Apes HiReading the Nation report last week on a regrettable accident at Apes Hill Polo Club where a Canadian minor on a visit to Barbados with his parents got struck by a polo ball and injured, should make us reflect on the effect that unwarranted personal injury litigation American style is having on caring individuals and organisations. In fact BU is left to ponder why the Nation editor felt compelled to promote the story as if Barbadians are the most heartless lot to be found anywhere.

Bajans have always known that if they are spectators at a cricket game and get hit by a ball, there is no fault as they have consented to the risk by attending the game. If they park their car longside the ground and it gets hit, it is their risk. But most Bajans would go to help if anyone was injured. And BU finds it impossible to believe that this is not exactly what happened at Apes Hill. It is, after all, our nature as a people and we do not believe that the “walk on by and ignore” culture of the USA has yet reared its head in Barbados. Based on the Nation report an ambulance stationed at Apes Hill transported the injured boy to Sandy Crest medical facility after a mishap unrelated to the incident.

BU has been apprised the legal implications also are very clear. There is no negligence and no case to answer. Volenti non fit injuria (consent to the risk) applies in context of a sporting event, not only from the point of view of players, but also of spectators. The authority is Wooldridge v Sumner & Anor [1963] 2 QB 43.

It resonates with us that the Nation has nothing better to report on than an accident where a spectator got hit by a ball at a sporting event, whether a foreign spectator or not, where no negligence either occurred or can be implied and where the risk was so clearly consented to, akin to being hit by a cricket ball at a cricket game. Had this occurred in Canada, a common law country, it would not even have been reported by the press, because, in the clear absence of negligence, there is no story. No balanced story, unless it involves the alleged dissemination of under-aged pornography and actionable politically-based defamation seems to be a feature of the Nation reporting.

One is left to wonder what is the purpose the legal resources contracted by the Nation to support the business of publishing advised in this instant.  This story again betrays the lack of credibility by the Nation newspaper.

62 responses to “Apes Hill ACCIDENT Incorrectly Given Prominence by the Nation Newspaper”

1. laugh out loud “it is about sales” u can’t help but not to admit when u are wrong .

signed jezzebels

2. Thanks Ross. And as far as Bush Tea is concern: you better make your words soft and tender because you may have to eat them someday. Now, I’ve learned not to argue with a fool because he would beat you with experience and pull you down to his level. So, I think I’ll pass this time Bush Tea…

3. Bush Tea

And finally, you’re the only person on the blog ( and God is my only witness) that I’ve tried my earnest to avoid because I’ve found that you’re the type of gentleman who is limited in his capacity to reason. In other words, you’re the quintessential of the functionally illiterate Bajan and that’s the honest truth.

4. @ Dompey

Bush Tea…
    “…you’re the only person on the blog ( and God is my only witness) that I’ve tried my earnest to avoid….”
    +++++++++
    …and even at that simple task you have failed?
    Shiite man – you failed to make it in Barbados
    You failed in the US army
    You continue to fail to grasp basic grammar….

….and even the simple task of avoiding the Bushie whacker you can’t manage….? …and you messing with the Pieceuhderock….?
    Wuh….You is a glutton for failure and punishment boss….

BTW…Bushie was talking to Ross…..not you – so you have no strong case of provocation….. LOL

5. Bush Tea

Brother, I am going to have leave you alone because it is clear that you’re five cent short of a dime.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bush Tea

I jes jes jes dis minute post someting pun his same ingrunt man jes dis minute.

I jes say dat Duncy in an effort to mek heself relevant has taken to “mirroring” peoples sentiments posted by other bloggers e.g. he realises that Ross holds his own and that there are people here who does tek on the whole world and, so that he would seem knowledgeable he does practice, “echolalia” to be considered wise.

Donkey, as i said there i will repeat here.

I would suggest that you (i) go to another blog and type in “intelligent repartees” and copy down the phrases that are posted then (ii) so that everyone here does not know the full depth of your stupidity, go to another site, find an online thesaurus, replace the plagiarized words with the lexicon’s suggestions and (iii) THEN come back heah and try to do a McGuyver to impress the people that are here.

** was really telling the truth when he said that you never got past third form at st leonards!!

But i gine lef you to Bush Tea and IslandGirl246.

Blogmaster forgive me, but dis man real ingrunt in truff!! I gine get me granson to write a programme dat gine crash Donkey Cumputer doah…

0 0

7. If you think polo is dangerous try water polo ..I have had two horses drown beneath me.
    BT what shite Pizza man closed a store
    Kid hit on head
    Dangerous to be investing in a Barbados right now , how can you dispute that …. now if you meant some things I have said in the past I can only tell you to look to the future

8. Looks like at the end of this month,finally, the Canadians will have their woman, in the Drivers seat at BL&P.

9. Lawson .. ha ha ha … ha ha ha .. ya jackass … ha ha ha ha 🙂

10. So they can’t hide the Directors or owners, maybe except for one, of the newly acquired Bayview hospital any longer, why would Jerome Walcott be denying he’s involved and is name has been called big and broad in the media, Inniss should also say something about his involvement with Harris…..AND when will Harris start to pay out all those insurance claims and eliminate the current astronomical liabilities of the Transport Board so that state entity can be sold.

Unfortunate to hear the head of the Paralympics died at Bayview yesterday.

11. @David April 1, 2014 at 3:57 AM “Thank God some of us understand what motivates the Nation editors, it is about sales”

So David If ya running a business ya got ta sell product. How else is the Nation going to survive?

It is called the Nation Ltd. Not the Salvation Army.

Stupseee!!!!

Ball hits boy was a legitimate if small story.

And Apes Hill come out smelling like stinkin’ missies.

But if they have a side to tell, they are free to tell the Nation their side.

But for anybody to suggest that the Nation should not have published or the parents should not have spoken up is bare foolishness,.

12. @Simple

Do not live up to your moniker please read with understanding.