Sen. Darcy Boyce, Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance, Investment, Telecommunications and Energy

Positioned on the periphery of local politics, the independent is always forced to chuckle. The idea that Senator Darcy Boyce was CEO of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc (BTII) between 2004 and 2007 reporting to former minister Noel ‘Barney’ Lynch is reason enough.

BU will continue our remit to shine a bright light at the underbelly of Bajan society much to the annoyance of the establishment. Politicians on both sides have become very comfortable issuing vacuous promises to a largely forgiving electorate. The coming of transparency legislation indeed!

All agree tourism along with attracting investment are critical  to a vibrant local economy. The agencies responsible for overseeing related activities are expected to bring a good game.  Have a look at the BTII website which has… committed [itself] to this development and invites investors around the world to evaluate our investment opportunities and work with us in profitable and beneficial projects. You too can benefit from our success by taking advantage of tourism investment opportunities on the island…Local media has credited the BTII with leading the agreement to purchase Heywoods property known as Almond Beach Village.

BU is willing to offer the management of BTII an apology if proved wrong but the website appears not to have been updated  since 2006. Here is a snippet:

Track Record

By the end of 2005, the island had hosted over 1.1 million tourists, of whom 547,534 were stay-over visitors and 563,588 were cruise ship visitors. Accommodation for tourists is targeted to increase from approximately 6,255 rooms in 2005 to approximately 9,500 rooms by 2010.

Investment Opportunities

The Barbados tourism industry has shown steady growth over the last 50 years despite periods of relative instability driven by world economic and geo-political crises. Travel and tourism is expected to grow by 4.6% per annum, in real terms, between 2002 and 2012. The travel and tourism economic contribution should rise from 37.4% to 43.8% during that same period.

By a rough calculation, if the number of long stay visitors had grown by 4.6% per annum from the 547,534 in 2005 to 2012 there would have been about 750,00 long stay visitors in 2012.  According to Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO) website long stay visitors in 2012 were 536,303; hardly an endorsement for BTII’s pitch “Why Invest In Barbados Tourism”.

Be sure to check out the video which is also prominently displayed on the BTII website to see a young Dale Marshall who had responsibility for international business in the pre 2007 period. The former minister is very eloquent in his delivery about CWC2007 Cricket World Cup. Other members of the cast are Sir Charles who pitches to the American investor, local real estate mogul Nick Parravicino who assures potential overseas investors in real estate that their investment is protected because all titles are thoroughly searched by attorneys…

The website should be taken down immediately. It is an embarrassment to Barbadians and must act as a deterrent to potential investors who land in the site while ferreting information about Barbados. What is of greater concern to BU is the lethargy which key government agencies continue to display at a time when there is the crying need to be competitive and efficient.

BU gives full credit for performing due diligence to bring this matter to the fore to Due Diligence.

61 responses to “BTII: Investment and its Importance to the Local Economy”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I don’t think its just the BTII website, but most of tourism related Government websites. Just look at the Ministry of Tourism’s site, under NEWS it still shows a video of the former Minister of Tourism (2007). A critical source of arrivals is the Barbados Statistical Service, but figures have still not been posted for August, September and October 2013 yet. But the MOF is boasting in Parliament that the upcoming winter season has started early. It’s as if, they don’t think the taxpayers has a right to know.

2. The obsolete Web content of key go governmcent websites exposes something very deep. Attention to tactics to support strategy. A need to understand market requirements and expectations to get success.

3. @Adrian

As you have seen the MOT’s website is currently offline. Maybe they are listening after all. A couple hundred thousand per year to monitor and update Web content is all it takes.

4. David,

After “shining a bright light at the underbelly of Bajan society, much to the annoyance of the establishment”, then what??

Continue to expect the status quo to continue indefinitely??

What role is this BU blog really playing in helping to get the rid of many of these loathsome status quo relationships that pervade this Bajan society?

5. @PDC

We are doing nothing.

6. PDC………..10 years ago, most of what we now see on BU would have been successfully swept under the carpet and most everyone on the island would successfully continue to go along smartly in their comfort zone of denial….

7. David | November 27, 2013 at 9:25 AM |
    @PDC
    We are doing nothing.

David that is not true.

