105 responses to “Barbados Underground Congratulate Akela Jones”

1. Congrats Akela!

What is sad is that you will have to solicit help from family and friends if you want to success ala Obadele. Do not look to Barbados.

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

A True Bajan ,

3. David must u always be political,,,,,further more investing in sports is not a priority for the bajan taxpayer,,,,,,,and asking private business is like pulling teeth,leaving govt caught between a rock and a hard place,,however when parents see the dedication and determination that the child has to offer,,more likely than not the parent would make all the sacrifices to see the child achieve their dream.( .nutting wrong with that) ,,,,,,,except that barbadians like to enjoy the glory after others have made the sacrifice,but when call individually to help in these circumstance as good will ,,,,,the mantra goes like this,,,HELL NO.
    Akela congrats and keep pushing beyond your limits,, letting nothing or any one stand in YOUR WAY,,,

4. Congrats and I hope more success comes your way.

5. What’s wrong with soliciting help from family and friends David? And why haven’t we move beyond the idea of view government as the sole supplier of the citizenry needs?

6. most of the successful greats athletes of yester year did not look to govt handouts,,,,, they were self made achievers with one goal in mind to make there country proud of them,,true patriots they were,,,,,,,now in todays society we have this belief that govt must provide everything from tooth brush to BT brass bowls,,,,,then everybody wonder why govt broke,,,too many mouths to feed and too little wanting to help with the provision…,,neva knew bajans were so hand to mout,,,,,never knew,,,,,, surprise,,,,,

7. Amateur athletes like Akela should be supported by government if parents do not have the money to help their children.

Have you all not figured out the benefit of the phrase “Akela Jones of BARBADOS wins.”

That is advertising that has value in promoting the brand BARBADOS.

8. Congrats Akela.Stay focused on your objectives.It’s had work and it can be rewarding if the BOA will come to your aid.

9. Were the Olympic association to rid itself of the globe trotting money wasters in the forms of Steve Stoute his cohorts Simmons, Adrian Lorde et al nearly forgot Esther Maynard the funds they waste could go to the young rising star Akela Jones. She is making a difference for her country the officials named and but there must be others are a waste of space.

10. barbados was internationally known and respected in the era of Weekes Wallcott and Worrell ,,not to mention a garfield sobers,, at a time when there was no international advertising and money was scarce in comparison ,,now we have reached an era where greed trumps commitment and desire overloaded with a mentality that have been brainwashed …transformed and transfixed into believing that all it takes is money to achieve,,yes money is a big component but it takes more and a helluve a lot more than money,,,, but a will and determination that money can’t buy ,,,,, and the commitment and necessary drive that catapults one to succeed ,,,,, putting those essential components in their right order is the key to success,ask those who have achieved with little or no money,,,,,muhhammed ali is one such person….

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Hants | July 27, 2014 at 10:59 PM |

Amateur athletes like Akela should be supported by government if parents do not have the money to help their children.

Have you all not figured out the benefit of the phrase “Akela Jones of BARBADOS wins.”

That is advertising that has value in promoting the brand BARBADOS.@@@

Hants we see you have jokes,Support what , they will add more to VAT,
    Next the people will be hit with a sports TAX
    They dont support the brain so what make you think they wil support the body?
    All Barbados promote is lawyer crooking people with bad deeds and no police action unless you are a white tourist on the beach .

All these niggers support is white people with money , their outside women with babies and 15 Roll Royce parked up , proof of crooking at 350,000USD each, COW, BIZZY, TERRA,WHITE WELFARE

12. @Hants

A look at Jamaica, Bahamas, Trinidad, Cuba and a few others in the Caribbean shows the enormous value of a national sports program. Not only does it promote excellence in sports for the youth to realise their true potential, the boost to national pride and brand is priceless.

13. http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/barbados/wilan-louis-169915#progression

An example for Akela to use as motivation is Wilan Louis, he was thought to be one of the best quarter milers in the world as a youth just like her but he was from New Orleans and without a national program we know what happened.

14. akela has already shown that she has the motivation and determination to be a winner,,,,,having an added advantage would be the full fledge support of her family and the country,,,,,,a recipe which would guarantee larger than life success not only at home but abroad,,,,,however one can guarantee the proverbial lip service which barbadians are very good at giving,,,,,but financial ,well that has been tried and tested many times over…..her best bet would be to continue to use the model upon which she gets her strength and motivation using it to the full extent,,so far whatever is working for akela seems to be working in her favour,,,……,further more when she wins ,,it not because of what others have done,,but because she seize the opportunities small or big to be successful…….making her dream a reality……u go girl,,,,,,,,,,

15. @ac

She already has the support of he family and friends. The point which you will never grasp is that to compete successfully on the world stage it requires enormous financial resources in a structured/plan way. If you don’t understand some of the issues why don’t you read and learn?

