96 responses to “No Barbadian Qualified to be General Manager of Wordwell Restaurant”

1. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Well Well;
    re. your 5:50 pm post. It wasn’t to help them amend the law. As far as I can recall, He got up in the house and proposed that the BLP itself, LOL, bring a members amendment to the law which the Government would presumably support. Since they are the duly elected Government it had to be pure transparent froth and unadulterated trickery as all he really had to do if he was serious was to bring an amendment himself and shame the BLP into supporting it, as If they had any shame. In addition, the time was long past for that solution. Neither the Government nor the Opposition had any real interest in using the Sandiford model and possibly getting away from some aspects of the layoffs.

2. @Are-we-there-yet

Your comment is bang on. The government should have asked the Oppostion and forced their hand.

On 27 June 2014 22:41, Barbados Underground wrote:

3. BEFORE the IMF intervention and not grandstanding AFTER, as i said those idiots are all in a class by themselves, and they believe that no one is noticing, their yardfowls don’t notice for sure, they have been grown, programmed and extruded (shaped), and for some reason these two political parties believe everyone on earth has the same slavish and gullible mentality.

4. ac | June 27, 2014 at 5:34 PM |
    “wait miller i think i remember tooooo,,that against the backdrop of retrenchment there was a law which OSA had implemented forbidding govts to cut salaries of public workers,, a pivotal role in pushing govt hand toward retrenchment ….. had not such a law been been implemented it could have eased the govt hand preferably to decreasing of salaries rather than wholesale retrenchment..”

You go to some ridiculous levels to defend the DLP. What you wrote above is a lotta shiite. Perhaps you should take some time to thoroughly think through topics before running in haste to write nonsense.

After the public accounts committee revealed that funds were being allocated to the National Housing Corporation without parliamentary approval, Stuart immediately brought “An Act to repeal the Public Accounts Committee Act, Cap. 10A. ENACTED by the Parliament of Barbados as follows: Short title: This Act may be cited as the Public Accounts Committee (Repeal) Act, 2014”……. thereby inhibiting the process of the PAC.

If the DLP was serious about “cutting” salaries, two choices were available to them:

1. They could have explained the position and ask the opposition to join with them to make the necessary arrangements to facilitate the process of “cutting” the salaries.
    2. They could have brought a bill to repeal the original act, and since they out number the opposition, they would have secured the vote.

Why must everything with you go down to DLP versus BLP? It’s a shame that you have so much faith in these mortal men to the point that you are willing to throw common sense through the window.

THINK, WOMAN……. THINK!!!!!!

5. Art said:
    “THINK, WOMAN……. THINK!!!!!!”

Art……with what brain? and imagine 3/4 of the yardfowls have that low level intellect, somewhere between 30-32 1/2 IQ…lol

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

are-we-there-yet?

Please stop misleading yourself and others in the process.

The IMF instructed the Government to layoff 6,000 workers because, according to them, there were too many persons in the public service for a country with our population. The layoffs were first and foremost a mechanism to fit Barbados into IMF formulae. If Barbados had 6,000 fewer people in the public service with the then existing salary bill, there would not have been any layoffs because the IMF criteria would have been met.

Don’t you recall that the PM said to an audience at Hilda Skeene School that the ministries and departments achieved a level of savings the would have obviated the need for layoffs. Obviously, at that time Stuart did not understand that it was more about the numbers employed than saving money.

Oh, by the way, Sandiford model my ass! That man overspent in order to win an election and put the country in jeopardy. He then took draconian measures to corrected the self-inflicted damage to the economy. You are attempting to rewrite History to put a good face on Sandiford’s lunacy. Incidentally, do you recall that he increased his own salary and those of the other parliamentarians by 10% just before he imposed the 8% cut on the entire public service.

He is no hero to be emulated: he was a stubborn so and so who almost destroyed this country, Sandiford model indeed!

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

attempting to rewrite History@ CASWELL, the National Trust and Sir Crook UWI Beckles rewrote the books and History when they remove Beatrice Henry and Violet Beckles for the History books of Barbados

8. who de helll would have schemed up such a ridiculous law anyway and promote it as good goverance the piece of legislation was trickery and selfserving and should have never been passed in the first place now to hear alll the blp yardfowls foaming at the mouth about govt shoulda forced the opposition hand to repeal the law is laughable…

9. ac | June 27, 2014 at 8:49 PM |

“who de helll would have schemed up such a ridiculous law anyway and promote it as good goverance the piece of legislation was trickery and selfserving and should have never been passed in the first place now to hear alll the blp yardfowls foaming at the mouth about govt shoulda forced the opposition hand to repeal the law is laughable…”
    This ignorant person keeps blaming the BLP for the failures of the DLP…… come on…….. does this make any sense? Any person with reasonable understanding would see the strategy of the government forcing the opposition’s hand into supporting any legislation brought before the house.

