96 responses to “No Barbadian Qualified to be General Manager of Wordwell Restaurant”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

What that ad is really saying is that we have already identified a non Caricom non national for the job and we really don’t want any Bajans.

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caswell

You mean to tell me that in this day and age with (i) a Ministry of Labour with all the IDB funding that it has received to catalogue the resident skills, (ii) a census department headed by that incompetent Browne that takes 4 years to produce the results of a 2010 census and (iii) an Immigration Department that has yet to design a border crossing system that allows one to know who is coming into the island and, more importantly, which of the murder accused that Marston Gibson and his band of merry men granted bail to, are not supposed to be out of the island, but pass through Immigration with a free pass that a company could put an advertisement like that in the newspaper and get it approved?

Caswell you gots to be lying man.

I am sure that if this happened in the USA that all three of these heads of agency would be fired for being so evidently incompetent.

I going to have to ask my friend Dompey if dem incompetents wud have a job in the USofA de nex day after giving dis General Manager of Word(well) to a non national.

Is Word(well) any relation to Cas(well)?

I going ask my new girlfriend SSS what she tink bout dis, cause she up in America too. SSS I planning to go up dere to visit soon, fuh medical tings dem, and I looking fuh someplace to stay so I jes sounding you out to see if I cud get a little lodging. You Daddy come back from de Alps yet? …Lemuel stan outta dis…

Caswell, while i got you heah, I did want to know if you know anybody at de Nation newspaper causing I did want a pic dey to write some articles en ting…

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Sorry de link between MoL, Census and de Immigration is dat the first two supposed to know if dere is qualified peoples pun de island wid de qualifications fuh de job and if so, den immigration should deny any such application.

Forgive de ole man Caswell de head ent tinking straight dese days

4. just wait till the whole dam island become privatize,,,,,

5. Former Roebuck School Student Avatar
    Former Roebuck School Student

Barbados is a loss cause how de ass lazy Maxine McClean the Prime Minister or any of the 28 jackasses we have in parliament could be silent on this issue. It’s time enough the people of Barbados take to the streets and protest.

6. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Accra also did the same this week. they advertised for a General Manager, note too that these companies DO NOT EVER advertised the job but LIE and say that they advertised. it is really sad that jobs are hard to get here and these people who do not care about Barbados are being allowed to break the law. it could not happen in Bermuda, Antigua, etc but sure every country in the world knows that black people in authority in Barbados could be bought with the almighty dollar. someone at the Immigration Dept is purposely not paying attention. that broad face hypocrite who parades as the Minister of Labour with a stinky, filthy mouth has a lot to say about it too, or rather has nothing to say…. ask, the TV icon who dresses up in her African finery, who it was that called and cussed her out for bringing up the topic on a CBC programme…these ads are in the newspaper every single week. last week i saw one for a Chef!!!! but it will continue to happen because the Ministers of Labour has no class, no morals and if she could publicly humiliate her husband about the size of his penis, then she has potential to be bought for anything

7. Barbados is a mature tourist destination with an enviable hospitality sector, that we would have to issue a work permit to a person to manage a restaurant warrants an explanation.

8. I am amazed they actually advertised…usually they come in as consultants …leave the island every 6 months for a short holiday. By the way who is world well ..need to with hold patronage

9. Truth is hard for fools Avatar
    Truth is hard for fools

Nothing to say Caswell said it all.

10. What about cocky Bizzy that so and so announce he bringing an Englishman to run his company . Tens of thousands of qualified black people on island who splash their cash at Bizzy businesses making a billionaire but he not hiring one. The loud mouth braggart so arrogant he announce he by- passing every Bajan and bringing a Limey. Did he even apply for a work permit for the Englishman. What next Lord.

11. Codrington High School applied to the Chief Immigration Officer for a work permit for a Science teacher after they did not find a suitable candidate here.
    Man hundreds of young graduates out of UWI Science faculty are not working and applying at every secondary school for any temporary term position.
    Persons had to object by May 20th.Well that day gone and that ex pat would be working by September. It is a shame what the immigration department does. They should just reject all those claims because we have so many persons who are qualified and not working but as Bizzy said we are the most segregated country in the Caribbean perpetuated by a black government policy.