16. To add to the above, what about our youth who show talent and lack the resources to realize it?

17. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) extents heartiest congratulations to Miss Akela Jones on winning gold in the long jump contest at the 2014 World Youth Championships in Oregon, the US.

We also give sincere thanks to all those persons and groups who have played and continue to play critical roles in the development of this extremely successful and gifted female Barbadian athlete.

No doubt athletically the best is yet to come from Akela.

We wish her continued success in all her endeavors.

18. David, what about the persons of private enterprise, do you think that their should contribute in some-way to enable these young people to marimize their true potential? Or do you believe that it is time to rid ourselves of the mentality of looking to government always to provide our bread and butter? This seems to be your mentality David, but you ought to know that not ever problem can be solved at the governmental level, there is obvious room for the private-sector.

19. @ David ( 6.05 a.m. & 6.37 a.m.)
    Either you are wise beyond your years…..or you is a pieceuh bushman yuh….

20. @ Dompey
    HUSH do!
    Ya idjut…..

21. David criticism for the sake of..makes one look like a fool..my point was to underscore..u get it….btw not everyone reads the full articles….

22. Bush Tea, I wonder where would this blog be without your informative insight? (lol) I think we should now crown you the BU (Hofmeister) because you have had an answer to every question, whether it be politics, philosophy, metaphysics, theoloogy, epistemology etc, or such you think.

23. Professor brass bowl ..see u up in the wer ..wee hours of the mawning..wuh happen duppy ride uh backside..

24. Investing in our talented youth will create productive citizens.

The incontrovertible evidence is all those Bajans who got Athletic scholarships who went on to become successful.

25. @ Dompey
    …..and you ain’t even touch on Bushie’s strong areas yet 🙂

26. Taxpayer’s funds SHOULD be invested in the talented youth like Akela, smart governments know that sports is a wise investment and they do invest in their athletes, she should not have to go begging family and friends to put Barbados on the map. An invested in talented gifted sports men and women like her would be a win win for Barbados.

27. Imagine we have JAs on this blog who want to quibble about investing in the potential of our youth. Ignorance knows no bounds. Who can forget the late coach John Lovell who mortgaged hos house to stake many young athletes.

28. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I am here reviewing a list of Bajan cricketers who appeared in international cricket.

Guess what? The Government invested very heavily in their success.
    THESE INCLUDE GARRY SOBERS CONRAD HUNTE WES HALL GORDAN GREENIDGE DESMOND HAYNES EVERTON WEEKES FRANK WORRELL CLYDE WALCOTT.

If it was not for government investment these would all have been abject failures.

There is a fellow called SUKII KING WORLD DRAUGHT CHAMPION FOR ABOUT TWO DECADES

If it was not for government investment in this man he would have been an abject failures. Ah lie?

ah sorry not to toe the line here friends, but the above CAN NOT BE REFUTED LOL

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

we invested heavily in ROY CALLENDER TOO, THATS HOW HE WAS ABLE TO EXCEL

30. @GP

We are discussing track and field, maybe it was not clear.

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DOESN’T MATTER
    IN ALL SPORTS ALL AROUND THE WORLD THERE ARE FEW GOVERNMENTS WHO TAKE UP THE TAB FOR THE SPORTSMAN’S SUCCESS

THE USA DIDNT MAKE THE WILLIAMS SISTERS OR THE BRYAN BROTHERS GREAT EITHER

THE ETHIOPIAN OR KENYA GOVERNMENTS DIDNT MAKE THEIR LONG DISTANCE RUNNERS GREAT EITHER. ah lie?

32. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

All things are the same when dealing in Barbados David,
    We all can not wait till you post a subject that one may want to talk about,
    Or then it will be a one sided chat or posting,

Track is not funded and either is school at time , How can they put money some where when the state id full of crooks , liars and scumbags who only take money for self and take taxes, Why would they FUNDS feet and ass and not brains?
    The poorest families most of the time deal in the cheapest sports they can afford. Feet , ass, legs, hands, head back , All took 9 months in side Mother body,
    So this govt, of the DBLP is looking to take and not give on copper CENT , FOR even that they took away for the Dollar, We can not even get back the right change today, Cent gone money now cos us more ,
    accounting will be off more than ever before ,As now they keep your change,Or set the prices to make it now cost 5 cents more on all things.

33. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Who can forget the late coach John Lovell who mortgaged hos house to stake many young athletes.DAVID@

Was it his house?

34. You are correct GP, government does not get involved in sports programs for the youth.

35. @Deeds

Until you can prove it was not it was his house.

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

David Can you prove it is his or was his house? Fraud stay alive forever until the truth is told , My truth is Better than yours, I have papers what do you have?

37. @Deeds

If you can’t prove he does not have to.