In the website for the World Travel Market; http://www.wtmlondon.com ,the Exhibitor Directory for the 2013 event shows BTII was represented, as was BTA, at Booth 203; which it shared with 93 other Barbados toiursim exhibitors.

Yes 95 exhibitors “marketing” themselves in one booth.

It is unbelievable that Barbados goes to the premier travel marketing exhibition, attended by 46,000 travel professionals; and has close to 100 exhibitors cramming their marketing materials into sharing a single booth.

Adrain can you tell us:

How large is a booth at WTM that was shared by 95 exhibitors?

How many persons, and who were the persons who manned the booth?
    Were they from the MOT, from BTA in Barbados or from BTA’s London Office; or did they hire a few locals to hand our brochures and cards.?

How can any one exhibitor get noticed in a booth shared by close to 100 other exhibitors?

Here is a video on Youtube produced by the Central Bank of Barbados for BTII

Do you know when did the Central Bank get into the video production business?

One last thing. There is a half page joint St. Lucia Tourism/Westjet Vacations ad featuring 13 properties (including 3 Sandals properties) in today’s Toronto Star; and a half page Sandals Grande Antigua ad in the Globe and Mail.

I am beginning to think that when I get to Barbados in 2014, I will have the place to myself.

8. @ The People’s Democratic Congress

Why ask the question “then what?”, Don’t you get it that Barbados is a “do nothing” society and has always been? The majority of Bajans (not all of us: an example being the author of the article) believe government is responsible for their education, health care, public transportation, housing, jobs and the list goes on. As a result we have become a “do nothing” society with a lot of talk and no action and boy we can really talk. Just read the comments posted in this blog. The politicians (both parties) enjoy the luxury of leading the “know it all, do nothing about it” society Barbados has become.

Unfortunately this is the stigma of “mental slavery”. The real pain will be felt as we age and find that in retirement we have to rely on ourselves and the result of not responding to the “then what?” questions that pop up now is going to be painful then.

Well Well refers to the mental state of the island as “continue to go along smartly in their comfort zone of denial….” Well put Well Well,

Good article, shame on the government, another hopeless situation.

9. Due D, I have sent David a video to hopefully post which partially explains the logic behind exhibiting at WTM. The costs are horrendous for individual small tourism partners, so we have never been able to justify it. It is also largely tour operator/travel agent driven and some of us prefer to put available marketing monies into generating direct rack rate bookings.

10. @ Due Diligence
    What is the real purpose behind the video and if it was tourist related what was the targeted market?

There is a point about Barbados that you are missing and may more on this site. In spite of the missteps in recent years Barbados sells itself well unlike other islands. Hence they have to be overly aggressive to attract attention (lower rates, better terms, flashier adds, etc). Barbados has etched a unique position in the tourist market that cannot be denied.. We are NOT a desperate people. Visitors identify with that right away upon arrival and it makes them comfortable on the island. They spread the word when they return to their homeland. 500,000 visitors can spread more good than 500,000 adds. This is a direct result of the populace, our only natural resource, When I meet folk that visited the island their common theme is “the people there are so nice, friendly and courteous”. The word “desperate” is not in their vocab. This helps to sell Barbados. These characteristics cannot be denied or ignored. The world is aware that Bim is safe, welcoming and a pleasant place to visit,

We can harp about a lot of things that are wrong with the island 9and that is our right) but our folk being our prized natural resource sells the island and sells it well. As a result you would never be alone on the island but for now you will have to settle for a lot of arm room and foot space on the plane.

11. What investment? stupse

12. “We are NOT a desperate people. They spread the word when they return to their homeland. 500,000 visitors can spread more good than 500,000 adds. but our folk being our prized natural resource sells the island and sells it well.”

ROFLMAO …….If having a public prayer meeting in independence square for Barbados ain’t a sign of desperation then I must be loco. They say pride comes before a fall. If 500,000 people see the filth and smell the pissyness of Bridgetown and the environs then that would be the kind of word of mouth advertising we are looking for. If 500,000 people are harassed on the beach by drug sellers and lately by a man on Accra beach publicly masturbating around women with no one doing anything when the police are called that is the kind of advertising we are looking for. With restaurants charging such high prices and poor customer service in most places that is the story what we want people to take back with them. Some free things can do more harm then good.

