159 responses to “CIBC First Caribbean International Bank Instructs Leroy Parris to Take a Hike”

1. By the way, if that was any other country in the world that is not rife with corruption, Stuart, Sinckler, Worrell and all the other enablers of Parris would be facing some quality jail time for their CORRUPT WAYS that continue to blight the island.

2. “And I used to wish that I was rich.”
    ROFL Simple Simon yuh got me brekking up LOLL

3. @Tudor

Bear in mind the media report makes mention that this is an existion account which CIBC has indicated it will be closing.

4. But tell me something……what was he going to do with all that money? Buy more land? Open another cost us more? Fund another election? Buy a ferry? Something something something has gone wrong with the friend of Frundel.

5. But dont make me LAUGH, how many more accounts Leroy got at other banks with lots more laundry? Is this meant to be a Christmas joke? Not to mention his US Visa facilities.Come now gentlemen, what have we here?Do you think he has been storing it under a mattress?Millions on millions.

6. So is CIBC and the other Canadian Banks going to do due dilligence on the other depositors in Barbados.

Is Leroy Parris the only “person of interest” who deserves to be ostracised?

If both political parties received financial support/campaign funding from Parris/Clico their accounts should be closed and the monies returned to Parris/Clico.

Leroy Parris might be a semi literate arrogant pric but in times of plenty Bajans in both political parties benefited from his “generosity” while making fun of his “lack of verbosity”.
    Now these same phuchars shunnin him.

Wonder if our self confessed crack smokin,drunken,gang associating Mayor of Toronto has money in Canadian Banks.

An while you target Clico how about this squeaky clean Canadian company.

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/globe-investor/class-action-trial-a-caribbean-headache-for-manulife/article4092529/

Anyway wunna got to toe de line an keep wunna mout shut cause wunna still got loans an morgages wid de 3 Canadian banks in Babadus.

7. @Hants

So you know some unknown factors are at play here and you should take note Madam Cornelius is onside.

8. WHEN ARE WE GOING TO HAVE OUR 1ST PUBLIC LYNCHING?

In any other age, most of our so-called elected representative PUBLIC SERVANTS – whether they occupy civic, economic & political leadership would be “HUNG”, “DRAWN” & QUARTERED” for acts of treason against the state as defined in Rousseaunian philosophy.

To take it a step further, the utilitarian argument for a PUBLIC LYNCHING is compounded by the gross treachery of “SCUM” like leroy parris caring precious little for policyholders – the people who made CLICO glitterati rich barons!

WHERE IS THE DIRECTOR OF PUBLIC PROSECUTION?

Is one y’all filing a WRIT in the HIGH COURT or what?

9. It would be interesting to see how the DLP yardfowls on the Court of Appeal bench like ugly Marston Gibson and Sandra Mason deal with the matter.

10. Are you suggesting that the Court of Appeal should not be expected to defend any decision in robust law?

11. ‘Yet I canโ€™t help but to think race is a factor here” Please explain unless there were attempts to close yours as well. I am surprised that you did not imply political partisanship as well. Can’t you see the whole issue stinks to high heaven to -if the report is true- cause not one bank but three to refuse eight million even from a dummy company.

12. “Why did the Bank accept such large tranches of monies as deposits to accounts held at its branches without the due diligence in accordance with the rules and regulations as required under Section 8 of the Anti-Money Laundering Act?”

Mr Miller -aren’t declarations only required for deposits in excess of nine thousand, nine hundred and ninety-nine dollars. Suppose, just suppose, the sum of eight million was made up of several of these deposits.
    What is striking and should be embarrassing to us as nation is that not even the intervention of esteemed persons like the Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Central Bank could sway the banking community to accommodate the honourable Leroy.

13. “since it was the same DLP who gave Allan Fields knighthood”
    NOT AT ALL; CHECK YOUR FACTS, IT WAS MR Arthur AND I OFTEN WONDER WHAT HE DID TO RECEIVE THE ACCOLADE. MR FIELDS WAS NOTHING MORE THAN A GLORIFIED SPECULATOR. HE CONTRIBUTED NOTHING OF MERIT TO THE BARBADIAN SOCIETY.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | December 8, 2013 at 7:34 PM |

One of the major reasons why the banks see Greenverbs lucre as off limits is that the monies deposited were laundered primarily to โ€˜evade’ the payment of income tax.
    Greenverbsโ€™s remuneration from C Life was “channeled” via a shell company PFI to avoid the PAYE tax net.
    But who, may we ask, is the minister responsible for the Inland Revenue Department? Not the sinfully sick liar sick who is the โ€˜godsonโ€™ of the leper?

