available data from the Ministry of the Environment indicates that between 2002 and 2011 the following average annual amounts were handed by the SSA at varying sites:
    Construction and Demolition: 572,925 Cubic Meters

Lonesome Hill 15,387,422 Gallons

Bagatelle 119,079 Loads
    Asbestos Site 952 Loads
    Mangrove Pond Landfill 2,573,317 Tons

However while this service has become critical to continuing to operate sanitary landfills or disposal sites, it has pushed up the transfer cost to the SSA by nearly 30 million dollars per year. in 2008 the current transfer from the Government to the SSA was around 32 million dollars. By 2010 it had reached near 62 million dollars.

how many bajans who dare marched in the hot sun following the pied piper MIA mottley,,,,ventured to look up the facts and reasons for having to pay for waste disposal, i bet dollars for donuts NOT ONE,,, Yet u have the proverbial diarrhea of the mouth yardfowls clinging to the same ole misinformation and halftruths for instant relief..jokers…

9. @ Dompey.
    Re: College degree and lack of common sense from Gorgie PORGIE.
    I think that it isn’t so much that they lack common sense, as much as it is that when they make a mistake, and everyone does, all the time, intelligent people make it seem more glaring.

Some of it might be a lack of common knowledge. They filled their heads with specialized information for so long and all that.
    ” I think a lot of it however is that people with inferior mental skills will fixate on the perceived flaws of the hyper intelligent.” who get telephone number salaries.
    This makes small things seem huge to them, and they keep going over it, retelling the stories and so on, instead of barely noticing the behavior in question, which should be the common response.
    Smart people know not to drive on the sidewalk and that juggling knives is a bad idea, but they might fall for a scam “girlfriend” online, being lonely and as desperate as everyone else. You are not supposed to realise any of the Governments mistakes in Barbados.

If a dumb person or government official made financial management mistakes and kept borrowing to keep up, people would snicker and move on. A genius doing the same thing makes national news for bloggers, as if any of unqualified people could run the country.
    The only things you can count on are death taxes and change, because everything changes…
    GOOD LUCK PLANTATION DEEDS.

10. Very informative, succinct article!!!

11. Oh dear…….

Life Changer says he’s got a big head and went to the home of lost causes…..David inveighs against racism on blogs…….who’s trying to impress whom?

Thank God for Dompey.

12. A certain future coalitional regime of Barbados and of which the PDC will be a part shall ABOLISH Taxation in this country and shall replace it with the appropriate fiscal financial corporate strategies and programs for the government fairly properly coming by more of its own remunerations, and for the government fairly properly accessing more money – from out of the core financial system – to be used in various commercial contexts.

13. But if wunna don’t want to pay to keep the environment healthy and to prevent burdening and annoying health issues that could arrive from living in an unhealthy environment due to prolonged standing garbage ,,their is always the PDC,,,,,who is adamant,,that taxes are unnecessary ,,,,but live as WE now know it can still be sustained,,,, Cheers to the Good life PDC STYLE,,,,,

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

You accuse one dirty sewer rat to justify the gutter doings of another sewer rat. None of these rats give a rats ass about solid waste hence they approach it in the most tentative of ways. Its the same with the health care. None give a shit about what was happening with health care in Barbados. Now that the shit hit the fan a myriad of excuses have come forth. for its poor showing in recent years.

This ku klux klan of a government operates in surreptitious waves. All these deals are meant for a purpose but its not the purpose we expect it to be. Thieving ass Dennis Lowe is bent come hell or highway on making a good piece of money from all of this. Yet you talk cunt about taxes. Taxes that resulted from shitety policies from this government. I cant wait to sue their asses re the taxes my family paying. YOu wait till the smoke settle. Fire will light their asses if there do not play their cards right with this garbage/land tax.

15. 2.Government have also signed another BOLT for a $300M USD sliding scale cost agreement for a Waste to Energy Plant, a 30 year secret contract. The financial implications are not available to us, it is a confidential document, and this info has been refused to be shared. Say what? Government does secret contract? Yes!”

This is abhorrent. Secret contract? Who gets what funds?????

Lol…. Government of the people, joke!

Errol Walton Barrow would be ashamed of this LOT!

ps -in a short while the DLP member and likely represtative writing under the pseudo ‘ac’ will be on here to defend the indefensible….

Blah, blah, blah…..

