Do we have press freedom in Barbados?

BU read the story Media For Rent, Press Freedom For Sale in the Trinidad Express (31/05/2014). There is the belief –  a mistaken one – in Barbados we should not worry about threats to press freedom which have appeared in Trinidad, Guyana and a few other places in the region. We have become so comfortable in the mistaken belief that there is no need for the Barbados Association of Journalists (BAJ) to function. The only reason it serves is to pad the resume of the holders of the various offices of the BAJ.

A scan of the local media houses sees the Barbados Advocate pro-government in content. The CBC TV 8 has been manipulated by successive governments and it is no different with the current government. Many who watch TV 8 news and read the Barbados Advocate struggle to acquire an appreciation for what is truly happening in the country. The Nation’s focus is on sensationalizing news to boost sales and pander to advertisers by watering down content which offends. The Voice of Barbados tries but there is room for improvement. The elephant in the room is the concentration of ownership by one entity which continues to go ignored.

We have not reached the level of prostitution by media houses compared to Trinidad but we are not far behind. There is no bona fide financial reporting therefore the media houses continue to allow the financial sector to go largely unchallenged. When Kaymar Jordan got too aggressive at the Nation newspaper she was jettisoned and now has to seek a wage at the Harris Williams controlled Barbados Today.

Until local media practitioners demonstrate a level of courage and independence, social media, including Barbados Underground, will continue to be followed by Barbadians who seek alternative views. To the detractors of BU and social media, our role is not to replace traditional media, and yes we get it wrong sometimes.

62 responses to “Media Houses Falling Short”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is obvious that you are an insomniac.

The mainstream media operates out of political loyalty and or fear. You support the Government or you get harassed and taken to court. Like public employees, journalists have families to support and they toe the line.

2. @David. “…….and yes we get it wrong sometimes”

But most of the time you get it RIGHT and have broken most of the major stories in the last 5 years. Some of them that the traditional media refused to touch and by so doing breached the trust of the people they purport to serve.

When you join the army, you know that there is a risk of going into battle and being wounded or killed in service of your country. When you set up or join the Fourth Estate, the risks are also there in the service of your community/country. Think of Watergate and the risks those journalists took and the pressure on the Washington Post to fire or disown them. The fact that the Barbados journalists and media houses are looking after their jobs, their tenure and their bank books is no excuse – they should have thought of that before becoming journalists or owning Fourth Estate businesses. If they cannot stand the heat, get out lf the fire. Go and become door-to-door salesmen. Or Avon ladies. Or stay home and have coffee mornings where they serve only Sanka.

3. @Caswell

Blogs can be scheduled!

@Amused

Good comment, we need to visualize what happens if we support the status quo.

On 2 June 2014 07:36, Barbados Underground wrote:

4. While CBC cannot escape being the organ of BLP/DLP when either one is the government. there is no excuse for what is obviously a very poor quality of journalist in our country. They are their own enemy and making excuses for them is not going to help. They themselves have narrow political objectives that fit not nicely to their careers. Let’s stop blaming the politicians because they are all sleeping in the same bed.

5. ooops that should read : “….fit IN nicely to their careers.”
    Entire sentence: “They themselves have narrow political objectives that fit in nicely to their careers .” My apologies.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The blogs (this blog) is not a place to get it right or get it wrong. The information presented on the blog (this blog) are most of the time generalizations with snippets of truth (well large snippets) presented with much gusto and at times a bit of bias. Thus facts presented on here will required further authenticating to prove their worth in mainstream usage. However, that being said, the blogs does offer the alternative in the form of direct “cut ass.” and lambasting. Where else can you call the thieving crooked politicians by name and expose their true nature. Certainly not by the contaminated mainstream media. And I bet you that the media houses, politicians and a greater part of commercialized Barbados read these blogs daily to find out if their secrets are being told.

7. My concern is with the media in Barbados which have yet to reach the type of maturity where follow up stories and documentaries become part of their staple diet. Much of what the Nations brings is not informed by follow up. I am yet to see some story of substance being pursued to some completion, except when something breaks in the US or Europe!!

