L-R): Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr Denis Lowe (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Christopher Sinckler (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Denis Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator Darcy Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister) - Caribbean News

L-R): Edison Alleyne (Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Environment), Margot Harvey (Chairman, Sanitation Service Authority), Dr Denis Lowe (Minister of Environment), Clare Cowan (CEO of Cahill Energy), Christopher Sinckler (Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs), Denis Kellman (Minister of Housing, Lands and Rural Development), Senator Darcy Boyce (Minister of Energy in the Office of the Prime Minister) – Caribbean News

After more than 20 years, the government of Barbados has finally made an attempt to address municipal waste management. While the present government must be encouraged in this effort, we have some concerns. First, we happened to have led a group that over a decade ago that made a stream of proposals to government/s. We also know others who  made such proposal. In none of these cases there was no response.

Secondly, we are concerned that the technology that government is seeking to bring to the country has suffered from a generalized adaptation failure. There are few plants, of industrial scale, in operation. The technology still has certain problems which need to be sorted out. We would have preferred to see a more widely used technology.

Thirdly, there is insufficient information to appraise this deal. That insufficiency leaves one to rely on belief in popular pleadings instead of logic as government commits to a stream of payments over 30 years plus tipping fees. At least!

Fourthly, that one of the ‘national shareholders’ is not evident suggests that the email sent to a significant international player of confidence that the contract was a done deal could have been overly ambitious, foiled by an election or exposes the capabilities of certain minute men.

Related Link: Barbados government signs agreement for $240 million clean energy plant

178 responses to “Cahill Energy:The Race to Waste Energy”

1. Once Darcy Boyce and Dennis Lowe are involved in this, I smell a dead rat.

This buffoon has not addressed the question of where is this company going to get all the waste needed to keep operating and are they going to be importing garbage? Instead of answering the questions this thug we have for a MOF tried to villify members of the BLP. That will help this country!

2. Haha ac you mean like the environmentalists that got Greenland shut down all now? If I were you, I would see the word hypocrisy and leave it alone. The jury is still out on whether toxins are produced from plasma gasification; but since you are so confident abour the plant’s environmental soundness you should go live in close proximity.

3. there are enough wte up and running to give sufficient proof and evidence as to no negative effect of these plants to the environment…..if any one can name one plant that had a negative environmental impact on people and surrounding areas i am all ears,, the scientific evidence so far has been overwhelmingly supportive of WTE,,,plants,,,,,,also the hardened environmentalist voices on this issue have been few and muted…,and also enuff,,,,ha ha enuff show some real guts and stop driving your gas guzzler ,,that would go along way in the preservation of the environment

4. I am wondering how Bizzy feels with this contract. Was he now negotiating a similar deal? Did the government screw Bizzy after Bizzy did his part in getting Butch Stewart to come to Barbados?

I am just asking!’

Just Asking, old onion bag, where are you? Kindly come back to BU.

5. According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the nation’s 87 waste-to-energy plants produce electricity with “less environmental impact than almost any other source of electricity.” Clearly, today’s waste-to-energy plants are nothing like those old, polluting incinerators of the past. While the combustion of waste as a method of disposal dates back centuries, it was not until 1975 that the combustion of waste for the purposes of generating energy became commercially available in this country. In fact, the first commercial waste-to-energy plant to open its doors in 1975 still operates in Saugus, Massachusetts today, of course updated with stringent emissions control systems that meet or exceed the most stringent state and federal standards.

6. So we have two conversations going on, one is WTE the best approach for Barbados and two the lack of transparency around the selection of Cahill.

7. OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN Avatar
    OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN

ac, you are just too ignorant of common sense issues and selfish as a partisan party supporter devoid of the ability to discern right from wrong.Stay in the US and live lavishly.

8. OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN Avatar
    OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN

@David the biggest question is how come the same company building a plant in China for $30M producing 15MW yet a plant twice the capacity for Barbados cost $466M

9. Labour cost?

10. yes i plead guilty of being selfish (selfish) for good cause,,a selfishness that responds to the needs and concerns of people who are sick and tired of working hard ….only to watch their earnings depreciated through high cost and having no alternative or option to turn to,

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; While some still confuse modern waste-to-energy plants with incinerators of the past, the environmental performance of the industry is beyond reproach. Studies have also shown that communities that employ waste-to-energy technology have higher recycling rates than communities that do not utilize waste-to-energy. The recovery of ferrous and non-ferrous metals from waste-to-energy plants for recycling is strong and growing each year. In addition, numerous studies have determined that waste-to-energy plants actually reduce the amount of greenhouse gases that enter the atmosphere.

11. What is the history of

*Plasma gasification?The focus has to be whether this technology has been suffciently in existence to have generated enough data history to assess environmental impact.*

12. OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN Avatar
    OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN

@AC.Page which deat with the Barbados deal has mysteriously disappeared. Explain

http://www.stockhouse.com/news/natural-resources/2014/03/17/alternrg-

13. OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN Avatar
    OSSIE MOORE NOT OWEN

Commercial plasma gasification facilities haven’t gained much traction in the United States yet, but they are catching on in other countries. Japan has three plants in operation: a 166 ton-per-day pilot plant in Yoshi, co-developed by Hitachi Metals Ltd. and Westinghouse Plasma Corp., which was certified after a demonstration period from 1999-’00; a 165-ton-per-day plant in Utashinai City, completed in 2002; and a 28 ton-per-day plant commissioned by the twin cities of Mihama and Mikata in 2002. PlascoEnergy Group currently employs a plasma-arc waste demonstration plant in Ottawa, Canada, at the Trail Road Landfill while Advanced Plasma Power has built a Gasplasma modular test facility in Faringdon, Oxfordshire, England.

The question is, with plasma gasification being touted as holding inherent advantages over conventional incineration, landfill and/or burying methods and is being employed internationally, why isn’t there one single commercial-scale plasma gasification facility operating in the United States? http://www.davidsuzuki.org/blogs/science-matters/2013/09/incinerating-trash-is-a-waste-of-resources/

14. Register Guernsey Registered Company

Company Reg Number 55553

Company Name CAHILL ENERGY LIMITED

Company Type Non Cellular Company

Company Classification Financial Product Companies – Licensed

Resident Agent
    Company Status Normal (as at 22 August 2012)

Registered Office Address First Floor Tudor House Le Bordage St Peter Port GUERNSEY GY1 1DB

Economic Activity Type Management consultancy activities (12.3.2)

Liability Type Limited by Shares Waive AGMs? Yes

Company Registered Date 22 August 2012 Audit Exempt

Annual? No

Resident Agent Exempt? No Audit Exempt Indefinite? Yes

https://www.greg.gg/webCompSearchDetails.aspx?id=iqwS70SvL4U=&r=0&crn=&cn=cahill&rad=StartsWith&ck=False?height=570

15. London-based 7th Heaven Properties, specialists in residential and commercial Caribbean real estate, has been exclusively appointed by Cahill Energy to source and evaluate sites across the Caribbean Basin region to build a US$300 million waste to energy plant utilising the most innovative technology available to transform all kinds of waste into clean, renewable energy.

Cahill Energy, which was established to finance, build, own and operate utility-scale waste to energy plants in key markets, has appointed 7th Heaven Properties to initiate a search across the Caribbean islands and Central America for the ideal site which would provide a leading edge, environmentally sound solution to two of the region’s most pressing challenges: waste management and energy security.

Landfill is currently the most commonly used waste disposal method in the Caribbean and Central America, but with waste generation rates rapidly rising as a result of population growth, urbanization and economic development, many landfill sites across the region are reaching capacity. With the Caribbean Basin region producing approximately 60 million tonnes of solid waste each year, governments recognise that more efficient, sustainable and environmentally-friendly waste management and disposal solutions are required as a matter of urgency.