16. @You must be joking, David Speiler is a fellow director of rhe Future Centre Trust who cares about Integrity, Transparency, and Accountabilty in Barbados.

David Speiler a Bajan seeks answers on a highly suspicious capital project with massive financial and environmental implications while you respond with a racist rant.

Your racial rant has insulted the efforts of Errol Barrow, Grantley Adams, Owen T Allder, Clement Payne and the DLP as well as all those who fought for a racially inclusive Barbados. Shameful!

Time is longer than twine as you continue to use your anonymity to encourage hate. I will also draw this to the attention of the General Secretary of the DLP who believes in conversation over confrontation.

17. Robert Bobby Clarke Avatar
    Robert Bobby Clarke

TO; David Speiler, WELL WELL. DAVID, LIFE CHANGER, KENDRICK MARSHALL, HAMILTON A HILL, SIMPLE SIMON, MARK ROMAR, ROBERT ROSS AND OTHERS OF A SIMILAR VIEW.. MAKE YOUR PLACARDS WITH YOUR CONCERNS AND SHOW YOUR STRENGTH BY JOINING THE NEXT MARCH ON AUGUST 9TH AUGUST FROM INDEPENDENCE SQUARE,,
    THE COUNTRY IS OURS TO SAVE..THE GOVERNMENT’S POLICY IS DEVOID OF YHE MAIN PROBLEMS AND SO THEY TAX YO COVER THEIR IINABILITY TO THINK OUTSIDE OF THEIR BRITISH INHERITED SYSTEM…TAX..TAX..TAX THE MAJOR PROBLEMS ARE.
    1,,THE LACK OF AN AGRICULTURAL POLICY TO FEED OURSELVES AND SO STOP THE EXPORT OF OVER 750,000.00 DOLLARS IN HARD CURRENCY AND
    2,..THE EXPORT OF NEARLY A MILLION DOLLARS IN THE IMPORT OVF ENERGY..
    3..WE HAVE THE MEANS TO SATISFY OUR POWER NEEDS WITH SOLAR AND WIND..
    BOBBY

18. @ Kammie Holder
    @You Must Be Joking
    You should be careful that your closeness to these people doesn’t colour your view of the world. And though the environment is very important it cannot be the god of all issues. Don’t you see some contradictions between your desire to protect the environment and your associations with those who may be doing the very opposite elsewhere? In Palestine? As far as we see ‘You Must Be Joking’ was more talking about religion than race. About politics, not party politics, more than race. Kammie your slip is showing when you, like a dutiful dog, bark when you are expected to, in defense of massa. Why could your special friend not come and do his own dirty work. We wonder if the reverse were true whether this colourless mindset would have risen in your defense as well?

19. ac | August 2, 2014 at 7:10 PM |

I agree with the argument that the BLP was, in certain situations, involved “in a slew of poorly conceptualized and badly implemented projects”. However, I fail to see how any sane person can view investing in a modern prison, judicial centre and Kensington Oval as a waste of “tax payer dollars”.

You stated “then yuh wonder why barbados in debt”. When you did the usual DLP “research” into the “wastage and squandermania” of the BLP, I hope you took into consideration the fact that the DLP incurred more debt in 6 years than the BLP did in 14 years. But we know that you would obviously over look that little detail, because it does not fit into the usual party political rhetorical diatribe that the DLP and its supporters are famous for.
    If we were to examine debt carefully, it can be itemized into two categories……. (1) debt for productive or investment purposes, and (2) debt for consumption purposes.
    During this administration’s term in office, they have borrowed funds to finance unproductive ventures and statutory corporations for the interest of the DLP, as well as for consumption purposes. They have concentrated mainly on building “vote catching” capacity and electioneering. These misguided policies have caused Barbados to suffer numerous economic downgrades, which has increased interest expense on current loans, while decreasing the prospect of obtaining new loans.
    Essentially, if you are saying the projects you identified are solely responsible for in the increase in the island’s debt levels, then you are suggesting that this administration is borrowing money to repay loans. There is no evidence to suggest the government has consolidated the debt and borrowed the requisite funds to make one monthly or annual payment.
    The repayment of current loans [long term liabilities] would have been accounted for and included in the preparation of the annual estimates of revenue and expenditure.

20. Interesting to read in todays press that Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley is all for peaceful protest which one must assume includes the right for Barbadians to walk. His position flies in the face of the opposite position espouse by Minister of Labour.

