Current BLP Leader Mia Mottley (l) Former BLP Leader Owen Arthur

As a recidivist coup plotter within a political culture where displacing the leaderships within his party and the other partner in a hideous duopoly dance, Owen Seymour Arthur (OSA), may not be operating contrary to law but certainly his actions border on the immoral. An immorality that is widespread and infects the entire polity. In the nation newspaper of Monday, January 06, OSA is quoted with a determination that the policies of his political leader were a mere โ€˜gimmickโ€™. Mia Amor Mottley (MAM), as leader of the opposition BLP, had earlier suggested some sort of eminent persons group should be set up to help government, at least, better understand their current problems. Indeed, she indicated that the recommendations of this group, as proposed, should guide national policy as her party, the BLP, would have been represented. She suggested OSA and some former agriculture minister of little merit. OSA was not to be beguiled but this Trojan horse.

Certainly it was beyond our comprehension that after the scandalous removal of MAM, just before the last elections, that this same project could have had a place in Barbadian politics, let alone at its centre. We considered then that OSA was now perceived as having treated at least one woman badly and that the current objective reality would have precluded this scenario a second time around. Not so! So much so we were forced to contact a noted Caribbean political scientist to aid our understanding of this behavior at the centre of national politics. This renewed, open and vicious attack on MAM must be best located within the mind of the man who is known to have promised his erstwhile and closest advisers that he will never leave MAM in the leadership of the BLP. Most importantly, it seems informed by a deep sense of hatred (loathing) that could have been generated from the interference of Mia into the domestic affairs of Owen.

At that time Mia had suggested that men were to be able to take horns, regardless from whence they came. These actions seemed to hurt Owen in his most sensitive region. Now, he speaks like a man who wants to work out a deeply personal matter within the politics of a party, a country, at the most inappropriate time. This level of unbridled viciousness is not well known in Barbadian politics, within parties and outside of an election period. Let alone aimed at a party leader.

Our sources have reliably informed us that the Nation Newspaper, acting to save face for Mia, called Owen to inquire whether his public statement might have been wrongly calibrated. His apparent response was that he was correctly quoted. This represents the immorality of a newspaper that will only let us read what a significant political figure in Barbados has to say when once that person insist that he meant what he said. An immorality well established by its leading founder/member.

Owen deepens his loathing for Mia by privately dressing up his determination in issues of class. He being the โ€˜poorโ€™ boy and she with the money and social class pedigree. It is from that resource base that certain expenditure were to be made to support a number of DLP candidates in the last election. For Owen, this was one of the reasons for the lost the last elections. Others may include the lethargy and general unhelpfulness of Mia and the Mottley crew during those elections.

The immorality in Barbadian politics is generalized to the wider culture. So whether we are talking about the relationship amongst men or those between women they represent powerful factors that are hardly measured in the polls by Wickham and others. But the culture of immorality extends to the economic sphere as well. In both cases these relationships are to be hidden from the general populace. Even when we suspect that certain central tendencies exist they are never represented in and of themselves. So the infliction of emotional pain on Owen by Mia, several years ago, may serve to avoid the best critical responses from the BLP; handed a life line to Sinckler on the very day he was scheduled to appear before the press in circumstances of a national economic meltdown; undermined Mia and depressurized Stuart as captain of a boat either leaking or adrift in a turbulent ocean. Until Owen could complete this fourth coup he seems well prepared to have the Sinckler/Stuart duo in charge of Barbados. For Owen it is to be anybody else but Mia. And as such, any attempt by her to run the government of Barbados from the opposition benches must of necessity be seen as a failure.

But Stuart has his problems too. Like Mia, he has a team of people who are essentially Thompsonโ€™s people. Our sources tell us that there is a certain level of anxiety within the cabinet of the DLP. Indeed Stuart is not in a position to, for example, fire Sinckler even as a way of alleviating current pressures or buying time. He is not known to, himself, have any deep technical understanding about economics and therefore is at a certain disadvantage given the history of power in Barbados. Not that this makes him dissimilar to Sinckler.

Arthurโ€™s attempt to justify his characterization along bureaucratic lines makes this public denunciation of Mia no less visceral. It is however consistent with the most notable public behaviors of Arthur.ย  We speak about the crying in Parliament for porridge; the coup against a DLP of Sandiford; some aspects of his reign as prime minister; the instigation of the coup against Mascol as leader of the DLP; the removal of Mia the first time, and now this missive.