12. This is all to be expected…..in brass bowl town….

Imagine Bizzy on David Ellis’ 6:30 talking bout how any Bajan who buys stuff for overseas supporting foreign business and is being unpatriotic …..Wuh shiite…what about a Bajan who chooses to recruit a manager from England?
    What is that? ….patriotic and wise?
    Why not groom a Bajan ?
    Why not invest in his damn son – and provide him the needed exposure for the job?

These people just want white managers….and that pool in Barbados is pathetic…..

13. There are lots of these type of applications being made in recent times by companies like LIME and others for permission to bring foreign nationals here to perform tasks that Barbadians can do.
    Case in point. As you drive around the country, you may see some white boys in shorts and reflective safety jackets working in crews pulling cable. Some of these folk are fiber-optic specialists. The are being paid as much as $1100 per day to perform their tasks. Yes, I didn’t mis-quote the price, $1100.00 BDS a day. LIME has LINED the upper landscape of their company here in Barbados with foreign nationals, mainly white foreign nationals, who are now performing tasks that Barbadians can do and no one seems to care. Has anyone recently realized irregularities in their billing recently? They have cash flow issues and a bigger salary base than they did before the layoffs. Seriously!
    People at lime who were making >15K per month and went home to go on NIS have had their jobs moved to Miami where their replacements are making $30K US a month. And WE Barbadians are fueling that!
    Whats worse, these foreign nationals come here with their little god complexes and try to disrespect and disadvantage Barbadians not to mention their propensity for discrimination. I call it D3 syndrome.
    So here’s my fix:

Any company in Barbados employing in excess of 3% of foreign nationals pays 60% more corporate tax.
    For every foreign national you have on staff you pay the equivalent of that person’s salary into a fund that goes to train Barbadians in the same area of specialization.
    NO foreign national is allowed to hold any position in any company of combination of companies for more than 3 years .

If any foreign national owns the company in which he/she works and resides in Barbados for any period of time per years exceeding 30 days,then the company which they own must have a Barbadian working directly beneath them in the organizational structure who can be paid no less than 75% of the international market value of that position.
    Finally, companies found to be in violation of compliance’s will be fined $500,000.00 BDS per day until the compliance’s are met.
    Anarchy is the purest form of patriotism!

14. And the same goes for Accra Beach Hotel, which fired its general Manager some weeks ago,and is now also claiming the that no suitable local could be found,when we all know that its Trinidad owners, wants to bring in one of its own.
    A private school in St John,Codrington High School, has been doing this for years, every time it needs a teacher, it applies for a Work Permit, as etc etc. I wonder what is the unions in Barbados take on this, especially now that the Government, and Private sector, are are retrenching some individuals who may very well have the experience and qualifications to do these jobs, that is all except the obvious one.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

Re: your comment at 7:59 PM.

I don’t know anyone at the Nation that I could ask a favour on your behalf. You might have to start like I did by submitting letters to the Editor.

16. Caswell, in this global culture, I hardly think that we should be xenophobic. If the American people thought as some Bajans do, there would have been little hope for those who immigrated from the Caribbean to make it here in America. We have to been open-minded like the Americans, in our efforts in recognizing good talent, foreign or domestic and putting that talent to use for our benefit. America own its success to its immigrant population caswell and that’s a fact brother.

17. bring in your buddies party time.is what it is really is .look at LinkedIn and Facebook and see how many foreigners are working in barbados now. mostly white English.and all colors.from all over.places that are cold,wet, and they are boring as hell.come on down it is all just a big party for the foreign invaders.yahooooooooooo !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. Two points to note:

1. The law requires that the work permit application is advertised which gives anyone in the public the opportunity to object. If nobody objects in writing to show qualified locals exist what do you expect the Immigration Department to do?

2. When a work permit is issued stated in the law is a requirement for locals to be trained.

19. It sounds funny when on one hand everyone rails at the transit board ,govt etc. hates the way things are run on the island decry the waste and incompetence yet you will argue that the status quo must be kept hiring from the very pool that has had no knew ideas poor work ethic and got the island into the mess it is in …in the first place.

