The Mighty Sparrow tells a story about a lion which was mastered by a donkey. In this epic, the lion (MAM), despite his loud growl, role as dominate polygamist, sharp teeth, body built for combat and a propensity to instil fear was made to submit and be the mate of a mere donkey (OSA). Well, unlike OSA, the donkey is well known to be mild mannered, a carrier of huge burdens and in possession of a certain physical attribute that some fear. Fear of the expectation of a certain amount of joy and or pain that donkeys by their very nature are said to be able to inflict.
The recent broadside which Owen Seymour Arthur (OSA) inflicted on the prime ministerial ambitions of MAM continues to complicate political calculations in Barbados. Certainly, OSA seems intent on keeping his promise to his friends that he will never leave the BLP to MAM. In stating that the proposed divestment of state assets was the right policy for a beleaguered DLP administration. An administration beset by mounting internal disquiet and clueless about a direction for the country. Still, it was OSA who was to again deliver a life jacket to a feckless Fruendel Stuart regime.
These repeated and public ‘strokings’ from Sparrow’s donkey may eventually make the anatomy of the lion more receptive but no lion worth its salt would ever want to be in such a submissive position, not even once. But MAM seems to be unable to get this big doggy donkey from the dominate position it has assumed in Sparrow’s pantomime of the political animals. For MAM the reverse may be more advantageous. These repeated public humiliations will eventually break the lion’s back. For the back of a lion is unaccustomed to these kinds of pressures.
In Sparrow’s tale, the spectators, FJS and his DLP political animals, were in the audience encouraging the donkey to continue delivering these big licks to the king of the BLP beasts. We could hear FJS singing the chorus better than Sparrow himself. And he singing, ‘’hold him down, donkey hold him downnn’’. The problem is that not even the BLP party fathers, a compliant BLP mainstream media nor political concessions from MAM could get this donkey to relinquish its dominate position, far less discontinue the ruthless, rhythmic, public ‘movementations’ that lets all the other animals know, for sure, who is really the boss in this Bajan, BLP, kingdom of animals.
The donkey was content to watch the lion run out of steam by anticipating an election too soon. Once the lion ‘cum’ too soon, then is when donkey started to do bad. The lion, with an expectation of such an early election, had been gearing up the party machinery for a change of government, under the very nose of the donkey. But you know a lion is not well known for successful hunts and that parties, in opposition, seem to have limited resources. And the donkey which is known for running longer distances was merely waiting for the lion to exhaust himself. It is then, we started to hear the Mighty Sparrow’s song ringing around the savannah, again. And Freundel was up front signing the chorus loud and clear, ‘’hold him down, donkey hold him down’’. Leave the ‘young’ lion exposed!
Of all the animals is this here political kingdom FJS may not be seen as having the characteristics of some past leaders, but he must be the luckiness politician, in some ways, Barbados has ever had. He must be luckier than our friend Goodluck Jonathan of Nigeria.
Stuart could never be accused of having the courage of the lion (MAM). Barrow himself said this. But all animals know that it is better to be born lucky than courageous. Look how the courageous lion is being humiliated, time after time, after time. And there is nobody who can stop these public humiliations anytime soon. Maybe the lion (MAM) is hoping that the Underground leadership will call up OSA to strengthen the BLP middle order soon in order to stymie the rampant and marauding pace bowling of Thompson down under. This maybe the only way this lion could get this donkey off its back!
the defunct and wanne bee (so bad) leader of the BLP put the party on notice
Speaking to members of the Christ Church West branch of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at Christ Church Foundation School last night, Arthur urged members of the BLP not to be distracted from their task by Estwick.
only a few weeks ago the party including AFFTa couldn’t stand the suspense,,,,with the gossip mongers feeding all kind of half truths to the public about Estwick,intentions,,,,,,,Now the same AFfTA acting like a real hypocrite talking about Estwick distraction and getting on to the task at hand,,,how about OSA telling the public why he boycotted the Estimate with a no show at voting time..
According to David Ellis’ brasstacks OSA explained the reason why he opted not to be in the House.The arrangement among the opposition was that there would have been no call for a division and it appears that that agreement was not observed.
The Labour Party is clearly divided on leadership.Current strategy is laughable.Every week MAM is threatening somebody or some position.She must have fired the entire cabinet by now.