Most Caribbean and Central American countries and territories also face an energy security challenge. Largely reliant on imported sources of fossil fuels to meet soaring demand for energy, they are vulnerable to fluctuating energy prices and struggling to meet renewable energy targets.

Cahill Energy’s waste to energy technology represents a solution to both these challenges. Across Europe, where waste to energy goes hand in hand with waste minimisation and recycling initiatives, waste is commonly diverted away from landfill sites to about 400 plants in countries such as Germany, Denmark and the Netherlands. A continuous stream of new sites is coming online in Europe, as well as China, Japan and India. Sweden has even begun importing garbage from neighbouring European countries, which is transformed into clean, renewable energy to power homes.

Cahill Energy plans to invest US$300 million of its own funds in the development of a waste to energy plant utilising proven, patented waste to energy technology already in use in four commercial facilities worldwide; with additional plants under construction in the UK and China. Using plasma gasification technology (the most effective and environmentally friendly method of waste treatment available) the plant would transform almost all kinds of solid waste into clean, renewable energy, providing a new domestic energy source for the selected location and reducing reliance on imported fuel. Unlike landfill, incineration and other less efficient waste to energy technology in use elsewhere, plasma gasification produces almost zero emissions.

Walter Zephirin, managing director of 7th Heaven Properties, commented: “We are delighted to have been appointed by Cahill Energy and to be working with Cahill on realising a clean, green solution to the Caribbean’s waste management and energy security challenges – issues of critical importance to sustainable development and economic growth in the Caribbean.”

Clare Cowan, CEO of Cahill Energy, added: “I am delighted to be working closely with 7th Heaven Properties, our exclusive representative, to develop opportunities for us to invest in the Caribbean region. We consider that the Caribbean has considerable potential as it has both major challenges in reducing waste going to landfill and a recognised need for renewable energy.”

16. We challenge all comers to deny that the British government is providing these funds for this project. We know the sources and the agencies that dole out the money. Now! We have to ask ourselves some questions. Why would the British government, as an extension of its corporatist, neo-colonialist project want to dump unproven technologies on Barbados? A British government which would refuse to lend the money directly to the Barbados government but would employ the tried and tested ‘Empire of corporations model’ as perfected by the Yankees. We are indeed in the midst of that ‘brave new world’ of which Huxley so eloquently wrote. Still, as seen elsewhere on BU, a complete Jenny Ass (Hal Austin) calls for an acceptance of other ideas from Whitehall. People like Austin cannot be reformed. There is only one reason they exist – to stop food from spoiling. That leaves us with only one remedy!

17. Are there no intelligent people in the Caribbean who could have done this waste to energy scenario, all these jokers in Barbados and the Caribbean boasting ad nauseam how rich they are and yet not one doing waste to energy, what are any of them good for again? oh, now i remember, being mere parasites and enriching themselves off the backs of the taxpaying populations so they can boast to the media.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I am afraid I have to ask the question again.
    If this partial solution is such a good idea, why is it not being undertaken by Emera (another Canadian based company) with all their assets and access to low cost finance. They would then be able to cut out the middle-man and make even larger profits or dare I say it, actually bring down the price of electricity. Has anyone asked Stephen Worme at BL&P. I would, but I have already asked too many ‘impertinent’ questions.

19. @ Adrian Loveridge,

Emera has a “captive consumer” market in Barbados.

The company is publicly traded in Canada.

They are keeping their shareholders happy.

20. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Hants, I understand that, but wouldn’t increased profits (bigger margin) make their shareholders happy and just think of the goodwill feeling, burning less toxic bunker C.

21. Goodwill Feeling as opposed to happy shareholders, sorry Adrian, happy shareholders just won out.

22. Adrian Emera Inc. has $8.88 billion in assets and 2013 revenues of $2.2 billion.

Why would they be interested in interrupting the revenue stream from tiny little Barbados?

