Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy

To bloggers who listened to the radio clip (compliments of VOB) today which featured Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy defending governments washpan of concessions to CPH Property Holdings (Barbados) Limited and Grande Cass Management (Barbados) Limited together known as SANDALS – see Government’s Concessions to SANDALS Barbados, they would have been offended. He made reference to the front page of the Nation newspaper which carried a a story highly critical of the concessions given to Butch Stewart’s companies. And here is what some bloggers may deem to be offensive, he stated he expected what the Nation published to be posted on the blogs or discussed under a tamarind tree.

Minister Sealy is free to have his opinion afterall we boast of living in a democracy. However, when he feels bold enough to disparage what we do on the blogs, he invites a response from BU albeit a reluctant one.

Minister Sealy should bear in mind that BU is used prolifically by his colleagues to disseminate information which the traditional media is not geared to facilitate. Have we not had the pleasure of Minister Donville Inniss venturing into this forum to interact with BU bloggers when he sought to defend his choice of Kingsland as a possible location for a new hospital? Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner has posted to BU on several occasions. BU will not mention all the DLP politicos who post to BU using monikers. What does he make of his colleagues who post and read BU? Perhaps one day BU will be persuaded to post some of the comments posted to BU by the late Prime Minister David Thompson.

Is he upset because BU has been relentless in calling for the operationalizing of the Tourism Master Plan which remains outstanding after six years of a Democratic Labour Party government? So that we be clear, Minister Richard Sealy has been the Minister of Tourism for the full 6 year reign of the DLP government, a ministry why has suffered a precipitous decline in the period.

Is he upset because bloggers have challenged him about his inability to implement the 10 point plan which he hurriedly announced on the eve of another downgrade?

Is he upset because bloggers have asked him why Barbados has been unable to gain Category I status  in the event Barbados wants to entertain the decision to relocate LIAT headquarters to Barbados? Bear in mind the OECS Region has achieved this designation for several years now.

Is he upset because we have asked why tourism advertising by Barbados has gone dark in our key tourist markets, especially Canada whose economy remains buoyant despite a global economic recession of global magnitude?

Is he upset because we have questioned the strategy of using Rihanna to promote Barbados?

If one listens to the clip carefully, Sealy expresses exasperation with those who question the level of concessions given to Butch Stewart. In fact he blurts out in an arrogant and unprofessional manner if the government should allow rats to take residence in the two properties. Clear evidence of the defensive negotiating posture which he and government entered discussions with the veteran hotelier Butch Stewart.

Whose money is it Minister, yours? We have a right to ask the basis for allowing Butch Stewart to import tax free food, because we know this will happen. Why a 40 year holiday? And for the record please tell us what will be the level of Butch Stewart’s investment in this deal. What is the ROI on this deal given government’s investment. Does it matter that these concessions have been given in the past? Decisions we take now must be anchored in a vision for the future and not in an obsolete paradigm.

Does it come as a surprise that Sealy, who has firmly secure the reputation for being the second most taciturn minister in government, finds himself in a battle of credibility with many Barbadians over this matter? And this he has been able to achieve while being in charge of the most important and visible sector in our economy. What transparency what!?!

120 responses to “Minister Richard Sealy is a Pedigree JA”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Rastaman | November 12, 2013 at 1:53 PM

Everyone know that our currency is overvalued!!

Except you perhaps.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE tries to fool everyone that he is all that yet his little INN still has about 6 rooms or thereabout all these years.

3. The following article was distributed internally to ALL key BTA personnel today locally and overseas by the New York office.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Ja-on-course-for-bumper-winter-tourist-season–says-McNeill_15409998

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Talk what you all like, SANDALS is one of the leading Hotel Chains in the World.

5. Here is a last year interview of Jamaica’s minister of tourism.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

WELCOME TO SANDALS RESORTS

Sandals Brings You Every Type of Cuisine Under the Sun. All Prepared by Master Chefs with the Finest Quality Ingredients
    •Asian
    •Sushi
    •West Indian
    •Jamaican
    •Seafood
    •International
    •Brick-Oven pizza
    •Classic French
    •British Pub fare
    •Thai
    •Japanese Teppanyaki
    •Contemporary Caribbean
    •Fusion
    •Bahamian
    •Mediterranean
    •Italian
    •Gelato & pastries
    •Light and Healthy

Sandals has created the most unique suites with romance, seclusion and luxury in mind.

