72 thoughts on “Pope Francis: One Giant Leap for Humility

1. I was trying to see if the other cubicles were manned by priests and if his action was “spontaneous” or planned?

I guess that with so many charlatan priests, the catholic ones who are up front in the paedophilia cases, a pope that resigns, a replacement one who is doing these “not so standard actions”, we have to take it all with “a pinch of salt”

2. It’s amazing how acts for the marketing of the biggest marketing con job in the history of mankind could attract such attention. Francis presents a patina of ‘progress’, however this is another mini deception within the larger criminal deception that is the church, generally. All churches, not only the devil’s representatives on earth themselves, the Catholic Church.

• Interesting in the ABC report Pope Francis is referred to confessing with an ‘ordinary’ priest.

3. @Pachamama,
    You may be correct in your assertion. However you should never underestimate the power of organised religion. It remains till this day the “opium of the masses”.

4. Pingback: Pope Francis: One Giant Leap for Humility | Black In Barbados

5. Interesting that Pacha, the scourge of white flesh, assumes there’s a devil. Did he get to you too and can we blame it on slavery?

Piece

Isn’t life itself a “pinch of salt”?

6. @ Robert Ross
    Your simplistic gibe betrays your oftentimes attempt at pseudo-sophistication in the use of your Queen’s language. How many times must this writer state, as a point of departure, that everything in your popular narratives is a lie. Whether that means the existence of your god or his co-conspirator, the devil, and everything in between. The whole construction is a pack of lies. Poetic license permits this writer to use the language of your system to turn its lack of logic on its own head. Maybe these you are not accustomed to Black people who can think for themselves while rejecting everything that you are and benefit from.

7. The thing about a Pope that has to be understood is unlike the Presidents of China and India who can only claim responsibility for a billion people, the Pope has a “following” of a billion people … and that is serious political power.

• Peter Wickham is on prime time radio today pulpitizing the view that men should be made to stop beating women period and MESA et al should not air the view that we should ALSO discuss the causal factors.

8. women does mek yuh beat them
    they ask you to beat them
    women as seen in little girls are difficult creatures.
    I wan to admit something
    not previously admitted before it was admitted here
    and may not be admitted hereafter it is admitted at this time than it is admitted because it is not being admitted because somebody said that it should be admitted before it was admitted .

Women provoke men
    I am on the radio now (VOB) making that statement

9. Yagga
    I agree… but its best you hit the wall before you think of put your hands on her… especially on this side of the river… where the laws are implemented to favour the women. The judges in this part of the world, won’t think twice about throwing a brother behind bars for allegedly putting his hands on a woman.

10. The post has no commentary. But to get to basics, if you “leap” for humility you commit the sin of vainglory, you become a Pharisee. I am sure that Pope F is fully conscious of what he is doing and the effect it has on the faithful since he is not an automaton. But I think that he is doing what comes naturally to him, that he is refusing to allow the stale conventions dictate the person he is. In this sense, he is a completely ‘moral’ person…and, yes, I love him for it.

11. Good…with Yagga that makes FOUR.

“hitting the wall”….lol….we should start a ‘hit the wall club’. BAF can advise about T shirts.

12. David

If that’s what he says then he also has to take the view that women should stop beating men in the way THEY know best – else he’s talking through the wrong orifice. As is properly accepted these days, ‘violence’ is hydra-headed.

13. David | April 1, 2014 at 10:44 AM

“Peter Wickham is on prime time radio today pulpitizing [sic] the view that men should be made to stop beating women period and MESA et al should not air the view that we should ALSO discuss the causal factors.”

David is angry. Wow. Just wow.

Unless a man’s life is under direct threat, there is no conceivable circumstance in which it is legitimate for a man to beat a woman. None.

Dave, though, thinks there might be some “causal factors”.

What are they, Dave? Give us just one example. We know you find it hard to write grammatical sentences and think, but make an effort here Dave.

What are the “causal factors”?

And Dave: it never helps if you write out your punctuation. You don’t have to say “period”. You just write the period. Anything else makes you look like an idiot.

14. I wonder what it means precisely for a man to “beat” a woman. Is a slap a ‘beating’? Is a ‘lick’?

15. robert ross | April 1, 2014 at 2:47 PM |
    “I wonder what it means precisely for a man to “beat” a woman. Is a slap a ‘beating’? Is a ‘lick’?”