13. correction than good

14. @ Islandgal
    If having a public prayer meeting in independence square for Barbados ain’t a sign of desperation then I must be loco
    Actually you ARE Loco Islandgal.
    Public prayers would only be a sign of desperation to a Jezebel – daugher of the devil. To normal humans, it is a sign of humility in a people who acknowledge the reality of a greater being….even if they are otherwise brass bowls.
    As to harassment and cleanliness, Bushie’s concerns and condemnations are on record…BUT tell us about YOUR homeland any how it is better….compared to most other Caribbean destinations Barbados IS outstanding….as Asquith says.
    It IS also true that most visitors are IMPRESSED and that they DO generally leave with a good experience ….and MOST return again and again…..
    So you could shut your trap…..why are YOU not back where you came from …if here is so hopeless? ….too depressing to do so?

Barbados is in need of MAJOR work. It is full of Brass. …..but still Bushie can’t find a better option…and apparently neither can you…

15. Bush Tea….”To normal humans…..”……run that one by me again fellow Cawmerian…..you are still to show me the directions on how to treat to a greater being….need to see all of the do’s and dont’s in order to interact with this being properly….so kindly help me out thanks

16. Please help me as to the purpose of these so called “multi faith gatherings”
    The Bible states quite clearly that there is only one way to God and that is through His Son Jesus. If you are a Christian why would you be attending these services?

17. Rastaman…they still believe the middleman (priest, reverend, preacher) cares about and can do something for them, still believe the middleman has a direct pipeline to the ears of the Divine, they still don’t realize the pipeline the middleman has is connected directly to their (the sheeple) pockets. lol

18. Bush Tea……..as woman, ya kinda rough with Island, go easy, she is not the one causing the drama, she is just highlighting.

19. Bushie Barbados is my home and you can’t do one shoite bout it! You can shut your gob as well. You are another HYPOCRITE who refuses to acknowledge that the majority of so called believers who are praying for Barbados got only one thing in mind…the MONEY God! I have every right to criticize what I see as things gone wrong in my country Barbados. So fcuk to rass off you Barbarian!

20. David (and Adrian)

Thanx for the video

I felt much better to know that the WTM delegation was lead by Senator Sandiford-Garner, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and International Transport

That is a good thing – I thought until I watched the video – more than once.

PLEASSSE. She had to work 4 or 5 long days – from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm (seven hours); and sometimes longer with after-hours meetings, including one with Butch the saviour for tourism in Barbados? (It is good to hear later that Butch paid for dinner. DD worked for 40 years for one company, with typical day from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm; and regularly longer – five days a week – 48 weeks a year.

It is good to hear that the Senator has stooped to work at the operational level, when she would normally work on policy issues.

And that she she is no social butterfly..

12 is more than 15 – OOPS

90% of Treasury’s revenue comes from tourism? Tell that to the International Business Sector people.

Hard-nosed dealing with airlines over the hundreds of thousands of dollars of hard cash paid to them to fly to Barbados.

Where was the hard-nosed negotiations when they were dealing with Butch, for whom they are building Beaches a BD$500 million property to be paid for with hard cash from the Barbados taxpayers.?

Differentiate ourselves from destinations like Mauritius and Abu Dhabi, for the high end visitor?. Check their websites – Mauritius even has a Casuarina Hotel.

How about differentiating BIM from Jamaica, Bahamas, Antigua and St. Lucia – Sandals Beaches everywhere.

The Senator says she was surprised at the diversity and number of countries representing themselves as tourist destinations at the exhibition. Did no one in the Ministry tell her what to expect (it was her first time)? Did she not visit the Exhibitor Directory at the WTM website to see who would be represented?

“The Empire seems to believe that we are no longer relevant” What does that mean?

Revisit APD – and make it fair. What is fair?

The woman was in over her head.

I do hope that I am not being too harsh; and that she is now well rested after those 4 or 5 long days of work.

21. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Due D,
    do you think that Butch got good value-for-money with the dinner he bought? 25 years of almost no tax and another 15 years with 50 per cent of the normal tax the rest of us pay.