All with the finest furnishing and details, living rooms or seating areas, lavish bathrooms and private patios terraces.
    Millionaire Suites of Sandals Regency La Toc
    Millionaire Suites of Sandals Negril
    Royal Estate Suites of Sandals Emerald Bay
    Swim-up Suites of Sandals Negril
    Plunge Pool Villas of Sandals Regency La Toc
    Rondovals of Sandals Gd. St. Lucian
    Sunset Bluff Suites of Sandals Regency La Toc
    Bay Roc Villas of Sandals Montego Bay

I am wondering if ADRIAN LOVERIDGE’S little place can compare?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 12, 2013 at 5:19 PM |
    “Everyone know that our currency is overvalued!!”

Funny man, can you appreciate the gravamen of the statement?
    Would you therefore agree the miller’s prediction of a very pressing ‘correctional adjustment’ is worthy of consideration and not in the realm of pure speculation and partisan positioning?
    Can it also be a rationally sound case of your crossing over to the land of Exotic Perennial Nonsense you say the miller lives in?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SANDALS(there is more ON IONS)

No other All-Inclusive Resort in the World offers Butlers trained by the Guild of Professional English Butlers

Our unprecedented Butler Service, only available in our very highest level of suites, provides our most discerning guests with an unimaginably supreme standard of service and luxury, where your every need is anticipated.

Uncompromising Standards

Your personal butler is trained in accordance to exacting standards by the Guild of Professional English Butlers, which provides butlers and valets to nobility and celebrities worldwide.

Upon Arrival you will:
    •Be greeted by Concierge
    •Be checked-in privately at the Concierge lounge
    •Be escorted to your room by Concierge
    •Have a private resort orientation by Concierge

Also enjoy a private Concierge Lounge, exclusive Staff Services, Weekly Activitites and many more

Unlimited Scuba Diving Is Included
    •PADI-certified resort dive program
    •Dive up to twice a day included
    •Guided dives from 20 To 90 feet
    •PADI® and DAN® representation on site
    •Caribbean’s best dive sites with reefs and wrecks
    •Resort certification available*
    •Reef snorkeling often within wading distance
    As Many As 12 Bars Per Resort

With Unlimited Premium Brands.

Drinks Are Included 24/7 and Served Everywhere Throughout the Resort
    •Jack Daniels®
    •Bombay Sapphire®
    •Cointreau
    •Tanqueray
    •El Dorado 15 Year Rum
    •Johnnie Walker®
    •Jim Beam®
    •Finlandia®
    •Smirnoff®
    •Crown Royal®
    •Remy Martin VSOP Cognac®
    •Dewar’s®
    •Canadian Club®
    •Exclusive Beringer® wines
    •Variety of imported ales bottled or on-draft
    •and many, many more

9. “So many of his recent policies are simply NOT thought through. APD Discount Vouchers, Barbados Island Inclusive programme. Ten Point Tourism Plan, Tourism Master Plan, reduced VAT rate of 7.5 per cent for DTS partners, Rihanna Concert, CLOBI Cup and the latest deal with Sandals clealy did not take into account the rest of the tourism industry.”

and listening to Minister Sealy in Parliament critiquing the policies of the then Minister of Tourism when he was shadowing the tourism ministry gave one the impression that he had all the answers to fix the industry. Now in charge, he seems to have been weighed in the balance and found wanting.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

11. sound like the ole fiery revolutionary skins I once used to knew before you became contaminated with party politics. Talk yuh talk.

12. Balance

AGAIN I SAY………remember the racuss Donville initiated with the ole talk about the $1 Billion Hospital supposedly to be starting up Kingsland….?

Well this is just another…..

BARE DIVERSIONS being spewed to distract from the reality our country facing…..