There seems to be some inbuilt fear by the media in Barbados. may be we need to strengthen legislation to allow the media to get the job done. I clearly remember years after the Truth and other source of information were sued out of existence and mover and shakers in Barbados were applauding the move, but the general public became the poorer for information. Hence, we now have a situation where currents news is treated as a feel good enterprise to be controlled by he who pays the piper.

This is why I have predicated a more strident move to break BU or bring it under their control. What is said here will only be said here and no other place else in Barbados!!

8. Well said Amused….

That said however, don’t you think that your balanced and thoughtful (if not always correct) contributions are BADLY missed?
    Don’t you owe it to Bajans to resume your high level inputs to BU?

Skippa…..the thing that Bushie likes most about you is your persistent optimism – even in the face of overwhelming evidence that that optimism is hopeless and totally misplaced.

…..now you are looking for performance from the media houses…LOL Ha Ha Ha ….oh shirt..
    You REALLY don’t get it do you….? …..the concept of brass bowls…?

These people are just a bunch of lackies looking for a little pick…
    There are no principles, moral, vision, commitment, love or any such virtues involved….
    Caswell is EXACTLY right.

Name any of our media luminaries who would not take up a PR. Posting in ANY organization in Barbados next month – pushing any message that they wish- for a 20% salary increase….
    ….name one that would make contributions to BU free – in the public’s interest…..
    Peter Wickham is typical…..rushed to BU when he was dumped by the Nation and CBC…..and left as soon as his as was paid for by someone else…..

The problem is not just bad politicians and bad politics….it is that we have a large population of brass bowls in ALL areas….
    Bad schools and teachers led by sir Cave
    Bad politics / economics led by Freundel / Sinclair
    Bad legal system led by Sir Marston and the retarded AG
    Bad business – taken over by Canadians, Trickidadians and whoever
    Bad medical and health
    Bad agriculture
    Bad culture
    Bad churches
    Bad tourism
    Bad labour relations

…..what do you expect from the media?

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The media in this country is a reflection of the society itself. Starting at the top, we have politicians who break every election law on the books to get elected and none of the officers, who are charged to administer the law, ever take action against these corrupt politicians. The PM and AG stated that they were saw vote buying and did nothing.

Barbados is a society of: hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. And the vast majority of us are happy with that. What else do you expect from the media.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

This “conditioning” effect that politicians used for years in making themselves out to be above reproof has become an accepted norm by many in the Barbadian society. It is an expected and excepted reality that politicians, lawyers, and other government and influential persons will steal, lie and corrupt. To them and wider society this behaviour is lawful. All others are condemn by the law and dealt with by the law.

11. Lemuel | June 2, 2014 at 7:31 AM | “What is said here will only be said here and no other place else in Barbados!!”

What is written here can be printed and distributed when the time comes for that to be done.

At least the Nation published this so at least the big ups and politicians have to be concerned.
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/spynet/

12. Role model for Bajan journalists/reporters?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robyn_Doolittle

13. JOURNALISTS WILL NEVER KNOW WHO IS FRIEND OR ENEMY.

I read the above views regarding the fourth estate and not being aggressive in the distribution of news. Amused afraid to informed the public… “The fact that the Barbados journalists and media houses are looking after their jobs,”. Probably, you might be right, but you must also realised that from Martin Luther King, the late Mandela never had freedom of expression and we living now still and will never have freedom to express the sordid affairs in any part of the world where politics is supreme. Even if a courageous journalist tried to exposed sinister acts, you must remember who pays his/her salary, or who influenced the payment of that salary. Bush Tea usually talk about “brass bowls amongst us, but journalist are human too with homes and hungry mouths to feed. Yes, David is doing a fantastic job protecting bloggers who are so-called journalistic frauds since we all operate under secret monikers and have not be exposed as yet.

These are facts regarding honest journalists killed for exposing wickedness. Amused and Bush Tea Take a read….

“Most of the killings it has documented over the years involve people who are covering news in the places they live. That was the case, as well, in 2013.

Many of the deaths occurred during combat, or among reporters covering conflict zones, but journalists in several countries were also murdered after reporting on sensitive subjects.

