fast_food
A woman eating fast food – theguardian

Ras Iley in his magisterial work asked Inez to come down, but Bajan women after 500 years in a strange land are showing signs that they are determined to regain that matriarchal place, formerly held, in African societies, though this new dispensation may, in many ways, be very different from ‘traditional’ practice. Ras Iley might have been calling Inez, but now all Bajan women are calling on men to come down. Come down from patriarchy, come down from chauvinism, come down from misogyny, come down from the ways of massa. In fact, men are more and more being beckoned to go down, to heaven, as a condition precedent! Skinner talks about a new status quo. The fish cakes, tapioca and bakes that Ras Iley seems to like from his Inez are not as generally available to Bajan men these days. For Inez has the stove turned off more often than not. And Inez cares not as much about this ‘dated’ male expectation. This modern Bajan Inez has her own money in her pocket and is the central driving force behind the evolving local economy. A party economy where she is the central force, and calling the shots.

These too sweet Bajan women got Bajan men spinning. For new levels of freedoms exposes Ras Iley’s  tooo sweet, toooo sweet, tooooo sweet…. to the attentions of others. Or is it theirs? This is merely one of the new and normalizing freedoms of this growing power of the Bajan ‘woo unto man’. The Aquarian Age has reached Barbados, at long last! It is a new normalcy that sees dozens of fast food chains, all of which are doing good business.

There is not as much time to cook anymore and the holidays provide no particular incentive to spend hours slaving in some place formally known as a kitchen. Inez might even decide to build her next house without such a place of bondage. There were times when this almighty Bajan woman was teetered to a stove, barefoot and frequently pregnant, no more sir! This modern Bajan woman must now navigate certain new operational procedures that are consistent with openness to western ideas of sexual freedom, intellectual independence, social leadership and economic self-determination. Newer forms of older social technologies are being deftly employed by this Bajan woman as she insist on absolute ownership and control of self. The Aquarian Age has located the Bajan women in lock step with her sisters elsewhere. Women are more broadly defining when, where, how and with whom they’ll have children, or not? They are choosing to rare their children alone, if they want to. To forgone interactions with men, if the cost benefit analysis fails certain benchmarks. To rely on electronic devises to advance a certain level of regularity, efficiency and effectiveness, if needs be. To explore a range of options that may include sperm banks, sperm donors and specific capture. This growing normalcy may very well see polyandry emerge as the answer to the polygamy that has always been practiced in Barbados, especially up until the 1910’s when this popular, open and acceptable family formation was de-legitimized by the then ‘established’ Anglican Church.

Ras Iley’s Inez may be soon asking him not to ‘come’ home tonight, or to sleep in the next room, or on the couch, or a firm ‘request’ for a numerical ‘disadvantage’. Bajan men have no choice but to move steadfastly to adjust to the new rules. This is not the time to spend a generation to acclimatize to this environment. On the other hand, there are still too many women in Barbados and the rest of the world who yet live in the old dispensation, the dispensation of Ras Iley’s Inez. Men must act, in their own interests, and hasten the elevation of all women to their rightful place. A place determined by them, and them alone.

31 responses to “Come Down, Inez”

1. At last….an awesome piece. And yes…the Age of Aquarius is a reality. Now let us see how this very apt posting turns into one of hate, racism, insults et al. Or perhaps the male species will surprise and add positivity to the above. That would be also awesome. Very awesome.

The freedom of women is really just about taking back our respect. Our own respect that belongs to us and always has…a respect we allowed the male species to turn into a sort of ‘subservient equity’.

As a free woman, I want to respect men and I want them to respect me as an equal…that is all. I do believe many women, if not all, simply ask that at the end of the day. I do not want to have to ask or beg for it, I just want it to be there naturally. I no longer want to have to work for it either…and work for it harder than anyone else. I just want it to be there. Easily. As easy as breath.

Unfortunately, like in the way of many men, there are women who are tempting the fate of that respect…in their quest for ‘equality’ they are being very unequal – a road we need not fall into as it makes our path to where we are seem almost rude. And there are still those women who because of ‘whatever’ in their life, disrespect themselves. Believe ladies, t is not possible to move forward to equality as long as this continues. Love yourself my friends, and you will love others and they will love you. Well. Deservedly well. Respectfully well.

Women…we need to grow above and not below in mind…we need to stand besides and not over. Men you need to recognize this with humility. Not allow. Not let it be. Just get it…’cause it hey to stay. At last.

Freedom of the mind, respect for humanity and its nature, is true equality. Live it for happiness. Happy Mother’s Day to all who have given birth, and to all who have not – but have ‘mothered’ – no matter what sex. We should have Mother & Father’s Day every day of our lives actually instilling same in our children so they may pass it on through time immemorial. Utopia.

2. (function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id; js.src = “//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1”; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));
    Post by Women's Web.

3. well said rosemary…men takes an afront.intrepreting woman taking control of their lives one of lack of respect for male masculinity which could not be further from the truth ..rather than seeing the female seeking freedom from the shackles of dominace and control.

