Cricket Lovely Cricket

Dwayne Smith is one of the most sought after one day players in the world yet cannot make the WI 50 over team.

Congratulations to the Barbados cricket team on winning the inaugural NAGICO Super50 competition. The team was led by Kevin Stoute the son of local crooner Richard ‘Dick’ Stoute. The win was made  interesting with the booting of leading batsman Kirk Edwards from the team before he got a chance to face a ball and a rookie captain who was appointed two weeks before the start of the competition.

The win by Barbados must however be placed in context. Those of us who watched the games witnessed poor pitches, poor umpiring, poor fielding, poor batting, hell even poor commendatory. The biggest irony to consider is the defeat Ireland  inflicted on the West Indies today [19/02/14]. Bear in mind Ireland was a doormat in the just concluded NAGICO competition.

To be beaten by ICC Ireland in our backyard must be regarded as a another dark hour in West Indies cricket. In case you have forgotten, West Indies will be defending its ICC Twenty20 title in Bangladesh  in March 2014. What a psychological dent this defeat must  must have created.

Surely the WIBC must be willing to accept that the task of turning around rregional cricket falls outside  its capacity after 20 years of trying? Viv Richards retired in 1991 regarded as our last successful captain. The management structure of West Indies cricket is clearly anachronistic and every minute it remains in control of the management of cricket its demise seems more assured.

West Indies cricket and the University of the West Indies are two of our regional entities which have made significant contributions to the region over the years, and continue to do so. The collapsing before our eyes of the UWI model and the inability of the WIBC to morph into a better way of managing the cricket makes one question the decision to pour millions into CWC2007. Why invest in stadia and infrastructure to the level we did as a poor region and not ensure (demand) that our management systems are modern?

Unlike the sport writers across the region BU prefers to focus on the bigger issue affecting West Indies cricket and avoid being ensnarled by the personalities. Why should an HR matter affecting Kirk Edwards be allowed to escalate to where both parties now find themselves? This issue like many others points to a bigger issue which the WIBC has refused to address. The fact that other cricket boards around the world have ‘’reengineered’ explains why they head the performance rankings and the West Indies team continues to languish near the bottom. There can be no argument against being described as a minnow.

What next!

34 thoughts on “Cricket Lovely Cricket

1. Are you surprised? Andre Fletcher has a horrendous record and could still find a place in the West Indies team before Dwayne Smith.

• Bear in mind Smith is an example of what is wrong. Another example, Kirk Edwards and Miguel Cummins selected for West Indies and can’t make the local sides. The strength of WI cricket must be in the cohesion between the bodies scattered across the region.

2. Poor results ALWAYS reflect poor leaders.
    In other jurisdictions, when there are poor results, responsible leaders resign, move, or are pushed…..BUT NOT HERE.

Leadership is seen as a right and not as a responsibility for performance. Therefore we have a history of longstanding non-performing leadership and piss poor results.

This is endemic in the region.

When Desmond Haynes (the obvious choice to continue providing high performance team results) was bypassed as West Indies captain as a result of regional politics- that spelt the end for Bushie where any expectations of success were concerned.

3. Neither Kevin Stoute nor Darren Sammy are deserving captains. Stoute is a real all-rounder he cant bat, cant bowl, cant field. You cant blame young Stoute though he didn’t make himself captain. Hartley Reid and Big Bird should be fired immediately for the Kirk Edwards fiasco. Edwards is the rightful team leader if Big Bird and Hartley Reid cannot sit with him and sort out their petty differences the two of them should be picking pond grass. The BCA is full of duncy people whose over inflated egos dwarf their puny capabilities.

Kudos to the winning cricketers, Smith in particular is now maturing after years of wasting his immense talent. Benn, the Braithwaites and Carter too covered themselves in glory. Until Barbados gets administrators in cricket and the other sports who are self less and not selfish and spiteful who look out for the sport and its players more than themselves our progress will be erratic..

4. “Hartley Reid and Big Bird should be fired immediately for the Kirk Edwards fiasco.”

I may be missing something here, but it seems to me we in the Caribbean tend to favour the side of indiscipline. First of all, if the policy is to sign for kit and Kirk Edwards did not do so on two previous occasions because management at the time sough not enforce the law and accompanying action, why cannot he do so now under new management? It is a simple matter, sign or go home.