Maybe there is some truth in the opinion that everything is being done to faciltate Stuart in remaining PM because of the awful medicine he must administer to the country.
The Labour Party is clearly divided on leadership.Current strategy is laughable.Every week MAM is threatening somebody or some position.She must have fired the entire cabinet by now
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
guess better them than she,,,,,,how about her arch enemy osa,,,,,he still waving that big stick in her face…….she need to fire him too,,,,,,
@Kammie
Just state you points and continue to be an advocate for the people. The issue has moved passed questioning the technology to transparency around Cahill’s involvement. Do not try to convince ac about anything. It puts the DLP in a bad light therefore it is wrong.
david you are confuse wrong thread,,,,,,, or are you david
Mia Mottley, an allegoric lion?
What rubbish.
Inappropriately chosen allegory aside, Miss Mia Mottley is no political substance what so ever.
Both the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP must go from this political governmental landscape of this country.
@ ac | March 24, 2014 at 8:50 PM |
guess better them than she,,,,,,how about her arch enemy osa,,,,,he still waving that big stick in her face…….she need to fire him too,,,,,,”
This is kinda of what your dead king did to Clyde Mascoll………..eh ac, you would know about this very well!
I saw nothing wrong in calling for the divide. It forced the big mouth Estwick to explain his vote and the people have now seen him for what he really is.
My advice to Mia, stay strong. If OSA feels he is doing the party a good by his behaviour, he can go right ahead. The funny thing is that he is doing just the very same thing to Mia he said he would never tolerate from an Estwick were he the PM. You never heard Henry Forde criticise OSA after he took over the leadership.
Mia , stay focused, twine longer than twine. After being so busy for 14 years as PM, OSA has too much time on his hands and the devil finds work for idle hands. Let the Dems stew in their folly, they have led Barbados down a path of destruction and as sure as night follows day, devaluation is coming…..all the signs are there. Let the Dems be the party to bring this country to its knees.
@The People’s Democratic Congress March 24, 2014 at 9:26 PM “Mia Mottley, an allegoric lion?…What rubbish.”
A truer word has never been spoken
Pachama,
I look forward to your next article on Estwick. His conduct is more cause for concern than OSA. OSA has said he is on his way out so what he says does not matter, he is just being himself.
Oas will be back
sammy | March 24, 2014 at 10:41 PM
Oas will be back
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
don’t say that……
@ prodigal fool
where would you live when there is a devaluation you ass , are you willing and hoping to see barbados fall for a party .i bet you are one those on the fringes of a political party with no substance.
@ limitone
I dont even want to dignify your low “classness” with a response.
You better wake up to the reality of where this inept incompetent government has this economy. None of us want to see a devaluation here but if you read the estimates instead of cussing me, you would see that we are on that path. A government that has been running up huge deficits every year cannot survive. Read the estimates, fool before you condemn me.
And for your information, I do nor belong to a party, I have never asked for or received any largess from any political party. I am self made, you fowl mouth person.
@ limitone | March 24, 2014 at 10:50 PM |
“@ prodigal fool: where would you live when there is a devaluation you ass , are you willing and hoping to see barbados fall for a party..”
@ Limited one idiot playing two fools:
The same place you will be when the devaluation comes a calling in a few months when the forex runs low (again).
What do you expect to happen when you continue to live above your means and seek to use other people’s money while practising paro type economics at home to satisfy an unquenchable thirst for imported conspicuous consumption.
Do you really believe the present administration could continue to fool the int’l credit rating agencies and IMF into believing Barbados can continue to finance such a large deficit by borrowings from overseas loan sharks, by printing monopoly money by the Central Bank and offloading useless government paper onto the NIS?
What makes you, naive cocksure Bajans, think that Jamaica, Guyana and Trinidad can undergo a devaluation and not Bim whose only advantage of sound public finance management over the years has been its only saving grace and is certainly being whittled away day by day?
limitone where are you going to live if it happens? Are you seriously that inept to think it can’t happen to you. Better start thinking about that or do you know something we all don’t?
You sound like an optimist and maybe you are living the good life right now but there are a lot of Barbadians who would disagree strongly that things are not all that great – a devaluation is a possibility – especially when this government keeps borrowing money. This government is just continuously borrowing more and more money and putting Barbados into more serious debt. The party ended in 2008 for that type of behaviour but like good old tricksters the Government is still stretching out the fete to all of our detriment.