4. I must say that this is perhaps one of the finest articles I have ever read. Pachamama certainly addresses a very important topic from a position of great understanding of the evolution of the Barbadian woman. I hope that teachers who read BU will use this piece in their classrooms. Absolutely brilliant and refreshing.

5. All true – and as Rosemary says, it’s not about replacing one tyranny with another.

6. But to probe a little……

Is it OK for the female of the species to have lurid sexual fantasies? Consider Catherine Millet’s “The Sexual Life of Catherine M’ or Erica Jong’s “zipless f…” in ‘Fear of Flying’.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY SWMBO and my Mom and all those who’ve given me love and care down the arches of the years.

7. (and even if, in the end, you betrayed me – as I betrayed others)

8. This seems to be only happening among the career oriented women. This is not a reality among the most women found at reggae on the hill or in the bashment parties. We are also raising a generation of young females within the present secondary school system who will sure not be those career women. Not trying to be negative but this is a reality I see.

9. Career driven or not many of today.s woman would never put themselves in a situatiuion to be control by men,,in the manner which the older generation of woman did ,,,,,most woman would opt out of being marriage before going back to a place of domination…….further more with all the options woman have to choose from as the article indicates ,,they would be fools to do otherwise,.,

10. robert ross | May 10, 2014 at 10:31 AM

Is it OK for the female of the species to have lurid sexual fantasies?.

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    YES…..Ross
    seems like you grow up in a sheltered environment,,,,,,sheltered away from truth and reality,,,,,,,,weird,,,,

11. not at all big boy…you miss the point of the question….which is…

do we still see women as sugar and spice despite what we say, despite the welcome revolution…or can we now say authoritatively they are as puppy-dog tailish as you ac?

12. Bushie:

If the writer of this piece is correct; just now you gun get a bossy woman ordering you bout the house. My problem with the assumption is that it does not locate from any point of view the natural run of this inezation of Bajan men. Could it be that all Bajan men shall conform or does this inezation promote men looking towards one another as the fairer sex? But remember Bushie, nothing beats human companion, not even a battery operated man or woman!!

13. Bushie;

I now remember what this piece reminds me of. Women like Inez in south Korea have now to purchase the services of men or women based on their preference. They have money but companionship!!

14. Lemmie why are you calling the Bushman’s name bout hey. You see him pon dis discussion? Yuh trying to entice him over here but Bushie knows best when to stay outta de fire. Keep up yuh mischief making and when yuh get yuh balls burn doan blame me!

15. Island:

How you my love. i am behaving myself and you know that I can take care of myself. Last time I called the author of the piece name that old fart Hants all from Canada accuse me of taking over the blog. You aint see I keeping quiet.

16. Shiite man Lemuel…..you MEAN you have to involve Bushie in this bassa bassa nuh….why not let sleeping bushes lie….? 🙂

As Bushie has long said, if you ain’t got horse, yuh does ride cow. In the absence of REAL men, who can blame women from adapting accordingly?
    If women are forced to adapt to things like building a career rather than raising a family because a lotta the males are sissified fruit cakes ….Bushie will be the last to condemn them.

Just to say that THIS IS NOT THE WAY IT WAS DESIGNED, and hence you can be GUARANTEED that it will come back to bite somebody’s ass in the end….

No men = no leadership = no safety = no peace = no future
    No families = no discipline, no peace, no future
    No real men = no defence against REALLY NASTY enemies = death

There is a way that seems right to Pachamama, Ross and ac, …but the END thereof is the way of death and destruction…..

17. Bushie:

Doan mind Island; I know you would have a stout opinion. I am with you on this one. Again let me repeat an effeminate man can not come out fighting like a LION!! I doan care what Island say!!

18. LOL @ Lemuel
    …what are you talking about? Wuh Ross is a “soft-man apologist”….Did you not see him looking to put some licks on Pacha recently down by University Drive? ….in the middle of the day….? (Ross has to be home by dark or his ass locked out… 🙂 )
    …Bushie was going to peep, but the bushman had a hunch that both you AND BU-David would be down there – hiding in the space that Sir Cave Hilary just cleared out for Mandela Park…..so Bushie stayed at home….
    You feel Ross would beat a woman….?

19. Bushie:
    I am not calling any names before that old fart Hants call my name again. I had to tell David that Mandela Park was not a good place to hide !!!

20. Bushie said “No men = no leadership = no safety = no peace = no future
    No families = no discipline, no peace, no future
    No real men = no defence against REALLY NASTY enemies = death”

Which gender do you see is in charge of BIG business and government? Which gender starts and makes wars? Which gender walks away from family? Which gender you see leading churches? Let us face it this has been so for centuries and it is not working. MEN are liars, warmongers, selfish, clueless, abusers and molesters!

Get real you keep saying that men should grow some BALLS. Grow a VAGINA instead! They are tough and can take a pounding!

21. Island:
    I hope you aint saying that that special thing of your “beat up”? We also have a history of women running kingdoms in Europe and engaging in warfare. Queens of England, Spain to name a few. I hope you aint suggesting men grow a vagina so women could avoid the “beat up ” thing?