A slap is violence. In most jurisdictions of my acquaintance, it is assault. Won’t get snared by “lick”.

Not important.

What’s important: “David” has told the entire world that there might be “causal factors” underlying a man’s decision to assault a woman.

What are the “causal factors”, Dave? Give us just one of them.

16. Peter Wickham’s true colours show up when some of these moral topics come up.
    He pointed out that two men or two women can be evenly yoked. I take it that he supports same sex marriage.

17. Clone | April 1, 2014 at 4:22 PM

“Peter Wickham’s true colours show up when some of these moral topics come up. He pointed out that two men or two women can be evenly yoked. I take it that he supports same sex marriage.”

Excellent, Clone. Well said.

Now, “David”, can you offer the world just one (ONE, just ONE with exclamations and smiley face and lol) of those “causal factors”? Or are you just a dick?

18. CHURCH FEUD

There was a feud between the Pastor and the Choir Director of
    the Hicksville Southern Baptist Church …

It seems the first hint of trouble came when the Pastor preached on ‘Dedicating Yourselves to Service’ and the Choir Director chose to sing: ‘I Shall Not Be Moved’. Trying to believe it was a coincidence, the Pastor put the incident behind him.

The next Sunday he preached on ‘Giving.’ Afterwards, the choir
    squirmed as the director led them in the hymn: ‘Jesus Paid It All’.
    By this time, the Pastor was losing his temper.

Sunday morning attendance swelled as the tension between the two built. A large crowd showed up the next week to hear his sermonon ‘The Sin of Gossiping.’ Would you believe the Choir
    Director selected the song: ‘I Love To Tell The Story’.

There was no turning back. The following Sunday the Pastor told the congregation that unless something changed, he was considering resignation. The entire church gasped when the Choir Director led them in: ‘Why Not Tonight’?

Truthfully, no one was surprised when the Pastor resigned a week later,explaining that Jesus had led him there and Jesus was leading him away. The Choir Director could not resist: ‘What A Friend We Have In Jesus.’

19. Monastery Life
    A young monk arrives at the monastery. He is assigned to helping other monks in copying the old canons and laws of the church by hand.

He notices, however, that all of the monks are copying from copies, not from the original manuscript. So, the new monk goes to the head abbot to question this, pointing out that if someone made even a small error in the first copy, it would never be picked up! In fact, that error would be continued in all of the subsequent copies.

The head monk, says, “We have been copying from the copies for centuries, but you make a good point, my son.”

He goes down into the dark caves underneath the monastery where the original manuscripts are held in the archives in a locked vault that hasn’t been opened for hundreds of years. Hours go by and nobody sees the old abbot.

The young monk gets worried and goes down to look for him. He sees him banging his head against the wall and wailing.”We missed the R! We missed the R! We missed the R! His forehead is all bloody and bruised and he is crying uncontrollably.
    The young monk asks the old abbot, “What’s wrong, father?”
    With A choking voice, the old abbot replies,
    “The word was…
    CELEBRATE!!!

20. THREE NUNS WERE ATTENDING A RUGBY FINAL..
    THREE MEN WERE SITTING DIRECTLY BEHIND..
    BECAUSE THEIR HABITS WERE PARTIALLY BLOCKING THE VIEW, THE MEN DECIDED TO BADGER THE NUNS HOPING THAT THEY’D GET ANNOYED ENOUGH TO MOVE TO ANOTHER AREA..
    IN A VERY LOUD VOICE, THE FIRST GUY SAID, “I THINK I’M GOING TO MOVE TO SYDNEY … THERE ARE ONLY 100 NUNS LIVING THERE..”
    THEN THE SECOND GUY SPOKE UP AND SAID, “I WANT TO GO TO TASMANIA … THERE ARE ONLY 50 NUNS LIVING THERE..”
    THE THIRD GUY SAID, “I WANT TO GO TO NEW ZEALAND … THERE ARE ONLY 25 NUNS LIVING THERE…”

ONE OF THE NUNS TURNED AROUND, LOOKED AT THE MEN, AND IN A VERY SWEET AND CALM VOICE SAID,

“WHY DON’T YOU GO TO HELL .. THERE AREN’T ANY NUNS THERE!”

21. One evening a Husband, thinking he was being funny, said to his wife, ‘Perhaps we should start washing your clothes in ‘Slim Fast’. Maybe it will take a few inches off of your butt!’