Tobesides Barbados must move away from “putting all the eggs in one basket”

Let other companies invest in alternative energy.

23. The Noble & Poorest He Avatar
    The Noble & Poorest He

There is no project, wunna don’t understand that yet. While this is only a phantom project, the fees that will be extracted from the treasury for design or engineering or feasibility will be real, to the tune of tens and tens of millions dollars.

24. It appears as if this government duped Bizzy after Bizzy was so kind as to get Butch Stewart to come here to “save” their sorry behinds when everything was going really wrong for this inept incompetent bunch of wild boys.

Bizzy was working on a similar project, maybe the one which he cried on DLPTV over. Bizzy, dont you understand that you cannot trust the Dems!

Let’s wait and see if this project comes off. From what I have been reading on this project, it is going to need a lot of “garbage” to keep operating. Questions are being asked if they will be importing garbage and no one is giving answers. Wait until Barbadians understand what this is all about………bringing other people’s garbage here? Gabby will be singing ………..lawd, they importing garbage!

25. @Prodigal Son wrote ” it is going to need a lot of “garbage” to keep operating.”

The SSA collects garbage and dumps it. They must know how much garbage is created in Barbados weekly, monthly , yearly.

Building a wte plant to handle the current flow of garbage with room for expansion over the next 20 years is not difficult.

Barbados has a major problem with garbage and this is one possible solution if the methodology is proven.

Concurrently the Government should hire more people to clean the streets and beaches and enact anti litter legilation.

Bajans need to stop littering,pissing and spitting on the streets.

26. Our waste stream is approximately 1200 tons daily and 70% of that is recycable which leaves another 400 tons. Tires and river tamarind will not be sufficient. All indications is local feedstock will be insufficient and garbage will have to be imported thus the mystery is who will pay for its importation.

27. Hants | March 21, 2014 at 12:55 PM |

Please visit http://www.emera.com and http://www.cahill-energy.com

Then tell us who you think would be a preferred provider of the WTE facility
    Emera, with $8.88 billion in assets and 2013 revenues of $2.2 billion, a Board of Directors whose names and bios are published, and has a proven record in the energy business; or Cahill whose website is limited to one paragraph of PR mumbo jumbo, no financial details and no names except CEO Claire Cowan, whoever she is.

Surely if someone in Barbados has determined that plasma gasification technology is the way to go, Emera could design, build and operate the plant using the technology from Alter NRG.

As Adrain said Emera would then be able to cut out the middle-man and make even larger profits or dare I say it, actually bring down the price of electricity. I do not see how this would interrupt he revenue stream from tiny little Barbados – rather it could enhance the revenue stream and perhaps lower the cost to Barbados consumers.

As to “putting all the eggs in one basket”; the tiny little Barbados basket is too small to have multiple suppliers of electricity.

Who is Claire Cowan and Cahill and its parent company with (in the words of the MOF) as much as 15 years in business, including some in the area of energy?

28. @ Due Diligence,

Emera is NOT going to invest in WTE in Barbados.

Barbados is not too small for multiple suppliers of Electricity.
    There will always be a major supplier with 75% of market share but there will be other smaller Alternative suppliers.

There are industries in Barbados that will eventually be solar and wind powered.
    Agricultural industries,greenhouses, chicken pens will be solar powered.
    The pumps to irrigate fields and aerate ponds for aquaculture will also be solar powered.

29. There is a lot of garbage out there we can import of mecessary.

30. @David, It would be interesting to know who will be getting the money deposited in foreign accounts for the hundreds of millions difference in price. If the Chinese 15 Megawatt plasma gasification plant by the same Alter NRG cost $30MBDS, thus I would deduce that the 35MW should cost around $60M to $75M and not the quoted $480M.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Noble & Poorest He | March 21, 2014 at 1:33 PM |
    “There is no project, wunna don’t understand that yet. While this is only a phantom project, the fees that will be extracted from the treasury for design or engineering or feasibility will be real, to the tune of tens and tens of millions dollars.”