22. Happy Mothers Day to all BU mothers. A woman’s role is integral to the success of any community.

On Sunday, 11 May 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

23. BT

Lol. Well I was there you know…closeted with a woman bank ‘manager’. Shame the big boys didn’t join me. But of course you are right. In ‘her house’ one tyranny has taken over from another..

What I have tried to insinuate here is the question of whether when a man talks enthusiastically about women’s rights and gender equality the reality is that he is, in fact, merely being patronizing, ie’ yes my heart you are equal to me; now get my dinner.’

I have to say that in my experience all too often when I’ve met a female with ‘authority’ they work inflexibly by rule books, are unimaginative and inflexible. Do we say ‘well like slavery there’s a long way to go’? By contrast a fella is generally flexible and accommodating so far as lies within his power.

Last night I watched the film ‘The Wicker Man’. In a discussion which followed the film Christopher Lee spoke of some fella in derogatory terms. His argument was that you could see what kind of fella he was because when he, Lee, entered his room with his wife the fella didn’t stand up – as he should have because a lady had entered. Now that is really what I was asking obliquely in my first question about sexual fantasies. Yes, of course, women have them. The very idea of the ‘zipless f….’ says so. But as men, have we really come to terms with it? And was Lee confused in expecting someone to stand up merely because his wife, as distinct from anyone, had entered?

24. @ Ross
    Ha Ha …Bushie had an idea that you had a previous appointment in the area…..you don’t come across as the violent type…
    Had to be a large deposit….cause John just said that wunna fellows don’t need to borrow any money from banks….unless um is to buy half the country – like COW…..
    You tek a big risk though, cause if Pacha was in the country you could have been in for a serious set of lashes yuh….you don’t read the passion in Pacha?

25. @IG246
    Get real you keep saying that men should grow some BALLS. Grow a VAGINA instead! They are tough and can take a pounding!
    Just when I thought that humour and satire had taken leave there is this unintentional ? gem of a pun, I raise a glass of bubbly to you.

26. BT

LOL …But of course I had an appointment. That’s why I said that time at that place The invitation was still real and if the fella really wanted to mix it – so be it. But no – I don’t regard myself as the violent type. Equally I’m not a coward and, doubtless like the rest of us, have had to deal with big little men (quelle horreur – even little big women) all my relatively long life. Besides – I boxed at University – at least that’s what I tell my kids.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I read this thrice to ensure that I understood the writers basis for the many Inez claims made. I am not one to take sides because objectivity has far greater meaning than generality but analogies are applicable to the subject at hand. Well written pachamama.

Indeed women, career oriented women, whose liberation by their brain has enable them to have a new profound sense of inward awakening are absconding from the Lords’ that put rings.” There is no longer, amongst career oriented women, the feeling of inadequacy or reverse volitionism, which has subjected the will of women to the perceived overpowering will of the man. The new age women has a sense of liberty that is allowing her to rise to the pinnacle of successes once occupied and dominated by men and indeed she rightfully deserves to do so. Our place in the world of success should not be marred by vaginal experiences or the suckling of breast to achieve but by the abilities that exudes the perseverance of a focus mind in hard work that becomes the task of accomplishment or conquer-ment

28. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The vast majority of women are not of sound educational background or expose to the liberties that exist beyond the Barbadians shores that would help her to open her mind far beyond the past down thinking of her fore-mothers. Thus this piece is written for liberated educated career oriented women. When we examine closely the percentage of those who are trapped in the prisons of the colonial thinking it is a very a high percentage thus to propagate the age of Aquarius as arising or has risen will need more than a generalization of the few liberated for a stated claim to take a rightful precedence. This is because the percentage of non educated women are far higher than those who are educated and liberated. I stand however to be corrected when I say, that they can be no liberties even with education if one remains within the confines of 166 sq miles of a 275 thousand plus population with thinking that still echoes the sounds of reverse massa mentalities, gender inequality and discrimination as well the continuous non stop harassment of on the job sexual advances. Too many men still see women as meat because their eyes cannot get pass the distraction of our curvacious asses or full breast. We remain in their eyes objects of desire and not equals in opportunity.

29. asking bajan men to grow up is liking asking the sun to fall from the sky,,,,,first of all they are too arrogant……think they know everything there is to know about the female,,,border like nuisances ,,,,,,,can;t stand when woman have an opinion..still believe that woman is the cause of everything wrong in the family,,even when it is their fault,,,,,, and nothing the woman does is never good enough for them….look i am yet to find a bajan man who understand the meaning of “womans liberation”……to them it is a four letter word , which has taken away much of their power…. and in their dwarf ,like minds..belies that liberation is much to blame for any or all problems in the home from potting training to who is going to pick up the children after to school,,,,some of these men are so ridiculous one even had the nerve to say out loud,,that the word OURS only applies when his wife gets pay,,,,,, LOL gimme a break

30. Saw a piece on China and the impact of its economic explosion. Apparently, some men are being kept by their wives; the men remain home and the wives bring in the money. I guess Inezation is on the move!!