His wife was not amused, and decided that she simply couldn’t let such a comment go unrewarded. The next morning the husband took a pair of underwear out of his drawer. ‘What the Hell is this?’ he said to himself as a little ‘dust’ cloud appeared when he shook them out.

‘April’,he hollered into the bathroom,’Why did you putTalcum Powder in my underwear?’

She replied with a snicker. ‘It’s not talcum powder; it’s ‘Miracle Grow’!!!!! !
    You guys just never learn, do not piss off the woman.

22. Madge and Gloria

Agreed that a slap is an assault. My question was whether it was a ‘beating’ – the word which has been consistently used on here. When a mother sys to her child, “I will give you licks” what precisely is she saying? Some would say I am being pedantic – indeed, David once upon a time. But no matter. Is it justifiable for a parent to assault their child as a correctional strategy?

It is a perfectly tenable position that ANY assault on a woman is unjustifiable rather like saying that everything the Bible says is inerrant.. Some of us would say, however, that verbal provocation, verbal violence, from the female must also be factored into the equation to quantify the gravity of what the man has done. Indeed, the law on provocation in murder cases is geared to precisely that. Cf the woman saying to the man ‘Your Mother is a whore. May she rot in hell. And as for you, you are a worm and no man. Yes, I DARE you to hit me. You haven’t the guts for it.’.

Will you both become honorary members of the ‘Punch the Wall Club’ of which I am hoping Dompey will become President?

23. robert ross | April 1, 2014 at 5:05 PMt

“Cf the woman saying to the man ‘Your Mother is a whore. May she rot in hell. And as for you, you are a worm and no man. Yes, I DARE you to hit me. You haven’t the guts for it.’.

I want to be clear about this. Are you saying that things like this justify a man’s assault on a woman?

In this context it is of secondary importance. Isly has told the world what to do if your husband is beating you. And now “Dave” has told the world that there might be “causal factors” in that same violence.

We’re simply asking “Dave” to give us one example of a “causal factor”.

We’re sure “Dave” can speak for himself.

Well, truth be told, we’re not sure “Dave” can speak for himself. But we’re giving him an opportunity.

24. I should have said one other thing. In so many of these sorts of cases the man makes no “decision” in any sense indicative of the exercise of judgement. He acts in a state of loss of control, in the ‘heat’ of passion as they say.
    Constant is a lovely place – big sky, big moon. You are very lucky if only vicariously.

25. The Yearwoods

No. I’m not saying it justifies. But (to use the legal distinction) it may excuse. Oh but far be it from me to short circuit further discussion – and actually I wish someone would consider what Pope Francis might say.

26. Thanks, robert ross. We don’t necessarily like you, but we do thank Jesus Harold Christ on a Bike that you are not a moron.

We’ll be paying close attention to Dave’s explanation of the “causal factors”.

We’ll be paying even more attention if “Dave” doesn’t explain his internationally published opinion that there are “causal factors”.

27. @ robert ross | April 1, 2014 at 5:32 PM |
    “… and actually I wish someone would consider what Pope Francis might say.”

The copy cat of a make-believe Francis Assisi (who was never the son of a rich nobleman or became a true pauper of a tramp other than a conformist to State terrorism) might just say this modern day religious catholic mumbo jumbo is just a pack of unenlightened lies from the Dark Ages of the Sun revolving around the earth and a white capitalist scheme of exploitation of the drugged masses.

Now that would be a true halo of a confession, not to a con man in a moneybox of penitence, but to the Most High One in the Sky.

Until the Pope, along with his astronomers, tell the truth the Church will always remain in darkness.
    Until a woman Pope (“Popesse”) arrives on the scene from Mary’s womb in the Milky Way you shall continue to believe in vain, my dear legal friend RR.

28. Mill

Let’s get some straight: the Pope does not speak for the collective body of Christendom. Religions such as the Seventh Day Adventist regard the Pope as the Great Satan or the office of the Pope as the instrument of Satan.

29. GEOGRAPHY OF A WOMAN

Between 18 and 22, a woman is like Africa. Half discovered, half wild, fertile and naturally beautiful!

Between 23 and 30, a woman is like Europe. Well developed and open to trade, especially for someone of real value.

Between 31 and 35, a woman is like Spain, very hot, relaxed and convinced of her own beauty.

Between 36 and 40, a woman is like Greece, gently aging but still a warm and desirable place to visit.