Reporters and commentators who covered police misconduct, political corruption or drug trafficking and other sensitive topics were slain in separate incidents in Brazil, Colombia, the Philippines, India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Russia.”

Even a Trinidadian journalist gone into hiding after doing his job. Is it worth it!!!!!!!!!!

I say no more.

14. @ Tell me Why
    …..Bushie will desist from any brass bowl references….

But what exactly did you think the job of “journalist” involved?…drinking milk…?
    Boss…
    – Policemen risk their lives EVERY DAY
    – Firemen can be called to risk theirs at ANY moment..
    – Doctors expose themselves to ” lord-only-knows-what” every time some patient walks in…
    The list goes on…soldiers, nurses, well diggers, sanitation workers, construction workers…..

…so why the hell would journalist who are – FRONT LINE IN PROTECTING SOCIETY’s VALUES – expect to have risk-free employment?

Perhaps you are speaking of the little sissies we have who should restrict themselves to Corporate newsletters and Sunday school brochures …..and Bushie is minding his own business…but you can’t mean real men of the ilk of Burton Hinds…

See why it is so hard to desist from the metallic talk….? 🙂

15. Bushie……and what happened to Hindsee TRUTH paper. Through the eddoes.
    Yuh see wuh ah mean. Politics reign supreme.

16. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Actually, Mr Hinds died.
    And in any case NO ONE WANTS TO HEAR THE TRUTH IN BARBADOS
    You have to speak in euphemisms.
    You cant call a spade a spade.
    You have to change the vocabulary you learned as a child to be politically polite, when you know better.
    What a PSEUDO SOCIETY!

17. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

re Doctors expose themselves to ” lord-only-knows-what” every time some patient walks in…
    ONE OF THE REASONS I QUIT AND WENT TO TEACH IN OFFSHORE MEDICAL SCHOOLS.

I got tax free money and no risk of HIV/AIDS complete with TB and a host of other diseases resulting from immunosupression.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

So Tea Bush are you saying that Barbados is so far gone wrong that its a near impossibility to bring it back right because a lot of the principles and norms are accepted wrongs?

19. @ Sunny Sunshine Shine
    ….have been saying that for years now….

20. @GEORGIE PORGIE | June 2, 2014 at 10:57 AM “I got tax free money”

There is no such thing as tax free money.

If you aren’t paying your taxes, then you owe some government or the other taxes.

Pay up.

21. Sunny ask bushie “Barbados is so far gone wrong that its a near impossibility to bring it back right”
    Bushie responded “.have been saying that for years now…’

Here is what I think is possible.

When there is no Forex,
    When there is no “Low Tax income”.
    When a Bds $ is worth 10 cents.

Then Bajans will realise that the necessities of life do not include BMWs and Mercedes Benzes.

That is when Barbados can start true Nation building.

22. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Anonymous | June 2, 2014 at 12:25 PM |
    @GEORGIE PORGIE | June 2, 2014 at 10:57 AM “I got tax free money”
    There is no such thing as tax free money.
    If you aren’t paying your taxes, then you owe some government or the other taxes
    .=================
    JACKASS!
    IN SOME COUNTRIES WITH OFFSHORE SCHOOLS AS AN INCENTIVE FOR THE SCHOOLS TO HAVE STAFF TO ALLOW THE COUNTRIES TO SURVIVE AS LONG STAY TAX HAVENS< THE STAFF PAID NO TAXES AND WERE MADE IN US DOLLARS – IN ONE CASE CASH!

NO STAFF NO SCHOOL
    NO SCHOOL NO OVERSEAS STUDENTS TO RENT HOUSES AT EXORBITANT PRICES ETC

I DIDNT MAKE THE POLICY I JUST ABIDED AND BENEFITED THEREFROM

I DONT PLAN TO APPLY TO THE OFFSHORE SCHOOL IN BARBADOS

23. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BUSH TEA
    Do Bajans still say GOD BLIND YA?

or do they say ” I BESEACH THAT GOD WILL ALTER YOUR VISUAL ACUITY SUCH THAT IT TENDS TO 0/0?

24. Hants:
    I was making the point that it is only within an environment like BU that we could say what we want anonymously or not. But your point is taken.

25. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

at GEORGIE PORGIE | June 2, 2014 at 12:59 PM |
    it should be long stay student tourist havens
    c.f St Kitts, Dominica, Grenada, etc

26. Tell Me why:
    If the journalistic environment in Barbados was similar to those detailed by you, many of our journalists would not be practicing. May be we need some of drug pushers to wake them up with a threat or two!!

27. Can anyone tell me what the hell Dumbville Inniss did at the QEH for the 2 plus years he was Minister of Health that the hospital has degraded to the level and to such an extent that it is now being complained about on a daily basis? is he calling on Bajans to also admire that crap he did, whatever it is? there is no good news coming out of the QEH.

28. I understand Lemuel but I was just reminding all and sundry that if we need to “get the message out” we can mobilize those with access to printers to print “flyers” and place in strategic locations like Fish markets. get my drift?lol

29. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

re lemuel | June 2, 2014 at 1:14 PM |
    Tell Me why:

If the journalistic environment in Barbados was similar to those detailed by you, many of our journalists would not be practicing. May be we need some of drug pushers to wake them up with a threat or two!!

or the BULLERS & WICKERS LIKE THEY HAVE DONE IN JAMAICA

30. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I believe it will take such a crisis to wake up bajans to a dreaded reality . When that happens expect mayhem, chaos, possible warring.

31. Georgie:
    I aint mentioning a thing about a buller or wicker here. You want me to have to wash my mouth again on that woman called Island. However, I shall defend the cause of morality and good living!!

32. @ GP

It seems as if you have managed to hit Balaam’s ass out of the oval with all dem long hops he’s been bowling. I haven’t seen him around for the whole day!

33. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOL LEMUEL
    WASH YOUR MOUTH IF YOU HAVE TO LOL

DE HOOD
    Balaam’s ass IS BEST BEATEN BY IGNORING HIM
    HE IS NOT THE FIRST ONE OR THE ONLY ONE WHO HAS COME ON BU TRYING TO DISCREDIT GP, BUT GP WILL AY WHAT HE HAS TO SAY

AND HE NEVER SAYS “I IMPLORE THAT GOD WILL REDUCE YOUR VISUAL ACUITY” WHEN HE WANTS TO SAY GOR BLY YUH

34. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

PROTESTS IN MONTEGO BAY AGAINST PROF BAIN’S DISMISSAL – LATEST NEWS

ST JAMES, Jamaica — Scores of church members have converged in front of the University of the West Indies (UWI Western Jamaica Campus along Queens Drive in Montego Bay, St James staging a protest against the dismissal of Professor Brendan Bain as head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART network.

The protesters who are clad in black and who have taped their mouths, gathered along the roadway since 8:30 this morning.

They plan to carry on their peaceful protest up to 11:00.

The placard-waving demonstrators are receiving strong support from horn tooting motorists passing by.

Horace Hines

35. @Sunshine Sunny Shine
    “And I bet you that the media houses, politicians and a greater part of commercialized Barbados read these blogs daily to find out if their secrets are being told.”

Quite true. But the best part, and particularly beneficial to the public is when they tell out each other’s secrets:) The public then gets access to information that would otherwise not have been in the public domain. Of course we have to filter it because some of it is disinformation and propaganda by the political lackeys and yard fowls.

36. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

The psychological strategy of the homosexual lobby

BY DR Leahcim Semaj Sunday, Jan

Feburary 8, 2012

I take issue with the recent discussion describing Jamaican people who see homosexuality as dysfunctional or deviant as being sick people. This is what is done when one subscribes to the concept of “homophobia”.

Once persons refuse to accept the agenda that homosexuality is normal and healthy behaviour, they are labelled as sick, they have a phobia. How did we get into this mess?

Psychosexual Disorders can be grouped into two main categories: The first is sexual dysfunction: when physiologically normal functions fail, eg inability to respond to erotic stimulation with arousal, erection or orgasm, or when interest in sex is diminished or absent.

