Minister of Tourism, Richard Sealy

To bloggers who listened to the radio clip (compliments of VOB) today which featured Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy defending governments washpan of concessions to CPH Property Holdings (Barbados) Limited and Grande Cass Management (Barbados) Limited together known as SANDALS – see Government’s Concessions to SANDALS Barbados, they would have been offended. He made reference to the front page of the Nation newspaper which carried a a story highly critical of the concessions given to Butch Stewart’s companies. And here is what some bloggers may deem to be offensive, he stated he expected what the Nation published to be posted on the blogs or discussed under a tamarind tree.

Minister Sealy is free to have his opinion afterall we boast of living in a democracy. However, when he feels bold enough to disparage what we do on the blogs, he invites a response from BU albeit a reluctant one.

Minister Sealy should bear in mind that BU is used prolifically by his colleagues to disseminate information which the traditional media is not geared to facilitate. Have we not had the pleasure of Minister Donville Inniss venturing into this forum to interact with BU bloggers when he sought to defend his choice of Kingsland as a possible location for a new hospital? Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner has posted to BU on several occasions. BU will not mention all the DLP politicos who post to BU using monikers. What does he make of his colleagues who post and read BU? Perhaps one day BU will be persuaded to post some of the comments posted to BU by the late Prime Minister David Thompson.

Is he upset because BU has been relentless in calling for the operationalizing of the Tourism Master Plan which remains outstanding after six years of a Democratic Labour Party government? So that we be clear, Minister Richard Sealy has been the Minister of Tourism for the full 6 year reign of the DLP government, a ministry why has suffered a precipitous decline in the period.

Is he upset because bloggers have challenged him about his inability to implement the 10 point plan which he hurriedly announced on the eve of another downgrade?

Is he upset because bloggers have asked him why Barbados has been unable to gain Category I status  in the event Barbados wants to entertain the decision to relocate LIAT headquarters to Barbados? Bear in mind the OECS Region has achieved this designation for several years now.

Is he upset because we have asked why tourism advertising by Barbados has gone dark in our key tourist markets, especially Canada whose economy remains buoyant despite a global economic recession of global magnitude?

Is he upset because we have questioned the strategy of using Rihanna to promote Barbados?

If one listens to the clip carefully, Sealy expresses exasperation with those who question the level of concessions given to Butch Stewart. In fact he blurts out in an arrogant and unprofessional manner if the government should allow rats to take residence in the two properties. Clear evidence of the defensive negotiating posture which he and government entered discussions with the veteran hotelier Butch Stewart.

Whose money is it Minister, yours? We have a right to ask the basis for allowing Butch Stewart to import tax free food, because we know this will happen. Why a 40 year holiday? And for the record please tell us what will be the level of Butch Stewart’s investment in this deal. What is the ROI on this deal given government’s investment. Does it matter that these concessions have been given in the past? Decisions we take now must be anchored in a vision for the future and not in an obsolete paradigm.

Does it come as a surprise that Sealy, who has firmly secure the reputation for being the second most taciturn minister in government, finds himself in a battle of credibility with many Barbadians over this matter? And this he has been able to achieve while being in charge of the most important and visible sector in our economy. What transparency what!?!

120 responses to “Minister Richard Sealy is a Pedigree JA”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sealy has already qualified for his pension: he should leave office and return to his profession before he causes the country irreparable harm. He is obviously out of his depth.

2. Is this all these present Government ministers are about, qualifying for a pension? God help Barbados

3. Sealy went to Brazil
    Oh laaawd poor Sealy
    Wid de……

4. When will this Minister eat crow and take a delegation to Trinidad and try to impress on PM Kamla that in spite of BST selling out to Neal and Massy,and the same Neal and Massy having obtained control and ownership of 2 major West Coast Hotels,the chairman of N&M who was also chairman of the board of BWIA recomended to the then PM of Trinidad that he close down BWIA

5. Michael Saunders Avatar

Canada could always send Tom Haughton back down there……He would make a great ambasador and just mayby he could sell some more counterfeit drugs and bribe more officials which would give a small amount of relif to the countries wealth something that he is famous for……anything to get him out of Canada!!!!!!