Between 41 and 50, a woman is like Great Britain, with a glorious and all conquering past.

Between 51 and 60, a woman is like Israel, has been through war, doesn’t make the same mistakes twice, takes care of business.

Between 61 and 70, a woman is like Canada,
    self-preserving, but open to meeting new people.

After 70, she becomes Tibet : Wildly beautiful, with a mysterious past and the wisdom of the ages…. An adventurous spirit and a thirst for spiritual knowledge..

THE GEOGRAPHY OF A MAN

Between 1 and 80, a man is like Iran, ruled by nuts.
    Enough said!

30. Psalm 23 – Jamaica’s Version

MOST APPROPRIATE IN BIM TODAY

The Lord ah mi one boss, and mi nuh fi want nutt’n.
    Ah Him ah prevent mi from tell off people everyday.
    Ah Him ah gimme peace, when so-so madness a gwan roun’
    mi.
    Ah Him ah remine mi fi pray and fi do everyting widout
    complain, murmur or kiss mi teet.

Ah Him ah remine mi dat ah Him, noh mi job, ah mi source,
    although lickle more pay woulda nice.

Ah Him ah ‘top mi from mad a daytime, an’ ah guide mi decision dem so mi can honor Him inna hev’ryting.

Ah Him ah prevent mi from shoot up di whole place, an’ tun’ all mi
    supervisor dem inna some duppy, so mi no haffi go ah prison an’ live
    ‘mongst ah bag ah battyman or get heng.

Even though mi get one whole heap of e-mail, fool fool
    deadline fi work wid, have some co-worker dem whey a chat mi behine mi back, some big heediat fi supervisor, an’ ah howl body dat
    kyaan’ mek it a morning time, mi nah give up because Him deh wid mi!

Him presence, Him peace, an’ Him power ah go si mi through.
    Ah Him ah raise mi up, even when di heediat dem nah promote
    mi hard working self, though mi have three set a degree an’
    diploma.

Ah Him claim mi as fi Him own, even when di company ah
    threaten fi fiah mi an’ me ah threaten fi light wan fiah an’
    bun di whole place ah grung.

Fi Him faithfulness an’ love betta dan any bonus check, but yu si mi,
    a check woulda help out some time.
    Fi Him retirement plan betta dan every pension plan outta
    road, but mek anybady try rob this place yah an yuh see wha
    ‘appen out yah tiday: Suhmaddy bettah run to hell!
    When unnu done talk; Ah Him mi ah go wuk fah fi wan long
    time.

So Tank Yuh Lord, Amen!

31. Georgie Porgie

I thought that it was Iran that has been through war, did not make the same mistakes twice, and is taking care of business and that it was Israel that was ruled by nuts …

32. the movie Noahs Ark has drawn a slew of criticism from the evangelical right,,,, the story of noah.s ark (again) is being subjected to much debate with and news release focusing on the much touted and controversial movie which is assumed to become a mega movie making millions of dollars ,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    ‘ below is one writer;s perspective taken from an article about noah;s days and sleepless nights on the ark
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… God tells Noah that men and women are to go in separately, and the male and female animals are also to be segregated. Sex is out. There will be none of that sort of thing until the ark floats back down to earth. It’s quite sensible under the circumstances. There’s Noah and his wife, his three sons, Shem, Ham and Japheth, with their wives, all together for a year on a yacht filled to over-capacity with animals on one floor, the humans on another and dung on the ground floor. It needs self-control to cope with such living accommodation, without adding sex into the mix, let alone whatever offspring would have resulted. Though the overpowering stink surely would have reduced carnal impulses. It seems from the rabbis that what had been annoying God in the first place was the outlandish sexual goings-on. Not just men with women and those combinations, but humans with animals and animals with animals of different species.
    . In any case, Noah, at least, wouldn’t have had time for sex. It turns out, inside a void in the narrative, that he didn’t get a wink of sleep, from the moment he boarded the ark to the moment he left it. An entire year without sleep, because it was his job to feed the animals. He had to learn their schedules and preferences. Some ate by day, some by night. And they all had to be kept alive and contented. At last we begin to watch Noah learn how to know and care for others.

33. BAFFY
    Laugh often, long and loud.
    laugh until you gasp for breath.
    And if you have a friend who makes you laugh,
    spend lots and lots of time with them.
    AH GONE

34. Forex … This Bajan (he don’ soun’ like nah Bajan) tekkin’ advantage of stupid people and bringing home forex … Where is the crime?