Finally, I have never heard of a country where the people had any type of warning that a devaluation was coming. It just arrived on their doorstep when banks opened the next day.
A lion and a donkey? NO.
I see two wounded lions, a king and a queen, losing each other in a pride.
Arthur sharing licks in Mia again when is this going to stop. Cud dear the DLP has not come close to disparaging Mia in the way Owen does. One knew Owen was coming for her again by his estimates reply . The short man stressed as Sinckler has been doing that step one is the stabilization of the economy. Jackasses prodigal and miller translate that to mean devaluation is at the doorstep. Owen is giving Mia hard lessons in real politic. Mia poor soul doesn’t even have the luxury of focusing on hitting back at Owen because racing through on the inside track is the wife beater whose only goal is to topple her. Mia girl you have to be Houdini to survive as leader of the BLP for the next four years. We have not even mentioned the serial backstabbers George Pain and sidekick Teets Marshall. Mia your only hope is divine intervention and to think the DLP will have absolutely nothing to do with your demise. Its the BLP that giving the BLP ‘leader’ hell.
@ ac you are truly the real ASS CLOWN, I dub thee Sir\Dame ASS CLOWN the 1st. You don’t know the saying people in glass houses should not throw stones????!!!! If you can’t talk about Pitbull Estwick who has to be the first dog to neuter himself, or Chris Stinkliar or Fumble Sport who are so painfully incompetent it makes people get migraines then how can people take you seriously. You clutching at straws at Owen not voting????!!. I mean this govt is SOOOOOO piss poor bajans just disillusioned and want to know everyday when the next elections will be!!!!!!. Then you get these “pearls of wisdom” from people like Kellman and Ronald Jones….. I mean any more from these two and foreigners will ask if our education system has collapsed ?????!!!!!!! Could Freundel please please issue gag orders to Kellman and Jones!!!! Then again listening to Fumble nowadays he should put a gag order on himself first!!!!!!!
DLP( formerly) CBC
There is no doubt in the minds of some people that our academic system has failed. Aren’t you a product of this particular academic system? (lol) So why would you think that these foreigners, as you have putted it, ( xenophobic) would think any differently?
Limitone
Don’t even waste your time, space, and energy, discoursing with this egotistical nincompoop because he obviously harbours a pathological vendetta for the DLP. He is like that reclusive fogy who peeks through the crack of the door,to snoop on his neighbors every move. And not to mention that he also probes the blog, feasting on what little dirt he can accumulate on the DLP. He really an incessant pain where the sun don’t shine.
Prodigal Son, you are running hard for the Yardfowl of the Year award.
Mia Mottley is a self centred jackass and Owen Arthur knows that all too well. He is telling Bajans in not so subtle ways “DO NOT TRUST THIS WOMAN”.
Prodigal, you can keep you head where the sun does not shine but being a good public speaker does not make you an effective leader. Mia Mottley as opposition leader is good news for the DLP. If with all the public support and advocacy which she gets from Peter Wickham and after spending over $400 000 on political assemblies and threatening the PM week after week, she cannot get massive public support, she needs to rethink.
@David, you continue to underrate Freundel Jerome Stuart- It is not about luck David but skill. Every single leader in the Caribbean was losing elections during the global recession including Grenada where the government was wiped out. Only Freundel bucked the trend. It can not only be about luck David. Freundel Stuart is a much better leader and strategist than you and some others are willing to admit.
@Bajanfuhlife
It needs is instilling confidence and assuring good governence NOT political upmanship.
It seems neither Owen nor Mia wants to bring down the Government at this time for whatever reason. At best the BLP is only half-hearted in its opposition to the Government. In my opinion they do not want the burden of Government and want the DLP to stew in its juices only to take over when things improve. That strategy will fail.
“Every single leader in the Caribbean was losing elections during the global recession including Grenada where the government was wiped out. Only Freundel bucked the trend.”
@Bajanfuhlife…..LOLL you mean that Fumble and company had more Ipods and money to sway the lickrish voters. That dosen’t say much about an ignorant and greedy electorate.
“Freundel Stuart is a much better leader and strategist than you and some others are willing to admit.”