20. Interesting comment from both Caswell Franklin and the legend “kentusmaxus”…Needed transparency laws could let you look at the latest government data and find what other researchers have found: The country has well more than twice as many workers with degrees and qualifications as there are these jobs. Also consistent with other research data we find only modest levels of wage growth for such workers for more than a decade. Both employment and wage data indicate that such workers are not in short supply.
    Perhaps, Bajans don’t want the work, 3000 civil servants should be looking for permanent Bajan work shouldn’t they…??? Bad time keeping and arrogance, then even more arrogance.
    There are some people that genuinely do want to work, some have good paying jobs, jealousy or red eye won’t get you anywhere. What’s in your wallet ??

21. Bizzy despite all his achievements ain’t long off the plantation guys. He still got that overseer mentality when it comes to blacks and his businesses.

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

What the Watcher has submitted is truly an interesting suggestion.

He marries the issue of the willy nilly laying off of Bajans for foreign nationals, in the face of inept local unions, with Lawson’s concept of bringing in new DNA to refresh the obvious gene pool deficiency.

It is much akin to the Japanese in 1945 asking the Allies for skilled manufacturers and technology to bolster its economy and creating the Japanese world renown MITI.

With a functioning Labour Department which catalogued all of the citizens skills, integrated with the Accreditation Council to know the level of local HR, we would have an ecosystem which would know current HR skills, for jobs that needed such and permit for external pollination in such an event such skills are needed with the caveat that Bajan understudies are identified and trained.

And to this I will say IT WILL NEVER SEE THE LIGHT OF DAY because it is a serious practical application that Ester Byer Suckwho? Minister of Labour, the Accreditation nitwits, the Immigration department led by Erine Philips appointed solely due to longevity and not competence and the other moving cogs WILL KILL THE IDEA IN UTERO!!

BuhKvnts and Waste Foops!!

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Caswell

I was not serious about that job with Viviane Gittens.

I would be sued past the post when they learnt who I was/am

As a matter of fact they already know who I am it is just that they have not passed the law to arrest BU-ians for public dissent on the Cyberspace waves, not for lack of trying though.

24. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

pieceuhderockyeahright | June 27, 2014 at 7:13 AM@
    If they lock up who tells the truth , then they must kill those who lie. even heads of states

25. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Big Balloons | June 27, 2014 at 6:54 AM | @ Bizzy is still on the Plantation , He begging for JOBS and will never find WORK. Slavery have no color .

26. silent on what issue….this shite been going on for years..not started yesterday..how come wunna yardfowls now see a problem…but just wait…..just wait until if and when the dlp resumed power and full blown privatisation takes controll let,s. see how many barbadians would. be represented in supervisory or managerial position….private investors have been doing sh..te fuh years and winna said. all good..right under the nose of the blp ..and not a word from the then govt. resulting in fradulent companies like Clico..and wunna said nothing.wait wuh took wunna so long to realise that like this should be corrected fuh sure it has been many years in the making.

27. “If the American people thought as some Bajans do, there would have been little hope for those who immigrated from the Caribbean to make it here in America.”

Fact is, most Caribbean people dont walk into America fully qualified for the positions they seek and if they do, they still have to work twice as hard from the bottom to get half as far.Here, people are doing work Bajans can and are qualified to do, and starting at the top.Big difference.

28. What has become of the immigration reform that the late Prime Minister David Thompson propose? It seems that proposal died a natural death.
    It is not surprising that all of these work permits are being requested for non-nationals to fill jobs in Barbados.
    It seems like every institution,business or entity is headed by a non-national. Crime-Stoppers a non-national.Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association former head a Guyanese,The Queen Elizabeth Hospital director a Trinidadian,Republic Bank leader a Trinidadian.All the General Managers at Hilton Barbados non-nationals.
    It appears that each time someone speaks as the leader of anything in Barbados,it is invariably someone who does not look or sounds like the vast majority of Barbadians
    Ralph “Bizzy” Williams is one of the most arrogant,obnoxious, limited academically but powerful financially individual n Barbados who knows the mentality of Barbadians so well that he can ridicule and insult us in a manner that he knows that will not cause any serious harm to his businesses or livelihood.
    It is incredible that one of his general managers can verbally and physically assault one of his regular customers and that manager is still being employed.Ralph “Bizzy” Williams has the gumption to tell Barbadians that that manager is one of this best managers and that “little infraction ” of his does not warrant a dismissal.Only in Barbados.Furthermore he could go to newspaper talked a whole of set of nonsense such as Barbados is the most segregated country in the Caribbean and indeed the world.Telling us that both Black and White people in Barbados do not want to accept his marriage to Black woman.and then in the same breath could turn around and tell Barbadians that he has intentions of bringing in a White Englishman to head his company.Well,well,well.
    Finally,if Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong,PDC and the rest oragnize a march focusing on the issue of non-nationals occupying key positions in many of our institutions,businesses and other entities to the detriment of Barbadians then this Negroman will support such a march.