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@old onion bags | November 12, 2013 at 6:01 PM |

MoF Sinckliar also promised in his August 13th budget an October start of the Exmouth Housing project. A project in which he has vested interests- both political and personal financial.
    Do you know if this project has started, off the Spring Garden H’way?

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

millertheanunnaki | November 12, 2013 at 6:38 PM |

@old onion bags | November 12, 2013 at 6:01 PM |

MoF Sinckliar@ Better look for a DEEDS < More Fraud,

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 12, 2013 at 5:45 PM |
    “Drinks Are Included 24/7 and Served Everywhere Throughout the Resort

We don’t see any Bajan Rum brands on your list. Can we expect a similar exclusion to prevail at Sandals Casuarina? Would Mount Gay and Cockspur and Banks beer be unavailable?

“Sandals has created the most unique suites with romance, seclusion and luxury in mind.”

Why can’t you propose for a slight product differentiation for Barbados with a “MOST” (???) Unique suite called the ‘Casuarina Hideaway’ geared towards same sex couples from the American market?

16. And Sandals is still no Sandy Lane!!!

17. @ Miller
    A site was cleared there in front Berger Paints ( once Basil Forbes lands) EVER SINCE……around elections time of course….Why what about the Deacons Auditorium also promised?, Jada was to do the construction remember?….The New Port terminal another……man they playing the smoke n mirrors game……it is up to Bajans not to run with the bait as they did with the illusion Kingsland Hospital ..and now the heraldic Scandals…..

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

And Sandals is still no Sandy Lane better look for a DEED , After all this!

Sandals will be a fool to trust the fools running the Nation of Barbados ,
    Moodys and S&P did the work that the Lawyers did not do? If these two credit reporting agency was wrong ,Barbados would love to have sue them for bad credit rating. As you can see they took the truth and took the loan at a higher rate. Keep in MIND they may agree with PLANTATION DEEDS ABOUT THE MASSIVE LAND FRAUD , BUT MAY NOT BE their PLACE TO Say WHY AFTER THEIR OWN AUDITS,
    ONCE AGAIN BARBADOS PROBLEM IS IN THE LAND, AND NOW HARDER THAN EVER TO FOOL PEOPLE all over the World
    BASEL 3 BANKING AND and an end to wiring large SUMS of MONEY to this PONZI STATE.
    BARBADOS IS BEING PUT IN AN X-GAME CHOCK HOLD TO TAP OUT.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

enuff

“And Sandals is still no Sandy Lane!!!”

Only someone who has had absolutely no dealings with SANDALS HOTELS make such a foolish statement!

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You BLP people will soon get heartburn!!!!!

SANDALS(more fro you ONIONS)

Luxury Included® Vacation

for two people in love

Come experience the very pinnacle of luxury all-inclusive excellence with Sandals’ Caribbean vacations. Sandals delights couples in love with supreme vacation packages at luxury resorts in St. Lucia, Jamaica, Antigua, the Bahamas, Grenada and BARBADOS, featuring gourmet candlelit dining for two, gorgeous tropical settings and some of the world’s most exquisite beaches. If you are planning a wedding, Sandals is the leader in Caribbean destination weddings and honeymoon packages.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Barbados Labour Party people repeat after me:-

S.A.N.D.A.L.S

All inclusive HEAVEN.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ONIONS(let me introduce you)

Chairman’s Biography

Gordan “Butch” Stewart Founder and Chairman,Sandals Resorts

He’s been called the “King of All-Inclusive Resorts,” the “Cupid of the Caribbean,” and the “Master of Marketing.” While all descriptions are appropriate, none of them quite capture the full measure of Gordon ‘Butch’ Stewart, chairman and founder of Sandals Resorts International, parent company to Sandals Resorts, Beaches Resorts and Grand Pineapple Beach Resorts.

How could a simple phrase define a man who today controls what analysts estimate to be a billion dollar, privately-owned Jamaican-based Empire that includes 23 Caribbean resorts, Appliance Traders Ltd., and The Observer newspaper. All told, Butch Stewart spearheads two-dozen diverse companies that are collectively Jamaica’s largest private sector group, the country’s biggest foreign exchange earner, and its largest non-government employer.