If you are impressed by Fumble’s leadership then it doesn’t take much to impress you at all. When you can agree with the idiotic nonsense that is coming from the mouths of these elected officials then there is not much hope for Barbados.
We have a Minister of Finance who can’t add nor substract nor even answer a simple question and that is impressive to you. We have a Minister of Education telling us that we need more Babies when a large number of the workforce is on the breadline. When the cost of food and utilities are so high he expects that people could afford to feed another mouth. You have a Minister of health who keeps braying that the hospital will not be affected by cost cuts and a shortage of vital drugs is clearly evident. Impressive nuh? This country is surely a fool’s paradise then.
@ Dropping in: “Mia poor soul doesn’t even have the luxury of focusing on hitting back at Owen because racing through on the inside track is the wife beater whose only goal is to topple her. Mia girl you have to be Houdini to survive as leader of the BLP for the next four years. We have not even mentioned the serial backstabbers George Pain and sidekick Teets Marshall. Mia your only hope is divine intervention and to think the DLP will have absolutely nothing to do with your demise. Its the BLP that giving the BLP ‘leader’ hell”
With all such Chauvinistic conspiring .and Matricidal slaughter the Grand Lady would be better-oof in the DLP…mark-my-worl
To add insult to injury we did not have to wait long for Sinckler to admit that no investor would want to purchase the Transport Board in it’s present reduced state and condition, who is surprised that there appears to be more than one underlying reason…..
Liabilities are way too high and out of control?
Why is government NOT DEMANDING that Tranport Board’s current insurance company pay out immediately to claimants all the many valid outstanding claims that they have allowed to accumulate over the last 10-15 year, why do claimants have to wait a decade or longer than the 3 year statutes of limitation period for a settlement, these claimants should have a settlement made within that 3 year time frame effectively clearing the Transport Board of a liabilities build-up, unless there are cases that require a Judge’s input….although there is no reason why Personal Injury cases cannot be ADR settled.
Barbados is a small island, the Transport Board is a small entity, their insurance company is even smaller, why does this insurance company spitefully make claimants wait for such long periods while not caring that while all this waiting is going on liabilities have reached and surpassed acceptable levels making the Transport Board a very unattractive investment for any investor local or foreign.. Sinckler should be ashamed admitting to the horrible state of the Transport Board and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT..
As an investor, I certainly would not purchase an entity that has current liabilities to the tune of millions of dollars and an insurance company that allows liability claims to build up because it’s in their own self interest to prolong and delay payments to claimants….AND…….where is the Financial Services Commission in all of this, why are they not regulating but allowing insurance companies to use policyholders funds in the tens of millions of dollars to purchase properties through insurance entities for their own personal uses, while allowing state-owned entities to accumulate a liability buildup, don’t they think the CLICO collapse was a wakeup call, is no one minding the store….are they too busy with the poison of politics.
Bad Management
.What were both governments and their permanent secretaries doing for the many decades that the Transport Board was being reduced to a near useless entity through bad management. I remember vividly Minster Don Blackman trying to reform the Transport Board and he was exiled from Barbados for his efforts and never returned to the island that i am aware of or to public life. I sincerely hope if he is alive that he is laughing his ass off at the government’s current predicament.
For decades both DLP/BLP sat back and allowed the Transport Board’s exceedingly high levels of liability to rise to unacceptable levels, perpetrated by the insurance company which they are apparently incapable of reining in and coupled with bad management successfully ruining the Transport Board, now their chickens are home to roost.
I have it on very good authority that the former insurance company for Transport Board, ICBL had no such problems with liability buildup because they actually made sure it did not run away to cause problems for Transport Board.
@ Well Well:”For decades both DLP/BLP sat back and allowed the Transport Board’s exceedingly high levels of liability to rise to unacceptable levels………………..
Well said just put “Barbados” where we have Transport Board !
I am waiting to see when the blind defenders of both the Barbados Labour Party and Democratic Labour Party , gine realise that the only difference between them is that one is called Barbados and the other Democratic.
The Dems can’t tell Estwick nutten and the Bees can’t tell Owen nutten. It is cat piss and pepper. Politics in Bim is now like one uh dem allies in town wid all the piss in de gutters !
