406 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World”

1. ”Well if Bushie had created a virus to “control” certain undesirables, one should expect that the bushman would ALSO have prepared an antidote in case an unfortunate “desirable” was infected….especially if that “desirable” was a front line agent in the scheme….
    After successful field tests of the antidote one would expect that some tests need to be done in the “home” environment -just in case……”

Bushie I’m tired saying how bright you are. During the 1990’s the MOSSAD poisoned Khaled Mashal in Dubai, we think, and the UAE government made the Israelis deliver the antidote in exchange for the return of the agents that poisoned Mashal. This is standard practice in the biological warfare, and that is what this is, trade.

You are too knowledgeable for these minions.

2. PATCHY YOU ALSO DONT UNDERSTAND ANY VIROLOGY
    BUSH TEA IS NOT ANY MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE THAN ANY BODY
    YOU ARE MIXING APPLES WID ONIONS

CHEMICALS AND VIRUSES ARE TWO DIFFERENT THINGS
    YOU GETTING INTO PHARMACOLOGY NOW AND AGAIN YOUARE OUT OF YOUR LEAGUE.

GO AND DiG SOME TUNNELS MAN!

ham-ass needs you
    this is bare sport man

3. @GP
    Yes GP you are right but we were talking in common use language. But yes, a biological agent is much different to a virus.

4. thats right patchy with biological agents you can BE SUCCESSFUL IF YOU block only a few receptor sites really
    and usually you try to use an agent that binds tightly to the receptor site and that has to be replaced rather than just kick out the agonist

an antidote or antagonist is much easier to synthesize
    VIRUSES ARE BAD BEHAVED REBELS AND CAN GO AWRY AT ANY OF THE SEVEN STEPS I MENTIONED ABOVE
    VIROLOGY IS NOT EASY AT ALL BECAUSE OF THE AMAZING COMPLEXITY OF VIRUSES

5. @BushTea
    I am not in the habit of engaging in a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. Your response consists of stringing together words to support a dubious hypothesis and consist of “what if” scenarios. In other words you are talking shite as usual, but I suppose GP got you concussed from those zingers that he has tossed your way.

BTW I notice how you frame your thinking as complex on this page and intellectual on others, someone should tell the Emperor that he is naked.

6. Sargeant | August 4, 2014 at 12:12 PM |
    SIR SARGE SIR! HAVE TO ADDRESS YOU BY YOUR RANK SIR
    I THOUGHT YOU BOWLED OFF BREAKSI DIDNT KNOW YOU HAVE THE CAROM BALL AND THE DOSRA TOO. MURDER

IT IS TIME BLOGGERS ON BU EXPOSE THE JACKASS FOR HIS PERENNIAL BULL SHITTING .

LET HIM CONTRADICT ME TODAY OR AGAIN

7. BUSHTEA
    IT SEEMS THAT YOUR WHACKER NEEDS NEW “BUSHINGS” ah lie?

8. Interesting ..but not surprising to hear of a serum used to save the missionaries lives which goes to the heart of my argument .stating..that an agressive method of saving lives was needed in africa..be that as it may the handiwork of nature forces delivered a pre empted strike . one which undoubtly would go further in saving the lives of the poor black africans who have indeed suffered in silence for more than thirty years. Now all u jac..asses go figure..as for the conspiracy theory .which others stated was a part of my comments..ac takes such in stride mindful of the fact that there are always those who would find ways to grind opinions to a halt when all else fails ..i stand by every word i say having no regrets..my hands are folded..

9. @Tvirus |August 3, 2014 at 10:27 PM “Modern Black people evolved in Africa about 400,000 years ago, and have lived there ever since. Yet AIDS only shows up 55 years ago in the Congo (1959), and Ebola shows up 38 years ago (1976), also in the Congo. Where was these virus diseases in the first 399,950 years of modern mans existence in Africa?”

Dear Tvirus:

1. 400,000 years ago there were only black/African people in the world.
    2. All other people in the world came from these people.