This is exactly what the WTE proposal is all about.
    Bare smoke and mirrors to make it look as if the current administration is doing something of major importance other than skimming kickbacks through contracts for feasibility studies like the Pierhead marina redesign and the new hospital for Kingsland or some other location.

Now tell us how would the BL&P be able to take all the generated electricity into its distribution grid from the following sources:

The proposed multi-purpose factor for the sugar cane industry expected to produce thousands of megawatts of electricity. You will not be getting any update on this project from the neutered pit bull Estwick whose portfolio is not seen as requiring special attention during the current Estimates debates.

The proposed wave energy project expected to be funded by the Japanese just like the sugar industry and capable of generating thousands of megawatts on a daily basis.

the WTE plant which it seems has now replaced the sugar cane project since the river tamarind initially earmarked for the revitalized sugar cane industry will now be diverted to fuel this plant which its estimated shortfall in human and commercial waste unless imported from America or Europe.

What has become of the wind turbine project in St. Lucy?

What now about the many players expected to be induced by the recently passed legislation into the solar power generation supply market including the proposal to have every Government-owned building equipped with solar panels to become self-sufficient with the excess to be sold on via the BL&P national grid.

Given the above varied sources of non-fossil based electricity generation what implications are there for the BLP diesel-based generation plant at Spring Garden?
    Will Emera be expected to maintain the efficient operation of that plant or would it run it down to the ground from lack of throughput?

For Bajans to swallow this WTE phantom project acting as a ruse to scam taxpayers through consultancy fees and feasibility studies they can only be described (in Bushie’s terminology) as brass bowls including Hants in the Diaspora.

32. Prodigal………………….i do believe Bizzy is part of the problem, not part of the solution, remember the 4 seasons fiasco still in progress and they were the original players in that scam..

I remember back in the early 2000s NY’s Mayor Bloomberg (former) wanted to ship all of New York’s filthy garbage to the Caribbean because none of the other States in the US wanted the garbage, he had no problem sending the nastiness down there which I was sure would have eventually morphed into shipping the US’ toxic waste to the Caribbean to kill the people, i remember commenting on this issue in the NY Times and asking Bloomberg why the hell he did not send NY’s garbage to Israel, i saw that as the perfect destination, now remember, the DLP/BLP politicians are not the brightest bulbs and will never know the difference when others send their garbage to Barbados through this same company.

33. Ha ! HA! miller u should know alot about phantom projects cause under the BLp administration there were plenty ..like the multi million dollar nigerian solar project,,,,,,we still waiting to see that,,,,,,

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 21, 2014 at 5:38 PM |

Hi ac, nice to see you back in action but as usual with your addled brain still in the cellar.

Is it true your administration is putting a few entities on the privatization block?
    What do you have to say about Stinkliar’s recent announcement of the proposed sale of the BNTCL? Is that just a phantom projection from his figment prone imagination?
    Do you think Fumble heard about it yet or is he planning to again embarrass his privatization-ready MoF with another big slap in his obese face before he is fired during the Easter recess to accommodate mad dog Estwick?

35. millertheanunnaki “For Bajans to swallow this WTE phantom project acting as a ruse to scam taxpayers through consultancy fees and feasibility studies they can only be described (in Bushie’s terminology) as brass bowls including Hants in the Diaspora.”

For the record millertheanunnaki ….I have never insulted you on this blog even when I disagree with you.

36. Ac, it’s good to hear from you girl; you were great missed. Welcome back.

37. @ ac
    How was Arizona?
    Gal, since you were away… the fella Dompey like he want your BU job yuh…watch he….!
    BTW
    WTE technology is quite feasible, but you MUST know that this scheme is bare shiite….
    ..too hush hush and secretive fuh Bushie bozie…
    As the “Noble & Poorest He” has said, …a PURE SCAM !!!!
    …Only in Brassbados…..