29. that immigration reform will neva happen.the fact being now that barbados is in vice grip of an weakened economy and moreso d dependant on outside investment..the possibilty of such happening is far removed from reality..the masses have alowed these indiscrimate practices to go on for too long..not to mention bajans in their on going tirade by defining bajans as shiftless and lazy which in effect remove all responsibty from the private sector and allow carte blanche in their hiring prctices.

30. LOL

David….listening to Brass tacks ….it sounds like Dennis Jonhnson has finally accepted the concept of Bajan brass bowls…. 🙂

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

brass bowls in the press
    brass bowls in the parliament
    brass bowls in the senate
    brassbowls running the hospital
    brass bowls running the judiciary
    brass bowls running the transport board
    brass bowls running education
    brass bowls here
    brass bowls there
    brass bowls everywhere
    there is an abundance of brass bowls

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Negroman | June 27, 2014 at 9:29 AM |
    “What has become of the immigration reform that the late Prime Minister David Thompson propose? It seems that proposal died a natural death.”

So isn’t the man running the show a perfect ‘negroman’ like you, Negroman? You will do the same thing, loads of mouth and no action. But you guys just can’t help it. You are really the white man’s burden carrying his monkey of religion on your back.

It was very easy and politically expedient for the administration you worship to abuse, treat inhumanely and kick out ordinary, hardworking “black” Guyanese whom you claim are your brothers and sisters but finds impossible to keep out or prevent people of a skin colour that you, Negroman, vehemently hate from taking up positions that many Bajans are indeed qualified and willing to do.

What you should be concerned about is something called Retribution or Karma. And this is what your country is experiencing.

Shut your blasted lying hypocritical racist mouth! We can see right through you, even though your are as black as night outside but all yellow inside.

33. @Bush Tea

DJ is onboard BUT he has to walk the line, the talk show is not his you know 🙂

34. “Tens of thousands of qualified black people on island who splash their cash at Bizzy businesses making a billionaire but he not hiring one.”

Black Bajans need to stop patronizing bajan white businesses, they need your business, you do not need them, it’s all the fault of the black people who spend their money with these arrogant, parasitic leaches, AND the dirty politicians who encourage this behavior.

Barbados is seen as a very ugly place right now with black bajans being seen as retards with sell-outs for politicians…..it’s not pretty.
    Segregation in Barbados has been established practice by the local ‘white’ minorities and perpetrated by Bajan blacks, without them even recognizing that’s the true intent, the politicians are very guilty of this crime against their own people, if they could, they would segregate Barbados from the other Caribbean islands, weak-ass, weak-minded black leaders in Barbados, that’s all they are capable of apart from t he usual taking bribes, selling out, etc.

Westmonster system (thank you Ross) and their slavish, slave minded drones posing as black leaders in Barbados

Cow and Bizzy should not be allowed another contract to even wash down piss in Barbados, i don’t believe there is any law on the island that states these two parasitic people should own everything on the island and all the blacks should not only work for them but also spend money at their establishments, how much more of an embarrassment will the majority people and leaders on the island subject Barbados to…..steupss.

35. shut yuh mout fo miller. ..dem instituionalised laws signed agreed upon by the blp under caricom… wuh only of recent most bajans were aware that caricom. immigration law takes precedant over state law in the myrie debbacle.and yuh can thank Osa fuh dat..

36. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think we should replace the Governor of the Central Bank with a foreigner – like the UK did with Mark Carney, a Canadian.

37. LOLOLOLOL
    Hahaha
    ac got something right at last…
    Well said old gal……. Right on …licks in Miller Tail…. 🙂

The BLP, under Owen, changed all our laws in the name of CSME -to remove any privileges that BAJANS enjoyed in BARBADOS…..at great expense, ….distracting from REAL issues….and with the other CSME people ROTFLAO at our folly…

….It is now AGAINST OUR law to give any special preferences just by being Bajan….Shanique Myrle have more right than we have…
    Barrack got paid…?

the immigration people hands tied….
    The Labour Dept hands tied…..
    ….and we bowls are brass….

