Photo Credit: Barbados Today

The Fourth Estate plays a critical role to the proper functioning of a democracy, it must. Providing citizens with information which equips them to make the best decisions and at the same time act as a watchdog targeting those who act as gatekeepers of authority and influence in our society. Any attempt to sanitize, filter, manipulate information which it feeds to the public must be rejected as a fourth estate reneging on its obligation. The consequence is a compromised democracy.

In Barbados the media [fourth estate] is heavily self-censored. With the exception of a couple media practitioners there is a lack of respect for the profession by the decisionmakers and general public. It is fair to suggest that media workers demonstrate a lack of respect for themselves if we are to judge their inability to promote a vibrant union or association. The Barbados Association of Journalists (BAJ) does not even have an official website or Facebook presence in 2013 such is the inadequacy of how media workers see themselves.

Related Link: Statement issued by Assistant Commissioner of Police (ag) Crime, Lionel M. Thompson

One of the tenets of a working Fourth Estate is the right to  leverage freedom of expression. However, while accepting that media must have the right to report freely on matters of public interest there are certain universal norms which respected media outlets observe. The requirement of a society to defend public morals and therefore the need to filter OBSCENITY.   There is DEFAMATION of course and a host of others based on jurisdiction. The one of interest to BU is PORNOGRAPHY and in this instance, CHILD PORNOGRAPHY. A simple definition of child pornography is “material that visually depicts sexual conduct by children”.

The arrest of Nation newspaper Publisher Vivian-Anne Gittens, Editor in Chief Roy Morris and Editor Sanka Price in connection with the sex story published on October 26, 2013 has signalled a departure from the norm given the response it has attracted. Many who read the article believed that the Nation had a right to report the matter, where they got it wrong was how it executed.    BU found it surprising how many leading commentators made the point that the Nation newspaper was on good ground to expose the matter and at the same time excuse the graphic presentation of the incident. Win lose or draw a message has been sent to media houses that sensationalizing stories of this nature which involve children will not be tolerated, and this is a good thing.   The time has come to fight back against the decline in standards in every facet of our society. There is one thing which as adults we cannot compromise and that is proving leadership (mentorship) to our children.

It gives BU no joy to see others brought before the Court on such a serious charge BUT enough is enough. BU had the opportunity when we received the link to the sex video to post a more graphic blog, we also had the opportunity to use the Nation’s redacted  image, we did not AND it did not require much deliberation on the part of the BU household. The good from the story is that the sensibilities of Barbadians everywhere have been aroused.  Let us hope it sends a message to the idiots who feel compelled to post all and sundry to social media. To all the schools which are covering up infelicities. To all the parents who are in denial. To the incompetents at the ministry of education who are cheating on their roles as guardians of our education system.

Congratulations to the Police and Director of Public Prosecutions for demonstrating the courage to travel a different path this time around.

185 responses to “The Nation Newspaper Gaffe: A Case NOT to EXPLOIT Children”

1. there is also an interesting case where a gay rights activist in jamaica was denied by the Jamaican Constitutional court the right to advertise subject matter dealing with tolerance to gays on TV stations including The public owned Jamaican TV station

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ simple simon

I must be your family since, according to AC , only your family gives you stars.

Among your many salient points you mention “children of privilege” and the ease with which the holier than thou crew would have bypassed the sexing if it had been effected by one of such ilk.

Therein lies the crux of this matter.

Two unknowns, offspring of plebeians, fooping in a class, videod by two other underlings and facebooked.

Enter Sanka Same Key Price, scion of the BLP, pervert number two at the Nation, to comment on the thrustings of a plebeian

If the wrong had been committed by “people with societal value” it would not have made its way into our visual arena and these promoters of anarchy, newspaper persons that are a law to themselves would not have been before the court.

Furthermore I put it to you that if (1) the CoP was still Dottin the DPP would have done nothing and (2) if the BLP were in power no one would hve had the balls to arrest the Vivianne et al.