38. @ Hants
    “…For the record millertheanunnaki ….I have never insulted you on this blog even when I disagree with you”
    So?…..
    …better late than never….why not “wash he off” now with some of your best Greek nuh Hants….?
    Why must you always leave it to Bushie to deal with Miller….LOL

39. Can anyone provide a concise and fair summary of the strategy of the present Government’s economic policies? I am at a lost as to what objectives are being pursued other than to get as much money the Government believes it can get regardless of the consequences. I am also baffled by what the Government regards as successful attraction of foreign investment e.g. the Sandals and the Waste-to-Energy issues. In the case of the Sandals issue, I notice that Sandals took over a hotel that was already enjoying 80% occupancy but has received such generous tax concessions that I really cannot see the NET benefit to Barbados’ economic situation. The wte plant (assuming it actually materializes) will be selling power to Barbadians not to foreign consumers. I am yet to be convinced that it will cause a reduction in electricity bills or a reduction in foreign exchange expenditure if garbage must be purchased from outside to keep it running and foreign exchange is lost as profits are paid out to the foreign owners. In any event this plant will only produce 25% of our power needs yet the capital cost per MW of electricity produced apparently may be 4 – 7 times more costly than conventional power generation.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | March 21, 2014 at 6:44 PM |

Come on Hants, man. Why are you getting on like one of those softie fellas Bushie always referring to especially when he is cussing and insulting the miller and the likes of Robert Ross and Peter Wickham?

I used the term “Bajan brass bowl”, like Bushie, as a term of endearment to describe naive Bajans when it comes to being tricked by foreigners whether it is sweet talking white crooks from Europe and America hiding behind the cloak of religion or specialist knowledge in areas like esoteric economics, or the Nigerian lottery scammers including the solar water dealers or the Bushie bête noir Trickidadians who ‘pull the business wool over Bajan sleeping eyes’ especially when Owen Arthur was sleeping at the helm.

But for the record and as a show of genuine “manship” the miller will gladly withdraw any reference to you being a brass bowl and politely refer you to the piece contributed by Ping Pong for ‘enlightening’ reading @ Ping Pong | March 22, 2014 at 8:41 AM |.

41. Sinckler Economic Policy: Make it up as I go, otherwise bullshit my way through everything else. Lie always.

42. @ Ping Pong
    The concept of WTE is sound. It kills two expensive birds with one stone.
    Bird number one is solid waste disposal. A problem that has been expensively “solved” here by building a mountain of garbage in the middle of the island accumulating unknown levels of poisons, gasses, toxins etc that will challenge future generations with respect to clean water, health issues etc.

Bird number two is HIGH fossil fuel costs. About half of the $800m in fuel imports last year was for electricity generation. If 25% of this half ($100M) can be saved annually by generating from garbage (that we actually PAY to dispose of) and river tamarind then you can’t dispute the foreign exchange benefits…

The ONLY problem with WTE is that such high level technologies CANNOT be managed and implemented by Jack Asses…..it just does NOT work…..which is why OUR plant will cost $500M (and you KNOW it will be more) while the Chinese will get there’s for $15M

If you had a car to sell….who would you rather sell it to…? Bushie who will squeeze your vulnerable parts until you conform to a fair deal?…..or Inkwell who is just happy to “get something back” because the budget exceeded the final (ridiculous) cost?

People need to be charged…..this shiite gone too far now….

43. Bush tea

I have not challenged the technology or the basic idea but the on the basis of the very little information provided the economics does not appear to be favourable. All that “building a society not just an economy” BS comes to nothing when the economy falters and no one can pay! Remember we needed a jail (or a highway or a court house or a coast guard station or a cruise terminal) too, or but ….