What we have here is a country unable to respond to a deep and growing crisis and the emergence of a level of inbreeding that makes national problem solving impossible. When political parties have lost their abilities to manage themselves. When the culture of the coup becomes the only accepted mechanism to overthrow an establishment or to make political change. When all these political and personal shenanigans take place, largely, outside of the publicโ€™s eye. When issues of the heart continue to nibble away at the very fabric of the society as problematized by personal relationships that are yet to be generally acceptable to most Bajans, at least as measured by their public utterances.

142 responses to “Barbados – King Arthur’s Fourth Coup-d’état and Widespread ‘Immorality’ take Centre Stage within a Deep Political-Economic Crisis.”

1. @ Gabriel

So we with baited breath await your illustrious contributions. For it has always been guttersnipes like you who continue to refuse to help David populate this blog with more than just titbit’s and mono-sentenced trivia.

2. RE continue to refuse to help David populate this blog with more than just titbitโ€™s and mono-sentenced trivia.
    THERE WAS A TIME WHEN FOLK OBJECTED TO LONG POSTS ON BU LOL

3. @ enuff

What other facts do we need. The country is broke. You present a man who you are minded deserves adulation. But this same man spent more than 40 years creating the problems we have. You say he was a MOA, the best you say, and yet we are still unable to feed ourselves. It will be difficult for you but a new Barbados, if that is what we are to become out of this crisis, cannot be a place where the masses of people must be deferential to careerist, class cleavages, hierarchy, credentialism or any of these useless constructs that serve to protect vested elites. We not only know the Griffith types we also know the 23 year old boys on Wall Street that people like Griffith and Sinckler will take orders from. So for us this misplaced sense of ‘respect’ which we are supposed to have for establishment figures does not exist and should not exist.

4. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Balance; You asked in your post above:-
    “ARE-YOU-THERE -COULD A MORE CAREFUL READING OF THE ENTIRE INTERVIEW WITH RICKY JORDAN AS PUBLISHED TODAYโ€™S NATION CAUSE US TO RE-THINK OUR PERCEIVED NEGATIVE POSITIONS OF MR ARTHURโ€™S PORTRAYAL OF MS MOTTLEY PROPOSAL OF AN EMINENT PERSONโ€™S GROUP TO BE GIMMICKRY
    Y. WHAT IS YOUR ANALYSIS OF THE INTERVIEW?”

Definitely Yes. A rethink is definitely necessary.

Today’s published edited interview suggests that OSA, as an elder statesman, is doing what an elder statesman needs to do i.e. letting the people know his views of significant happenings in the society. The edited interview does not single out Mia and is therefore not an attack on Mia per se. It suggests that if this edited interview accurately reflects what OSA said that there might have been some mischief in the version first published in the Nation a couple days ago. Both of us, as well as Pachamama, would therefore have been misled by that version, the main thrust of whose article above (Pachamama’s) was the serial nature of OSA’s attacks on Mia and where it could lead.

I apologize for apparently jumping the gun in my comments on this matter.

As I said in my earlier comments, which are now somewhat corroborated in today’s interview, I think that Owen’s comments re. our current situation are spot on and the examples of his work with external agencies support this.

Depending on how Mia takes this publicly, it should not betoken any significant rift in the BLP.

Why the CAPS? Yuh taking dis real seriously doh!

5. @ Are We There Yet

We get a sense that some are trying to rewrite recent history. To have the Nation moderate a previous publication. That the party fathers in smoke filled back rooms have met and that political immorality of the highest order is at work. We are to now to forget the history of OSA and pretend to be, as one party or even a party of one, united against DLP mismanagement. This is Barbados for you.

6. @Pachamama
    …minister with little merit , you may know that minister is the uncle of
    Lynette Eastmond , former minister ; the lady minister was a concubine
    of OSA that is how he became a minister not for is merit but of inbreeding

7. @ CHAUCER
    You must promise not to kill us with laughter! LOL

8. I read in today’s Nation,OSA’s interview with Ricky Jordan .To be sure there is absolutely no comparison of OSA with the motley crowd of the DLP mismanagment team now loitering at Bay Street.The man shows the kind of incisive analysis needed so badly in the cabinet of this country.This is the confident leader that is the bogeyman of the DLP spin doctors.There is not one among the DLP that can compare with OSA.