6. @ Gabriel

What ya sayin……seems like LockJack is a close down ( premature) early man…but I agree with you….Had I….I wont sell N&M a ole lickup topsie…..they should change their name to suit…” Buy n Close”

7. Here is their track record in BIm

T.Geddes Grant (here)…….closed
    Brinks Bdos……….. closed
    Almond Beach……..closed-
    Mannings Fontabelle…….closed

Apparently good corporate governance is not their strongest attribute.
    … frig those employees and their families, who gives a Jack…..we just want the stock….AH’s

8. …continuing
    …close down BWIA and took off all the BWIA services from Barbados to our major source markets on UK,Europe,Canada,New York and Miami,Florida.What an insipid move by Lok Jack when N&M had 2 hotels in Barbados that could have benefitted from a refocused and rebranded BWIA rather than its closure.Then PM Stuart comes on the scene and rubs salt in the wound by criticising firstly the Trinidad Government reaction to Redjet licensing and secondly the Trinidad reaction to his criticism of the CAL fuel subsidy and the LIAT supposed uncompetitiveness.Well,Howai removed the subsidy and LIAT still is a pain in the backside of most of its clientele and still costing an arm and a leg to operate.Trinidad remains a good market for our tourism moreso than Brazil.Rio is almost as far from us as is the nearest West African city of Dakar,Senegal.Trinidad is a mere half hour away and with well to do middle class folk who love Barbados.A delegation to Trinidad is long overdue to secure more and better routes into Barbados using the services of Caribbean Airlines and also to establish a fare structure and hotel rates that would attract once again an influx of tourists from that country.Sealy needs to get up off his big a…s and do some work for a change that would benefit our country.Donville Inniss or David Estwick are more aggressive and more suited to the task of driving our tourism ministry.Put Sealy at Water Authority which is more to his specialised training.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You make me laugh some times.

Recall this:-

“……..several graphs created by Economist Ryan Straughn, BU reached out to him via Facebook to get feedback on the several comments posted……….”

He said to you:-

“I must confess that I seldom read your blog because in my view it’s not a place for person truly seeking information and better understanding.”

A direct INSULT square in your face. And you took it.

Now you are pretending to be insulted by Minister Richard Sealy’s comment.

This blog is populated by far too many jokers.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CASWELL FRANKLYN

” He is obviously out of his depth.”

Of course you would recognize someone “out of his depth” as you have been out of yours for years now.

11. Carson

I am glad you agree, thank you.

12. CCC
    You cannot see an insult to you and your coterie of misinformed acolytes of the Fatted Calf faith.That’s whom Ryan referred to,not David.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel

It is way past your bedtime go and get your rest.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel

…….and try not to pee your bed again!!

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 11, 2013 at 10:03 PM |
    “This blog is populated by far too many jokers.”

That is the truest, most impressive thing you have said on this blog.
    Now look into your mirror and say to yourself ‘confession is good for the soul, I now know who I am’.

The clown prince of jokers is giving his valediction and is expected to be heard no more and he graduates from the troupe of jokers summa cum laude.

As Gabriel pointed out, you Carson, are so offensively inured to your own stupidity you are incapable of recognizing insults of the sarcastically refined type including those from GP.
    Now be off from the blog, King Joker!

16. Much Hullabloo about nothing, but why the same ones so knowledgeable about Duty Free Concessions never raised a voice when the crook Owen Arthur grated a waiver of taxes to the tune of over two hundred million dollars for the transfer of the shares in the at First Caribbean now this a BANK that could easily have paid but Arthur against all advice still proceeded to grant that waiver !!!

17. Pray tell me when did beggars become choosers. Giving concessions is nothing new. We do not have and never had enough money to market the island properly. Why all these tears about the Trinis. Would we prefer the Americans , Canadians or Europeans?? What about our traditional corporate sector: where are they putting their millions??? What about all the foreign banks that hoarding our money unless we want cars or appliances???

18. “However, when he feels bold enough to disparage what we do on the blogs, he invites a response from BU albeit a reluctant one.”
    isn’t the embattled Minister who has been pilloried on BU for the past six years entitled to be critical or defend himself as well albeit not to our liking? We have to be mindful that we do not become so self-centred that we believe that whatever we post on this forum is beyond reproach.

19. Onions yuh does make me laff….listen and I will only say this once:
    Mannings……
    Geddes Grant
    Almond
    Brinks
    These companies were hemorrhaging for many years due to poor management and Bajans knew it, so when they were up for sale the only buyers were the Trinis who didn’t know the true story! Barbadians are not risk takers get that in yuh rass clat head and they will never invest in retail companies in large numbers. The poor work ethics and feel they know it all attitude is what is sinking businesses. When you employ someone because dem is family or a good friend who has no knowledge of running a business or finance your business will fail. Just like our country!