The second is sexual deviance: when a sexual behaviour violates the laws, or social norms of a social group or society. Prior to 1973, Psychosexual Disorders were defined in the following categories:

. Homosexuality, . Paedophilia (children), . Incest, . Voyeurism, . Zoophilia (animals), . Frotteurism (rubbing on strangers), . Necrophilia, . Transvestism (cross-dressing), . Urophilia (urine), . Mysophilia (filthy surroundings), . Coprophilia (filth, brown shower), . Klismaphilia (enema), . Troilism (sharing your partner and watching), . Masochism, . Sadism, and . Various fetishes.

Most of these have been retained in the psychological literature, but in 1973 the American Psychiatric Association removed homosexuality from the official manual that lists mental and emotional disorders.

Two years later, the American Psychological Association passed a resolution supporting the removal. For more than 25 years, both associations have urged all mental health and other professionals to help dispel the stigma of mental illness that many people still associate with homosexual orientation.

Yet all the other psychosexual disorders and perversions have been retained. Why?

Since 1976, the APA has divided homosexuality into two categories, Egosystonic and Egodystonic. This distinction proposes that people who are sexually attracted to their own gender and happy with that situation are normal, while those who are unhappy need help. Why this one disorder? Why not any of the others?

In 1994, the American Psychiatric Association, in its Diagnostic and Statistical Manual IV, removed paedophilia as a sexual perversion. This event was followed in 1999 when the American Psychological Association released an APA Bulletin report, A Meta-Analytic Examination of Assumed Properties of Child Sexual Abuse Using College Samples.

In this report, Bruce Rind, et al, claimed child sexual abuse could be harmless and beneficial. This led to a situation in which Illinois State Representative Bob Biggins introduced House Resolution 325 damning the APA Rind study.

Later that year, the US Family Research Council held a press conference in Washington, DC. Here a coalition of members of Congress, child protection advocates, child abuse victims and public policy groups charged the APA to renounce the Rind study. This conference was largely ignored by mainstream media in the USA.

Concern is being expressed that the American psychological and psychiatric establishment are now setting us up to engineer a cultural endorsement of incest in the same way that the endorsement of homosexuality was orchestrated.

On July 28, 2004, the American Psychological Association finally showed its hand and announced its support for legalisation of same-sex civil marriages and opposition of discrimination against homosexual parents.

They concluded that denying same-sex couples legal access to civil marriage is discriminatory and can adversely affect the psychological, physical, social and economic well-being of homosexual individuals.

The report stated that prohibiting civil marriage for same-sex couples is discriminatory and unfairly denies such couples, their children and other members of their families the legal, financial and social advantages of civil marriage.

We now understand the full agenda: It begins with tolerance, then acceptance, then endorsement, then finally that we recognise same-sex marriages. This is inconsistent with my understanding of the order of the universe.

Years ago, Suzanne Dodd proposed that: “The Western World is quickly adopting the concept that homosexuality is a viable alternative lifestyle. If your son decides to marry another man, you are supposed to smile and say, ‘That’s nice’.

Be aware that soon enough we will be expected to see two men get married, and unless we smile and say, ‘That’s nice’ we might lose all our foreign aid.” (Money Index #366; page 46) Are we now there?

Alice in Wonderland approach to sexual behaviour

The use of the word “gay” is an attempt to remove the negative connotation inherent in the concept of homosexuality. The word “homophobia” implies that anyone who does not endorse and ‘big-up’ homosexual acts is sick.

The objective is for us to be on the defensive.

Why is it a “phobia” to not love homosexual acts and other perversions and to resist the pressures to give private perversions the status of public acceptance?
    If we accept homosexuality as “normal” behaviour, why not accept all the other perversions and dysfunctions also?
    If we believe that persons with the other perversions and dysfunctions are in need of help, why are not the homosexuals?
    The poet Haki Madhubuti reminds us

That which is normal for us Will never be normal for us As long as the abnormal defines what normality is

Are there historical precedent and consequences for these actions? I believe that it is time for Jamaican psychologists to be straight with the people of Jamaica as to what our position is.

Are we following the dictates of the American Psychological Association? Or do our experiences, history, culture and heritage tell us otherwise? Mine do. I do not accept that homosexuality or any of the other perversions or psychosexual dysfunctions be endorsed as being part of what we identify as normal and healthy behaviours.