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | March 22, 2014 at 9:17 AM |
    “Bird number two is HIGH fossil fuel costs. About half of the $800m in fuel imports last year was for electricity generation. If 25% of this half ($100M) can be saved annually by generating from garbage (that we actually PAY to dispose of) and river tamarind then you can’t dispute the foreign exchange benefits…”

Both ‘dead’ birds look very ‘lively’ and good on paper, Bushie.
    You have done an excellent job of political taxidermy.
    But just a few queries for consideration.

Would the WTE 25% contribution be in addition to Estwick’s 50 000 megawatts from the revitalized sugar cane factory at Andrews using the same supply of river tamarind or does this WTE replace the expected electricity generation from Andrews?
    Would the additional river tamarind be imported like the garbage required to justify the viability of both projects?

What about the national solar expansion project using government buildings to generate sufficient electricity to meet in-house demand with significant excess to feed into the grid to supply thousands of homes and businesses?

Do you plan to advise the government to close down the fuel oil/diesel based generating plant at Spring Garden which Emera recently paid millions in salvation forex for and who has smelled a rat in the Bajan economy and has decided to increase its dividend pay out by a significant figure to minimize highly future losses with a fast contracting forex-earning environment with a possible devaluation on the horizon?

45. Let us hope the Cahill project is NOT as ambitious as this one: http://www.consortiumnews.com/2001/123001a.html

On Saturday, 22 March 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

46. There is an application in at Town Planning for the waste to energy project. By following the trail of who did the diligence and who submitted the applications, who wrote submission; the circumstantial trail will lead you to who is locally behind the Cahill Company. It may be a secretly formed company, but it is impossible in practice to hide who is actually driving project(s). You just know though you can’t prove it.

Barbados is probably in denial of the obvious truth as to who our Bajan Uber-lord and Masters are going to be as time progresses. Blind faith in our local heroes and our politicians, we do not believe that this could be possible. We take the jobs and the carrot offered because we can’t do no better….
    I would like to write you a little fictitious story, which naturally is simply something being thrown out for your reflection. It is in no way a verifiable truth. Nor can what I am about to say to you be proven, because who on earth is Guernsey 2012, no experience Cahill? It is simply something to think about. So here goes:
    Suppose offshore companies in non-tax, non disclosure jurisdictions were formed and projects were pulled together to do the big works in Barbados. Suppose the projects generated US cash to offshore jurisdictions from Barbados, US $ that flowed out of Barbados in a big way. Let us not link the above to the following examples, but let us use the ABC Highway and the prison BOLT projects as examples of locally built projects with Bajan dollars that generated US dollar outputs offshore. Projects that export Bajan scarce hard-earned US cash to offshore jurisdictions.
    Suppose local jobs were used and paid for in Bajan cash. Suppose they were the carrots. Local wages payments for building the projects were paid in local dollars, but the returns were exported in US dollars to offshore. This would expend local Barbados dollars to make the projects (and add in a few US dollars too, but not as many as you would care too much if you owned the offshore company). You would know you’d be getting cash over many years in US $, paying no local tax.
    Suppose the profits (US $) over 30 years were placed offshore and used to fund more of these projects as time went on. This would create a US cash cow for their owners based on jobs done in Barbados by Bajans.

This model would be sustainable, and suppose it create an Uber group capable of ruling Barbados by its use of the Island’s need for US cash. Uber class Barbados, welcome your future, secret Uber-Bajan-Guernsey-based Uber-men, who will rule you for ever and ever in their sustainable, powerful growing (offshore) model ways.

Rather than doing it Bajan style, like a patriot should. Ask Harry Russell how this works at Sandals. He wrote about it last Monday.

Politicians are incapable of acting to stop it. There are more politicians willing to take the offered offshore cash than there are are honest ones, the Politicals are consequently used and empowered into the offshore Uber-Group companies on a D regime to B regime basis. The politicians’ greed is only dwarfed by the Uber-secret Masters who are calling the shots. So they are defended strenuously in places like Barbados Underground by their politicals trying to hold on to power and the coat-tails for the cash flow project-by -project huge (to them good return for their antics, and to the underclass which is we commoners absolutely gigantic!) remunerations.
    Just suppose it could be true, even part of it could be true, just think a bit about it. No pressure, no return comments.