You are the most ignorant contributor to this blog…. there is no reason or rationale in your thinking. You are the epitome of the old time uneducated, corned beef & biscuit, rum drinking, blind party supporter……. political yard fowl.

Maybe we may be the ones that are foolish……. perhaps AC’s support for the DLP is “tongue in cheek”……..

10. steupse,,,the truth is bitter,,,,,,,all u can counter response is with pitiful name calling all the igrunt laws that osa implemented has help to f up barbados,,,…

11. A few weeks ago a work permit was sought to bring in a non-national,as no suitable ,local person could be found for the position of Diesel Mechanic,and this is a country which from the early 1960’s had an envious Technical Institute, training persons for the City and Guilds of London Institute Certificate,and when that Institution was made redundant,the Polytechnic ably took over. Barbados over the years has provided fully trained ,certified and experience Motor Vehicle Mechanics to Canada , United Kingdom, the British Army, the United Nations and many other places. But what is a Diesel Mechanic? I have been in the business for many many years,and I still cringe when I hear someone described as a Diesel Mechanic. Such a position would be very limited in scope,and the immigration department should no allow this piece of deception to get past them.

12. that law turned out to be a negative now all you blp yardfowls must face that fact,,,,,good goverance means having to make choices that would eventually bear good fruit for all in the long term ,,,now in the short term the law bore good fruit for those who enjoyed and benefited,,.except now ..the fruit has become spoiled and withered,,, that was an asinine law ,,with favourable short term result ..and long term consequences,,,,,no bulll..now call ac whatever couldn’t care less,,,,i speak my mind,,,,,,,that is that,

13. Ac,
    You don’t get tired being called out for your blind loyalty to an inept incompetent government so much so that you come over as dumb and stupid? Girl no mortal man is worth the blind faith you have in these jackasses we have pompesetting as ministers.

You have no idea how ignorant you sound everyday blaming every mistake these wild boys make on OSA and the BLP. Here is a news flash, the BLP and OSA lost the government in 2008. Get a life woman and face reality! Stop being a DLP pimp. I was looking for you in Parliament yesterday…….did they not invite you…….after all the water you carry for them, you mean to say they could not at least send an invitation your way? That was not so nice at all!

14. why would u be looking for me a parliament,,,,,,,,,,,i for sure was not looking for you,,,,ac must be keep you really busy …first on the blog,,,now you all ova parliament looking fo ac,,,, steupsee to the rest of your sh,,t talk,,,,,,steupse,,,,,

15. You shame you aint get invited? I just thought that with all the water you carry for the dems on this forum day in and day out, they could at least reward you for your long suffering service! Look Guy Hewitt only talk and he has been rewarded handsomely! Joker, you! Stop carrying the dlp dirty water.

16. u really tek this thing real serious nuh..glad u didn’t see me cause u might have brek my neck…..lol

17. ac | June 27, 2014 at 10:38 PM |
    “,,,,,no bulll..now call ac whatever couldn’t care less,,,,i speak my mind,,,,,,,that is that,”

I admire your honesty….. your contributions to BU are inane and more often than not, they clearly exhibit a lack of coherence and careful thought. Your posts definitely exemplify your mind. Empty!!!!!

18. Why do you waste time boring other commenters with these exchanges with ac? It is what this oerson wants, to command attention. Ac is cluless about what haooens in Barbados.

19. Sucka

Our hope ought be that we progress towards a color blind society, which sees a human ingenuity that is geared towards the better good for every human being. Now, am I a utopian- ideologue or an eternal optimist? Perhaps a bit of both who knows?

SUCKABUBBY

Barbadians aren’t inclusive people at all and this mentality, I believe has retarded our progress as a nation. I knew a good friend who was from Dominica, when I used to lived in Barbados. And this was a former police in Dominica! And do you know that this Man wanted to join the Royal Barbados Police Force, as qualified as he was at the time, and their tried everything possible to keep this man from taking the written test because he was a foreigner. That’s the kind Barbados I once lived in and judging from Suckabubby bigot comment, it seems as though much have change on that tiny rockstone Bim. We have to be open- minded as well as tolerant of those who are different from us because that’s the only way our nation is going to realize its full potential.