21. @David Speiler and His ILK.
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL. BARBADIANS ARE SUCCESSFUL.
    First of all, copies of Barbados’ Revenue and Expenditure and all notes attached thereto are available for purchase from the government printing office. All acts bills and debates confirmed in the Official Gazette are also available from the same source. Have you ever read The Official Gazette?That is a source for obtaining the information you seek. Have you ever read Hansard? Do you know what it is?Do you read or depend only on hearsay? Go back in your archives and see the arrangements that were made with BLP and the building of the Sorting facility with Bizzy,and check out those contracts, Check out the invitations to Tender. Did you even see them?or the charges that were imposed.Which private investors disclose intimate details of their contracts either with each other or governments for public scrutiny before all the i’s are dotted etc. Did Sir Allan Fields disclose details when he sold BS&T?
    Solid Waste disposal and waste to energy are big business now, and the plans to generate electricity to feed into the national grid is ongoing all over the world :check David Suzuki and Plasma generation plants in Vancouver and Nova Scotia.
    Stop trying to criticize things about which you know little. People like you want to keep us down. CAN’T HAPPEN.
    Barbados is successful, and will continue to be.

22. @David (Speiler)
    Are you the blog-master? Is this why things critical of Israel an the Jewa(and you) are not posted? But the truth is out there and cannot be hidden.
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL.BARBADIANS ARE SUCCESSFUL NEGATIVITY WILL NOT KEEP US BACK

23. @Alvin

Questions are being asked about the guarantees included in the MOU with Cahill Barbados which are NOT included in the Official Gazette.

24. @David,
    Questions asked by whom?
    Were they debated in the house?
    BARBADOS IS SUCCESSFUL!!!

25. @Alvin

An MOU was signed and the public wants a level of transparency which was promised by this government. What debated in the house what!?!. Barbadians have been promised integrity legislation and we are waiting 6 years hence. Take off your blinkers and exercise the right as a citizen in a democracy to ask questions. You can walk the road alone by placing blind trust in men. What has asking for transparency got to do with Barbados being successful?

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Every deal conceptualise by these two parties are intended to put millions of dollars of tax payers money into the pockets of party politicos and their loyal lackies. No public disclosure will never be forth coming where benefits are derived at the personal level. For all of Barbados so call development it has made a hash of solid waste. It has chosen to ignore solid waste for tourism not realising that tourist generate garbage too. It has made strives with liquid waste but even that creates a stench from time to time because management and maintenance systems in Barbados is nothing short of poor rakey

There are so many models used by different countries with various approaches to the solid waste issue that has proven effective, (Germany for example) yet this government choose the one that seems to be the best for pumping millions into the pockets of a few which this crooked government knows it will benefit from.

Without any proper disclosure concerning the facts of these deals and projects and knowing that this government tell lies, how I can believe that these deals are in the best interest of average Barbadians. How do I know that this current approach is the best approach after evaluation of other approaches. How do I know that other approaches have been considered. The government does not generate its own revenue to people does by way of taxes. Thus the taxes that pay for these things should have full disclosure on how the money is spent. Crooks keep secrets and crooks makes deals.

27. David August 3, 2014 at 10:31 AM “His position flies in the face of the opposite position espouse by Minister of Labour.”

Do we have any evidence that the Minister of Labour has studied any history since she was 12 or 13 years old?

Stupssseee!!!!

28. @ All posting Bajans
    Stand out from the crowd.
    “Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma – which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”

29. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

The same storm in a teapot as was whipped up over the advent of Sandals coming to Barbados to invest their hundreds of millions, having bought two properties here on the island already, a lot of which would not have developed were the govtvout there shouting it from every roof top singing it to the world, the business world does not apply this guys style of doing business, the serious businesses like Cahill and Sandals do business with trustworthy and confidential governments and let the results speak for themselves, see the Sandals positives and also let me say government does not need to seek the advice of this Jewish guy as both the government and the investors are both well equipped with their teams of PROFESSIONAL AND TRAINED ADVISORS IN THEIR FIELDS OF SPECIALITY. and trust me they know what they speak about and nor do they come to the table with nonsense arguments such as this Jewish guy is doing, they are trained and highly educated professionals working for both the government and Cahill for a successful outcome.
    Yes I am still waiting for the halting of these acts of vicious vipe hostilities been carried out by Israel killing innocent women and children by the hundreds each and every day.