5. @David
    Kirk made the local side BUT trivial crap caused his removal. This is symptomatic of immature “leadership”. We are now going into the 4 Day with trouble in the camp and a fired Winning Captain. Adding insult to injury they have appointed the kid Braff to the Captaincy when he should be totally focused on improving his scoring shot repertoire. FIASCO!

Nothing new after the situation with Ryan Hinds. If these chaps require Psychological guidance then bring in the Professionals in that sphere to help these types, attitudinal performance. This fella at 32 has more regional runs than any Bajan and bowls solid leftie spin BUT is finished?

Cummins was always in contention for a spot in the WI Team and I believe should probably have gone to NZ ahead of Gabriel or Cotterell because of not just his wicket haul in the regional 4 Day 2013 but also A Team performance and the fact that he is more accurate and swings the ball better/ later than the other 2. Naturally, NZ and English conditions are far more conducive to swing bowling than pure raw pace. Why introduce him in ODIs is the question?

6. @Artaxerxes
    While it is true that Cbean people sometimes do err on the side of indiscipline, surely there is a simpler and gentler way that is not so disruptive to resolve this. I as manager would implement a procedure to deal with such matters sensibly.

7. When I heard Hartley Reid manager, sent home Kirk Edwards …a player whom thousands of dollars had been spent, to have attained his ability…. all for not signing for a clothing kit. Such strikes the epitome of what cricket in these parts is about. Bushie speaks of leadership ability and on the right track….Dwayne Smith bat on sir, we thank you, for you score runs (sometimes) and not just running mouth and \or being a straw boss drawing money like Hartley & Co.Ltd.

8. I wish to god people would sometimes stop beating up on the management
    of the W I and local cricket and focus on the caliber of players, this does not means they’re excluded entirely from blame. However these players are excluded from the game, even those who have been playing consistently, most WI cricketers still are unable to evolved their cricketing skills. I don’t see this as an interference from management, but punk ass
    young men who refused to grow up and take on the responsibilities they are entrusted. Those of us over the age of 50 would be hard pressed to
    find an instance where so many young men were given an opportunity where their sole aim is to phuck it up.

Thank god this man wasn’t born some time in the late 80s!

9. @Bush Tea | February 20, 2014 at 7:09 AM |
    When Desmond Haynes (the obvious choice to continue providing high performance team results) was bypassed as West Indies captain as a result of regional politics- COMPOUNDED THE BEGINNING OF THE DEMISE OF WEST INDIES CRICKET.

GREENIDGE WAS DROPPED DURING THE 91 TOUR OF ENGLAND UNDER THE GUISE OF BEING UNFIT.
    WHEN RICHARDS RESIGNED THE CAPTAINCY THE SELECTORS DROPPED HIM, DUJON, AND GREENIDGE.
    WE LOST VS 95 AUSSIES BECAUSE OF FOOLISHNESS THAT DISALLOWED HAYNES PLAYING

@Clarkson | February 20, 2014 at 7:56 AM |

RE The BCA is full of duncy people whose over inflated egos dwarf their puny capabilities.
    THIS IS TRUE ABOUT MUCH OF THE LEADERSHIP IN BARBADOS- AND ELSEWHERE. Hartley Reid and Big Bird should sit with Edwards and sort out their petty differences

RE Until Barbados gets administrators in cricket and the other sports who are self less and not selfish and spiteful who look out for the sport and its players more than themselves our progress will be erratic.

THIS IS SO VERY TRUE.

@Artaxerxes | February 20, 2014 at 9:05 AM |
    First of all, if the policy is to sign for kit and Kirk Edwards did not do so on two previous occasions because management at the time sough not enforce the law and accompanying action, why cannot he do so now under new management? It is a simple matter, sign or go home.
    TRUTH ISTHAT BCA BIG UPS HAVE STATED THAT THERE IS NO SUCH POLICY. IN 1973 THEY TOLD SOBERS TO TAKE AFITNESS TEST OR NOT PLAY IN THE TEST SERIES VS AUSTRALIA. OUR OWN WALCOTT DID THIS TO A MAN WHO HAD MADE CENTURIES WITH AN INFECTED FINGER, AND HAD PLAYED EXTREMELY FIT IN THE PAST WHILE NOT FULLY FIT.