I would like the homosexual lobby to provide me with some answers to the following questions.

As we try to understand order versus disorder, I realize that two central components can guide us. The first is THE MODEL OF PERFECTION. This tells me that in any society there are certain values which are passed on from parent to child. These help us to understand what the ultimate values are. For example, we will hear parents say “I would love for my son to be happily married and have a family” or “I would love for my son to get a good job.” Have you ever heard someone say or will you yourself say “I would love for my son or daughter to grow up to be a homosexual”?
    2. The second component we can refer to as THE MODEL OF NATURAL ORDER, i.e. any behaviour which facilitates our collective survival is automatically good. It may be pleasurable for the individuals to engage in behaviours which do not fit this profile but we cannot give the behaviour endorsement or public acceptance because to do so could pose a threat to our collective survival. If everyone started to do so, the consequence would be quite disastrous. Does homosexuality fit within the model of natural order?

1. One a writer raised the issue of homosexuality being about love, “how can we be against love”? Well, why do we not also endorse those who are in love with donkeys, sheep, goats, and dogs? We refer to these behaviours as zoophilia or beastiality. What about those who are in love with dead bodies? Should we also publicly accept these private perversions?
    2. The DSM III defines homosexuality into two categories, egosystonic and egodystonic – this says that people who are homosexual and happy with it are normal, while those who are, and are unhappy need help. Can we expand on this? What about those who are into zoophilia (animals), transvestism (cross dressing), pedophilia (children), incest, voyeurism, frotteurism (rubbing on strangers), necrophilia, urophilia (urine), mysophilia (filth), coprophilia (filth), klismaphilia (enema) and various fetishes; As long as they are happy with themselves, should we not consider them normal?

SEXUALITY AND THE BIOLOGICAL IMPERATIVE

This term I teach the Physiological Psychology at the University of the West Indies. As expected, the North American text has a section dealing with homosexuality and the biological causes. They explore a range of data and a number of findings but interestingly, the conclusion is as follows;

“There remain also the possibility that a person’s lifestyle may affect the structure of parts of his or her brain; thus, the difference as mentioned… could be the result of people’s sexual orientation rather than the cause.” Foundations of Physiological Psychology, page 278

I wonder why we are motivated to look for biological causes of same sex preference. Why don’t we also look for biological causes for fetishes, animal preference, dead body preference, stranger preferences while we are at it? The evidence points in the direction of a group of individuals wishing for public acceptance for their private perversions.

Leahcim Semaj is a consulting Psychologist:

37. @ GP
    You surely can’t get it any plainer than that!

38. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

BAIN SUPPORTERS STAND FIRM
    Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer

There are indications that booted head of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training Network, Professor Brendon Bain, is not taking his dismissal lying down.

By all indications, nor are prominent church leaders, retired politicians, students of the University of the West Indies (UWI) and other Jamaicans who continued their protest outside the gates of the institution yesterday.

A swollen crowd of demonstrators yesterday vowed to fight to the death to keep freedom of speech alive, despite the threats they say have been revealed by Bain’s dismissal.

The UWI removed Bain from CHART last week, arguing he had lost the confidence of a significant group of the programme’s constituents after he provided a report for inclusion in a Belize court case. The report was used by church groups as they argued against repealing a law that criminalises homosexual activity.

Gleaner sources have indicated that the university could be dragged before the courts for wrongful action in bowing to pressure from the gay community.

But placard-bearing protesters signalled that they would not be awaiting a court decision as they continued to take UWI administration to task.

Clad in black, the protesters yesterday increased the tempo of their stance against Bain’s dismissal.

As occurred last week, they were supported by numerous motorists who honked their horns in solidarity with the protesters as they passed the demonstration.

“As long as I am alive I will seek to address this issue. If me dead, ah so, but I will fight until then,” declared 88-year-old O.D. Ramtallie, a former parliamentarian who has suffered three strokes in recent years.

Head of the New Testament Church of God, Bishop Wellesley Blair, declared he would rather “die than switch”, echoing a message he has preached for decades.