9. @Laughter/ Pach
    Blood was in waters of Bay street, baited Erskine Griffith became the point man for OSA, MIA ate the bait but the shark ate MIA. Will the MP Kenny Best come to MIA rescue or will be bought by his old friend Mr Dollar

10. GP…….people only complain about long posts when they are unable to read, digest and disseminate information at the same time, it is an acquired skill………..lol

11. CONGRATS to ARTHUR Avatar
    CONGRATS to ARTHUR

I think that Arthur is paving the way ahead of the next convulsion of the Leadership of the BLP, ahead of the revelation that Drawing Dottin was advised very poorly by Mottley to pursue his matter in the format of an appeal to the High Courts for a matter that she played a significant role in the Wiretapping and EAVESDROPPING of innocent Barbadians, and she has ill advised Dottin to pursue the matter before the law Courts on a matter that the evidence is more than compelling that both Dottin and Mottley should be charged in the Courts of Barbados for their role in this fiasco, but more disgusting than this is the in Dottin’s desire to save his ass and his pension he has dropped the Mottley firm and sought the help of a Sir to extricate him from this mess created by his alliance with Mottley, Dottin is trying his hardest now to come out of this case minus his association with Mottley and to keep his Pension in service.
    Arthur may also be ahead of the program as very shorty the evidence will be made known of Mottley’s and a fellow named Jevan Jutugir of Red Advertising her role and her payment to Jutugir to circulate via email the Porn Video taken from a St Lucian hosted website the host of the site have cooperated extremely well to provide details of where and by whom the site was viewed and their IP addresses, now if as if Wiretapping and EAVESDROPPING are not enough to be associated with in terms of slime she has also now incorporated Mr Jevan Jutugir in her eagerness to propagate more of her nastiness and to have people like Jutagir be paid and accept money to try to to destroy honest and the credibility of others with decent characters by use of videos of untruths and by dishonest means.
    So I agree with Arthur to separate and give distance between himself and Symmonds from that vile nasty beast Mottley who will try to beat, buy, bite, bully her way to being a PM and thank god for Arthur for letting John Public know she is vile and not suited to hold any post of office in Barbados not even one of The Leader of the Opposition she is just NOT FIT FOR ANY OFFICE.

12. Pacha…..which i rate you twice for that comment, having been on wall street myself, I know of none in the so called upper class in Barbados, those who are so proud of themselves and their useless titles who would not have to take orders from the little illiterate snotty nosed white boys and girls on Wall Street who can barely read, write and spell..lol

13. @Pacha
    You can’t answer with any common sense so I rest my case. What are your merits and when and how are you going to show us how much better you are than the current 30 in the lower, those in the upper and all the others currently “trying”?

14. Well Well, do you teach?

15. @ Well Well

Over the last number of months we had reason to warn an interlocutor that an up coming offer would not have been taken up. But these hifalutin snobs who pretend to be elites with titles ignored our free advise and avoidable exposed the country to unnecessary reputational scorn. We have idiots in charge, on all sides. They do not deserve our respect.

16. @enuff

To repeat, has our food import bill decreased in any significant way under Erskine Griffiths’s tenure? How successful was public sector reform. If we are discussing meritocracy then let us do so.

17. Pachamama, I am not willing to challenge your assumption but you yourself know that Mr. Owen Arthur leads the pack…. I took an instant dislike to Owen Arthur the first time I heard the man opened his mouth; he was the direct antithesis of my childhood hero Dr. Don Blackman. What an unpolished and inarticulated politican, it seems as though everytime this man speaks he is fighting for words.

18. Mark Fenty……why do you ask?

Pacha…….if they would remove their heads from up their ***es but for a minute and come up for fresh air, they would see things in a whole new and different perspective, but unfortunately titles got them blighted and blind.

19. Where are the demagogues of the likes of Benjamen Disreali and Dr. Don Blackman? Politicians who were quite capable of inspiring the masses by the share expression of they verbosity.

20. Pacha and David are asking for the results of Erskine Griffith’s work. So upon appraisal the only due merit him is that of titles?

With all due respect?