3. Human beings have only learned to read and write about 10,000 years ago.

4. If Ebola or another similar disease had occured 400,000 years ago or even 20,000 years ago and somebody had done a write-up (but since nobody could read and write there was no write up) do you think that anybody now living could decipher what would have been written?

5. Do you know that there are languages less that 10,000 years old and nobody knows how to read those languages?

6. Do you know that languages are always being born, and always dying?

So yes we lose a lot of human history, because there is nobody to tell us that history. Some stories are never told, some are told in languages that we no longer understand.

10. @ Panchamama
    It takes all kinds to make our world what it is….and we all serve our purposes. Most don’t appreciate the level and complexity of evil that permeates high levels of our societies and so must be forgiven for their ignorance.
    Unfortunately, it seems that basic reading, and understanding what was said, can also be a challenge for some…..but it is as it is 🙂
    ….after all…not everyone is called to reason why…
    ….some are meant just to do and die…

11. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

bush tea boy
    RE It takes all kinds to make our world what it is….and we all serve our purposes. YES RIGHT NOW YOUR PURPOSE IS TO BE BUSHWACKED AND TO HAVE ALL THE BUSHINGS IN YOUR WHACKER MASHED UP

YOU GOT THE SHOCK OF YOUR LIFE YOU THOUGHT THAT GP WOULD BACK DOWNAND SULK AWAY FOR A YEAR. BUT YA LIE THIS TIME

RE Most don’t appreciate the level and complexity of evil that permeates high levels of our societies and so must be forgiven for their ignorance.
    IT TOOK ME TIME TO APPRECIATE THAT YOU ARE ASEMI ILITERATE DEVI L WHO WOULD HAVE FOLK THING THAT YOU KNOW EVATING BOUT EVATING BUT YOU KNOW NOTHING

THE TOPIC ON THIS THREAD IS VIRUSES
    CAN YOU SHED SOME LIGHT? OR JUST ONLY TALK SHITE AND BRIMBLE AS USUAL

RE Unfortunately, it seems that basic reading, and understanding what was said, can also be a challenge for some…..but it is as it is

NO MR TURNED OVER TOPSY, SARGEANT AND OTHERS CAN READ AND UNDERSTAND TOO. YOU HAVE NO MONOPOLY ON READING AND UNDERSTANDING. YOUR ONLY MONOPOLY IS TALKING BOUT BRASS BOWLS.

YOU PUT IN SHITE AND SHITE CAME OUT AND YOU GOT WHIPPED AND EXPOSED AS THE BRIMBLING BUMBLING BRASS BOWL THAT YOU ARE.

GET THE BUSHINGS IN YOUR WHACKER FIXED AND BRING IT. YOU THOUGHT I WAS FRAID FOR YOU YOU MISTOOK MEEKNESS FOR WEAKNESS.

RE after all…not everyone is called to reason why…
    ….some are meant just to do and die…
    MORE BULL SHIT.
    IT IS APPOINTED TO MAN ONCE TO DIE
    THE SOUL THAT SINNETH IT SHALL DIE

ALL SHOULD REASON WHY
    YOU CANT DEFEND YOURSELF WITH YOUR SILLY STUPID DAILY DRIVEL DROPPINGS

YOU HAVE BEEN AMBUSHED AND BUSHWHACKED
    NOW GET GET A BUSH BATH AND WASH THE SHIT OF YOURSELF
    WHERE IS THE MOWER AND BUSH WHACKER NOW MAN?

12. BU stands by our inquiry about a ‘secret serum’ which has been administered to two White doctors confirmed to have contracted Ebola. Why there was no decision taken to give to a few Black Ebola volunteers.