35. @ BAFBFP

I wonder if the Head of Barbados’ Immigration (not Immigation go back and look at the Bahamian News Clip and you will see how they misspelt that word on national TV) could tell us Bajans if this man is a Bajan doah

I see dat blog bout technology in Tourism but I would really like to know how dis Bajan ent got we accent, he musee bin dey fuh a long time..

an you heah whu de Pastor say? a man uh de cloth say dat “he ent sorry fur Bahamians when tings like dis happen to dem!!

Whuloss, when de Good Book say that “a generations of vipers will be born unto them” it did not mean within the Church!!

Who are these priests following?

36. David….you are a one….poor Mary has been banned. Well we all know your views on domestic violence. But Mary says you still give her the shivers. Mind she’s a whore so what can you expect.

Piece

These people are neither “priests’ nor do they represent the “Church”. No apostolic succession, no hands on bald spots. Moreover it is a grave injustice to take an inclusive approach. The ‘one Holy Catholic and Apostolic’ is far, far more sinister. These people are very small beer. They act as corrupt individuals. The Church institutionalizes it all. I use the word ‘corrupt’ in the broadest sense.

37. I thank God for Mothers and Grandmothers, without whom many of us Men simply would not have made it through to adulthood!

Having said that, I’m thoroughly convinced that 99.9% of women, are, Confused, miserable, moody, manipulative, deceitful, un-pleaseable Bitches!

Women, can and do, in their subtle, annoying, nagging, complaining inherent female ways DRIVE men up the wall of utter frustration.

However, NO MAN has any right to physically abuse or beat a woman; BUT, only Jesus Christ, could refrain from doing that, as man outside of Christ is for the most part unable to contain and restrain himself from some of these Bitches!

Ya just CANNOT please a woman, no matter what ya do for her, next morning she just plain miserable AGAIN! I have said this to a number of women in recent times, both middle-age and young, and their response, was: “You are RIGHT, you CANNOT please a woman.”

38. Regarding Roman Catholicism and Popes, Sir. George Sinclair could not have put it more succinctly, when he said:

“Romanism IS a REFINED system of Christianised Heathenism, and chiefly differs from its prototype in being more TREACHEROUS, more CRUEL, more DANGEROUS, more INTOLERANT.”

Its the GREAT WHORE, the Mother of Harlots. ( Rev. 17)

Never was, currently IS NOT, and NEVER will be part of the True Church of The Lord Jesus Christ!

39. @ Zoe

THe Madam is closeby so, being trained homo domesticus I cannot comment about “the women is bitches” remark let i have to come to your house for a lodging.

I did not have on my bifocal glasses but i thought I saw you say that Chris (tianized) Sinc(k)liar had been knighted and was now a Sir (from) George (Street)

Did you then go on to say that he was a “Heathen(ism) given his tiefing ways and (that the) chief(ly Fumble) was no differ(ent)s from his (its) protot ege (ype) sincd Chris was (in being) more TREACHEROUS, more CRUEL, more DANGEROUS?

De ole man gots to find his glasses doah!!

40. Zoe

I wonder if you might articulate what you think are the characteristics and antecedents of this “true church of Christ”.

41. THE TRUE CHURCH OF CHRIST IS DESCRIBED IN ACTS
    IT IS WELL KNOWN THAT THE ROMANS UNDER CONSTANTINE INFILTRATED THE CHURCH.

IT IS WELL KNOW THAT THERE WAS A SECTION OF THE CHURCH THAT REMAINED PURE ANS SEPARATE FROM THE ROMAN CHURCH

JUST READ A GOOD TEXT ON CHURCH HISTORY

42. there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the faith of flag,,,

43. there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the the FLAG of FAITH,,,

44. Oh dear Georgie P – that is not an answer. You are begging ALL the questions. Oh and please don’t condescend with the reference to Church History. You assume far, far too much.

45. One of the things that saddens me about this post is the readiness so many seem to have to dismiss the Church which, in one way or another and for good (at times) and ill (at times) has sustained believers down 20 centuries. It’s a wonderful record whether you buy into it all or not.

The post sadly got bogged down in old scents about domestic violence and the usual knockabout stuff involving personalities and in which I play my part too. What, arguably, it should have been doing is to scrutinize what it means to be holy, a holiness which really doesn’t depend on the conventions of religion faiths. I say ‘religion’ rather than ‘religious’ quite deliberately – for what matters is not this or that particular faith but the sense of religiousness in which we are all able to share, that’s to say our sense of oneness with everything that is, with all that is creative, our sense of wonder and joy at what life is and holds.