Arthur has spoken for himself as I said that he can. Wouldn’t I be discreet in my response when questioned of my leader’s suggestions especially being in the same party and parliament?

As I said earlier, had one of the BLP supporters written this article it would be clear that they are unbias and now I add like Owen Arthur their current silent Leader of the Opposition. So now we see who is the actual leader of the Opposition need I say ‘until death do they part.’

21. In times of crisis, we need the unique kind of leadership that is capable of curing the collective fears of the people. Abraham Lincoln did it during the Civil – War, Franklin D. Roosevelt did it during the Great – Depression John F. Kennedy did during the Cold – War and Ronald Reagaon did it during the Post – War.

22. Sorry I meant Reagan!

23. Mark Fenty | 08/01/2014 at 12:17 pm |

Where are the demagogues of the likes of Benjamen Disreali and Dr. Don Blackman? Politicians who were quite capable of inspiring the masses by the share expression of they verbosity.
    …………………………………………………………………………….
    Do not leave out the Fuhrer ,Adolph Hitler. Only an ex-corporal, but he had a President, Generals,Field Marshalls, and millions in Germany and beyond, bowing and seig heil-ing to his every wish and command.

24. CB …..people want to be led it is less work…. then complain…

25. @ Colonel
    Of interest, the two persons mentioned Disreali and Blackman are the PM mentors

26. BU found the Arthur interview very interesting. He should be treated as a resource.

27. Colonel Buddy, fair enough… Hitler did escape my notice but you’re quite right. I should have thought about the comment a little better, before advancing it.

28. Triangle Bangle Avatar

Dem ain’t got no choice, the gots to go and check with Uncle O to see how to get the country, and by extension theirs asses, out of the blasted vice.

Soon we will have to erect the following sign at the entrance to the arrivals hall in GAIA:-

WELCOME TO BARBADOS – THE VALLEY OF FAILURE

29. @Colonel Buddy
    Hitler, himself was inflenced by Nietzche’s anti- semtism as well as Hegel nationalistic philosophy etc….

30. Hitler, was inflenced by some of the greatest thinkers of the Western intellectual tradition. And many of them were of the Germany extraction: Hegel, Kant, Nietzche, Jasper, Schopenhaur Leibniz etc…

31. “Why the CAPS? Yuh taking dis real seriously doh!”
    very much so because the blog could influence the thinking of some and information disseminating therefrom ought to be beyond reproach or as factual as possible. in addition i very much respect your balanced opinions as well having seemingly had theopportunity to observe the machinations of governance close-up.

32. Hitler’s, hatred of the Jewish people was made real by Nietzcsche Anti – semitic philosophy.

33. David | 08/01/2014 at 1:03 am |

@Just Asking

Stupid is stupid and it was an unfortunate selection of a word by Arthur which fuels the speculation by many that he is not comfortable with MAMโ€™s leadership. Refer to UWI press conference. It is similar to te spectre of the Eager 11 which hangs over the DLP. We are in a right mess arenโ€™t we?

Fractured BLP | 08/01/2014 at 1:59 am |

Just Askingโ€ฆ..you are a GIMMICK !

BUT :
    The divide between OSA and MAM is no GIMMICK !

The divide between Edmund Hinkson and George Payne is no GIMMICK !

Bajans are SMARTER than thatโ€ฆ.the BLP is too divisive and destructive for Barbados todayโ€ฆ.the DEMs have to take the tough decisions to restructure the economy .

I EXPECTED BETTER FROM YOU TWO
    REALLY
    I KNOW THAT YOU ARE NOT THAT SIMPLE MINDED
    YOU ARE BEING DECEIVED BY SOMETHING OR SOMEBODY

I FORGIVE YOU

34. A couple articles not so recent on BU all the talk was about intgrity .on the scale of ” integrity ” i give owen remarks a zero not of what he said but on one of the many promises he made to MIA and his party and his followers either OSA is a bold faced egostitcal Liar or he is being influenced by others who belive that the Parties chances of winning the next election are Weakened by MIA..the psychology behind his mouthings are beyond reasoning

35. Mark Fenty | 08/01/2014 at 1:21 pm |

@Colonel Buddy
    Hitler, himself was influenced by Nietzcheโ€™s anti- semtism as well as Hegel nationalistic philosophy etc

People like you speak about things you know little of!