I guess that my desire to get a pick at the Nation is now scuttled forever causing when Vivianne get lock up dem going bring in a Trinidadian to run tings me dem may not like my disregard fuh de Nation crew dem

3. I have asked if this matter is sub judice. Already these postings have given the accused a line of defence since the matter is likely to go to a jury trial.
    It will be near impossible to find a jury who had not read any of these postings, given the popularity of BU.
    Discussing the wider issues is fine, but discussion the Nation and its report would not be tolerated in most jurisdictions.
    It is the job of the DPP and attorney general to issue a public warning.

4. St George's Dragon Avatar

Where are the police going to stop. They have arrested and charged the two boys who took the video and the Nation three.
    What about everyone who circulated the video on Facebook etc? What about charging the girl in the incident with underage sex with the boy.
    Stupidity.

5. Hal Austin

Please name “some jurisidictions” where the discussion on a blog, where all views are represented, of a public statement of a senior police officer regarding a matter of public concern to journalists and the general public would be regarded as contempt.

6. @ Robert Ross
    Your question is too confused. But it is prima facie contempt for the media to discuss the details of an alleged offence once people have been charged in England and Wales.
    This is particularly so if there is any likelihood of a jury trial. It can be a defence if the case will be before a judge or district judge (magistrate) since in theory they are too objective to be influenced by the press.
    The press does not have any special freedom that puts it above the law.
    The press is part of our democracy or it is nothing. With media power comes responsibility..
    I know Barbadian lawyers think they are the most knowledgeable in the world and I do not want to disabuse them of this. But the accused is innocent until proven guilty.
    As the French will say, it is better that nine guilty men go free than one innocent man is convicted.

7. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Robert Ross; I would like to join your call for Hal Austin to name some jurisdictions and indeed to expand further on his comments above, as It would be of great interest to those of us who as laypersons commented on various aspects of this topic, to be advised of the aspects in the BU discussion on this matter that could reasonably be deemed sub judice by an energized force.

Comments from Yourself, David (who seems to have some legal underpinnings in many of his posts), Amused and Caswell would also be very welcome re. clarifying this matter until, as Hal suggests, the DPP and AG issues a warning.

8. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Hal Austin; I did not see your post above until after I posted mine.
    Thanks. Your last post clarifies the matter somewhat.

9. Hal Austin

In your role of humourless puritan I think you’d better stick to what you do best – War and Peace on Fridays. Now just answer the question and name “some jurisdictions”. You have named one – well unless you think “England and Wales” are two – and then given the standard, simple definition of contempt which does you no good. Then look at what you have just written. You jump from press freedom, to the presumption of innocence, to ‘the law is above you’. In short, you are all over the place complete with cheap jibe. But then I guess your posts are usually like that though I have given up reading them – I find them a contempt of my eyes.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin | November 17, 2013 at 5:59 PM |
    “But it is prima facie contempt for the media to discuss the details of an alleged offence once people have been charged in England and Wales.
    This is particularly so if there is any likelihood of a jury trial.”

You are quite right to point out the standards that prevail in the UK and ought to prevail in similar jurisdictions in matters like these where the rule of law is paramount.
    But you would add more credence to your moral stance if you were to also point out what would happen in the London Metropolitan Police Force if there was evidence of threats being made against the life of the Chancellor of the Exchequer.

11. Dear Dr. George brathwaithe

commonsense will tell you that i can interpret what u write.

i was making the point that the article from jamaica introdce the ppolitcal element even thof it was contained in the same response to u, bt then again i am not surprise at u, as a drowing man will catch at a straw.

12. Miller

No. It is not good enough to suggest a very simple definition of contempt without relating law to fact. The working concept is case specific which is why I posed the question in the way I did. This has nothing to do with different standards.

13. BTW I don’t know where H Austin gets the idea that the one innocent man maxim stems from France. Maybe the French will say it, just as a Brazilian may say it. The maxim has been variously expressed as anything up to 1000 guilty men. Its origin lies in Genesis where Abraham argues with God about saving the righteous in Sodom. It is to be found in terms of the presumption of innocence in Justinian’s Digest, through Jewish jurisprudents, to Fortescue and, in its most modern form, in Blackstone”s Commentaries. The French inquisitorial system rooted n the civil law has been watered down and, yes, their system now accepts the presumption of innocence. But as to origin – no.