If the Barbados dollar were trading freely, any valuation change to what is now used , which is a system that has a fixed peg to the US$ would be taken care of by the market. No country can keep a fixed pegged with stringent FX controls and a unbalanced FX reserve. It is the printing of local currency to cover deficits that is one of the biggest issues. All the Barbados dollars we print get spent and mostly on imported goods. That all works fine so long as we have FX coming in equal to that going out. But we don’t and that is where the big problem is. We printing too much money to consume imported things and we running out of the money to pay for those imported things. If there is no devaluation and no turn around in FX income then we will see shortages of goods, inflation, and more increases in the cost of tourism resulting in even a bigger problem. WE HIT THE TIPPING POINT, DID NOT EVEN SEE IT WAS THERE,AND KEPT RIGHT ON GOING DOWN THE SAME PATH OF DRAINING FX RESERVES. Hard times require hard decisions.
@islandgirl
you mean that Fumble and company had more Ipods and money to sway the lickrish voters. That dosen’t say much about an ignorant and greedy electorate.
Spoken like a true ,sour grapes yardfowl. Newsflash islandgirl, the BLP with the full backing of corporate Barbados massively outspent the DLP in the last elections from free concerts to two manifesto launchings ,up to election day when the police had to be called into Haynesville after Sir “Johnny” and Duguid did pelting way money like bush.
The BLP has a piss poor opposition leader who despite all the push that she is getting from some of her Mottley crew is simply making one bad political call after another and is unable to unify an opposition party at a time when it is easy to be on the outside opposing.
Add to the fact that the man who was her boss for 16 out of the last 20 years is telling the country that he has no confidence in her and Barbados should avoid her like the plague.
That is the fishbone in your craw madam- deal with it.
@millertheanunnaki | March 24, 2014 at 11:31 PM |
“What do you expect to happen when you continue to live above your means and seek to use other people’s money while practising paro type economics at home to satisfy an unquenchable thirst for imported conspicuous consumption”.
miller,
Instead of the limited one reading and analysing for him/herself, he/she attacking what I wrote.
Here is why he/she should worry and ask the idiot Chris Stinkliar where would he/she live when all hell breaks loose, not me.
Because of its wild spending policy, this stupid inept government has added from 2008 to the end of 2013 2.641 BILLION dollars to the fiscal deficit. They have been spending more that it earned. They are to be blamed as the toothless pitbull admitted.In other words, they have been over spending on the current account. So when people like ac talk about debt that the BLP left, she must try to understand that it is the DLP who has added 2.6 BILLION dollars to the debt and have nothing to show for it.
This is how they embarked on their spending spree:
2008/9 overspend 189 million
2009/10 overspend 486 million
2010/11 overspend 641 million
2011/12 overspend 266 million
2012/13 overspend 555 million
2013 to end Dec overspend 505 million
So it is not me who is wishing for any devaluation, (God knows I would not want that), it is the DLP and the DLP alone who is leading Barbados down that road. They have refused to listen to any advice outside of their circle and we will all suffer. Square pegs in round holes and all we hear from the yardfowls on BU is how smart Fumble is at playing politics. Keep playing politics.
So Pacha, you and the dems can spin all you want about Mia and OSA but Mia is not the problem, the Dems non-management of this economy is what is crucial.
There is no point discussing Owen’s apparent attacks on Mia.
He has made it clear how he feels bout her as a person and as a leader. He is entitled to his opinion.
Mia’s effort to force an early election by proposing marches and eminent person’s bull stit and town hall meetings did not work.
The BLP will have to wait until the next general elections and let the people decide if they want them back.
Meanwhile I hope that the North American economy improves so that Tourism will improve and Bajans in the Diaspora will have more money to send back to Barbados.
Politics in Barbados is alright.The People in Barbados are slightly stoopid – mendicants
But Politics is about shaping public opinion, not managing finances .. Oh God (that I don’ even believe exist ..) wake up your people so that they might know this. Dear Jehovah, let these people understand the true nature of the Party, the agenda that exists behind the pantomime and pomp. For they would know that to report on a Party is to accept it as relevant, to criticize a Party is to accept it as genuine ..for in the same way that I call upon you, as it is in vain, Your people occupy their time with activities within the ranks of the Party, (Wait, where dah lightning now come from … stupse..!)