Why do you think the Fumbler refuses to appoint David Estwick as MoF? Because the day that happens LP ass is grass and he might just be the subject of an extensive tax audit.
    How can a man earning millions and living large not pay his fair share of Income Tax? Answer that, now answer it!
    Donโ€™t you think Frank Alleyne had that idiot at the top of the list of income tax cheaters when he made that โ€˜boldโ€™ revelation a few months ago?

15. What is far more interesting to me is that the Final Forensic Report on CLICO dated June 2013 was presented to the court with a request for it to be kept under seal due to it containing ‘sensitive information on which action was likely to be taken’. This is just weeks after FCIB first invited Parris to withdraw his funds. One has to wonder whether there is information which now appears in the sealed forensic report which would have become known to FCIB just prior to the completion of the report and which may have triggered their action to discontinue any relationship with that man and his money. Just wondering….. Rest assured the truth will out, eventually, especially in this case where there are a number if us who are dedicated not to let this fiasco rest or go away…

16. @Bdosmike

The public needs to eyeball that sealed report.

17. They will, in due course…

18. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Bdosmike;

And where LP was could DT have been far behind? The saga of the 3.333333 M informs.

At least one parliamentarian must have been quivering in his/her boots at the possible consequences of the eventuality of the final CLICO audit report seeing the light of day, as it must. The news today can have far reaching serious consequences for Barbados and its Government.

19. Could anyone elude to why a certain WILL is yet to be probated after three years +? Is it that somebody would also certainly fall in the spotlight as to where all this money come from. BARE BULL ya hear !

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

SBIB; Is it that the will has not been probated or is it that it has been probated and kept far from the eyes of the madding crowd? perhaps Amused or RR can tell us.

21. Are we there yet….. There is waaaay more to it than just the $3m to which you refer. If you have not already done so, read the Interim Forensic Report available on here and see for yourself why a further audit report was approved and carried out which contains ‘sensitive information’ and which obviously had to be kept under seal (for the time being). It is not over till the fat lady sings and she has not even put on her dress and make-up for her final performance yet….

22. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Bdosmike;
    I think the fat lady has come on stage and has started clearing her throat. Watch for the rats scampering for cover as she sings her high notes.

23. We all know local media is constrained by what it can print least it offends the hand that feeds it. One wonders what influence Harold Hoyte still has at Fontabelle given his close relationship with Leroy.

24. Well Well | December 8, 2013 at 3:23 PM |
    By the way, if that was any other country in the world that is not rife with corruption, Stuart, Sinckler, Worrell and all the other enablers of Parris would be facing some quality jail time for their CORRUPT WAYS that continue to blight the island.
    ……………. Looks like we have our own Bafia .Will part of the late PM’s estate be given similar treatment.

25. @ Green Monkey: I checked him out after the post and his credentials are legitimate. Good post but real scary for Barbados within the next 6 to 18 months. I will stay tuned to see the outcome.

@ Kevin “If the parent company in Trinidad CL Financial did not collapse, Clico here would be still flying high”

“IF” is a preposition that we all learnt about in primary school. “IF” is only used by wishful thinkers like yourself in hindsite when something goes awfully wrong. We on this site are not wishful in our thought. We don’t always agree but we are not wishful thinkers.

“IF” has now been relgated to use by computer programers and engineers who use boolean algebra to predict a logical outcome (IF, THEN, ELSE, AND, NOT etc).

Kevin do not belittle my intelegence with an “IF” statement when honest people invested their hard earn money in good faith only to be robbed by these stiff necked criminals that are being protceted by their politcal allies. Thank God that the bankers are willing to expose what the “Minister of Finance, the PM and Governor of the Central bank” are not willing to expose. Yes Kevin, I am pissed by your use of “IF” to defend Leroy Paris under these circumstances.

Kevin “IF” my aunt had balls she would be my uncle.

26. @are we there yet, I suspect we will hear quite a few high Cs, and that may not be from the fat lady.
    @ Askquith, “Thank God that the bankers are willing to expose what the โ€œMinister of Finance, the PM and Governor of the Central bankโ€ are not willing to expose.” Well said and with great diplomacy. What goes around may finally be coming around. Put me down for two tickets for the final show. Front row centre please.

27. Alas your aunt has no balls and so she is not your uncle.

28. I just study something. In the good old days my granny used to run a meeting turn. Every week her pardners would bring one dollar or two and she would keep it for them and at the end of the week one woman would get the whole meeting turn

No paper trail.