CNN: Secret serum likely saved two Americans infected with Ebola

13. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

HAS IT OCCURrED TO YOU THAT THIS COMPANY WAS PROBABLY WORKING ON AN ORPHAN DRUG WHICH HAS NOT GONE THROUGH THE SEVERAL STAGES OF DEVELOPMENT OF A DRUG. as yet? hence —“SECRET SERUM”

THERE IS NO MYSTERY HERE.
    THIS IS THE NORMAL WAY DRUGS ARE DEVELOPED

sorry you wont be expected to know these things, but these things can be known without academic trophies Sir
    I AWAIT THE VARIOUS STUPID RESPONSES FROM THE ILLITERATES ON BU NOW

should be great fun

14. Again BU notes the following how the experimental drug was made available to the two American doctors extracted from the FOX report above:

The process by which the medication was made available to Brantly and Writebol is highly unusual.

It may have fallen under the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s “compassionate use” regulation, which allows access to investigational drugs outside clinical trials.

Getting approval for compassionate use is often long and laborious but in the case of Brantly and Writebol, they received the medication within seven to 10 days of their exposure to the Ebola virus.

On July 30, the Defense Threat Reduction Agency, an arm of the military responsible for any chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear and high-yield explosive threats, allotted additional funding to MAPP Biopharmaceutical due to “promising results.”

15. Those of you who have to fly over the pond any time soon please note and God bless:

Don’t drink the water: From Ebola to insect bites, how to dodge the dangers that will wreck your break

• A guide on how to avoid getting seriously ill on your holiday abroad
    • Professor Larry Goodyer explains how to avoid exposure to risks

By Professor Larry Goodyer

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2714081/Dont-drink-water-From-ebola-insect-bites-dodge-dangers-wreck-break.html#ixzz39RxLgXBa

16. @ David
    Of course you would know that this is just a happy coincidence that this ‘new’ serum just happens to be available at the exact time needed for these two…..and could be approved for use, packed, shipped and delivered to Liberia in a matter of days….
    …then again, what kind of world would we have if most people refused to believe what they are told by authorities…. 🙂

…as for Bushie and his household….
    Coincidence shiite ….Ha ha Ha Ha

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Orphan Drugs
    Drugs for rare diseases—so-called orphan drugs— can be difficult to research, develop, and market. Proof of drug safety and efficacy in small populations must be established, but doing so effectively is a complex process. For example, clinical testing of drugs in children is severely restricted, even for common diseases, and a number of rare diseases affect the very young.

Furthermore, because basic research in the pathophysiology and mechanisms of rare diseases tends to receive little attention or funding in both academic and industrial settings, recognized rational targets for drug action may be relatively few.

In addition, the cost of developing a drug can greatly influence decisions and priorities when the target population is relatively small.

Orphan Drugs are thus drugs that are effective for certain illnesses but for some reason are not profitable for manufacturers to produce.

18. To reinforce concerns posted by some on BU, others around the world are asking the same questions. It is normal to ask questions when is comes to Big Pharma and manufacturing drugs. Here is a snippet the result of Google that is of interest:

Patrick Sawyer, a Liberian employee of the government, died in Lagos after flying from Liberia – en route to the US. On Monday it was announced that his doctor had fallen ill.
    “As of today, one of the doctors that treated the late Mr Sawyer has tested positive for the Ebola virus,” said Onyebuchi Chukwu, from the Nigerian health ministry. Of 70 people who were under surveillance, eight had been “quarantined at an isolation ward provided by the Lagos state government,” he added.
    The news comes after health workers said drugs that could fight Ebola are not particularly complicated but pharmaceutical firms see no economic reason to invest in making them because the virus’ few victims are poor Africans.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/11010893/Secret-serum-could-save-American-Ebola-victims-as-second-man-in-Lagos-falls-ill.html

19. Now that the BU household has been infected by a Google rush here is what a leading UK public health official had to say and quotes in a prominent UK daily. We note he is a doctor and presumably seized with knowledge in the medical science.

