22 responses to “Dr. Walter Rodney Must NEVER be Forgotten – Revolutionary, Thinker, Intellectual”

1. All I have heard about Dr. Walter Rodney thus far is the circumstances surrounding his untimely death. Now, since David has referred to Dr. Rodney as a intellectual as well as a revolutionary thinker; it would be interesting to ascertain what he has done to revolutionized the political paradigm in the region? And what Rodney has written to influenced as well as to informed the thinking of the people of the Caribbean and beyond?

2. Dompey…..use google,it works……Rodney’s books are all documented there.

3. is item: How Europe Underdeveloped Africa by Walter Rodney Paperback £13.49 …. The Guyanan intellectual Walter Rodney wrote this book directly after the …

4. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Well Well | May 16, 2014 at 5:45 PM |
    YOU ARE TOO OPTIMISTIC HERE
    HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN THE SAYING “CARRY AN ASS TO WATER..BUT

5. Well Well

I know better than to trust that medium as a reliable source of information. I would expect a nincompoop like Georgie Porgie to do so because let’s face it: he hasn’t the critical – thinking skill that is conducive to contemporary academics.

6. The video posted articulates the basis for describing Dr. Rodney as an intellectual. One only needs to know how to click start to roll the video.

Instead what do have, a life form trying to debate jobby because is fits an agenda in a particular household.

7. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

DAVID
    RE One only needs to know how to click start to roll the video.

YOU ERR SIR.
    ONE CAN NOT DO THIS IF THEY ARE BETZPAENIC
    FURTHERMORE, CARRIBBEAN PEOPLE KNOW OF RODNEYS TEACHING IN AFRICA AND AT MONA, BEFORE HE RETURNED TO HIS NATIVE GUYANA.

MANY BAJANS MET HIS DEAR WIFE WHEN SHE WORKED IN RADIOLOGY DEPT IN THE EARLY 80’S

8. David

Has Dr. Rodney’s work gained international acclaimed? And was his opinion respected in the academic world? I do not have to read the man’s autobiography to know that Dr. Rodney’s intellectual influence was minimum at most. The late Dr. Eric Williams has had a greater impact in the world of academics that Dr. Walter Rodney because his work can be found in every major library in the US. I have never seen Dr. Rodney’s any where in the US.

9. Georgie Porgie

So you’re saying that just because Dr. Rodney taught in Africa as well as Mona, that makes him an intellectual? I wonder how you would regard Sir Arthur Lewis? His work in economics has gained international recognition.

10. David

What I have gathered from the professor who wrote the book on Dr. Walter Rodney’s contribution to the political thought is this: he seems to express the view that even though Dr. Rodney may have been a revolutionary thinker as well as an intellectual, his ideas haven’t had the kind of exposure due in part to the underdevelopment of the Caribbean intellectual thought at the time. And that’s the point I was trying to convey above, regarding the international as well as local expression of Dr. Walter Rodney’s contribution to the political thought. The most a young conscientious West Indian like myself had heard about Dr. Walter Rodney in the 1980’s, were the circumstances surrounding his untimely death.

11. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dompey

“..Self conscious shaping of an intellectual tradition…”

What is being posited here is self actuation which we blacks, chattel of the british empire, would would know of Steve Job’s books and Shakespeare, the ideas that they espoused that we would know of our own.

Click on the video and watch the interview and see for yourself what is being presented.

It is of note that the number of posts on this blog are themselves emblematic of the disregard for internal instruction and intellectual discourse that we as a black people have for things black.

Long live the plantocracy as it is embedded in the black collective consciousness of Bajans and Caribbean peoples of Colour.

You yourself may possibly be a statistic to show how we are unwilling to accept the contributions of sons of the soil …

This is not an ad hominem remark but a dispassionate observation of being where we are…

12. Dompey…….if you were buying pizza in Barbados since 1924, why the hell do you not know about Walter Rodney? i was a mere child and knew of him and his INTELLECTUAL WRITINGS, which part of Barbados you said you were from again? oh yeah, behind District ‘A’, station hill, you sure you were never a guest in there, in those days the cops beat black men in their heads even worse than today, did you fall as a child, on your head……..

Arthur Lewis is/was just like you, he was told half the story and believed all the fantasy.

I bet you if i go to the New York Public Library on 5th Avenue and ask them to pull up writings by Walter Rodney those writings will be there, as a matter of fact, on the corner of 49-50th street in Hell’s Kitchen also has a public library where you can find Rodney’s writings, it might be too much to ask you to check the Brooklyn Public Library.

GP…….Dompey, ac and a few others on BU make Caribbean people look like illiterate, backward asses, i am sure if you ask most Europeans, North Americans about Rodney, they would quote you chapter and verse, the saying in NY is really true………”if you want to hide something from a ni**er, put it in a book”

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Oh lawd, Well well oh lawd…

You have used de N** word and AC gine get you ban fuh dis, it all ovah, banned for life…

I can see it now “Well known (no pun intended) bloggist Well Well in invoking the N** word that Jeremy Clarkson (and Sterling by proxy) recently intoned and were chastised for all over the world, was today Banned for Life from the ever popular BU”

“For the new readers of this (unbelievable) news worthy of mention on the BBC (where Clarkson does wuk), BU, is the Electrom=nic Tome of Wisdom where the illiterate Barbados Parliamentary Representatives, 58 of them, come daily to get a bearing on their failed economic policies”.

