Do we have press freedom in Barbados?

BU read the story Media For Rent, Press Freedom For Sale in the Trinidad Express (31/05/2014). There is the belief –  a mistaken one – in Barbados we should not worry about threats to press freedom which have appeared in Trinidad, Guyana and a few other places in the region. We have become so comfortable in the mistaken belief that there is no need for the Barbados Association of Journalists (BAJ) to function. The only reason it serves is to pad the resume of the holders of the various offices of the BAJ.

A scan of the local media houses sees the Barbados Advocate pro-government in content. The CBC TV 8 has been manipulated by successive governments and it is no different with the current government. Many who watch TV 8 news and read the Barbados Advocate struggle to acquire an appreciation for what is truly happening in the country. The Nation’s focus is on sensationalizing news to boost sales and pander to advertisers by watering down content which offends. The Voice of Barbados tries but there is room for improvement. The elephant in the room is the concentration of ownership by one entity which continues to go ignored.

We have not reached the level of prostitution by media houses compared to Trinidad but we are not far behind. There is no bona fide financial reporting therefore the media houses continue to allow the financial sector to go largely unchallenged. When Kaymar Jordan got too aggressive at the Nation newspaper she was jettisoned and now has to seek a wage at the Harris Williams controlled Barbados Today.

Until local media practitioners demonstrate a level of courage and independence, social media, including Barbados Underground, will continue to be followed by Barbadians who seek alternative views. To the detractors of BU and social media, our role is not to replace traditional media, and yes we get it wrong sometimes.

62 responses to “Media Houses Falling Short”

1. Sorry GP but Hitler tried to control the world and failed.

I am surprised that this one group could be so powerful that they could control the world.

Unlike you I have been forced to be tolerant of Homosexuals because I live in Canada and Gay bashing is a hate crime.

I also believe what 2 CONSENTING adults do to and with each other in the privacy of their own home is their business.

I will admit that you God and a comprehensive understanding of theology to help you in these matters.

I don’t. I am not a practicing church going christian and haven’t read a bible since sunday school so I have to accept that when I am planted, I will be on a direct route to hell.

I will now return to topics that will help me make decisions about money and property.

2. Hants:
    Last word with you on this. There are things which when not regarded can come and put a deep bite in your behind. Because you have taken the easy road which you think works for you, it does not mean that others must choose that road too!!

3. Oh for Heaven’s sake, GP, keep the bulling and wicking discussion for the numerous posts on BU that deal with precisely that subject matter and where it will be Bushman, you and others vs some who have SWMBOs like Ross and myself, along with other liberals like the lovely Islandgal and others of persuasions unknown to me. This is about how the fourth estate has betrayed the trust of the people of Barbados. Stick to the damned point and stop trying to turn it into a soapbox for your homophobia which, as you profess to live in Canada, if you expressed it publicly and unanimously there would end up with your criminal indictment. We are discussing how an entire nation is being betrayed by those sworn to serve and inform it.

@Bushie. Thanks. It is a pleasure to be back.

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AMUSED
    DO YOU WANT ME TO START UP AGAIN?

I HAVE NOT LOOKED AT THE GLEANER TODAY YET

WATCHING CRICKET

CANADA IS TOO COLD FOR ME
    I LIVE IN FL
    BE A GOOD BOY NOW

5. @ lemuel wrote “it does not mean that others must choose that road too!!”

I do not try to lead anyone. My children are now adults and they can lead themselves.

I am responsible for me,myself and I.

Read what I wrote at June 3, 2014 at 12:51 PM | above slowly and you will see the clarity of my opinion.

6. Here is a cricket video fuh yuh GEORGIE PORGIE

7. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

HANTS
    THAT IS SERIOUS CIRCUIT TRAINING MAN AND AEROBICS LOL

8. @GP. Since when do you think I have a problem with starting up some blowhard whose bully-boy tactics comprise solely of capitals? Consider yourself started.

9. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

LOL AMUSED
    CAPITALS DUE TO THE CATARACTS MAN
    BE GOOD

10. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Hants | June 3, 2014 at 12:51 PM |
    “I don’t. I am not a practicing church going christian and haven’t read a bible since sunday school so I have to accept that when I am planted, I will be on a direct route to hell.”

Proverbs 18:21; death and hell lies in the power of the tongue…there will be a day when u will deeply regret those words if u continue as u are

11. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

AMUSED
    WHAT DO YOU THINK OF THIS LEGAL OPINION?
    Professor Bain has successfully led CHART, apparently despite his inconvenient opinions now publicly expressed, for more than a decade. So, the problem can’t be his views or the fact that he holds them. If he’s opposed to repeal of buggery laws, he’s been so opposed since CHART’s inception without reprimand. It’s that he exercised his constitutional right to express those views in a Belizean court, thus publicly embarrassing foreign funders who decided his evidence was incompatible with his job.
    In the face of persistent hounding from said funders, UWI has a “prime (constitutional) duty” to “respect and uphold” Professor Bain’s right to freedom of expression, no matter thefinancial cost.

Paying lip service to respect for Professor Bain’s freedom of expression (as Dr Carolyn Gomes repeatedly does in her recently published open letter) won’t do. SHE MUST RESPECT AND UPHOLD IT. She can’t approbate and reprobate at the same time.
    What exactly did Brendan Bain say in his affidavit?
    “As a physician and public-health practitioner, one of my responsibilities is to assess behaviours … impact on health and well-being. When something is beneficial, such as exercise …, it’s my duty to recommend it. Likewise, when something is harmful, like smoking, overeating, alcohol or drug abuse, and unsafe sexual behaviour, it’s my duty to discourage it …
    “This report shows that the relative risk of contracting HIV is significantly higher among … MSM in Belize than in the general population. This is also true in several other countries for which data are available, including countries that have repealed the law that criminalises anal sex and countries where the law still applies [my emphasis].

“Some public-health practitioners … have hypothesised that decriminalising … anal intercourse among consenting adults would lead to a reduction in the rate of HIV infections among MSM. To date, published data have not substantiated this hypothesis [this doesn’t contradict the hypothesis simply reports that it hasn’t been proven].”

Professor Bain closed with the following certification:
    “… I’ve been given no instructions by any party, by any person representing a party, or by any other person with respect to this report. The report represents my own opinions based on my professional experience … . The opinions expressed in the report are mine and should not be attributed to any institution with which I am associated [my emphasis].”

So, Professor Bain was fired for expressing a personal opinion as an expert in a case, under brief from no one, which he expressly ensured COULD NEVER BE ATTRIBUTED TO CHART or UWI.

As a litigation lawyer, I know Professor Bain isn’t the first or last expert witness with whom some litigant disagrees. Lawyers know what to do. Another expert can testify. Questions can be put to Professor Bain (in writing). If lawyers bugger up a case by neglecting steps to deal with damaging expert evidence, they can’t thereafter blame the expert.
    whatever “duty” the UWI imagined it owed to bullying funders, it also owed a constitutionally overriding “prime duty” to Brendan Bain.

What ought UWI to have done? UWI should’ve sought legal opinion to show its funders that, as much as it’d love to help them teach Bain obsequiousness lessons, it would be unconstitutional to do so. Instead, it chose to become a whimpering, spineless institution; to abandon its academic ideals; and to cower before the might of the gay lobby

12. @Smooth Chocolate I have still retained some of the moral teachings I remember so I will be polite and say go enjoy yourself by any means necessary.

@ GEORGIE PORGIE,

GO BUY YOURSELF A TOUCH SCREEN LAPTOP.

I GOT AN HP PAVILION TOUCH SCREEN AND YOU CAN ENLARGE THE SCREEN WITH YOUR FINGERS.THEN YOU CANUSE THE CAPS FOR SHOUTING. LOL