HOW WE LOVE IN OUR PRIDE TO FIRE AND PROHIBIT OTHERS, AND USE PETTY RULES IN DOING SO.

David | February 20, 2014 at 9:24 AM |
    Why do we always get enticed by the minutiae of the issue?
    BECAUSE WE LOVE TO PICK WILKS AND MAJOR ON MINORS.

MoneyBrain | February 20, 2014 at 9:46 AM |
    There is much merit in your posts. There is clearly something wrong with regard to the management of the BCA with respect to our better players. There is a difference between “leadership” and wielding of power.

No one has told us why the Winning Captain from last season was fired, especially since he has received good reports from those in charge of te last two international tours to India and NZ.
    I totally agree that Brathwaite should be totally focused on improving his scoring shot repertoire.
    I totally agree that Ryan Hinds (who has scored more regional runs than any Bajan and bowls good left spin) has been badly mishandled.
    I totally agree that there must be better ways to manage “indiscipline.” There can be no bigger rebel than Hartley Reid, while he was a policeman. He above all, should understand from his experiences dealing with BLP government.

10. @Whitehill
    While the youngsters attitudes are poor this is a reflection of poor parenting, schooling, Government encouragement via poor discipline/ environmental factors, and poor Development Processes from the BCA.

Surely players like R Hinds, Benn, Edwards should have been educated in how to think and behave and who to express their opinions to at appropriate times. I very much doubt any of these chaps woke up in their mid twenties and started exhibiting negative attitudinal behaviors.

At the Country and WI level guys like Sarwan, R Hinds and Rampaul have struggled with fitness/ abdominal rotundity. WHY? Have they not been given proper targeted fitness schedules and dietary advice? Did’nt Kallis look like his weight could become a negative factor but did not? How come?

The role of management is to set objectives/ expectations, communicate clearly, develop talent, maintain their assets via monitoring and controls. The WI mangers that had tons of experience doing just that were NOT properly supported and therefore left the job. Why?

• @Moneybrain

Agree with you.

A lot of the problems we observe coming out of our cricket is linked to poor management.

11. Dwayne smith should be given an immediate call up to the ODI Team.

He might fail BUT he deserves another chance especially with Polly out and the competition NOT overly stiff!

12. When are we going to give Mr. Stoute a national award? Are we waiting until he passes in order to name something after him?

13. What is surprising to this is Kirk Edwards was hailed as a very disciplined cricketer and leader, this coming from the report given to the WICB after the recently completed “A” team tour. The BCA immediately FIRED the young man from leading the Barbados team, and then FIRED him from the team altogether. My question is ” is their more in the motar than the pestle? ” This needs investigating, thankfully the WICB has ignored the BCA’s sanctioning of the young man. AS for Cummibns, I know little about him but for his performance and it baffles me why he was omitted.

14. I just want to say, I know Kirk Edwards VERY personnally and he is one of the most disciplined ansd humble individuals I encounter on a regular basis. I would also say Kirk is too matured to let these “boyish” immatured acts from Hartley and the BCA, stop him from being focussed. Keep your chin up son, let your detractors come up to your level, don’t be pulled down by them, you’re too intellwgent for that.

15. SEEMS TO ME THAT CCC SHOULD ABSORB EDWARDS IN THIER TEAM AS AN HONORARY MEMBER OR SOME OTHER ARRANGEMENT SO THAT HE MAY CONTINUE TO PLAY FOR WINDIES DESPITE THE NONSENSE BY THE BCA

16. @GP
    The BCA needs to conduct a comprehensive overhaul of management processes and also appreciate that the Players are their ASSETS!

Only very ignorant managers undermine their players mental or physical well being.

17. There is no place for the kirk Edwards and all the other players who are void of discipline. Sport is designed to teach order, team spirit, self control, commitment, humility, human relations and discipline. Do not forget that the ECB sent Kevin Pieterson packing after several torrid bouts of unacceptable conduct. No player is bigger than the game. Who the hell is Kirk Edwards? Some miniscule speck on the cricket radar!!!!!!!