Other notable ministers of religion on hand were Blair’s brother Herro, the former political ombudsman; Al Miller; and Sam Green.

Michael Young, a businessman who claimed to have lived through the “San Francisco experience” – the United States city is known for its large and thriving gay community – warned that the system was chipping away at what was regarded as the social and moral fabric “as we know it”.

PM UNDER THREAT

Public commentator Richard ‘Dickie’ Crawford was also out, with return protesters Shirley Richards and Betty Ann Blaine, who continued to lash out against UWI’s action.

Crawford warned that the homosexual community was likely to soon be calling for the resignations of Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and other government ministers.

“They have started to lash out because the prime minister has not had the buggery law repealed and they have attacked the opposition leader because he suggested a referendum,” he said.

Piercing heat descending mercilessly on the area, but failed to deter the growing number of protesters who marched slowly.

Her eyes fixed, a young woman in an advanced state of pregnancy kept pace.

Another young woman and her four-year-old also kept up with the crowd.

Students of the university said they were in mourning over the death of free speech in Jamaica.

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com
    Read more http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20140527/lead/lead4.html

39. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ya damn right hoodie
    notice that the jamaica media houses not like ours!

Hundreds sign petition defending Prof. Bain
    printshare0 comments
    Hundreds sign petition defending Prof. Bain Brendan Bain.
    THU, MAY 22, 2014 – 7:30 PM

KINGSTON, Jamaica — In a dramatic show of support for former CHART Director, Professor Brendan Bain, more than 550 people across Jamaica have signed an online petition delivered directly to the email inbox of Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies (UWI) Professor E Nigel Harris, in only a few hours.

The signatures, according to a release by the Citizen Stakeholders, were also sent to the Principal of the UWI Mona Campus, Professor Archibald McDonald, and the President of the West Indies Group of University Teachers (WIGUT) Anthony Perry.

The petition was launched Wednesday night by a diverse group of citizen stakeholders who are primarily UWI lecturers, students, scientists, medical doctors, ordinary citizens, and other interested parties “who are deeply concerned about the dismissal of Professor Bain. While they differ in their religious, moral, or political beliefs, they all agree that the dismissal was wrong in principle.

The petition reportedly demands an immediate public apology from the Vice Chancellor over the “unjust dismissal of Professor Bain”, who is a retired UWI professor and world renowned expert on the research, treatment, and public policy related to HIV/AIDS “with an unblemished career of over 25 years”.

Professor Bain was dismissed by the Vice Chancellor as head of CHART after pressure from certain interest groups following his submission of an Expert Report to the Belizean High Court.

The petitioners reportedly join several non-aligned professional groups, including the Medical Association of Jamaica and the Human Resource Management Authority of Jamaica who have expressed deep concern and disapproval over the dismissal.

They list five main reasons, further elaborated in the petition itself:

1) Professor Bain did nothing wrong;

2) There are no legitimate reasons to lose confidence in his leadership;

3.) The dismissal limits our access to empirical scientific research and information;

4) The dismissal prevents medical experts and research professionals from freely carrying out their mandates; and

5) I believe that you failed in your duty to uphold justice and act in the broader interests of the public.

The Citizen Stakeholders, through their petition letters are telling the Vice Chancellor that they believe “that empirical scientific research and confident researchers are too important in the fight against HIV/AIDS for them to be threatened and dismissed because of the political ideologies of a few interest groups”.

Meanwhile, the group also denounced the firing as wrong since no objective reasons were given, and that the Vice Chancellor ignored the fact that Professor Bain made no legal recommendations, and should have been bold enough to tell special interest groups who inferred that he did so, that they are wrong. They also expressed concern for the future of the UWI, stating that they are “not confident after the unfair dismissal that UWI will remain a centre for open and objective scientific research”.

In addition to an apology, the Citizen Stakeholders demand that the Vice Chancellor address 14 points of clarification, including clarifying “whether Citizen Stakeholders and governments should expect that the public policy suggestions by the UWI and/or CHART will be based on empirical scientific research or based on the political ideologies of certain interest groups”.