22. Adrian

I’d say he got a heluva deal – as long as the Senator picked up the tip.

23. @ well well
    Don’t get into this Bushie/Islandgal bassa bassa. This is delicate business (domestic violence sort of… 🙂 )
    @ Islandgal
    Watch your damn language with Bushie yuh!! Who the fcuk you think you is?! Yuh brass bowl yuh!!… You wait till Bushie get home…. 🙂 …you may get the 3 by 14…..
    We know that Barbados is yuh home….. You never been any place so sweet yet!… So when you feel moved to belittle bout here, …try and apply some moderation hear?…. Or we will put some Dominican Republic law in your tail….

@ Rasta and Vincent
    The purpose of the multi-faith gatherings is to make the brass bowls feel comfortable in their numbers. …same reason Arthur wanted us to Join CSME….. Same reason why sheep are easily led….
    When a fellow feels lost, there is comfort in numbers.

AT THE. SAME TIME…..Bushie was making the more basic point that AT LEAST Bajans are humble enough to ACKNOWLEDGE that there is a supreme being out there to whom we are beholden….
    It IS a start….
    There are a lotta super brass bowls out there who actually feel that (as Bushie’s mother used to say) “they mek themselves”
    ….there may be some hope for Bajan brass bowls after all.

24. BT
    2 Chronicles 7:14
    If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.

25. @ DD
    Let’s face the FACTS
    Politicians are essentially people who hold such nondescript skills that they are largely dispensable. this is what makes them available to be abused, belittled and harassed while begging and scraping and bowing to be elected.
    Once elected (in NO way based on ability) they assume management responsibility for the sophisticated jobs of developing and administering national policy……negotiating with professionals and criminals who have honed these skills over DECADES.

It is NOT the politicians who are stupid…it is US brass bowls who continue to accept such an asinine system.

…compare with the national supervisory committee and the HIRED national management team proposed by Baffy and Bushie Inc. 🙂

26. @ GP
    humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways;
    The first three fairly easy…especially when faced with the reality of no job, no money and no prospects….
    ..But the turning from the wicked ways REAL HARD yuh…..

27. Bush Tea

I may not be too late for the politicians to HIRE Baffy and Bushie Inc. to head up the national management team to manage the national supervisory committee to negotiate with professionals and criminals.

Once you are hired, DD will be pleased to sign on with B&B as its CDDO – Chief Due Diligence Officer, provided the job comes with 2 BMWs (one for Mrs. DD)

28. Due Diligence

You pay BT mind? He supported the Dems!! What does that tell you about his judgement and decision-making skills? lmao

29. Enuff

OOPS

I guess I should have done a thorough due diligence on the parties I was thinking about getting into bed with.

30. Bush Tea….I am still waiting for an answer on how to deal with being.

31. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

Lord dat wun ilandgal mout nasty enuff! She aint have no couth at all. Uncouth uncouth uncouth. All like she so want praying fa. Come and cuss me now, come.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enuff | November 27, 2013 at 4:50 PM |
    “Due Diligence
    You pay BT mind? He supported the Dems!! What does that tell you about his judgement and decision-making skills? ”

Brilliant, just brilliant! And I was all of the time of the view I was the only one to spot the hypocrite in our midst! Due diligence has been performed on this “twist-mouth” character and he has been found wanting.

Imagine Bushie calling Fumble Stuart a man of integrity and impeccable character! He also believes Chris Sinckliar is the best MoF of all times. We can only surmise he is speaking Double-Dutch aka gobbledygook for which he is handsomely rewarded.

33. Bushie you can KISS my BIG BLACK TOE yuh BRASS BOWL BARBARIAN!

Pompesettin Pussy go bathe yuhself do…..yuh did skinning yuh botsy bout hey at muh a few years ago an den playing yuh is a Christian yuh blasted DLP HYPOCRITE!

34. “Due diligence has been performed on this “twist-mouth” character and he has been found wanting. ” “Imagine Bushie calling Fumble Stuart a man of integrity and impeccable character! He also believes Chris Sinckliar is the best MoF of all times. We can only surmise he is speaking Double-Dutch aka gobbledygook for which he is handsomely rewarded.”