No computer trail.

Tell Leroy to take the $8 million in cash and I would keep it for him, no paper trail. no computer trail or nothing so. Just trust and my integrity.

I’ll keep the cash under my bed, and under Little Johnny’s and Little Susie’s and we won’t tek any fa weself.

Case we honest just like we granny, and Simple too

Simon.

29. @BU, I have no confidence in the Justice System, especially with foolish Marston Gibson at the helm. He has not driven a proper stroke since he was manoeuvered into the position. I hope CIBC would be extra vigilant and will not be bullied by the yardfowls.

30. @Simple Simon December 8, 2013 at 2:16 PM “Tell that to these and hundreds of other BLACK women (and men) whose money disappeared in CLICO (while Leroy Parris was at the help)”

Hell-M

Not help

31. I can safely bet that 80% of Bajans are intently looking at this scenario developing. Many are smirking and can’t wait to see the house of queens fumble ooops I mean tumble.

32. I hope all you guyz and galz realize that Barbados is now considered a Banana Republic with alll these outrageous revelations today.The only person missing from the mix is Elyut.The PM,the MoF,the GoCB all mixed with this rotten barrel of Clico/Baico pirates who are untouchable.Not so in Trinidad.They have a warrant out for Duprey.Where is the warrant for the leprous man.Imagine a man join an insurance company as an agent and in 10 years he is a muti millionaire and milking the company up to this day under the watchful eyes of the PM,the MoF and the GoCB.
    I am informed that the dead king’s will is probated and hidden from prying eyes lest a copy fall off the back of a truck.It’s said to be worth 39Mill.
    Barbados is now governed by a den of theives.There oughta be a law man!!!We have had enough of this baloney.There are too many bighead, corrupt people in the halls of power.

33. @Gabrel “Where is the warrant for the leprous man”

The man is not a leper. The man is the friend of our Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

34. @ Simple Simon, please do not get confused. A leper is the unfortunate victim of an unremitting disease, thankfully now extinct in Barbados. Parris brought about the demise of 35,000 policyholders by his diseased business practices. Hopefully he too will soon be extinct.

35. Gabriel, once a will has been granted probate, does not the will become a public record, and if so, can it not be viewed by anyone on application (and payment of a fee) to the Court at which it was granted?

36. uh wonder if all wunnuh that jump in to get piece uh de action tek a minute to ceck pun de facts uh dis matter ! eight million dollars!!! wah man would be suh foolish to got eight million dollars pun a bank in Barbados ? wunnuh don tink Parris got more sense dan dat? Somehow i dont truss dis Roy Morris story. He is a prostitute dat would publish tings dat in true to sell newspapers dah is how he and de res uh dum at de nation get in trouble. But wunnuh notice de lawyers wun talk to de nation ! wunnuh better pick sense from dat . somehow I smell a rat ! look out !

37. One would expect coming so soon after the sex scene story that Morris would have been bery careful with this story, especially knowing Parris penchant for resorting to the law court.

38. IS IT TRUE SOME BANKS HAVE BEING PUTTING THINGS IN PLACE AND RUNNING SIMULATIONS FOR A DEVALUATION OF $3BDS TO $1US? Can anyone confirm or deny?

39. Oh by the way it was Chris Sinckler with the full backing of the estimable Prime Minister Thompson and cabinet who sent the acting Supervisor Of Insurance Vernese Brathwaite on special leave since 2010. Her only sin was to beg, push and send her interim report to the DPP which the then Permanent Secretary in the Ministry Of Finance William Layne dragged his feet on. Corruption run deep in Barbados and persons must understand the thiefing lawyers are also the politicians. Imagine Thompson Associates the law firm been wound up so quickly after his death, so no access to files.

40. Perhaps Chris Sinckler, Freundel Stuart, Mia Mottley, Dale Marshall, Owen Arthur, Michael Lashley, Denis Lowe, Hal Gollop, Lesley Haynes and others close to them finances should be scrutinized for money laundering. I am not saying they are crooked or would have taken inducements only that corruption robs the poor. http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/poverty-matters/2013/dec/03/transparency-international-measure-corruption-valid?INTCMP=ILCNETTXT3487

41. People go to jail for less in other countries.

But this is Barbados. David Thompson, the same lawyer who helped set up the CLICO employment contract in 2005, received secret โ€œcampaign donationsโ€ from CLICO and Parris. After Thompson was elected Prime Minister, CLICO got land use approvals and Thompson had the use of the Clico executive jet.