In every ‘faith tradition’ there have been men and women whose sense of holiness ‘in the world’ – which is where it all happens – has been demonstrated in such a way as to point to what it all really means to be you and me. In this post we have focused on Pope Francis, bless him, but it could equally have been about people like Oscar Romero or Maximilian Kolbe or anyone else who gave their lives for a cause in which they truly believed and in which the good and true and beautiful ring out to all of us – and do so because it can all be found in each and every one of us anyway. This is something which transcends petty little squabbles about the Roman Church and its Curia and all the allegedly essential precepts of the faith which have conditioned us to think in a certain way and not from the natural outpouring of our hearts,

For me, Pope Francis, as also his predecessor John Paul 1 for a glorious moment, rings out to all of us and tells us what personal holiness really means. In his case, as with Jesus, it means reaching out to the vulnerable and saying ‘NO’ to stuffy conventions, to lying to ourselves and the world, and saying most simply and humbly ‘YES’ to what in our hearts we know is best about ourselves, not so much from greed or fear but because it is the only true way we have to express who we truly are and what we are truly meant to be.

46. Ross, quick question: where in the Hebrew Scriptures does it make mention of a Pope. And didn’t the Scriptures forbid believers from taking away or adding to the same Scriptures/ Word? Now, if we are instructed to use the Hebrew Scriptures as our guide towards a better understanding of who God is and those office which are designated to enlighten us to His promises. Why am I not understanding this concept of the Pope. Now of course, I have studied the KJV as most in Christendom do today and I haven’t seen any mention made of this distinctive figure who influences the world affairs.

47. Now is the Pope symbolic of the patriarchal structure comprising Abraham, Moses and Joshua, during patriarchal dispensation?

48. Now, it is impossible for the Pope to speak for the collective body of Christendom, especially when it is so fragmented and fractionalized? Yes, we may share the same basis tenets but our authority certainly, do not come from Rome.

49. ac | April 3, 2014 at 12:40 AM |

there is no such thing as a “True church” just a bunch of carbon copies outdated replicas of traditions hoisting the the FLAG of FAITH,,,

Well said AC…..do not mind BT and his BBE with wacker.

RR….may I suggest a oneness with mother earth,as all that is required as opposed to nebulous faith based on mans flawed thinking.

50. Wunna see Bushie!?!
    …the bushman dun wid dis hear? …and for multiple reasons..

1- no point in arguing with a man (Vincent) who, by the very fact of agreeing with ac, betrays his complete loss of any sense of reality…

2- Dompey in here……and..

3- Bushie is tempted to agree with Ross…..

So the bushman signing out….

51. Dompey

Quick answer. Nowhere and who cares….but as RC’s will say – quick question – who was the first Bishop of Rome?

Vincent

Quick answer to you too – read what I wrote. I moved way beyond religion.

52. Vincent

A oneness with mother earth….oh really?

When will our ignorance cease to exist? You know, quite a few of the Native American tribes used to worshipped the Sun God. And certain sects in India worships the human penis, called the God of Phallus.

53. For Dompey…

Who is alleged to have said “on this rock I will build my church” and of whom?

(But of course you have a point about the male and dominant figure. Thank God then for Mother Mary. Yet oh dear – who did the serpent chat up, with what consequence and what colour was the apple? Red or green? – back to domestic violence)

54. but really……..of late the pope has become the PR spoke person for the church..in his daily visitations and salutations asking and seeking forgiveness from a world and people .that was all but shut out from the catholic church because of antiquated doctrine and misguided teachings…..

55. For Dompey and the sun god

Anyone interested in the sun’s outpouring might like Don Cupitt’s ‘Solar Ethics’.

When I’m done
    let me burn up and burn out
    and shoot full throttle
    skywards to the sun.

56. Well, here on BU, Arrogance and Ignorance are alive, but NOT well at all!

Because, as Martin Luther King Jr, so rightly said:

“The most dangerous thing in the world, IS* sincere IGNORANCE and conscientious STUPIDITY.”

And, T. S. Eliot also emphasized:

“ARROGANCE without foundation is manifestation of profound and chronic IGNORANCE.”

Leave a comment, join the discussion.