“Fact is, most Caribbean people don’t walk into America fully qualified”

Duh! Who said that Caribbean people our any other people walk into America fully qualified? You and I are cognizant of the fact that America wants those persons who enter Her shores to make it on Her own merit. But at least America offers to every immigrant that enter Her shores, the opportunity to make on Her prescribed merit. You know that once you’re educated in the Caribbean that that is as far as your education goes, But a foreigner coming from America, Canada or England can use they education in any part of the world.
    So as I have stated earlier: foreign or domestic: we want to be able to utilize the potential of all, to enhanced our way of life. Listen! The Brooklyn Bridge in NY was constructed by immigrants, the Atomic Bomb which brought a decisive conclusion to World War Two was constructed by Germany physicists, who were immigrants. Come on now, America’s strength lies in Her willingness to offer to those immigrants the opportunity to use their human potential to better enhance our way of life here in America. Barbados and the Barbadians, has for far too long been enveloped in this xenophobic way of looking at the world. As a young lad young growing up in the Bridgetown area, I had met a lot St. Lucians immigrants who generally sold their commodities within the town locality. And you know, when I heard those people spoke, I couldn’t help but to think of those people as foreigners and beneath me. Until I migrated to America and someone called me a foreigner, then I thought about way in which those St. Lucians must have felt, hearing Bajans addressed them by this title and in their adopted land.

20. A bridge and a bomb.Boy some people too smart.I done.

21. David

David, you and the other BLP jokers here ougt to know that: AC is at liberty to express her opinion in what manner she sees fit. And if she is wrong as you seem to have concluded; regarding her loyalty to the DLP, then it is your job to convince her with a careful and a well crafted argument as to her short- sightedness. But your efforts to throw hot water rather warn water on her back, only serves to exacerbated the entire situation. Ya, I’ve heard the saying before, “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks.” But that’s a poor excuse coming from a ground of so call intellectuals who ought to be well verse in the area of persuasive argument.

22. Prodigal compared to the open warfare in the BLP the Dems are like young Kraigg Braithwaite growing more confident for the task at hand. One cant help notice a section of Bees beginning to warm to the DLP’s principles and embracing the bi-partisan route. We say roger to that.

Back at the funny farm you and the miller’s of this world die hard yard fowls refuse to take the mote out of your own eyes. The BLP is in disarray prodigal. OSA finish with Mia there is no fall back position. As the foreigner boy wasting taxpayers money at the campus Joseph opines she could as well resign. Is a confused party like the Bees ready to take Barbados back to the top. Is short me crutch Payne and a lisping Hinckson ever going to speak again except in a court case against each other.

Its diabolical the status quo in your beloved BLP you numbskull Prodigal. That is where your exertions should be on the impossible task of healing the BLP. In addition to that stop Presocd from telling the Jerome thing to piss off and so on.

Keep doing your thing AC your ventricles are in the correct spot you bleed Barbados. Prodigal, miller BU David not to mention anarchists caswell bushman etc want to see BIM implode. Its not going to happen under the united DLP’s watch.

23. the spin doctors for the blp is tp make ac ho away.but do far it hss not worked..even David Bu on occasion jimp in the fray with his ac (clueless) .be that it may .i am not discourage…but would. continue to speak my peace ..about a country which has run a muck because of laws that were dis guise to help country and poor ..but now has done more harm than good ..and the poor is now having to do the heavy lifting..that is what ac see ..no one has to agree..

24. “the spin doctors for the blp is tp make ac ho away”

Is that not what you are doing…….lol

25. @ Former Roebuck School Student | June 26, 2014 at 8:34 PM |

I wid you!. Too too much foolish pride that we’ve been swallowing fuh years. When dey tell we it aint shite it is a sausage, it seems that more accept it instead of reject and protest. Unfortunately, there are very few willing to force what is needed – strength in numbers. Will it ever end? When? The day of Neverary? Look many in the sea and want a bath.

26. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Without land reform ,Barbados will be slaves for the World .
    We not to own nothing or have nothing , just a workforce for the Americas, and taxed to hell by the DBLP fraud government ,

27. I would not go as far as to say no Barbadian is qualified. I’m sure there are many qualified locals who fit the bill BUT there could be legit reasons why and when this approach is carried out that you are unwilling to accept. I know Caribbean people who were hired for jobs, some in top positions outside their birth country.

We have to start by asking if any locals applied for the position? For all we know the ad maybe nothing more than a formality.

What if the company was considering a Barbadian who has lived overseas for many years working in this industry and opt to return home, or the person considered has Barbadian parents.

What is wrong if the owner of the restaurant prefers to bring or send someone from overseas that he knows of the person’s work ethics, skills, etc. and the person requires no type of training?

Unless or until we know the reason it was done we should not get up in arms, or pass blame.

28. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar

Most people will hire from their mainland country to watch their backs,Most bajans we met so far are crooks and they reflect the government , My own people must be at the helm of things in My business ,Most people know other people and things will walk out your door like PIG tails, cash to the Bank, 1 million from the CB of Barbados, Movers making STOP along the way taking your things, Ministers , lawyer, Senators, QCs, MOF , AGs, EX CJ, EX COP, and local police rookies named same last name as your AG, With a land of crooks , liars and Scumbags and no enforcement of the law ,
    Like SVG , You need your own people in place in other countries, ,
    We type this on first hand information no 2nd hand talk over the last 9 years . Inside the Island you will have to recycle the same trash over and over as laws and lawyers get you off for they doing the same junk.
    In this land of crooks , liars and Scumbags from the T O P to the Bottom , take no chances
    place out of control,

29. According to today’s Saturday Sun that is no Bajan qualified t be general manager of the Accra Beach Hotel either.

30. Next time you go shopping in Lime Grove,remember this:
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/louis-vuitton-sued-over-claims-3782920

31. I suggest that all Bajans leave the current two lame duck unions the BWU and NUPW who fail to fight to preserve jobs or even lodge a protest against this employment scam.

32. Adian Loveridge Avatar
    Adian Loveridge

Simple Simon, Yet a Barbadian is General Manager of the Trinidad Hilton and remember that Accra received almost $1 million of TIRF funds (taxpayers monies) to protect employment.

33. but the hypocrisy of it all is that the same people who are now critical .lambast barbadians as lazy…wuh kinda a message is that sending to investors,,,,,.if wunna cant’t support yuh own…don’t expect others to do so……,,as if enough of our privileges were not lawfully signed away,,,,,then comes along damaging words filtered out of the mouths of political a.ss holes talking crap which obfuscates and isolates

34. Saturday Sun of 28th June 2014, p. 31

Application for a work permit

Having received no suitable applications to our advertisement for the position of general manager for Accra Beach Hotel Limited it is our intention to submit an application for a work permit for a non-national to fill this position.

Any person wishing to object to this application should do so in writing to the Chief Immigration Officer within 14 days of the first appearance of this notice being Monday 16th June, 2014.

If you object lodge your application now. The contact information for the Chief Immigration Officer follows:

Chief Immigration Officer
    Immigration Department
    Careenage House,
    The Wharf,
    Bridgetown, Barbados
    Tel: 246-426-1011
    Fax: 246-434-4100
    E-mail: Imm-dept@caribsurf.com

35. Colonel……I am still to understand why people would even shop at those nasty little places like louis vitton who would be nothing without the same ‘slaves’ they love to gush about.

36. @Adrian

What happened to Martineau?

37. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

David | June 27, 2014 at 4:50 AM |
    “….The law requires that the work permit application is advertised which gives anyone in the public the opportunity to object. If nobody objects in writing…”

i made it a point to write a letter of objection to the Immigration Dept last year but i have yet to receive even a letter of acknowledgement of my letter.

38. David | June 29, 2014 at 5:57 PM |
    What happened to Martineau
    ………………………………………………………………..
    If our friend Carlton S was still around, he would have told you. There were two robberies at Accra, once most recently. It seems that Mr Martineau had security cameras installed, but their main purpose was on monitoring the activities of the workers, and while doing this, the thieves were able to boldly walk into the lobby from the beachside, unhindered.

39. Well Well | June 29, 2014 at 5:18 PM |
    Colonel……I am still to understand why people would even shop at those nasty little places like louis vitton who would be nothing without the same ‘slaves’ they love to gush about.

For the same reason that many Bajans will continue to patronise Super Centre Supermarkets, which has been taken over by the Trinis and streamlined , with some branches slated for closing down, with the loss of hundreds of jobs, directly and indirectly. And to add insult to our festering injuries,today it was announced that all of the Super Centre signs and logos , were to be taken down today,and replaced by Massey.
    And as they say, From one Massa to another Massy.

40. All the Bajan brands are disappearing, Almond, Supercentre…

41. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Next on the list for change is name Barbados ,to be replaced with the Trini handle, Bareboo.

42. @CASWELL,
    DO YOU REMEMBER THAT BEFORE SANDIFORD (SIR LLOYD ERSKINE) IMPLEMENTED THE INCREASE IN THE SALARIes, OF MINISTERS, THERE HAD BEEN A SALARIES REVISION IN THE CIVIL SERVICE? DO REMEMBER THAT THERE WAS 9STILL IS 0 regulation on the books that require that permanent secretaries etc should not receive salaries and emoluments higher than the ministers? Do you recall that if the ministers were not given these increases there would have been contravention by Government of it’s own regulation, since some civil servants’ salaries would achieve this objective ?
    Be honest!! It’s time you were.
    Alvin Cummins

43. @well well,
    surprised at you. Who really shop at Louis Vuiton? Only the rich an famous and there are lots on the west coast,like Oprah /Winfrey, Tony Blair,Wayne Rooney, and many more, who not only vacation there 9spend time at Sandy Lane, come in for golf tournaments, or have homes there.
    They cannot these items at Pelican Village. Ease up
    Alvin Cummins

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

That is absolute rubbish. There is no such regulation.