Then when the CLICO โ€“ CL Financial house of cards came tumbling down, Thompson fought off judicial management of the company, appointed some toothless โ€œOversight Committeeโ€ without real authority or power to do anything, and gave Parris a nice job in charge of the Caribbean Broadcasting Company โ€“ managing what news the public heard about the CLICO debacle.

Prime Minister David Thompson knew about the secret agreement because he witnessed and signed it. He probably set it up as Leroyโ€™s lawyer. Then years later when the โ€œOversight Committeeโ€ that Thompson appointed couldnโ€™t find any contracts with Parris, Thompson stayed silent to protect his friend and himself.

42. The more poor persons begging for the crumbs from the table of the rich ensure the rich becomes super rich. In Barbados what we had going for us was a shrinking poor with a large and growing middle class which meant the rich were not getting richer. In come incomeptent jackasses of the DLP aided and abetted by illiterate voters who lacked the ability to reason as well as rationalize. To be fair most of the constipated middle class living in their selfish circle don`t vote or protest despite living from payday to payday with only a month away to becoming homeless!

43. Parris came under the committeeโ€™s radar after withdrawing more than $250 000 in deposits from CLICO Mortgage & Financial Corporation. Another payment of over $876 000 was paid by CLICO to another of Parrisโ€™ companies, Branlee Consulting Services.

Prior to his retirement, Parris had said he would have worked with managers and agents to ensure CLICOโ€™s survival, but his departure came weeks ahead of a planned July date when on May 27 he announced his quitting the company.

His departure has also left unanswered questions, including the size of his salary and benefits from the company of which he became the face in Barbados. According to the writ, to date Parris received about $3.5 million from the company starting with a payment of just over $3.5 million in January 2009 and four payments of $30 000 each last year, the last being paid on November 24.

Parris has also brought two separate court actions against CLICO Holdings Barbados for failing to pay him yearly bonus payments and for the provision of management services during the period 2008 to last year.

According to him, the company should have paid him over $750 000 in each case for breaching his contractural arrangements.

The former executive chairman has also taken legal action against CLICOโ€ˆInternational Life Insurance, claiming over $3.5 million for three personal policies which matured between November 2008 and December last year.LEROY PARRIS, former executive chairman of CLICO Holdings (Barbados), earned over $80 000 in salary and perks monthly and was guaranteed a whopping $10 million in gratuity by the company.

In addition to a $30 000 monthly salary, he was also paid $300 000 a year as a bonus payment and another $300 000 yearly for providing management services.

44. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Bdosmike @ 10.39 pm
    Good question! Here’s another. Has the general public ever been able to examine probated wills of any former prime minister or former minister? or even divorce settlements of former prime ministers or even current prominent Lawyers? What rationale does the registry offer for this situation in Barbados, a nation of laws? I presume (until shown better by our BU lawyers) that the practice that you allude to, of guaranteed public access to such documents, works only for the hoi polloi, not for eminent politicians.

45. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

I forgot to mention above. I wonder how a FOIA and IL would deal with the above and if the on again off again nature of that legislation is partially due to such legislation having the potential to shine the light of truth on several examples of crookedness in the past and the present.

46. @are-we-there-yet

You have not realized that it is one big incestuous legal fraternity?

47. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Yes David. But I,m just asking to spur some serious thinking in the few BU family members who still don’t get it.

48. @something fishy “i dont truss dis Roy Morris story. He is a prostitute dat would publish tings dat in true to sell newspapers”

Not true.

More often that not the media in Barbados get into trouble for publishing the truth.

Not for publishing lies

49. @ David
    You better check dis ting ! I just read de story in the nation news.com and to my surprise Roy Morris write in dat report dat gone pun de internet that “it is understood the accounts hold at least several hundreds of thousands of dollars” . Now tell me David how the Sunday sun story by de same Roy Morris can put de sum at EIGHT MILLION DOLLARS ? you dont think dat dis is something fishy ? Can dat vagabond Roy Morris and de nation paper be trusted ? I call on you David to publish de repot from de Nation news.com . Another ting i find interesting is dat same report mek it look like it is Parris personal accounts while the Sunday sun report mention de name of a company. david i cant but feel dis is a witch hunt ! someting real fishy !!

50. We all read the figure of 8 million obviously Roy is wary about a Court Order asking him to name his source. Have we not dealt with the Company owned by Parris in earlier blogs? Let us not engage in semantics of a legalese kind. We want to see the sealed report.