Of course this is absolutely impossible, this is a completely delusional fantasy, a dream and a folly. Our local wealthy heroes are not an Uber class of offshore men, they are local men of the people, like us. They would never do it this way, they would do the project onshore in an offshore Bajan company, wouldn’t they. They talk like us, eat and drink like us, it’s just not possible, just inconceivable to us all……

Another day in paradise.
    Just think about it.

47. WILD COOT: Quo vadimus

– print – share – 0 comments – –

[image: WILD COOT: Quo vadimus]MON, MARCH 17, 2014 – 12:02 AM

Are we so lost that every puss or bruno that comes to Barbados gets a free ride when we welcome them with open arms and minds? Can’t we see the problems that people from over and away have caused in their neck of the woods when they come with bright smiles and bait money?

Take for instance our tourism industry. Has Jamaica flourished under the expansion of the Sandals banner? Why shoot down comrade Loveridge even if you do not like him? I know that he is quite capable of defending himself and does not need me to take up his “firerage”. What I find despicable is the reported reception from the audience that the curt reply to his searching question evoked. Probably he touched on a sore corn familiar to others’ feet – or balance sheet.

The question of how much foreign revenue is kept abroad and not declared is relevant. Don’t ask me how I know. When a hotelier deals with a bank he or she has to bare all.

It is a truism that in many cases we derive peanuts from the bounteous benefits that we bestow on people who come to Barbados. Sandals does not have to answer Mr Loveridge’s question about the remittance of foreign exchange profit gained from room rentals.

If Sandals’ guests/agent or other travel agents pay abroad the all-inclusive charges to spend time in Barbados, then the amount is required in computing the accounting figures of the company; the true cost of running the hotel. Maybe we get the cost of employing local staff, buying a few vegetables and paying utilities (less tax). It would be interesting to know the cost abroad as well, but Sandals is a private concern.

We may be underselling ourselves and opening our country to exploitation. No amount of PR work can gainsay this. However, the question raised is more suited to the Commissioner of Income Tax to ask, even if no tax is collectible for the next umpteen years.

Why has Barbados exempted the company and some employees from all sort of taxation at such a high price and the displeasure of much of the tourism sector? The quid pro quo, if such can be sensibly deduced, is the lure of foreign exchange. Why else? No one is saying that it should repatriate foreign takings but since the ultimate beneficiary is not Barbadian the expectations are questionable.

The tail is wagging the horse.

We tell a hotel in Barbados, let us see your books for confirmation of your trading figures, your profit or loss, so that we can determine your tax obligations. Now tell me how we are going to assess the books of Sandals unless we know how much money a guest pays and how much profit the entity makes, including the composition of foreign exchange which attends the real profit, and how the foreign exchange is disposed.

It may have been an “impertinent” question, probably more suited to the Commissioner of Income Tax to ask, but it was one which was applicable to the entire industry and more so to a hotel which we are touting as our saviour. Why should the answer be obloquy and rudeness? You tell a child that he is impertinent, but telling a big man so is an insult. After our experience with Paradise we should insist that we know what Sandals is really offering. Hence the question.

One only hopes that the refurbishment of Casuarina will entail that all seven proposed restaurants are on Sandals’ premises. To open a restaurant anywhere else and to the general public would be to give a woogla of advantages to Sandals competing with Bajan restaurants.

Surely our bosses can see this. Surely they can see that building bridges for $20 million or more for aircraft to deposit passengers in Barbados at this time is not a priority when we are trying to trim our spending.

You remember *Chalkdust*’s take on Trinidad’s politicians? Men (not women, there is no equality here) would know that what *Chalkdust* was speaking about gives a sweet sensation. Maybe he should come to Barbados.

​•* Harry Russell is a banker.*

*Email quijote70@gmail.com *