20. @William Skinner
    The debate in Barbados (and this should be encouraged in a democracy) is whether the concessions are relevant. What is the level of Sandals investment which is the benchmark others will have to qualify? What is the ROI of this deal given government’s level of investment. It does not mean that most Barbadians disagree with giving concessions but it is the configuration. Why does anyone think we have to drink hook line and sinker what Sealy says because he is a minister. And the minister is suggested he has been transparent?
    And to the other argument that a BLP government waived 85 million in transfer taxes on the share transfer between Barclays and CIBC, what is the point again? They did it so can we? Please don’t insult the intelligence of BU bloggers/commenters.

21. @ Island gal
    islandgal246 | November 12, 2013 at 6:16 AM |

Onions yuh does make me laff….listen and I will only say this once:
    Mannings……
    Geddes Grant
    Almond
    Brinks
    These companies were hemorrhaging for many years due to poor management and Bajans knew it, so when they were up for sale the only buyers were the Trinis
    You could really go EZ on the bull as not all these Companies were down and out….I know first hand the T. Geddes Grant situation…N&M used it to get in here….TGG Whitepark was a profitable company with many divisions if you recall…..N&M bought it out ….Brinks was the sole reputable security company on the land and was making good money……N& M brought on the blight and from there it was all down hill…such as

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller(UNCLE TOM)

I am still waiting for the day when you will write something sensible.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Miller(UNCLE TOM)

…….and don’t forget to keep after ADRIAN for your supper!!!!

You worked hard for it.

24. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I bear absolutely no animosity personally towards Minister Sealy, but cannot understand why he is so badly advised.
    One example: A lot of fuss was made over the Thomas Cook shared flight with St. Lucia that arived last Sunday, but on Friday TWO B787 Thomsom Dreamliners (both nonstops -one from Manchester and one from Gatwick) flew into Barbados with the first fare paying passenger flights of this aircraft to anywhere in the eastern Caribbean. On Saturday another B787 flew in from Gatwick.
    No fanfare, no greeting, despite near capacity 300 person each flight – direct to Barbados.
    Yet a BTA ‘launch’ flight with VIP’s is still scheduled for December.
    So many of his recent policies are simply NOT thought through. APD Discount Vouchers, Barbados Island Inclusive programme. Ten Point Tourism Plan, Tourism Master Plan, reduced VAT rate of 7.5 per cent for DTS partners, Rihanna Concert, CLOBI Cup and the latest deal with Sandals clealy did not take into account the rest of the tourism industry.

18 consecutive months of long stay visitor decline unprecendented in our tourism history and that may be 19 when the October figures are finally released. No co-incidence that the Barbados Statistical Services have NOT posted the August and September stay-over figures yet, which despite the denial by the BTA CEO show the lowest arrival numbers for ANY month in the last 11 years.

If the Minister is going to retain any credibility and avoid the reputation of being the most ineffective MOT on record, he has to start listening to people who understand the industry.

25. .Concerned about our language . Avatar
    .Concerned about our language .

@Carson Cadogan
    You are gravely mistaken about Caswell Franlyn ; he has been on a continuous search trying to find his depth. He is one bitter, disgruntled failure in life . How many persons have you ever heard him say something complimentary of? Dismiss the humbug .

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Concerned about our language . | November 12, 2013 at 7:38 AM

I will take your advice.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE

……..and I take it that you are referring to yourself!

28. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

There he is again, talking about increased tourism spending in the first six months of this year. Doesn’t he read anything the Central Bank puts out?

29. We expect so much of our politicians rooted as they are in ambition and competition. What do we offer that is any different?

30. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Robert,
    lets try honesty and integrity for a change.