Born in Kingston, Jamaica, on July 6, 1941, he grew up along Jamaica’s north coast, a tropical paradise boasting some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, now home to seven Sandals Resorts, three Beaches Resorts, and Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Negril. But the origin of Stewart’s business career as the leading entrepreneur in the Caribbean had nothing to do with the hotel or resort industries; rather it had everything to do with salesmanship and Stewart soon proved himself to be a master of the craft.

Is there anyway your ADRIAN LOVERIDGE can match up?

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

READ AND WEEP ADRIAN

Awards & Recognitions

Why are we voted world’s best year after year?

Sandals didn’t invent the all-inclusive concept, but we’ve perfected it. For over three decades, we have earned every resort award and accolade in the industry, placing Sandals leagues above any other all-inclusive resort. However, Sandals is not only the world’s best in the eyes of the travel industry, but the favorite destination for a Luxury Included® Vacation in the hearts of couples around the world. Our greatest reward of all is the high level of guest satisfaction we enjoy, inspiring us to continue providing the ultimate vacation experience in the Caribbean

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I can hear the Barbados Labour Party SABOTEURS now, ‘ man we can’ leh da SANDALS ting work, we got tuh brek up dat.”

We got to get more lies by ONIONS, MILLER, ISLANDGAL246, PRODIGAL SON, BALANCE, get ADRIAN to write more articles criticizing Barbados, we got to pull out all de stops.

We hope DAVID will continue his work of publishing all anti DLP articles. While we at it we cant forget we boy HAL AUSTIN and ask him to give us a hand.

25. Carson. Are you being paid by Sandals? Are you the PR for the said Sandals? Are you using BU to promote Sandals without compensating David for abusing his thread?
    One thing I must say……yuh really luv googling.

26. What a Foxtrot- Unicorn- Charlie-Kilo- Echo- Delta-UP government we have . During the recent Estimates debate, we had the Minister of Industry attempting to speak for the Minister of Finance.Today on Brass Tacks, it was the turn of the Minister of Housing to speak for the Minister of Tourism.
    Is there a free for all within the Cabinet?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 12, 2013 at 9:38 PM |

Have you NO shame Carson, the yard-fowl turned weathercock?
    Butch Stewart falls into all the categories you despise based on your rabid racist xenophobic diatribe you peddle on this blog.

Gordon is “WHITE”, JAMAICAN, FOREIGNER and a Businessman aka capitalist in your book of hate.
    He certainly does fit the stereotypical profile of the person you hate with a passion given you anti CSME anti-Jamaican (Shanique Myrie), anti-capitalist stance you so passionately promote on this blog.

What has happened, Carrion? The chickens have come home to roost making Stewart look like a knight in shining armour to save the Barbados economy from further collapse under the DLP?
    Remember boy, Butch has been around as long as Jamaica has been in the clutches of the IMF and he hasn’t been able to save Jamaica’s sorry ass.
    Just see Butch not as a Moses but more as a harbinger to the spectre of dreaded “D” word. A word you certainly find favour with, here of late. Are you trying to convey your premonition to BU readers?

The Barbados dollar is woefully overvalued (you have confirmed that much) and in order to make the Sandals business more competitively attractive in the market place (and to be an aggressive player in his portfolio of businesses) the prices quoted for Sandals Barbados must reflect the same currency relationships to the US dollar as the others in Sandals Group.
    Butch Stewart would be the Shylock to this other subservient copycat black ‘Stuart’ administration by demanding his pound of flesh as he has done with the concessions taking away even the kitchen sink and the entire kit and caboodle in a distressed (fire) sale of the Barbados brand name.
    What the Trinidadians have failed to do Butch would succeed in doing; that is, effectively being in control of the Bajan economy as the Emperor of the Tourism industry in the Caribbean to massage his huge ego and laugh at the other T&T players on the capitalist chessboard of Caribbean economies.
    The White man has again prevailed over the black man. So has it been ordained by Noah and his vindictive god. Long live King Gordon the Scotsman!