Shiite man….when we reach the stage where immigration can’t search and deport an obvious hooker…caught giving false information ….and we then have to pay for the most expensive “feel-up” ever….
    ….wunna really feel that immigration going give two excretas if Bizzy bring in a white manager, if Wordwell bring one…or if the Football Association bring a Canadian secretary…?

BBs!

What the hell!!! ….Bushie agreeing with ac??????
    Forgive the bushman BBE……

38. You should be happy when they go abroad for employees, yes as Well Well said black bajans may be seen as retards …but only by the people who were brought up there I doubt very much by a person from Canada or where ever coming to take up a new position on the island.In the bigger sense this may be better for black bajans in the long run as the new comer may not carry all that plantocracy baggage that seems to be prevalent on the island

39. Due Diligence Avatar

St George’s Dragon | June 27, 2014 at 1:45 PM |
    I think we should replace the Governor of the Central Bank with a foreigner – like the UK did with Mark Carney, a Canadian.

You got dat right; but the “We don’t need no Canadian (or Brit or American) to come down hey to run we Central Bank” attitude will prevail.

40. but the irony of it all is that everytime the blp try drwaing blood.they prick themselves and open up closed wounds that they rather not have exposed…they still belive in the old addage that bajans have short memories. not realising that the power of technology provides all with long term memory

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | June 27, 2014 at 4:26 PM |
    “…they still belive in the old addage that bajans have short memories. not realising that the power of technology provides all with long term memory…”

Tell that to the thousands of public sector workers who were promised their jobs would be secured under a re-elected DLP administration.
    Tell that also to the old age pensioners who were tricked into believing they would have to pay bus fares if the DLP was not returned to government.

How is the no layoffs no privatization stew coming along, ac?
    You can’t blame OSA or the Caricom laws on that one.
    Neither can you say you weren’t warned ad nauseam about the consequences of the ‘shite’ your lying incompetent administration was ejaculating.

Here is another old Bajan adage (compliments Margot Blackman):
    “Hard ears, yuh won’t hear, bye-’n-bye yuh gine feel.”

42. I want to give Frank Alleyne the respect he is due for all the work he did for decades on the island, but i believe party politics clouds his reasoning and his clouded any vision he may have had over the decades……how could he not see and tell his fellow DLP members that it was bad enough Owen sold the islands National Bank, that was like selling a daughter, but Frank Alleyne was present and current adviser to the DLP government when they sold the remaining 30%? shares, why is he now crying over spilled milk, it’s not like the whole charade can be undone, or Republic Bank would be stupid enough to say “huh, you can have back your cash cow”…….something is wrong and deeply flawed with Alleyne’s reasoning after the fact.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/doubts-linger-over-bnb-sale/

43. I am now thinking that we will hear the same flawed and weak excuses from the DLP government, their economists and supporters when the Barbados Transport Board finally collapses or by some miracle all the liabilities are taken care of and not left to languish in the court system compliments of David Simmons and the entity is finally privatized/sold for a profit.

44. wait miller i think i remember tooooo,,that against the backdrop of retrenchment there was a law which OSA had implemented forbidding govts to cut salaries of public workers,, a pivotal role in pushing govt hand toward retrenchment ….. had not such a law been been implemented it could have eased the govt hand preferably to decreasing of salaries rather than wholesale retrenchment..

45. Trying to recall if this government asked the Opposition to join them in voting to amend the law to enable a cut in public sector salaries with a view to preempt sending home. They never did.

46. I believe Sinckler challenged Mia to help them amend the law AFTER the IMF told them that retrenchment is a must, it appears that it did not seem important to the DLP government to ask the Opposition leader to help amend the law BEFORE the layoffs, these idiots are in a class by themselves..

47. stop talking foolishness do……….

48. If all of us stopped patronizing these selfish and backword thinking companies. I switched from lime to flow where all their it and line men’s have been recruited locally bar a few supervisors. I gave my solar project to a local company and moved my business from h and be to smaller shops. I take time to make informed choices as to where I spend my money. Where it comes to Bizzy I stop listening to his drivel long time ago.