Mia MUST do Barbados and the BLP a big favour and rid politics of OSA. He had his time and it passed, we do not want him BACK, period.
http://dealbook.nytimes.com/2014/03/24/5-former-madoff-employees-found-guilty-of-fraud/
There is more than 5 who help pull off the Biggest Fraud in the Caribbean , MIA and Owen with the AGs and other government departments ,
MIA must go and Owen need not never return ,
On a lighter note and for all the fans of Judge Joe Browne…lol
http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/judge-joe-brown-jailed-contempt-court-memphis-article-1.1732553
===Corey Layne for Prime Minister then
Plantation……check out the Nostradamus post on the Cahill Energy link and see where the politicians have all these little corrupt islands in the Caribbean headed.
Heading back to slavery nuh
60 post abolished -QEH
more sent home
wailing an gnashing of teeth
Badly managed situation
The cut in the public service had to go hand in hand with privatization where you would absorb those displaced into private sector. Private sector not necessarily meaning- working for Cow Williams but it would have meant displaced workers establishing businesses. The transition from displaced worker to business owner could have been gradual and smoother without the obvious pain. This is the difference between poor management and proper management, the way things are done and not what is done. Epic fail on the part of those concerned.
Minister of Finance alluded to the fact that this is nothing new and he said that it was done before and people did not even know.
–AHA —there is the key
@Prodigal Son
Don’t underestimate what a cohesive Opposition will bring to the table.
Three blind mice…
something beautiful to share.
http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.wimp.com%2Fjamaicanchildren%2F&h=vAQFPtWn4
Islandgal
When all else fails it’s best to take the easy way out and blame the electorate for the BLP’s inability to articulate an effective message that would have probably changed the existing state of affairs. Gal, you sound like a sore loser. lol
I do not know why Pacha And Ac are gloating. The ignominious positions taken by Mr Arthur and Ms Mottley against each other can only be to their detriment and by extension the detriment of the organisation they purport to love unlike the misery unleashed upon the taxpayers of this country by the current administration due to their own incompetence if the Minister of agriculture can be believed. The opposition is not in charge of the affairs of this country so what Mr Arthur or Ms Mottley do in their ignorance cannot affect the livelihoods of one soul in Barbados as the mismanagement of the economy by the present administration is currently doing to the society. Not only individuals but the lives of entire families have been thrown into disarray by an administration who continued to govern after election victory as if they were still in the campaign mode; the economic ignorance resulting therefrom swept over the country like a tsunami from which recovery is debatable. Pacha- forget OSA, forget Mia and focus on whether the current administration would find the foresight and wisdom to alleviate the suffering they inflicted on the suffering masses reeling under the deadly sins of retrenchment and high prices.
The Constitution of Barbados recognizes the Oposition. Our democratic system is safeguarded by a strong ( or the appearence of ) Opposition.
OSA is not going to be good news for the BLP and or Mia. She needs to expel him from the Party?
OSA cannot help us now……….too old and long in the tooth. Plus he only want to come back to try and rival EWB legacy. That won’t and can’t ever happen OSA,
You would not think so. A lot of people seem to want the Opposition to shut up and let this inept incompetent government run this economy over the fiscal cliff without a murmur! As soon as Mia opens her mouth…….she is power hungry but when the dead king campaigned from the time he ousted Clyde Mascoll, he was so smart……..yea right!
” Our democratic system is safeguarded by a strong ( or the appearance of )opposition”
A democracy isn’t necessarily safeguarded by the appearance of opposition.
In the American Republican model: a democratic president with a majority in the Senate as well as in the House of Representative, amounts to dictatorial- power for the president. I am quite sure that this is equally true for the parliamentary- democratic- model?
The scenario above were main flaw the framers of the of the American Constitution feared, in they initial attempts to constructed this document.
@ Balance
You must learn to make some fun at the political animals, spit on them, cuss them, throw eggs at them, piss on them, run them out of the political space. You take these clowns too seriously. This missive was not about supporting Bees or Dees. We wanted to poke fun, pun intended, at them all. These comedians could only be taken seriously by people like you who follow them like a religion. We don’t. We are sorry that your leader finds herself at the business end of a donkey doggie, administered repeated in public spaces. Our irreverence for the actors, including the spectators, in this public display of humiliation leaves no room for partiality, especially of the bovine variety.