14. Ross why u keep poking hal in theye so..man it seems like somebody gave u a bag of sour candy and u gobbled them up at one sitting.u real sour in trute ..hal first asked a relevant question to which there was no reply. then u come along wearing your presumed lawyer hat to answer the question posed by hal with a question and hal fell into the trap…fuh god sake stay away from sour candy u lemon head

15. Ross u just a ” prick” and a lawyer only by your imagination. point ac to where in Hal comment he indicates “innocent until proven guilty” was an orginal comment or hallmark of the FRENCH. u are just another caswell out of your league looking for acceptance. a third grade lawyer maybe

16. AC

Oh dear…..but one of your better performances I think since it demonstrates your powers of comprehension to be nil.

17. ONLY IN BARBADOS!

Where else in this world could sane educated people take a simple case of some wutless children caught in their own stupidity and mold it into charges against persons who EXPOSED the wutlessness.

What exactly is the charge against a NEWSPAPER publishing the TRUTH about an illegal incident occurring in a public school in BROAD daylight?…and incident that EXISTS. In the public domain…?

What the Hell!!

Simple minded Simon…..why don’t you stay with things that you actually understand?..
    What the hell is sacrosanct about 14 year-olds?
    Who gave them a free pass to do shiite and not pay the price?
    ….are they immune from AIDS?
    …are they immune from unwanted pregnancy?
    …when they drop out of school and become parros who the hell will provide for them- when they end up in the same Nation begging for a house and food for their children?
    LOTTA damn shiite talk bout here….

Bushie is ANTI- NATION! …because they undermine this country with their ONE-CARIBBEAN agenda, and the bushman will join any rational move to charge, arrest, and prosecute Mrs Gittens, Morris and PARTICULARLY Hoyte in that regard…..but THIS particular issue IS NOT IT.
    This is a matter of SCHOOLS not functioning effectively and THAT fact being properly highlighted by a newspaper.

Rather that take steps to HIDE UP these failings by going after the messengers, we should be seeking out the brass bowls who we PAY to make education work…..and who have been failing now for YEARS.

No doubt Simple Simon is a teacher in such a school.
    No doubt she is well aware that NO EFFORTS are made to supervise these children effectively.
    She probably knows that cell phones may be used next to show HOW LITTLE teachers do for our money…
    How they hide in the staff room – (when they do turn up for work) …and how openly FED UP and UNCARING most are…..

THESE are the issues to be addressed…not damn school boys with a cell phone camera….

If two idiots decide to have sex in public and Bushie happens to video tape the event (as happens routinely at Kadooment and many so called fetes with their so-called dancing) how the hell can Bushie be accused of porn?
    When the case comes up will the DPP present this evidence to the court? …or would THAT constitute porn…?
    Steupssss
    Brass bowls….

Porn is when someone CONSTRUES to create, record or distribute such material for erotic / profit purposes….
    This was a public service…..probably the best damn thing the Nation ever did…..!

18. @Bush Tea “No doubt Simple Simon is a teacher in such a school.”

Dear Bushie: You don’t know a brass bowl about Dr. Simple Simon.

19. See there u go with your side winding ignorant response.. that only a third rate lawyer would use as a cover which is a sure sign of weakness and incompetence . then instead of answering the questions u proceed to undermine what little credibility u have in stock with another ignorant and childish attack. what a jerk.

20. @BUSH TEA…………………HEE! HEE! and u can have my topsy brass bowl.

21. @Bush Tea “What the hell is sacrosanct about 14 year-olds?”

The law of Barbados (not me, although I agree with the law) says that a person younger than 18 is a child. And children, even naughty children (I wouldn’t call them wutless/worthless) deserve special protection under the law, and I agree with that too.

I you are one of those old men who needs to view the sexual activity of children to make you feel alive, then you have a problem, and there are plenty of psychiatrists around that will work with you to solve the problem.

What the Nation did was NOT a public service, and old fools who say so should be ashamed of themselves.

I believe that when the Nation published/distributed distributed this material it can be construed to be for erotic / profit purposes.

The Nation is a business and like any business part of the reason for their existence is profit.

A newspaper just does not put itself together. Editors sit down at an editorial table every single day and make EDITORIAL DECISIONS (senior editors are paid so well because they are expected to make WISE decisions) as to what goes in the paper and what stays out. That decision making process includes what is news and what is not BUT also what will sell newspapers and advertising and what might keep sales flat.