28. @Miller et al

Why not focus on the merits of the concessions and related matters instead of going into the mud?

29. “We got to get more lies by ONIONS, MILLER, ISLANDGAL246, PRODIGAL SON, BALANCE, get ADRIAN to write more articles criticizing Barbados, we got to pull out all de stops”

man after the support i give you with the kolij negrocrats you still burying your head in the sand like an ostrich. . carson, the DLP saboteurs pulled down the country for 14 consecutive years when the BLP was in power even in the face of such macro economic achievements as a growing economy; unemployment at record levels; foreign reserves kept prudently high; tourism booming with the average local availing themselves of a cruise or two and pompasetting about the achievement too; all public workers given the same benefits under the pension act; the establishment of agency to tackle poverty . carson it was the DLP saboteurs calling into brasstacks aided and abetted by the pro DLP moderators and the opposition of the BWU to the chinese workers that ran the investors from Four Seasons and other investment projects which we now find ourselves according to the quote Mr Burnham gave to Mr Barrow ‘loitering on the doorsteps of the colonialists’ to beg back for

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Tell me why

I worked for SANDALS for a number of years. I know their capabilities first hand.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

Carson has become outrageously downright insulting to Adrian Loveridge.
    He, Carson, needs to be reigned back in. He constantly assassinates the character of a man who has risked his money and spent his time and intellectual energy contributing to an industry that can be described as the lifeline to the Barbadian economy and an important source of forex to sustain the Bajan lifestyle of opulence and conspicuous consumption.

We are still awaiting clarification whether the concessions (free of all statutory imposts) on food, alcoholic drinks and beverages are available to other players.

No reasonable person would object to the concessions in principle since similar concessions were granted to investments projects in the past. The Minister of Housing speaking on behalf of the MoT & MoF confirmed similar concessions were given to the Hilton (except the food and drink). Can we expect the Hilton and others to be given the same concessions with respect to food and drink? That is the crux of matter that needs further exposure and clarification.

32. @Miller

Day runs until night catches it.

33. Carson, it is hard to believe your stupefying misunderstanding of what this is about. It is NOT about what a great brand Sandals is. It is NOT about what they offer their guests. It is about the massive concessions that they have been given to come to Barbados, when they wanted to come anyway. You need to explain to us just what the benefits are to Barbados of a Sandals that pays no taxes on ANYTHING for 40 years. Remember Carson, these are all-inclusive guests. Their payment will be made outside Barbados, and their spending in Barbados will be mainly at the Sandals resorts themselves. So the Barbadian taxpayer gets exactly what? Can such a massive concession, together with the massive spending on Almond Beach Village be justified only in the number of jobs it creates? What about local industry, agriculture and crafts, all of which would benefit from such a massive operation, but which will be pushed aside in favour of imports? That is what this discussion should be about.

34. @Peltdownman

Guaranteed airlift.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 13, 2013 at 7:34 AM |
    “I worked for SANDALS for a number of years. I know their capabilities first hand.”

There you go again showing up your subservient ‘ambitionless’ mentality.
    ‘Worked for Sandals (owned by a white man) for a number of years’.

What have you achieved from working for Sandals other than the penchant to envy and vilify real entrepreneurs who are able to start and run a business of whatever size and long-term success?
    At least Adrian Loveridge used his working experience to OWNAND MANAGE his own little Inn (so begrudgingly described by you).

Why didn’t you use your “work experience” gain from Sandals to invest and manage at least one of the many hotels that closed their doors in the last 5 years instead of spending your time attacking Adrian?
    Maybe Adrian could have given you a few “tips”, if he didn’t mistake you for the doorman.
    A word of advice to “Black Joe” Carson. Stop attacking A L. At least he tried his hand at owning and managing something in which you were just a field hand.

Your subservient Uncle Tom Miller.

36. Sandals is likely to be successful in Barbados,

Sandals Resorts are targeted by major North American Airlines and Barbados will get increased airlift to accommodate Sandals.

For purely selfish reasons I want the Barbados economy to improve because I have more at stake in Barbados than in Canada where I live.