30. @You must be joking

Do you mean the same property the minister of tourism was adamant the government would secure for Barbadians because it was the only valuable real estate on the West coast?

31. And NO we do not want to trust you. We want the damn minister of the environment to report to the people who elected him to serve them.

32. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

LOL, yep secure for Barbadians as a hotel resort David it was the intention to purchase the property so that a private owner did not come along and buy the property and build a villa for his or her own use. So said so done, it is a 350 bed hotel complex coming.

33. @ The Joker.
    Sounds like a lot of you are referring to a form of Slavery – or a system under which people are treated as property to be bought and sold into political office People are forced to work harder for less or have nothing
    In the dwindling job market. You can even be deprived against your will from time to time of your wages from employment, and deprived of the right to have transparency to see who is really causing problems behind things and to demand your compensation without the fear of being robbed by attorneys and no timley justice for unjust enrichment of these legislators.

34. Life changer + Avatar

With possible privatisation expanding in a waste management system as in most other sectors formerly dominated by public institutions, the constellations in Barbados waste management system might change depending on the future development of legislation.
    This would put more people in work and more money in our economy.

35. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

Changer and it would also go to follow that in private ownership as good asthat may sound also puts the cost of services out of control of the government and puts Barbadians at the mercy of the Bridgetown or Warrens or Port Of Spain Board Rooms and we all know how that goes.

36. Talk whatever the shiite wunna like…..
    ….any kind of election called now, and (apart from ac and Alvin Cummins), not a boy voting for any jackass with a “D” on his back….

Bushie never thought that any set of people could be so “IDIOT” as we are seeing with this lot of DLP brass bowls – in respect of this whole solid waste and Shiite tax business….
    …these Shiites are even worse that the BLP ones that we went to great lengths to vote out last two elections….

Hopefully, the Trickidadians will complete their mission of conquest soon – since their Prime Minister seem to have more balls than the sleeper we have been saddled with….and will lock up, or at least dismiss, some of the damn crooks.

37. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Tea Bush

You ever wonder why all of a sudden so much focus on solid waste management?. All of a sudden its the number one priority. Well its up to stupid ass bajans to sit back pun their royals and don’t ask for full disclosure concerning the deals. Since Dennis Lowe is fully contaminated I would think any person with an ounce of commonsense would be suspicious.

38. @You must be joking me
    “……..the serious businesses like Cahill and Sandals do business with trustworthy and confidential governments……”

We know that Sandals is a serious and established business. Please tell us more about Cahill and its track record. When was it established? What other Plasma gasification projects, or any project for that matter, that it has been involved in?

39. @ SSS
    You ever wonder why all of a sudden so much focus on solid waste management?
    NO.
    Bushie don’t waste time wondering about OBVIOUS things….this is how brass bowls operate.

You would think that after the BLP’s Greenland experience
    – after the pulverization plant scam (Miller would understand..)
    – after the Desalination Plant scam
    – after Bizzy’s 3S caper

…that this government would ENSURE that all was above board with any such project…
    LOL and Behold….these morons seem to be trying to set new records in crookery….it HAS to be the public servants behind this lotta shiite….. THEY are the common factors in these scams…and no politicians could be SO stupid….

40. @Tea Bush

Many of the PSs have little regard for the ministers, a few have rushed to retirement with glee.

41. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

The same condition that Trinidad faced with the senior civil service being politically aligned after 30 years of PNM rule under Dr Eric Williams it is the same in Barbados after 14 years of the BLP.
    If you do not think some of them that have gone are happy to go I can assure you that the various ministers of government are even happier with their departure, only then can the productive work of those ministers take shape, I can think of one Capt Randolph Straughn who is unable to travel to the USA but being such a BLP lout that caused another PS to cuss him for not working and hiding files as was reported in a speech given by PS Browne, so David you will agree even some from within the same civil service found these same work colleagues as time wasters and it is good that they make space for enthusiastic workers to move up the ranks of the civil service.

42. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

ac | August 2, 2014 at 7:10 PM |@
    150Million not 125 for the Bull shit fraud court and the cost of the land at 80 Million unpaid for ,
    The Oval on the same deed to Beatrice Henry to Violet Beckles still not paid for ,
    The bill is much more than that,
    Gems of Barbados , look to see who got the money , Was it MIA ???
    High court land lease to Sir Cheltenham , land he dont own and told Violet Beckles he cant find the deeds?
    Prison was this Owen and the BLP?
    Barack 70Million and not the cost of the land Sir COW?
    lease to who , need to lease to the owner PONZI least , crooks lease to crook self.. Please is you can cant smell RATS.
    AC We even voted for your post , Now to see who gets the money for what they dont own BLP set up self for funds, They will live in the same jail real soon,

43. @You must be joking me

Agree with you that some of public servants operate with a mindset which adds little value to what is needed today but to continue the process by appointing equally inept persons or puppets of the political directorate does nothing to alleviate the problem.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

You must be joking me | August 3, 2014 at 4:14 PM |
    THE BEHAVIOR YOU DESCRIBE IS WELL EXEMPLIFIED IN THE BRITISH COMEDY “MR MINISTER”

THE SAD TRUTH IS THAT THE BEHAVIOR DEMONSTRATED BY THE SENIOR CIVIL SERVANT ON THAT PROGRAMME IS REAL AND NOT FUNNY AT ALL

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Bush Tea | August 3, 2014 at 3:17 PM |
    @ SSS
    You ever wonder why all of a sudden so much focus on solid waste management?
    NO.
    Bushie don’t waste time wondering about OBVIOUS things….this is how brass bowls operate.
    oNE WONDERS HOW IS IT THAT YOU KNOW SO MUCH ABOUT BRASS BOWLS.
    THE ANSWER IS CLEAR– YOU ARE A BIG ONE.

WHAT HAVE YOU CONTRIBUTED FOR THE BETTERMENT OF BARBADOS SIR? BESIDES YOUR MORONIC MOUTHINGS ON BU?

WHAT PLANS OR IDEAS HAVE YOUR BETZPAENIC BRAIN CONJOURED UP EXCEPT YOUR INCESSANT MORONIC MOUTHINGS
    WHAT CAN YOU DO EXCEPT TALK SHITE?

WHY DONT YOU JUST GO AND TALK INTO HOAD’S BIODIGESTER OR INTO A HOLE AND TURN THE SHIT YOU TALK INTO COMPOST?.
    DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA WHAT YOUR BULLSHIT AKA SOLID WASTE COULD DO TO HELP OUR AILING ECONOMY MY DEAR FRIEND?

46. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

I totally argee but they are some sharp young ones being given opportunities let’s hope they use it well.

47. You must be joking me Avatar
    You must be joking me

Gaza Live Blog: Members of ‘Jews United Against Zionism’ join thousands of demonstrators to protest Israel’s offensive in Gaza, outside the White House on Saturday. The death toll in Gaza has now reached 1,712, 398 of them children. [EPA]http://aje.me/XtHoeS

48. @ David
    Many of the PSs have little regard for the ministers, a few have rushed to retirement with glee.
    Don’t you think that a true public servant at the level of PS would do more than just walk away from such political treason on the part of some of these politicians?
    Don’t you think that a solid commitment to COUNTRY would see some of them speaking out and outing some of the nonsense that we are only now beginning to expose through the diligence of you and such bloggers as DD and others…?
    The silence of so many WHO MUST KNOW THE FACTS is very worrying……

49. @Bush Tea

Dr. George Reid et al can be found on FB posting comments and often times require tremendous comprehension skills to translate.

50. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Don’t you think that a solid commitment to COUNTRY would see some of them speaking out and outing some of the nonsense that we are only now beginning to expose through the diligence of you and such bloggers as DD and others…?
    The silence of so many WHO MUST KNOW THE FACTS is very worrying……

NO BUSH TEA THEY ARE AFRAID OF BULLIES LIKE YOU
    ITS FAR BETTER I LEARNED LATE IN LIFE TO KEEP QUIET AND COLLECT YOUR PAY

HOW AND WHEN HAVE YOU SPOKEN OUT?
    WHAT HAS BEEN YOUR SOLID COMMITMENT TO COUNTRY?TALKING SHITE PUN BU BOUT BRASS BOWLS?

DONT YOU KNOW A LOT BOUT EVA TING? BUT BULLIES LIKE YOU ARE USUALLY COWARDS JUST WAITING TO BE OUTED

BRING YOUR WHACKER MAN