ROFLMAO Miller yuh spot on, yuh got BT by his short and curlies. Yes he is very fluent in DOUBLE DUTCH! TWO FACED DAWG!

35. Shiite man
    Bushie must be a centipede den……everybody looking to mash poor Bushie… 🙂

First @ Enuff
    Bushie did not support no DLP.
    Bushie had Enuff of BLP thievery; association with international gangsters and crooks like VECO and 3S; and Enuff of the CSME Shiite – with the place full of illegal immigrants living in cupboards and garages….OK? ENUFF!!
    Enuff of Noel Lynch
    Enuff of wuk fuh wuk
    ….you get the drift?
    Shiite man, Bushie would have voted for gearbox if he was running against wunna…

@ Due Dilligence
    If you want that job you would have to apply to Caswell…..and you know how snoopy he can be when it comes to perks…. The amount of scrutiny you would undergo it may be better to catch the transport board buses yuh hear? 🙂 Caswell ain’t easy…

@ Islandgal
    What big black big toe what?!?
    Why not the regular cute little red one that does mek you wriggle and talk gibberish?
    …Bushie would talk out we business yuh…! 🙂

@ Miller
    You always jumping on any anti-Bushie bandwagon…you ain’t tired falling off and breaking your behind….?
    EVERYONE knows that Bushie is a BBE yardfowl…..um ain’t no secret that Bushie seeking a position operating a weedwacker in the coming BBE land…. Think Bushie care bout wunna bassa bassa?
    …B/ D ….same shiite….

36. @ Vincent Haynes
    Bush Tea….I am still waiting for an answer on how to deal with being
    My man…why you don’t leave Bushie though? You think Bushie is a Mormon or Jehovah witness or something…? Bushie ain’t looking for no converts…Bushie ain’t want no followers…

First thing the bushman spent the last 50 odd years scrunting and scratching to get the little pick cutting hedges and lawns in the BBE people place, and you turn up last week pon BU and demanding to know how you could carry way the little pick that Bushie got lined up?…. Wuh you gotta be a Cawmerian.

Boss man, if you looking to deal with the big fella you going have to do what Bushie did yuh hear….SEARCH, SEEK, KNOCK, ASK, READ DIG, ARGUE, CRY, CUSS, FIGHT AND BEG….you sound like a bright fellow, you should not take 50 years to “get it” like Bushie….

…but If you looking to carry way Bushie’s little ‘weed whacker pick’ ..think again…. 🙂 that position tie up….! 🙂

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 27, 2013 at 6:43 PM |
    “EVERYONE knows that Bushie is a BBE yardfowl…”

So let us hear you crow for your corn, Bushie.
    What do you think about the current DLP administration borrowing US$ 225 million from the Mafia loan sharks while the FCIB takes a large slice of the dirty money as it passes through the Bajan money laundering machine?

Do you think it is necessary for Bim to go further into debt to maintain its conspicuous consumption lifestyle when it can hardly buy food?
    If only the DLP could get those BLP crooks and con men to return the $800 million in cost overruns and kickbacks stashed away in the same Cayman Islands.
    Maybe it is some of that same money that is being “given” to Bim like a hit to a paro.

38. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

The DLP is cooking the books
    In order to look good on paper , they are not paying workers . Many workers have complained to yours truly that they have not be paid. Some others have complained that monies owed to them for other reasons are being denied them. This is so, so that Senior persons can report that they cut spending. Meanwhile the DLP has an oversize Cabinut (Cabinmet) (Cabinet)

39. Miller…
    You beginning to sound more and more like ac…careful!

The DLP is obviously borrowing because the brass bowls think that the ability to borrow is the end all of governance.
    Your retarded BLP lot excelled at borrowing…..BILLIONS of dollars to establish an UNSUSTAINABLE economy which is dependent on ongoing and accelerated borrowings to turn over existing debts – and to fund ever increasing expenses.

BUNCH OF BRASS BOWLS ALL…..

Why don’t you suggest what should be done instead Miller?
    Who exactly would you send home?
    What would you cut back?
    Which bills would you NOT pay?
    What would be your communications plan?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | November 27, 2013 at 7:24 PM |

The more that BT monkey climb the more he shows his yellow tail to expose his brass bowl ass.