Clearly you have been brainwashed (or in this case WHITEWASHED) by the theosophy of European political sociological intrigue – a DAMNABLE PIECE OF HERESY which had been stuck in the MUDDY quagmire of Enlightenment dystopia!

The Jewish question began 4 Millennia long ago with 2 warring SIBLING FACTIONS (ISAAC & ISHMAEL)…The SONS of Abraham!

The European Askenazi Jew is a modern construction based on the diabolical working of some very powerful, UBER-riche individuals who swung HISTORY in their favour… Namely, the CATHOLIC CHURCH, the ROTHSCHILDS & their progenitors!

To quote the BOOK OF REVELATION 3:9 – “I will make those who are of the “SYNAGOGUE OF SATAN”, WHO CLAIM TO BE JEWS AND ARE NOT, but are “LIARS” – I will make them come and fall down at your feet and acknowledge that I have loved you.”

SERIOUS LYRICS!

What today passes for a JEW is actually a CONSTRUCT based on genealogical usurpation of a people displaced and others coming in to take their place through WARS, CONQUEST & long-standing civil internal genocide!

When Askenazi CAUCASIANS start spouting anti-semitism (which is a OXYMORONIC fallacy), BLACK people need to start their own their HISTORICAL RANT based on the NASTY DIABOLICALLY-RACIST PUSS that have been allowed to fester and ooze for nigh 400 years and still continues to affect “ALL” people of COLOR – from ABORIGINES, NATIVE AMERICAN PEOPLE, NUBIAN AFRICANS, MESOPOTAMIANS and all the diverse people that have occupied GOD’s green earth – that have in one way or another been systematically EXTERMINATED, drove into EXTINCTION or hang amongst the ENDANGERED “species” of the world!

Go and read the UNWRITTEN, UNPUBLICIZED history – then come back, run up and (try not to overstep the crease) and bowl again!

A PACK OF CARDS FULL OF JOKERS!

36. @David

If reducing the food import bill is the sole measuring stick of whether a minister has merit or not then ALL including Dr. Estwick, who appears hardworking, are lacking in merit. Furthermore, the reduction in the food import bill can not be achieved solely through the efforts of any Minister of Agriculture since many other government and private sector players must contribute. Unless you can state categorically, with evidence, that the man accomplished only enough to be described as being of little merit then you have no argument. The same applies to your reference to public sector reform. When was it introduced, how long the man was Head of the Civil Service, what was his role in reform, what was accomplished and how long was he in that position?
    So far all I have done is asked for evidence.

37. The psychology behind Arthur’s reasoning is great for the DPL. I love it baby!

38. @enuff

Agree that Estwick is in the same canoe as Griffith. yes it requires a team effort to wrestle the import food beast but if we talk accountability the buck must stop at the MoA.

39. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Balance, re. your 1.48 pm post;

Thanks!

I also persist because of my view that we are in very perilous times and it will take just one unintended error to catspraddle all of us and leave Barbados hanging by an economic thread for possibly decades.

I worked in the Public service for 31 years and in the Private sector for about 5. I know Erskine Griffith and his sterling contributions to the Island in his posts in the Ministry of Finance. I also know that he was welcomed to the Ministry of Agriculture as being at last a Minister who by virtue of his vast experience in the service, could right some of the wrongs in that Ministry. He failed to do so. But that in no way gainsaid what he was able to do at the Ministry of Finance in good and bad times to keep the ship of state on an even keel. Many people come onto this blog with strong opinions born only from partisan untrue statements on political platforms. Some of the statements about Erskine Griffith on this blog fall squarely into that category.

I’ve met with Owen Arthur on many occasions as a senior public servant. I have also attended meetings with all the earlier PM’s from Barrow to Sandiford. Based on this I consider that Owen Arthur was the most intelligent, focused and hard working PM we have ever had and one who made his Public workers earn their salaries. Of course he had his peccadilloes. Who hasn’t? But he is one PMs who always kept the interests of the Country first and foremost without deviation and fought for the benefits of all Barbados, poor and rich alike. All those on this blog who seek to denigrate him by calling him a drunkard, inter alia, don’t know the man.

My primary concern at this time is that those who are calling for a rapid breakdown of the current governance system have not carefully thought out where this will lead for a small country like Barbados and actually do not understand the peril of the situation that the DLP has led us into over the last 6 years.