Who listened to Mia’s response in the Estimates? Who’s voice was that urging on and at times offering words/ideas to say?
“The Constitution of Barbados recognizes the Oposition. Our democratic system is safeguarded by a strong ( or the appearence of ) Opposition”
Good try. The opposition boycotted the shebang put on to celebrate the yoke upon the backs of poor by the rich for over 312 years and from all reports was successfully staged. Yes, the Constitution recognizes an opposition but the opposition has no power in our system of Governance.
Frankley balance, it appears that even the incumbent has ho power in our system of Governance … Something as simple as voting at the UN in favour of our neighbor Venezuela evoked an abstention, with the most flimsy of excuses coming from the Ambassador …(which begs the question, exactly in whose interest is this Ambassador Beal serving ..?)
The opposition leader in America is third in line for the presidency, if president and/or the vice – president are killed or died’s of natural causes. The Speaker of the House is third in line for the presidency but in the original constitution is was the Secretary of State. But in the 1800′ s this all changed because it was best thought of that someone outside of the president’s cabinet would best served the interest of the country.
Its funny how the Speaker of the House has more constitutional power than the Vice – president. The president delegates to the Vice-president!
Dompey aka Mark Fenty
We do not need any lessons in the US Constitution.
Donkey why don’t you try kissing yuh backside for a change instead of licking the Americans backside?
Duncy Donkey,the past tense of put is put.One hears the word ‘putted’ in the game of golf.
All you donkeys braying for OSA to leave public life,all ya better haul!Not one of you low life,bag blind,insipid,imbecilic,gimme,gimme DLP hacks and hoes,can hold a light to OSA,an outstanding Bajan who outshone the best the BLP had in its lineup and shocked most people at his outstanding success as a very capable PM of Barbados.Ef you en like it,get the hell out a hay!
Freundel Stuart has brought Barbados to its knees.Tough days ahead for all.Let them stew in the mess they have created.
I have to jump in here, ‘‘Dompey’s” lessons on the US Constitution would merit an “F”. First , there is no Leader of the Opposition under the US Constitution. There is a “minority” leader who is leader of the Party with the fewest seats in the House. The Speaker of the House is third in line of succession to the President BUT he/she will only become President if both the President and Vice President died before a successor could be sworn in to take either of their positions e.g. if the President died then the VP will assume Office and he will select a VP who will be next in line. If the VP died the President will select another VP who would succeed the President if he is unable to fulfill his duties. The Speaker of the House will only become President if both the President & VP died before a successor could be sworn in e.g. if they died in an accident together.
Nixon’s first VP was Spiro Agnew who resigned after he was indicted for corruption in his previous job as Gov. of Maryland, Nixon then selected House minority Leader (Gerald Ford) as VP. Ford took over as President when Nixon resigned after Watergate. Nixon then selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP, notice there isn’t a Speaker in the Group.
The present Speaker in Congress is John Boehner who is the leader of the Republican Party in the House and the President is Barack Obama a Democrat that’s probably why “Dompey” writes about Leader of the Opposition however Nancy Pelosi (Democrat) was Speaker when Obama assumed the Presidency, certainly she couldn’t be termed “Leader of the Opposition”.
Finally the line of succession in the US runs through the Cabinet after the President,VP and Speaker that is why during State of the Union addresses one Cabinet member is usually stashed elsewhere so in the event of a catastrophic incident someone would be around to assume the duties of the President.
Now back to Owen & Mia
What the HELL!
Wunna REALLY arguing with Donkey in truth..? …bout US government? …..on BU?
…Lord …come fuh yuh world do!…..soon!
It is sad and frankly pathetic that this man’s hatred will allow him to sacrifice his own party and the country.
Bajan have clearly shown in 2008 and again in 2013 that they no longer want Owen Arthur to be Prime Minister. Will he be the first three time winner to be a three time loser?
Gabriel , oh please, its time for your prostate medication.
Sergeant , Republican is the Speaker of the House as we speak and his opposes President Obama’ s agenda right? How would you defined him?
Sergeant, even if the Republicans are the minority in the House or the Senate, they still the opposition fool. And vice verse!