How can you say “you retarded BLP lot excelled at borrowing”?
    How then do you explain how ‘you too DLP double-retarded lot’ was able to double the same debt to create a doubly unsustainable economy?

Are you, Brass Bowl primus inter pares, aware that the national debt has moved from around $5 billion to $10 billion in 5 years and rising with the US$ 225 million and is expected to escalate astronomically as Almond comes on stream in your dreams?

Why not do the following:
    Cut public sector workers pay by 10% and politicians by 15%.
    What about making the Senate a voluntary sinecure body of honest concerned well-meaning intelligent citizens willing to give of their time out of patriotic commitment to national development?
    What about cutting those politically designed projects that serve no purpose other than for electoral gain like the Community Councils, Football tournaments and summer camps that should be undertaken by civic-minded organizations?

What about Government divesting itself of the commercial-oriented entities even if it ruptures your bitter gall and the Trinidadians buy into some of them just to allow your incompetent administration to access the forex to pay for the oil from the same Trinidad instead of moving full steam ahead with RE and offshore drilling as promised ad nauseam?

You want more Bushie, up your BB end?

41. “You want more Bushie, up your BB end?”

Miller LOLL you got he by he cojones!! “up you BB end” Love dat !

42. Pompasettin Pearlie Avatar
    Pompasettin Pearlie

“Lord, rescue me from evil people; protect me from cruel people who make evil plans, who always start fights. They make their tongues sharp as a snake’s; their words are like snake poison …”
    Murdaaaa!

43. @ Pompasettin Pearlie
    ….who always start fights. They make their tongues sharp as a snake’s; their words are like snake poison …”
    …mean Miller and Islandgal?!? Pay them no mind Pearlie..
    They just shame,,,

44. David posted the Senator Darcy Boyce was in another dispensation CEO of BTII
    and in that capacity he reported to his boss Minister of Tourism,the then Hon Noel Lynch,now dishonourable and called Barney Lynch.Now CEO Boyce was referred to by the former PM Owen Arthur as a quisling,which means that he Boyce who went on to join the cabinet of the former opposition party led by the late David Thompson,who was also an honourable man but now returned to his earth.It is no surprise therefore to learn that besides reporting to the then Minister of Tourism Lynch,Boyce was also reporting every move made by the Barbados Labour Party to the then opposition Democratic Labour Party and I question the allegiance of this Darcy Boyce to be a Minister in the Ministry of Finance and I question the advice he is giving to the Honourable Prime Minister Freundel Jerome Stuart who with the Honourable Minister of Finance are all three taking Barbados down the road of doom and gloom,spending the
    peoples’ pension funds as though there is no tomorrow.Its time Lalu Vaswani and all his Chamber of Commerce cohorts rise and say no more….we not paying any more taxes or statutory deductions until Stuart,Boyce and Sinckler stop the wild spending by cutting public service expenditure,reduce the number of do- nothing ministers of this government and creating the necessary framework to revive the economy by increased productivity and a stable environment to regain the confidence of the business community and the society at large.
    A traitor by any other name is a traitor,one not to be trusted.

45. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Bush Tea….”To normal humans…..”……run that one by me again fellow Cawmerian….

What utter nonsense

46. So according to Minister Estwick Bdos produces 65% of the food consumed locally. Seems like the food import bill straw man is about to collapse.

47. bush tea ac glad yuh a,ss getting wash way wid the BLP FIRE power in here now see who is the TOPSY BRASS BOWL..

48. @enuff

When did he say so?

49. Instead of the political operatives spending so much time writing political BS daily why not submit some feel good articles to the Globe? We have Harrisons Cave, St. Nicholas Abbey, Cherry Tree Hill, Bathsheba, Martins Bay, Ragged Point, Sam Lords, Museum and a heap of others.
    Is it a case of a current advertiser needing to have an old account paid off to have an article published?
    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/travel/destinations/ten-ways-anguilla-will-win-you-over/article15562263/#dashboard/follows/
    http://www.theglobeandmail.com/life/travel/destinations/leave-jamaicas-big-box-resorts-behind/article15562305/#dashboard/follows/