So yes all newspapers are motivated by what’s news AS WELL AS BY WHAT SELLS (PROFIT)

22. @ Simple Simon
    The biggest idiot that Bushie has EVER encountered had multiple doctorates ….. In engineering……

23. @bush tea u deserve the licks uh getting u ole “peeping tom” …….Oh before i fuhget. share the topsy wid uh commander and xxhief caswell cause it contains both wunna egos which is the same size of MT rush moore.

24. I ain’t touching this case until a verdict. However, I asked …….What about the case with the senior police? What about the little boy under twelve gyrating between a grown lady? Why did CBC refuse to mention the police act? I await these cases.

25. Ever heard about PRIORITIES simple?

The PROBLEM is that our schools are dysfunctional. …a MESS!
    The problem is that the authorities have been COVERING -UP.
    The problem is that this will cost us BILLIONS of wasted dollars and very likely – a few LOST generations.

Your petty squabbles and concerns about some shiite-law, contrived by some set of brass bowls to impress simple folks like you PALES in comparison.

When catastrophe is on the horizon one DOES NOT focus on protecting the feelings of misguided miscreants…..or even of grown up simpletons…

26. “Sir/ balance u have access to the internet use it wisely. First hand evidence is mostly important in discussing these issues. do your own research”
    had a feeling you were only bluffing and had no cases to cite

27. @Bush Tea “What the hell is sacrosanct about 14 year-olds?”

I might as easily ask what is so special about marriage…and yet the law privileges marriage. If Bushie should close his eyes tonight, the law permits Mrs. Bushie certain privileges and these privileges hold whether or not Mrs. Bushie was a good wife, whether or not she ever cooked or cleaned or washed for Bushie, whether or not she bore him any children, whether or not she ever held a paid job. In fact the law in Barbados would take MY National Insurance contributions and pay the widowed Mrs. Bushie a pension for the rest of her life even if she has never made a single contribution to the NIS, or raised a child.

So just as Bushie asks “What the hell is sacrosanct about 14 year olds?”

I can ask “What the hell is sacrosanct about marriage?” and why does NIS pay pensions to widows, even to widows who have never held a paid job or raised a single child?.

Why does the state privilege marriage, what is sacrosanct about marriage?

The law privileges marriage because marriage is important. Bad wives enjoy the same legal privileges as good wives

The law privileges childhood because childhood is important. “Wutless” children are legally entitled to the same legal protections as “good” children

28. @BUSH TEA…………………………what a genius ..name calling and small talk. man u are such a genius .i really got to hand it to u though. nobody but a bush tea could use the phrase “brass bowl ” in such a descriptive manner as well as execute it on members of the BU family in such a dictatorial fashion. the king must be shaken in his grave.

29. @ac November 17, 2013 at 12:53 PM ” Have You noticed that expect for YOU and may be a few members of YOUR family who throws in one or two stars as compliments no one responds to your comments ”

Dear ac that is because there can be no reasonable response to an elegantly reasoned, elegantly written blog post.

And tobesides ac I don’t come here looking for stars or followers…if I wanted followers I would go over to Twitter.

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

30. BTW what happen to ROBERT THE “moss” ross. gone ran and hide. now i see uh left Hal alone noow ur behind has been attacked come here pretending to play lawyer and what a lousy job of acting. TV lawyers do a better job. maybe u can acquire some of their skills and apply them to uh little makebelief lawyering ..goof ball what a waste.

31. Good NITE DAVID………………..

32. @ Simple Simon | November 17, 2013 at 9:34 PM |
    That post is SO illogical and such nonsense as to be approaching genius…….
    Bushie says that a law that seeks to protect teens who are doing shiite which can KILL them with aids, numerous other STDs, and cripple their futures with poverty is MISGUIDED…..
    And SIMPLE counters that if this is so, then the laws of marriage must also be shiite….. ??! :!

…”Bushie going and sleep hear…!?

BTW
    Hush do! ac…..