The release said that Vice Chancellor has not yet replied. (Observer)

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Jamaica needs urgent action to save LGBT people’s lives

http://76crimes.com/2013/09/14/jamaica-needs-urgent-action-to-save-lgbt-peoples-lives/

WHAT THIS ARTICLE REALLY SHOWS IS THAT THE BULLING AND WICKING ACTIVISTS IN JAMAICA SEEK WINS AGAINST SOFT TARGETS LIKE BRENDAN BAIn
    HOWEVER, THEY ARE DOING NOTHING TO HELP THE HOMELESS BULLERS ON THE ISLAND BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT IN THEIR SOCIAL CLASS

WONDER IF PETER WICKum AND OTHER PROMINENT BULERS AND WICKERS IN BARBADOS ARE WILLING TO GO TO JAMAICA AND GO ON THE STREETS TO HELP THESE PEOPLE

COME AC WID ALL YOUR TALK, COME AND GO AND HELP THESE PEOPLE

41. A good place for media practitioners to start is to organize themselves, get the BAJ vibrant, speak with one voice.

42. Thank you, Bushie, for your kind qualified comments. I have been extremely busy and dealing with a family health crisis (now resolved, happily) and have had little time for anything else. I am sure you know how those things are.
    David says, “…….we need to visualize what happens if we support the status quo.”

He is answered by you Bush Tea | June 2, 2014 at 7:46 AM | and by @Hants | June 2, 2014 at 12:46 PM |.

The fact is that the level of corruption in Barbados is now so great that it is likely to take a complete breakdown of the society and infrastructure before any corrective measures are taken. If that happens, it will take us decades to recover the international respect and relative financial ease we once enjoyed. And all because some brass bowls were voted into office on both sides of the political divide, whose sole imperative in life was not to serve their country and the electorate that gave them their vote, but to line their own pockets. And in so doing, they set an example for others to follow. Our foreign investment market is in tatters, because no one will invest in a country in which the justice system is dead and buried. Tourism in decline, because of negative international press. Long gone is the ethic of hard work, now it is grab whenever and however you can – and why not – the country’s leaders do, so who shouldn’t everyone else.

As for the fourth estate, it is far easier for it to sing a song of sub judice, even when something is not sub judice, than to face down threats for reporting matters that are fully documented and grounded but explosive – unless, of course, it meets with the needs of whichever political master they may be serving. This, frankly, makes the fourth estate completely irrelevant.
    Thank God for BU!!!!

@David | June 2, 2014 at 6:00 PM | “A good place for media practitioners to start is to organize themselves, get the BAJ vibrant, speak with one voice.”

Yeah sure. Like getting the Bar Association to speak with one voice. Like getting the bench to come together to eradicate a backlog that is now almost 4,000 cases. Won’t happen unless there is some material advantage, or serious penalty, involved. Also, I am not sure that the problem lies with the journalists, but rather with the editors and news organizations themselves who curb the journalists using sub judice as an excuse..

43. Amused:
    Good post!!

44. @ Amused
    You can’t know how badly you were missed…..
    Really glad that your family health situation has been resolved….

45. I don’t know if I was dreaming, but I heard something about a downgrade. Is it in Barbados?

46. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This nonsense about downgrade is only making me laugh. We are already at the bottom, we can’t go any further down. But we did!

47. our rating is still quite far from the bottom caswell even with this latest downgrade.

48. BU has become a playground for the anti bullin an wickin brigade.

Hopefully when they are finished with their latent fantasies we will get back to discussing what is truly important.

“@ Amused glad you are back and that all is well.

This is interesting. Bajan politicians beware of “Canadians bearing gifts”.
    The Freedom of information act in Canada does not exempt anyone.

http://www.canadianlawyermag.com/legalfeeds/2102/karigar-handed-three-years-in-jail-in-bribery-case.html

49. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

What is truly important Hants?

Politics? Commerce? The economy? Crop over? Tourism? Our culture?
    What?

Your latent fantasy comment is down right nasty.

The fact that bullers and wickers are universally seeking to control the world is NOT A LATENT FANTASY. IT IS REAL!

AND IT NEEDS TO BE DISCUSSEDl