31. @ Davd
    We are playing with a monster called capitalism. These are the hard facts: If your credit is good , you get good interest; if it is bad you pay a higher rate. The economy is beyond depressed -it is stagnant. The whole world economic order has changed. We need to read the Memo: Our tourism product has been in decline for nearly 30 years. It could be Sandals , Four Seasons or a Rolls Royce factory, we are in no position to call shots at this time. Pride cometh before a fall. We are now paying a horrible price for the mismanagement of all sectors by the collective BLP/DLP regimes. We brag of a Prime Minister who left every sector in a mess after 3 consecutive terms in office. A man who systematically drove land prices beyond the average Barbadian and left nearly a billion dollars in over runs. Then there was another one whose legacy was to please a handful of white people by shutting down progressive Black Nationalists via the Public Order act. He is now known as the Father of Independence. Our country was always put at the mercy of those who had the wealth. We watched without saying a word as the Barbados Shipping and Trading ruined the agriculture sector. We are now watching without saying a word, as one man ownsalmost all the arable land in Barbados. The apologists for the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party can have their little sibling fights forever.Our country’s problems in all areas including Education have been there and boiling for nearly four decades. Well my friend you cant undo four decades of stupidity in four weeks.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well said! I agree with your comment almost in its entirety, especially when you said that you can’t undo four decades of stupidity in four weeks. But you must realise that you can’t start to undo it with idiots at the helm and in Opposition.

33. @William

Agree with the philosophocal thrust of your comment but we must begin the rebuild some where and it will not get better given the existing model. We have to embrace a different way of doing things. Strategies to prop up old expectations are condemned to fail.

34. William Skinner has summarized our plight admirably and exactly.
    No additional analysis is needed….only SENSIBLE solutions….

…and as Einstein said, we cannot expect to solve the complex problem that we face by using the same brass bowls who created the problems in the first place…….or words to that effect 🙂

35. A political institution has responsibility for policy making for a specific term, it has a time limit … It therefore should NOT not be allowed the power BY LAW to create policy that exceeds its term in office. The only perceived advantage to term limits is the (perceived) continuous availability of a change option. This freedom to grant exploitative enterprises competitive advantages that last well beyond the term that is allocated policy makers by law is quasi-dictatorial and makes a mockery of the (perceived) need for a democratic process.

36. This is a big “F”
    IF this present is politically clueless; and the present opposition is politically clueless; and both political consultants are clueless; and we don’t have any any alternative since they are clueless; and all of us writing shxt on BU are clueless; and moderators and call-in people are clueless, Where do we go from here? Should we prick out the best from the clueless lot and create a caretaker government along with specialise PR personnel like CCC and ac. We need all hands on deck. No IFfers, but DOers.

37. @ TMW
    We want BBE!

38. Bush Tea

Xplain!!!!!!

39. BBE as a slang means babe. However, BBE also mean Barely Breaking Even. It could also mean Barbados Bankrupt Economy. Give me yours Bushy.

40. Tell me Why

you call me clueless yah jackass ( 🙂 )… ! I got one clue hear, and even if it is only one, it is still a clue … but I ain’ tellin’ you wah it is, cause you got something too that is a serious threat to clues … and that is a broad broad brush …!

41. Look see this Sandals talk……Diversions of epic proportions hear…. those Consesions they TOO UNREALISTIC…Look have you all forgotten the $ 1 BILLION Hospital talk by Donville?…..what became of that? This is another one..

ALL THIS IS JUST DIVERSIONARY talk by the Administration in its plan of smoke and mirrors to take the Bajan public’s attention away from the economic realities facing us.

Where we go find $ 1 Billion to buy and build a new hotel from? Chinese soft loans my bot…….This administration is all about phantasmagoria as its mainstream strategy knowing how easy Bajans are to jump on the bandwagon and follow Alice White Wabbit…..When we go learn?

Back to reality now:
    Last revelation was we were down to 13 weeks of FX reserves…..wonder where we are now….while craftsmen of our fate having a good laugh how they shifted the fire to an illusionary SCandals…..once mo…

42. MONEY ?…..what money?…..Did the GOCB not just the other day (last quarterly report) remind us of our $ 300 mil immediate deficit to stop a possible slide of the peg? So how we get here… having money for a Butch escapade? We too gullible….some of we….