It seems most of you have your “investments” elsewhere and that is why you wallow in the pit of negativity that permeates this blog.

Unfortunately I still wukkin fuh de white man up hey in de freeza so uh gone.

37. i think all u who would give praise to gordon ‘butch’ stewart are jackasses. You all know that ‘butch’ is representative of ‘butcher’ yet you act like the dumb fools he expects of bajans. what has become of his house in st. john? i won’t go any further. pure C…S you people are especially Richard Sealy and the Ministers of Finance. To think that he got all those concessions for NOTHING? RIGHT, someone somewhere got a great pay day and bonus. next thing we will be seeing is a tunnel under the sea tall the way to Sandals transporting mind altering products but who cares that was the norm in St. John. Does it still exists?

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PELTDOWNMAN

“It is about the massive concessions that they have been given to come to Barbados”

No you are wrong, wrong, wrong. That is what you BLP people are trying to make it out to be.

Concessions are normal, the Bermuda Government just gave a company a 240 year least on a property in order to get the investors to develop an area of opportunity for them.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

line 6 should read “Lease”.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SANDALS HOTELS must have you BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY people not being able to sleep at night!!!!!!

Sandals Grande Riviera

This was our second stay at this resort. We went with Butler this time and I have to say this was probably the best stay at a Sandals so far. Marvin and Anton the Butler’s made this vacation the best we had . We are going back in 2014 to see them again. And Also the Bishop from the Pool bar how can you not love him he was the best.(WHY NOT — What What, What ) Were sorry that he will not be there in 2014 when we return we have heard that he has gone to another on of your resorts. all I can say is they got the best. Good Luck Bishop

Sandals Grande Antigua

It was definitely holiday of a lifetime, we enjoyed every bit of it, even though I felt a little bit apprehensive after reading some mixed reviews, we need not have of worried because the staff made us feel right at home from a moment we arrived. Check-in was quick and painless with wet towels and champaigne. We stayed in the Anthurium Building which was a great location for us pretty quiet with a pool outside and close to the Carribean pool. The room was beautiful and everything worked well including A/C which was a must for us. All facilities were spotlessly clean and the pools were maintained to the highest standards. The pool-volleyball provided that we played nearly everyday was a good laugh and a great way to stay cool in the heat of the afternoon. We tried to participate in as many activities as possible, thanks to wonderfull staff from the Entertainment office, especialy Shaunte and Antonio 😉 All staff were kind and helpfull, if we needed something a member of staff always had time to help, this was our experiance for our entire stay. We just felt like a spoilt kids with multiple choices of what to do every minute 🙂 and we did all of it, or most of it, too much to go into detail so we will just list the activities we enjoyed the most: The segway tour was briliant and a good way to see some of the local sites with a guide who knew lots of interesting facts about the area. We did a helicopter tour with Carribian Helicopters and, well guess what Antigua is beautifull from the air as well (never would have thought but there you go) this was definitely worth every cent and if it is within your means we would reccomend it to everyone. There was always something happening around the Sandals Resort and we enjoyed the limbo dancers, beach BBQ, casino night, karaoke night, sing along in the piano bar among other things. It was always possible to play pool, snooker or table tenis or get a seat at the pool, and while there were people around it never felt to crowded. The food was good in particular Mario’s Eleonors and Bare Foot By The Sea (with the legendary burger). Also worth a mention is the Cafe de Paris where we could get a selection of pastries, bring them to our room and have them at our leisure. Finaly we just want to thank everybody at Sandals for making our honeymoon a once in a lifetime expierance – thank you all. We would definitely come back.

Sandals Grande Riviera

what can I say loved it . Got a concierge upgrade was amazing. Wanted for nothing. Staff was fabulous

Just a few of the wonderful comments from satisfied guests at SANDALS.

MILLER, DAVID, PRODIGAL SON, PELDOWNMAN, PINKIE, TELL ME WHY, ADRIAN LOVERIDGE, I know where you all can buy a gallon or two of TUMS for your acid reflux. Just drop me a line.