If Ebola was in the UK we’d cure it, says leading doctor
    A leading British public health doctor says western drug companies have no reason to cure the deadly Ebola virus because it mostly affects “powerless minority groups”

20. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

here the jackass bray again in his ignorance as he pretends to KNOW EVATING BOUT EVATING

many drugs are in different stages of development daily, perennially

many of them are discarded for one reason or other

it is not unreasonable for a serum being used in the search for a disease to be available

this is quite normal

what is serum jackass? blood centrifuged from patients

why do you think the preparation was available only as a serum fool

21. A followup comment of interest for Telegraph artcile posted above:

But while his comments are perhaps the strongest intervention on the topic so far by a medical professional in the stalled Ebola market, they are by no means the first.
    Last week Dr Daniel Bausch, an Ebola specialist at Tulane University in New Orleans, told the US website Vox that there had been “significant developments” in fighting the disease but that “economics” stood in the way.

He said: “These outbreaks affect the poorest communities on the planet. Although they do create incredible upheaval, they are relatively rare events. So if you look at the interest of pharmaceutical companies, there is not huge enthusiasm.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/11010135/If-Ebola-was-in-the-UK-wed-cure-it-says-leading-doctor.html

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

western drug companies have no reason to cure the deadly Ebola virus because it mostly affects “powerless minority groups” AND IT IS VERY EXPENSIVE TO DEVELOP ORPHAN DRUGS

PHARMACOLOGICAL TEND TO MAKE DRUGS THAT THEY THINK WILL BE PROFITABLE TO THEM

some firms do make orphan drugs

23. BU admits we don’t know evating bout anything but here is what we know. Professionals in the medical arena have concerns about how Ebola is and has been managed since manifesting in Africa 4 decades ago. Maybe some of us become plugged into conspiracy positions – so what? It is a normal human condition to become emotional when human suffering raises its head and the only goddamn reason is because of money and greed. BU is NOT a university forum, we are mainly a group of regular Joes and Janes clashing heads about this and that, it is NOT a place for the thin-skinned and that is for sure. BU will continue to exercise our judgement to maintain a forum where ALL are bloody welcome.

24. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

aint it amazing that poor liitle GP saying the same as the LEADING DOCTORS THAT THESE ILITERATES GOOGLING UP.

BUT THE JACKASS SAID GP DOES GOOGLE HIS PPTS

BARE MOCKS PORT IN THE RUM SHOP
    ITS REAL KNOWLEDGE DAVID NOT ACADEMIC TROPHIES LOL

25. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

David | August 4, 2014 at 2:56 PM |
    BU admits we don’t know evating bout anything
    THAT IS VERY OBVIOUS SIR THAT ACCOLADE BELONGS ONLY TO BUSHTEA

but here is what we know. Professionals in the medical arena have concerns about how Ebola is and has been managed since manifesting in Africa 4 decades ago. Maybe some of us become plugged into conspiracy positions – so what? It is a normal human condition to become emotional when human suffering raises its head and the only goddamn reason is because of money and greed.

THATS SAD
    BUT MUCH OF THE TIME THERE IS NO CONSPIRACY GOING ON
    MANY SCIENTISTS WHO ARE VERY POORLY PAID WORK ON DRUG DEVELOPMENT

BU is NOT a university forum, we are mainly a group of regular Joes and Janes clashing heads about this and that,
    THAT IS OBVIOUS TOO
    IT IS A PLACE FOR ROBUST DEBATE AND CHALLENGING ah lie?

it is NOT a place for the thin-skinned and that is for sure.

YES YOU ARE THIN SKINNED WHEN YOU CHALLENGE THE CHALLENGERS AND MOCK THEM

BU will continue to exercise our judgement to maintain a forum where ALL are bloody welcome.

THATS GOOD SO I CAN CONTINUE TO IN A THIN SKINNED WAY ENGAGE IN ROBUST DEBATE AND CHALLENGING LIKE EVA BODY ELSE

ROFLMAO

26. “PS – you want conspiracy, why didn’t the government tell wunnah that there was likely H1 N1 here”
    Fool, Fool that i am to fix myself on such a trifler.

27. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

FOR YEARS (SINCE 2009) I USED TO WALK AWAY (SORRY SULK AWAY) WHEN CHALLENGED. THAT WAS OK. I WALKED AWAY FRO THE AD HOMINEMS .

BUT NOW I DECIDE TO CHALLENGE AWY AND MOCK THE CHALLENGERS I AM GREETED WITH LOTS OF SHIT TALK

FELLAS VEXED
    MAN I DONT GET VEXED I DOES LAFF AND CHALLENGE BACK AND MOCK BACK

28. @David
    BU stands by our inquiry about a ‘secret serum’ which has been administered to two White doctors confirmed to have contracted Ebola. Why there was no decision taken to give to a few Black Ebola volunteers

Are you trying to say that the US Gov’t or the Pharmaceutical company should provide a drug which is still in its experimental stages to a mass group of people? Do you know that there are many people in both the US and Canada who hear about drugs that show potential to cure certain diseases but are denied access to same because they haven’t been fully tested? Given the tone of this discussion the “know it alls” would be the first to say that the US Gov’t is using Black people as guinea pigs for “Big Pharma”.

29. ‘This is similar to how they combatted and restrained the SARS outbreak.”

You really believe that. Don’t you see they are playing cat and mouse with us to guage our responses. Make no bones about it, SARS like Ebola will rise again if it is in the interest of the New World Order.

30. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

DAVID SIR, HI BOG MASTER LORD (PARDON THE SARCASM)

DIDNT YOU SAY THAT BU IS FOR ROBUST DEBATE SIR?

DIDNT YOU SAY WE CHALLENGE ON BU- THATS WHAT WE DO HERE?

DID YOU MEAN THAT ONLY CERTAIN FOLK COULD CHALLENGE AND MOCK SIR, OR DOES THAT APPLY TO EVA BODY SIR?

SIR IF BUSHTEA THREATENED TO FIRE UP HIS WHACKER AND MOWER
    SHOULD I NOT DEFEND MYSELF SIR. YOU KNOW SAH HOW THIN MY SKIN IS SAH. LOL ROFLMAO

PLEASE SAH I BEG YA LET ME CHALLENGE AND MOCK TOO SAH

JUST LIKE I HAVE BEEN CHALLENGED AND MOCKED FOR YEARS——–ESPECIALLY WHEN I WAS CORRECT

I JUST DECIDE NOT TO SULK AWAY FOR A YEAR THIS TIME SAH AND

DIDNT YOU SAY YOU WERE COMMITED TO ALOW BU TO BE A SOURCE OF ENTERTAINMENT FOR ME SAH? CATCH THE BASTARD BY SURPRISE SAH.

31. “Regrettably, ebola vaccines don’t provide immunity for several months. A “fast” vaccine gives immunity in four weeks and may be the way to contain epidemics”

Am comforted in the knowledge that Dr Georgie and Sarge are suitably equipped to treat the deadly virus it hits our shores,

32. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Sargeant | August 4, 2014 at 3:20 PM |
    WILL YOU PLEASE TOE THE LINE SIR AND TRY AND SEE THE GREY
    BU IS NOT FOR YOU SIR
    YOU ARE THIN SKINNED BECAUSE YOU CAN REASON AND CHALLENGE
    YOU OR I HAVE NO RIGHT TO CHALLENGE THE CHALLENGERS ON BU SIR

33. Let us break it down for you Sarge.

In one of the postings above the point was made that dispensing an experimental drug requires a maze of red tape to be negotiated. In the case of the two US based doctors who have miraculously recovered from Ebola presumably after being ‘offered’ he experimental drug on July 30? Black people have been giving their lives in recent weeks and days, why not a similar offer based on ‘compassion’? Just asking questions and challenging Sarge.

34. @Balance
    Am comforted in the knowledge that Dr Georgie and Sarge are suitably equipped to treat the deadly virus it hits our shores
    ++++++++++
    I said restrain not exterminate, I am just a layman who can tell the difference between BS and Filet mignon, however if you are struck with the deadly virus drink some Bush Tea and call me in the morning.

35. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Sargeant | August 4, 2014 at 3:39 PM |
    I am just a layman who can tell the difference between BS and Filet mignon, however if you are struck with the deadly virus drink some Bush Tea and call me in the morning.

SARGE I THOUGHT THAT ONLY ONE GREAT FAST BOWLER COME OUT OF FOUNDATION. YOU LIKE YOU WAS HIDING YUH

36. @GP
    Verbal bouncers not the ones that Garner was known for, some people skipped the class where the following was taught “when you are in a hole stop digging”

37. @GEORGIE PORGIE,
    COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME TRYING TO EDUCATE THE UNEDUCATABLE. VIROLOGY IS A SPECIALIZED SUBJECT ALSO IMMUNOLOGY. YOU CAN’T LEARN THE SUBJECTS READING A FEW BLOGS. LEAVE THEM ALONE IN THEIR IGNORANCE. WE HAVE COMPETENT PHYSICIANS AND HEALTH FACILITIES. I SHOULD KNOW.
    ALVIN CUMMINS/MICROBIOLOGIST

38. @David
    Emotional? As the leading conspiracy theorist here, we beg to differ. Our positions are rooted in a deep and unremitting distrust for all systems and as based in history. Our question to you is, how many times must you be fooled before you start conspiracy theorizing too?

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

ALVIN
    RE
    @GEORGIE PORGIE,
    COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME TRYING TO EDUCATE THE UNEDUCATABLE. VIROLOGY IS A SPECIALIZED SUBJECT ALSO IMMUNOLOGY. YOU CAN’T LEARN THE SUBJECTS READING A FEW BLOGS. LEAVE THEM ALONE IN THEIR IGNORANCE. WE HAVE COMPETENT PHYSICIANS AND HEALTH FACILITIES. I SHOULD KNOW.
    ALVIN CUMMINS/MICROBIOLOGIST

ALVIN
    VIROLOGY AND IMMUNOLOGY ARE IN MY VIEW THE TWO MOST DIFFICULT AREAS NOT ONLY IN MICROBIOLOGY BUT IN MEDICINE AS A WHOLE

ALSO THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSES OF MICROBIAL DISEASES IS DEFINITELY NOT DRINKING SOUP

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) | August 4, 2014 at 4:22 PM |
    George Porgie
    It isn’t that bad…the scoffing
    Why don’t you set up a Religious End Times Thread for everyone to cuss you instead?

SQUEAZE MA BOY I HAVE BEEN CUSSED ENOUGH ON BU FOR OVER 6 YEARS NOW MAN
    NOW I DECIDE TO MOCK AND CHALLENGE BACK LOL

41. @Alvin

Is there a special place you can share where to educate the ignorant is ideal?

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

A LOT OF EDUCATING CAN BE DONE RIGHT HERE
    THIS IS THE IDEAL FORUM FOR INTERACTIVE TEACHING FOR FOLK WHO WANT TO LEARN

BUT NOT WITH JACKASSES LIKE BUSH TEA SEEKING THE LIMELIGHT BY SO CALLED CHALLENGING, AND TRYING TO SAY WHAT YOU SHOULD POST AND NOT POST

IF THE ASS WAS NOT UNDER PRESSURE TODAY YOU CAN IMAGINE THE THRASH WE WOULD HAVE SEEN

REAL GOOD STUDENTS LISTEN
    THEY KNOW WHEN TO ASK QUESTIONS? WHAT TO ASK? HOW TO ASK

AND WHEN TO ASK

THE SO CALLED BU TRINITY USED TO TEACH HIGH LEVEL THEOLOGY ON THIS BLOG

I AM CONVINCED THAT THE DEVIL INDWELLS BUSH TEA
    ZOE SAID IT FROM EARLY BUT I GAVE HOIM THE BENEFIT OF THE DOUBT

43. @David
    Black people have been giving their lives in recent weeks and days, why not a similar offer based on ‘compassion’?
    Initially It was thought that there wasn’t enough serum for two people, but it turned out that there was sufficient, in any event the US Gov’t wouldn’t provide an experimental drug to a mass group of people.