43. Wait for the devaluation then our asses going be grass.

44. It is good Bajans are waking up to debating the issues, let us see where it leads.

45. @ David “Agree with the philosophocal thrust of your comment but we must begin the rebuild some where and it will not get better given the existing model. We have to embrace a different way of doing things. Strategies to prop up old expectations are condemned to fail.”
    We can’t rebuild without a vision for at least the next fifty years. Progressive thinkers have been saying for the last four decades that the economy needed to be restructured. Since the mid seventies enlightened educators have been advocating the need to reform education. The response of the political managerial class (BLP/DLP)has been to belittle and throw scorn on anybody who does not sing in their choir. Dr. Don Blackman tried he left; Dr.Rameses Caddle was marginalised; They recognised Glenroy Straughn after he passed. In the meantime we have had an assortment of inferior jokers running our island state to the ground.
    Neither Sinckler, Mottley, Mascoll, Howard, Beckles or any one of them know how to restructure the economy. The first order of business is to recognise that an economy cannot be restructured if our educational system remains one-sided. The new world economy is not being built on certificates it is being built on ideas. We cannot restructure an economy without a progressive land use policy. That cannot happen when one man/family own almost all the land needed. An economy cannot be restructured without a modern cutting edge transportation system. The Transport Board has been in shambles for almost thirty five years. Hence failure to address these critical areas makes a mockery of any restructuring program. Is it not ironic that Errol Barrow used to allow multinationals to come in here and enjoy taxbreaks and now forty years later Sinckler has to do the same thing. We dont feed ourselves; we can’t house ourselves as we approach fifty years of independence. But Look around : who is controlling importation of car parts (non blacks) who have moved on from selling clothes to Finance companies (non blacks) who investing left right and centre so that when the pain is over they can capitalise (non blacks) . The question I finally pose : How can we restructure an economy without talking about the unequal distribution of land and wealth? That is the question to the thirty jokers who meet on Tuesdays near Lord Nelson.

46. William Skinner said:

“That is the question to the thirty jokers who meet on Tuesdays near Lord Nelson.”

ac might so easily misinterpret that sentence…..LOL!!

47. Adrian Loveridge cannot you see that no one takes you seriously? You come over as vengeful and the sour grapes type. You closed Peach and Quiet so please give us peace and quiet. Dry your tears and slunk away.

48. While we continue to throw verbal rocks at each other, Jamaica and other Caribbean destinations are silently taking away our market share.Read and weep.
    Submitted by Andrew Nehaul via email