41. How come CCC is not mentioning the huge concessions made to Royal Westmoreland by PM Sandiford,notoriously remembered for saying/boasting
    ‘I will lift up my eyes unto the hills’.Most bajans would say RW has been a success.The beef with Butch ‘the stove & Fridge salesman’,is whether these concessions are worth the paper written on seeing that the benefits would not kick in for another 7 years or so,and whether existing hoteliers would be given similar treatment.Up scale hotels like Coral Reef which opened and has been operating since the 50’s or 60’s should be an example in marketing and in operations for others to emulate.Sandpiper and Settlers owned by the same
    company are equally well run and attract high yield clientele.The Concorde was the aircraft of choice for the guests who stay at these fine resorts.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 13, 2013 at 8:47 AM |

Why don’t you stop with the red herrings and focus on the crux of the matter?

Let us make it abundantly clear. We are not against Sandals and its entitlement to concessions in any form. What is at stake is the blatant discrimination and creation of an un-level playing that would draw the ire of the rating agencies, IMF and those who assess the quality of doing business in Barbados.

The problem is not about the traditional concessions afforded to foreign investment especially in the tourism sector but with the breaking the barrier of granting exemption from all duties and taxes on food and drink.
    Do you understand that Carson?
    Do you think it is fair for Sandals to be given concessions on food and drink while other establishments involved in the same Hotel Accommodation sector are not so well favoured? How can such action be justified?

If the objective is to make Barbados more affordably competitive in the overseas market place why not exempt all hotels while imposing VAT on sales to locally resident users of the facilities and fare on offer?

43. By the way, the line following “I will lift mine eyes unto the hills” is “From whence cometh my help?”

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel | November 13, 2013 at 9:26 AM |
    “The beef with Butch ‘the stove & Fridge salesman’,is whether these concessions are worth the paper written on seeing that the benefits would not kick in for another 7 years or so,and whether existing hoteliers would be given similar treatment.”

That is not entirely true or comprehensively informative.
    The concessions (and there is nothing wrong in granting them) are immediately applicable to Sandals Casuarina at Dover Ch Ch as soon as that establishment is made over in the image the Sandals brand and receiving guest.
    What is of concern is whether the food and drink concessions would be extended to other hotels. For example, would the management firm headed by Weatherhead and mandated to reopen the plant offering partial accommodation at the Almond West Coast resort be able to obtain the same concessions on food and drink for the coming Winter season?

Would the Hilton, Sandy Lane, the Crane Royal Westmoreland, Ocean Two or even Golden Sands be entitled to these concessions on food and drink?

45. Miller………i bet my last dollar that there is something in that MOU with Sandals (Butch Stuart) that the DLP and yardfowls do not want the public to find out because they will find it unfair, unattractive and plain irritating, Carson is massaging the subject way too much..

Check out Carson with ac standing right beside him..lol

http://vitaminl.tv/video/885

46. @Gabriel

Coral Reef is a high end niche player.

47. I will state again ….Our tourism has had a low demand problem for some time and all we are doing is skirting the issue…..Why do we not fix our demand problem? The airlines, the investors, almost every one knows that we are now begging as a result of our product being not in great demand and hence are taking advantage of the situation.

48. What scene are you on Rovert?
    …do you really expect us to address root problems?
    Would a brass bowl step back and look at the situation through a VISITOR’S eye and ask themselves ….
    “Would I spend good money for this…?”

The blocked windows to the sea…
    The dirty environment
    The interfering and rude vagrants
    The traffic jams
    The exploitative prices
    The matter-of-fact unwelcoming attitude

Would a brass bowl then focus scarce resources on ensuring that such basic customer-service fundamentals were addressed?

Can a brass bowl see the VALUE of establishing quality up front so that the product can drive itself…?

The answers to ALL those are NO!
    Brass bowls continue to do what they have always done..sit around making stupid noises and collecting any and every piece of junk thrown into them….

Brass bowls like to deal with symptoms……to apply plaster on sores
    Like dealing with sex lessons at school by banning cell phones. After all if we don’t know about it there is no problem right…?