38. Wuh GP say…????!
    IN ALL SPORTS ALL AROUND THE WORLD THERE ARE FEW GOVERNMENTS WHO TAKE UP THE TAB FOR THE SPORTSMAN’S SUCCESS
    LOLOLOLOL hahahahahaha
    Oh shiite….
    Bushie hopes that this level,of ignorance is not indicative of the kind of knowledge that GP brings to this blog in other areas….
    ..like the bible….
    …or medical issues..

Oh wait…no problem, medical power points can easily be put together after a bit of simple googling….so we may be OK there 🙂

..man David why do you think Bushie has been avoiding arguing with GP of late? …it is becoming clear that the people from the Ministry of Health called it right when they kicked him out off the island….

A little research will show that the governments of most countries spend lavishly on sport – since they generally recognize the POWERFUL social, cultural, health, developmental, educational and spiritual benefits that are to be derived from such investments.

Check what Brazil is about to invest in going after 30 gold medals in 2016….or what the UK invested in cycling alone (or boxing) for London 2012…or Scotland or Russia…or Australia.. Or indeed any enlightened country….

Only idiotic backward brass bowls can fail to see the value of such investments…..

39. @Bushie

Why look afar?

Check Jamaica, Bahamas, Trinidad.

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

David | July 28, 2014 at 5:03 PM |
    RE You are correct GP, government does not get involved in sports programs for the youth.

INDEED I AM LOL

DAVID TELL ME HOW CAN the Ministry of Health kick A BAJAN off the island?

AINT THAT STUPID AFTER INVESTING IN HIS YOUTH? MURDAH….

41. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

GOVERNMENT CANT BUY TOILET PAPER FOR QH AND CAN INVEST MONEY FOR SPORT

governments of most countries spend lavishly on sport – since they generally recognize the POWERFUL social, cultural, health, developmental, educational and spiritual benefits that are to be derived from such investments.

THIS IS JUST LIKE HOW OUR GOVERNMENT INVESTED IN SUCKI KING AND ROY CALENDER AND SOBERS MARSHALL GARNER HUNTE MOSELY AND THE THREE W’S

ONLY CERTAIN PEOPLE CAN CHALLENGE ON BU?
    ISNT THAT WHAT WE DO ON BU?

BRING FACTS ON BU AND DONT TOE THE LINE AND YOU MEET WITH NASTY ADHOMINEMS

THE AMERICAN GUVMENT INVEST NUFF MONEY IN THE WILLIAM SISTERS TOO DIDNT THEY? AND THE BRIAN BROTHERS AND TIGER WOODS

42. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVY MA BOY
    NEXT THING GP WILL DO IS COME AND COLLECT PENSION FROM THE GUVMENT AFTER BEING “KICKED OUT THE ISLAND BY THE MINISTRY OF HEALTH”

HOW LA LIKE THAT?
    MURDAH ‘

CAN YOU GET THE GUVMENT TO INVEST SOME MONEY IN MY GRAND CHILDREN’S SPORT CARRERS?;;
    CAN YOU GET THEM TO INVEST IN MY GRANDS lavishly AND recognize the POWERFUL social, cultural, health, developmental, educational and spiritual benefits that are to be derived from such investments.?

43. @GP

The discussion is about building a strong sports program and not financing individual athletes as you seem to be braying about. It is not a difficult concept to grasp. They are already doing it Barbados via the Sports Council, AAA etc, in the same way the NCF approach private sector to fund Crop Over, it can facilitate same for sports. It is an investment in the youth of Barbados the benefits to an economy is well documented. In addition the traditional fundamentals of our economy has shifted, it is sports and culture along with other service industries that will have to be the pathway for progress in Barbados. It required vision and non traditional approaches.

44. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

I AINT GOT NO VISION DAVID
    I GOT CATERRACTS SUH. SO I CANT ” see the value of such investments…..”
    YOU TALK YOU TALK AND I WILL TALK MY TALK

I AINT TOO SMART YA KNOW I AINT GOT NO POWER POINTS WHEN I GOOGLE ABOUT A SPORTS PROGRAM SIR
    I CONFESS DAT IS A Only idiotic backward brass bowl SIR

AFTER ALL I AINT ONE OF DE SPECIALLPEEPLE IN THE BU RUM SHOP THAT CAN CHALLENGE TOO?

AINT DAT WHAT WE DO HERE ON BU?

EVERY FOOL CANT HAVE HE LIKKLE SAY ..HAY NA MORE

45. This round on BU GP. Cheers.

46. David wrote “This round on BU GP”

What you mean David is that you have chosen to end your “discussion with GP.

I stand by my previous comments even if GP disagrees.

47. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HANTS
    HOW YOU DOING BOY

48. I AM DOING GREAT GP.

WE HAVE “TROPICAL” WEATHER IN TORONTO AND I AM ENJOYING IT.