The Jamaica Observer November 12th 2013http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Why-the-Jamaica-Tourist-Board_15423993Why the Jamaica Tourist BoardImagine for a moment, living in a city somewhere in the Northeast or Midwest USA. It is mid-winter 2007 and you are suffering through the most agonizing blizzard in recent memory.Suddenly, vivid images of fellow Americans having the time of their lives flash across your television screen. There is one group at a rowdy open-air bar, sparsely clad and downing copious gulps of Red Stripe beer. Others are shown lazing about on a sunny day at a beautiful white sand beach. The more adventurous are captured experiencing the exhilaration of parasailing 200 feet above the pristine blue ocean.
    This tantalizing montage of an alternative universe has the effect of heightening your own sense of misery.
    The deft hands of the Jamaica Tourist Board (JTB) marketing gurus are playing tricks on your mind, and you find yourself being beckoned by the paradise they are beaming into your living room.
    You are tempted to call your travel agent with an urgent plea: to get you to a place that is as far away (as your credit card will allow) from the inhospitable icebox that is now your world.
    Of course, not everyone is expected to respond positively to the Jamaica invitation, and many won’t. But it is a reasonable bet that some will. The JTB, an experienced and prolific data miner, is likely to have already figured out that this environment is rich with opportunities.
    Its keen marketing instincts, backed by mountains of travel data, is a large part of what makes the State-owned agency such an invaluable partner with private sector stakeholders in Jamaica’s tourism industry.
    When the JTB sells Jamaica, everyone benefits. Hotels with critical mass and the resources to spend millions of their own money on brand penetration are lifted even further by the rising tide. So, too, are the many villas, guest houses, gift shops, tour bus companies, restaurants, bars, and soft adventure outfits that collectively make up the island’s tourism sector.
    Tourism statistics underscore the extent to which the entire country depends on this industry and the fact that the promotional messages that are reaching the marketplace have not been falling on deaf ears.
    Last year, over three million tourists visited Jamaica, from places as far afield as China and Brazil, to the United States and Barbados. Nearly two million of the visitors spent at least one night and in many instances up to two weeks on the island, while 1.32 million came here in cruise ships on eight-hour jaunts.
    The cruise passenger count was 17 per cent more than the previous year, a performance that was bettered in the region only by the tiny island of Martinique. It also represented a 57 per cent growth over the past 11 years.
    The improvement in the land-based arrivals was of the same magnitude over the 11 years (58 per cent) with Jamaica welcoming 712,000 more visitors last year than the country did back then.
    Earnings from the industry have also grown in tandem with the increase in visitor arrivals — up 59 per cent from US$1.3 billion in 2003, to US$2.07 billion last year.
    But, perhaps the single most important piece of data on the industry is the number of individuals who continue to make a living from tourism. According to JTB statistics, 35,197 Jamaicans were employed in the sector last year, just slightly more than the previous year, placing this industry within the top tier of labour employers within the country.
    Most of the overnight visitors to the island head directly to all-inclusive properties once they clear Immigration; these hotels account for 54 per cent of the active room stock on the island. With 15,500 available rooms they achieved 69.7 per cent average occupancy in 2012, a significantly better ratio than the other types of accommodation were able to attain.
    Indeed, national average occupancy levels have not declined over the past decade, despite the addition of some 10,000 rooms to the industry — with the active room count standing at 28,600 at the end of last year.
    This performance in an increasingly competitive global market has taken billions of dollars in advertising outlay and multi-layered marketing interventions by the JTB and other tourism stakeholders.
    The agency organises regular promotions with travel agents, reservation agents, tour operators, airlines, and local hoteliers. Endless public relations campaigns are waged through media, and by way of sponsorships and participation at consumer events and fairs.
    Trade shows like World Travel Market, WTM Latin America, ITB Berlin, and Japan Association of Travel Agents are staples in the mix of promotional activities.
    Joint efforts with consumer and travel brands are also part of the menu. For example, earlier this year the JTB partnered with Macy’s, Beringer Wines, Baltimore Ravens, Sackville Travel, TUI, and Condor to sell Jamaica.
    Big events like the Olympic Games in the UK in 2012 and the IAAF World Championships in Moscow this summer give the tourism promoter another big platform for its campaign for the patronage of global travellers.
    There is another important and largely understated function that the JTB performs that is of equal importance to its promotional efforts. By keeping a sharp eye on regulatory institutions within the major tourism markets, the agency is able to quickly move towards mitigating and, in some instances, forestalling the impact of new laws that stand to significantly undermine its efforts to pull tourists to Jamaica.
    A good example was the introduction in 2007 of new regulations in the USA requiring Americans returning from trips to the Caribbean, Mexico and Canada to present their passports to US Immigration.
    The law was a threat to Jamaica’s tourism because Americans who travel here did not previously need or use passports, and many of them did not possess one.
    The regulation galvanised the JTB and other local tourism interests into action. The agency launched a programme in partnership with the US Post Office and the Department of Homeland Security to have Americans sign up for their passports. In conjunction with other interested parties it also introduced a passport reward programme, again with the intention of encouraging Americans to apply for their passports.
    Here in Jamaica, the tourism promoter regularly collaborates with other industry players to achieve shared goals. The Jamaica Product Exchange (JAPEX) is one of the biggest local promotional programmes for the industry and is a joint effort with the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association.
    The JTB also gets help from three tourism-related public sector entities that share the common goal of ensuring that tourists who come to Jamaica can have a positive experience.
    These are:
    * The Tourism Product Development Company (TPDCo);
    * The Tourism Enhancement Fund; and
    * Jamaica Vacations Ltd.
    Together these agencies are responsible for enhancing the physical public space within resort towns and to ensure that adequate airlift is available to transport tourists from both new and old markets to and from Jamaica.
    The JTB is a prolific champion at awards ceremonies that recognise excellence within the tourism industry. The list of awards it has copped in just the last two years alone is inexhaustible. Among them:
    * TravelAge West 2011 WAVE Awards for the Official International Tourist Board Providing the Best Travel Agent Support;
    * 2011 Big Apple Awards for the campaign ‘Restoration Jamaica: Overcoming a Crisis…Protecting Brand Perception’;
    * Flight Centre USA 2011 for Best Customer Service To The Trade;
    * Flight Centre USA 2011 for Best Tourism Marketing;
    * Flight Centre USA 2011 for Best Supplier Training;
    * Flight Centre USA 2012 for Best Customer Service;
    * TravelAge West 2012 WAVE Award for International Tourist Board Providing the Best Travel Agent Support;
    * Agents’ Choice Award 2012 for Favourite Tourist Board in Canada;
    * 2012 Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International (HSMAI) Gold Adrian Award for Public Relations Excellence.

49. @lighthouse

What matters is the evidence of things said.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ADRIAN LOVERIDGE is upset because he was removed from the BTA.