18. @lighthouse
    Your lights are OUT!

“designed to teach”, who is supposed to TEACH? MANAGEMENT! Bim has a very big problem with its BATTING! We dont have the luxury of riches we once did. Therefore, logic dictates that we should be developing what litttle talent we have carefully.I would like to know exactly what the processes are for handling or reforming the youngsters who have bahavioral problems?????? How many TOP QUALITY Psychologists does Bim have on staff/ or Consultants

19. RE Do not forget that the ECB sent Kevin Pieterson packing after several torrid bouts of unacceptable conduct.

SINCE WHEN DO WE FOLLOW THE LEAD OF THE ECB
    No player is bigger than the game. TRUE BUT Kevin Pieterson WILL MAK A GOOD BERRY IN THE IPL WHILE NOT PLAYING FOR ENGLAND

Who the hell is Kirk Edwards? Some miniscule speck on the cricket radar!!!!!!! APPARENTLY ONE OF THE BEST BATSMEN IN BARBADOS AND WINDIES

EVERY ONE STARTS AS A miniscule speck on the cricket radar!

EVEN SOBERS!

20. David | February 21, 2014 at 6:05 PM |

Was this the under-19?
    NO DAVID NOT UNDER 19 AT ALL
    WINDIES T 20 SQUAD VS IRELAND T 20 SQUAD

ODI TO COME UP NEXT BETWEEN THE TWO TEAMS

21. Ireland 202 (49.2 ov)
    West Indies 185/5 (34.1 ov)
    West Indies require another 18 runs with 5 wickets and 15.5 overs remaining

22. I no longer follow the West Indies cricket team; watching them play test cricket is simply too painful.

In the” good old days” the majority of English cricket country clubs would have at least one or two West Indian cricketers on their books. Middlesex had Wayne Daniels and Desmond Haynes; Surrey had the most thuggish, hostile and brutal pace bowler that I can remember – the underused -Sylvester Clarke. There were others: Bernard Julian (Kent), Viv Richards (Somerset), Alvin Kaliicharan (Warwickshire – one of my favourite batsmen), the list goes on. Head-to-head confrontations between these greats made for interesting viewing. Especially between the great Viv and Sylvester Clarke; their confrontations were very hostile.

The decline of test cricket in the West Indies is a metaphor for the decline in the West Indies vis-à-vis the industry of its people, its regard to tradition, the abandonment of the land, the running down of its industrial base, etc.

The rise of T20 can be mirrored with our acceptance of the tourist industry been viewed over the years as a cash cow – at the expense of other industries; the Americanisation of Barbadian culture which has led to rampant materialism; earning an income through criminality, etc.

On a positive note I heard, recently, that the West Indies are the T20 champions – I had no idea. Perhaps we should be happy that we are still playing the game of Cricket. If we continue to remain successful in T20 we may rekindle our interest in test cricket. A resurgent West Indies test team would indicate a return to a Barbados of yesteryear: an industrious Barbados.

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/blog/2014/feb/26/west-indies-england-t20-test-cricket

23. The decline of test cricket in the West Indies is a metaphor for the decline in the West Indies vis-à-vis the industry of its people, its regard to tradition, the abandonment of the land, the running down of its industrial base, etc.

I agree with this sentiment
    Some will not agree with this sentiment , however.

I am going to make a statement now that I do not
    expect to be understood but – Please note that:
    A significant part of our problem in Barbados lies in the following fact:

70 % of the Student population at UWI are women.

Meditate on this
    Gravitate to this
    Oscillate ’round this
    Permeate this
    Salivate at this
    Demonstrate about this
    Activate opposition to this
    Ruminate on this
    Facilitate this
    Populate this -in your survey
    Congratulate this
    Aggravate this
    Excommunicate this
    But never ignore this
    Dr Estwick playing games as always
    Pit-bulling ?-Pit-bulllying ?–oh well !!

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaagga –strikes a chord
    cricket lovely cricket
    intertwined with calypso
    Carnival -here I come come come come come
    Trinidad ? –when yuh coming ?
    Ah here now !-Ha !

Leave a comment, join the discussion.