33. simple simon uh so sweet i take everything back that i said about U as a sign of good measure. i reluctantly retrieve my topsy brass bowl and hand it to U, take care, keep u the good work chopping and slicing BUSH TEA apart ,Nite NITE

34. AC

Gone? Not a bit of it. I was just watching you over-act. I leave the shadow to you.

Bush tea

I have to agree with SS that no-one is ‘wutless’ and certainly not children – and not even ac, the ‘let’s pretend I am somebody even the village idiot’ figment of someone’s fevered imagination.

35. There was no logical reason for the Nation to print the photo.

A written report of the incident is all that was required for people of average intelligence to understand.

I hope the two children are getting the requisite counseling.

36. “There was no logical reason for the Nation to print the photo.”

Do you believe just a simple report could have captured dramatically the attention of the public like the photo did?

“A written report of the incident is all that was required for people of average intelligence to understand.

I hope the two children are getting the requisite counseling.”

Were you able to recognize the two children who you suggest are in need of requisite counselling from the photograph?

37. @ Robert Ross

I am familiar with Barbadian logic, answering a question with a question and digressing from substantive issues to deal with minor points that are presumed to be central to the argument.
    Let me take you back to the real issue: that of an issue being sub judice, which is the rule in every jurisdiction that has the roots of its law in the common law system. It is about a fair trial.
    The thinking behind it is one of common sense: influencing a jury. As to the doctrine of ten guilty men going free than one innocent man being found guilty, glad you have pointed out it came from the Bible. Presumably the French too are Christians.
    As to press freedom: I have never put so-called press freedom above the rule of law; it is thew one thing that my colleagues in the National Union of Journalists will tell you I am a stickler for.
    The press must be part of our democracy, or it is nothing. When we give people like Rupert Murdoch the ‘freedom of the press’ what is the end result: page three nudes, the freedom to break the law?
    As someone who edits a paper I make sure that nothing goes in my paper without my approval – that is called editing – as I have a legal responsibility for thew paper’s content, including advertisements.

38. H Austin

So THAT is what you object to…page 3 nudes? Then I have it right. You are simply a humourless puritan who doesn’t like the idea of the Nation having any sort of defence. Oh – and do shut up about Barbadian logic – are you the new Colonial master – denying your roots and dick-tating from the City? Arrogant fellow. Gee H AUSTIN – the fella who thinks he’s Socrates.

“The French too are Christians”…. yet again, oh do shut up you silly man.

39. Back to U Ross then u get up in here trying to cat spraddle me when i indicated to YOUR other half stan pipe lawyer Caswell that anyone knowing of criminal ativity or in posession should be reported to the RBPF. Yet U are a sworn OFFICER OF THE COURT. nuh Wunda the court is dreadlock cause so call lawyers like u go before judges unaware and unprepared forcing the legal system to be stagnant forever. Not even to mention the clients whose pockets are drained financialy because of piss poor lawyers like U

40. ac

You are a figment of someone’s imagination in boxers. Now get off stage and bring on the organ grinder.

41. @ Hal
    Your position on the treatment of sub judice matters is outdated and flawed.
    That position has been used in Barbados to COVER UP all kinds of dirt and to protect the guilty.
    When shit happened, the principals ran to a lawyer who filed a “case” and effectively shut down all discussion for 10 to 20 years.
    All some crook had to do was “go to court”…. there would then be only hidden whispers on that matter and life would continue for 15 years or so after which the matter would be dismissed – or at most, have legal fees assigned….

WELL THOSE DAYS ARE DONE……THANKS to the social media, the NEW mass communication reality.

Like cellphones in schools, this new reality is unstoppable, so we had better learn to adjust….and FAST…

42. @ Balance

You wrote and I quote “Do you believe just a simple report could have captured dramatically the attention of the public like the photo did?”

So if one were to extrapolate on your comment it would follow that to get the attention of readers it would be best to have pictures of say the slashed throat of the woman killed a few weeks back or the bullet ridden body of the shop owner at Salters?