But it is also my feeling that Barbados needs to progress from the DLP BLP musical chairs system of governance and clean up several aspects of the Public service that are currently in crisis. If it happens quickly and as a result of civil unrest it will be the end of the Barbados we know for a long time imho. If it is managed gradually but with urgency we will have a better chance of survival after a period of structural adjustment where the best minds can be harnessed to strategically move the country forward.

As I’ve said earlier on this blog we have already plummeted to the bottom of the cliff. Not even the entire battalion of the King’s horses and men can save us from the times of trial and peril just ahead.

40. RISHON LEZION, ISRAEL – Alimu Ishete was trying to bridge the divide between Ethiopian Jews and their adopted country. During a recent talk in this Tel Aviv suburb, he brought out a traditional white robe, worn in Ethiopian villages on Jewish holidays, and picked away at the krar, an Ethiopian guitar.

His audience of Israeli educators listened closely. After two decades, it seemed it was the first time they were really hearing about Ethiopian Jews.

The gap between black and white Israelis seems, with some exceptions, to be growing. For Ethiopians, it is visible in impoverished neighborhoods, soaring unemployment, and the highest high-school dropout rate of any Jewish group in Israel.

Twenty-six percent of Ethiopian youths have either dropped out or do not show up for classes most of the time, raising concerns that the community’s current difficulties may become chronic. Drug use, including glue-sniffing, is on the rise, and criminal activity, hardly known among Ethiopians before they came to Israel, has been growing. Ethiopian Jews, who number just over 1 percent of the more than 6 million Israelis, arrived mostly in two waves: during the early 1980s and then in a dramatic US-backed airlift a decade ago. Most started almost from scratch in education and job skills. There were also cultural differences. “In Ethiopia, children look down when their teacher talks,” Mr. Ishete says, in contrast to native Israeli children, who look their teachers right in the eye.

For the Ethiopians, 95 percent of whom were subsistence farmers, the leap to 21st-century, first-world Israel was so enormous as to be hard to grasp, he adds.

But not everyone is sympathetic. Israeli mayors unabashedly urge the government to keep Ethiopian immigrants away from their cities.

During a break in Ishete’s talk, Masha Aroshes, Rishon LeZion municipality official, says that more Ethiopian families due to arrive here are not welcome.

“They are going to a neighborhood which the mayor has been trying very hard to improve,” she says. “It is just starting to flower. Adding another 35 Ethiopian families is not right. It impacts on the education level. In order for the Ethiopians to be properly absorbed, they should not go there.”

That kind of talk is adding to alienation among Ethiopians, according to Asher Elias, a staff member at the Israel Association for Ethiopian Jews (IAEJ).

“Ethiopians have lots of motivation to become Israelis, but they are not accepted,” he says. “In jobs, in education, people feel they are discriminated against because they are black. I’m not saying it is right or wrong, but it is what we are feeling, and that is enough.”

A low point in the relationship between Ethiopian Jews and Israelis came in 1996, when it was revealed that Israeli hospitals had thrown out all blood donated by Ethiopians. “These were donations to help other Israelis,” Mr. Elias says. “[Ethiopians] said to each other: ‘What do they think? That we are not humans?’ ”

Habad, one of Israel’s stronger orthodox religious groups, doesn’t recognize Ethiopians as Jews or allow their children into its kindergartens.

The government has taken some affirmative-action steps, offering mortgages on better terms than to other groups so Ethiopians can become property owners. It also pays fully for the university education of Ethiopians.

Elias says that a strong affinity of Ethiopian youths for rap and reggae music shows that many are looking for non-Israeli cultural identities. In the music of reggae singer Bob Marley, “Ethiopia is the top of the world, Haile Salasse and the flag of Ethiopia are the main thing,” he says. “So who are these kids going to listen to, Israeli bands or Bob Marley?”

Israelis are developing a negative image of Ethiopians, warns Yair Tsaban, who was immigration minister during the second immigration wave. “The absorption of the Ethiopians could be a source of pride for the country,” he says. “But if the Ethiopian immigrants are associated with crime and violence in the minds of other Israelis, there can be alienation. People could ask ‘Why have they been brought here?’ ”

Officials at the Jewish Agency, a quasi-governmental organization that helps the immigrants, stress the positive: There are 1,500 Ethiopians in universities or colleges, compared with just 100 five years ago. And things are looking up – the agency, government ministries, and Jewish communities abroad plan to come together for a $600 million nine-year program of job training and improving education for Ethiopian immigrants.