“The cuntry of Bulbados, with its population fo 300,000 Bajans, 200,000 guyanese illegals, and a DPP who is also a Guyanese” (FYI: checks are ongoing as to whether DPP Charles Leacock is an illegal but since they involve the Chief Immigration Officer Erine Griffith, slowpoke entraordinaire, one does not expect any resolution to that problem)

A cunt-current, sorry concurrent check with the Census department to determine if the DPP is illegal, is also proving fruitless since, having cuntducted (man dis cuntputer really acting up today) the census in 2010 at a price of over BDS8 million smackeroos, the Head of the Census Department has been unabul, sorry unable, to give a correct c(o)unts as confirmed by the CIA World Facts publication.

However a read of the parallel World Fvcks website goes on to state that the island in fact has 60 representatives, or representatives in waiting, and 58 of them are cvunts.

As a matter of passing iterest (Who fvcking Cares) around the same time that the Grammy awards are being announced World Fvcks.org has also been giving rankings and awards to the johnies that abound in Bulbados, and wider afield in the Caribbean.

It would appear that for the last three years the prestigious award for BCB (Biggest Cvunt in Bulbados) has been locked in a court dispute between Mo Fo (short for minister of Finance, Chris Sickliar, who incidentally also holds the Cannes Award for the “Lied-est Man in the Caribbean”) Patrick Todd (who incidentally was a student of the University of the West Indies for 10 fvcking years until he got his degree after exhausting every single faculty at Cave Hill, Hilary wuh love tuh have Todd as he student now wid dem yearly academic fees) and Ronald We Jonesing Minister of Educashon (who is also moonlighting as Chairman of the Family Planning Association. You will all recall how We Jonseing has recently promoted a plan to breed de Guyanese illegals to increase the populations so that there will be more people to buy produce and bring the island out of the economic tailspin)

Well Well you done ban fuh real…..

14. Well Well

First and forth most, thanks for the compliment because it really does a lot to enlarge my self-worth as well as my self-esteem. In any event, a few years ago Ross and myself had had a conversation regarding the notoriety of the philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein. I told Ross that I had never heard of the guy ever, but he insisted that every philosophy student ought to have a basic knowledge of who Wittgenstein was .
    So I embarked on a quest to asked the educated snobs in my area, if their have ever heard of this character called Wittgenstein, without much avail I may add. Now, despite the contribution Wittgenstein has made to the field of philosophy, the average American has had little or not knowledge of this man. The philosopher Bertrand Russell, even described Wittgenstein as, ” The perfect example I have ever known of genius as traditionally conceived; passionate, profound, intense and dominating.” So we should apply the same scenario above to Dr. Walter Rodney: he may have been a force of change within the Caribbean menu, but his ex posture was curtailed by an underdeveloped Caribbean intellectual tradition.

15. Well Well

If Dr. Walter Rodney is supposed to be this paradigmatic shift in the political consciousness of the Caribbean people. Why wasn’t his contribution mentioned in the Social Studies I took in secondary school during the 1980’s? I have been around politics in Barbados for quite sometime and all I have heard mentioned of Dr. Rodney, was the events surrounding his premature death. It is a sad state of affairs in the Caribbean intellectual tradition, when Fidel Castro the communist revolutionary, is better known than the intellectual Dr. Walter Rodney.

16. Well Well

If you read Dr. Rodney’s autobiography meticulously, you would have realized that his ideas really came to life during his short stint in Tanzania, between 1968 to 1974, which leaves a six years period prior to his assassination. And this led me to concluded that his recognition within the Caribbean ambiance, took on a meaningful existence after his assassination.

17. Dompey…….i really believe it’s wonderful that Dr. Rodney’s ideas came to life at all in that period of the 70’s and he should be commended, he was decades ahead of his time…..compare him with the politicians that are currently in Barbados and give me your review…..Barbados still believe they are british and white and therefore will find it difficult to even acknowledge Dr. Rodney as one of their own, as long as he is exposing European centuries old greed etc, the government would want to spare feelings at the expense of destroying the knowledge base of the pupils in Barbados.

18. Well Well

Dr. Eric Williams of Trinidad and Tobago, exposed the dynamics of European Economic Colonialism in his book: Capitalism and Slavery. So why isn’t he celebrated in much the same light as Dr. Walter Rodney?

19. Well Well

Dr. Cheddi Jagan, Michael Manley, Errol Barrow, Lester Bird, Eugenia Charles, Dr. Eric Williams, Forbes Burnham and Dr. Walter Rodney etc, were all enveloped in a post colonial mindset.

20. Well Well

I must state unequivocally and categorically, that I have never fell the irrational fixation on Britain, you have claimed envelopes the collective conscience of the Barbadian people when I lived in Barbados.