Notwithstanding the writing style of Sanka Price, the article, without pictures, would have been effective enough which underscores Simple Simon’s point regarding the fact that if these were children of privilege their pictures would not have made it the the Nation in such glaring colour

@Hal Austin

Sometimes you do come over as a sanctimonious prick and like Mr Ross went to pains to point out your observations re the sub judice issue seem to highlight your love for things Britanica. Now when your British newspapers were tapping people’s phone lines and the matter was before the police I guess that this law of the civilized denizens of the Rule Britannica that you love so much, kicked in, didn’t they? Nitwit.

@RBPF

TOO FAR EAST IS WEST

The issue of the Nation publishing the pictures with the faces masked out accompanied by the erotic writings of the ingrunt Sanka resulted in your first arrests, which will come to naught in the Bulbados courts

Charging the children who published the video on FB will flitter in the wind and fail but, if I understand what the outcome is intended to be, you wish to preemptively warn other Balans of doing this

I think that you are using this as PR to show that now Dottin has gone there is a new kid in town, so congrats on that count.

I wiil wait and see what you do about your officer shaking his doggie on the internet though

@AC

Please stay away from big people talk.

It is better to keep one’s mouth closed and be thought of as a fool that to open one s mouth and to be known inconclusively to be one

43. Balance in order for U to understand the legal ramifications and the Internationally rules and guidlines that regulates and defines “child por” again i suggest that u do a google of CHILD PORN LAWS. it is not sufficient to apply barbados laws . Again u must understand that Barbados has signed on to UNESCO laws which includes laws dealing with Child porn some of which includes images or simulation of children engaging in sexual activity it is irrevelant wether the faces are shown or not.

44. Pieceof

Mind we do routinely put pics, taken in church, of the bodies of the dead in newspapers and seem to think nothing of it. Is it a reflection of sorrow or simply an obsession with death as the two kids ‘wukking up’ is a reflection of fun – misplaced fun? If so, death is OK but not life??? I am speaking generally of course.

45. @piece of de ROCK………………..Thank u for ur ignorant advice.it is most welcomed in my pit toilet…..

46. OLE man PDR u think u so smart cause u ninety two ,old fart the world has move on beyond pitching marbles to technology. now stuff them marbles in uh back pocket and join the world for progress and forward thinking. uh not got much time left. just don.t try taking uh frustrations out on ac cause uh not gonna win. Stuespse….

47. @ Robert Ross
    I refuse to believe that you are a lawyer, since your intellectual impulses are far from those of any lawyer I know.
    The case in point: five people have been charged with alleged offences relating to the publication of a photograph in the Nation newspaper.
    Until there is a full hearing we would not know the prosecution case, but the case is now sub judice, a rule put in place to protect thew innocent.
    I know it is the preserve of barrack room lawyers to pronounce on a case before it is tried.
    I suggest that justice must not only be done, but be seen to be done. Do not prejudice the case against the accused.
    However, Mr Ross and a string of brain dead idiots have come in the forum turning what is a proper defence of the law in to a personal attack on me – as if I will go away and cry.
    It confirms everything I have known about rum shop debaters, a people who abandon common sense in order to be offensive from behind their masks of cowardice.
    This offensive nonsense often includes putting up sdtraw men and knocking thwm down – that I somehow believe everything British is best, or words to that effect.,
    May I suggest that instead of writing such putrid nonsense that you and your mates go away and spend more time critically reading and thinking about new ideas instead of remembering things by rote, often incorrectly.

48. H Austin

“Mr Ross and a string of brain dead idiots…”

Fella, you can’t help yourself can you?

49. @PDR …….Wont be surprised if U and ROSS are one of the same giving off that smelly aire of importance and wanting so much for others to see u the same way. fuh one ac not impressed by ones wishes hopes or desires of status or influencecause peeps like u are mostly phonies and hyocrites and hate when others expose uh weakness. Now go get a real life and stop thinking u better than others or smarter. ole man

50. @ Robert Ross

It is not rocket science: if five people are accused of a serious offence which could lead to their imprisonment, then the civilised thing to do is to back off and allow the law to take its course, in other words, let them have a fair trial.
    But if you, an alleged lawyer, prefer to blurt out your idiotic reasoning as a substitute for justice, it says a lot about your understanding of the concept of rule of law and a fair trial.
    I suggest instead of concentrating on passing exams, you spend more time learning about the theory of law, how these concepts shore up a democratic society.
    Also tame your barking dogs.