Perhaps the strongest ray of light is the IAEJ itself, founded in 1993 as an independent advocacy group. It works with hundreds of young activists from all over Israel and, funded mostly by American Jews, lobbies Israeli politicians. Members of the organization say it has enabled thousands of students to study in academic rather than vocational programs. It has also been instrumental in a rise in the number of Ethiopians who pass their high school matriculation exams.
    One IAEJ program tackled truancy by forging contacts between Ethiopian dropouts and “big brothers and sisters.” The program was adopted and expanded by the Education Ministry as a way of reaching all children at risk, and now has 15 offices across Israel.

“We don’t have a lot to give in terms of valuables and possessions,” Elias says of the Ethiopian community. “But when we fight for something, it can also help the other groups that have been left behind.”

http://www.csmonitor.com/2002/0522/p16s01-wome.html

41. Iโ€™ve met with Owen Arthur on many occasions as a senior public servant. I have also attended meetings with all the earlier PMโ€™s from Barrow to Sandiford. Based on this I consider that Owen Arthur was the most intelligent, focused and hard working PM we have ever had and one who made his Public workers earn their salaries. Of course he had his peccadilloes. Who hasnโ€™t? But he is one PMs who always kept the interests of the Country first and foremost without deviation and fought for the benefits of all Barbados, poor and rich alike. All those on this blog who seek to denigrate him by calling him a drunkard, inter alia, donโ€™t know the man.

are-we-there-yet? | 08/01/2014 at 2:50 pm |

Balance, re. your 1.48 pm post;

Thanks!

42. @Anon
    I can’t help but to laught at your latter comment Nostradamus. And may I ask, if you do not mind: where have you gotten your information dude? Because you yourself ought to know with all your Big Brains and stuff, that there is no absolute knowledge. And those who claim it, open the door to tragedy. All of this information that we so readily trust, is imperfect and we have and must treat it with humility brother. That is the human condition Anon. Now, there is another narrative that claims Hitler’s hatred for the Jewish people ,had it birth in a very controlling Mother, who was half – Jewish.

43. David

Thankyou very much for the link. I am on record as stating that I have the highest respect for Owen Arthur. I also think that Mia will make a fine PM. That said, of the interview, I note two things:

It was just that, an interview, and OA was asked a specific question to which he responded with, in my view, a good deal of common sense. I have no problem with the ‘gimmick’ word.
    In general terms he came across as a seasoned, intelligent, elder statesman whom no-one in the present government can possibly match. I note that Fenty – no friend seemingly of OA – speaks of someone who will address the collective fears of our people. That is precisely what OA did at one point.

44. @ mark fenty
    “Now, there is another narrative that claims Hitlerโ€™s hatred for the Jewish people ,had it birth in a very controlling Mother, who was half โ€“ Jewish…”

In the words of crowd of Matthew 27:25 – “LET HIS BLOOD BE UPON US AND OUR CHILDREN”…

A fulfillment of PROPHECY or DIVINE KARMA?

You make up your own mind!

45. @Anon,
    There is another historical narrative which also claims that the book called (The Protocols of the Elders of Zion) gave rised to Hitler’s hatred of the Jewish people. Have you read it yet…? You should because it was made for good reading Einsten. I AM HELPING YOU HERE BROTHER!

46. Anon, I am not quite sure I know where you’re going with Matthew 27:25. But I do know this much: you cannot take a passage of scripture from Matthew ,or any other book in the Bible for that matter. And expect me or anyone else to understand the context in which you’re trying to apply this scripture. Now, Anon, the Hebrew Scriptures can be interpred literally, Metaphorically, figuratively and symbolically…..

47. Anon, a few spelling errors; I am writing on a phone without the aid of spell check. So forgive me brother!

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mark Fenty | 08/01/2014 at 4:02 pm |

Have you ever heard about Erik Jan Hanussen?

49. I’ve never heard of him Miller. Is there any particular reason I should know of him?

50. miller maybe you can find someone to predict the future of Barbados , better yet hypnotize the masses to pick up there garbage or the taxi drivers to use the restrooms in bridgetown