44. I wrote that contagious diseases are just a plane ride away from everyone’s world and it was only a matter of time before the disease hits the USA, now ABC is reporting of a possible patient in NYC.

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/york-city-hospital-treating-potential-ebola-patient/story?id=24838232

45. Here is some more bedside reading on the Ebola saga playing out. Let the lowly BU household apply a likkle BU questioning. why a drug reported not to have entered the clinical phase was offered to the two US based doctors described by some as a hail Mary pass. Did the FDA approve and if yes what was the overriding consideration.

Remember we are in the BU rum shop, show working for 10 marks.

A Tale Of Two Drugs: Mapp Vs. Tekmira

ZMapp is not even far enough along to have entered the clinical trial phase, but it may have been chosen in this case instead of the promising experimental drug Tekmira because an ongoing Tekmira trial was just halted by the FDA.

That doesn’t mean that all research on Tekmira is over, however. The ongoing trial was halted because healthy patients showed a problematic immune response. But the FDA could still approve a new trial of the drug in sick patients, as the risk-benefit equation would be changed. A potential benefit of surviving a disease that kills 60-90% of patients could outweigh the risks of many potentially problematic side effects.

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/zmapp-serum-used-to-treat-ebola-infected-americans-2014-8#ixzz39SbCAiSH

46. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

Sargeant | August 4, 2014 at 5:12 PM |
    Black people have been giving their lives in recent weeks and days, why not a similar offer based on ‘compassion’?

I DONT KNOW WHY YOU RESPONDED SEEING THAT YOU “CANT SEE THE GREY”
    1 that there wasn’t enough serum for two people, WAS ALL OVER THE NEWS

2 in any event the US Gov’t wouldn’t provide an experimental drug to a mass group of people. ITS UNETHICAL AND NOT THE PROTOCOL
    IF THEY HAD “ENOUGH” SERUM AND HAD GIVEN IT TO BLACKS WITH UNTOWARD EFFECTS CAN YOU IMAGINE THE OUTCRY?

47. @Sargeant

BU was careful to qualify the statement by suggesting volunteers would have to be the basis for administering any experimental drug. Where has the pharmaceutical Company been quoted about quantities available? Please post it.

48. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

DAVID
    note http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/cancer/in-depth/monoclonal-antibody/art-20047808

question Why was the monoclonal antibodies taken from Ebola infected monkeys being tested? WAS IT TO TREAT EBOLA OR FOR THE INTENDED USE OF THiS DRUGS
    i am not a conspiracy theorist but the serum came from a PharM lab in the USA TAKEN FROM MONKEYS IN aFRICA.

i HONESTLY DO NOT THINK THAT THEY WERE WORKING ON A VACCINE FOR USE IN AFRICA

49. MAPP Biopharmaceutical Awarded Funding for Ebola Drug

JULY 30, 2014

Image of Ebola virusThe Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA) has announced intentions to award a sole source modification to current contract HDTRA1-13-C-0018 to MAPP Biopharmaceutical in support of Ebola countermeasures.

The award is a follow-on to a current contract which focuses on development of a monoclonal antibody cocktail for Ebola Zaire. The proposed work comprises specific, additional tasks which are justified by the promising results from the work already conducted under the current contract.

The additional funding will be used to prepare and submit an Investigational New Drug (IND) application package to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for ZMappTM and to provide sufficient quantity of the therapeutic to perform a Phase 1 clinical safety study.

These additional tasks will be performed within the current period of performance of 12 months. The work being added will be done so on a cost-plus fixed-fee basis

Source: FBO.gov

– See more at: http://globalbiodefense.com/2014/07/30/mapp-biopharmaceutical-awarded-funding-ebola-drug/#sthash.XTJq8xxK.dpuf