Islandgal, you do not know what it means to have an international mindset as I do. And I am afraid to say that you would never eradicate that small island mindset, until you understand what it means to interact with world, as I do here in the United States of America.
Islandgal
Islandgal, without the American dollars flowing from here to there, Barbados would have been the psychological equivalent of one of the poorest state in Africa. So you should thank God for myself and the countless number of Bajans abroad, who pour the American green into Barbados everyday.
Gabriel
In general Gabriel, it is useful to remember that people make mistakes in every language, including English but thanks for your advice, yaa stiff prick.
Donkey you are a pompous jackass clogging up this blog with nonsense. Don’t you have work to do? You have been on this blog nonstop littering it with garbage.
Folks ignore this fool and scroll down when he posts.
Man David Donkey really needs to be sent to Coventry.
@Bajanfuhlife
Belize govt won a 2nd term
“Nixon then selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP, notice there isn’t a Speaker in the Group.”
I believe you intended to say Ford selected Nelson Rockefeller as VP”
i have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance,the perception of accountibility, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilties as members of various oversight commiitees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies.Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip.There will be no need for a primus interpares. The role of meeting dignataries and shaking hands can be assigned to the speaker of the parliament or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.
While I would admit that broadly speaking strong leadership is essential to the effective management of any organization; it depends on the particular circumstances and the outcomes. For instance, irrespective of whether it is as a result of the threat of loss of pensions hanging over their heads or not no one can deny the fact that for marshalling his forces well and keeping even his most vocal party critics in line, Mr Stuart can be considered a good leader of his party. On the other hand, the claim by others that he is the worst Prime minister because of his inability to effectively articulate and communicate the issues confronting the country is equally true. while also our former leaders seemed to have a grasp of the all the issues relating to the effective governance and generally to the management of the country; charisma has to a great extent played a defining part in how we perceive leaders should be. I firmly believe that what these small island economies need at this point to effectively deal with the intricacies of economic impositions threatening our survival is effective management. It is my view that this can only be achieved through an overhaul of the anachronistic systems of governance under which we operate and we must first begin with Parliament, now relegated to a poor rakey talk shop comprised of political underlings and fast losing its relevance. Parliament cannot be overhauled with scrutinising the role of the political parties. That is why I have already posited on this forum that political parties have outlived their usefulness and to regain trust in our system of governance, the perception of accountability, and transparency must be improved. To do this we have to take back Parliament from the politicians by having officials elected to parliament from the bowels of the constituencies to look after the interest of the constituents and not the party. Parliamentarians can be assigned certain responsibilities as members of various oversight committees or ministries selected from among the members of parliament. These oversight bodies suitably staffed by persons of varying disciplines would decide policy and forward to the technocrats in the relevant administrative departments for execution. In this way, it is hoped that the chances of parliamentarians getting involved in corruption would be limited if not fully eliminated and the characters of parliamentarians would not be open to abuse based on rumor and speculation.. The various independent public service selection bodies would be restored to select persons for employment and to head the various government agencies. Appointments to such critical and important posts like the Chief Justice will be free of bias and gossip. There will be no need for a primus inter pares. The role of meeting dignitaries and shaking hands can be assigned to an independent Presiding Officer of the Chamber or rotated on an annual basis among the parliamentarians. In this system, the role of the governor general and term limits for parliamentarians would eventually come under scrutiny.
@Gabriel March 25, 2014 at 10:01 PM “All you donkeys braying for OSA to leave public life,all ya better haul!Not one of you low life,bag blind[bastards],insipid,imbecilic,gimme,gimme DLP hacks and hoes,”
David wha’ u doan mek Gabriel behave heself? He ain’t gettin’ on on like an angel at all.
David I dona know the las’ day I hear somebody call somebody else a *bag blind bastard.
bag blind bastard=a person begotten in poverty and outside of the bonds of matrimony and behind a fragile curtain made of crocus[sugar bags]
We haven’t packed sugar in crocus bags for more than 50 years so I doubt that there are any active bag blind bastards left.
@Simple Simon
Thanks for the elucidation.
Dompey is not Mark Fenty ,,, Sorry, Leave the man be, do
“These comedians could only be taken seriously by people like you who follow them like a religion. ”
No offence taken Pacha if you erroneously see me in that light
@ Balance
If our was a misjudgment, we apologize!